200 hp turbocharged 1.6L Honda CR-Z Type R on the way?

The Honda CR-Z, which is presently hybrid only, will get a new turbocharged four-cylinder engine, which could spawn a Type R variant, UK’s Autocar reports. Citing sources in Japan, the report says that the 1.6-litre turbo is currently undergoing development at Honda’s Tochigi R&D facility.

To also find its way into the Jazz, Civic and Accord, this i-VTEC turbo unit is part of Honda’s downsizing program, and will push out 2.0L performance from just 1.6 litres. There will be two versions – a 160 hp unit and a 200 hp version that’s set to carry the legacy of the Civic Type R’s K20A. The latter will motivate the “CR-Z Type R” that could debut late next year.

The idea isn’t new. The image above is of Honda’s CR-Z Hybrid R concept from this year’s SEMA show. It had a turbo alongside the 1.5-litre hybrid powerplant for 200 hp and 238 Nm of torque, plus red hot body styling.

After repeatedly being bombarded with sad news on Type R deaths recently, enthusiasts who feared the extinction of sporty Hondas finally have something to cheer about. Gallery of the Hybrid R concept is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1668]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ah keong on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:57 pm

1st!!
    who will win if r3 neo turbo vs with this??

• sagatron on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:00 pm

i think “disgusting aseelah” will win between neo r3 and this cr-z..haha..

• vertigo on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:28 pm

tomorrow i go try ok XD

• toyoottt on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:33 pm

l pick neo!

• Mofaz on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:38 pm

R3 is shit, honda fan shall prevail.

• defender_of_malaysia_industry on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:36 pm

how do you know r3 is shit? are you shit also?

• how many can afford this car CRZ la, most can afford a darn H city only.

fren, unless r3 turbo is out, otherwise, stop dreaming. its like asking question below.

R3 Neo Twin turbo 4 liter v8 Vs Nissan GTR who will win? i think juara kampung lo.

• ur r3 will torque steer like hell… not to mention inability to steer well due to massive understeer…. i dun think neo can be fitted with an awd system

• armandd on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:34 pm

R3 Neo turbo has same HP, but more torque at 250Nm. Also, it’s multi-link Lotus tuned rear suspension is more sophisticated than the CR-Z’s cost-saving torsion bar setup. I’ll put my bet on Neo R3 turbo.

• Wisdom on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:05 pm

All these additional power will finally consume more fuel….

• hazwa on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:06 pm

woww.. like campro engine 200hp.. :D… just kiding…

• beatnik on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm

Thank you, Honda. Please make this possible. With emission control being more strict, turbocharged engine is the way to go. With some tuning I am sure they can immitate the good ‘ol VTEC ‘kick-in’ feel, but maybe without the roar. And please make more cars with manual tranmission that will blow away those sissy autobox-laden wannabe cars.

• saki77 on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Everybody go for 1.6 turbo now…nice….

• thepil0t on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:29 pm

HONDA MALAYSIA.. pls bring in CRZ if u see dis..

• Honda Racing on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Unfortunately, according to my friend who’s working as a salesperson in Honda said that Honda Msia WON’t be bringing this in =(

• Hopefully the Turbo version is available if Honda Malaysia would bring in. The Hybrid is no where sporty, no where fast, no where handles well, and most of all it is no where fuel efficient

• Whynot on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Now this is what we are talking about – real power! Let’s hope Honda do it in the hybrid version too!

• Kappa on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:34 pm

nice!

• JonLing on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:35 pm

If this is true, then FINALLY…..we hear some good news from Honda, rather than this model stop production lah, that model stop production lah……..

• Mofaz on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:43 pm

hybrid in malaysia now enjoy privilege tax exception ,but type-R CR-Z really boost the price hell high probably near VW sirocco 2.0 price range. I rather S……..

• CamPor on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:39 pm

wow…awesome, marvelous, gempak tak hingat, paling jimat…

• civicEK on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm

OMG!!! :D

• Hattrick on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Breath taking! Two thumbs up!!!

• Lassana Diarra on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Nice car, is this a sign of good things to come? I’m still wondering if they will ever market the CR-Z in Malaysia next year? Fingers crossed.

• The Loner on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Well, it reminds me of CR-X body in the 80’s with new Type R engine in 21st century.

Kind of interesting for Honda’s i-VTEC turbo engine, the rev limiter for the turbo engine and maximum torque produced. As I know normal turbo-charged engine has lower rev limit (around 7000rpm, excluding RX-7 that can reach 9000rpm through rotary engine) than NA engine (can reach near 10000rpm).

• Anti P1/BN on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:56 pm

This car seem funny in all aspect, shape, color and even performance.And the last one, WTF of GT wing!!

• haha..me the 1st?

• Wisdom on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:27 am

Come on guys… why rate jas so low. Its a good joke dont you see?

• 1.6l type-r turbo? one who own cvic k20a must be feeling proud as they get bigger vtec..n if plus turbo??hahaa~ wonder p1 gonna push r3 to the limit…luv the satria neo r3 concept :D

• Santa Cruz on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Whoahh!! Great news! after a long period with 2.0 to 3.0 turbocharged cars dominated the scene, with high priced and bulky car..herecome 1.6 turbo car again. Really miss high performance engine with small displacement.. 4G61T, 4G92 Mivec NA, 4AGE, 4AGZE, B16A,B and B18A,B,C….hope the season will come again..

• Santa Frey on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Whoahh!! Great news! after a long period with 2.0 to 3.0 turbocharged cars dominated the scene, with high priced and bulky car..herecome 1.6 turbo car again. Really miss high performance engine with small displacement.. 4G61T, 4G92 Mivec NA, 4AGE, 4AGZE, B16A,B and B18A,B,C….hope the season will come again..

• handsome*dude on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:53 am

dude, small CC turbo is already very famous in VW, France car…and also many on the road in malaysia d~~
      ur eyes only got Honda??? and yet Honda is still developing it… while we already tuning our 1.6 turbo now…………

• grizzyejoy on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

red steering wheel? umm..

• dondon on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:21 pm

itu GT wing tempat sidai towel…one of the ugliest car ever…

• trav_da_man on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Honda has not forgotten their racing roots afterall! Its alittle late for them to go turbocharging ever since the Europeans are conquering it but, still its better late than never!

Type R turbo everyone?

• shawk on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:34 pm

it’s a Honda

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:35 pm

1.6 turbo hybrid or non hybrid?

• mitlanevo on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:08 pm

the POWER of Type-R !!!

• ARgh,,,,~~
    Honda Malaysia…just bring this beast to Malaysia…i would like to buy it dear bosses of Honda Malaysia…any price i’ll accept it…
    this is what we call hybrid can go brute power on wheel..ahahaha

• budleee on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:26 pm

good turbo hybrids..

better, turbo hondas

better, turbo honda hybrids

crazy!. turbo honda hybrids in malaysia with tax break !!!

• rossi46 on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:29 pm

he3x…finally woke up and follows the european….

• rossi46 on Dec 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm

He3x….finally Honda woke up that despite their fantastic build quality, they have gutless engine. At last Honda engineers figure people don’t give a toss about F1 inspired, rev happy engines. For everyday use people want torque, at low revs. Turbo petrol or diesel, now they finally follow the european and starts to get with the program ……not too late eh..Honda

• Annoy-nimous on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Good news, Proton can now benchmark their 1.6 l sport hatcbacks with this car.

• toyoottt on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:35 pm

yeahh,, can fight with Pug RCZ ler,, both 200bhp from 1.6..

• brianjgtc on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Type R is back….the next type will no screamer anymore, and a turbocharged version is a good bet with VW Scirocco R…Proton 1.6 turbo will lose because Honda Type R is Race-Car based road going version…Look at Honda NSX R, a legend still can beat with Ferrari and Lambo with shy 280bhp….true….

• seancorr on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Very good move from Honda. Turbo Accords, Jazz & Civics for the masses is the way to go like the C class Merc and A4 Audi and soon to follow BMW F30 turbo 3 series. Save on road tax! Now if they could put turbo into the City & Freed…

• zaff1984 on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:55 pm

are there any other Honda model before this using turbo..? as far as im concern, honda dont use turbo before this.

• Honda Civic on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:58 pm

1.6 F1 and now this? Is this becoming a Trend?

• abeng hater on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Obviously loved by Ah Bengs!

• Ash Menon on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:09 pm

This is what happens when Batman lets Robin customize the Batmobile.

• Kamarul on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:19 pm

it’s like a Honda

• Kamarul on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:19 pm

its like a honda

• droll on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm

aiyoh, honda is so late to the turbo charging game. they have a long way to go to catch up with all the latest european tech.

btw, won’t rear visibility be compromised by that wing??

• dragster on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:39 pm

are they going to put turbo in hybrid??o the the tradisional otto cycle engine…

• Notoriez on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:12 pm

With all the gadgets shown in the pics, i bet the price is way more than most of us can afford.

Rather buy an Evo or Golf GTi if more than RM200k

• Now Honda is downsizing~ no wonder Proton keep on using 1.6 CPS and Campro, even turbocharge it, where did I heard people complaining 1.6 Turbo is not ggod coz use more fuel, etc, blaa, blaa blaaa.

anyway, way to go~ Can’t wait to see one in Malaysia, Hope get to test drive it Paul, I’m sure you will, and i will follow behind you~ ( Hope they let me test OTR instead a Track T-T )

• Sweet car…

• BadBET on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:12 pm

red steering? GT wing? personal opinion, its ugly. But honda fan will say this is a divine gift from heaven. haha

• Die Lerr on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:32 am

this cr-z looks like cr-x lah,, is it replacement model for cr-x?

• Carl Wong on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:49 am

The real hybrid sports car.

• nabill on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:06 am

now turbo being used on mainstream city cars…honda dont need to make this CRZ look like this…its not the 90s anymore where turbos used exclusivly on hardcore sport cars….i think the japanese generally lag behind when it comes to downsizing and using turbos…the europeans were much earlier introducing them

• handsome*dude on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:05 am

but when Honda Malaysia bring in the 1.6 turbo model…..

1. they will give u a 4 or 5 speeder….

2. max 2 air bags (imagine while ur model is having 200bhp) yes… Honda Malaysia will said 2 air bags are always enuf~~

3. again… sure got the base model comes with drum brake! (Gosh! what on earth, still give ppl a drum brake? ya… its always the case….)

4. and again, when u really compare head to head with VW, let the honda model add up whatever you can found on a VW GOLF or POLO for example (light feature, air bags, safety system, gadgets.)…. and you will find the price is not much different when u buy a “VERY FULL SPECS” Honda (or Toyota too) as compare to buying a BASED model of VolksWagen…..and sure Overprices then the now frequently seen France’s car Peugeot~~

• handsome*dude on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:06 am

its just a honda..

• CRX revival, JAP-feel !! Banzai !

• Wisdom on Dec 14, 2010 at 9:11 am

Honda was known to ‘turbo-free’ environment. Yes they have turboed some model back in the 80’s but most of them suffered premature extinction.

Now all of the sudden, they comeback with turbo. And turbo engine usually produces higher stress to their internals compared to n/a. Since Honda was not well-known for their reliability, buying first few batch of these could be a gamble. It seems like a half-baked model which Honda always produce. For example in Malaysia; Honda City with CVT. After lots of cases of belt slippage, suddenly Honda discard CVT for Malaysian market.

To buy a Honda, let the model mature first…..

• bobdbilder on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Back in the 80’s you couldn’t run Autocad on an IBM PC. You’d need Silicon Graphics servers and workstations for those. In ’85 I had a ZX Spectrum with a grand total memory of 64K (48 RAM, 16 ROM)! You tend to accept sprites with colour clashes as normal.

Now you could run AutoCad/Primavera and do Finite Element Analysis on a Multi Core PC with a Graphic Card for less than RM 2,000.00

Give technology a little bit of trust.

• To replace FD2R, Honda Malaysia will/may sell the FN2R same as the one in UK and making better profit of it. And this turbo unlikely to launch within 1-2 years. Still find it odd to see NA King going for turbo.

• bobdbilder on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:35 am

This is actually 2 stories in one. Let me story kat lu org…

1st Story. Honda is developing 1.6l turbo engine in Japan.

2nd Story. During the North American SEMA exhibition there was a Hybrid R concept which has a 1.5l turbo engine and an uprated electric motor.

It would be good to see if both are brought into production. But if that happens, they will be catering for different markets.

• bobdbilder on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:56 am

(rewrite as I saw blank)
      Two stories in one:-

1. Honda Japan is reported to be developing 1.6l turbo

2. During SEMA they showcased 1.5l turbo mated with uprated electric motor.

It would be good to have both developed. Pessimistically, imho its either one or the other. An enthusiast won’t be a tree hugger (until later in life).

• jason low on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:53 am

Paul,

From honda website – Civic 2011 – http://www.honda.co.jp/news/2010/4101214.html