2nd generation Mercedes-Benz CLS-class official photos

It seems that there’s nothing left to show of the second generation Mercedes after this. A recent leak has left the public with official photos of the Mercedes Benz CLS and thanks to the magic of the internet, you’re the first few to lay your eyes on it.

Again because it’s unofficial, no details about the powertrain and the list of new goodies are available. Nevertheless if speculation is to be believed, you can expect a 301hp 3.5-litre direct-injected V6 (CLS 350 CGI) and a new twin-turbo 429hp 4.6-litre V8 (CLS 550 CGI). There will also be diesel versions of the car, 350 CDI and 250 CDI, but most probably not for our market.

As always, an AMG variant will not be far off, which could sport the new the 5.5-litre twin-turbo V8, recently seen in the CL63 AMG. Unfortunately for Mercedes, all that’s left for them to release is the spec sheet and live photos of the car.

You can catch all this at the Paris Motor Show which will be at the end of September this year. More pictures of the new CLS and its interior are available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1436]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Just a personal view.. ugly.

• mitlanevo on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:19 pm

hmmm…… CLS……..

• Rear seems a bit old man.OTher than that,the car is beautiful

• shawal on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Best Mercedes design (apart from the SLS and pre-facelift SL) in recent years….
    A show stopper….

• zeman on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Love the new look. The rear and interior look interesting. Wish I can afford it… Hopefully someday I can get one… or two haha…

• Alpha on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:52 pm

big nose~XD

• khoking on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:53 pm

My dream car…no money and dare not to drive in Malaysia…

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:23 pm

somehow the 1st gen CLS has a sleeker design

• nevermore on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

louis?????

• Ah Bear on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:01 pm

This one looks strange considering the first one was a trendsetter. Might as well go for the E coupe.

• vangardx on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:02 pm

wah..new front grill design..

• hvannees on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm

yahoooo…….

• very complicated design lines..
    however,its still a benchmark for the merc..and nice steering too..

*out of topic – i still admire passat cc..i dont get bored looking it on the road..

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:30 am

yeah, passat CC is also good looking but its half of everything of CLS. less than half the price, less than half the power!

• Elegant & sexy… Awesome :)

• one of the most beautiful merc

• akupunya on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm

waweee…..mabelous..!!
    great car!! so tough..

• Front is not that attractive, but the rear is… i wonder how the final looks like

• Front looks fugly and failed, the rear still looks ok, but, loved the old generation more!

• RadzLee on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:19 am

masculine front, weird rear…
    but the WOW factor is there.

• The rear is elegant!! With AMG kit should be better! Somehow the front not so nice with SLS grill, but looks more ‘garang’ than previous model. Only the rich can afford tho.

• Got two of these outside my house. This is because im rich

• Kim.s on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:49 pm

this is the most BACKWARD and RETARD comment that i ever seen…

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:41 am

disproportionate and ugly

maybe something is wrong with the pictures

those hideous tail lamps and that out of place grille

why mercedes why……….?

• Jaybond on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:37 am

Front grille is very oversized. I think the design progression at M-B is to become more masculine rather than feminine.

• Alanore Chong on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:56 am

no longer a water drop silky flow on outside

• the rear looks hideous….dashboard looks similar to BMWs

• 1st look impression : a fierce tapir……

• loollool on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:13 pm

somehow the Korean already come out this similar design (with many complicated curve) on their new sonata~~ well, if its not better, but the korean are not too far behind~

• likahsing on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:37 pm

i have 2, anyone want to have 1. come and get it. this car is so cheap.

• mohsin on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I’m prefer the previous one!
    Sigh! only prefer but can’t afford even the recond unit.
    The MB Batman oso cun once very classic, majority owned by Taxi driver @ Kelantan!

This is another car that should not have been redesigned.

The CLS has been one of the best looking sedan on the market since it came out.
    The all new model is not an improvement.

don’t get me wrong, I’m sure it’s a great car.
    But it really doesn’t look better than the current model.

• if you’re getting a friggin AMG,
    nobody in his right mind would pick a SL 65 over this.
    very lady-ish, and the butt is not a looker.

• flizzardosohigh on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:27 pm

i really like the rear absolutely fantastic but i cant say the same for the front…

maybe the pictures dont do justice… hope to see in the flesh then only can judge

• valandil on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:11 pm

why would they think it would be a good idea to place the gear level behind the steering wheel?

i still maintain my likes to the 1st generation’s overall looks cos its different from other MB models at that time. Now, here.. there are many similarities with the SLS, E-Class… only the rear portion remains distinctive.

• LoveIt on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:40 am

I also don’t really keen on the gear lever behind the steering…kinda manipulated by old american car design (most of them I notice have that kind of gear lever)…well guess it gonna be a trend and we have to use to it..

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:59 am

hell i want my ride to look good

be it a suzuki alto or a mercedes CLS

and this one simply does not look good

why is merc looking towards the east for design themes

the new E-class already look like the Nissan teana from behind

• ah yu on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:30 am

design like new hyundai elantra

• c14man on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:55 pm

1st gen CLS design is timeless..
    still looks very modern…

2nd gen has strong design cues from SL no?

anyway, guess this design will last another 8-10 years

• jason on Nov 05, 2010 at 1:23 am

This car will be how much? Will it bring into Malaysia? When?

• I like the previous one…

is it ok for a 30yo guy to drive this car? im considering to buy the 2006 model

• Aneeta on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:54 pm

I see a lot of people talking about vibrating sounds in the engine.

• Clark on Apr 19, 2011 at 9:28 am

Good blog! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!