Hybrid car tax exemption to be extended to end of 2011

Civic Integrated Motor AssistIn today’s Budget 2011 announcement, the PM has announced that import duty and excise duty is now FULLY exempted for hybrid and electric cars and motorcycles until the end of the year 2011.

• The duty exemption has been extended until the 31st of December 2011, it was supposed to expire by the end of this year.
  • The duties for hybrid cars are even lower now. Previously the government offered 100% import duty exemption and 50% excise duty exemption, now it’s 100% exemption for both import duty and excise duty! This should mean the price of the Toyota Prius and the Honda Civic Hybrid should be even lower now.
  • Exemptions have now been extended to electric cars, hybrid motorcycles as well as electric motorcycles.
  • The rest of the details are status quo, for example the exemptions still only apply to internal combustion engines with capacities of lower than 2.0 litres, so there’s still no way for the Toyota Camry Hybrid to be brought in with these tax benefits.

Let’s look at how much that additional reduction in excise duty means for hybrid cars. This is just a possible guesstimate, feel free to correct us in the comments. We are calculating the new Peninsular Malaysia price based on the Langkawi pricing (which gives us an indication of how much a truly tax free price would be, including whatever profit margin the local distributor wants to take) with an additional 10% added for sales tax. All prices are for private registration.

Honda Civic Hybrid Toyota Prius
Current Peninsular Price RM129,980.00 RM175,000.00
Current Langkawi Price RM100,980.00 RM127,408.45
Possible New Price RM111,078.00 RM140,149.30
Possible Savings of Excise Duty RM18,902.00 RM34,850.70

The budget text appendix also says that the new duty range is for applications beginning from January 2011 to the end of 2011 so we’re probably only going to see any drop in prices next year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• when do we see hybrid at sub RM 80 price range? emmm

• mystvearn on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Honda should bring in the CR-Z test market here. Starting at £17k….around RM 84k

http://www.honda.co.uk/cars/cr-z/

• JonLing on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:52 pm

good to know that the prices of hybrid cars could drop even further, but why only 1 year extension?? i think it should be extended at least 3 to 5 years more…..govt should encourage more hybrid cars to be sold here……

• altimate on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Agreed, this should be carved in stone..
      looks like they are on “wait and see” mode.. but what are they anticipating I wonder..

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm

i guess govt is waiting desperately Proton to come out new EV or hybrid while is desperately to find EV manufacturer for JV….Govt no sincere enough for this green tech hybrid car….they should extend it longer year period…

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:13 pm

you read my mind bro… (i’ve “like” your comment too)

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:22 am

i agree with you campro, this budget is like preparation for the next general election.

• campro on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:02 pm

this move is fishing rakyat vote to accept them back as their master…we dun knw how next general Election outcome….i thk it won’t help much for them….Media smtm cannot fully trusted bcoz license is beyond govt control…bad tactic alot we heard in perak, penang, even in kedah…so we wait & see in 2012…Govt hv change or remain same!!??

• at least our Gov the only gov give 100% import tax and excise duty tax relief fr current tax that very high….i think gov better give incentive on income tax, road tax, bank interest, no tax on spare part,no service tax car maintenance, insurance, toll incentive, ….better for long run

• BeemerFreak on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:52 pm

How bout Euro 4M Diesels and Petrol?

• Outdoor Person on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Dude..U probably need to ask when petronas can produce clean diesel n petrol for our local consumption first..

• gangully on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

dude… why no question about Shell, Exxon Mobil or Caltex bringing in Euro 4 into Malaysia? then only Petronas will have to up the ante.

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Petronas hv produce high grade fuel & diesel but it not for his country rakyat use…those is for selling at foreign countrys ….Petronas only sell low grade fuel in M’sia…why not u guys use shell, Caltex, Esso, Mobil for better quality fuel & value for money & good for your car too…if want to stay loyal also must know it hv done well enough for u…this is the reason, i will never use Petronas anymore…stay loyal to shell & caltex…

• Pikomon on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Dude…All Fuel Grade Are The Same Here.Every Company Use Euro2M Diesel And Petrol Dude…How Come You Say That Other Offer Better Quality Oil Than Petronas When The Grade Are The Same?Think Before You Say….I Don’t Think That Petronas Product As Bad As You Said.You Need A Reality Check Here Dude….

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:41 pm

of coz the Ron is same…but the formula contents is different….can u say quality of shell V-power same as Caltex Techron for example??? definitely NOPE….hope u get my words…i know Petronas Diesel content high level sulfur that is not good for ur passenger car… Lorry or bus not problem…

• i think u wrong here….all oil company in Malaysia use the same petrol or diesel Euro2M standard..the additive is diff but still E2M. particulate matter(PM) for E2M is a limit to 0.08 g/km if they use smaller PM than E2 than it must be E3…the smaller the particulate more process involve n more money involve higher the price…one thing many oil well in Malaysian soil is extract jointly by petronas carigali n other oil company..so wat petronas get other get it also

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_emission_standards

• Tiodoro on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:23 pm

forgive him,, hes only local product basher,,, i think petronas fuel is the best quality now.

• Toyotttt on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:37 am

they think petronas is cokia company isnt..,, but they forget, petronas own the biggest petrol station in africa thru Engen…. Selenia oil too in europe.. huff..

• Tiodoro on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:21 pm

disagree with this,, i used petronas diesel,, it work best for my navara.. compare to other.

• bobby on Oct 16, 2010 at 12:16 am

Campro is seriously misled with his wrong information. Do some readings before you start b’rking

• I agree… when i was in malaysia, I used to think that caltex techron was the best.. but petronas actually gave my car better mileage. If a local company gives a good product, give credit where credit’s due.

Referring to the Euro 2 diesels, it’s simply to keep the price of the fuel low. I’m sure Petronas can achieve Euro 5, but the cost would be prohibitive, esp to transport companies. If they pay more for fuel, you pay more for your roti canai.

• freakofreak on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:00 pm

We have the capability to produce/ sell Euro3 or 4 fuel. If i’m not mistaken, they’re exporting it also.
      Our Neighbour also using Euro3 as standard fuel, and Vpower with Euro4 spec.
      I’m talking diesel here. Don’t know about petrol.

The gas station spending money to have another tank to store another grade of diesel, + pump, nozzle..etc would be the main concern. If they replace our Euro2 entirely, things like higher transportation charges, acceptance of higher fuel price..etc will come.

You also have Euro4/5 petrol/diesle with different octane/cetane levels.
      Do you prefer Euro4 92Octane or Euro2 98Octane? Cleaner fuel, but less burning power or more power, sacrifice the environment? Price?

In the end, it can only be done it stages. Slowly. Most likely Euro3 will come in 1-2 years, and maybe our next generation will only get to use Euro5 fuel, that time, Europe will be using Euro 100 already :)

Please.. I don’t want Biofuel. It sucks!!!!!!!!!!!

• petronas is capable of producing even E5 (the higher the Euro standard the higher the price)….they r international country that operate in more than 20 country..this is not has capability or not…it more on regulation of the country

NAP

V. Clear Roadmap for the Implementation of Fuel Standards
        Since September 2009, EURO 2M specification for petrol and diesel has been implemented. The Government has now set a clear target of implementing EURO 4M specification for petrol and diesel by 2011. The Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment will establish a roadmap for fuel standards and quality.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:33 am

Singapore is already using Euro 5 petrol and diesel, however their petrol and diesel prices are about 70 cents apart, why ours is so close?

• Neocyber on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:25 pm

if Singapore can use Euro5 Petrol and Diesel – it is coming from the BUKOM petrochemical complex there (by Shell)

Shell Refineries in malaysia also preparing their plant and waiting for a govt. go to start supplying the higher grade Diesel to consumer.

The problem is not so much from Oil company – Petronas, Shell and other main player in malaysia are ready with govt. instruction and plan – the question is when!?

It is the govt – that delays this implementation .., it makes you wondering – why?
          ahaa., look at the the whole transportation sector in malaysia – many are still hold by all this well connected datuks and tan sri .. it is all this ppl (sometimes we label them as Cr….s ) that delays all this latest standard to be enjoyed by mass-citizens of malaysia.

They have old-fleet of lorry, trucks, and other kind of industry that still need this lower quality diesel.. >> are all this vehicles / machine – will broke down if use higher quality diesel? I dunno.., i’m not an auto-engineer..

so.. go figurelah.. ! who’s the real Mc Coy that caused the delay to all this new tech implementation..

See laaa our JAS (Jabatan Alam Sekitar) – are they doing their job? hardly no! you can see on highway – lorries, bus with all this thick black smoke billowing from their vehicle roaming freely..!

• Outdoor Person on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:54 pm

AWESOME MAN!!

• chelva on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:55 pm

The duty exemption is now 100% exemption duty for import duty and 100% exemption duty for excise duty.

does this effectively make hybrids cars duty free?

• Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Yup! Before this, there’s still some amount of excise duty. Now it’s 100% excise duty exemption.

• Is there still sales tax (which is suppose to be 10%)?

• Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm

You’re right, I have to check on this and update the story. If Langkawi price of the Prius is RM127,408.45, with 10% sales tax it should be RM140,149.30. That’s still a savings of RM35,000 represented by the 100% exemption on excise duty as compared to the previous 50% exemption.

• Gov should extend to higher cc hybrids car..just thinking of camry hybrid :(

• just buy the camry hybrid there is no halangan anymore

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:28 am

140K for prius seems a value buy.

i dont think camry hybrid will sell in malaysia because the tax exemptions are only for hybrid cars below 2000cc. camry hybrid is does not qualify.

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

additonal 50% exemption can save your pocket around 25k-35k…then u can use that 25k-35k buy house…

• MoFaz on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:33 am

that’s where you got your priority wrong.
            more money should be spent on house, not a car.
            i don’t fancy hybrid car, not yet. people are still sceptical, just thinking about the cost to replace the battery would scare them.

• Farid on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:58 pm

I want Honda Insight!!! If the price is reasonable :-)

• redwings on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm

How about Camry and Estima Hybrid… that’s common in Japan…

• Johnnyc on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Dude.. How about Porsche 918 hybrid spyder? Yummie

• Black Dog on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:07 pm

Read properly all you dudes! Only for hybrids below 2.0 Litres.

• Calvin on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:59 pm

So does this mean that cars like the Toyota Prius will be much, much cheaper soon? If I’m not mistaken, it’s around RM200k now? How much would it cost after all the tax exemptions? I’m interested in getting a car soon, would appreciate your assistance Paul.

• Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:13 pm

It’s 175k now. In Langkawi with no tax it’s 127k. Since we possibly still have sales tax, the new pricing should be somewhere in the middle – 150k?

• mujahid on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Paul,

I am OKU. I eligible 4 100% exemption excise duty on proton, so I can order Inspira or Exora turbo at RM 60k maybe….. wallaweeeeeeeeeee…….

• RadzLee on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:27 pm

wow… good for you!~

• bro, only for CBU hybrid lah..

• mujahid on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:48 pm

bro, i’m talking abt exemption 100% for OKU who purchase national car….exemption on hybrid is another thing….

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

u glad that u r OKU???

• frossonice on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:08 pm

He is OKU and he is fine by it. What is wrong with you?

• MoFaz on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:38 am

osh_kosh is just jelous when someone else get just a bit of benefit, which to help them in their struggle to live the hard life.

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:31 am

he is glad that OKU is being given some priorities and advantages by the govt.

read within the lines.

• mujahid on Oct 16, 2010 at 10:48 am

bro, u have 10 finger, i only got 6 since i’m born…. what option did i hv…..

• osh_kosh on Oct 16, 2010 at 2:17 pm

i’m just asking… so i’m a bad guy now?

• It seems that YOU are degrading him.
            Filthy human.
            He does not ask for it.
            Move on.

• Can buy hybrid Ferrari da ni

• Gila!!!! on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Sejak bila Ferrari buat hybrid?
      Beli Porche boleh. Diorang ada buat :)
      Atau Ferrari yang kau cakap tu control pakai remote?

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

mayb we can see BMW & Mercedes hybrid will reach our shore soon in meddile or end of 2011…i will smile until my teeth took off….haha

• altimate on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Fantastic news.. Prius’ price tag may go down as well.. I’m all smiles :)

• geng outdoor on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:06 pm

duty free means free to make the duty…

• Estimosis on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Superbikes…please reduce the total taxes from 80% to 20%..or less….

• Outdoor Person on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Dream on la brader..Superbikes r for super rich mat rempits..so no tax relief!!kekkeek..gurau saje, janganlah marah..

• h4dRi on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm

and exempt tax for their safety gear too

• just buying the superbikes at Singapore or Thailand bro…
      it much cheaper than our shores.

• bryan.jones on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm

knowing T-brand, not much drop we could see soon.

• Annihilated on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Apart from the hybrids, hand bags and seluar dalam also got partial tax exemption.. albeit only -5%. ;)

• gangully on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:45 pm

5-30% dude… depending on the type of goods…

• MoFaz on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:41 am

so, we get cheaper seluar dalam? or we still paying the old price while the retailers ‘absorbing’ the tax relief?

• waja1680 on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

My civic hybrid 2009 cost RM129k and the excise duty cost RM21k. The the Hybrid first launch in 2007 with the price of RM162k

• i wan to ask ler since u hav hybrid car…do u ever hav prob when banjir? since electric n water r bad combination…im bit curious bout that..even curious with pure EV car since malaysia is prone to flood and flash flood…chances being electrocuted is high i think

• reuben how on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Hybrid cars will not come down in price unless diesels are introduced in malaysia. Without any competition from diesels how to expect price decrease? In the US the hybrid camry is USD 27000, In australia, $ 40 000, but even at 1.6% interest rate, very few are driving out of the showroom door.

• why is it so? don’t they like green tech like camry??

• Ford_GT on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Prius already landed in shores of Malaysia, by next year onwards we will shall see more of them on the road.

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm

reuben how,

Dun worry about Camry hybrid….Thailand alr long time hv camry hybrid in their lineup….for sure it going to enter M’sia soon in 2011…for the diesel matter, m’sia no need any high competative to down car price tag bcoz it is fully control by govt for proton benefit…local bolehland style is like this way…want change this trend then next General Election change govt lohh is the only possible way…

• Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Ford has the Focus TDCI on sale, but doesn’t seem to have had much impact. Perhaps things will be different if T or H sells a diesel.

• HI Paul,

It’s probably the stigma that diesels have in Malaysia where the image of old trucks belching black smoke come into mind. Even a lot of newer trucks have black smoke due to the quality of diesel available.

I’m sure you know in EU and AU, a lot of cars run on diesel with hardly any smoke or smell due to the fuel quality. I can testify to that as I had an uncle who imported a diesel truck from Japan which came with half a tank of Japanese diesel. We drained the tank and put in local diesel and the truck started spewing black smoke. We replaced what was left of the Japanese diesel and the smoke was gone. No speculation here.

That said, I’d buy a diesel over a hybrid anytime. Better mileage and cleaner emmissions.

• Neocyber on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Agree!! hybrid tech is so Overhyped this day..!

i read somewhere in jalopnik or some auto site comparing the benefit and cost of ownership between Hybrid vs newer tech Diesel vehicle – and the result is clearly the Diesel vehicle..!

VW car with TDCI makes a good example of great engineering product of Diesel engine technology.

• reuben how on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:38 pm

hey, if forgot to mention but isn’t the porsche cayenne available in hybrid form

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:21 pm

yup…but it is damn expensive…now may be price can down 40k-60k…i guess this range is the possible estimation…

• MoFaz on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:46 am

keep on dreaming laa.. tax exemption is only for 2000cc and below.

• campro on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:08 pm

this is the power of dream….believe the unbelievable….i borrow quote from Lotus racing & honda…

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Good news for consumer more green cars will coming soon…that mean we can get cheaper current Prius & civic…Camry hybrid, Jazz Hybrid, Yaris Hybrid, Honda Insight hopefully soon will be available in our market…. Save the Earth now…Encourage Green Technology widely use…

• _xXx_ on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:28 am

yeah, but in ur dream. Most tax saving will go to sellers’ pocket especially u#wt. Juz wait n c

• SmartGuyDumbGuy on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Wish List:

A Peugeot 3008 Diesel Hybrid.

• blackbox on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Will only consider if Prius looks better.

• gangully on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Paul, what you mean it is a false alarm?

full budget text says this…

“Fourth: Full import duty and 50% excise duty exemption was granted to franchise holders of hybrid cars as well as hybrid an electric motorcycles up to 31 December 2010. To further encourage ownership of hybrid cars, import duty and excise duty exemption will be extended until 31 December 2011 with excise duty to be given full exemption.”

that means that 50% excise duty imposed currently is also exempted…

• Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:19 pm

argh, i want to kill myself! fixing story, fixing story.

• gangully on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Paul,

apa lah… you rushing too much… your table shows “possible Excise Duty Savings” which should be “Possible Savings”. Possible Excise Duty Savings is the whole of the current Excise Duty.

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:33 am

gangully – thank you for correcting.
          paul, to err is human. dont worry, we wont bash you. he he…

• Lim Kopi on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Paul

any idea why this is just only for one short year? I mean is there really any point ?

• Johnnyc on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Waaah.. So many greenies here. The stig will be furious la

• GreenEco on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Thai built Prius will be soft launched next week (Oct 21) by TMT president Kyoichi Tanada. Price to be anonced at the launch but expected between Altis and Camry around THB1.1M or about MYR110K.

http://www.bangkokpost.com/business/economics/201458/toyota-to-make-prius-model-in-thailand

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:35 am

brilliant news!! make good sense to come to malaysia instead of CBU Japan. we could prevent the price handicap.

• Honda HSV Hybrid : )

• Anti Proton on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:28 pm

what about porsche caynne hybrid?

• RedLine on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:41 pm

I wonder how much the VW Touareg Hybrid would cost now?

http://paultan.org/2010/02/11/second-generation-volkswagen-touareg-premieres-with-hybrid-model/

• Highbreed Cars on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:28 pm

The government won’t be stupid enough to encourage too many hybrid car on our road….Who the heck is going to buy petrol & gas when every Dick & Harry drive around in hybrid & electric car….LOL
    This is from the view of me when I am sitting (smugly) behind those oil & gas top management desks counting the $$$$$$$$$$$……

• gangully on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:42 pm

bro… hybrid still uses petrol…above a certain rev range/speed… if a person uses hybrid, it does not mean he would not use petrol anymore…

anyway… if they use EV, then they need to charge the car… money to TNB…

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:38 am

the real intention for hybrid is for environment and not fuel saving. FC reduction is just a bonus!!

a prius and civic hybrid produce zero emission during stationary and very low heat in exchange.

imagine all cars in KL are hybrid. the weather will become warm only at 11 o’clock rather than 9am.

• MoFaz on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:51 am

why not? gov would spend less for petrol subsidy if more & more people use electric & hybrid cars.

• blackjkx on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:02 am

Mr,if u have forgotten,oil/gas in unsustainable resource.I know when the time its dried up u already in form of dust.

• smart on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm

last2 org langkawi gak untung.. harga inspira lebih mahal dari civic di langkawi..

• weird… if not mistaken, prius is always being cheaper than civic hybrid…

• yc.low on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:50 pm

I want to congratulate the Prime Minster for encouraging hybrid cars development in Malaysia. This is indeed our commitment to a greener Malaysia. Local and foreign car industries should take this opportunity to make Malaysia the hub for hybrid cars.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:22 pm

yea encourage up till end 2011 oni …

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm

may be after 2011 he is no longer our PM…Possible we will hv 1st women PM in our m’sia history & 2nd women PM in ASEAN after Philippine…then world is happy that M’sia is encourage sex equality & opportunities….human rights in M’sia also up…

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:40 am

open eyes wider – the general election is coming in less than 2 yrs time. its time to be kind to the public!! after GE, all Barang Naik again.

• than when the G wan to do job?..forgod sake every 5 yrs we will get GE

• BeemerFreak on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:24 am

Err isnt Megawati a lady? she was the president of Indonesia wasnt she?

• MoFaz on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:53 am

because proton is coming up with their hybrid in 2012!

• hybrid or EV?…proton has built hybrid away before but not commercialize – Proton GEN2 equipped with Lotus Engineering’s EVE Hybrid technology

• BobbyBalaz on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Honda should bring in the CR-Z … NOW~ I could just imagine the sales figures!

• Is the current Prius a CBU from Japan? If so, then that explains the RM175K price. The price of the Thai assembled Prius should be lower, but by how much I wonder and will the quality suffer? Any comments Paul?

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:41 am

true, current prius is CBU. volume to assemble was to small. that toyota motor thailand has been approved to assemble prius is just brilliant.

• Proton should sell their hybrid cars, now!

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Proton hv to begging their big Bro Mitsubishi again 1st….for JV EV for emas…Colt alr been take by Peugeot Citroen AG for rebadge under their brand name for europe market…we wait & see how their progress in Proton…they going to take vr long time as usual…

• GreenEco on Oct 16, 2010 at 1:46 am

Colt is replaced by a new global small car being developed by Mitsubishi. Production base of new small car is considered to move to Thailand and starts selling by early 2012.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Money/Story/STIStory_591163.html

• there is an article in pualtan.org show several car maker rebadge the same car with their own badge n style.. i think they will not rebadge since they hav their own hybrid system but was not commercialize – Lotus Engineering’s EVE Hybrid technology (Proton GEN2 EVE Hybrid Concept) Geneva Motor Show 2007

http://paultan.org/2007/03/07/proton-and-lotus-engineering-develop-proton-gen2-eve-hybrid-concept/

• Ford_GT on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Great news, @ least I can afford 2nd car by mid next year after paying P2 Kenari loan for almost decade donkey years.

• Arell on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:23 pm

majority of the hybrid car price still goes to pay for the AP which still goes into somebody’s pocket.

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Dun care much…buy ur car from authorize dealer….dun buy imported recond 2nd hand car, then those import money will not go to AP ppl pocket….To give money to AP ppl, i better donate give to govt….

• can u explain me how approve permit (AP) work n who can get it? honda malaysia? tan chong motor? NAZA?etc….just saying AP without knowing what it all bout is just saying without knowledge…i also bit blur bout AP system in auto industry as compare AP in other area of economy

• Pengguna Bijak on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:36 pm

“…The duties for hybrid cars are even lower now. Previously the government offered 100% import duty exemption and 50% excise duty exemption, now it’s 100% exemption for both import duty and excise duty! ”
    “…We are calculating the new Peninsular Malaysia price based on the Langkawi pricing with an additional 10% added for sales tax.”

Better extend to all other types of cars, SUV, MPV, pickup lah. Limit it to 2,000cc also still OK if govt cannot let Proton live without tongkat NAP, we all understand.

Sales tax 10 percent should be maximum govt can charge to new cars. But above 2000cc then govt charge any hell price on it. 99 pct carbuyers not buying Ferrari to kebun sayor anyway.

Those 100 pct, 50 pct car import taxes duties revenue still small compare to lost money to corruption lah.

Govt must protect and give fair price to low,middle income carbuyers, not punish them with overpriced outdated unsafe car anymore. Much better if ABS, dual airbags made mandatory at zero cost absorbed by car manufacturers and not carbuyers.

• Jimmy on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:04 pm

SO NOW WE UNDERSTAND HOW GREEDY OUR CAR SELLERS ARE.

• frossonice on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Hybrid cars cost more than rm100k which is quite expansive for ordinary folks. Only upper middle class and rich man can afford them and help to save the environment. For all I know, we layman will be damned for using cars that is polluting because we can’t afford Prius or Civic Hybrid.

• now those arrogant buyers to the prius wont be so proud anymore when they find out that they just lost almost 40k in value overnight.

then again, knowing how greedy UMW is……they’ll probably lower the price to around 165k and pocket a super fat 30k profit……and laugh all the way to the bank as usual.

• MoFaz on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:58 am

hahaha.. correct!
      do a little facelift and the car price automatically went up back to RM175k…

• that price OTR price with insurance or not

• Time to bring in those Lexus Hybrid.

• Look at the price…how on earth we can save the world.

• that y no many people use hybrid..to costly..even 100% import/excise tax cut..only rich people can buy…same with the rest of the world

• sdkguy on Oct 16, 2010 at 10:31 am

hey paul, can u calculate the estimated prices for other honda hybrid cars particularly a) CR-Z b) Jazz hybrid c) Insight ?? many thanks…

• Jimmy on Oct 16, 2010 at 6:23 pm

US 24K = RM 24 x 4 K. So it should be around RM 100K unless Honda Malaysia is greedy like UMW. I bet the Prius will have no changes in price, like what was correctly written by Mr MoFaz, genius in marketing.

• senzu bean on Oct 16, 2010 at 11:40 am

I think this tax exemption practice is to give a chance to Proton to see the cheapest price other manufacturers can offer so they can get ready the Emas to be cheapest among all the hybrids. Emas will introduced in 2012 so it make sense.

• Does Audi Q5 Hybrid 1984cc TFSI fits into the exemption category?

• _xXx_ on Oct 16, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Paul,

Do you know why the prices the below 2 cars are so much different?
    Their cost price in Singapore is so close.
    I gave up Prius after knowing this.

Honda Civic Hybrid Toyota Prius
    Current Peninsular Price RM129,980.00 RM175,000.00
    Singapore OMV SGD34,049.00 SGD33,505.00

http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/lcp.php?pid=2315
    http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/lcp.php?pid=994

• bro u compare car with diff cc and built year

Civic Hybrid 1.3 i-VTEC (A) 2008 SGD 76,500 = Prius 1.8 (A) 2009 SGD 116,988

http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/lcp.php?pid=994

it should be

Civic Hybrid 1.3 i-VTEC (A) 2009 SGD 107,900 = Prius 1.8 (A) 2009 SGD 116,988

http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/cd.php?pid=2217
      http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/lcp.php?pid=2315

• _xXx_ on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm

OK, my mistake.

107, 900 -> 116,988 = 8.4% up
        129,980 -> 175,000 = 34.6% up

So, Prius anyone?

• thinking of buying Toyota Prius instead Camry.. Thanks GOV. =)

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 16, 2010 at 2:24 pm

don’t understand why hybrid cars are still so expensive. Check the US website for the Prius, even with the top spec it still amounts to just under RM100k. Looks like UMW is having very good profit margins with this model.

• I think the gov is actually saving money by introducing hybrid, since our fuel is subsidized not taxed, so less ppl buy fuel, less money spent on subsidy, which will even out the effect of less tax income from the hybrid exemption.

• No issue for govt to “gula-gula rakyat” for coming election lorr…

• henggh on Oct 16, 2010 at 6:45 pm

everyone is very excited with the cheaper hybrid car.
    but i want to ask how much is the maintainance fees for the car?

the car price cheaper but the maintainance still high, no use

• zimba on Oct 16, 2010 at 7:20 pm

yea~ i cannot imagine an electronic stuff with high 2nd hand value… the technology will get outdated very fast.. If for me.. rm140k+.. i prefer a Camry rather than a rm140k Prius..

• Yamiya on Oct 17, 2010 at 1:53 am

I wonder, how will this tax exemption applies to fully electric car like Tesla? If the government says it’s not qualify because it’s not a hybrid can we ask the manufacturer to install the smallest possible internal combustion engine to it, say scooter type 50cc, just for Malaysia market, so we get tax exemption on sports car :D

• FuelEfficient on Oct 17, 2010 at 8:08 am

101K for a Civic hybrid & 140K for Prius is still way beyond many average Malaysians to afford in numbers to impact the environment, Hope all car manufacturers will start to flood Malaysian car markets with hybrids below 85K.

Again even if there are many hybrids in the streets are of no use to the environment if there are still buses and modified bikes spewing dark.pungent smokes and white smokes respectively all over towns.

• Time to see more hybrid variants coming in from the car makers. Can UMW bring in the Toyota Estima hybrid also.

• Carl Wong on Oct 17, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Thank you very much Paul for the updates, I just love the Honda Civic Hybrid in blue :)……!!!

• BeemerFreak on Oct 17, 2010 at 11:38 pm

Hmm hopefully the savings will be passed on to the consumers and not only as profit to the dealers. Should bring in the Jazz Hybrid and Insight Hybrid as well.

• Vincent on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Jazz Hybrid shall be around RM80K without tax right? and it will be cheaper than the normal Jazz.

If this is true, I wonder G want to issue AP to Honda as it hit P1 new inspira…

Bring in Camry hybrid and IS200 bybrid, I am sure it will sell well….

IS200 will give BMW 320d and Merz CGI a big kit….

• SHADUP LA on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:07 am

this things all is totally crap …… malaysia G never try to put effort in investment on hybrid car ……

• mean we will more hybrid cars OTD next year? ie the gray import of Astima & Elphad. Also the hybrid Camry from Siamland?

• jojoba on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:30 pm

anyone can share driving experience for civic hybrid and prius?? izit really worth to own it?? thanks :)

• aiyoh on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:21 pm

how about the existing owner of civic and prius… trying to save earth ended losing more money overnight…

• adrianyap on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Anyone know how much is the replacement battery for the two hybrid cars?

• lonJon on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Abt 30kRM. Batteries warranty only 1 yr.

• Sam Tan on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:17 am

It good to know, however consider the price offer still above 100k mark? Secondly, what about the electric charging stations? Have the gov consider that?

What the point of having the green car, and basic infra setup is not inplace?

NGV, why only given to Petronas?

Saying 1 Malaysia, prove it!

• Alex Poh on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:00 pm

I believe most hybrid cars don’t need electric charging stations, they recharge themselves during regenerative braking while driving.

As for electric cars, yes of course need charging station…

• my dad is OKU..so how much i will get for a perodua alza after the deduction of the 100% excise duty ha?@.@

• Victor on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Even tax free, it’s still more expensive than ‘normal’ taxed countries like UK, USA, Brunei, Australia/New Zealand…