Facelifted Volvo C30 makes its way into Malaysia

Volvo Car Malaysia has just launched the refreshed C30 for the local market. There are two models to choose from including the C30 2.0 and the top-of-the-line C30 T5 R-Design. The most noticeable difference is the restyled dynamic-looking front end that is also evident on other new Volvo’s such as the S60.

At the rear Volvo has replaced the black plastic panels with body colour in either the same or in contrasting colour. There are also two new wheel designs while the T5 R-Design variant gets dual chrome exhaust tailpipes. Volvo has also added a new Orange Flame Metallic body colour.

Improvements in the interior is mostly made up by a new ultra-thin centre stack that is finished in a new Oyster Burst Deco inspired by the surface texture of the classic Swedish Hagstrom guitar. There is also a new accessory styling kit that comprises of a fog lamp decor, a front skit-plate, side scuff plates with engraved C30 logo as well as a rear skid plate with an aluminum look.

The base 2.0 model is able to crank out 145hp and 185Nm of torque while the T5 R-Design features a 5-cylinder 2.5 litre engine that makes 230hp and a heathy 320Nm of torque. The former comes fitted with a 6-speed Powershift dual clutch transmission while the latter uses a 5-speed Geartronic.

True to Volvo’s nature the C30 also comes with a list of safety features. There is the Blind Spot Information system that alerts the driver if there is a vehicle in the Volvo’s blind spot, Dynamics Stablity Traction Control which is pretty much an electronic stability program, Active Dual-Xenon Bending lights that change the direction of the lights depending on steering angle and Adaptive Brake Lights which will flash all three brake lights (up to five flashes per second) if it detects a “panic braking” situation.

Pricing wise the C30 2.0 can be yours for RM215,000 (OTR without insurance) while the more powerful C30 T5 R-Design carries an RM259,000 (OTR without insurance) price tag.

Continue reading to check out more images of the Volvo C30.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1089]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:13 pm

…That’s a coupe? In the footsteps of the Megane coupe I guess.

• vw beetle on Feb 05, 2011 at 11:23 am

It’s a hatchback built on the Volvo S40 platform lah. Just because it has new sheetmetal doesn’t mean it’s not a S40 hatchback. Just like how the Chevrolet Volt is an electric Cruze hatchback.

• takizo on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Spotted it the other day, came out lunch from office in glenmarie

• red shirt on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Any chance of a cheaper Volvo soon since Geely
    will have a manufacturing plant in CHN soon ?

• pelams on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:22 pm

i think volvo is already cheap if compared to bmw n merc

• Choon on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Think again, the maintenance is ridiculous!

2nd hand price worst because of the quality of parts and the cost of maintenance!

Plus, why don’t you go for better choice – Golf GTi?

• Winfred on May 12, 2010 at 10:38 am

Volvo is for life. All parts are from Sweden and Europe, only uses original. Servicing only every 20,000km only. Nothing less than that

• Looks like a mazda 2 hatchback.. hehe

• theanswer on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:43 pm

good looking car. something different from golf or 1 series. but the 2.0 powerplant looks tame for its price.

• what i had been waiting for is here!

• MechPebbles on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Anyone willing to buy this car for RM215,000 when he could spend RM211,000 (OTR without insurance) for a VW Golf GTI must know less than nothing about cars.

• theanswer on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:24 pm

haha maybe for valvo fanboy. tho the 2.0 got 6 speed powershift..still lack of turbocharged that gti have plus dsg.

• pelams on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:24 pm

gt 1 psychiatrist doctor in KK using this car (nt d latest 1)…she’s a lady n single

• Choon on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:31 pm

I agree about getting the Golf GTi.

Volvo doesn’t worth the price, I will choose BMW, Audi, Merch, but not Volvo, the brand is not even there but the price is!!

• sicilian_defense on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:57 pm

its so fugly and strangely, makes me want to have it, just becoz it is so uniquely fugly and no other car with that price range comes close.

• mitlanevo on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:05 pm

one of the best looking volvo !!!

• this is like a Wagon volvo…rare type of it :) so at a value of RM215K is ok and affordable for this car..for sure it must be spacious..and ur safety is secure..coz it a volvo!

• Choon on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:33 pm

You must be kidding… look at the maintenance schedule:

In my memory of last visit –

1st service: $1K+
      2nd service $1.5K
      3rd service $1,8K
      …. up to $2K+

I would pay for Germany premium Brand, but not Volvo!

• http://www.vcc.com.my/pricelist/s40-2.0-pricelist.pdf

Indicative Maintenance Package.
        At 20,000KM – 1,084.60
        At 40,000KM – 1,683.80
        At 60,000KM – 1,422.60
        At 80,000KM – 1,683.80
        At 100,000KM – 1,429.00

*Package price is inclusive of lubricants, parts, labour & service tax

Comment:
        I think is a bad chart. They should have something like 5,000KM interval listing. Not 20,000KM. And they should mention in detail what will be serviced.

• farhitech on May 01, 2010 at 9:53 pm

hmmm … murah la . kalau buat 5000km skali servis , mknanya kos dalam $420 0nly . 4x servis = 20K km = $1683 .

lbih kurang persona la jugak .

• Choon on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Thanks for the list, but that is crazy price!

• Mightymouse on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Can’t agreed more to this Bro!!!

• HirumaKecil on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:24 pm

SEXYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:38 pm

i like a volvo. too bad its chinese soon.

• Gajen on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:18 pm

front not bad…rear ugly…rather get a scirocco

• jon joen on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:50 pm

this car would make tailgaters feels really sad haha

• Malaysia get this T5 to substitute Ford Focus RS, why not bring in both. Anyway, is Volvo still own by Ford?

• Winfred on May 12, 2010 at 10:40 am

Yes Volvo id still under Ford but will be going on their own as well.

• front looks good.back still weird.215K is OK price but 2.0L engine is a joke for a coupe.I agree with mechpebbles that GTi would be so much better

• Someone on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:19 am

Not bad but for a hot hatch at this range is a bit too expensive.

• sayapdewa on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:55 am

if i not mistaken dis car use in new moon movie, a twilight saga. Drve by edward cullen. Am i rite? By the way, i’d love the tail lamp. Look very stylish n futuristic! But cant afford it.too expensive 4 me.

• c14man on Apr 29, 2010 at 1:54 am

looks not bad and it’s unique…
    but at that price… i would say i’ll go for a MK6 anytime…
    2.0 turbo and dsg… output is much higher…
    and it’s a 5 door… more practical… =)
    but of course, unique things like this C30 comes with a price…

• Hanif on Apr 29, 2010 at 7:20 am

C30 is the Twilight’s Edward Cullen car !

• Jaybond on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:45 am

Styling wise, it’s a subjective issue. Some would say Scirocco is uglier than the C30, some otherwise. Some otherwise. But one thing for sure, both the C30 & Scirocco are the most stylish looking Coupe Hatches available in the market right now (Golf is not).

• Choon on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:35 pm

I agree!

May be I’m too old for Scirocco, I love Golf GTi.

The space and comfort, plus combination of throttle response control and suspension control, I can’t ask more…

• kenny on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:46 am

U can ask for better looking GTI from VW. Coz i think even the new GTi looks dated, conservative and very uncle’ly. No feeling. Respect the spec and power, but I hate VW for being so unadventurous with their design. This Volvo is advantageous in design, but stingy in power and spec. so Scirocco rulez!

• Agree.. on the part of golf, i think they have different image.

My “personal” view:
      Golf GTI – Rich Playboy, money all from daddy. Or just old ppl who wants to look young, so he bought it. (And of coz got those who really enthusiastic bout cars) Clothes combination you’ll find, Jeans + Polo shirt.
      Scirocco/C30 – Ppl who is capable of buying anything they want, but to be unique, they went for this 2 as they are much classier, not so ricer like the GTI. Clothes combination, Full business suit.

Just my personal perception.

• I think the term you are looking for is “racerboy”, those who love GTI, Evo or Ford Focus. I can see that this C30 attracts the same people who would also consider the Scirocco or an Alfa Romeo. I think GTI might be a bit too “common” for them, so suggesting these people to buy GTI is just out of the question, lol.

• V70T5 on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:14 am

T5 is coming back!!!

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:54 am

c30 is the best coupe from volvo….

• p4k4bu on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:01 am

Wow! Nice!

Very UNLIKE Vios! ;-)

But…. at RM 215K…. twice of the price of my house… :(

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:55 am

The front is nice, but i think the rear end is an acquired taste. I can accept the Megane’s big behind but not really this one…

• NazEeR on Apr 29, 2010 at 3:33 pm

can someone explain to me what is special about T5..i heard it is one of the Volvo’s best engine..but dunno anything bout it..hehe..can somebody help..

• I know the T stands for Turbocharged. The 5 stands for the count of the cylinders. Combined, it is Turbocharged 5 Pot. I might be wrong thou. XD

• carfan on Apr 29, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Maybe Volvo is hoping to cash in on this C30 T5 as driven by Edward in Twilight///

• lotus paste power on Apr 29, 2010 at 7:07 pm

sorry there……but i still cant shed the image of Volvo being associated with old Unker/Auntie.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:06 am

People who say the rear looks weird probably doesn’t know that this is the 3rd time Volvo have done this. First on the P1800 wagon then on the 480 EX.

This “look” is as Volvo hatch as a Golf GTI hatch.

FA is just making a complete joke of the marque. Nothing really wrong with the car or its heritage.

• esther on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:59 pm

VOLVO MAKE GOOD CARS AND ASKED ANYONE ABOUT VOLVO BRAND , STRAIGHT IN THEIR MIND IS SAFETY , QUALITY AND LONG SERVICE OF THE CAR

NOT EVERYONE LIKE AN AUDI, MERC AND BMW . SOME PREFER A VOLVO, ALFA , PEUGEOT OR LEXUS , IN THIS CASE SOME PREFER TO SPENT MONIES ON VOLVO AS WELL ON THE MAINTENANCE RATHER THAN PUTTING THEIR MONIES ON AN AUDI , MERC OR BMW COS THEY JUST LOVE VOLVO AND NOTHING ELSE.

WHAT CHOON COMMENTED ON THE FORUMSIS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE AS EITHER HE IS NAIVE OR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE OR JUST WANT TO PICK ON VOLVO OR JUST MISLEADING THE VOLVO BRAND CORE VALUE

TO ME AND EVERYONE NO MATTER WHAT CHOON SAYS WE LABEL CHOON AS TOTALLY HAVING FOOLISH MIND . WE DO NOT WANT THE BLIND LEADING THE BLIND

IN THIS CASE THE FIRST BLIND IS CHOON

• kenny on May 01, 2010 at 11:32 am

next time you try to talk back ‘at’ someone, like Choon for example, click on the ‘Reply’ button in his post. that way people will know who, and which post you are referring to. cheers.

• Choon on May 01, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Hey, welcome to kick me! :)

You know what, I have high hope for this car, thinking about getting it myself.

I have gave Volvo dealer 3 times chances, they just disappoint me each time they do a launching.

I remembered last launching I went to test is S40 2.0 Powershift. When I first saw the news on this blog – man, you know what, this might be my new dream car!

You see, the price during launching is – I think about RM 170+K

That’s an attractive price for a “almost premium” car! :)

You know what, when I try it, I didn’t bother to look at Volvo anymore.

3 Reasons:

1. I already mentioned – The maintenance. This is clearly the distributor problem, those figure is not acceptable!

Most premium brands are even a bit lower than that price, and you know what – they are PREMIUM brand, I accept that!

2. The car is extremely under powered! Go book a test drive and tell me I’m wrong. I thought powershift – Wow, dual clutch system, must be something like DSG! Think again! The performance and ride quality is not even close to Mitsubishi Lancer – a car far less priced – RM120K+!!!

3. The handling – Awful, I can’t blame this to Volvo as that’s what a secure car is.

So clearly – Who ever selling the car is the reason why the Brand falls in Chinese hands, they don’t know about the car market and what consumer wants.

Hey Volvo – I love you but I really hate those guy who spec you and sell you, no passion for car.