New Porsche Cayenne to hit Malaysia by month end, among others – including the Cayenne S Hybrid!

Porsche, via its local distributor Sime Darby Auto Performance Sdn Bhd is set to launch the second generation Cayenne SUV for the Malaysian market later this month.

Interestingly the local Cayenne range will feature the full line-up which means we will have the Cayenne Diesel and the Cayenne S Hybrid as well! With this there will be no less than five variants including the base Cayenne, the Cayenne S and the range-topping 500hp Cayenne Turbo with 699Nm of torque.

The Cayenne Diesel is likely to be re-tuned to enable it to sip on Euro 2M diesel which is the highest grade diesel option available in Malaysia at the moment. In Europe the Cayenne Diesel’s 3.0 litre turbocharged V6 makes 240hp and 550Nm of torque.

Along with the all-new Cayenne, the local Porsche stable will also be joined by new Panamera models: the Panamera V6 and the Panamera 4. Both models use a new 3.6 litre V6 with Direct Fuel Injection which is able to produce 300hp and 400Nm of torque. The Panamera 4 adds on an all wheel drive configuration.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Elvis on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Quite dated. Actually every i see a Cayane it doesnt make me impress anymore. Too familiar and not a classic design…design that doesnt last…

• hanifhamzah on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:12 pm

got that muscular look…

• This fugly looking car is coming to Malaysia? Even the old Cayenne looks better!

• The Loner on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:37 pm

I am not saying re-tuning the Cayenne diesel. Most probably removing diesel particulate filter and nitrogen oxide absorber to be fit with our so called high grade diesel fuel, which is same BMW did to its diesel variant of 5 series.

• vbkcheng on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Simedaby? i tot Naza is the one sell Porsche…

• Tommy on Jul 09, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Great! more cayenne in malaysia! hahahah… Cayenne supposed to be a rare car in malaysia. But, its a norm these days.

• Alpha on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:48 pm

no surprise as all of us malaysian r all very rich la.hahahahah!!XD

• maybe i’m just a fan of cayenne. But i belief that its a new design and that you are all still not used to it. for example the E-class. we all hated it. but when we get a closed up look, you will feel that its a MERCEDES.

and its not that cayenne is suppose to be a prestige car, is that malaysian are getting richer and the loans are getting cheaper these days.

2 thumbs up for SIME to make a fast launch… usually that you continental importers a year to bring them in…

• dibble on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:34 pm

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! EURO 2M STANDARD,,,, THAT DIESEL WAS FORMULATED 14 yrs BACK MAN…

EURO 6 is said to be lunch in 4 years time or so.. and it takes the Government and PETRONAS a good few long years to get over with their pride of introducing the EURO 2M..

wake up Petronas, wake up GOV. we are falling way back in our technology. thats a joke for you to even announce we are using EURO 2M…

• mine 8 inci on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:38 pm

What-lah M’sia . Still with 3rd world grade Euro2 diesel.
    If we have EU4 fuel – more fuel efficient cars will come our way.
    Is this part of NAP to protect P1 and not to flood the market
    with better / efficient cars. What happened to the – promotion of
    green technology ?? Come on don’t drag your feet and get moving!!

• mata katak on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:28 am

“The Cayenne Diesel is likely to be re-tuned to enable it to sip on Euro 2M diesel which is the highest grade diesel option available in Malaysia at the moment. In Europe the Cayenne Diesel’s 3.0 liter turbocharged V6 makes 240hp and 550Nm of torque.”

Re-tuned? With Malaysia low quality diesel……It’s more likely to be De-TUNED than re-tuned.

Shame, shame, shame of Malaysia for being an oil producing country, and producing crappy diesel quality.

Again, Malaysia Boleh!!.

• BMWForever on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:37 pm

interested to get one for weekend transport, any price lists?

• BMW -X5 Bru-Sin-M'sia on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Wow.. actually.. the design never really get to the point that I would stick posters of it on the wall :D..

but when u see the backside of this thing its not bad.. but don look at it from the front :P..

this car is some sort of X5 ish but if u are rich-er and want to drive off road more (not sure why) then u can get this cause this car can do off and on road.. sad to say x5 not really meant to be do off road.. cause its not an SUV :D..

I don understand why diesel and hybrid.. The only reason i wanna get a cayenne is to hear the exhaust when i drive off :P.. let others enjoy the sound of it.. :P..

if u want to get a diesel.. just get the cheaper X5! :P.. its more spacious and more room in the rear seat :P..

• Fuyiopo on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:45 pm

BMW X6 FTW!!