New VW Touareg spotted, confirmed to be coming soon!

This second-generation Volkswagen Touareg was spotted at a petrol station along Jalan Gasing in PJ. As the number plate has the square block letters/numbers typical of Volkswagen Group Malaysia cars and the holder has the “Volkswagen Das Auto” mark on it, this car has to be from the official source. A call to VGM confirmed that it is indeed their car and that Touareg sales will start next year.

There’s plenty of good news. The new Touareg will be priced the same as the outgoing model at RM437,283 OTR without insurance, but the equipment list will be much more comprehensive. We will get Volkswagen’s Area View system, which provides a 360 degree top view of the car’s surroundings, courtesy of cameras in the front, rear and at each wing mirror. The feed is then “stiched” together to aid parking and driving in tight situations. There will also be navigation and an electric tailgate, among other kit.

We will get a single variant, which is the 3.6-litre FSI V6, although VGM has plans to bring in the Touareg Hybrid at a later date. This 280 PS/360 Nm engine will be paired to an 8-speed torque converter automatic ‘box with paddle shifters. Kerb weight is 2103 kg, and spec for spec, this new model is 200 kg lighter than the old car, despite not using the latter’s plastic fenders and aluminium bonnet. 0-100 km/h is done in 7.8 seconds on to a 228 km/h top speed so this is a fast SUV.

We’ve managed to secure a test unit, so watch out for the test drive report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 1st… Hehe…

• pumpkin76 on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:35 am

no brainer *1st* comment…. sigh…

• pumpkin76 on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:45 am

a little out of topic here… regarding the “square block letters/numbers typical of Volkswagen Group Malaysia cars”….

A quick check with the JPJ website i found out that the so-called- JPJ-approved number plate font type is Ariel…. which is the more common type used by most new reg’ed cars. does that mean the VGM square type is not the approved type?

Personally I like the VGM type of font/plate, looks more macho…. is it a one piece mould pressed type like the one used by Proton last time? or is it the letters stick on plate type? I check with a car accessory shop and was quoted RM150 for a pair (front and back) for this square type which i think is rediculous….

wonder how much VGM charging for the plates?

• protoninsider on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:39 pm

why laa…..

• not much difference~

• rosdi on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:56 pm

440K is not good news!… 140K baru la good news!!

• BMWForever on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:04 pm

looks like porsche cayenne

• I’ve drove the old Toureg 2009. It felt underpower. This one looks more promising with the reduced weight except the price the mood killer….

• alldisc on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:43 pm

underpowered? should try the V10 turbodiesel. though available as grey import.

what i heard VGM will introduce 6-7 models next year. i dont know which is which. being a CBU make, it is not a big issue to them.

• MBX999 on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:36 pm

2009 also old!!!.Then you need to replace 2010 car.

• yusof on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:41 pm

squared letter plates looks cool. LIke Singapore’s

• USDfan on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:42 am

yup…look like singapore standard plate number..actually it illegal here…common for jb people maa…

• Darren on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Saw this car in Bangsar on Monday and it does look much better in real life. Pretty huge in size

• torque on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:46 pm

The new Touareg is much better looking inside out than the old one!

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Better get X5 with true off-road capability, with this kind of price bracket. True?

• rulered on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:46 pm

I beg to differ, Toureg has Dakar Rally DNA unlike X5.

• bryan jones on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:06 pm

X5 true off-road?? since when?

• quadlights on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:25 pm

U sure X5 comes with true 4wd capability? other than the hill descent control which they get from land rover, im not so sure. Watch top gear tests u will know more

• The X5 has limited offroad capabilty, as it doen’t have differential lock.

If you need a offroad car, go for a car with ladder frame like Landrover, Landcruiser, Hilux 4×4 or Mercedes W460.

And if you really need a offroad vehicle with “true” offroad cababilities, go for the Unimog:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PU2GVjwLTuI

• Citroen fans on Nov 05, 2010 at 1:47 am

for your info X5 is not a true off-road suv, it is only design for soft offroad

• Paul, what do you think the hybrid will cost, now with the new tax structure?

• Sad Ford User on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Those who can afford RM437,283 surely have lots of money. The won’t be stupid to fork out that amount as adding a bit more to RM550,000, they can get a Cayenne with 4 years warranty and 4 years free service.

Paul, you need to word your article properly. You say there is plenty of good news. Then you quote the price.

What good news is that?

• Paul Tan on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:19 am

I’m not sure what your confusion is since Danny said the good news is despite the same price as the outgoing car, the equipment list is claimed to be much higher. The price is not the good news?

I’m still on transit back from Atlanta from the BMW X3 test drive… plane flights to/from USA is such a drag.

• Maserati on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:05 pm

Still prefer the old one. This one looks soft

• WooGoo on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:29 pm

How many of us in M’sia can actually own cars like this???

Even if this is a great car, most of us won’t even get a chance to sit in one, let alone own it………..

• mitlanevo on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:25 pm

good alternative to rx, cayenne and x5

• localcar on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:11 pm

something not right with this suv? look cost down version of the previous model.

• Azlan on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Saw this car travelling a number of times on MEX highway, I thought VW brought the car in already, but the color really go with the body design, nice though.

Speaking of SUV, when will Audi replace the ageing Audi Q7? Looks dated.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:55 pm

With fully waived excise and import duty on hybrid cars..So how much the hybrid version will be? 300k?

• new tax structure only apply to hybrid with <2.0L engine
      touareg not qualify

• Grandisan on Nov 05, 2010 at 12:40 am

RM 437,000 gulp gulp passssssssssss !

• Lim Kopi on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:50 am

Agree with some of u …. at this price tag, people who can afford won’t mind forking out abit more for a more premium badge ie. Cayenne , or Q7 even X5 ….

Unless theres something that differentiates one Gas Guzzler to another, wonder why theres no downsized engine here like the rest of VWs

• Paul Tan on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:24 am

On your comment about downsized engines, the Touareg does have a downsized engine – it’s the 3.0 liter supercharged V6.

• Lim Kopi on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Right then , so I guess we are not getting that one instead due to our fuel quality ?

• Pitiful Bull on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:48 am

Hahaha you people make me laugh….every car that comes out…too expensive lah, not enough equipment lar.

My question to you is; who the hell forcing you to buy?

If you can’t afford it, don’t be bitter…

• Lim Kopi on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:51 pm

disagree, this is a forum where people are supposed to OPENLY DISCUSS things, not to be confused with being bitter.

• Jimmy on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Nobody is forcing anyone to buy any car.
      Same also, nobody is forcing anyone to digest his/her comment(s).
      We are all mature adults, aren’t we?
      There is no ‘bitter’ issue for me as I can afford many luxury cars, but I will still comment on overpriced cars (there is some difference between being expensive vs being overpriced, am I right?).
      Camry, not expensive, but overpriced(for the equipment offered). Do you agree?

• Pooky on Nov 05, 2010 at 2:38 pm

Dollar to dollar comparison, it is definitely out of the reach of borjouise.

• nolan on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:06 pm

RM437,283 OTR without insurance…….?
    with insurance come up to RM450k………….huh…….i’ve to ‘Tabik’ whoever bought this car….

• dragon on Nov 05, 2010 at 9:38 pm

I drive an 05 model V10 tdi, just got it recently, I absolutely love it. Just took it on a 1500km road trip to the east coast 3 weeks ago. the power is awesome and yet economical as it’s diesel. A full tank of RM150 of fuel took me 800km. Will someday blog abt the trip. New one looks pretty good, haven’t read much abt it though. Paul, is there a V10 or V12 TDI?

• For the same money, i get a more garang and roomier Veil Fire.

• It’s a great strategy by VWM. Put it this way… an X5 will cost u 560grand. If u buy touareg, u have a spare for another 120grand. good for inspira oooopsss, should be polo. so x5 or touraeg + polo (its a good car anyway for your sis study college).