Formula Drift Malaysia 2010 Road Closures

As KL gears up for the Formula Drift Malaysia 2010 this week, we bring you some road closure announcements in conjunction with the event, all in the name of safety!

Here is a list with timing as well as a map of partial and full road closures.

15th Dec – 12.01am onwards until 16th Dec – 10pm: Partial road closure, one left lane (Dataran Merdeka side) and one right lane (Bangunan Sultan Abdul Samad side).

16th Dec – 10 pm onwards until 20th Dec – 4 am: Full road closure of Jalan Raja and Jalan Mahkamah for event.

20th Dec –  4 am: Full handover of Jalan Raja to Traffic Police. The road will be open to public.

Click the map above for an enlarged version.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dr.Philips on Dec 14, 2010 at 9:32 pm

We should ban this kind of events to protect the environment ! not burning fuel unnecessarily !!

• “It is necessary” said the organiser.

• eimsperfume on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:20 am

then y dont u just run a campaign “ban all motorsports events”. F1 , Rally , GT , etc… :-|
      & see if there anyone will support u..

nway, yup its like closing among the busiest road @ KL but its a good location where medias will be broadcasting historic & symbolic place of malaysia :)

• trav_da_man on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:07 am

If so please help urself go protest in naked in Sepang during the Formula 1 GP next year. Naive thinking people like you is not welcomed here.

• xavier lert on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:40 pm

ah! my daily road……

• but burnin rubber is so fun

• woops forgot to say something zzz, but burnin rubber is fun

• cardreamer on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:09 am

What is this? Riots/demonstrations by the drifters? Do somewhere else lah…treat people equally…

• gangully on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm

they organise an event in the middle of town you complain… they built F1 circuit in sepang you complain…

it is publicity for malaysia…

treat people equally? so because u don’t like it the spectators need to be unfairly treated by having to go elsewhere to watch the competition?

i think treating equally comes with TOLERANCE!

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:19 am

There so much nice places in Malaysia, with 329,847 square kilometres of land, still they want to conduct it in the middle of KL, that already stuffed with traffic and half insane driver? Why? Why?

• pomen_gtr on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:59 am

wow…can watch from bukit aman office for the policemen :p

can watch from JKR building for JKR and KKR ppl…..

bank rakyat staff oso can watch from their building..

so do many other office surrounding….great spectator area :LOL:

• JohnDeep on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm

This is done on PUBLIC ROAD that supposedly govern by road & transport act. I doubt they will fullfil to following:
      1. Do those cars have a valid insurance
      2. Do those cars have a valid road tax
      3. Do those drivers have a valid driving license
      4. Do those cars have proper approvals from JPJ for such modification for driving on public road
      5. I conclude the style of driving is reckless and put people and the driver in danger while driving on public road.

SO WILL THEY GET SUMMON FROM POLICE AND JPJ THEN?

This kind of “REMPIT” shouldn’t be allowed on public roads, ever…

• SukaTgkOrg on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Last time i heard ALonso, Vettel and the gangs they all get summons because their car doesnt have registration plate while racing in one of the busiest Singapore Road.. at night some more!!!

luckily some other drivers have took the iniative to make themself legal and even follow the traffict light .. noticeable vehicle from a Malaysian and a British team..

same stories heard when they race in Monaco and Australia…

P/S: notice the word.. ” Full handover of Jalan Raja to Traffic Police” in the last paragraph… thats the diferrent between legal street racing and illegal one…

same goes when u are doing the mass assembly/gathering… :-)

• the gov finally become creative, advance, innovative and realistic this time…but surprsingly, some of the people still very old fashion and naive..!

• Kazuhito on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:15 pm

So, the event will be today and tomorrow? Or stick to 18-19th?

• teezackem on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:55 am

As KL gears up for the Formula Drift Malaysia 2010 this week, we bring you some road closure announcements in conjunction with the event, all in the name of PROFIT AT THE EXPENSE OF PUBLIC TRAFFIC JAM! (safety konon…pui!)

• Dr. Philips on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:08 pm

haiyaaa…everyday complain, complain, complain….spoiling the road la, no valid license la, road closure laa, anwar ibrahim banned from parlimen laa……

im still going…with the hot weather, all the pit girls will be sweating…..fuuhh…hot..!!!…still cant forget the lexus mdel from KLIMS 2010 !!!…

• 808DriftManiac on Dec 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

So Dr.Philips,John Deep…
    This kind of people must get rid from this forum..
    Such anoying..crap talkers…This Is Called `MotorSports`as everybody knows….if you running fast cars with electric..just go to Funfair Event or else…

• 808DriftManiac on Dec 20, 2010 at 9:45 am

Just some expression…really hate the person who just complain,complain x350..