Hot car: Ferrari 458 Italia recalled due to fire risk!

Ferrari’s latest 458 Italia is so hot, it has been catching fire across the globe. It has been reported that five of the cars have burst into flames since leaving the company’s Maranello factory. Incidents have also been reported in California, Paris, China and Switzerland. This has led the world’s most famous supercar maker to recall the model, which will involve 1,248 very wealthy customers.

Apparently, the problem lies in the glue used to secure the wheel arch lining to the car’s chassis, and this adhesive has been overheating as it’s near to the exhaust system. There’s a risk of it catching fire when the 458 has been driven for a sustained period of time at high speed. A Ferrari spokesman said that all 458 Italias built since the end of the July 2010 had been modified at the factory to resolve the issue.

In Malaysia, the 458 Italia is sold from RM2 million per unit by Naza Italia. At the car’s launch back in April, Naza Italia said it had 14 names in its order books for the 570 bhp 4.5-litre V8 Prancing Horse. Since there hasn’t been any sightings of burned 458s in our hot weather, it’s save to assume that they are all safely kept in the cool garages of Datuk and Tan Sri owners.

Check out BBC’s compilation of wrecked 458 Italias.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rizuan on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Looks like a company like Ferrari also facing the same problem like Toyota.

• It’s worse with Ferraris since the cars are handmade in limited quantities and cost a whole lot more than the mass produced Toyotas…

I suppose all automakers face this at one time or another.

• Joseon on Sep 04, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Just recently, Daihatsu starts recalling Move & Mira due to defective which may cause fatality.
        Did P2 follows Daihatsu directive to recall Kenari & Kelisa/Viva?

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Hiah nothing new…Toyota also recall cars…what some more Ferrarri.

So is this such a bad thing.

Defects are defects. Car manufactures must recall and fix it.

• guest on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:59 pm

but not all car manufacturer(s) willing to do recall though……….

• Kudos to car manufacturers willing to put aside their money mongers ego and will bear the cost of fixing. Ferrari, Toyota and etc.

But, we also know a local car manufacturer that can’t even afford power window recalls.

Haha.

• tikus on Sep 02, 2010 at 6:18 pm

That’s the Cheapo manufacturer that rakyat hate.

• wat power window? i hav own saga for almost 3yrs…..which model u talking bout?

• someone LOL on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:16 pm

here come the PowerWindow Man.. every time comment about power window.. i just buy Wira second hand from my best friend.. his brother use this car for 10 years without any problem.. 10years..!! my mum also use wira, 12years, my friends 11 years, my uncle iswara 8 year(only left back power window cannot use).. c’mon lah, proton only local manufacturer, only going to global this few years back.. do be stupid.. just say, toyota like a manager with RM15000 salary, and proton like clerk with RM1000 salary.. a man with 15000 can afford to do everything.. while the RM1000 man must not overspend..

• sharkox on Sep 03, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Hahah…power window man….

u quite funny ar…

Haha

• Tiadaid on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:50 pm

PowerWindow Man! The superhero who will come and save the distressed whenever a power window menaces!

• flizzardo_sohigh on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:25 pm

problem lies when a man with rm3000-4000 salary has too high ambition

they forget the old saying if u dont have big head dont wear big hat

• Initial R on Sep 04, 2010 at 12:38 am

Hehehe… Back to the future part 4,5,6 & going…

• RadzLee on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Datuks, Tan Sris and anak sultan oso cannot escape recall probs…

• tikus on Sep 02, 2010 at 6:21 pm

No need to recall coz they all drive at 100kmph only. They brought it for show not for speed.

• HirumaKecil on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:42 pm

What a hot car….. 458 is to hot… Extremely hot super-car till flame also came out…

• At least Ferrari has its dynamic reasons for being too hot! It’s a super car. Imagine, the amount of energy released by those demonic-posses engine, that’s a climax man!

But it is also a laughing stock to see a 1.6cc car also having the same problem. Haha.

• Initial R on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Yea… dynamic reason that cause by glue… & burn entire RM2m car… hahaha… previos, other manufacture said cause of floor matt. So Technical reason with dynamic cause… hahaha… Glue made in china ka ?… combustible glue… why they used it if they know the thing can burn… Aihhh… italian… that why i prefer Proton, BMW, VW… Europe tech… not pizza tech…

• PC.OK on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:51 pm

i bet they are using the good old dua puluh sen glue in a tube. famously used back in tadika. harharhar :D

• PakAbu on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:00 pm

There won’t be a flame war here…. I presume.

Unless the fiery car is of certain “popular” brand *cough* *cough*… then, this blog will get really really hot. ;-)

• MoFaz on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:18 am

that ‘popular brand’ won’t escape being bashed, no matter whatever car brand being discussed in any topic.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Yes now i wanna see all those who slammed Toyota for the recalls to comment on this. Lets see what they have to say now. They associate car quality with recalls not realising that nothing is perfect and the recalls show just how commited the company is towards safety. Its common knowledge that Proton is full of problems (although they have improved in recent years) but how many recalls have we seen from Proton?

• Johnny on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:37 pm

proton is already very good maa.. no defects pertaining safety so no need recall la. whats the buzz? any experience? your power window suddenly burst into flame aa?

• cybertrooper89 on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:27 pm

heh eleh…
      They should recall the car due to its hazardous problem!!!

Toyota recall sticky pedal that cause sudden accelerate
      Ferrari recall this model due to possibility to cause fire!!
      Proton to recall their car due to power windows meh?

• plotong has tonnes of problems…. famous power window… no recall doesnt mean no problem… simplest thing they did is “Ignore”…

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 03, 2010 at 10:17 am

At least it won’t burn you to death…

• Hayden on Sep 04, 2010 at 8:48 am

the name itself also “power” window..I believe it has its own special ability to fix itself! xD

• carsut on Sep 02, 2010 at 5:14 pm

did u heard any proton driver died due to power window problem? i supposed no need to recall proton cars bcoz power window la… go service (tuka minyak hitam) and change the problematic motor la, done… if u used brain to think, you can spot the logic

• someone LOL on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:18 pm

i think the brain already damage due to power window problem.. that y they cannot think..

• Deuter_backpack on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:46 am

I dont think people will slam ferrarri as hard as toyota because of recall. The reason is very simple, compared to toyota, ferrarri doesnt have as many competitors as toyota in their market segment. Toyota worked all the way up to become world number 1, if toyota were my competitor and i have a chance to slam toyota, sure i create the biggest news out of it. There are many other car company doing recall, why not much of media coverage on them?

• MoFaz on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:26 am

haiyoo cybermaster98, i know you’re toyota fanboy or toyota salesman. you never know anything about proton because you’re closed-minded. Proton also did recalled Savvy due to brake disc & piston non-alignment in 2008.
      if the news about accidental / sudden accelaration in toyota cars is not widely spread, do you think toyota will recall their cars? well, millions of them. but it’s ok, you will still get your 4-6 months bonus because UMW increased the price of toyota cars by few thousand everytime there’s facelift.

• Iskandar on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Wow!

A 2 million ringgit moving casket. You need to be filthy rich to buy that kind of funeral.

• “Since there hasn’t been any sightings of burned 458s in our hot weather, it’s save to assume that they are all safely kept in the cool garages of Datuk and Tan Sri owners”……………got money to buy but got no nerve to drive no wonder nothing is burnt in Malaysia…….just like some expensive ‘wife’ /’gf of Datuk and Tan Sri just for show only …..

• rageaccel2 on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:26 pm

i smell jealousy here…:)

• nolan on Sep 03, 2010 at 2:42 am

actually, so many bumps on the road…thats why keep the Ferrari and Lambo in the garage…..

• Reader on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:07 pm

“save” to assume?

• squawk on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Hot car indeed!

• hahaha. just because its continental brand, everyone keep quiet.
    but if its Proton or Perodua, all condemn like hell…

• Johnny on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:39 pm

ya lorr.. have u see this shit happening to proton cars? no.. thats why no recall.

• mufasa on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:46 pm

ada…tgk bawah tu ( wowowww ), dia sudah bagi hint skit tu

• sayapdewa on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Paul, how do you know dato and tan sri owned these cars?

• Proton Owner on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Malaysian drivers probably can’t drive at ‘sustained period of time at high-speed’ here so their cars will not catch fire.

• wowowww on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:16 pm

at least they do take the responsible…not like some others

• 458 in malaysia not on road yet. first car still in showroom waiting to register

• raoul on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:01 pm

458 is here….have seen one with registered plate couple months and it brokedown in the middle of Jalan Maarof…seriously.

• dickybird on Sep 02, 2010 at 7:28 pm

havent seen on the road yet but i did see a California in puchong near Sturkers beer joint.

• cant be. we are the official importer so far our first car is still in showroom. JPJ type approve on 458 is not out yet so the car cant be on the road.

• unofficial Ferrari importer are many out there..I’ve saw 1..at LDP..

• apada on Sep 04, 2010 at 6:11 am

mayb that one is replica one. better check the detailing.

• rossi46 on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Thats a really hot car..LOL..

• prolever on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Nowadays this car caught fire very easily..
    when i visit www.wreckedexotics.com , they already count about 16 car was total because of sudden fire.

• Hot Prancing Horse!

• normal_user on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:03 pm

This is not a major surprise.

A certain batch of Audi R8 cars were also recalled previously due to isolated cases of fire burning mishap. Audi top execs must surely be smiling right now…

• xavier lert on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:09 pm

the most beautiful machine Ferarri ever made is definitely on fire!!!

• azrai on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:13 pm

…and Malaysian still scepticals on Malaysian own made car quality until now.

• dickybird on Sep 02, 2010 at 7:29 pm

that is coz they know better and deserve better. :P

• yea bah…. i bet next time when the quality and standard is par with imported cars they will still find something to bash local made… aiya, malaysian stereotype bah….

• razzack04 on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Ferrari.. RM2 million also re-called, Toyota re-called, Honda re-called, Porsche also recalled if not mistaken a while back. It’s normal la, car are complicated machines with thousands of parts. It’s just that some recall are serious than others. I already told before that I used to work in the automotive industries and that different manufacturers sometimes use same vendors with same quality control. Even the personnel lompat from one company to another. But normallah, some fella kutuk and say I defend Proton la bla bla bla. I magine if you spent 2 million on a car and it burst into flames, how do you feel? Feel stupid I guess. If you die in that fire I guess your friends and relatives will surely say ” WTF, spend 2 million to die. Wahhh… old Saga, VW beetle, Kancil 660 also still running no problem” (Biasala, if you drive Ferrari belakang people sure kutuk one). So, moral of the story (since Bulan Kemerdekaan) we also produce good car, quality car., be proud of our product my fellow Malaysians.

• akupunya on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:25 pm

emm..that’s why I don’t want to buy this car… :)

• campro on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:28 pm

burn RM 2million real car offering to death ppl…we chinese only buy paper made Mercedes burn to ancestors…GOOD new generation….haha
    Ferrari hv been facing this problem long time ago….F430 really famous get fired…now new model 458 Italia take turn…i hv saw many pictures in internet hv a lot new 458 get on fire… DON’T knw California got this problems or not???

• bond the james on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Another reason to go for the SLS AMG instead….German Rulez@@@@!!!

• campro on Sep 03, 2010 at 4:17 am

i hate the stupid SLS door….if like the previous SLR door, i will more love it…then this SLS is perfect…

• Initial R on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Hmmm…. faulty cause of glue near hot pipe… it’s cause of design or technically error…?. Have to do recall coz it worth of RM2mil. However Prancing Horse not in my line up. So.. who’s care….

• jolly_idiot on Sep 02, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Oh… this must be the cheapo glue from China. This the cause of cutting cost.

• poor 458…..

• the saga blm guy on Sep 02, 2010 at 5:20 pm

aiyooo…..that recall…ini recall !!! whats the problem with cars right know ???? wake uplah….

• acerman on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Nothing is perfect. Even a 2million car have problems too. Don’t expect too much on something that u think is good. Just expect on something that will profit you and your family.

• autojohndoe on Sep 02, 2010 at 5:37 pm

i think Lamborghini also have this sudden fire thing… isnt it?

• alldisc on Sep 02, 2010 at 6:00 pm

this is the reason why ferrari F1 drivers wont dare to push their cars to the max!! fear of fire maa…

• campro on Sep 03, 2010 at 4:19 am

yaya…haha so u hv found their reason why they hv miss out this recent 3 yr constructor championship title… pity Alonso n massa…

• how can ferrari can drove so fast in malaysia…traffic jam everywhere, anytime

• less chances to get burn

• no la…i think this will make the car much easier to burn due to the un-sufficient air coolant intake oso plus with the road hot temp, isnt it?…. hehe

• some peoples bash p1 for power window problem (power window problem can kill people meh??).
    but i can’t see ferrari basher here after RM2m car tebakar so easy.

• campro on Sep 03, 2010 at 4:22 am

i guess can claim from insurance company OR ferrari company replace new 1…haha…slowly wait dream…but cannot deny this possibility…Ferrari vr want face care their brand….mayb will replace new 1..

• dickybird on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:51 pm

bash ferrari for what?! its not like they are supposed to be the pride of our nation and most of us dont drive them but we do drive protons. how to zoom forward to 2020 when power window problem also cannot solve?

• valandil on Sep 02, 2010 at 7:30 pm

i think it is time now that ALL supercars should come fully equiped with fire-extinguishers…

we here in Middle East must have fire-extinguishers in our normal passenger cars as well.. its a must… and authorities checked it every with our annual inspections.

• Car lover on Sep 02, 2010 at 7:54 pm

Ferrari is not suitable for hot climate country like Malaysia, the interior button does not last, it melt

• MoFaz on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:39 am

but those super-rich arabs also buy ferrari… sure the buttons melted like chocolate, right? if you have this car, would you park it in open-space parking under the sun, or drive to jockey and let them park in covered area?
      but yeah, malaysia is very hot. i saw some plastic tissue boxes melted and twisted terribly but the owner still keep them, perhaps for sentimental value.

• junaidi on Sep 03, 2010 at 8:53 am

but then again most cars under Fiat Group are like that.

• flizzardo_sohigh on Sep 02, 2010 at 7:55 pm

thank god i cant afford to buy this car

i always known that my beloved Proton has better reliability and safety

• Prelude on Sep 02, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Hopefully all this car still under warranty…hahaha..and hopefully all of the driver safe..ok

• i think in SG already had 4 within a span of 4 mths of it burnt to the ground also, how come its not recalled here? its already known tht the 458 easily burn apparently due to a gas overflow tube and gas vapour system were placed too close to the engine.
    so in msia is a haven for car manufacturers as not any units will be recalled even if there are world wide recalls.

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story/A1Story20100829-234414.html

• proton is the best, until today stil no recall

• MoFaz on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:47 am

that’s sarcasm, but ironically it made you sounds stupid.
      if you simply type “proton recall” in google, you would find several recall that proton made, including savvy, waja, persona and neo.

• hate stupid drivers on Sep 03, 2010 at 5:13 pm

bro you’re think too much… its a simple compliment for Proton and you’re whining about sarcasm.

• awg1031 on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:25 pm

man….a car that expensive…gulp…

• mirror mirror on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:42 pm

I don’t know why the national cars got mentioned in some comments, P1 and P2 always seem to look good only when others are in trouble, do Malaysian has the habit of comparing ourselves to bad examples as a way to get some kind of comfort?

• junaidi on Sep 03, 2010 at 8:51 am

yup. Malaysians dont like comparing themselves to Singapore, they prefer to compare with Indonesia and Philiphines.

• I don’t fancy Ferrari because there’s no way I can get one. So, shame on Ferrari. Eventhough it’s hand-made or whatsoever, still, there are burst into flames!

Pursuit of Perfection? Keep on dreaming Lexus.

• lifesun on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:09 am

wait a minute,… suddenly most of comments posted here are discussed about P1 & P2 car here? hehe…

• Prelude on Sep 03, 2010 at 6:24 am

Thats prove..we alwayz love our product….belilah baragan buatan malaysia ( at least 1)

• dickybird on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:54 pm

malaysian madeproducts never far from our minds, like maggi mee asam laksa! LOL!

• nevr mind la..its always be problem as long as it a car..hehe

• mohdjiman on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:31 am

RM 2 million car just burned like that…cheap glue eh? due to cronism? haha…

• nolan on Sep 03, 2010 at 2:44 am

i saw once Proton Persona terbakar at NKVE….maybe due to heated glue perhaps…?

• magnum4d on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:00 am

458 number not so good lah.
    die-not-prosperous
    so whoever buys this car will die a poorman.
    That is why it got burn lah !!! What a coincidence.!!

• rasputin on Sep 03, 2010 at 5:19 am

last time i went to showroom… from the smell i already know that the glue used is flammable, so canceled my booking immediately.

• hahaha… you make my day..!! it is smell like UHU or GAM GAJAH?? :P

• MoFaz on Sep 04, 2010 at 2:27 am

hahaha.. u’re better than Grissom in CSI.
      but i can smell bullshit from u too….

• leonardo on Sep 03, 2010 at 8:25 am

There’s other options like Bugatti, Pagani, Lambo, Spyker, etc.

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:49 am

Even handmade and low volume cars are not spared by defect. Imagine Toyota. Sure got defect by virtue of high volume…

• jl@ipl on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:56 am

Hmm, no such thing as “perfect car”.

So, if P1 or P2 car caught fire like this, no need to start “jumping” sky high……………………

Every hydrocarbon powered machine can caught fire any time. Why? Go back to basic fire triangle. Fuel and oxygen already there all the while. Just need source of ignition……most of the time, it came from wiring fault. Factory fitted wiring could be one, after market accessories another.

• Another Proton =.=’

• cybermaster98 on Sep 07, 2010 at 11:07 am

Kia Motors boss resigns over mass recall

7 September 2010
    SEOUL (AFP) – The head of South Korea’s second-largest automaker Kia Motors has resigned to take responsibility for mass vehicle recalls caused by defective electrical wiring, the company said Tuesday.
    Chung Sung-Eun stepped down after Kia had to issue a global recall of 85,900 vehicles, spokesman Michael Choo told AFP.
    The four models involved are the Soul, Sorento and Borrego sport utility vehicles, and the Cadenza sedan. In China a Kia Motors joint venture, Dongfeng Yueda Kia Motor Co, on Monday separately recalled 18,147 Sorento, Borrego and Soul models.