Paris 2010: Chevrolet is the busiest GM brand in Paris – Aveo, Orlando and Cruze hatchback get world debuts

Chevrolet was easily the busiest GM brand in Paris with the world debuts of three models – the Cruze hatchback, Orlando MPV and the Aveo supermini. The former is Chevy’s attempt to swim with the big boys in Europe, where C-segment hatchbacks are favoured over sedans.

“Hatchbacks play a critical role in many markets. The total compact segment in Europe represents around 4.8 million units which is over a quarter of the total market, with hatchbacks representing around 65% of that volume. We therefore expect to see increased business in a number of regions, while sending out a signal that Chevrolet is now a serious mainstream player in Europe,” said Wayne Brannon, MD of Chevrolet Europe.

The official pics released before Paris didn’t show the Cruze hatch’s interior. We now know that it’s identical to the saloon’s, save for nicer seats that sport body colour design. The hatch will have 60/40 split fold seats and a 400-litre boot capacity. This Holden designed five-door will be sold in Europe from mid 2011.

Moving one segment down, the new Aveo carries over much of the Aveo RS show car’s (from Detroit 2010) looks including the huge headlamps, oversized grille and rear door handles that are hidden in the C pillars. This car is longer and wider than the current model. A sedan version will be launched alongside this five-door next year in Europe.

There are three petrol engines – a 1.2L (70 hp and 86 hp), 1.4L (100 hp) and a 1.6L with 115 hp. Europe will also get a 1.3-litre diesel (75 hp or 95 hp) featuring Start/Stop tech. Chevy’s 6-speed auto is an option on the 1.4 and 1.6.

Two years ago in Paris, Chevy showed off the Orlando Concept, this year the production model is displayed. While the lines and edges aren’t as sharp as the original concept, the Orlando is still unique in the class for having a square, butch shape which Chevy describes as “crossover style design”. The seven seater MPV has theater style seating and a “dual cockpit” dash design as seen on the Cruze. It will also share drivetrains with the C-segment car.

These are all global cars designed for markets as diverse as Europe and the developing BRIC nations, and should find their way here someday. Live gallery after the jump. Do you like what you see?

Chevrolet Orlando
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1568]
Chevrolet Aveo
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1569]
Chevrolet Cruze Hatchback
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1570]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mienzz on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Stylish !

• CarChopper2010 on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:59 pm

The Aveo and Cruze hatchback look awesomely good…
    The Orlando looks great on concept..but its interior looks quite comfortable

• Anti Proton on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:04 pm

man the cruze hatchack is awesome

• the Cruze hatchback version is better IMO.

but i still don’t like the headlamps. IMO too.

cheers.

:D

• Aveo looks gorgeous.
    Cruze looks awesome and dashing.Only the headlamps will be the issue.Other than that,nice goin with chevrolet.hope the hatchback cruze will be offered here.Sure the price is much higher.

• Neutral on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:35 pm

wow nice exterior!!! bring it on to Malaysia.I’d luv to try!!! Aveo will be no more old Aveo :)

• i’m not a hatchback fan but the cruze and aveo look awesome!! :D hope naza can bring them in as soon as possible.

• Damn it that Cruze is slick!! Throw a 2.0 turbo diesel and price lower than Civic 2.0, and I’m on it!

• normal_user on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:42 pm

C-pillar hoffmeister kink on the Cruze looks good.

The sedan should have that styling too.

• Jimmy on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Cruze hatchback in white is very ke si, like Toyota Harrier 2004. Maybe slightly more cantiq compared to Latio Sport.

• umnosukapitnah on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:35 pm

cruze hatch looks wayyyyy better than their sedan brother…Naza should bring it to m’sia!

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 1:08 am

The blurb on Cruze on Chevy M’sia website says;

‘ These engines ensure a lively performance even at low engine speed for relaxed everyday driving.’

WTH is that? A 1.8l auto that’s 1 sec slower than a local 1.6l car.

More than 6 months after Naza signs the agreement with GM and we still don’t see any Cruze on the Malaysian road. Doesn’t anybody think that there’s a conflict when Naza sells Kia, Pugs and Chevy at a very close price range and some overlapping too.

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 2:20 am

I know I’m flying off with this one. Go to Chevrolet Malaysia website and you will find two, count them one(Cruze) and two(Captiva) as the only model being offered. I wouldn’t mind if there was a rebadged Fiat 500. Which wouldn’t be too bad. But 2 cars? That’s like just one up from Eastar. Lame.

There’s a list of dealers (all 10 of them) but when you want to ask about service, you need to fill up a form. Just in case you break into a spasm and injure yourself trying to make sense of having tiptronic on a 2.4litre 2tonne SUV, there’s a denial of liability clause somewhere.

See below:-

http://paultan.org/2010/06/10/chevrolet-cruze-launched-1-8l-6-speed-auto-rm99k/

Martin Apfel their SEA Prez said they’ll be 20 dealers by end of the year. Out of 10 that’s listed, 4 of them are Cergazam. Can we bury it now please? Before the maggots sets in?

• ‘while sending out a signal that Chevrolet is now a serious mainstream player in Europe,” said Wayne Brannon, MD of Chevrolet Europe’

A ‘serious mainstream player in Europe’ with a market share of 1.3% there?

Then, Proton is a ‘serious mainstream player in Europe’ too… :)

• vertigo on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:53 am

Cruze – now that’s a proper hatchback – damn nice~

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:01 am

aku tengok macam Nissan Grand Livina pun ada…yang orlando tu

• zanggief on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:01 am

All three models are looks stylish and advance. i believe the chevy malaysia should consider to bring the models in to compete with japan / korea maker.

We also need to give big clap to Danny who bring back the first hand news from Paris.

Good job, Danny.

• JonLing on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:14 am

I think I will get many bombs after I said this, but I think none of these cars impressed me. Orlando’s big grille makes it looks more American than others, but that’s the only part on its exterior that is attractive to me. It’s rather boring design overall. The interior looks comfortable, though I hope there’s more design flair, and perhaps use brighter colour schemes in it as well.

Aveo is really outer space-ish, cartoon-ish and a bit unfinished for me. And the fact that it has similar shape (of course with some “evolution”) with the very first Aveo is not flattering too.

Cruze hatchback is the best looking of the bunch, but I can’t help but to notice that the “face” of the Cruze sedan doesn’t suit hatchback that much. It’s more squarish, and it doesn’t really match with the more rounded rear of the hatchback. but it does look good in some angles.

Hopefully Chevrolet will become like what Opel is now, producing one sexy car after another…….

• nighttrain on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:23 am

I sincerely thougt that the trend now is to charge the small engines.. How come none of the current lineup is charged with turbos or superchargers?

• Ordinary Joe on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:31 am

@NAZA : Bring that Cruze hatch here! It will sell on looks alone. But get a different engine variant la! and u’ll sell more..

• uiouipuiouio on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:52 am

the interior is like my toilet seat

• like the cruze hatch..
    nice led foglight & rear shape..

• Jaybond on Oct 06, 2010 at 1:39 pm

Aveo’s speedometer looks race-like and as if lifted straight from superbike’s!

• Lim Kopi on Oct 07, 2010 at 1:28 am

WHATS WITH THE LED FOG LAMPS ??

REAL MERC RIP OFF !!