Proton records RM105 mil profit in Q1, growth in all areas

National carmaker Proton announced its financial results for the first quarter of the company’s 2010/11 financial year. It was positive figures across the board, with a headline of RM105 million profit before tax in Q1. This is significantly more than the RM13 million profit made in the previous quarter (Q4 09/10). In the same period of the previous financial year, Proton posted RM64 million profit before tax.

Riding on the 19% growth in Malaysia’s Total Industry Volume (TIV) for the first half of 2010, Proton sold 39,994 vehicles in Q1, which is 8% more than the corresponding period in 2009. Similarly, revenue rose to RM2.29 billion from RM1.85 billion.

Some of you might have been surprised at Proton’s position in our recent Thai market report post (Exora is the best selling MPV in Thailand), and the company is happy to announce that total exports have increased by 88% (8,303 units) compared to Q1 09/10. This figure takes into account the Gen2 and Persona CKD kits exported to China, which amounts to 60-65% of total exports. In the longer term, the company plans to introduce the Proton brand in China, making the world’s largest auto market its left-hand drive hub.

Proton, which has a presence in 29 countries, is working hard to boost exports as “the domestic market has reached saturation point and exports are needed to increase economies of scale,” according to Proton Chairman Dato’ Sri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh.

The company is also seeking to establish more CKD operations in other countries to replace the current CBU (except China) practice, as localisation to meet diverse needs is essential. The markets Proton is eyeing are ASEAN, China, Iran and India. The short term goal is to reach 40,000 export units this financial year.

Proton records RM105 mil profit in Q1, growth in all areasBesides higher car sales, Proton attributed the improved financial showing to the ongoing efforts to rationalise its dealer and support network. Offering value added products/services, consolidation of dealers, increased efficiency and the promotion of the use of genuine parts all led to a 40% growth in revenue from service and spare parts in Q1.

At the media briefing, management revealed that the company is deep in a restructuring process that will see it being divided into four strategic business units (SBU). While not disclosing what the SBUs are (there could be a manufacturing arm and a dealer arm, for instance), it was explained that by doing this, it would be easier to collaborate with other companies.

For example, if company V wants to work with Proton on vehicle assembly, it would be possible for the manufacturing deal to happen without company V buying equity into Proton. V may be eyeing something Proton has, but may not want to manage another brand.

At the event, Proton MD Dato’ Syed Zainal also showed off some very interesting future products and plans. Stay tuned for more!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pacifictuna on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:28 pm

good to hear that…. and new products is always welcomed!

• Perdana Menteri ke-8 on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:57 am

“Some of you might have been surprised at Proton’s position in our recent Thai market report post (Exora is the best selling MPV in Thailand)”

YEAH!!
      But Malaysian still BLIND.. they this Kereta Juga Meevi by Prutdua is the best MPV ever…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:33 pm

Yeahhhh, since P1 can stand on its two legs, now is the time to abolish NAP and open the market now.

Simple calculation.

P1 now starts with a fresh accounting book since all the bad invetsment were scrapped in last year financial report.

But still, dont worry, the mechanism is like this, if my profit is low, gomen will uplift the taxes to ensure higher profit for P1, but if the profit is high, gomen dont have to do anything. Check and balance maaaa…..

• boss coffee on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Bash bash bash bash! Cepat la! Mau downrate basher ratings!

• loollool on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:02 am

u sure drive a proton…

u drive it bcos u r not capable for a better car , and certainly u drive proton not bcos you love Proton right?

if you are CEO of a Billion dollar company, and yet u still use Proton as ur business car, then i salute u…

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:10 am

Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Shah bin Syed Nor Al-Bukhary is a billionaire (7th richest in Malaysia) and he still driving his Proton Perdana.. go salute him.

• losaa on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

lol, bukhary only has 1 car? lol

• apada on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:54 pm

yeah, he’s not craze for toys like some of us.

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Because he knows his place. He wasn’t born rich and his empire’s built out of hard work. It’s no surprise he’s modest, and his philanthropy work speaks volumes about his personality. Over 1 billion distributed to help the poor and needy. I think he should be a shining beacon to all Malaysians. If everyone emulate him, then Malaysia would be a better place.

• losantara on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:22 am

1. You go to Bukit Damansra, Country Heights and Tropicana where most Datos and Tan Sris stay, you can find a lot of German make.

2. How you know he is the 7th richest ? Based on Forbes magazine ? Tolong la sikit. That one is based on market capitalization of their listed company shares.

Dont be a bookish, make more friends !

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:05 am

nahhh.. i don’t have time to go ask one by one of these richest people about their ranking. why not you befriend them and tell us who’s the richest and the least richest?
            why should i bother what the Datuks and Tan Sri driving? the fact remains that Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar is still driving his Perdana.

• losantara on Aug 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm

If you are not sure who is the 7th richest then stop making statement !

The FACT is that most RICH MEN DRIVE GERMEN MAKE !

Tolonglah MoFaz. WAKE UP !!!!!

• BadBET on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:18 pm

I think MoFaz is referring to ‘loollool’ , about any billionaire who use proton as daily car , not about what the most rich man own/drive. Plus; Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Shah bin Syed Nor Al-Bukhary is a billionaire, who care he is no 1 or no 99 in the list as long he is a billionaire who use proton car.

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:38 pm

what’s wrong with using Forbe’s list? do you have any other way to verify how rich is someone? were you able to check their account to verify? can you give me a list of richest people in Malaysia?

yes, most of the rich people drive german makes, but that’s not the point here right? that arrogant loollool mentioned that he will salute any billionaire who drive Proton car, and i simply mentioned Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar. you can search about him in google or wiki and it’s widely known that he drive Proton Perdana.

no wonder so many bashers here have “looser” in their names, including you looser-ntara

• losantara on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Wah MoFaz make ANOTHER wild assumption. How do you know I am a loser. I am a 100% WINNER as I know compared to my peers :)

The fact is nobody can tell who is rich and who is poor INCLUDING FORBES MAGAZINE. I am not interested in the ‘salute’ issue but I cannot tolerate you keep MAKING IRRESPONSIBLE WILD STATEMENT.

Go change your job MoFaz, get more exposure

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:29 am

looser-ntara is a self-proclaimed winner.

why do you think I’m making wild statement? the list was obtained from Forbes. they have done their research and that’s the only list we could refer to. you’re the only guy questioning their credibilities. If they’re simply making wild statements as what you’re saying, then 6 million readers around the world should sue Forbes for lying to them all this while.
            why should i change my job? i don’t see how it relates here. do you think my job is to make you happy? Sorry, no “happy meal” for you kid.

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Are you just being a idiot? The Forbes list are compiled according to their net worth. Here’s the definition of net worth – the total assets minus total outside liabilities of an individual or a company. Not market capitalisation.

And as for the fact that nobody can tell who’s rich and poor, come on. The Forbes list is the de facto list of determining the wealth of the richest humans on earth. Even Guinness Book of Records uses the Forbes list to determine the richest person on earth! So why are you questioning it when everybody else in the world isn’t?

Plus why is it a wild accusation to say that Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar is 7th on the list of richest Malaysians? Do you have some sort of a hidden agenda? Are you implying something?

• losantara on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Mr Tiadaid said I am an idiot, the thing is my IQ is slightly above 120. Not as smart as Collin Powell but definitely is higher than average.

AND MR TIADAID IS STUPID (Yes I mean stupid but not idiot), go read the link below

http://www.forbes.com/lists/2010/10/billionaires-2010_The-Worlds-Billionaires_Rank.html

READ THE LEGEND AT THE BOTTOM

*For billionaires with publicly traded fortunes, net worths were calculated using share prices and exchange rates from February 12, 2010.

And you said net worth is based on the ‘total assets minus total outside liabilities’ . Please……I think until now you still do not understand what is your mistake !

Paultan.org is our favorite site, we do not welcome STUPID COMMENT

• MoFaz on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:59 am

whatever la.. the main point here is “any billionaire who drive Proton cars”….

so, Mr high IQ looser, who is Malaysian billionaires? I want you to come-up with a list of names and how valuable they are. If you don’t have any other way to list down the billionaires, why would you deny the usage of Forbes list here? why would you idiotically make this issue dragging unnecessarily?

btw, i remember Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar being the 7th richest in 2007. but for 2008-2010 he’s at 8th place. my mistake.

• The Presiden on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:59 pm

I am former executive at Johor Port Berhad.. My boss Executive Director, who is one of the Syed Mokhtar Bukhary’s relative, also drove Perdana Car even he is millionaire! The company giving him Camry, but he still driving Perdana everyday…

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:31 am

wei, got one CEO billion dollar company only drive proton
        Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Albukhary only drive his Proton Perdana SEi (4 cylinder 2.0l)

• pelams on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:54 am

gt another rich chinese businessman in kl bt dunno who…he’s using perdana as well..

• Elvis on Aug 28, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Ehemmm, just to drop a note everybody. Proton Perdana is a rebadge model.

• wei.. u ni bila proton down skit.. u kutuk la org pakai proton ni tarak bagus.. pro proton la.. xde taste la.. ape la… tp bila proton improve mendadak…. u kutuk org yg pakai proton nie sbb xde duit nak bli kete mewah2.. stakat u pakai vios x yah la nak kutuk2 or org.. event, banyak je company yg pakai kete perdana as company car.. lg satu, tu dia punye duit, ikut suke la kete ape yg dia nak bli… aaiissshhh…

• MrDDR on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Go salute tan sri Syed Mokhtar Albukhary…Or you dare to talk only…Afraid??? Proof ur word…

• HirumaKecil on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm

u sure drive a japan car…

u drive it bcos u r not capable for a better car , and certainly u drive japan car not bcos you love japan right? go and got conti la….

It is normal for millionaire to buy luxury car… they also did.t drive honda civic… they buy merc and bm, or even bently.. they hired a driver and just sit at the back….

• durability on Sep 01, 2010 at 11:21 pm

I think the bottom line is Proton hasn’t really contribute much to Malaysia’s economy, instead it goes backward. I mean, it’s great that Malaysia makes car, it’s great that we have our own national car, BUT it’s terrible that our national cars don’t last more than 10 years! And worst, we have to pay more for these vehicles that manufactured locally, just in the neighborhood of Shah Alam, while those exported all the way to UK are selling at a cheaper price.

Please, tell me, what is justifiable here!?

• rodimuslai on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Good 2 hear that P1, let’s hope it can continue the profitability……

• Need MORE export!!
    Good luck Proton.

• shawal on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:44 pm

When mahaleel was around ,profit was thrice that….

• ray_jay on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:16 am

kah kah kah… when Mahaleel was around… ‘trice that amount were wasted’ buying ailing Agusta… Then, even Harley Davidson SOLD IT… for LOSS!! :))

• jamal on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:23 am

mahalel time different. at that time second hand proton is more expensive than a new one. hahaha.

• mahaleel come to proton when proton at its peak…. high cash, high sales bla bla bla…. when he step down, proton brand has been damaged, lowest sales of all time, cash was in red….

• mystvearn on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:28 am

Maybe so, but exports were not. Also, Malaysian’s were taken for a ride in the 90’s where buying Proton was the de facto choice.

Lets try to guess the SBU’s:
      1. Manufacturing
      2. Marketing
      3. Developmental
      4. Investment?

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:56 am

I think separating the manufacturing part of the company into a SBU would definitely cut alot of time-consuming processes and red tape involved in foreign manufacturers negotiating with Proton to use Tanjung Malim capacity for assembly.

• mystvearn on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:40 am

There is DRB-Hicom, Naza for that factory manufactorying bit. What makes proton so interesting? Factory not at maximum output so no need to invest in infrastructure is it?

• quattro on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:59 pm

4 sub SBU

1) ENGINEEERING
        2) MANUFACTURING
        3) SALES / MARKETING / AFTER SALES / SPARE PART
        4) EXPORT / EXPLORATION

• profit was thrice because of the proton saga iswara which cost peanut to manufacture.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:54 am

But the loss was more i think…

• Ayam Tambatan on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:50 pm

What Mahaleel did was lose money by buying MV agusta, lose money by making cars that cannot make money like Neo & Savvy, burn money via MSX project, screwed the WRM project by trying to do it on the ultra-cheap, screwed the customers by NOT paying any attention to sales AND after sales. And this was in an era where a 2nd hand Iswara was worth more than a new one ….

• drMpower on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:47 pm

good. this is some of the good news. now go on and make more money.

so that proton will stay forever independent of government money. momentum is there so no need to stop. go bullish. go in full speed.

prove to the world that ‘little’ proton can play in the same field of the big boys. of course we are proud of u.

proton boleh

• nice… my next car will be a proton

• shuhaimi on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:51 pm

“At the event, Proton MD Dato’ Syed Zainal also showed off some very interesting future products and plans. Stay tuned for more!”
    i’m waiting… future product…

• lohsantara on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Proton Total Q1 Profit 33 million USD (RM 105 million)

Forget about the top 5 automaker in the world

I simply google one competitor…… say…….Nissan Group : WHOPPING 1.16 billion USD profit in Q1.

Let’s wait for Lancer launching and see how

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:29 am

true, still far behind top 5 automakers in the world.
      but you have to remember, Proton profit mostly from domestic market, so they haven’t reach the ‘economy of scale’ yet. it could be different once Proton become global player with export to europe and usa.
      and the top 5 automakers are already very “senior” compared to Proton. some already 100 years old, and even Hyundai is 50 years old.
      and making cars is not easy, from RM2bil revenue, they only get RM100mil, or only 5% profit. how much profit Proton take per car?… a mere RM2,000 only! (RM105mil / 48329 cars)

• losaa on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:11 am

global player? are you high on drugs? they are suffering in kampung already.

• shiok on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:54 am

‘it could be different once Proton become global player with export to europe and usa’

Memang betul. Proton belum lagi menerajui pasaran antarabangsa. Mereka tengah tunggu masa yang sesuai untuk serangan hendap.

semakin I mendampingi abang MoFaz, semakin I terharu dengan kehebatan dan kejantanan abang MoFaz……

• bangmo on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Hyundai started to build car almost at the same time like protong. Where is Hyundai now?

• ray_jay on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Hahahahah… zaman internet want to lie, google first bro! Hyundai started in 1967!

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Why do you bashers think Hyundai started at the same time as Proton? How hard is it to Wiki the information?

• jl@ipl on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

Any idea how much was the Nissan Group revenue?

• loollool on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:59 pm

good what?

what so good? if Proton is not making huge profit here in local market then is a joke !!
    correct my if I’m wrong~!

but sadly the fact It was really that way last few years back~~

• eisyam on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:07 am

‘At the event, Proton MD Dato’ Syed Zainal also showed off some very interesting future products and plans’

i wonder what is that………i’m eager to know la

• jl@ipl on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:31 am

Rumours from other sites about Exora 1.8, Campro CFE, CVT gearbox etc.

My friend, ex-Proton Edar’s Salesman said that Exora’s campro actually 1.7l. Note that in the catalogue, no c.c mentioned. Can’t verify that though.

Just wait and see……..

• jl@ipl on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:45 am

My mistake,

Campro Fuel Efficient (CFE) not Campro CFE, utilizing Turbo, AIFM and Direct Injection.

CVT gearbox for AT model, Getrag for MT.

Can’t wait for basher’s respond. :)

• littlefire on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:35 pm

I will respond to you now, i will go down…

EV or hybrid i will oppose and ask for Diesel turbo engine, why? Maintanence is cheaper and proven to go more mileage compare to EV/ hybrid cars. EV can win only to Zero emission, other than that…

Evidence: VW Polo bluemotion vs Honda Civic hybrid (VW Polo win) Check the net and find the article from Autocar.

1.6 Campro turbo? VW using 1.4 Twincharge engine which combine supercharger + turbo at a lower cc and gain more power!!! Lower roadtax and confirm already win engine of the year award.

CVT already in market long time de…Read article in wiki.. Now ppl are using Dual Clutch Gearbox like VW DSG! For manual, i dont know ppl will still want to use that as a lot of sport car nowadays also using DSG gearbox… (GTR35, EVOX…)

Well, P1 already pass VW offer to DRB-HICOM. So we might as well sit back and see what P1 can give us with their proclaim best in class vechicle in “Malaysia only”. Malaysia Boleh!!!

So come on P1 supporter. Give the best shot u have to prove to P1 are great not only in Malaysia but in the whole wide world! Well maybe P1 can have some consolation for Lotus handling & ride. Others?

• yippi33 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Tsktsk..Littlefire..cant you just think a “little” bit further with that “little” brain of yours..

EV vs Hybrid vs Diesel turbo..theres always pros & cons between these technologies..EV uses pure battery while both hybrid plus diesel still utilize fuel..get it?now fuel price are uncertain nowadays..just wait till msia is the net importer of fuel n ull see..how dya know that maintenance is cheaper?hv u owned one?or base on “my friend said..my granpa said” theory?some EVs can prove to achieve 200km++ in single charge..go wiki tesla..

1.6 campro turbo vs 1.4 TSI..now both engine is different but if i’m not mistaken the campro uses a LPT to boost up the low rpm range..its does not meant for speedracers but more for quick acceleration and good FC..further more tsi combine turbo and super charge on both lower and higher rpms…its not as simple as u think to compare it..once again wiki more on these..more parts means more PM cost..later u will complaint maintenance cost too high la pulak..shisshh..

do you even know the difference between CVT and DSG??i dont think i should waste my time typing it for you..u know how to wiki it right??once again both tech are for diff purposes..one is for FC and one is for performance and quick response..price wise, CVT is more cost effective than DSG in term of cost per unit of car to produce..understand what i’m saying?if not go wiki again..

i suspect that u are not an engineer and more to a student who is crazy about cars judging by the performance you desire rather than cost effective approach to be taken..finish you degree first dude..

oh yeah..apart from lotus handling & ride..im happy and proud to point out that proton is our homegrown car brand albeit their previous past..they are vastly improving..Selamat Hari Kebangsaan LittleFire… or were you born in Singapore??

• eisyam on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:56 pm

1.7 campro?? walauweih…no wonder it can drive the big body ……

but still i looking forward for exora turbo, jimat minyak + cheaper roadtax……..

• loollool on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:09 am

let’s if one day when Proton is no more being protected, will Proton still sell well???

you all know the answer!~~

but then again, it might sell well too~ only when its’ quality has really catch up !

but we just don’t when will be that day~ will it ever come???

• yippi33 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:50 am

yes we all know the answer..there are no protection in thailand and they are doing well..go figure

• boss coffee on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:53 am

Sorry what? They’re doing well manufacturing cars. Do they design?

Sir, please stop comparing apples to oranges!

• Do the Thailand have their own brand car manufacturer….why should compare the thai’s and us?….huh….

• HirumaKecil on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:54 pm

that is why we should compare.. becozz in thailand, they can buy toyota,honda and nissan with lower price.. still they buy proton.. if here ok la.. coz we can say that jap car is expensive… but in thailand, you cannot say the same thing…

• apada on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:09 pm

slow pick up

• numbers-rock on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:01 pm

97% of proton sales is domestic. 3 % international.

GO FIGURE.

PAKAI LAH OTAK SIKIT

• yippi33 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm

were talking about protection here dude..not about sales pie chart…the market sales figure still do not deny the fact that proton is doing well outside of msia.. without protection, base on the main point that we are discussing right now..now im using a lot of my brain..i know someone who “PAKAI LAH OTAK SIKIT” sgt..

• BolehlandProton on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:42 am

here, in Malaysia. If Proton have the balls, go ask government to remove extremely high import tax and see if Proton can compete man to man. Else, shut up Proton ball-less bigots!

• Bolehblahlabolehlandproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:54 pm

i dont think there is going to be much problem for proton to request the G.. becoz they’ve got balls to improve…the biggest problem is how to correct the mindset of msian girls with balls like you…get it??

• Salamander on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Then you should ask Japan and Korea to remove their import tax as well right? If those country have balls by the time GM is at their peak.

• loollool, if there no protection, Passo will sell more than Alza…

• Congrats to Proton. U have finally grow up after 25 years!!!

I hope it’s time for the Govt to revise the NAP policy now.

• Viosuser on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:59 am

wah lu pandai main tipu Mr. Sook !

‘ U finally grow up after 25 years !!! ‘

WELL SAID Mr.Sook, I like your style !

• Yay, congrats to P1.. Since they so good d, they can stand on their own feet d, time for NAP policy review.. I swear i support P1 even after review.. kekekke

• littlefire on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:22 am

Nice said bro, is time the G to review the NAP policy and give us back what the real open market they promise during the previos years… Since Proton already done well with their sales..

• Neutral on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:24 am

since PROTON is going on the right track, let revise the NAP and let other have a fair play in our auto market. Stiff competition is the way that PROTON need to face from now but not protection !!!!!!! Same things apply to PERODUA also !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• loollool on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:12 am

“We charge the exact opposite as our equally rubbish rivals!”
    ~ Proton Car Motto

“Aiya scare what? Proton is protekted by gaberment because it was the Government-Link-Company kan? If Proton bankrupt then the gahpamen will shame dan the only Malaysia’s pride is gone lah!”
    ~ the Proton Cronies

“Car for Malaysia market no need any quality lah, because like or not they also force to buy our car punya!”
    ~ The Proton theory

“I was driving my Proton when it collided with a plastic bag. My car was in two after the collision, but the plastic bag managed to escaped with just minor cuts and bruises.”
    ~ Jeremy Clarkson’s neighbour on Top Gear

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:33 am

you could be very good fren to mr SYOH..
      if you’re a girl, i suggest you both get married right now and produce more bashers.

• That’s hilarious Mr. loollool! Haha.

Wow, that’s so not professional of you Mr. Mofaz (yeah as if he is professional in the first place, keh keh keh).

Ain’t good telling lies in this Holy Month of Ramadhan, Mr. Mofaz.

I suggest you go to sleep and gather your strength (whatever left of it after you ‘masturbation’ activity).

Then, rethink why “I spent most of my time in PaulTan.org and unable to perform enough Protong sales for the month”. Raya dah dekat ni, at least dapatkan satu mangsa utk membeli Protong Tin Milo. Dapatlah bonus sikit.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:59 pm

what i meant, you two could become really close fren. why not you guys meet each other everyday to exchage idea, do brainstorming on how to bash Proton next. if one of you is girl, then get married and produce more basher, the more the merrier.
          you guys only keep us entertained here, nothing else. just like clowns doing stupid thing just to make everyone else laugh.

• kamal on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:50 pm

tak sangka ada gak org tak reti nak beza tin milo dgn pintu keta, lol

• oldman on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:45 pm

truth hurt, isn’t it?

• waklu on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:59 am

go to hell with Jeremy Clarkson(jerami padi)!

• aryll8257 on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:14 pm

pity this guy..

you can read from his comment, FULL of hatred..
      just wonder what he do for a living..

maybe he suck! at everything

• Good Job Proton. Wang Besar!

• shiok on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:51 am

U tak tau kira kira ke ? Company kecik Sdn Bhd pun boleh dapat PULUHAN JUTA setahun. Balik ke sekolah rendah belajar KIRA-KIRA dari Guru Matamatik tercinta lu

• bogaboga on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:27 am

mind telling us what is that company?

• shiok on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm

bogaboga

bro sorry lah really not convenient to expose company name here

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:36 am

ini bukan setahun la.. ni baru 3 bulan punya profit.
        ada ke kompeni kecik punya revenue sampai RM2bil dlm masa 3 bln? kalau syarikat judi haram (illegal betting) masa world-cup tu, lain cerita lah bro.

• jl@ipl on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

MoFaz,

Good one.

• shiok on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:06 am

Betul jugak abang MoFaz, ILMU HISAP I tak sehebat abang.

(Ilmu Hisap tu maksudnya Matematik dalam Bahasa Lama.)

• farghmee on Aug 25, 2010 at 1:21 pm

offtopic>>

HISAB la..bukan HISAP.

HISAB tu diambil drp perkataan Arab.

• shiok on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Kalau salah kena buat akuan, minta maaf salah ejaan

Pembetulan:

Betul jugak abang MoFaz, ILMU HISAB I tak sehebat abang

• hazri on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:29 am

Syoh is absolutely stupid basher..

• U tak tau baca ka? Q1 = quarter 1 = suku pertama = 1/4 tahun.
        Balik ke sekolah rendah belajar Bahasa Inggeris dan Kira-kira dari Guru Bahasa Inggeris dan Matematik tercinta lu.

• nazri on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:50 am

zaman meleset 2008.. its good to know they back to black again

• HIDUP PROTON on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:55 am

Aku tak dapat tunggu lagi dengan pelancaran Proton Lancer. Keuntungan Proton mesti tercecak angka yang lagi memberangsangkan.

Proton Cemerlang Gemilang Terbilang

• nolan on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:03 am

Haiyaaa….only rm105 mil ka…..i spent so much money on proton spare parts…..they should make billions by now !!!

• luristvan on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:44 am

you spent much ha??? how much?? billion?

• Numbers-rock on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:18 pm

luristvan

Billion in spare-part for the whole country is a reasonable number. If you have nothing to say please shut-up and go to read other sites

• how much?

• Numbers-rock on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:20 pm

ria,

you too, do you know what is the size of E-coli in your inestine ? No number sense at all…..shut up

• Hahaha. This is the best comment so far. Go go go nolan!

• Excellence performance, Well Done, Proton, and dont mark up the price too high for new waja model, may be all of us can get proton lancer.

• hualao on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:48 am

I cannot wait to change my Mitsubishi logo on my Lancer to Proton !!

PROTON LANCER !!

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:27 am

why he use company ‘V’ for example?.. why not company ‘A’ or ‘B’ or ‘C’? does it mean they would reconsider VW using their manufacturing facilities?

• rosdi on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:56 am

Yep.. I was about to comment on company V as well.. but I believe it is just cheeky joke by the author and does not mean anything.. VW has already sign an MOU with DRB btw…

• Automoive_Critics on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:34 am

That might be what company “V” used to want. They regret those time that’s why they willing to change it now. No more V company as aready signed with Syed Mokhtar’s DRB Hicom.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:16 am

Company V may sign up with DRB, but don’t forget, they have more than one car brand. Maybe Proton could court Company A, a subsidiary of Company V to assemble their cars here. Company M & Company B already CKD in Malaysia, so why not Company A?

• takin on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:26 pm

company A ?
          u mean Audi ka ? or Alfa Romeo.. ( guessing around )
          enlighten me..

• V = Volvo? LOL

• azrai on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:31 am

Aiyaa! Very slow..V Volkswagen

• HirumaKecil on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:58 pm

v=vw-volkswagen

• just make a joke la you guys.. LOL don;t be too serious.. i know la.. but paul just mention the V letter.. so it could be VW, Volvo, Vently, VMW, Vencerdis, vitsubishi, Viva or else.. hehehe

• It could be a V = Vespa. But I think even Vespa don’t want to sign with Protong. :P

• Congrats Proton for still able to sell your poor quality cars to our malaysian buyers and make good profit out of it.

• zimmer on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:29 am

haiya looolllabahalollll.
    lu memang jiwa kacau punya .
    wa pakai saga blm & BMW – wa bangga jadi rakyat malaysia .
    lu lasa sudah cukup pandai ka .
    try bertanding next pilihanraya lah .
    INI AUTOMOTIVE PUNYA AREA BUKAN NYA TEMPAT MENGUTUK .
    BERSYUKURLAH DENGAN APA YANG KITA ADA SEBELUM KITA TIADA APA – APA .
    ARIOS .

• elite on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:30 am

so how much is the “R&D” grant proton receive from government?
    taxpayer money which proton use to buy designs from others?
    government want to save proton’s face on 25th anniversary?

http://anilnetto.com/accountability/a-subsidy-by-any-other-name/

• tokmoh on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:24 pm

That amount is peanuts compared to how much other govts give to their car manufacturers. Yet, when they succeed, you wouldn’t blame their success on subsidies their govt give them, right?

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:28 pm

I rephrase

so how much is the “R&D” grant proton, Perodua and NAZA receive from government?
      taxpayer money which proton, Perodua and Naza use to buy designs from others?
      government want to save proton’s, perodua’s and naza’s face on each anniversary?

• Shiok on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:34 pm

autojohndoe

you are brilliant

I think an end-user at least need to pay RM 4- 5 k royalty to Mitsubishi for the coming Lancer

• Company V=Volkswagen? Looks like Proton is still having wet dreams about Volkswagen. Itulah jangan selalu jual mahal-mahal.

• Anak dara “tua” ingat umur dia masih sweet 16. Rupanya dah dekat border, 25 tahun. Thehe.

• mspfaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:48 am

I think Proton should consider the market in South America. I’ve been living here in Colombia for more than a year and can see the market for a small car such as Hyundai Alto, Chevrolet Spark, Renault Twingo Hyundai i10 is booming. Introducing Proton cars such as Saga and Savvy with the right marketing and pricing strategy would help increase its export sales.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:30 am

that’s already in the pipeline. Mitsubishi will rebadge Persona and Exora as Mitsu’s for South American market.

• aki_zz on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:56 pm

really? if this is true then now i know how the hell proton can get lancer just like that…it is a win-win situation :)

i guess mitsu will launch the car as entry level mitsu?

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Mitsubishi already have distribution network there. If Proton is to develop its own network, it would take more time and money (to get showrooms and staffs). So, the quickest way is to use Mitsu’s.

• Shiok on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Wondering how much Proton need to pay Mitsubishi to pay a Mitsubishi logo in fron of the Exora. Smart way of launching a Proton with a Mitsu brand

• My condolence to South America folks, it’s gonna be hot especially if the windows doesn’t work :X

• azrai on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:52 am

Exora the bestseller MPV in Thailand prove something to local Malaysia scepticals here. Meanwhile does teh eksport market mean CBU only or CKDed at foreign land too? I don’t think Youngman sold less in China or does it mean the figure for Youngman does not included.

• callenish on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:58 pm

China market is CKDed in China, proton only supply 50%-60% of the parts

• Good brand but it it get worse by poor management throughout the past 15 years and make the car loose it’s confident due to extremely low quality. If this piece can be strengthen, i believe it help both local and export sales.
    Hope this is in Proton’s strategy plan but not just focus on financial #.

• razzack04 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:00 am

Some people still talking about Proton being protected…… Off course laaa, everybody is doing it. Some country protect their airlines, some their carmaker, some protect their jobs, depends on their strategy laaaa. The US bailed out GM… is that not some kind of protection ? The various WTO, AFTA, NAFTA, etc agreement also have some kind of clause written into them to protect certain things in certain countries. Mau practice law pun mesti mau lulus bar dulu.. Kalau tak ada senang la ambik lawyer murah dari India, Malaysian lawyer sapa mau.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Recovery_and_Reinvestment_Act_of_2009

The Americans included buy American Provision in their ARRA. Why ? To help American companies…. that’s why. Coz even giants, GM, Ford, Chrysler, is having a hard time.

So, take a moment, think about it.

• Yoona on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:30 am

Think more

1. “The stimulus was intended to create jobs and promote investment and consumer spending during the recession.The stimulus was intended to create jobs and promote investment and consumer spending during the recession.”

sounds more like an ad hoc measures?

2. The US Government use the US taxpayers’ money to help US economy and included the Buy American provision, how is it same here?

• razzack04 on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:03 pm

I admit.. I don’t study economy. But, by protecting proton, perodua, naza… is that not help the Malaysian economy? and promote investment? and create or at least protect jobs in Malaysian economy especially in the automotive industries ?

• *PROTECTION AND DISCRIMINATION*

UK, Japan, Korea, Germany, EU and etc. protected their entire local industry. Malaysia however protected only one company. One company can represent an industry? Support local industry is wildly different from support one company. Support your whole family is different from pampering one child!

Pinning your hope on one company is poor economics, bad business, wrong strategy but good politics and excellent Mahathirism. Protong was not only protected but it victimized other players, crippling the industry that existed before it. Despite this it has got nothing to show (export) after 25 years, but to run to an ‘old man’.

Protong policy is also far away from American policy, which we could have used. Why cannot use the model of Malaysian electronics industry for automotive sector? We are the world’s leader in electronics manufacture! Gula dalam mulut diluah, lain di cuba rupanya garam!

What can you expect from supremacist policy believers?

*LEGACY OR INDUSTRY?*

No protection no car industry? The car industry now in Thailand and Indonesia are toy industries? The Malaysian automotive industry pre-Protong is a scrap iron industry?

The reality is no Mahathirism, no Protong, not no protection, no car industry! We will still have a car industry, the name is not Protong. Someone wants to protect a legacy not industry!

*SALAHKAN KOREA & JEPUN?*

Protong failure to achieve economy of scale is not caused by protected Japan & Korea car market? Then it must be a wizard who persisted with the project knowing you need these two markets? Like trying to sell ice to Iceland!

It is not the impenetrable Japan and Korea markets that Proton cannot achieve economies of scale. It cannot even sell well to Indonesia (serumpun), Thailand, Philippines (Asean, at least Singapore give face a bit) and Islamic nations (brotherhood)! Is it their fault for not supporting a neighbor or brother?

*SALAHKAN AP?*

Blaming AP for Protong sales dip is fair assumption but blaming it for Proton losses is far fetched. Other car sellers (assemblers) selling far less than Protong still make money. Even Perodua with volume lower than Protong is profitable. Protong is plain inefficient uncompetitive, except under a skirt.

AP imports also affect other local players, in fact more dramatically because they don’t have a “sugar daddy”. They don’t suffer losses! Tak habis-habis salahkan orang!

“SALAHKAN PENGURUSAN LAMA?”

Old management is Mahathirism era, new management whose era? Is it same era (shooting own feet) or different era (crediting enemy)? Is there no end to this Protong blaming of other factors for its failure?

Do you really believe ‘dulu lain sekarang lain’ in Protong with this thinking?

“SALAHKAN RAKYAT?”

Protong has a final trump card to explain its failure. It will blame unpatriotic Malaysians! The same Malaysians that gave its 80% market share and bore the sacrifice of high car prices for 25 yrs to protect it. Who is ungrateful? Who is unappreciative?

Even a blind man can differentiate light from the sun and the moon.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Wait a minute. Your first point is already way off. Protect one company? How about Perodua? They’re not protected?

Your second point meanwhile just grabbing at straws. Yes, if Proton doesn’t then other carmakers might make Malaysia an assembly hub, but think what if the day comes when the cost of assembling a car in Malaysia doesn’t give back the return it used to in the old days for the companies? I mean, the example is already there in the electronics industry! In the old days, National/Panasonic TVs are assembled in Shah Alam & PJ. But when Plasma TV was introduced, Panasonic shifted their assemblies to China because it was cheaper. The PJ factory was closed down, while the Shah Alam factory shrank. How many people lost their job when that happens? And there’s so many other companies whose names I can’t recall who have closed shop and moved to China. How many people lost their job there? We can’t continue to rely on foreign companies to give us money if we want to become a high income economy. We have to make it for ourselves! Yes Proton was mismanaged, but with DSZ at the helm, things are changing for the better from the looks of it.

As for your third point, when you raise Perodua’s name I couldn’t help but laugh. You know very well that in Malaysia brand plays an important role when people decide to buy a car. And apparently many Malaysians equate Perodua with Daihatsu & Toyota, when the truth is it’s hardly the case! I mean, a Malaysian would defend Perodua if it had serious faults, and they do, but pounce on Proton for little niggles. And don’t forget, Perodua don’t have to spend much money producing their cars because they basically rebadge cars, with only small modifications. Yet still they produce overpriced cars. Go figure.

At least in Malaysia, despite the fact that cars are expensive people still can afford to buy those brands. If this was Korea when they first started, you can forget about buying foreign cars! Think about that.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:42 pm

cakap banyak…

• Salamander on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:48 pm

“UK, Japan, Korea, Germany, EU and etc. protected their entire local industry. Malaysia however protected only one company. One company can represent an industry? Support local industry is wildly different from support one company. Support your whole family is different from pampering one child!

Pinning your hope on one company is poor economics, bad business, wrong strategy but good politics and excellent Mahathirism. Protong was not only protected but it victimized other players, crippling the industry that existed before it. Despite this it has got nothing to show (export) after 25 years, but to run to an ‘old man’.”

This is the most hilarious comment of all. Malaysia only protect proton? and not their other local industries? Where did you learn all that?

Then how about Felda, HICOM, Petronas, TNB, Telekom, Maxis and many more. So you are saying other is not protected? Other company can just be setup here without being imposed of any kind of tax?

Do you know how long it take for DiGi to get their license for 3G bandwidth compared to other local carrier?

Go figure boy. You need a lot to learn.

• Yoona on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:21 pm

i dunno why u even mention maxis, protect one of the riches man in Malaysia…? i think u mean celcom?

and what happened? Monopoly = Uncompetitive pricing and lousy service

ultimately who suffer?

• Viosuser on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:10 am

I PREDICTED US economy will crash before Christmas. Dow Jones will drop below 9000 points. I am Viosuser. You wait and see !

• Viosuser on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:12 am

Yoona said stimulus…………Plzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Viosuser on Aug 25, 2010 at 1:05 am

Sorry sexy Yoona,

I am refering to the stupid razzack04.

He talked about US BAILOUT. Today the Dow is collapsing 1%.

Remember last time I asked you guys to buy TOYOTA shares when there is a crisis ? So how ? Make big bucks for the past few weeks ?

NEVER LISTEN ONE THIS PEOPLE !

• Gold and silver gonna shoot up.Get hard coins and bars.Dumb your stocks and bonds.Their ratings will get lowered,stocks will be flooded in the market and worse yet bonds will be defaulted.Refrain from buying non-Proton cars as overseas cars will have higher interest rates the next economic downturns.Banks will have higher NPL ratios.Plus,there will be no government backing for outsiders this time.Every nation is for herself only.

Better yet be like Goldman Sachs.Short-sell those stocks,bonds and currencies.

• aryll8257 on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:20 pm

spot on Bro!

wish to see more constructive comment like this..
      a comment worth reading..

• sranua on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:07 am

Good that Proton have more control on management and quality. And of course as an engineer himself DSZ should know what people want and as he got power…transform proton into successfull auto industry.

• Proton patut buat begini sejak dari dahulu lagi…..LOL

• udasalleh on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:00 am

well yeah… but it depends a lot on the man at the helm. when they had mahaleel he wasn’t an auto company man. i hopw n wish that good things are coming for proton in the future.

• littlefire on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:18 am

How Proton going to earn extra money? See the grantt chart, most of their money is from own country?!? Export how many %? If we need to be successfull, we need more external income… Are we going to ‘subsidize’ Proton for the rest of our time? Just think of having a child until he is almost 25 years old, still giving him most of the pocket money from parents… No offence, but Proton to success is to move outwards and gain more export market share to have a better future..

• littlefire on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:25 am

Anyway i based on the local & export ratio, even their export models have increased, but still the ratio is still there due to our local market also. Just to achieve better, we need to push the ratio higher to gain more external imcome.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:03 am

I believe that’s what DSZ is attempting to do. But results won’t be quick. See it in the long term.

• Even Hyundai tried twice in the US in a span of 10-15 years.They failed miserably the first time only until recently..Read up more.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:40 pm

That’s what I said. Don’t expect quick results. But them bashers think everything is quick and easy.

• Viosuser on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:08 am

Microsofy staff are evaluated every end of a year. Those who cannot perform will straight away fired. We need a time frame for everything

• callenish on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:07 pm

it’s true that local market won’t give enough volume for proton to make profit or revenue. but to penetrate foreign market, a lot of things need to be done, not just bring the car and sell.

DSZ is a good leader i must say. What he did in the past few years already proved the growth and changed. Lets hope the change will continue.

I really want to see proton move on its own without political interference. Because politician and businessman will never be a good partner.

• senzu bean on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:25 am

In case u guys missed to watch it
    http://xtive.utusan.com.my/index.php/video/laporan-khas/187-video-proton

• razzack04 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:27 am

Some fool still quoting Jeremy Clarkson.. Apa dia tahu ?
    Vauxhall … under GM, Bentley under VW, Mini, Rolls Royce under BMW, Jaguar, Land Rover under Tata, MG under SAIC, Leyland under Paccar, and Lotus under Proton. Jeremy is British, they don’t OWN a car manufacturing company. Yes they manufacture cars…. so does the Thais, Indonesians, Brazilians, South Africans and Malaysians. But we own Proton, Naza. So, I’d rather listen to Malaysians like Paul Tan rather than Jeremy Clarkson. Yes, I do watch his shows, they’re fun, entertaining but I don’t take every word he said. I also watch Driven.

• likahsing on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:22 am

Driven Rules!!! Cant wait for season 2. I miss Alis, Sharizan and Havin

• eeeriz on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:40 am

Yeap, Jeremy Clarkson always had some biased comments against non-British made cars. I’ve seen good cars (BMW, Volvo, Renault) being rated 2 to 3 stars, out of 5. So, Malaysians, please ignore his comments & ratings.

PS/ Yeap, I still watch Topgear, very entertaining indeed.

• those brits have nothing in pockets already …. what’s left for them now? “Greatest British Machine” only i.e. history….. this JC….. even the ferrari also he give -ve comments, bad mouth LAH this brit,,,

• aryll8257 on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:25 pm

i seriously do think that some people still not ‘merdeka’ mentally..
      dats why they think that Jeremy Clarkson is god.. pity them

i second your opinion on PaulTan.. i rather spend time reading this than
      listening to Jeremy.. what so good about Brit anyway???

• Jeremy Clarkson is just one grumpy old pot…..period

• BadBET on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:33 am

TG is like WWE , just for fun, no need to take is seriously and no need to treat what they say like holy book

• Vincent on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:43 am

emmm….the big day is coming….need postive result every where…

• Chief on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:29 am

Bravo Proton!

• David on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:34 am

I think is time for government to remove the car import tax.

since proton perform very well, if the tax is remove or reduce, then we can see that Proton have the chance to prove that PORTON CAN perform TO The world market.

thumb up.. if goverment do this move, will help PROTON and PERODUA to further improve due to high competitor

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:02 am

If want to remove tax, have to do it slowly. If it’s done in one fell swoop, then not only those already owning cars will suffer, but also the used car seller, since used car value will drop like a rock. What you going to do then? Subsidize the used car seller?

• azrai on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:45 am

The high tax not only to protect Proton but to protect money siphoning by foreign car manufacturers. Even Indons. Nepalese, Vietnamese, Bangladeshis, Philipino also bring out our curency out of the country. It is also the best way for our G to increase the revenue and control the numbers of cars on the road. Still I agree the taxes are too high.

• BolehlandProton on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:47 am

Proton will never have the balls to face open-market in its own turf period.
      Why bother asking for open market, work hard and compete, when they can just enjoy continuous profit YoY. Proton, ball-less bigot!

• numbers-rock on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Bro there is a lot of thumb-down, I think P1 and P2 is not ready yet…..SIGH !

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:35 pm

how old are you? 30? 50? if you’re 50 years old, don’t you realize that you’ve been enjoying 50 years of subsidies or should I say ‘protection’ too?
      car import tax is just a small sum compared to all subsidies combined. Subsidies does help the poor, but even if import tax is abolished, the poor still can’t afford to buy imported cars.
      should Gov remove all subsidies too? so that you could prove to the world that you could get / earn everything without any help?

• David on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:51 pm

try to look the price of car available in malaysia, and compare to other country, especially UAE, outside Malaysia the car is very cheap even the price of PROTON there is much cheaper and better spec…. I m sure those poor can get a car also, at least Vios,City,Swift,Mazda2 if without tax.

agree with Tiadaid, we cannot direct abolish the tax, not fair to the car seller, can slow slow reduce it,

MoFaz, Subsidizes by G is just like bonus to ur salary, cannot too depend on it.. I prefer G find the way to help Citizen to have better salary. u can see nowaday, G start to cut subsidizes but yet salary still the same, end up we suffer….. btw I m 20+ and I dun see subsidize help alot even to the poor group.

• callenish on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:15 pm

david,

i think, as a 20+ age citizen, i agree with you. not all subsidies is good. i also against the implementation of subsidies except for needs such as food and house.

but the problem with our G is, they always want more but spend less which is a totally wrong concept. Gov not suppose to be a profit oriented body.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:49 pm

David,
          i appreciate that you’re talking in a nice way, not just rambling or ‘shouting’ mindlessly. we could accept constructive comments even if it’s a negative one.

I’ve already explained why the price of cars are really cheap in UAE before, i lost count on how many occasions already. it’s just tiring when a new batch of bashers keep coming up and asking the same questions. i guess you could learn it better if you try to solve this question:
          Toyota sell Camry 2.4 for RM140k in Thailand, but only RM80k in UAE.. why is it cheaper in UAE even though the car was made in Thai?

of course you didn’t feel the subsidies are helping because they were given “discreetly”. because of that, everybody takes it for granted, and even the rich think they deserve it. think about this, without Gov subsidies to farmers and fishermen, also without subsidies for food items, cooking gas and electricity, your food would probably cost double or triple. these subsidies help to lower the food cost and why do you feel it’s not helping the poor?
          maybe everybody would realise how much subsidies they consumed everyday if the subsidy amount is stated in every packaging… if we really reach that level, we know Malaysians are actually ungrateful bunch of people.

• David on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:00 pm

“even the rich think they deserve it” haha this sentence I like it,

correct even the rich ppl think they deserve it, everyone wan cheap price even the no matter he is rich or poor. the best think is no subsidies, increase wages, then problem should solve after fews years,

for subsidies to farmer and fisherman, some of them also abuse their benefit too like fishermen sold cheap petrol to other ppl with their benefit to earn them extra income (forget when happen d but i m sure there is such case). is it fair? i dun think so.

Toyota sell Camry 2.4 for RM140k in Thailand, but only RM80k in UAE.. why is it cheaper in UAE even though the car was made in Thai?

I have no idea, my initial post is actually means

reduce car import tax so that PROTON is not pampered by G. this is how PROTON grow up, not to always need G the help PROTON to gain money. 25 yrs PROTON, to me, PROTON still good in Malaysia ONLY. is time for the G to release PROTON and let them walk by themself.

• handsome*Dude on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:16 pm

this MoFaz definitely the patriot hero here~~ he sure go to raise the national Flag high high during National’s day 31 Aug… and sing NeGaraku loudly and proudly until tears come out that kind….

i salute you !!

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:16 am

what’s wrong with being patriotic? my grandpa died fighting the japanese, and i will do the same to defend my county. unlike you who will flee if anything happen here, right? get your passport ready, you will need it.

• ProtonManiac on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:31 am

he’s a Proton staff who’s KPI is to counter-critic. What an imbecile.

• The Black Stig on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Nah I don’t see that’s coming, since automotive import tax is one of Malaysia ‘s highest revenue apart from oil and gas industries and please remember Proton is not discounted from it. So like it or not it will stay. Malaysian can buy cheaper car if they migrate to Australia but be prepared to pay 40-50% of income tax

• antu raya on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:26 pm

if gov, remove the car import tax.. how gov to get money to pay up fuel subsidy? increase beer n cigarate tax? increase fuel tax?bio la org y kaya bayar lebih..die gak y gune banyak minyak..

• callenish on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:41 am

import tax cannot be 100% removed, but it can be lower. buy lowering the import tax, gov can reduce the fuel subsidy. right now people enjoy low fuel price but pay a premium for car. it will be the other way around if tax reduce and subsidy reduce. cheaper car but higer fuel price.

just an example, fuel subsidy now about 30cent per liter, am using 300L per month, so i enjoyed RM90 of subsidy per month. for 5 years i will get RM5400 subsidy of fuel.

let say they lower the vios price by lowering the 30% tax to about 5%, so it will about RM12k difference from current price. within 5 years, i got a saving of RM5k.

this calculation doesn’t count out interest in our term loan.

so, you choose which is better. low fuel price or low car price.

• Patriot on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:41 am

Proton benefited from all kinds of direct and indirect government subsidies at the

expense of taxpayers.

• kerelbort on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:18 am

car import tax stay. incentive for green car tech to open open production hub in malaysia.

• Perdana Menteri ke-8 on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:20 am

Sebagai penghargaan kepada pasaran Thailand, Proton patut buat launch facelift model kat sana..

Bila sambutan hangat di Pasaran Thailand, rakyat Malaysia akan ada sedikit keyakinan.. Sebabnya rakyat kita punyai masalah krisis identiti.. tak yakin dengan kemampuan rakyat sendiri…

Savvy dan Exora mungkin boleh dipertingkatkan untuk pasaran Thailand… They know how to appreciate our Proton & Lotus Handling very well..

• udasalleh on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:05 am

Good job Proton. But i’m still waiting for an SUV / crossover vehicle from proton. would be great for bumpy and flood prone m’sian roads. Proton can build it on the Exora platform with 5 seaters n/or 2 xtra kid seats at the back. Can look rugged n macho (ala peugeot 3008 is fine) and leave the exora for the pakcik n makcik . :D Giving my two sen here Datuk Syed!

• youngman from china already ask proton n lotus to make an suv for them.using exora platform.. rnd cost support by youngman..proton will buy that suv design to make proton suv later on..so juz wait…

• farghmee on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm

aku pn tunggu SUV gak cm ko :)

• YeapyEvo on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:34 am

From CIMB Research:
    Better performance from overseas subsidiaries. Although Proton is still turning
    in losses in the export markets, we note an improvement in the operating profits
    from its overseas subsidiaries. Operating profits from this segment rose from just
    RM0.4m in 4QFY10 to RM9m in 1QFY11, which is still much lower than the RM24m
    registered in 1QFY10.

Sales up profit down oh yeah !

• David on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:53 pm

agree, sales up in Malaysia only,

like wat I say from previous post, I think PROTON do not really have good competitor coz they too pampered by our G

• ProtonManiac on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:34 am

sorry, one thing Proton suckers can’t comprehend are financial facts, numbers, stats etc. CIMB Research is like Russian to them, facts are things that’s hard for Proton suckers to digest with their feeble minds. Then can only read ‘spec’s not facts. LoL.

• figures can be manipulated, can be created out of thin air. if proton is really going north, congratulations. now your task is to gain back the local consumer’s perception towards your product reliability and quality. good luck

• salam, kalu remove tax kete import, kena remove tax kete malaysia gak. vios rega kt langkawi 68k, exora tanpa tax kat singapore 32k, so yang mana u beli??? kalu campur profit dealer n segala cost yang sepatutnya, exora masih lagi bawah 50k m-line auto. so pikirlah sendiri, mana bleh hapuskan tax.

pastu pasal insentif atau org malaysia panggil subsidi, cuba tengok video DSZ temubual dengan utusan tuh, dah ada orang bagi link kat atas, proton xpernah disubsidi. insentif dieri kepada mana2 syarikat yang buat investment dalam industri malaysia. semua basher pun bleh dapat inseftif tu. proton dapat insentif dalam lingkungan 500 juta atas pelaburan sebanyak 15 billion. mana2 individu dan juga syarikat entiltle insentif ni walupun syarikat luar(termasuk perodua, check balik sapa majority shareholders dia)…so, kalu basher nak duit insetif tu, buatlah pelaburan 15 billion. xda sapa nak larang pun…macam DSZ cakap, kalu xpercaya, check akaun proton, bukan dengan menyampaikan rumours ajer mcm link yang ada kat atas bagi. fitnah lebih buruk dari membunuh. anyway, slamat hari kemerdekaan. anyway pada autojohndoe, kalu xda bendera sticker, bleh beli bendera malaysia jenis lain, asalkan kita sama2 merasakan semangat merdeka, so peace no war.

• David on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:59 pm

if malaysia build car hav tax, then agree to remove it or reduce it, same goes to import car tax. this is where the real competition is…

If these tax really remove or reduce, then tat day we can really see which car is the best? Vios or Exora…

tat time buyer will more focus on quality instead of Price…. thats why I say This the real competition begin… now like now

• David on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

I m Malaysian, but I dun like PROTON due to quality….. but now seem got abit improvement in persona and satria neo but still the design not good…

I m willing to buy PROTON car if PROTON car prove to be better than or equal standard to at least like Kia Forte, Hyundai i-family… or sonata…

• even kapcais taxed by our beloved G!
      protectionism to MODENAS!
      Thank you G!

• David on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:04 pm

i still think MODENAS perform better in motor industries, still can hv good competitor like Boon Siew HONDA EX5.. haha

• ni saya petik dari web yang ada sahabat kita bagi kat atas “For FY2008, Proton made a net profit of RM184.5 million, but its Annual Report showed it received a grant amounting to RM193.7 million for the year. If not for this “grant”, the firm would have made a loss of RM9.2 million.

For FY2009, Proton made a net loss of RM301.8 millon. And that was after receiving a grant of RM80.7 million during the year.

For FY2010, Proton posted a net profit of RM289 million. But the firm received grants totalling RM143 million in the last two quarters, which was about half of its net profit for the year.”

itulah orang cakap, orang malaysia memang suka serkap jarang. suka2 hati tulis artikel ikut ati dia, tengok pada culculation dia pun dah tau dia xlayak nak pertikaikan insentif tuh.

pada tahun 2008, proton trime grant rnd lebih kurang 190 juta, taukah dia( sipenulis), nak tukar gen2 jadi persona dengan tambah boot saja, cost rnd dia dah dekat 200 juta. proton kuarkan saga dengan rnd xsalah saya 500 juta ++, so proton dah spend 700 juta, so stakat bagi grant 190 juta, mana cukup.

tahun 2009, proton trime grant 80 juta ajer, tapi brape cost buat exora???480 juta.

untuk tahun 2010, proton trime 143 juta insentif, cost rnd facelift persona, saga n rebadge lancer(walupun rebadge, kena rnd gak coz dah ubah bumper n all that kena g buat crash test utk validate safety(proton buat tp company lain xtaula)) dah mengatasi jumlah tu. itu xtermasuk dengan cost all new proton emas dan persona r. proton juga telah invest 5 billion untuk pembangunan enjin dan transmisi dalam project pheonix n termasuk emas n persona r. so adakah 143 juta tuh justify 5 billion yang proton kuarkan untuk rnd???

jangan main kira profit tolak insentif, itu budak darjah satu tahu kira. kita dah dewasa. itu hanya cost rnd SAHAJA x termasuk cost overhead n sebagainya. tahukah anda cost pembuatan kete waja lama 980 juta n cost buat enjin campro 1 billion, gen2 600 juta ++, xtermasuk investment membeli lotus n mv agusta(telahpun dijual)

so, jadilah orang yang berilmu, jadikan membaca amalan hidup kita, bercakap guna ilmu, bukan guna perasaan, dengan bahasa kasarnya, cakap guna kepala, bukan guna kepala lutut. salam

• nice 1 bro

• MATi. on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:36 pm

Memanglah tak cukup, kalau 10 orang mulut besar mcm kau dalam Protong, RM 1 Billion pun tak tentu cukup.

Mungkin buat basikal cukuplah, nah, ambik grant RM 1 Billion buatkan aku prototaip basikal Tin Milo Protong.

Cit! Poooooorah!

• MATi. on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Jangan lupa mintak ‘sign’ 27 Juta rakyat Malaysia, baru CEK RM 1 Billion ni boleh pakai. Kalau tak, nanti jadi check tendang (termasuk ko sekali).

Hahahahahahahahaha.

• MrDDR on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Dalam Banyak banyak yang di taip..TAK CUKUP saja laaa yang dia nih baca..Baca bagi habis dan cuba pahamkan…Bukan ambil satu sentence and bash…

• alldisc on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:05 pm

this is totally common-sense.

sell goreng pisang also profit 5 sen each. better than proton losing 301.8 million in FY2009.

• MrDDR on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:22 pm

yalooo

Sell Goreng pisang also got 5 sen each..Than ask GM close down lorrr…Rugi Billion of dollar some more… Better ask their director learn how to cook Goreng Pisang Lorrr

• haiya on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:58 pm

aiyoh bro.. nak compare orang jual pisang dgn orang buat kereta.. kalau u rugi then tutup kedai u sorang saja yg hilang kerja.. kalau satu kilang tutup, brapa ramai yg kene buang?

fikir fikir lah untuk kepentingan sejagat juga..

• Ala, dia sibuk nak cover pekerja 10,000 org (termasuk vendor, salesmen, staff, pekerja kilang). Tidak termasuk kroni yer.

Yang 27, 000, 000 (juta) rakyat cover dier selama 25 tahun pulak?

Kalau hilang kerja pun, 10,000 orang ini bakal diserap oleh jentera kerajaan dan industri-industri permotoran lain di Malaysia. Industri kereta ini luas asalnya, tapi dikecilkan selepas revolusi entah apa-apa pada 1980an.

Ini nak heret semua 27 juta rakyat Malaysia dgn dia sekali.

fikir fikir lah untuk kepentingan sejagat juga..

• stephen on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:33 pm

I wonder will they explore to Africa market… with its proton saga which focus as a people mover…. it can get something out there…just like mobile phone…many small company is focusing their product there since they can’t fight with those big phone maker.

Honestly I won’t expect engineering marvel from Proton but as long as they stop making product that is not cater for mass market or too niche to sell… we should be happy for them….which seem like what they are doing now. On the other hand its still sad to see after 25yrs….Proton Saga is still staying at the entry level car while Hyundai Elantra or Sonata have grow to be luxury model….that’s separate story :)

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:30 pm

i think sonata was meant for luxury since day one….

just bcoz it previous design is to korean and not luxury to us Malaysian…

• stephen on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:22 pm

sorry my mistake…Sonata have to compare to Perdana…Elantra and Accent the one to compare with Proton Saga/Wira/ Waja and Persona…go wikipedia it and you see how big is the evolution

• I guest which country sells car without any form of tax?

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:21 pm

even Brunei have import tax for cars la… but no income tax :)
      probably only Arab is 100% tax free.

• Numbers-rock on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:39 pm

All got tax but Malaysia is the highest

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:22 am

have you check how much the car in Singapore & Hong Kong?

• The Black Stig on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:57 am

Malaysia is the highest? Check your facts, you have to read more

• fariz on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:07 pm

good….i really hope Proton will now focus on the overall quality of the product….so that Proton can be competitive anywhere on the world, not just Malaysia which then will result to much higher profit…..
    I wonder how things would have turn out if the taxes on foreign cars are not as high as they are now (300% tax if I’m not mistaken, do correct me if I’m wrong)….i wonder………..

• xavier lert on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:09 pm

congrate….so give bonus and increment to ur worker…..so we can hav better income citizen…..

• milo tin on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Any one read that many Malaysian goes bankrupt because of car loan? what glory is this?
    and I was told by banks friend that P1 and P2 got the majority since zero down payment. Its up to your judgement whether Proton’s mission to many rakyat in Malaysia. Effortable car price? think again.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:55 pm

the bank is the one approving the loans.. why blame Proton?
      should proton check your financial background before selling the car to you?
      and who asking you to buy a car beyond your limit…? just for your ego?

• callenish on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:39 pm

MoFaz,

you should see this problem from a bigger picture, not just from the perspective of buyer or seller.

we need to see it from our economic policy or drill down a bit to our term loan offered by bank which related to our economic policy.

why on earth our policy allow people to make a loan for 9 years just to buy a car which can only last for 10 years? This is something wrong with our policy.

if the term loan is limited to 5 years, then only those who afford to buy a car will buy. some will say, by doing this our economy won’t grow fast because less money flow.

but what’s the point to make our economy grow faster but the end result is people suffer and the growth doesn’t last?

i prefer the growth to be slow but steady and strong.

it’s not that i hate proton, all of my family member drive proton, but when we think about what actually our G has done so far, our country has become good to bad and towards bad to worse.

that is the reality I can summarize.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Demand and supply. That’s why banks have 9 year loans. Malaysians are a sucker for short term gain, so when they see the difference between 7 year and 9 year loan they obviously choose the cheaper option, though not realising that they’ll pay more in the long run. For me, if I can’t afford to pay for the car in 7 years, forget it.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:33 pm

that’s because we never learn financial planning in schools. it’s not surprising to see many people being bankrupt in 30’s due to credit card alone. never spent more than 20% of your salary on something that depreciate so fast, like a car.

• john doe on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:33 pm

QUOTE: untuk tahun 2010, proton trime 143 juta insentif, cost rnd facelift persona, saga n rebadge lancer(walupun rebadge, kena rnd gak coz dah ubah bumper n all that kena g buat crash test utk validate safety(proton buat tp company lain xtaula)) dah mengatasi jumlah tu.

MY A$$ CRASH TEST, AT WAT SPEED?…20?..30?…U DONT NEED A FACILITY FOR THT…JUST PUSH THE CAR DOWN A SLOPE…. IF THEY KNOW HW TO OPERATE A COMPANY, NO NEED INSENTIF…BASICALLY THEY R SURVIVING FROM THE INSENTIVES WHICH ARE PEOPLE’S TAX MONEY

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Proton’s crash tests are done by IDIADA in Spain.

• littlefire on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:11 pm

The problem, they never officially post the tests result for public to view… Not like those result from EURONCAP which can be found in their website…

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Correct, they claimed its of Euro so and so standards. We don’t know if its real. However, for the Exora they released the videos to the media. At least we can make out own naked eye amateur judgements. I’m eagerly awaiting for Proton volumes in Europe to reach a point where Euro NCAP will “layan” testing it. There’s still alot to be done in terms of safety – going beyond the current 1 or 2 airbag count to include side and rear passenger protection, making ABS standard, and making ESP stability control available.

• but do u realize that in every car crash in euroncap lab has APPLUS IDIADA sticker…sometimes make me wondering why???

• bolehtakpositifsikit? on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:00 pm

ha.. ambik kau john doe, Paul Tan yang tolong jawabkan komen ko tu… kan dah kena…

btw, jaga la sikit bahasa tu lain kali… cakap elok2 sikit bila nak komen tu…

aku bukan marah… tapi kesian…

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:27 pm

haha… malu sendiri… yes, you got your a$$ red

• tax74xx on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:06 pm

ha3…rileks la MAT…. biasala tu… sume on paper, nak bagi bunyi best.

• flizzardosohigh on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:55 pm

poor Proton will always get bash regardless of the outcome

make loss = get bashed

make profit = get bashed

• 2nd posting (rewind).

*PROTECTION AND DISCRIMINATION*

UK, Japan, Korea, Germany, EU and etc. protected their entire local industry. Malaysia however protected only one company. One company can represent an industry? Support local industry is wildly different from support one company. Support your whole family is different from pampering one child!

Pinning your hope on one company is poor economics, bad business, wrong strategy but good politics and excellent Mahathirism. Protong was not only protected but it victimized other players, crippling the industry that existed before it. Despite this it has got nothing to show (export) after 25 years, but to run to an ‘old man’.

Protong policy is also far away from American policy, which we could have used. Why cannot use the model of Malaysian electronics industry for automotive sector? We are the world’s leader in electronics manufacture! Gula dalam mulut diluah, lain di cuba rupanya garam!

What can you expect from supremacist policy believers?

*LEGACY OR INDUSTRY?*

No protection no car industry? The car industry now in Thailand and Indonesia are toy industries? The Malaysian automotive industry pre-Protong is a scrap iron industry?

The reality is no Mahathirism, no Protong, not no protection, no car industry! We will still have a car industry, the name is not Protong. Someone wants to protect a legacy not industry!

Protong failure to achieve economy of scale is not caused by protected Japan & Korea car market? Then it must be a wizard who persisted with the project knowing you need these two markets? Like trying to sell ice to Iceland!

It is not the impenetrable Japan and Korea markets that Proton cannot achieve economies of scale. It cannot even sell well to Indonesia (serumpun), Thailand, Philippines (Asean, at least Singapore give face a bit) and Islamic nations (brotherhood)! Is it their fault for not supporting a neighbor or brother?

*SALAHKAN AP?*

Blaming AP for Protong sales dip is fair assumption but blaming it for Proton losses is far fetched. Other car sellers (assemblers) selling far less than Protong still make money. Even Perodua with volume lower than Protong is profitable. Protong is plain inefficient uncompetitive, except under a skirt.

AP imports also affect other local players, in fact more dramatically because they don’t have a “sugar daddy”. They don’t suffer losses! Tak habis-habis salahkan orang!

Old management is Mahathirism era, new management whose era? Is it same era (shooting own feet) or different era (crediting enemy)? Is there no end to this Protong blaming of other factors for its failure?

Do you really believe ‘dulu lain sekarang lain’ in Protong with this thinking?

“SALAHKAN RAKYAT?”

Protong has a final trump card to explain its failure. It will blame unpatriotic Malaysians! The same Malaysians that gave its 80% market share and bore the sacrifice of high car prices for 25 yrs to protect it. Who is ungrateful? Who is unappreciative?

Even a blind man can differentiate light from the sun and the moon.

• handsome*Dude on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Mr.Syoh,

after u wrote this, the typical poor proton driver proton’s supporter Mr.MoFaz will come and bark you very soon~~

they just talk being a blinded citizen but does not see this according to business perspective~~

Proton indeed produce crap and using People’s Money to grow~~ and i believe Mr.Mofaz, does not pay much tax yet, or dun even require to pay tax yet~~

actually most Proton support here are the lower income group, which they dunno the pain of paying 10K30Kor100k tax each year, and knowing that money are just burn in no way ~~!!

rite Mr.Mofaz?? or maybe u can skip tax, cos ‘they’ allow u??

• David on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:12 pm

I dun see PROTON helps those low income people to get a nice ride as well, now aday Proton cars is quite expensive compare to the quality given by proton….

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:19 pm

I don’t think it’s that expensive. Take a look at the Persona High-Line. It has more features than a Vios & City, and if we take the price of those cars minus tax it’s cheaper.

• Salamander on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:36 am

This is a funny reply. If you need to pay 10K or even 100K tax means your income is considerably high. That mean that the country able nurture good economic condition to be able provide to you a good source of income. Why is that is such a Pain?

For that kind of income for sure you afford a Luxury Continental Car and you don’t have to worry sweat on Fuel prices. But then again I think if you really are the people above, you wont spend your time with those petty comment.

ROFL

• milo tin on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm

there are still people consider for those who suffered or own self being suffered during early time. So driving continental car now does not mean does not care what happened before, and wanted to change the scenario.

• stephen on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm

The politician have no rights to blame the rakyat for not buying local car…..if its unpatriotic then why they even allow government link company like Sime Darby to distribute Hyundai and Ford while DRB-Hicom is doing CKD work for Benz/ VW/ Suzuki etc….don’t they need to ask those GLC why they ends up distributing those car….they should all pump the money into Proton.

I am hearing story about some rich malaysian setting up a empty company at Brunei so they can buy luxury car there but use it at sarawak…to me ….that’s unpatriotic lah…. getting the money flow to another country to have better brand instead of getting it thru local distributor which also generate job opportunity for locals

• haiya on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:05 pm

“Even a blind man can differentiate light from the sun and the moon”

u sure or not?

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:11 pm

for sure he knows… because he’s a blind too.. blind basher.
        stop wasting your time with these mindless bashers… they would stop one day if we all ignore him.

• bangku on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Ini semua cerita lama sudah basi daaa

• losantara on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:50 pm

BETUL memang sudah basi, TAPI masih belum buang kat tong sampah. Benda basi merata rata buat semua orang rasa nak muntah

• We need people like you in this forum… positive minded. Don’t cry over spilt milk. Everybody pay tax, whether income tax, sales tax, service tax, import tax. Most of items sold in the market associated with tax regime.

Proton has history of 25 years. I will be more happy when Proton make money rather than losing money. When they make money, that means that they spend the money wisely. Don’t you feel happy as a tax payer?

• ProtonManiac on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:08 am

No, Proton’s profit does not translate into income or saving for Malaysia, instead UMNO cronies. Proton is a BN’s machinery. To hell with Proton.

• Sorry Mr Proton Maniac, you’re not really right.
          Proton = BN machinery is not a right equation.

There may be some political influence, but not totally.

I’m proud with Proton, if we are to compare the latter to Perodua or Naza.

Proton develop their own cars, and now manage to produce good cars.
          Not to the level of BMW and Mercedes, of course, because it’s not the same segment.

I’m proud with Proton, and planning to replace current car with a Proton.

Overpriced Perodua or Honda or Toyota are out of my list.
          Naza might be, as i therefore could have good imported car at reasonable price.

• David on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:13 pm

PROTON develop car or rebadge car?

Perodua Overprice – I quite agree….

HONDA & TOYOTA and other import car overprice – due to G import tax.

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:56 am

Sorry David, Proton DEVELOPS car. Aston Martin also rebadge the Toyota iQ as the Aston Martin Cygnus, yet nobody calls them a car assembler.

As for Honda & Toyota overprice cars – not necessarily G tax. Proton also got tax, don’t forget. And what about the dealer’s profit margin? But when you compare Proton & the others, feature wise you get more for your buck in the Proton (high-line for apple to apple comparison). For example compare the Persona with City & Vios. You get cruise control and a remote boot opener, practical stuff. USB radio comes as standard in all range. Vios couldn’t even offer that! As for City, can you tell me the practical use of the paddle shifters? I own a 2004 City with the gear switches, and in the city I NEVER use it. No point. How can Kia Forte SX whose price is similar to the Honda City E can offer Traction Control, start stop button etc yet still have low price? Both are CKD mind you.

So tell me, do you still think G tax is to be blamed fully for the exorbitant prices of these cars? H&T and their dealers are taking the Malaysian public for a ride because they know they won’t be blamed for the exorbitant prices. (And don’t base your tax calculations on the price in Langkawi. Yes it’s tax free, but the price shown already have the profit margins added to it)

• True story at my kampung, one Pak Haji from PAS anti Proton……at the end he bought Proton … hahahahahaha

ProtonManiac, are you from Pakatan Rakyat?? how about the status of PR member work at Proton? they work for BN and give the BN more money?

Proton is not BN,

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:37 pm

For those who don’t want to scroll up to read:

Wait a minute. Your first point is already way off. Protect one company? How about Perodua? They’re not protected?

Your second point meanwhile just grabbing at straws. Yes, if Proton doesn’t then other carmakers might make Malaysia an assembly hub, but think what if the day comes when the cost of assembling a car in Malaysia doesn’t give back the return it used to in the old days for the companies? I mean, the example is already there in the electronics industry! In the old days, National/Panasonic TVs are assembled in Shah Alam & PJ. But when Plasma TV was introduced, Panasonic shifted their assemblies to China because it was cheaper. The PJ factory was closed down, while the Shah Alam factory shrank. How many people lost their job when that happens? And there’s so many other companies whose names I can’t recall who have closed shop and moved to China. How many people lost their job there? We can’t continue to rely on foreign companies to give us money if we want to become a high income economy. We have to make it for ourselves! Yes Proton was mismanaged, but with DSZ at the helm, things are changing for the better from the looks of it.

As for your third point, when you raise Perodua’s name I couldn’t help but laugh. You know very well that in Malaysia brand plays an important role when people decide to buy a car. And apparently many Malaysians equate Perodua with Daihatsu & Toyota, when the truth is it’s hardly the case! I mean, a Malaysian would defend Perodua if it had serious faults, and they do, but pounce on Proton for little niggles. And don’t forget, Perodua don’t have to spend much money producing their cars because they basically rebadge cars, with only small modifications. Yet still they produce overpriced cars. Go figure.

At least in Malaysia, despite the fact that cars are expensive people still can afford to buy those brands. If this was Korea when they first started, you can forget about buying foreign cars! Think about that.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:24 pm

panjang menulis… last time you wrote, your productivity affected bcoz you have to go to SC to fix your car…

yet, at 4.13pm (working hours)… you write a long tale…

have u become a boss? and able to buy a grandis?

haha

• Hey Mr SYOH, if you can produce one car by using at least 40% local part, GOVMNT will support you, because made in Malaysia ma…….

I think you don’t know what is the objective of Proton and Perodua in automotive industry.
      From R&D, Malaysian make our car. not Japan/korean….

• hongleongbank on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:09 am

yeah. he can build is own car. at his uncle’s stall in petaling street. using all that pirated dvds. then painted at ah beng’s kopitiams. hahahhaha

• at least ah beng’s kopitiams get a business and MONEY…….hahaha.

• Salamander on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:27 am

Answering SYOH allegation

Since when does Proton become a golden child of Malaysian industry? Are you saying other key player such as Petronas, TNB, Telekom, Maxis, Felda is not protected in terms of Government Grant and Tax? Please do a liitle bit of more reading before making those statement.

What we want to take example from those UK, Japan, Korea policy is that they protect their local automotive industry as well and why does when Malaysia perform the similar thing then they are doing something wrong?

MD Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir has done a superb Job. What pass is pass now we look into the future. Enough Said.

“SALAHKAN RAKYAT?”

Proton is trying to change. They need the support of their citizen. Korea and Japan have a very patriotic citizen. Their leader will always drive their own car and not trying to buy Conti Luxury car for usage. That is why their industry survive and is peaking at the moment.

Im not a fan of Old Proton when the QC is terrible. But for the past few years I see the company is improving thus we as Malaysian should support it rather than bashing blindly without any point and prove.

Even a blind man can differentiate light from the sun and the moon. But a blind man is still a blind man, as far they could think of practicality they could never be a visionary.

*LEGACY OR INDUSTRY?*

You want to compare our local Automotive Industries than Thailand and Indonesia? Their industries are more to assembling. You have to take note that there will always be a limitation on that becoming a mere assemble. Cheap labor will only be cater for certain amount of time until time as the clear winner is the Parent Company rather that the citizen of the country. Our leader could already foresee this kind of development, therefor instead of pursuing assembling industry, we proceed to take the challenge to and setup up our own National Car so that we could become a RND hub rather than the an assembler.

Since when Proton blame Korea and Japan? They just take the example on how the country protect the Automotive Industries. How GM unable to survive for 5 years after their version of “NAP” is up. Please do more reading boy.

*SALAHKAN AP?*

Yes Perodua have better profit. But they just re-badge car. They don’t have to spend million of RM in RnD. But in order for K-Worker resources to bloom, we need RnD. We need a lot of Engineer, System Admin, Researcher, Accountant, Managers not just a mere “Operator with supervision of Japanese personnel.”

• Dear Mr. CicakMan (Salamander),

The argument was directed to the ‘local car industry’, not the entire industry in general. Please stick with the topic.

Enough Said? That’s another term for ” I don’t want to admit my mistake”. The truth hurts eh.

“SALAHKAN RAKYAT?”
        I quote: … “Proton is trying to change. They need the support of their citizen…”. Errr? Protong are supported by the “rakyat’s money” for the past 25 years. Masih tak cukup lagikah? Berapa juta lagi grant nak? Berapa tahun lagi? Typical blaming game.

*LEGACY OR INDUSTRY?*
        R and D hub? You’re kidding me, R&D stands for “Rebadge and Do it again”!

Yup, the title says its all. Hence, NAP and AP were introduced. NAP is not even a policy to begin with, it is taking a nap (tidur)!

What policy? It’s a system to ‘punish’ the other car makers for doing well than Protong. You should start reading good materials too ‘boy’, and stop wanking that playboy magazine.

*SALAHKAN AP?*
        This is a typical; “Pot calling kettle black” kinda syndrome. Wira = Rebadge Mitsu Lancer Evo III, Tiara = Rebadge Citroen, New Waja = Rebadge Lancer ‘Jerung’, Juara aka Refrigerator = Mitsu again (but sometimes I always thought Protong Juara is a rebadge of a Peti Ais brand).

Thank you for your reply! You have my utmost respect!

• handsome*Dude on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:24 pm

being protected, the proton still make a lousy car~ and make the people easily get killed while driving it~~ shame on u!!~~!!

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

then you should buy a tank la, not car.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:38 pm

A BMW will kill if you drive like a maniac. A Rolls Royce, a Ferrari, a Bentley, all will kill you if you drive like a man possesed!

• Shiok on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:46 pm

This time I agree with you. But I do heard stories about poor ISWARA design that the body is not well reinforced. I do not have the numbers but I kinda believe the claim

• callenish on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:48 pm

drive any car at 200km/h and go hit a tree, you will probably get killed!

it is not about the car, but attitude dude!

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:18 pm

recent news i read… most accident that had ppl killed are involving Vios and Myvi….

• numbers-rock on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:01 am

why do you read that ? from Steven Levittee or Tim Harford ? You baca sampah ke ?

• ProtonManiac on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:45 am

Agreed. Proton safety standard is below par, won’t and can never enter the biggest market USA, even not all Jap cars make it.

Proton, coffin with wheels, safety is not a default standard, but add-on. Hence, Proton drivers lives are cheap, so are their families.

• BadBET on Aug 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

never say never, I do hope Proton to improve and be at par with those global player. The reason is simple; I don’t think the G will close down Proton and reduce the tax, so I do hope they improve and provide Malaysian with outstanding car we can afford. For me Proton is like our football national team, you stuck with it either you like it or not, only hope they can make us proud. I believe Proton is on the right track to go global. Just to focus on QC/QA more.

• shuhaimi on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:35 pm

wow.. handsome dude and syoh hate proton so much.. maybe u 2 got kick from proton.. hahaha.. and then form an alliance here to downgrade proton.. but what get downgrade here are their stupid post…

• losantara on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:47 pm

That’s all your assumption, maybe you read too much novel. Anyway, your post has nothing to ponder. Takdak ‘point’ orang kata

• mata katak on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:47 pm

What ever proton selling, whatever the price proton cars are sold….

I WON”T BUY IT NOW AND NEVER IN MY LIFE TIME. I had enough of their problems.
    I rather buy a second hand car, as long as it is NOT proton….

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:17 pm

no need to tell other ppl bro…

ppl dont mind what you are buying…

• I will support Proton FOREVER……my 1st car Proton, 2nd Proton, 3rd coming soon Proton too…

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:25 pm

and they able to buy TAWON?

• REFEREE on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:59 pm

I think this round PROTON BASHERS win !

• The Black Stig on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:51 am

Proton wins because they made money not the bashers.

• Man-U on Aug 25, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Proton win what ?

• basher win what?

• what Black Stig meant was Proton sold 3000 cars in Thailand, a 2% market share and makes big money.

a lot like UM celebrating getting back to top 100 ranking.

Malaysia Boley mentality.

• EVO11 on Aug 25, 2010 at 6:41 am

Tak abih abih berangan Proton fans ni…ok lah..Proton is the best car maker in the world! haaa…amacam? OK or not? Nampak pelik kan?

• zimmer on Aug 25, 2010 at 6:47 am

Proton Basher not win lah Bro.
    Cuma di bulan Ramadhan yg mulia ni aku kesian bila baca artikel2
    mengarut diorang seolah nafsu yg drive diorang ni semua.
    Cakap tak guna akal.
    Aku rasa jiwa diorang ni BETUL-2 KACAU…..
    TO ALL PROTON BASHER LUKACAULAH LU PUNYA JIWA TU SAMPAI BETUL-2 GILA .

• razzack04 on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:22 am

Good Morning, either you’re with proton, against proton, bashers or whatever. What I like when we have news regarding Proton is that we all have opinions. It’s good to have discussion like this and may be people in the government, policy makers, politician, executives can take note of what we Malaysians want.
    I also like to see reduction in tax so that everybody can buy cheaper cars, have more income etc. Like most Malaysians, I only pandai cakap kat kedai kopi jer. Do I go out and get seriously involve with political parties, NGO, charitable organisations and make my self useful ? Give back to the society ? Make a difference in the world ? Baru jer nak mula.. should have started a long time ago. I only think what I want, what’s good for me…. that’s all. I want cheaper cars…. so I don’t want government to tax it. I compare car prices in Malaysia to western countries. But, do I ever compare the healhcare cost in those countries ? What do I know…. I only live in Malaysia, Canada, UK and US. Since a lot of you guys here doesn’t want the government to protect Proton, why don’t we be fair, let free movement of workers like EU. So we can have cheap doctors, lawyers, engineers, if proton can’t compete they die. If we can’t compete, we’ll be jobless.
    But hey, we’ll have cheaper cars… and let’s ask the government to increase healthcare cost, the un-employment rate, so that we’ll have more homeless and people on welfare. Don’t forget the crime rate too.
    Then we’ll truly be like Americans. Barulah cool.

“ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.”

If you don’t know who said those words…………

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm

that’s why.. they only see the negative side, never appreciate the positive ones.
      erm.. the quote might be from Abraham Lincoln.. aku hentam je ni.

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

Actually that quote is from the Moon president, John F. Kennedy

• Both of you fanboys are wrong, those words came from UK’s ex-PM; Winston Churchill in one of his opening message during WWII. He was asking his people to defend UK from German Nazi’s invasion.

To think (even for a sec) that a protong fanboys wanted to use that particular quote to justify their 25 years of “invasion” of the local car industry?

So pathetic!

• stephen on Aug 25, 2010 at 4:05 pm

EU don’t have cheap doctor/ cheap engineer/ cheap lawyer….all the car need to pay high tax (which ends up many cars are not cheap as well but regardless or brand…all get tax based on emission rate or engine capacity)

you pay a lot at Europe because they will be giving pension once you are old and that’s why now many European get unhappy when their gov is pushing the retirement age further…so the gov don’t have to pay a lot since retired older don’t lead to we human live longer :)

just want to clarify it.

• Good ole Abe Lincoln…who else..

• apada on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:45 am

they only kids craze for toys, want toys like their neighbour do. Only focus to toys in their minds.

• Being bashed blindly by Protong FanBoys is my joy of life. I’m honoured. My only hope that God will be the judge of me at Akhirat and obviously not these hypocrites.

My motive remain the same. I’m here to secure and spread the truth. We are living in the world of denial. The world where the real “perompak”, “lanun”, and “penipu” are mismanaging the country. Somebody must stand up against this arsehole and bring back order and justice.

Kalau tipu duit rakyat untuk 25 tahun pun dia orang ‘halalkan’, imagine what bigger EVIL lurks in the near future? Thinking of that give me the creeps. Manusia sudah tidak takut dgn Tuhan lagi. Tunggu bala dari langit sahaja.

Yeah right, kecoh RM105 Million first quarter “so called profit”.

How about that last 300 months (25 yrs)?

As one famous quote;

“One Right Does Not Make All Right!”

• konon2 hero la…haha. iye la SYOH, teruskan lah berjuang. kami ni suka tipu dan kena tipu ja. thank god you r here. lol.

• Tiadaid on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Truth. Yeah right. Like the “truths” on alternative media.

• senzu bean on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:08 pm

I support Proton but not the Government.
      Proton already changing to better direction, this is because they got new CEO n that is DSZ.
      What we need now are new G. Say no to corruption…

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:40 pm

then we have to change government everyday.. no gov is free from corruption.
        gov need power to lead, but power corrupts the leaders.

• senzu bean on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:23 am

So if changing lead to better and less corruption why not?
          Proton already succeed after the change so why not the G.

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:54 am

you’re saying we could choose the lesser evil, rite? but less corruption is NOT corruption free. corruption is still a corruption, it doesn’t matter whether it’s just RM10 or as big as RM10bil. maybe the person start with taking RM10 bribe, but as he gain more power, he may end up taking RM10bil later.
            i rest my case, and i willl stop here. this is not political blog anyway :)

• tell me which gov in the world are free from corruption? even you become a PM, I guaranty. unless you are very2 good and clean person.

if you become a PM, your brother asked: ” ada project mega, tolong kasi sikit”
        what is your answer???

• senzu bean on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:15 am

If I am PM, why must I give project to my brother when I know lots of the citizen still live below the average status?
          PM should try to help the citizen first since the people choose him/her to do that.
          This is actually a must for every PM to do, especially if him/her is Muslim.
          So if the PM is not capable to do that, why must we give him our vote.
          52 years are not a short period.
          This actually really out of topic already lol.
          Proton already changing because of the new leader with new concept of thinking is doing the thing that her/him should do so same principle can be applied to G.

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm

It’s easier said than done. We’re not living in an ideal world Senzu. Right now you say you won’t, but when you got the power it’s an all different game altogether. Just like how people say they won’t give a bribe, but when the police stops them they resort to giving bribes to get out of having to pay more money for the saman.

Like I said, it’s easier said than done!

• I give credit to “senzu bean”, at least he started with a good thought, even before he became a PM. Serve the poor first.

Mr. Tiadaid however, already set his mind to pass the jobs to his cronies.

So tell me voters? Who will you pick us as a PM?

Those who have good “nawaitu” or a bad “nawaitu”?

(Nawaitu = niat = first thought that passes in somebody’s mind…)

Hahaha.

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:31 am

Sorry to burst your bubble, but do you really think the Opposition are clean? I don’t have to read the newspapers (who people say are biased, but these same people don’t realise that the alternative media like Malaysia Today are equally as biased!) to know that they’re not to be trusted. From their actions it’s clear that they’re not doing it for the Rakyat but for their own selves. For example, explain why they are willing to subvert democracy by tempting MPs to jump parties to help them form a new federal govt and yet decried the practice when the tables turned on them in Perak?

And yeah, don’t think other countries are free from corruption. Heck, I’ll bet even Singapore have corruption. The only reason you don’t hear it because they have the media tightly controlled, even tighter than in our country. They even captured the photographer who took the pics of the floods in Singapore recently! Think about it.

• “Heck, I’ll bet even Singapore have corruption.”

i think your level of denial qualifies you to be a senior member of UMNO, MCA, MIC, or MACC.

if you are caught bribing in a “clean” country, they put you ass in jail and make sure everyone else learn a lesson.

but the same case will see MACC trying to strangle themselves here.

• Tiadaid on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:38 am

And your denial just shows how naive you really are. Clean country, yeah right. No country is ever clean from corruption, and for one asshole put in jail there’s 10 others who are free. The fat cats will never get caught, while the only ones caught are peons who are so far down the totem pole they’re insignificant.

Lets face it, we don’t live in an ideal world. Corruption, however distasteful it is, will happen. It’s an inalienable truth. We can try to reduce it, but it’ll never go away completely.

And typical of the oppos hardliners, you label me as an UMNO/MCA/MIC/MACC lackey. Well sorry to break it to ya, boy, buy I ain’t no one’s lackey. I didn’t even vote last time around. Both the ruling party and the opposition aren’t doing things for the rakyat, yet typical hardliners just can’t see beyond their nose. That’s politics for you.

• Great thinking. The Philippine SWAT is no different than NAVY SEALs because they have all messed up their assignment before.

Let’s continue to hide in our ivory towers.

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 25, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Yeah bashing back to anti-proton is the best thing I’ve ever done in my life and I also enjoy bashing ‘blindly’ to the ‘human’ that can’t accept the fact that Proton is getting better and better day by day full stop

• if you want to bash the proton basher, i suggest you join Proton, help make a good car and make us proud. (this is the better thing you can do for your life)

getting better day by day is not getting better, unless you are getting better more than everyone else, because others has already gotten a lot better all these years while Proton spent time figuring how to fix the power window problem.

accept the facts.

and by the way, i am not a proton basher, my 1st car was a proton, for many long years.

• stephen on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:45 pm

well very likely Proton profit will get bigger with the new re-badged Lancer.
    Maybe to show patriotic spirit…Mitsubishi Lancer user should rebadge their car to Proton Logo.

back on more serious note…really hope Proton get more improvement in engine development. Anyone can build a car now but you can see many are just sourcing all the engine component from someone else…. if Proton can get a JV project for some new engine…it help them….this is nothing special since all the big guy is doing it and even Perodua claim they contribute into Myvi development with Toyota/ Daihatshu but there’s nothing visible about Proton doing this.

• David on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:17 pm

I did saw someone say PROTON build its own car at the upper post, now rebadge lancer pulak, wat a shame….

Perodua really not build own car, they rebadge instead…. and they dun say they build car

• Tiadaid on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Persona, Exora, Savvy, Gen-2. Those aren’t cars designed by Proton? Why when someone else rebadges it’s ok, but when Proton rebadges its a shame? Heck, Aston Martin also rebadges a Toyota iQ for their small car Cygnus!

• Hei David,Those aren’t cars designed by Proton?……made in China? copy Toyota or Honda?

If you see Gen2, Exora, savvy, neo, and persona on the road, those are Proton product, even at UK also . those are from malaysian ( close to 100%), start from R&D.

• stephen on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:38 am

I don;t think David is questioning the Campro Based product…he is just questioning why the so called Waja or maybe Perdana Replacement being Rebadged…..if those leak picture from Paultan previous posting stay true…that really don’t justify the brand good….because those model you guys mentioned have proton own styling.

but its obvious proton new management as promised when they start working on the company new approach is looking into way to maximize the $$$….with $$$ you can get better R&D capability….the old approach have did a big dent on their reserve.

for me, I really hope they can finally find a partner to co develop their new engine…like what Peugeot-Citroen-BMW did for the prince engine and Toyota-Peugeot-Citroen did for the compact car engine…..each have their own styling (can you believe mini and 308 share the same engine but different look)….this way it will help Proton a lot since less money spend on new engine and more money spend to get their interior with better quality and material usage….honestly I don’t think proton’s current quality for interior is good enough…there’s room to improve but how to improve when everything have to be customized with a small volume. Its tough to bargain….but can see improvement since they have starting to get more reuse part on different model.

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:04 am

Yes stephen, but rebadging is a way of life for the car industry. Many carmakers are doing it. Peugeot, Chrysler, heck even Aston Martin rebadge a Toyota for their small car. That’s why so many people are PO’ed at bashers who keep raising the rebadge issue. They only rebadge one car that’s not a volume seller, yet being bashed to high heaven.

• stephen on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:44 am

but remember Aston Martin is not a mass market brand….why they do it…we won’t know the real intention…many site claim they do it to get some money to let them making new super car (maybe new super car for Daniel Craig to smash in the next bond flick)

I do hope Proton try to move away from Rebadging car with very very minimal change on the styling….that sucks….its obvious if you are a mechanical designer or RnD team working on such work…you will hate it but then….to keep the finance department happy …they have to do it.

well for me….if i like to bash Proton ….I have lots of things to bash but I am all over it…. some can call me unpatriotic by buying a foreign brand but i am pretty sure i am not because buying a foreign car is still supporting local businesses…. a real unpatriotic car buyer will do it the sarawak way….setup a company at Brunei…so they can buy car from Brunei but drive it at Sabah or Sarawak….once a while drop by Brunei or when they need the cheap fuel at Brunei…thats the urban legend I heard and that’s totally unpatriotic….

since they support nothing….they don’t even pay malaysia road tax to use Malaysia road

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Ok Stephen, Aston Martin is not a mass market brand, but what about Peugeot? Or Chrysler? They’re mass market brand but still they have rebadged cars in their stable (Peugeot 107 & if I’m not mistaken, several Lancia cars will be rebadged as Chryslers). What I’m trying to get the bashers to understand is why waste money developing a car that is not projected to be a bestseller in the company, not getting fair return on the investment? Like I’ve said many, many times, people get mad if Proton say they lost money, yet when they take cost saving actions like this people still get mad! How rational is that? Besides, it’s not like they rebadge their entire lineup (unlike some companies). Yes we can design our own cars, but to what cost? If it doesn’t give good returns on investment, why should we?

• stephen on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:38 pm

Tiadaid
            I guess I know what you mean.

I don’t believe its good to have something that’s already out in the market for a while to rebadge…well its chicken and egg because Proton have mentioned a long time they will get a Mitsubishi car to be spin off….. just that it look a bit weird they get something that already out in the market for a year…tough to know the history behind but hopefully they don’t ends up in similar situation….. its good if they can work closely with Mitsubishi for future project that they just share the same interior/ engine but each have their own styling like 308 vs mini …or just minor change like 107 vs Toyota Aygo…which speaking of 107….

Peugeot 107 was a jv development work from day 1 between Citroen/ Peugeot and Toyota….all share the same engine Citroen C1 and 107 do have very similar outlook but Toyota Aygo didn’t.

their reasoning for this is to share certain development cost together…. and not that you have to pay the license or patent rights for a product that solely done by one company….I am not surprise the rebadge of Lancer ends up Proton need to pay more ….but joint development is likely able to control the cost and it actually benefit both party…given they able to come to an agreement.

• MoFaz on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:22 am

yes stephen, that’s exactly where they’re heading now.
            if you read on several articles about Proton lately, there’s an MOU between Proton & Mitsu. Proton rebadge Lancer, and Mitsu will rebadge Persona & Exora for South American market. the way i see it, this is not simply “rebadge” kind of thing, more suitable to be called “swap”.

on top of that, they will jointly develop a new platform together.

• stephen on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:11 am

Aha Mofaz….yup that’s the way to go….new platform but no swap…. each car maker reskin the platform according to their company product DNa…that will be nice.

That’s where technology transfer can occur.

hmmmm now I wonder who thumbs down my comment….I can’t even put a slight bit of disappointment on proton…wow.

I wonder how bad will it be if I say its good Proton close shop and let Perodua be the national car of the country. which I prefer hahahaha….

• MoFaz on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:46 pm

what’s wrong with you actually..?
            you said you don’t like rebadge but you prefer Perodua, which doing rebadge all this while…? ever heard platform sharing or R&D from Perodua?

• stephen on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:56 am

you didn;t notice I said IF and I just put HAHAHA towards the end kah?

its just a joke….can’t I just put some joke on my own comment?

• stephen on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:01 am

which I like to end it will chill out dude… if we cannot put some joke around and 24/7 serious over this comment… it just look boring isn’t it.

Maybe you don’t get this dry joke I put…. then I cannot help it because this is me.

• adrian yap on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:30 pm

well done.hope to see proton can be an official sponsor for the next…………………….. world cup.

• BadBET on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:48 am

tak sabar tunggu november..

• Give proton a round applause, they worked hard to get better. Pay a visit to their showroom and spend a bit of your time in Exora and Persona. You will admit that the quality has improved significantly compared to 10 years ago. I never own any Proton car, but first to rush to show room whenever any new car launching, just to evaluate how they have improved the quality… and I noticed they did.

• Geleng Kepala on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:55 pm

evaluate it by just go show room? bodoh kah, must drive first lah….