Hyundai unveils Genesis Coupe 3.8 R-Spec with 300hp!

Hyundai have released details of a new Hyundai Genesis Coupe 3.8 R-Spec for the US market, which as the name implies houses a 3.8 litre V6 engine capable of producing 306hp and 360Nm of torque. This is mated to a 6-speed close-ratio manual transmission and the car is propelled to 96km/h in just 5.5 seconds.

A world of difference compared to the 2.0T which produces 210hp from its 2.0 litre four cylinder engine. The ‘R-Spec’ equipment level was previously only available on the 2.0T. R-Spec gives the car stiffer front spring rates, limited slip diff, stiffer rear spring rates and unique shock valving which adds to the standard rear stabilizer bars that reduces body roll. In terms of stopping power, Brembo four-piston calipers will be used alongside ventilated front and rear rotors. This will sit on 19-inch wheels with a gunmetal finish.

Inside you will find a new interior which will be seen on both the R-Spec and the 2.0T model. What you’ll find inside is the use of soft touch materials on the door panels, lower instrument panels, steering wheel, glove box and the centre speaker grille.

Apart from that the shift bezel, instrument gauge cluster and dashboard knobs will have a different finish, while the A-pillars will be enveloped with cloth. Revisions were undertaken on the rear coat hooks, trunk deck lid grab handle and multi-information display screen graphics. There will also be appropriate R-Spec badging in the performance model. High-res pictures are available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1343]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• vertigo on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:36 pm

seems like a fairlady contender, this.

• yea, agree with you, especially looking at his rear side, however it’s undeniably a good looking sport coupe. i think this car is quite heavy, it would be around 1400kg based on it’s leather n satnav look. :S

• jolly_idiot on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

No butt shot? Front is so so… hope it won’t screwed with the butt

• Too bad, there is no market in malaysia, come on hyundai… bring this in rather than that coupe…

• dear Ivan and reader,
      how much are you willing to pay for this car, lets have some respond, please reply.
      my guess is you will want it cheap & full of accessories, making it impossible to bring in.

• FTO with Alza headlamp… last time i30 ‘using’ myvi headlamp….

• rhys millen on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Anyone seen this vehicle in the flesh before ???

• MyCarMyLife on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:19 am

Come to Hanoi , Vietnam, there many Ferrari wannabes running around for months already . It is easy for locals to buy updated models here as they are also left handed and no road tax, but sadly there are not much good highways and the speed limit is only 60kph !

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:32 am

I have, a few months ago us.

Its actually fairly compact….if anything, it looks better in the flesh.

• Anastazi on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Ever since the new Sonata was launched in Malaysia, i am keeping my finger cross that they will bring in at least the Hyundai Genesis Coupe 2.0T version as well. :)

• sonata interior nice!!!

• What is your expected price for your car, Hyundai Genesis Coupe 2.0T ???
      Then SimeDarby can make some plan if your asking price is “RIGHT”.!!

• firza on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

floored accelerator….love it…..

• Nice roof line, looked like Hyundai is really in their evolution of car design. Great job.

• Continental driver on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Boring design again..

• blitzboy on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:08 am

rear wheel drive??

• nicholas on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:27 am

hm…front light kinda like lexus?

• totot112 on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:45 am

Nice one V6 FR layout. Good for drift, drag, track day, Sports Coupe.
    How much does this car gonna cost when it comes into Malaysia.
    Miss the Good Old days Soft Touch all round interior.

• Sang Lotus on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:34 am

No Lotus tune & handling
      drift drag into ravine & turn turtle easily. haha

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:35 am

Its not only Lotus that can tune suspensions. Plenty of other people can do an equally good job at it.

This would probably turn and drive a lot better than your average Lotus tuned Gen2……

• totot112 on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:28 am

Haha
        No need lotus tune also can handle well. Not necessary need lotus tune only can handle well. Then what about Merc, BMW, etc etc

Anyway, From the proper R&D of the engineers, sure it will handle good ….
        Provided AS LONG AS the driver knows his/her skills limit.

Youtube video there you search Hyundai Genesis Coupe then you can see what this car capable of beating.

• Hot Coupe on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm

This car is a proven drift machine. Check out the reviews on youtube. It even outclassed BMW 165 by price comparison. Some even sets new track record using this machine. The only reason holding americans from buying this is the hyundai badge. Hyundai should have made a new luxury brand like lexus/acura.

IMHO, this is the next AE86. Sorry toyota, hyundai beat u to it. Come on guys, go do some research. Knowledge is power!!

• slumber on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Sang Lotus,

It is an open secret that the very 1st gen Coupe handling was tuned by Porsche (although both Hyundai and Porsche publicly denied).

Ever since that 1 time tuning, the Coupe’s handling have been improved upon without relying to Porsche, and world wide journalist have been praising it. I think this as engineering evolution, instead some just sell theirs with R&H by ‘L’ but in actual fact it was nothing.

• why ? you Proton salesman ??

• Andrew on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:59 am

Meh…

• Jaybond on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:53 am

Almost a 370Z contender , more like to battle with Infiniti G37 Coupe, BMW 3 Series Coupe, Audi A5/S5 & Mercedes E Class Coupe.

• hallendro on Jul 22, 2010 at 3:50 am

According to Edmunds.com G37 Comparison Test, Hyundai Genesis Coupe V6 beats out Infiniti G37 by overall score.

According to Popular Mechanics G37 Comparison review, “..the extra $10,000 on the price tag of the Infiniti doesn’t seem quite worth it.

According to The Truth About Cars review, “…The biggest surprise in this entire package: the Genesis Coupe’s steering. While the Europeans seem to favor lighter and lighter steering feel (to disguise their model’s increasingly obese if safety-oriented curb weight), the Genesis feels perfectly weighted and precise. BMW’s M3—yes, that one—should take lessons from the Genesis Coupe’s steering rack. It serves-up Porsche-level feel, with just a tad less precision.”

Quite impressive reviews it had

• Saw many units of this new hyundai coupe in China, salute to their latest car’s design…..nice try.

• akinaqi on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:17 am

seems like they already ‘advertise’ this coupe in the US through “Burn Notice” series..
    not sure whether it is totally the same model..but looks very much similar..
    can hear they kind of ‘praising’ this car occasionally..

but one thing for sure..this baby looks very delicious in action..car chase..run through walls..(insert action-movie-type-of-stunts here)..

• Anti Proton on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:36 pm

no thanks. Infiniti G37 Coupe, BMW 3 Series Coupe, Audi A5/S5 & Mercedes E Class Coupe or 370z for me anytime please and thank you.

• Anti Ignorance on Jul 22, 2010 at 3:59 am

and I’ll take the Genesis and beat ur G37/ 3 series/A5/E class/370z anytime thank you, ignorant.

• motorist on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Geared towards the American market

• Turbo man!!! on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Wanted to buy the new Hyundai Coupe earlier this year, but found it to be underpowered for what it is.

When will the 2.0 Turbo be available in msia? That should have some kick and able to run with Golf GTI, cooper S unlike the 2.0 Malaysian market Hyundai coupe, which have trouble overtaking myvis.

• anti-first on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:09 pm

i think this car was featured in the final season of the 24 series….sounded garang!

• please…….be powerful than STI……..

• luckydick on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:47 am

inside is like Infiniti G35. exterior not too bad, but I still prefer 370z in terms of design.

• Helmet on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:55 am

Gorgeous!

• shahril@aril hyundai team malaysia and korea on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:20 pm

hyundai is good car in the world,american people choice car hyundai is the fasmous performace. crash euro 5 star,speed good,good suspension, hyundai azera ,sonata,getz,elantra,starex,matrix,tucson,i10,i20,i30,140,genesis coupe,tiburon,tusani,equus,genesis sedan luxury car.go hyundai korean car.

• shahril@aril hyundai team malaysia and korea on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:52 am

veloster and santa fe 4×4