Toyota pays record $16.4 million fine over recall issue

Toyota pays record $16.4 million fine over recall issueToyota has paid a record $16.4 million fine to settle allegations by US regulators the company was too slow to recall vehicles with defective accelerator pedals. It was claimed that Toyota hid the issue from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) for at least four months, while the law required safety defects to be reported withing five business days.

That sum, the maximum allowed under auto safety regulations, was paid to the US Treasury in lieu of the Japanese automaker admitting wrongdoing. Now, I’m not sure how American laws work, but the exchange sounds like quite a good deal. The civil penalty payment was paid two days before Toyota USA sales chief, Jim Lentz, is expected to appear before a congressional committee investigating Toyota recalls in this long saga.

There’s more to come for the world’s biggest automaker: US safety regulators are also investigating whether Toyota delayed a 2009 recall of all-weather floor mats that could jam the gas pedal. That investigation is expected to run through the summer and Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood does not rule out the possibility of another fine.

Away from the courts, things look rosier for Toyota. Its US sales rose 24% in April as incentives buoyed demand for the Corolla and Prius. Company president Akio Toyoda was quoted as saying: “We are still in the middle of the storm, but I am feeling that we can see clear skies in the distance.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Peter on May 19, 2010 at 10:56 am

WOW?

• hahaha, what is 16.4 million to toyota which makes billions.. =.=””

• p4k4abu on May 19, 2010 at 11:01 am

Re: “… the company was too slow…”

Re: “… F1 too elitist …”

Sounds like bad jokes to me :( :( :(

;-)

• jl@ipl on May 19, 2010 at 11:16 am

To cover the lost money, they will flood other country (us, not U.S) with all of their junkies.

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 19, 2010 at 12:49 pm

and overpriced all that junkies while laughing for stupidious who bought it..

• No wonder when those junkies are dumped onto Bolehland, they are equipped with the recycled designs, obsolete VVTi engines, 4 speed auto box, rear drum brakes, 1 airbag etc. but funny so many PPLs are still fooled by them…………………

• BMALOI on May 19, 2010 at 11:20 am

US govt just found someone to share its losses over the finance crisis.

• Vincent on May 19, 2010 at 11:50 am

Ahyoi… 16 million is just like a glass of water pull into a sea.. nothing lar..

US need multi Trilion to boom their crisis ler…

• Vincent on May 19, 2010 at 11:49 am

16 million? just a peanut to Toyota…

So case close ah?

• no wonder most of malaysian people like to buy toyota… huhuhu, they love accelerate the car till the limit.. and it will be an auto-auto cruise function when it stuck.. LOL

• scgtimk1 on May 19, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Hahaa…. so true

• Motorist on May 19, 2010 at 6:54 pm

No wonder the Vios always like to cucuk my car backside lah ;-)

• scgtimk1 on May 20, 2010 at 8:33 am

these days, if i saw a Toyota behind my car while driving I will pull over or let him past…. don’t want to risk them bang my car with Stuck Accelerator Pedal or Toyota famous brake failure problem…..

Better let ‘them’ pass or be sorry later.

• callenish on May 19, 2010 at 12:58 pm

if talk about money, 16m is not much for toyota, but brand image is more of a concern. anyway, with sales figure increase even in US itself, it show how they brand image is still strong.

• Outsider on May 19, 2010 at 1:02 pm

16million…nothing to toyota…but someone just found someone to share its losses over the finance crisis…

• 16 billion should be the right amount…..

• meh, why should they pay anything for manufactured “acceleration” problem created by u.s government to boost up american car companies sales

• darren on May 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm

sigh… if only our local scene is as effective as NHTSA…..

• Vincent on May 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm

SO, Toyota has sucessfully doing the damages control and I guess their brand also secure…

Anyway, the taukey give a very strong statement… he is serious to rectify their error..

He say: Safety first, Quality second and volome 3rd; But when we are growthing at very fast speed, our people is confuse, it make us be volume number 1, quality 2nd and safety 3rd. We move too fast taht failed to stop to rectify the eror before we hand our product to customer…But rest assure that the car is carry my name, my family name and I will use all my resources to make it right as every unit of toyota crush is like my name is crush…

So Proton… time to ask Dr M, the bapa to tell Malaysian the car carry his pride and he will rectify all the quality issue…

• Motorist on May 19, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Toyota to US Gov

” You help me, I help you ”

” Tomorrow I write the cheque, OK? “

• mirsy on May 19, 2010 at 10:20 pm

I am not surprise if Toyota is bouncing back to its feet.
    Most of us refuse to acknowledge that they are where they are in was mostly contributed by the management push to be number 1 compromising the the basic tenet of the company.

But their fundamental is sound and unlikely to be unravel,dented. maybe yes. When the head quickly acknowledge their mistake customers are more forgiving. Unlike the US Financial houses already proven they at fault die-die also don’t admit.

• minnow on May 21, 2010 at 2:14 pm

The idiots deserves it….should hav been 16Billion….

who cares, with the junks they r coming out wit, just bidding time to go down..wont b long b4 the only application for Toyotas are as taxis….