Chinese man builds $3000 “Lamborghini” from scratch

You can’t buy most cars with $3000 especially not a Lamborghini, but Chen Jen Miao, a 25 year-old mechanic from China proves critics wrong. Well, its not the same Lamborghini as those that roll out from Sant’Agata, but the amount of effort and commitment to the cause warrants some attention to this project.

Not made for any other reason than personal satisfaction, Jen Miao made his Lambo from scratch and used plans and sketches that he got off the internet. He used around $3000 worth of materials and started work on it a year ago, while maintaining a full time job.

Official specifications are a bit rough and top speed is somewhere between 97 to 145 km/h. Though for someone who has realised his dream of owning a Lamborghini, I doubt that it matters one bit.

Check out the home made “supercar” after the jump

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1135]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• azrai on May 18, 2010 at 9:10 am

Pity this Chinese man. His so said ‘Lamborghini’ look like a caterpillar forklift thougn.

• Paul Tan on May 19, 2010 at 10:08 am

Lamborghini started out making tractors Mah!

• Elvis on May 20, 2010 at 12:00 am

Well, bro, u should also post our own homegrown Mr. Chens. There’s plenty of them and further more much better that this. Perhaps, you should include local modification works by our local boys…cheers…

• it looks stupid

• Good effort

• TataTitiTutu on May 18, 2010 at 9:19 am

Hahahaha … early morning cheer from China
    Hey is this Lambo cheaper than Tata Nano ?
    Notice the different rims for front & rear hehe

• IchimaruGin on May 18, 2010 at 9:22 am

Good for him since he’s definitely achieved his aim to improve himself by making practical use of the knowledge learned from the textbook!

• ini sama je standard dgn kereta berhias proton masa family day yg dikutuk2 dulu.. but i thot nobody care coz it didnt used ‘wang rakyat’ just like proton did.

• droll on May 18, 2010 at 9:34 am

the car may be a farce but i respect him for his determination!

• Kambing Gurun on May 18, 2010 at 9:44 am

Interesting. But this one is made-in-China. If a Malaysian builds a home-made car, how difficult it is to make it road legal in Malaysia? (What comes into my mind is going through JPJ strict regulations).

• nerdeliteonline on May 18, 2010 at 11:06 am

back in late 90 my friend built one nice working go-kart for his son… not that fast but still a good one..

• mohsin on May 18, 2010 at 9:57 am

At least, he had his own “supercar”

• wow, very fast…

• kabalotak on May 18, 2010 at 10:11 am

The Chinese are very special people indeed. Imagine they can build a working car in a barn. No doubt they can build anything in a proper factory^^

• i guess mr chen has great satisfaction for his “lamborghini”, well done!

• The thing looks dangerous, I don’t think it can be driven on the road legally. But you have got to give the guy credit for doing something most of us can only dream of. By the way he seriously need a wind tunnel :)

• ah-non-i-mus on May 18, 2010 at 10:48 am

this reminds me of Geoff/Hammerhead-i Eagle Thrust that the Top Gear guys built

• nerdeliteonline on May 18, 2010 at 11:02 am

Still he did it…and you?

• pomen_GTR (Member) on May 18, 2010 at 11:05 am

i-eagle funny during their crash test and sprint test…. :lol:

-hey….as long as it was powered by his own will then anybody can build one….put aside can be registered or not….

*but i wonder how “kit-car” registeration would applied here in bolehland?

• omg, it has scissor door. Even proton dont hv that XD

• tokmoh on May 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm

There’s quite a number of satrialution n putralution with scissors door.

• michaelk on May 18, 2010 at 11:29 am

anything is possible in china.. even an ori product will make you feel suspicious when you happen to be in china..

• Ronaldo on May 18, 2010 at 11:30 am

haha.. the small picture from far does look like a lamborghini……lol
    Anyway its a great effort from this guy and to achive this with just a mere $3k.

3k u can only buy a motorcycle

• altimate on May 18, 2010 at 11:36 am

well done !
    but i think it didnt have to look like a lambo… he should have had his own design into it..
    take pride in your creation, man :)

• jong84 (Member) on May 18, 2010 at 11:44 am

Respect!!! May be one day you’ll become the top engineer in the world!!

• incredible on May 18, 2010 at 11:54 am

at least he has his own builded dream car…..

• Pretty good efford…how many ppl can claim he built a car for 3k ? Tata Nano beware !

• cinaman on May 18, 2010 at 12:10 pm

how tough is the chassis? looks like tho whole car is crumple zone. ha ha

• mystvearn on May 18, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Not sure what the Euro NCAP rating is for the car, but good job

• armandd on May 18, 2010 at 12:18 pm

the engine compartment looks like a generator set.

• MyCarMyLife on May 18, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Here is a man with an ambition and desire to excel , sure beat our lads in KL wasting time in the wee hours at night shouting over EPL games at the mamak joints disturbing the peace.

• Entah la... on May 18, 2010 at 12:22 pm

check this out>>>>> http://g35driver.com/forums/other-cars/237074-homemade-lamborghini-reventon.html

• budin on May 18, 2010 at 1:51 pm

the most replica that i really salute is Ferrari 360 modena which is converted from peugeot 406 coupe!

http://www.extreme-sportscars.com/360/index.html

• totally like predator leh…
      hehe but nice

• Danny on May 18, 2010 at 12:28 pm

looks like a tank… a yellow tank.

• antestor on May 18, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Lego car, yea….

• wow…that guy is something…. i like the guys spirit. maybe a colin chapman or a mr enzo. they all started from scratch…. looks like a K-CAR lambo… reminds me of the 90s toyota Sera

1 question. can we do kit car in malaysia? as in making it legal. wanted to do a dune buggy and if ok, a 356 speedster…….let me know ya guys…..

• mok17 on May 18, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I salute you… tabik kau kau

• eldie on May 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Kudos to him. Has shown great determination and creativity. As least he achieve his goal…Do we?

• Not a fancy one though but
    GOOD EFFORT!

• alpha999 on May 18, 2010 at 3:36 pm

he started from zero, will end up a hero

• rexis on May 18, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Admit that he have all his time and effort, but…

Please take note that this $3000 is likely to exclude workmanship. A skilled wielder ain’t cheap!

And then a little doubt if he did apply any automotive engineering knowledge in the chassis or that is merely a model.

And that pile of iron rods at 145kmph is an instant final destination.

• Squawk on May 18, 2010 at 4:34 pm

You gotta admire his effort and determination though. It may be a $3000 ugly replica today but it could be something better tomorrow. And the day after…

• mnazri.tan on May 18, 2010 at 4:40 pm

shabby work…he could have done better…

• Elvis on May 18, 2010 at 7:25 pm

As much i am impressed with his ingenuity…he should be very embrasse seen driving with this junk!!!..hahahaha…

• nanti aku nak beli casis lori daihatsu kepala merah tu. enjin taruk turbo. body-on-frame kasi rupa porsche. fuhh. diesel porsche.

• Elvis on May 18, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Lamborgini should buy this junk from Chen just to show what 3k craps Lambo compare to 1 million REAL Lambo…

• He’s an inspiration… it shows that anyone can achieve their dreams if they put their heart and soul and sweat into it….. now everyone can own a lambo…. it gives us hope that there are things which are not impossible….. wish many more could do such….. especially our politicians…..

• what to be respect with such a crappy handywork ?
    i made my 1st car when i was 21…
    and it was a college project

• hottunks on May 23, 2010 at 9:26 pm

woooo cool man….
      but wheres the pics? any pics? no?
      emmm worse then crappy i gues :)

• firefox on May 19, 2010 at 11:02 am

good effort, better then local brands la, $ 3000 only + menpower maybe $ 6000, where can find oh…

• simpz on May 19, 2010 at 8:57 pm

though not that good looking… its a good successful effort from a mechanic!! 25years old some more… i salute his courage n passion! this is just the beginning for him… im sure there’ll b more better cars he’ll produce from scratch!

• it does’t really matter how this “lambo” turned out to be. This guy has a VISION… and followed through it….and finally made it !!!
    How many of us have this kind of spirit ….?
    Mark my word on this, watch out for more realistic cars looking and sounding very much more like the real lambo from China…the real bolehland.

• Elvis on May 24, 2010 at 12:03 am

NIce rheotic Dr. R..but actually a lot of local talents are doing it. It’s not really that difficult to chuck out custom made cars. If fact Malaysia was famous for half cut cars until many tragedies stuck. The problem is if you make your own cars, JPJ sure wont approved. Masuk Puspakom pun terus masuk lokap. So that’s why this thing are underground activities here…

• apeman on May 21, 2010 at 8:29 am

wowh..nice!

• how many horse power?fwd or rwd or 4wd? Middle engine or rear engine or front engine?

• Not even close to the a lamborghini… looks more like a wooden crappy lego car that has a messed up engine…