2011 Volkswagen CrossPolo – more details released!

Der neue Volkswagen CrossPolo

Volkswagen has released more details on the new CrossPolo. As previously previewed, the CrossPolo is essentially a five-door Polo hatch with SUV looks and 15 mm higher ground clearance.

The petrol range of engines include a 69 hp 1.2-litre, 84 hp 1.4-litre and a 104 hp 1.2 TSI, while the diesel front comprises of a 1.6-litre trio of 74 hp, 89 hp and 104 hp TDI motors. 6-speed manuals are standard, while the higher powered units get 7-speed DSG as an option.

Prominent exterior changes include the anthracite coloured front apron with integrated front fog lights, black honeycomb insert with chrome trim and anodized roof rails, which have become a signature for the Cross range. Responsible for the SUV looks are the lower half of the body in black (including wheel arch extensions) and silver “stone guards” at both ends. It will ride on 17-inch alloys with 215/40 tyres. Silver too dull for you? Six body colours are available including CrossPolo exclusive Magma Orange and Terra Beige Metallic.

There’s a two-tone theme going on inside too. The fabric covering the seats and door trims can be had in Hot Orange, Orange, Latte Macchiato and Grey coupled with anthracite, which is the standard colour for the outer areas of the seats. Other neat features include height-adjustable sport seats, an asymmetrically split rear bench and backrest, pockets on the backs of the front seats with sliding drawers under them, leather-trimmed steering wheel, front centre armrest with storage compartment and aluminium look pedals.

Space wise, the CrossPolo’s 280-litre boot space can be expanded to 952 litres by folding the rear seats. Along with that, the incorporation of the dual cargo floor which can create a levelled loading surface and has straps that hold cargo in place, makes moving around with a full boot a breeze.

The new CrossPolo will be a welcome addition to the VW range in Malaysia. Prices for the previous generation fully imported CrossPolo (read our test drive review) started at around RM108,888. It would be interesting to see where VW plans to price this car should they bring it to Malaysia. Let’s be greedy and hope that they’ll also bring here the Polo GTI!

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• ppCCqB on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:26 am

100k is a good price for this car, hopefully with a 1.4 TSi, then it will be a good buy. forget about the jap brand

• PakAbu (Member) on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:37 am

Niiiice….. 8-)

I hope Proton’s planned SUV will be as nice looking as this. :mrgreen:

• CrossPolo is not an SUV.

• PakAbu (Member) on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Who says it’s an SUV?

• Then why would a Proton SUV looks like CrossPolo?

• im wondering too

• P4k4bu on Jun 16, 2010 at 7:16 am

*sigh*

That’s the thing. The operative word is *look*. A crossover is built to *look* like an SUV. Not really an SUV.
            So, it will be good if proton can build their SUV that *look* as nice as this crossplolo.
            Again, *look* only.

Now I hope you can lay this to rest.
            Go and annoy other people please.

• hope VW will bring the diesel engine to Msia market..

• The Loner on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Unless our G introduces high grade of diesel than current Euro 2M. Or else, just save the money for the future maintenance.

• azrai on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:44 am

At certain angle look like Proton EMAS concept.

• alibaba on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Oh yeeeah! I agree with you. Pathetic isn’t it? VW copying Malaysian design? Or wait a minute, isn’t it the other way round? Hmmmm…..

• dickybird on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:19 pm

oh, please! the emas just looks like a smart for 2 or a tesco shopping trolley that runs on batteries lah! LOL!

• chaos on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:55 pm

You have got to be kidding me…

• rosdi on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:45 pm

TSI (and DSG) = Future.

So who says there is no replacement for displacement?

• MoFaz on Jun 15, 2010 at 1:33 pm

i like the design, but i think 3008 has better looks and more powerfull engine.

• But you would have to pay RM35.000 more for the 3008.

RM35.000 is enough money to buy a Viva for your wife and a Modenas for short ways… ;)

Serious: 3008 is a different class and cannot be compared with the Polo. The Polo is much smaller.

• scgtimk1 on Jun 15, 2010 at 2:16 pm

HOLY Crap!

The TSI motor still using timing belt

….. old tech like proton

…. better by Japanese …. they all use timing chain…..

“””””sarcasm ends”””””””

• deGonggok on Jun 15, 2010 at 5:56 pm

scgtimk1 says:
      15/6/2010 at 2:16 pm
      HOLY Crap!

The TSI motor still using timing belt

….. old tech like proton

…. better by Japanese …. they all use timing chain…..

“””””sarcasm ends”””””””

Old tech = timing belt
      Chain is older than timing belt!!!

• LOL!… Have you heard of any VW with timing belt having any issues in Malaysia?…

Belts are reliable as chain if used within its designed specifications. You will only ‘need’ chain in in engines with higher compression ratios.

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 15, 2010 at 2:42 pm

aik.. i thought no more Polo GTi due to the launch of the audi A1?

• ppCCqB on Jun 15, 2010 at 2:57 pm

VW and audi different market segment

• dickybird on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

polo gti = cheap hot hatch
      a1 = premium hot-ish hatch

• rosdi on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Polo GTi R lah yang cancelled. Not the standard Polo GTi.

• Polo GTI? bro please check your eyes..its CrossPolo not Polo GTi..

• dickybird on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:58 pm

i qoute the author, ” Let’s be greedy and hope that they’ll also bring here the Polo GTI!”

• lots of comments that doesn’t make sense. Hmm
    Anyways, This car looks good. But the engines offered are kinda small and low in power, it must be a damn small crossover.

• droll on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:24 pm

i think the polo gti is coming at the end of the year *heard from some little bird*

• i have one back in california..planning to bring it to malaysia hehehehehehehehehe

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Jun 15, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Patut Proton Satria Neo buat macam ni…

• creator mind on Jun 15, 2010 at 5:45 pm

a little bit weak on the bhp…. 84hp for 1.4? they could tune it up to 100? well, they r those who can turbo it up… hehe, maybe later on some guy put it up to 140 on a 1.4

• Fat KoK Hak Gwai on Jun 15, 2010 at 6:38 pm

bad service at SC will deter buyers. the service needs to be improve la.

• niuhje on Jun 15, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Very the S-U-I!!

• VW_fans on Jun 16, 2010 at 1:48 am

Paul, VW won’t launch POLO Gti because Audi is launching S1, remember u posted on AUDI S1. VW will only have normal POLO instead ^_^ correct me if i am wrong.

• nazri on Jun 16, 2010 at 2:13 am

underpower suv…

• VW_fans on Jun 16, 2010 at 7:25 am

Paul, I don’t think there will be any POLO Gti coz u posted the AUDI S1, the chief of AUDI said that if there is AUDI S1 then, VW will not have POLO Gti, in order not to conflict the 2 models, correct me if I am wrong ^_^

• Philip J. Fry on Jun 17, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Polo GTI already exists:
      http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-news/first-drive-volkswagen-polo-gti-20100517-v7qy.html

You are confusing it with a R version of the Polo:
      http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-news/audi-s1-knocks-out-polo-r-20100519-vcvr.html

• rosdi on Jun 17, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Some people insists there never was a plan for Polo R…lol.. wonder who the joker is.

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 18, 2010 at 3:10 pm

brother.. read my comment properly.. i never mentioned “there was no plan for Polo GTi R”… i say, and quote myself again, that there will no longer be a new Polo GTi (added in now, untill further notice from VW)… and tell me frankly that you have driven a Polo GTi R before.. a real life one.. not one pluck from you auto-wet-dreams…

Philip J. Fry; i won’t contest with you as some people is looking forward to a re-done Polo GTi.. not the existing manual one we found in Malaysia (though i have to say it was a nice ride while i had it).. the whole joke now is that people is defending the idea that Polo GTi is still gonna come out with a new model (or new face)… if you read your second link.. the technical director also ruled out additional performance for the baby VW = no more Polo GTi… Joker la you all.. si pet eh hiau kong chio…

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 17, 2010 at 2:13 am

see.. i wasnt the only one with the bad eyes.. even VW_fans agree so.. no more polo GTi.. and there never was a Polo GTi “R”.. where the hell you get that!? Ah Seng Bengkel??? hahaha.. joker la some of you… anyway.. though i pray for a polo GTi while i was in malaysia.. now that i am in Singapore.. i actually look forward to the A1 now… would be a sweet ride…

• dickybird on Jun 18, 2010 at 4:46 pm

polo min biasa or polo gti, unless you a umnoputra or you are a malaysian oligarch u will never have chance to appreciate it. resistance is futile, you will buy proton! LOL!

• brandon soh on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:11 am

paul, any changes that this good lookin cross polo will be in malaysia? i’ve waiting so long for rhis cool lookin car =D

• brandon on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:30 am

Paul, any changes that VW will bring this little cool lookin cross polo into malaysia?

• Yes!! Hope that VW will bring this great sporty little cool CrossPolo into Malaysia this year!!!!