New engine and minor visual tweaks for Audi TT

Audi has given its popular TT range a refresh which consists of a new engine and subtle tweaks to the looks. This comes as Peugeot starts sales of its RCZ coupe, which made the journey from concept to production unmolested. We’ll get to drive the French hottie soon, but for now let’s focus on the TT’s new goodies.

Nothing too much to alter the instantly recognisable design. Up front is a new bumper that frames larger air inlets with “three-dimensional” edges. The fog lights now have chrome rings and the lattice of the single-frame grille is in high-gloss black.

Twelve white LEDs in a straight line serve as the daytime running lights. At the back, the “floating” reflectors of the tail lights add visual depth and the larger, flat black diffuser is matched by larger pipes. These changes have added 2 cm to the TT (now 4,187 mm). Four new metallic colours have been added.

Inside, Audi has merely played around with the trim – some silver here, some high-gloss black there. The aluminium strip above the glove box door is now in brushed grey. There are three new interior colours to choose from – nougat brown, titanium gray and garnet red. Leather seat covers are treated to reduce thermal heating by as much as 20 degrees Celsius when the TT is parked in the sun, useful for us in Malaysia.

New to the lineup is the 2.0 TFSI with 211 bhp, which replaces the 200 bhp version of the same engine and the 3.2 FSI. Torque is rated at 350 Nm, which is a big 70 Nm more than the previous TFSI. These new stats also put the TT well clear of the top RCZ, which 1.6 THP engine puts out 200 bhp/255 Nm. The turbocharged and direct fuel injected engine features Audi valvelift system (AVS) which adjusts the lift of the exhaust valves in two stages depending on need. Paired to the dual clutch six-speed S tronic and quattro AWD, 0-100 km/h takes only 5.6 seconds.

The other engines are a 1.8 TFSI with 160 bhp/250 Nm and a 2.0 TDI with 170 bhp/350 Nm. Opt for the diesel and you’ll be rewarded by 18.9 km/l combined consumption. Available as an option on all variants is Audi’s magnetic ride shock absorber system together with a Sport button that allows the driver to control servo boost for the steering and the engine sound in two stages.

More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1038]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• airdrigh on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:14 am

I want

• Charger (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:18 am

The cabrio version seems nicer with the lining running across the fog lamps. Aesthetic tweaking on the already beautiful car is pretty much useless.

• lowprofile on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:21 am

Paul,

Maybe put the cars side by side and do a poll!! For the fun of it, add in the Scirocco as well. Front, rear, 3qtr views for the readers to compare and vote the most beautiful!

• Bukan melayu on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:21 am

What the price like?

• Rizal on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:22 am

Front led line lamp looked ugly for me… :)

Spoiler not match with the body.. but good interior design…

• Paul Tan on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:28 am

TT looks dated already.

• i beg to differ
      the design is timeless

• Charger (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:15 pm

I concur.

It probably looks good down the road in another 10 more years to come. :)

• Paul Tan on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:15 pm

I still feel it looks dated :P

• theanswer on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:25 pm

i have to agree with that because the shape is old already. looks more like a facelift from 1st gen audi.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:15 pm

i agree with rudy. if this is dated. i guess so are most of other things too.

• Diesel = frugal + whooping/huge grunt + grin ; )

• Mamamia on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Satria R3 is way better than this.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:14 pm

stunning as usual

• used non national car owner on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Nice car!!!

• Jaybond on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Hello Paul, I think possibly because the design philosophy of Audi & VW cars is to keep it simple yet still elegant/handsome, without going too much overboard, unlike the recent exercise at BMW and even Mercedes. So it’s no surprise to some that the cars might look a tad conservative on the outside. The latest case was the new Audi A8 which doesn’t really set any new design breakground , but instead almost on the boxy side, even Volvo cars are getting more curvaceous.

• Charger (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:19 pm

I believe the design on current Audi is made to last. Remember the previous A6 with the rather rounded butt? It was weird from the beginning, but it tends to grow on you. Anyway, the current A6’s look is so nice and well balanced. The rear was pretty too.

The Ford’s Kinetic Design was nice too. But how long will it last before you start to feel that it’s boring again?

I’m was in love with previous TT’s curvy design and immediately felt in-love with the current TT’s design, which was much more better.

• raybrig on Apr 09, 2010 at 8:46 am

whatever it is…beside audi..i think alfa has got the best design of all…

btw..i like audi n alfa so much

• Charger (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 9:34 am

Alfa Romeo, to me it’s a love & hate design. All the previous Alfa’s, the rear was nice, but the front damn ugly. Brera was good overall. Then came the Mito, rear was nice, but the front still lacking of kick. It’s like a tame looking frog. lol

• mitlanevo on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:27 pm

new e-class and 5-series looks AWFUL

previous versions are much better

anyway, this car looks simply gorgeous!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 08, 2010 at 9:16 pm

nope. last 5 series was the worst.

• springroll on Apr 09, 2010 at 8:43 am

agreed, the latest 5 series range looks terrific but the outgoing models weren’t that pleasing to the eye. Just one’s personal opinion though, I never liked how the outgoing 5 series’ headlights trailed a bit

• kayel on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:56 pm

audi TT looks ugly after introduction of R8, audi should find other way to design other affordable sports car beside R8

• Tarmiziali on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Yes. Its call the R4. Coming soon.

• Charger (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:21 pm

R8 looks too “soft” when compared with Murcielago alike when put side by side. :D

• venven81 on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:45 pm

R8 may look ‘soft’ but it’s a piece of engineering marvel from technical point of view… fantastically built for the 2010 World Performance Car :)

• Alpha on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:43 pm

hey,can the previous gen TT e facelifted or converted into this??

• Tarmiziali on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:43 pm

I m also waiting the VW bluemotion sport. Mid-engine roadster ala toyota MRS.

• nabill on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:28 pm

im starting to hate those daylight running led lights. everybody is copying the , its not original anymore

• venven81 on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:42 pm

only good things are being copied by others. no reason for u to hate it bro :)

• KLdude on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:51 pm

hi paul & the other readers,

for the first time, i have to disagree with you paul. as per the other readers’ comments, the audi tt’s design is meant to be timeless and elegant so when we look at it, it does not look dated, just as porsche does with its 911. the audi tt is a beatiful car and i am very tempted to get it instead of a bmw 3 series coupe. the problem is its after sales service, that is my major concern. at under rm 400k, i don’t think there are other better or better looking coupes around..or am i mistaken?

• Paul Tan on Apr 08, 2010 at 4:11 pm

something such as design is meant to be subjective and everyone is entitled to their own opinions. :) the tt doesn’t make sense to me at all in malaysia, scirocco offers better value if you dont want to go for the golf’s looks.

• kimi_ on Apr 09, 2010 at 12:28 am

I still prefer TT in terms of looks , moreover the AUDI brand is one notch higher than the VW

for its exclusiveness.

• goingtobuyaudi on Apr 08, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Now i am waiting for rs3 or a better tt-rs or tt-s

• Autik on Apr 08, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Z4 better. This car looks dated and lame.

• raybrig on Apr 09, 2010 at 8:43 am

kudos to audi..it has topple merc sales for the 1st quarter of 2010 globally…niceeeeeeeee…

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 9:01 am

So nice, dun know when got the change to own this car…

• Jaybond on Apr 09, 2010 at 9:46 am

This facelift is hardly noticeable.

• segambut on Apr 09, 2010 at 10:26 pm

nice.

• BH Loy on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:07 pm

hello there,

Can someone pls share with me wat is the 0-100km sprint for the new 2011 Audi TT 2.0T front wheel drive model? Thks alot..