Lexus CT 200h – RM168,000 OTR, without insurance!

If you’ve been thinking of owning a new Lexus for under 200 grand, well, here’s some cheery news. The soon-to-arrive Lexus CT 200h hybrid will go for just RM168,000, on the road without insurance, according to the Lexus Malaysia website, which has put up the pricing for the hatchback. That’s for the standard CT 200h, with a Luxury version slated to pop in as well at RM196,500, also OTR without insurance.

The vehicle – in either guise – is powered by the same powertrain combination as found on the ZVW30 Prius: the 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre Atkinson cycle petrol block – which develops 98 hp at 5,200 rpm and 142 Nm at 4,000 rpm – and permanent magnet synchronous motor/168-cell NiMh electric drivetrain, which offers 80 hp and 207 Nm, together offering a combined total output of 134 hp.

Specifications-wise, common to the two CT 200h variants coming into Malaysia are perforated leather seats (with seat heaters), dual-zone air conditioning, cruise control as well as a six-speaker Lexus Premium Audio system for the basic and a 10-speaker one for the Luxury model, among other things.

There’s also the usual host of safety assist kit, these being ABS, BA, VSC, TRC and EBD, along with eight airbags and rear seat Isofix points, and the car will come wearing 16-inch wheels with 205/55 series tyres.

In what might be an effort to get the price to where it’s at, there’s a bit of fare that’s been omitted in the stock CT 200h – the headlamps are halogen units (the Luxury gets LED lamps), and the driver and passenger seat adjustment is of the manual variety (the driver’s seat on the Luxury is powered).

Elsewhere, there’s no smart entry, Electro Multi Vision (EMV) screen, rain sensing wipers or rear reverse camera on the basic CT 200h, all of which are of course to be found on the Luxury variant, and the additional RM28,500 for the latter also bags you a Lexus navigation system and remote touch controller on top of the above items.

Nonetheless, it’s an achievement, a Lexus for that price in its standard guise. More when the car is launched, undoubtedly, but one can sense some hamsters running already.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hvannees on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:39 pm

still expensive..

• amirzaheen on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm

its a lexus~~

• carlover on Jan 20, 2011 at 9:02 am

it is toyota :P

• makoi on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:42 pm

go buy your fake lancer la, the rest of the money go invest to make you a millionaire lo.

wetdreamer.

• carlover on Jan 20, 2011 at 9:57 am

it is a toyota

• dont get it on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:19 pm

same car:

if it’s a LEXUS price RM168 000 plus
        if it’s a TOYOTA price RM100000 plus
        if it’s a REBADGE by PERODUA price RM 60 – 80 000

so the genius at UMW decided it’s a LEXUS of course

• Toyota (UMW) is famous for ripping off rakyat Malaysia by selling yesterday technology with tomorrow price. Let me quote some examples:

• Selling van as an MPV with leaf springs and old engine in the form of Unser
          • Selling mini MPV, Avanza, in a different clothing and acting like a 4WD in the form of Rush
          • Selling an MPV built on a truck platform (Fortuner) in the form of Innova. Notice how high is the tyre’s gap.
          • Selling outdated technology in all previous Altis until recently

And now this Lexus…
          Long live Toyota!

• pukil on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:55 am

in bolehland, it is curse that either u kena con by umno/be-end politicians, or u kena con by these smart ppl back -up by politicians, so it is onli RIGHT to follow to what Barack Obama campaign slogan–CHANGE, we need, in the coming GE-13th……..yar !.

• pukil on Jan 21, 2011 at 11:04 am

willing buyers, willing sellers…..ha…….ha………anjing toyo how’s ur opinion ?

• Very typical of UMW business style, high profit margins.

Selling price is only around USD30,000 elsewhere in the world. With the tax free exemption for hybrid cars below 2.0cc, this 1.8cc hybrid Lexus CT 200h should be selling at around USD30,000 x RM3.00 = RM90,000 + 10% sales tax = RM100,000.

Even with 100% tax exemption, it’s still selling at 50%-100% more than the actual selling price. Kudos for UMW.

• JSHING on Jan 20, 2011 at 6:52 am

you factor in the AP cost., my friends? the one that all those stupid Malaysian that still support the UMNO BN cronies free loaders… did not realised they are supporting their lifestyle… and corruption? Get rid and vote the UMNO BN OUT and then you will see the price drop to real level. the one without the AP Cost…

• Huang on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Here we go again with political comment, yawwwnn, PKR no corruption? Yeah rite!

• Agree with u bro…. kalo opposition menang ingat harga kereta akan turun ke? pigii dah, 2X5=10. 5X2=10

• just wondering, on the other note, since the US currency is so low now, how come goods imported from US are not priced lower still?

• gimmeone on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:00 am

because the traders getting the money is not willing to ‘cut down’ their profits….in other words they want MORE profits also!!!!

• UMW Ultimate MArketing Wonder/W**ker on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:28 am

Spot on bro……brialliant move by UMW…..just by putting a LEXUS badge on a short prius.they make more money…..and then there is the basic (incomplete) and high end variant and they squeeze more money……they are brilliant!!!! ……and the buyer?

• aryll8257 on Jan 20, 2011 at 9:35 am

its good the see some calculation.. somebody been checking US car price and forex exchange and simply converted to RM

i wish it is that ‘easy’..
        to find a lexus at RM100k (a brand new, oficially imported) seems almost imposibble..

just imagine if there is a RM100k lexus, what will happen to the likes of H, N, M & T (eventho related).. not to mentioned P1

• dont get it on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:06 pm

errr so u prefer to buy more expensive car is it…….if there is m100k green lexus it will be good for rakyat and environment……who cares what happen to H,N,M,T they are big blood sucking multinational corp….

• Impossible in what sense? You think it’s easy because it sounds too good to be true but that’s the fact. The selling price elsewhere already taken into account other misc expenses as well as profit margin. How UMW is able to slap another 68%-100% extra is truly incredible. It’s impossible only because they can slaughter people like you who think that’s the fair price to pay. However the fair price (without tax as it is the current situation) is much much lower than what UMW is setting now.

Why need to bring up H, N, M, & T (whatever they are)? They have no relevance to the issue at hand not to mention when you’re in a business in selling something, you would want to sell more than the competition.

• the only reason UMW can continue to slaughter the mass of ppl is bcos there are too many ignorant ppl around ( the middle class)….who continue to support the brand blindly.

thats why so many grey importers like to import T brand cars. they can make very fat margin as well.

• Correction.

it’s still selling at 68%-100% more than the actual selling price!

• klguy on Jan 21, 2011 at 1:21 pm

wat to do, most malaysian thinks there is no other car brand other than ‘Toyolta’ and Honda

• Lorst on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:50 pm

At first I also thought this way, until I found out that The US G is giving rebates to carmakers for the sales of their hybrid models. Therefore, the price of hybrids in most countries, including Japan and USA, is not a true reflection of market price so to speak.

• Michael on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Why not import one for yourself then since you can get it cheaper.

There is not point in you making all your brainless and misleading noise about the price difference.

In the US, Europe and Japan, governments there give special rebates and incentives to promote the development and sale of environmentally friendly products.

Hybrid cars enjoy those rebates and incentives as well. Go figure!

Research prudently before you make ad-hominem arguments.

• makoi on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:51 am

without tax its so so cheap!!!!!

a lexus at camry price? :O

• A Golf 1.4 TSI looks like a better deal compare to this. Similar size, german handling and quality. Cheaper too even with taxes.

How UMW can sell a tax-free car at this price is beyond me.

• nighttrain on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Could this be the slowest Lexus ever? But a Lexus still….

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Wow, Toyota is very smart!! Take the Prius body out and swap in with this, and voila!! You got yourself a whole new car!!

• does it get tax exemption? or that doesn’t apply to luxury hybrids?

• amirzaheen on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:59 pm

should be…coz it is a 1.8 rite…the exemption is for 2.0 cc engine and below~~

• zhongbie on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm

The cheapest among Lexus car, but still hard to affort by me now.( still a student only =.=”)

• zhongbie on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:57 pm

the buttock of this car is quit cool =)

• did you spent your money on a car like this?
    its really not a good idea……
    help those who really in need is much much better the this…..

• Alpha on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:45 pm

boo!!

why are u wasting time reading this article and posting comments??go and help those who really in need la!!much better what.

When u post ths comment,I bet u hav either a phone,laptop,desktop,ipad or enough money to go to a cyber cafe.What are you doing??Why waste money like that??better use that money to help those in need rather than buying phone/desktop/laptop/etc,right??

• bobdbilder on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:13 am

People who buy or wants to buy a Lexus does not care about other people dude. There is a WHOLE lot of them here. They only care what envious looks they get from other people. Its called a Performance Oriented Culture. 168K for a Hatch that’s a hybrid from people who gave you the Camry. I can’t figure out who wants a Lexus hatch. I don’t get the point. Its as pointless as an X6. Someone will buy it coz there’s lots of pointless people who are rich.

• Can rich people spend and donate at the same time? Don’t act holy.

next time when u receive ur bonus or pay increment, donate it to some charity.

• imsohigh on Feb 12, 2011 at 7:30 am

just because people spend alot doesnt mean they never donate and help the poor

trust me many rich people are very charitable and philanthropist people…

they prolly donated more money than u can ever earn in your entire life

• is the price 168k because of the hybrid tax exemption? very good for a lexus.

• waterman on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:05 pm

remember the prius price when launch?
      this is A LEXUS! yeah~ agreed with u~

• On one hand, comparatively cheap compared with it’s premium competition like the 1 Series. But 134hp and 10 secs (0-100km)? And based on a Prius platform meant to be economical and appliance like, it’s a snooze fest for buyers in this segment. Then again most Lexus buyers go for that kind of detached driving experience so it may have appeal. Golf TSI still better.

• Alpha on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:28 pm

yeah,it’s ths cheap due to the tax exemption.dun be like ths lar,ths is considered cheap already.if it gets cheaper,the “luxuriness” will be gone.Good price.Might temp some Golf TSi potential buyer.

Anthony,is the size around 1-series’ size??or is it almost as big as an IS??

The price of the Prius before exemption can now bag u a Lexus.LOL!!I felt pity for the guys who bought the pre-exemption Prius.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 20, 2011 at 2:05 am

It’s a shade shorter than the 1er, but a fraction wider and taller. Effectively, the same size.

• Wait for a CRZ is a much smarter choice.

• shawal on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:51 pm

better get a hyundai sonata , you have to consider the price of batteries….

• Batteries? on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:39 pm

What batteries?

As if it runs on a gazillion AA batteries that have to be swapped out every other week.

• Now lexus will rule..
    last time was Civic…
    now sure going to be lexus. we will see.
    if this lexus come in non-hybrid.

• justice on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:06 pm

i think,if it is not hybrid the price would be higher due to the tax attached..

• chuakz on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:04 pm

i know that they could’ve sold it cheaper with the tax exemption…but they wanted to make quick bucks instead of selling in volume…they could’ve sold it at least rm20k cheaper than this price…

• meridien on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:28 pm

fully agree, In the UK the mid-trim version of this car is selling for 25k pounds, which is around RM 125k. And this price already includes 20% VAT!!!

• peter bro on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:10 pm

OMG… One word, affordable.

• UMW Ultimate MArketing Wonder/W**ker on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:43 am

it should have been more affordable with all the tax off……….but hey being UMW their greed surpassed the original intention of government to promote green car for the massess……….but hey I’m sure they are targeting the right group….most of the Green/environmentalist in Malaysia are rich people who think Green is the new cool or suddenly felt guilty about their lavish CO2 emission….kudos umw

• overman on Jan 20, 2011 at 6:37 pm

UMW always sell the BRANDING then the SPEC of the car. Consumer is buying it anyhow. so, its just a choice, just dont buy it if dont like. btw, i got a friend selling Camry 1-2 years old dropped 40K price to RM100K. so Camry also does not guaranteed resale value now i guess.

• I will either go for a Golf TSI with alot of money to spare, or spend on a full blown Golf GTI at almost the same price. :)

• still too expensive considering there is no tax on this car. i am very very sure the CT200h luxury is not priced any where near USD65k in the US.

Quote : “The Lexus CT 200h USA price list has recently been announced, as the new hybrid will soon go on sale on the North American market. The Lexus CT 200h USA price list starts at 29,120 USD and goes up, depending on the optional extras, to 30,900 USD.”

That means the luxury spec should be priced at RM110 – 115k at most. bloodsucking UMW!!!

• maybe the price difference to account for transportation charges from japan to malaysia? lexus in US made there right? but most probably the higher price to jaga muka lexus owners and also make sure not too many ppl buy this car and congest the exclusive lexus service centre. then owners of more expensive models would complain. probably delivery of car would also be delayed if too cheap and many orders and this would reflect poorly on lexus’ brand image. hee hee just letting my thoughts run wild.

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:43 pm

A safest car in this price range, comparable to Volvo S40 (6 airbags).
    Camry 2.4V, sooorry only has DUA airbags.
    Accord 2.4L has 4 biji.
    Teana and Sonata, both with poor resale value, only have 2 biji — most shameful!

• Toyota Vios USA spec has six airbags. STANDARD!!!!
      Toyota Camry USA spec has seven airbags. STANDARD!!!!

Malaysian lives are more cheap than American…

Better take Nissan Teana…!!!
      More value for money.

• nabill on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:54 pm

its jus a prius with a lexus body shell….those who buy will eventually find out that the trade off for lower fuel consumption is NOT worth it at all….driving cars like those are hugely boring affair….those who buy probably buy it bcos its the ‘cheapest’ lexus on offer…

like the prius , if u drive it super slow then maybe u get some sort of saving on fuel….if u drive it normally , ie not speeding yet not slow , thn you will find out that consumptions is EXACLTY same like a small petrol car minus all the fun a free revving petrol engine gives u…

read all the reviews online for those hybrid cars and almost all have this conclusion….

• littlefire on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:46 am

Let me remember topgear put a test regarding M3 is even better FC compare to prius when highway cruising..

• nebula87 on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:58 pm

No matter how expensive the price tag is, the car is can be sold alot…

• theanswer on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:09 pm

best looking hybrid hatch! but kinda expensive considering the car use same engine as prius. but if lexus offer normal 1.8 engine..sure its gonna be hot!

• ben yap on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:15 pm

i was hoping Lexus will introduce a power-pack hybrid. i’m disappointed when it only delivers the same engine as the prius.

• Goproton on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:18 pm

should be 178hp ?hehe

• insperut on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:47 pm

guys,

see this…
    http://www.autoblog.com/2011/01/18/video-behind-the-scenes-with-lexus-the-hard-way-spot/

i bet you’re already in love with this car! :D

• Shappawi_2012 on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Come with perforated leather seats (with seat heaters)?
    Why……?
    Cuaca Malaysia tidak cukup panas kah?

• dont get it on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:29 pm

EXPLANATION: Malaysian FART a lot………the perforated leather seats will allow FART to be absorbed internally and the seat heaters will provide heat to kill all those AIRBORNE FART GERM and smell pretty fast…..and that’s why rich people buy expensive car……

• Trinity on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:00 am

can someone explain the meaning of “but one can sense some hamsters running already” please?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:31 am

Means “dinner not here yet, but already salivating in anticipation of the ringing of the bell.” Or something like that. :)

• UMW Ultimate MArketing Wonder/W**ker on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:54 am

For the science nerdy it just like Pavlov’s dog experiment (form 3 science i think)……..the bad ass scientist ring the bell signaling dinner is coming and the poor dog salivates already

• dondon on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:09 am

i would still love mazdaspeed3 (mps)…

• Han!h on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:11 am

i think the price is kinda cheaper compared to other premium/hot/sport hatchbacks, right?

• seancorr on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:34 am

Cheap for a luxury brand that is among the likes of BMW and Merc. Can be considered entry level to luxury segment like BMW 1 series or Audi A1. Am sure many people will get it for the Lexus brand.

But being cheap..it lost a LOT of luxury features. Our Alza even includes a reverse camera! Not to mention the rain sensing wipers being offered in cheaper model of other manufacturers. Oh the manual seat adjustment is totally off too. That’s like degrading it to the likes of a Myvi!

• bryan jones on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:39 am

another ugly japs.

• CocoBear on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:40 am

Any reviews on the performance side of CT200h? Lexus is known to be fat and heavy. This might be a nightmare to drive for those unlucky owners.

• at this price, I would rather go for a Golf TSI with plenty of cash to spare. Or go for the full blown Golf GTi at almost the same price as the premium CT200h. :)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:40 am

ben, at this price (of the basic variant) there will also be those who would rather go for a Camry 2.4V or an Accord 2.4 VTi-L or a Sonata 2.4 High Spec or a Mazda6 2.5. Diff’rent strokes, diff’rent folks. As it goes, suum cuique placet.

• farmin on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:51 am

what’s the meaning of suum chibei planet?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:58 am

Ha ha ha, good play. To each his own, it would mean.

• UMW Ultimate MArketing Wonder/W**ker on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:50 am

thank god it means that, i just thought U swear in french and get away with it…: o

• Carl Wong on Jan 20, 2011 at 2:42 am

Yet another hybrid coming in, but luxurious and affordable this time. Keep them coming :).

• WinterAngeLs on Jan 20, 2011 at 3:24 am

We need a seat cooler not heater @.=” Our cars are like oven!

Btw, an affordable price for a Lexus hybrid but quite a numbers of features were omitted. Luxury version asking for almost RM200K? A Golf TSI or GTI might be a better option.

• How Wee Ming on Jan 20, 2011 at 4:27 am

Not sure it would work. It misses a lot of important spec. Kind of reminds me of the Jaguar X type. Buyers saw the Mondeo connection immediately and dumped the model in droves… Even the camry has powered seats????? Maybe the deal sweetener is the technology…

• Nice looking hybrid from Lexus. But missed out a lot on features.

• Chilavert on Jan 20, 2011 at 7:53 am

OTR without insurance?? without insurance , the price cannot be considered as OTR. this is another false advertisement trying to cheat the public.

• on LEXUS showroom road only….that is

• arcana on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:40 pm

becoz not everyone pays full price for insurance when purchasing a car…..there’s always NCB/NCD (i think) to cut the premiums.

better than those who advertise car price only and omits the OTR features like road tax bla bla….

• Goproton on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:24 pm

lol agree…
      those car dealer…you know I know who…..haha….

• the chasis macam mazda sport hatchback lol

• Rather go for Passat CC or Tiguan!

• i thought passat CC is 250k+-? how can you compare that with this=_=

• Lexus, overrated piece of JDM. It used not to be.

• Very typical of UMW business style, high profit margins.

Selling price is only around USD30,000 elsewhere in the world. With the tax free exemption for hybrid cars below 2.0cc, this 1.8cc hybrid Lexus CT 200h should be selling at around USD30,000 x RM3.00 = RM90,000 + 10% sales tax = RM100,000.

Even with 100% tax exemption, it’s still selling at 68%-100% more than the actual selling price! Kudos for UMW.

• Lexus’s built quality apparently very good as a Jap brand (for Europe market) but selling at German marque price range or slight higher maybe, Think twice is it any better than any German brands?

If you want a German ride quality go for the pure one why pay the same price and its a Jap!

I’ll grab a VW Golf TSI (160k) rather than this, Lexus is a more like Toyo marketing strategy rather then selling u a really good car with PRICE they offered….

• Please VW is not a luxury car….only for kampung boy like u VW is luxury….VW is another H/T wannabe promoting it self as luxury…

• You prefer VW over a premium lexus…go see doctor….VW is man on the street car….I dunno why so many malaysian willing to pay high price for a “normal” car…go look around

• VW is the Toyota of the east – a people’s car, a normal car. How can u compare VW with Lexus?

You have the mentality where everything by ang moh is good and whatever they touches turn to gold.

• When i was in the US, the best “europen” jap brand, according to some reports i read was INFINITY.

• I still think that Golf 1.4 is a better buy, period.

• Golf 1.4 !!…falling in the same T/H strategy by VW. You will cry after three years owning the car….with its poor reliability …check out the DSG issues….

• J@CK LIM on Jan 20, 2011 at 11:52 am

Great price… i bet i would rather get a lexus with this price than others gasoline car in this price =)

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:56 pm

Even though I know it’s a T and by default I’ll bash T, but I love this L.

• I would get a turbo petrol engine like GOLF TSI/GTI OR full EV car. Hybrid is half cook technology like plasma TV. You maintain both petrol & electric engine to save fuel not save cost and also no driving fun at all….

• rip off!

• Verza on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Some people expecting lexus to be priced at below RM150k and complaining it’s still sky high priced by the umw…in my mind they are really know nothing about car…Lexus quailty is can’t compare with the german brand car…Drive one,Pls!!!

• You’re an idiot. From your REASONING, i could price a Kancil at RM150,000 and you would think it’s a good car as long as it is expensive.

• Verza.. on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:15 am

I think u’re the freaking idot in fact from what u written here, no body would imply that perodua kancil would be a good car when priced at Rm150k unless you..and citing kancil to make analogy and compare with Lexus would make u seems like even more dumb so…what a third world minded alike statement of u..

• Dear VErza,

This kinda price for this quality(no matter how good quality) is absurb. The poor no chance to enjoy this quality, the rich kena rip off for paying extra than other countries for the same quality there. Only the Rakyat of Msia suffer.

• Lexus quality is Toyota’s PLUS premium attribute. For a starting and being MALAYSIA RM168k is acceptable with those looking for Prius but want something slightly above Toyota-ness.

USD30k ideally (if we can have) should be around RM150k inclusive of insurance. Not more than that since warranty is shorter than those in Western states.

If UMW-TOYOTA/LEXUS was smart, we’re otherwise.

• catshavefur on Jan 20, 2011 at 2:54 pm

I am a hamster, and I am indeed running.

Some questions:

It’s CBU right? From?

98hp plus 80hp is not 134hp right?

RMxxx without insurance cannot be called OTR right?

Finally,

When?

• Alibaba on Jan 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

This is not school maths. 1+1=2. There’s a formula where by calculate the total power petrol engine plus electric motor. When the engine and motor transfer the power to the car there will be losses in cascading the power.
      98+80=178
      loss of power combining engine and motor estimated 25%
      178 – 25%
      = 133.5hp

• Tak suka Inspira/Lancer on Jan 20, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Not expensive as hybrid Lexus product!

• overman on Jan 20, 2011 at 6:26 pm

dont worry, the way UMW is doing business is slowly getting out of time very soon. The Pug, Honda, and the Hyundai+Kia already getting the pie in their sweet spot of the Vios and Camry section. The way of selling low spec car with high price will be over very soon. (That is the reason why i don’t get a 2.0G Camry for the 4-speed autogear at such a high price)

The Beemer and VW is capturing their Camry market as well.

Dont under estimate the power of China Car (Volvo) as well.

• tikus on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Still people will buy toyota 1….Toyota is now a fans base car not quality car.

• Strange, ppl who has not sat in a Lexus or know nuts about Lexus love to bash Lexus and not less Toyota. Maggots…

• Goproton on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:18 pm

poor ma….can’t afford that’s why bash…you don’t know?
      sour grapes mentality….

• RWD or FWD? RM168k ok if RWD; otherwise just another Toyota with Lexus emblem.

• smallcar on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:06 pm

toyota, can u do something? different car with different engine. proton is doing that, why can’t u? making me pissed off!

• bmw172 on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Since some of you are comparing the CT with a Golf TSI, can anyone offer the help to compare which car has better CO2 in the long run?
    can someone compare whether the CT has better CO2 than the entry level VW Polo 1.2?

Hybrid may be good but then again anyone ever thought the environmental damage it created when they make the batteries and dispose the batteries later on?

• Jimmy on Jan 20, 2011 at 11:00 pm

DO THE MECHANICS AT YOU TOWN KNOW THE WAY TO SERVICE A LEXUS HYBRID? IS WHAT THE DEALER TELLS YOU REALLY TRUE?
    I guess every tauke will say his mechanics know everything.

• kimi's fan on Jan 20, 2011 at 11:38 pm

after read some comments., my conclusion is that we are suffering

• Johnny on Jan 21, 2011 at 1:14 am

A 3-litre 328i sedan is selling at only USD33,650 in US and how much you are paying for it here?

• Then move to USA or Europe but make sure their Petrol price is not expensive than Malaysia!

• Ah Long on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:56 am

Your money your choice.. how can you forced people what to buy and what they shouldn’t.. comparing torque/speed for petrol engine and hybrid? what is wrong with this world??

• it seems like u are used to pay high price to buy own a car, and suddenly u find something a little bit cheaper, u feel happy.

Come on…the car price in bolehland is totally unacceptable. even P1 and P2. a city or vios without tax is about 50k +-, look at the quality of P1 and P2 at this price…

a saga should be selling <20k and a persona should be selling at <30k

no doubt, the H and T is sucking malaysian's $ alwasy. look at the peugeot price after being CKD by Naza. It slap on H and T and i even heard that the H go complain saying the 308 is selling too cheap…wtf

• KLdude on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:28 am

dear readers, again i have read a lot of the pros & cons of owning the latest lexus in town..at less than rm170k for a lexus brand, it is indeed a good buy..this however does not distract from the fact that it is an underpower hybrid car which is only meant to be driven by well-off housewives..besides this, the design is also pug-ugly..but if one was aspiring to own something with a lexus badge, this is the time for them to rejoice as it does not gets better than this! as one reader said, “suum cuique placet”..if you don’t like it, don’t buy it..get something else! there are always other brands to choose from..no need to whine and complain about umw ripping consumers off..it is a free market..no one is forcing you to buy it..well, that is my 2 sens worth..have a nice weekend everybody!

• TAK APA MALAYSIA BOLEH on Jan 21, 2011 at 4:07 pm

DANGEROUS!!! /UNPRODUCTIVE MENTALITY if “no need to whine and complain about umw ripping consumers off”………….as a responsible citizen of the world if u see any RIPPING OFF towards anybody you should act on it…..the least u could do is “whine and complain about it” to show your displeasure and inform others and the perpetrator……your mentality is the famous “TAK APA as long as it is not me” mentality ………..today u TAK APA UMW ripping off customer then later UMW also will be TAK APA in term of safety………..just imagine most of the car outside malaysia is being recalled for safety issue and yet in MALAYSIA there only few cars affected……….well TAK APA car in malaysian is the best built in the world………..u TAK APA kan on my comment…….happy2 chill out bro…TAK APA

• Is still a rip off price.
    Damn why rakyat so silly wanna buy Toyota.
    Let stop buying Toyota car see whether will reduce the price in the future or not!!

• lts a lexus…. 160 is reasonable….

• herd mentality….how bout 160k for a lexus kapcai….still reasonable?

• Lexus badge at 160K not expensive, but not interesting.

• Suber on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Interesting alternative.

It seems some people still think this Lexus too much like it’s cousin the Toyota.

Maybe it would make some sense to venture into a Lexus showroom just for a walk, sit in some of the models and if possible, take one out for a test-drive.

Lexus have a different set of standards from Toyota and material specification are more stringent.

• autobot on Jan 21, 2011 at 5:42 pm

how many bashers here can actually afford this 168k?
    i guess it is < 1% for all those leave – comments here.
    it is very funny for those who can't even buy the car to comment on it. go back to the korean cars which you can only afford to buy and expecting it actually has par quality, luxury and comfortability as the REAL Luxury car. it is better option for you, or can i say you actually got no option at all becuz you just simply can't afford, lol~~~

• Sorry loh 168K for Malaysian is not expensive at all~in Malaysia roads,Camry,Accord and Golf everywhere!where r u from?Africa?lolx

• thats right, he is from outer space….more specifically cybertron. check out his nickname.

• gimmeone on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:08 am

Here is a reality check for those who dont realise it !!

QUOTE (anonymous) *
      Each person is different, so it’s difficult to advise. To me, a car is a depreciating asset, so no loan better. However, since this is not practical most of the time, then you should spend no more than 15% of your take home pay on instalments. Of course, the best interest rates would be in the region of 5 years for banks as they do calculate their profits on your whole loan amount, so avoid tenures above 5 years. Banks may not give you good rates below 3 years, so you need to do some home work with the banks.

Why 15%? Because you may need 30% for a house and 25% on living expenses like food, insurance, car maintenance, household bills and maintenance etc. That leaves you 30% in savings which isn’t much. Just think, if you take home RM10k a month, you only save or invest RM3k a month which works out at RM360k in 10 years before interest (which is eaten up by inflation anyway). After 30 years, you will have just over a million in today’s money. If you have 2 kids to send overseas to study, you are dead! What about retirement funds? EPF enough? Hardly!

So, if you have a salary of 10 k a month you can only afford an inspira 2.0, period..so 168 k car not expensive? get real!!

• How Wee Ming on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm

I thought long and hard about this especially in australia. Toyota camry hybrid uses same chasis as the ES 300 series, cost 10K less, 2.4 engine, same hybrid tech. Just can’t justify an extra 10K for something LESS refined, LESS powerful just because of the Lexus badge. With toyota reliability you don’t really use their customer service anyway. Bought the camry hybrid. If you’re wanting a badge, why not go for a BMW or Audi small hatch instead????

• How Wee Ming on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Feel kinda hurt by the comments. I drive a korean car and a toyota camry hybrid, and i can afford this lexus. The question is, is it REALLY a lexus? Have the traditonal lexus values of the church quiet ride, the serenity and the attention to quality been sacrificed ??? Test drove both, sensible drivers will still plonk for the camry hybrid. Other users, Better get the IS 250 if u can afford it…

• How Hee on Jan 22, 2011 at 6:14 am

Why do you need to stress about you can afford it? Joker…

• sacofa on Jan 22, 2011 at 9:30 am

must be kidding!!!! RM168K for such a beauty!!!!

• Erwan Billy on Jan 22, 2011 at 9:43 am

This will be lexus best seller. No doubt

• nolan on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:42 am

Very impressive pricing…..Lexus RX270 look nice….but this is nicer….hope can afford to buy both….

• cheaper cars 4 Malaysians on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm

US starting price for USD30K. About RM90K++. Still a bit pricey even with tax reduction for hybrid. Comparing to peers (ie Camry), value for money.

US MY
    Camry USD20K (RM60K) RM145K
    CT200H USD30K (RM90K) RM168K
    delta USD10K (50% more) RM 23K (16% more)

Anyhow, for those who wants to take up a loan to pay car tax… go for it !!!
    For those who not sure…. just boycott car industry to encourage cheaper and safer cars for Malaysians. :)

• compared to our western counterpart, we earn much less and have to spend a fortune in buying cars…

but that is not an issue here,
      YES the car is priced above average
      YES it’s Lexus
      YES it’s marketed by a company acting on it’s shareholder benefit.

the end of the day is, either you take it or leave it…or go buy the company’s share and happy with it.

• Erwan Billy on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Went to view the car at the showroom & was informed that customers mainly book the luxury spec.

• How Hee on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Car available in showroom already???

• Erwan Billy on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:49 am

Yup but i was told that it will not be available for viewing for the next 2 weeks as the car will go for photoshot. U can always call the damansara showroom bro to confirm

• HybridFan on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:08 am

I have viewed CT 200h yesterday at Damansara show room. The car will be launch next month and for those place booking this month can get the car in April this year.

The price OTR for CT 200h is RM172k++ while for CT 200h luxury RM200k++.

In term of size, its bigger than BMW 1 series. The luggage room look small compared to my caldina ha ha..but based on the spec is 405litre. The Prius has 445litre !

For those opt for CT200h standard version you will miss many “nice to have” stuff.

• prius_driver on Jan 24, 2011 at 2:15 pm

just called mutiara damansara showroom. They said they don’t have ct 200h model at the moment. Where and how did you guys got to view it??

• WagonORhatch on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:15 am

Funny! From the picture, this looks like wagon to me. However with all the review I had read, the main competitors if this car are actually BMW 118d and Audi A1.
    For those who actually saw the actual car, how’s the car size when it compare with Mazda 3?
    Pricing at RM172k, this is really the worst ever news for those who bought Prius at 170k. If I were one of them I would have burn down Toyota for the ‘robbing’ and kill myself!! :-p just joking.
    According to the review in top gear, this car only rated 7/20. How could this be possible?? They said the car looks like garbage, which I think the UK pig don’t really like Japanese car and personally I think the car design was brilliant!!
    Secondly, they commented on the hard and rough ride of the car. Lexus ride should not be like CT200h. Hello, wakeup! Is the cheapest Lexus with hybrid what do u expect. I don’t think 1 series or A1 gave a confortable ride! Coz they are German that’s why they deserve high review???
    Thirdly, they said the Eco, sport and xxx does not really change the steering feel or the power. It only give u the colour changed in the dash.

• MasterG on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:35 am

The is elegant and sporty. Yeahh the price is high but that match the quality. Prius is 30k cheaper, same engine too but interior like a cheap car.

No offence to prius car as i have place booking for prius and might change to CT200h

• HybridFan on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:35 pm

There is one unit CT 200H at first floor. They didn’t do any promo yet as the launching only next month. I am one of the lucky one who manage to view it through appointment. Get Liza !

• K-Bro on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:03 am

no apppointment required!! as of yesterday!! anywhere better call up before you go. they took the car out for review and testing..plus photo shooting.. gold colour really looks uncle! but the interior was best! they have a “mouse” like control in the center for controlling the navi and screen.
      size of a mazda 3. 80% loook alike from outside! interior wise the sport and eco knob looks impressive!!! it turn from eco meter to rev meter!

• vloong on Jan 25, 2011 at 3:08 pm

I placed booking 10k for the car on Thaipusam day. To me the best selling points are 1. Lexus 2. Hybrid. 3.Look Lexus to be selling at this price is due to the tax, no doubt about that, otherwise it would be above 200k. Hybrid is good for the future, the petrol price would undoubtedly increase in the future, just a question of how much. I would have bought the Prius if not because of the ugly look of it (my personal taste). When I saw this car in person, I have absolutely no doubt in buying it (again my personal taste). One question, anyone know for sure whether the car can run without the hybrid system : when the battery is too expensive to be changed in let say, 10 years time, can I just take out the whole thing and run it like a 1.8L car?

• MasterG on Jan 25, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Congrat vloong..làter we create club.

• vloong on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:02 am

One question, anyone know for sure whether the car can run without the hybrid system : when the battery is too expensive to be changed in let say, 10 years time, can I just take out the whole thing and run it like a 1.8L car?

• Chong on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:30 am

I too like the car. This is the hybrid I have been waiting for. I like many of the other readers have placed my booking. Since placing the booking I looked up from the NET more information and experience on the Prius and other international web site of Lexus.

What I found out is that both US and Australia offers separate Hybrid System warranty of 8 years or 100,000 miles on top of the basic 3 years warranty. I have checked with Lexus here and it confirmed that we only get the basic 3 years warranty.

I feel we have been short changed. If Toyota is confident of the Hybrid System especially the battery life to last over 10 years, why does it discriminate against us. Are we getting units that are lesser in quality that those sold in US and Australia?

The pending world wide launch of the CT should be a good time for Toyota to come clean and offer similar warranty across the world rather than raising doubts about whether all units are equal in quality.

I do not know about the other people who have booked a hybrid car. I for one am very apprehensive of this and is contemplating to cancel my booking if this disparity is not suitably addressed. I

I hope the management at Lexus Malaysia reads this blog as this is how word on the availability of the CT first got out. BE WISE AND GIVE US WHAT IS ENJOYED BY YOUR OTHER CUSTOMERS IN US AND AUSTRALIA.

Potential New Loyal Customer

• Chong on Feb 20, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Just an update of warranty granted to CT purchasers in other markets.

Hong kong too is following US and Australia. It’s warranty is ” 5 year/100,000km basic warranty and a 10 year Hybrid powertrain warranty” .

I shall look forward to the official launch date and see if we too get to r
      Enjoy this basic warranty terms. I will most certainly cancel if we are not treated equally.

• SaveTheEARTH on Jan 28, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Lexus D’sara services not as good as before, even the sales people instead of calling them sales advisor cos they never advise. (I believe not all sales staff however this should not be happen in Lexus…… not even one cos Lexus just got 2 showrooms in nationwide). We went into the showroom however no one attended us, we asked a guy who is a salesperson but he told us that he was not in duty, then just ignore. We then attended by a guy upon request to be attended, extremely bad in manner cos he told he need to attend someone VIP first then only get back to us. Of course they will serve drinks. Only finish serving the VIP (you see, means we are not important) then come and told us how bad is Toyota. Just wonder how come they are in same roof and using the same engine but saying bad on Toyota Hybrid, he told us if accident occur we might not survive in Toyota but in Lexus. From what I know is the ride and comfort will make the different and not safety cos both also from Japan (not locally made, apple to apple). Have you ever being asked by the salespeople what car you driving and what job you having, only determined do you have the ability to purchase Lexus, that is really not respecting us even thought we look young.

• Duke916sps on Jan 30, 2011 at 8:02 pm

I walked in with shorts and slippers, and a round neck T shirts with some holes… and they served me well.. Booking made but was told will only get the car second batch round April…..

• CT200h CLub on Feb 05, 2011 at 8:27 am

Great to know that the first batch owner will get their car next month, so far, Lexus has secured more than 60 oder

• CT200h CLub on Feb 07, 2011 at 12:31 am

Yeah…if Proton can secured thousand booking before launching, nothing impossible for Lexus. Lexus has its own fans too :)

• prius_driver on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:04 pm

After viewing the car (lux ct200h) last week, finally canceled my Prius and booked the ct200h). For those bashers who are comparing this car with Golf GTi (I own a MK6 GTi), the luxurious interior and safety features of ct200h far surpassed my GTi. However, GTi’s engine and gearbox is out of this world :) one of the best compact performance car there is. For a price of 196k, it’s totally worth it. 8 airbags, 10speakers, 1 woofer in this small compact car!!! GTi totally can’t do this :( Perforated leather seats, with electric and memory along with lumbar support (can save the memory along with side mirrors’ position). Now what’s left is to have a test drive next month, gotta test the performance dampers which is a 1st time being used in a Lexus.

• Silwen on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Congrats on your purchase. The Golf is undoubtedly a driver’s car. The lexus is in for a different market altogether. What you will save on the fuel in the Lexus goes to the Golf!

Nice combination of cars in the house.

Lexus is really selling these cars like hot cakes.
    180 sold before the launch.

BMW and mercedes better start watching out. More Malaysians are aware of Lexus now.

• Wheels on Feb 25, 2011 at 2:51 pm

All !

just went to mutiara damansara lexus. media launching is this everning.
    Saw the car in flesh. quite nice !

very plush inside and 172k otr for standard. luxury is 201k otr.

test drive start tomorrow.

• Duke916sps on Apr 09, 2011 at 11:56 am

Any one heard news about delayed delivery due to the Japan earthquake?

• CT200h Club on Apr 17, 2011 at 8:33 am

Yes there is a delay 1-2 months …so meaning the waiting period will be more longer :(

• Duke916sps on Apr 17, 2011 at 11:19 pm

So is Lexus gonna compensate? Well they are holding my deposits and they deleiver late.

• DarkAvenger on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:58 am

I just hope they resolved the auto-accelerate problem like in the otjher Lexus…you know, you don’t wanna get killed driving this thing because it cannot stop……after all you paid RM168K for it…

Seriously, there’s no import tax for hybrid for the moment, sales tax is only 10%…AP cost(if any) i dunno….anyone can shed a light??

• Bongcs on Oct 30, 2011 at 8:26 pm

I still love my persona

• In term of pricing, lexus is above BMW and mercedes. Example, IS250 is nearly 300k. C class 270k and 3 series is 250k. For lexus GS250, nearly 400k (5 series 360k, e class 370k).

• ct200h owner on Nov 05, 2013 at 2:11 am

Any statement suggesting Lexus is nothing more then a rebadged Toyota is nothing short of pure, utter crap.

Truth be told – Lexus undeniably engineers amoung the finest, highest quality, most technologically advanced, reliable, dependable and durable luxury / prestige cars that can be purchased anywhere in the world today and anyone trying to suggest otherwise are simply and utterly wrong. Infact .. they are clowns !!

The engineering integrity that is invested into manufactuering a Lexus is far more stringent and controlled then a regular Toyota and for those who believe differently truely have no grasp of the automotive industry therefore have no-idea what they are talking about. Pity really because the engineering that is invested into Lexus is very intriguing. Maybe some of you clowns should invest the time and do some genuine research into Lexus engineering and manufacturing practices instead of talking crap.

Furthermore … in the 21 yrs that Lexus has been manufactuering cars, not only have they established themselves a rightful reputation for impeccable build quality but ‘arguably’ the highest quality cars in the world and the fact that Lexus has consistantly and constantly ranked either ‘No.1’ or within the ‘top fraction’ in each and every Quality / Customer Satisfaction for the past 12yrs alone wether it be in North America, Europe / UK, Australia, Japan or Asia is testimony to that …period !!