Lexus RX 270 introduced in Malaysia – 185hp four-cylinder

lexus rx 270 1

Success begets success, it is said, and Lexus Malaysia will certainly be looking at that adage ringing true. Given that achieved by the RX 350 since its arrival here, the company is quietly hoping that a logical extension of the form – in this case a smaller engined, front-wheel drive variant with most of the trimmings kept on – will do equally well.

So it is with that premise that the RX 270 makes its debut here, with the vehicle being launched earlier this evening, as a slightly cheaper alternative to those who love what the Japanese luxury SUV is all about but think the bigger block and all-wheel drive is surplus to needs.

lexus rx 270 2

Lexus Malaysia says that this is the first time that the RX 270 is being officially offered in Asian markets and it’s also the first time that a front-wheel drive variant is officially available in Asia (front-wheel drive variants of the RX350 have been offered in North America with previous generations).

At the heart of the new variant sits a 2.7 litre 1AR-FE four pot, with Dual VVT-i and an Acoustic Control Induction System (ACIS), which alters the length of the intake pipe to improve torque delivery. Power figures for the unit are 185hp at 5,800rpm and a torque output of 252Nm at 4,200rpm (the 2GR-FE 3.5 litre V6 unit in the RX 350 turns out 273hp at 6,300rpm and 346Nm at 4,700rpm in comparison).

lexus rx 270 3

Features of the 1AR-FE include twin balancer shafts, resin gears, a rigid intake manifold and chain cover, multi-resonators in the intake system with a two-stage intake pass, all of which help to reduce noise and vibration. To keep internal friction low, the engine has roller rocker arms, less piston ring tension, lighter parts and a three-stage variable output oil pump. It’s tuned to run on RON 91 rated gas, so there should be nary an issue with RON 95.

If you’re thinking that less means less, well, that’s really not the case here with the RX 270. It comes with the same six-speed Super ECT with A.I. Shift auto tranny as found on the RX 350, as well as the four-wheel independent suspension with a compact trailing-arm double wishbone rear suspension and similar tyre and wheel sizes of the latter – 235/60 series rubbers sitting on 18-inch alloys.

lexus rx 270 5

Indeed, most of what’s to be found on the RX 350 is strapped on here, with the only differences – aside from the drive configuration and engine – being that the RX 270 doesn’t get the RX 350’s tilt/slide moonroof, the woodgrain mix in the interior panelling (it’s all leather here) and the adaptive front lighting system for the bi-xenon headlamps. Otherwise, it’s all par for the course – 10 airbags, Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management (VDIM) system and smart entry and start system, among others.

New to the car is an optional navigation system package, with an eight-inch LCD Electro Multi Vision (EMV) display. The package isn’t just about the nav and the screen – it also includes a remote touch controller, reverse camera, Bluetooth connectivity and a 12-speaker premium audio system. Lexus Malaysia is introducing the package to the rest of its model line-up (GS 300, LS 460 L and RX 350) in conjunction with its introduction here on the RX 270.

lexus rx 270 4

The RX 270 is available in six colour choices and two interior colour themes, both with Abyss Black painted panel finishing. It’s priced at RM340,000 on-the-road, without insurance, which makes it RM37,000 less than the RX 350. The optional navigation package goes for RM17,000.

Gallery of launch photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1642]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• m4xspeed on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

I definitely buy this luxury SUV… nice exterior and interior. SUV are more reliable in m’sian road condition.. You know what i mean right?? :)

• Cucukman on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:59 am

“Sticky Accelerator Pedal” again???

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Bro…Are you follwing the previous issue…?Hehe..

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Bro..No sticky Accelerator Anymore..II only want this Car with the black hair girl…Hahaha…

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:45 pm

just wondering, has this car got any master brake cylinder problems? LOL!

• Ha Gnih on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:49 pm

I saw a maroon colour of this driving around Kuching city for a few weeks already. Looks like some people have their ways in bringing in cars ahead of release/launching date. :)

• Leahlena85 on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:12 am

ya, last month i also saw 1 maroon colour at Kuching’s Ipoh town, n beside the new RX270 is Porsche Hybrid…wonder where tey import rx? recond? sounds lk imposible..

• TingDK on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:27 am

Actually its kinda purple rather than maroon. I’ve sat in this car, the interior is not as luxurious as the 7-series (think of estima + 3-series) but this car is much more comfortable to ride in than the Land Cruiser. However I haven’t test driven this car.

It belongs to my boss, a chinese contractor. Its new from Lexus, not recond, he managed to get through some back deal, buying it just to avoid the company from paying taxes. He’s among the few who owned this car in the east Malaysia. For the rest complaining about the price, I bet 98% of you can’t even afford it anyway (No hard feelings k).

• Alpha on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:57 pm

hey!!this is jz wat i was waiting for!!and look at the specs!!!

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Bro..I think need to discuss with my wife..To change her Harrier to this marvellousssss vehicle..Haha..Hopefully APPROVED…!

• drMpower on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:16 pm

i thought just few days back there was a recalling exercise by lexus/toyota regarding their RXs/ harriers, and even crowns were mentioned as well.

this is brave move to be honest, and i reckon the attentions are going to be massive on this smaller engine RX.

• Carlos on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:17 pm

UMW Toyota guise under Lexus name still a UMW attitude when it come to pricing. UMW’s merely punishing RX270 buyers with “paltry” RM37,000 cheaper than 3.5 sibling which is a daylight robbery since the cheaper come without moon roof, fewer cc-torque and power and no AWD but with not significant price tag. When Lexus RX350 was introduced our RM value lower than today and the lower than 3 liter engine capacity has different road tax and other tax. Without AWD too supposed to put the price cheaper than RM300,000 but Lexus Malaysia will exercise price test to test our market.

Give a cold response and Lexus will drop this (stupid and arrogant) pricing.

• Carlos on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:40 pm

FYI, in Japan the cheapest RX270 retailed at Y4.27m as opposed to RX350 Y4.95m-Y5.40m.

Comparing between RX350-270 price merely 10.88% lower. The fair difference should be between minimum 15.93% to 26.46% if we based on Japanese price. Remember that Malaysian Lexus is strip down version without NAVI since the Malaysian buyers more compromised than other markets.

Based on that calculation the latest cheaper version should be price at maximum RM316,944 or RM277,246. Perhaps, Lexus want to make it premium perception pricing at above RM300,000 mark?

Malaysia has cc-based tax so the Lexus really pricey since they without many things if we used RX350 as our benchmark.

Stop buying will alert them or Lexus Malaysia merely give NAZA and other AP holders some room to breath?

Only in Malaysia people were crazy and silly about cars, no thank to protectionism that made Thai as largest auto exporter when Malaysia one of ASEAN biggest importer.

Imagine if we never indulged in auto industry?

• ”Remember that Malaysian Lexus is strip down version without NAVI since the Malaysian buyers more compromised than other markets.”

I would agree with you on this months ago but Lexus Malaysia has now brought the Remote Touch and EMV system to Malaysia, though they’re listed as optional accessories.

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:31 am

umw is enjoying really good sales even though Lexus presence was more apparent to grey market since like 10-15 yrs ago. they will not bother. with all models being CBU, they managed to present the latest models possible from Japan and that is a good thing to prospect buyers.

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:50 am

well, carlos…
        thailand banned car imports in 1980 due to trade deficit. only after that, they put requirement that all cars must be assembled (CKD) in thailand.
        maybe malaysia should ban import cars too like what korea did for almost 30 years.

• JonLing on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:06 am

I think even if the pricing seems to be a bit over, many people will still put down their orders with Lexus Malaysia. Lexus can always command a higher-than-normal price, because of the brand and their services. By lowering the price may 1) affect their profits. 2) hurting the ones who had bought RX350 in the first place (this is the only RX variant offered Malaysia until yesterday), and that could be really hurtful to the brand, especially when you are talking some premium brands like Lexus, which brings us to 3) They need to sell RX350 as well. Lowering the price by a huge margin will eventually eat into the sales of RX350. 4) affect the future planning of Lexus Malaysia. Who knows they might have planned to bring in some models that can “slot” into the gap between IS250 and RX270??

And since Malaysian road tax is cc-based, it doesn’t take Lexus Malaysia much efforts to market the car to fellow rich Malaysians, as for those who want to have an SUV but still want to save, RX270 will be a really logical choice for them. and paying RM40k or more (compared with the price RX270 should go for) for potential customers is nothing. Come on, if you really care so much about the price, you wouldn’t have spent so much money on a car, or even consider RX already. There are few alternatives that “make more sense” in terms of money-to-metal or money-to-specifications ratio, and their prices are much lower.

• Vincent on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:13 am

ahyor, RM37K diff for 3.5 vs 2.7, with performance of 185hp & 252Nm Vs 273hp & 346Nm ???

No so smart choice!

• keluangman on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:24 pm

“The optional navigation package goes for RM17,000.”

*&$#@#@&*^%$#@@,,,,,

• Agree with you there keluangman… 17k for a navi package is hard to swallow.

• same old boring design…dunno y ppl like it ^^

• Carlos on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:51 pm

In Thailand the cheaper sibling has 52.77% cheaper than RX350. We can’t expect that since our RX350 not that expensive RM377,000 unlike Thai B5.7900,000 (better specced RX350) or RX270 (B3.79m).

In Thailand higher than 2l cars were priced higher than smaller cc. So, in short they pay cheaper for A-B-C segment or even locally assembled D segment li their ke Camry, Accord, CRV etc. That’s why no wonder Prius is RM100,000 in Thailand while Altis is default choice as cab.

• tarakwang on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Still too expensive,better choice is CKD XC60.

• jlooi on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Most of people buying this type of car seldom use for off road. This 2WD version will suite many buyer taste and attract more buyer. But in my opinion, with the current tax structure, Toyota should bring in d hybrid version. Anyway, keep on bring in more variant for our hungry market.

• Jimmy on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:27 pm

They slap their own cheeks to pretend to be fat. I feel shameful myself if I drive this RX270 instead of RX350.

• Leahlena85 on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:21 am

ya, i rather buy Murano….cheaper

• The Loner on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Skinny version of RX?

• mini cooper freak on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:27 pm

it is still a little expensive though. And the GPS? RM17k? U kidding me? I rather go for an aftermarket…

• Darth wader on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:01 pm

340k for that kind of interior? i would stick with germans

• Oh yea, finally, the Remote Touch and EMV system!!..have been looking forward to it for so so long..

• Keeekeee on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Went there and the sales guy so stupid and service Sux!!! Will buy from NAZA!

• beatnik on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:20 pm

navigation pack for RM17k? my oh my what a total rip-off..

• yeah rite on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Why indeed? Allow the car to navigate itself perhaps?

• Ordinary Joe on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:18 am

Yeah… agree, i think its outrageously price! Just forget it, but if u need navigation, ur better off buying a top of the range garmin or tomtom or something which u can get at a fraction of the price!

• transformer on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:23 pm

it should comes with least a V6 or a straight-6 for >2500L, just couldnt imagine a 2.7L Lexus luxury car is a four-potter…….. LOL!

• Lim Kopi on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm

looking at some of the comments, with this kind of car and spec @ this pricetag,

Audi Q5 still reigns then ….

• Leahlena85 on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:26 am

better go for X3 or Q5…RX dashboard sux! lk driving a pickup

• Lim Kopi on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:53 pm

oh and no more Mark Levinson audio system ?

at least they hired some real nice chicks …. :)

• nabill on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:16 pm

those who can afford it ,dont think will buy the rx270 , price should have been ALOT lower than it is , i wont be surprised if the rx270 actually has a higher margin of profit for lexus than rx350

as i said , for those who afford it ,that 40k difference is not much , unless companies and goverment offices buy them

• Jimmy on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Silly, for those who want to buy the RX270. Just a mere RM35000 difference ONLY, why not just get the complete version with moonroof and AWD. OR BETTER STILL, add a bit more to get a BMW X series, more prestigeous. Do NOT pretend to be fat if you are thin.

• Oh my dream machine……

• handsome*dude on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:24 pm

given the 330k price range, I would choose the Audi Q5 anytime !

better specs, better look, better badge !!!!!!!

no wonder the Q5 price tag keep revised up~~ from 299k first launch till now 330k++

• keeekeee on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:34 am

agree with you but Q5 interior is so small. at the back isnt comfortable compare with RX350/270 …. Q7 is so expenisve :( i wish Q5 abit bigger then perfect :)

• kurikuri on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Lexus RX always in my heart…

• “The optional navigation package goes for RM17,000”

OMG!

• Kevin on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Gosh, with that kind of price, you could fit navigation system to 30 cars!!!

• but this one in lexus is a gold plated navigation system…so more expensive lo!

• will b recalled anytime soon!!!

• sdkguy on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:36 am

i knew its coming, the RX270, but really disappointed with the pricing…damn!! With savings of merely 10% to the big bro?? people with tht kind of $ wont mind tht extra 10%!! better dont launch.. useless move…

• Gila!!!! on Oct 27, 2010 at 5:30 pm

I agree with that over-pricing thing. It is silly to buy an underspec-ed car for >300K
      I don’t think they will reduce the price, because:
      1) UMW always sell their product range at a higher price, if competitive price, they will remove some of the accessory/ies.(profit margin must be maintained le)
      2) is a Lexus, not a Harrier.
      3) rich fellas will no doubt afford $3-400K, but they will also try to get the cheapest Lexus RX available with the lowest road tax/ engine displacement
      4) because UMW boleh

Heard some of you complaining about the 4-cylinder engine. What the hell, the new Merc C-class has a 1.8 4-cylinder engine. THe 1AR-FE engine has twin balancer shafts, it will rev as smoothly as a smaller cc 4-cylinder engine.

Someone said expensive maintenance. Yeah, the parts are expensive, but check with any Lexus owner, and they can swear to you that it is as maintenance free (besides regular oil change/ tyre change) as any other cheaper Japanese car/mpv.

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:26 am

dont forget the 3 yrs/100,000km warranty against grey-import lexus/harrier. peace of mind.

• typical lexus/toyota *cough* ugly *cough* interior.

• Love the RX. I am not fancy about German marque. Nice to see but not reliable and very expensive maintenance.

• Kevin Lee on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:39 am

hahaha, lets see lexus eat their own failure!

volvo xc60 2.0 variant would be launched at 290k

audi q5 at 300k

upcoming bmw x3 is gonna be around 300k+?

i think most people would end up a bimmer audi and at worst volvo! lol

lexus for dummies!

• keeekeee on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:39 am

u sure xc60 2.0 confirm is RM290? i called and they said not yet confirm the price but shd be around rm300k.

Q5 is rm330k without all optional accessories. :(
      X3 shd be RM3XXk … below RM400k
      I like Q5 but compare with RX , interior is too small.
      Volvo XC60 is really nice but abit small also.
      RX is more like XC90 and Q7 but Q7 is way too expensive. ( interior space)
      X3 havent gone to find out yet. Tried the X1 but interior is quite small ( RM2xxK)

Lexus not that bad just way too expensive in Msia

• volvo website says CKD XC60 2.0T with 203hp and 300Nm is selling at RM281K!

• Mohd HafizJoe Dorifuto on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:45 am

PAUL : It is the same engine with TOYOTA FORTUNER or HIACE…? Fortuner and Hiace in MalaySiam use the 2.7cc engine…

• Protong Owner on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:54 am

Friend just bought 1 unit RX350 in Sydney at A$90K….pity us.,

• leahlena85 on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:53 am

of coz la, every aus car price is cheap 1, even ferrari n aston martin oso cheap…second hand aston martin only cos au20k…

• zanggief on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:56 am

2wd still above 300k, seriously should consider the ckd xc60…

hydrid tax is reduce and should bring hydrid model in as well…

• auto3 on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:02 am

Navigation system RM 17K???OMG….they think they are BMW or Merz??&*%(&#$&#

• garfield on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:31 am

There will be ppl stupid enuff to buy this and I bet none of them reads Paultan.org

Some ppl are just blinded by all things Toyota. And Toyota is clever enuff to take advantage.

• ronn99 on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:44 am

RM340K is definitely overpriced!! i rather go for XC60 or Q5.

• RM17k navigation system? What kind of pricing is that? For RM17k, that navigation system better take me to the moon!

• mirror mirror on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:40 am

The first gen Lexus Harrier left a very strong impression on me because Toyota sort of invented this segment of car. But subsequent versions no longer excite me that much.

• keeekeee on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:48 am

LEXUS RX350 (RM395k full spec) vs
    Mazda CX-7 (RM268k) vs
    Nissan Murano (RM330k) vs
    Volvo XC60 2.0 ( not yet confirm shd be RM300k) vs
    BMW X3 (Latest) ….

which one better?

• cx7 better choice, value for money, 2.3cc turbo!!!

• Jimmy on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:57 pm

CX-9 (nine) is better, similar price.
      MERC esp, and BMW are much more prestigeous in the minds of VAST majority people. Primary school children also know (like me when I was one) this fact. Lexus is ?? where? Big tauke if drives a Lexus will be looked down by me, not enough money I guess.
      Most luxurious brand: choose RR.
      Luxurious brand: choose MERC, or at least BMW. Even Audi is perceived as more prestigeous than Lexus by most people.
      Ordinary cars: choose VW (if you are not in Malaysia), choose Toyota if you are like me.

• Freeman on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:58 am

5 years ago, my friend bought a brand new Harrier 2.4L LX mode 2.4 equipped with whatever accessories imaginable like powered booth and hardly-use glass roof for RM250K, I thought it was a really silly buy for a rather under power, merely adequate handling, SUV-like jerk up Camry.

Now we have this sharper looking (I still do not like the look anyway), 300cc 20+ BHP extra (but still under power and merely adequate handling, IMHO), with lesser toy equipped replacement model with true Lexus experience for an unbelievable RM90K extra? MGH! That’s really crazy man!

• PaulS on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:38 pm

340k for a stripped down RX 270?What a ripped off!!!!and to think there r ppl who buys it,Q5 reigns supreme,extremely sad malaysians are bled to death in order to enjoy good tcar technology!

• Maserati on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Lol alot of losers here. Jealous of lexus sucess here? Hv you guys ever sat in a lexus before? If you havent then you will never understand why you pay so much for a lexus.

You all clever compare specs on paper only but too lazy to get ur lazy butt off the chair to test drive. After you test drive come bck here n gimme your comments.

• Jimmy on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Sorry, I can afford more than this less prestigeous Lexus. I said already, for ordinary cars, please choose Toyota if we are in M’sia, but VW will be a better choice elsewhere where cars are not so expensive. Lexus is less prestigeous than Merc, ok. This is a fact. Children also know.

• redwings on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:45 pm

You get a better deal with Mazda CX-9. Even the competitor CX-7 has a price tag cheaper than RM70k…

• azrai on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Look like a Lancer Sportsback.

• Kopi Lim on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Talk whatever you like, the fact is; in Malaysia road, the number of RX is more than Q5 and XC60 combine (put in the Q7 if you want or put in A4 and plus the A6), the final number still more RX on the road.

• Jimmy on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm

But this does not change people’s perception that MERCEDES BENZ is more prestigeous than Lexus. You did not mention X series. I saw a lot of them, perhaps more than this RX.
      BTW I am not a Merc salesman nor Toyota salesman, ya.

• Carlos on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:45 am

Kopi,

You must be confused with pseudo-outgoing RX300/330 which is Harrier 2.4 FWD recond badged as Lexus wannabe=MyV=Passo-Boon=Wira=Lancer.

Current RX easily outnumber by X6 in Terengganu. But don’t get me wrong, Lexus or Toyota is revered brand BUT not Asianized Toyota that never up to Toyota standard even though they maybe offered in Europe- Vios, latest Hilux, Kijangs, A van aje etc.

Our issue here is how we’re “cheated” by the blindly impressed with badge alone to justify the ridiculous hefty price-tag.

If consumerism is on northern side, we must give the likes of Lexus or Toyota or Honda some lesson they inevitably remember each occasion they do pricing exercise: respect their prospect customer by give appropriate price or have to face negative consequence of bad sale.

Don’t follow manchester city stupid Arab riches, give astronomical price/wage. Stop buying will make them think thrice before put arrogant profit maximization pricing.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:33 pm

This is a really damned overpriced Toyota, no point buying one. An Isuzu D-Max is way practical than this.

• Jimmy on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Cannot compare this way one. We are talking about luxurious vehicles now. Sorry.
      So we only compare M E R C E D E S B E N Z > BMW > Audi > Lexus > Volvo.

• Mazda CX7 for me… Harriers are prone to gearbox failures.

• acura mdx on Oct 27, 2010 at 5:39 pm

bring suv acura mdx to our market…..sure can beat lexus rx….

• The girls are nice and yummy.

• GoWaja on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:41 pm

REVERSE engineering by LEXUS

Worst looking SUV by them . Front looks crappy, interior boring and rear typical cheap japanese plastic lights

• I will take mazda CX7 or CX9 over this moron anytime!!!

• From now on, the gps that you got from persona SE, or Exora H-Line, you can sell it to the new lexus buyer for cheaper price…. -________________________-

• still an ugly and overpriced crap….please facelift it / phase it out for goodness sake!!!!

• Spoke to one of Toyata salesmen, he said Prius can achieve 32KM/liter, can somebody who own a Toyota Prius to confirm the statistic

• BeemerFreak on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Forget this car, get a Volvo XC60 at RM281k. Way better specced and that car has a dual clutch gearbox.

• Fuyiopo on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:00 am

Comparing Lexus with Mazda is such a nonsense.

• Rear CX7,front Altis

• PaulS on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Each model and make have their die hard fans and antagonists,when one sits in a luxury car,it is supposed to give a pleasurable feeling and this is enhanced when it is your favourite car manufacturer,the logic is that whether it is value for money for what u are paying for,egE200K is just a 1.8L engine but it fetches 360k+,worth it?Many think so,RX270 no doubt is a good car but 340k for a car low spec version,one can test drive the car till the cows come home,it is still a rip off by the distributor here,sure it one likes it very much and to hell with logic,it is not wrong,jus a passion and ultimately a very personal choice,but this a forum for car fans to share their thoughts and voice their opinions,none of us or rather most of us are not board of directors of any car companies so am sure no feeling of jealousy involved in regards to any manufacturer success,likewise i am impressed with Q5(test drove it twice)but the distributor here expects one to pay 330k for this car and wait 1 year for it,at least Q5comes with Quattro and decent specs for the asking price.