BMW Malaysia launches the F10 520d: at RM333k, it’s the most affordable 5-Series in town

BMW Group Malaysia today announced the arrival of the latest 5 Series model in its lineup, the 520d. The first diesel-engined variant of the F10 to be introduced locally was unveiled at the BMW Malaysian Open 2011, a leg of the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) Tour, in KL.

The most stunning aspect of the 520d isn’t with its performance, but rather with its price – the SKD car rolls in at RM333,800 (without insurance, with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair), making it the cheapest 5 Series model in the lineup right now. At RM50,000 less than the 523i, that’s really quite a significant achievement. It’s also a big drop from the RM379,800 asked for the E60 520d Sports Edition when that one was introduced locally in October 2009.

Not that you lose much paying fifty grand less than a 523i. In fact, aside from the omission of Integral Active Steering and the four-zone climate control (there are no controls for the rear blowers on the 520d), just about everything to be found on the 523i is here on the diesel – the iDrive, the large LCD screen, whatever else you can think of.

The car is powered by the same N47D 2.0 litre four-cylinder common-rail direct injection BMW Advanced Diesel block as found on the 320d (which was uprated from 177 hp sometime late last year), and offers 184 hp at 4,000rpm and 380 Nm at 1,750-2,750 rpm, mated to an 8HP45 eight-speed auto gearbox.

Performance figures for the 520d, which sits on 17-inch wheels wrapped with 225/55 series tyres, include a 0-100 kph time of 8.1 seconds and a top speed of 225 kph, and the claimed average fuel consumption for the vehicle is just 5.2 litres per 100 km.

The bag of electronic tricks is comprehensive – there’s the usual Dynamic Stability Control, Dynamic Driving Control and Dynamic Damping Control among the bits. As for BMW EfficientDynamics technologies, these include Brake Energy Regeneration and electromechanical steering.

Meanwhile, BMW ConnectedDrive components include USB connectivity and bluetooth functions, as well as considerably expanded functionality for mobile phones and portable music players; BMW TeleServices and the optional BMW Telematics Platform Accessory (TPA), which includes an emergency Vehicle Recovery System as well as other BMW Assist remote services, are also to be found.

Indeed, as you peruse what’s on the kit list, the short of it is that nothing significant has been omitted for the asking price, and that really does make the 520d outstanding value, if you happen to be looking at a premium executive sedan. All very impressive, to say the least.

Live gallery photos after the jump.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gavin on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Thank you BMW for leading the way in diesel cars

• myviGSRengine on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:14 am

and also thanks 4 d uncle car..hahahahh

• Mahalingham on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:28 am

Why they are selling it cheap because they know very sure that the government won’t introduce the Euro 4 diesel at all. So, you start using this car with our current dirty diesel, no matter what BMW says that it is tuned to our diesel, it will permanently damage your engine beyond repair.

I have a friend who is close to the relevant ministry in the government and he confirms that Euro 4 will NEVER happen. Yes you can save RM50k but you will spend more in repairing the damage the sulphur does.

To show their sincereity, BMW Malaysia should give a 5 year warranty on this car instead of the normal 2.

• Seriously on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Simple, the 5 series isn’t doing so well as the E-class thus they reduce the price to make it seem more attractive and they’re uncomfortable to ride in :D

• Mahadev on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:48 pm

BMW are a bunch of liars. When the F10 CBU came out, it was RM$398k, then when the SKD came out , it was RM383,800.
      People made noise saying the reduction was insignicant for a “CKD”. But BMW said it was because the Malaysian government tax that made the SKD pricey.

Now we see, the 520d is RM50k cheaper. But in UK, the 520d cost more than the 523i. So how come BMW Malaysia can sell this car RM50k cheaper? Then why not reduce the 523i to RM333,000?

Goes to show they lie through their teeth. You want to buy a car from a bunch of liars?

• Jason on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:47 pm

I can confirm that. They lie a lot. Infact, I think per car, they make a clean profit of RM100,000, benefiting and blaming the gomen for the kononnya high taxes. If they can reduce RM50,000 just like that, that alone shows how much of margin they are making. I am sure even with this diesel, they are making a huge profit but blaming the gomen again for the high taxes.

Its probably the highest profit per car in the whole world. No other car manufacturer can make a profit that much per car. So, they are blaming our high taxes supposedly. Gomen must intervene as they are screwing the public of their money.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Desperate Merc salesman, why don’t you read Paul Tan’s comment, it is the engine capacity. Good try in your nonsense, you should do better than this.

• learner on Mar 03, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Mahadev, please look at the facts before making at statements,
        malaysia tax structure is based on cc of the engine..
        if it is between 1500 ~ 1999 lower taxes
        between 2000 to diff again… 523 is a 2.5 liter engine, 520d .. less than 2.0 liter..
        So google it first, you should take out your comment

• Jason on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:58 pm

BMW diesels got ZERO resale value. Saving RM50,000 now is no big deal because when you sell your car in a couple of years time, nobody wants to buy it. All the current 530d E60 owners are facing it now.

BMW must come up with a buy back scheme like overseas ie say in 5 years time, you are given a fixed value for your car and BMW Malaysia will buy it back. If BMW Malaysia is so confident of their diesel cars, surely, they can buy it back after a given period for a fixed sum.

That is the only way to assure cusotmers.

• Merc's boss on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Euro 4 lah, ZERO resale value lah, buy back scheme lah, current E60 530d owners are all crying lah. Lame nonsense !!!. Can you guy come up with a more creative idea to compete.

• BMW F10 Fan on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:28 am

This is the work of BMW Salesman. They are so low life. When I go to showroom, they even ask me
          whether they can discuss the deal where the food and coffee is. Salesman told me “If I talk to you, then I eat the kuih
          and drink coffee also, my boss won’t mind”

Hello Salesman, the coffee and kuih are for the workshop clients lah, not for you all.

If they are this low life, I won’t be surprised the also on the page giving comments.

• Merc's boss on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:53 am

Only a low life will call others low life. Very disappointed with our salesman, who is you immediate superior, I want to have a word with him.

• Merc Boss Papa on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:08 am

Like a small boy. You pinch me, I pinch you. You steal my toy, I steal your toy. You call me low life, so you must be low life. You sound like a Std 6 pupil whose parents have no control over your Internet. Grow up Merc boss. People are fed up with your childish ways

• Merc's boss great grandpa on Mar 04, 2011 at 11:45 am

Who is childish now, …..a person start to call people low life and start to assume people is std 6 pupilor whose parents have no control over your Internet …..or…. a person talk about the fact. You better grow up and learn more about manner before start to post here.

• endre on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:06 pm

but our diesel still Euro 2

• leahlena84 on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:33 am

at least Malaysia will get euro 4 diesel by end of 2011…^^

• BMW Lust on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:48 am

Enough of all the diesel bullshit BMW. Can the BMW Malaysia MD gurantee us that if we buy this car, they will sort any issues arising from our filthy diesel in the next 7 years ie the lifetime of this model before a model change happens? Assure us that diesel damage would be repaired for free?

All the current E60 530d owners are all crying cause they have to fork our tons of money to repair their sulphur damaged diesel cars. Yes BMW Malaysia promised them 7 years ago that the car was tuned to Malaysian diesel quality and no problems would arise.

Is this another blank promise by BMW Malaysia again? Just to promote sales? We are not buying tenggiri fish in the market, we are forking out RM333,000 for this car. Its not small money.

I can understand that the government is being vague as to when clean diesel is being introduced but BMW Malaysia cannot play the chiken and egg game here. Assure customers that you will repair any damage and we will gladly buy this award winning car of yours

• ahshuy on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:04 am

we have BMW 530D still driving on the road back to 2004 when euro 2 was not even introduced yet.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Wow!! Merc’s salesman are shivering big time, keep on talking nonsense and spreading rumours. Come on you should do better than that if you want to compete.

• Mahadev on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Merc MBM is a responsible company. The E250 cdi is as good but MBM refuse to bring it down cause of the problems it will cause to the customer. BMW dont care a damn. All about making $$$$$.

Bunch of liars.

• Jason on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:50 pm

At least MBM Malaysia is responsible. The E250CDi is as good but they don’t bring it down cause it will bring lots of trouble and problems to the customer.

BMW don’t care. Its all about making $$$$. Nothing else. No resposibility. No corporate responsibility at all.

With this 520d launch futher proves that their mumbo jumbo about how they love the environment and how they want Malaysians to save fuel by using diesel was all propoganda.

• BMW Autobavaria Boss on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:15 am

BeemerFreak, you will get the promotion you deserve. This month also, you have done well in sales. Now, you are doing this. Taking your own initiative. Very good. I hope others will emulate you, especially when the new X3 is launched. I think this month, we will reach our KPI thanks to you.

• shawal on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:12 pm

All the prices for beemers and mercs have alot of 3s and 8s for example
    288,888, 388,888 , and now its 333,800 …as if they just come up with a price that shud go down well with the towkey….howabout RM 344,444…?

• tokmoh on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:04 am

Haha, quite true.

2 = sudah
      3 = makin
      8 = kaya

288,888 = sudah kayaaaaaaaaa
      388,888 = makin kayaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

:P

• Anthony, thanks. This is a SKD? Any idea which parts are assembled locally? or did the car came in one piece, and certain parts removed and reassemble here?

• sutheshkumar on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:16 am

all local Beemers are SKDs. :D

• Crazee on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:53 am

Not all local beemer are SKD, first bacth normally arrived as CBU then after a while only the SKD will roll out from the factory in Kulim.

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:34 pm

When the government will introduce cleaner diesel fuel in Malaysia? Currently it is using Euro 2 standard only. I do hope that they could act immediately to introduce Euro 4 ( at least ) for diesel fuel to encourage such high tech diesel vehicle in Malaysia, which is famous for furl economy in European country.

• Euro4 is not so soon….we’ll get the B5 Biodiesel by mid year onwards.

• redboy on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:31 am

It shows Gov is looking after P1 and P2 since non of them offers Diesel car. Period. Why Gov care about environment? Their cronies is what they care.

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:16 am

Great move by BMW M’sia! Only minor equipments were omitted from the 523i, thats incredible value for a piece of great German engineering!
    Hope we can see more high-tech diesel car here in bolehland, but only if our G could keep their words with the intro of Euro 4 fuel by 2012.

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:20 am

Great move by BMW M’sia! Only minor equipments were omitted from the 523i, thats incredible value for a piece of great German engineering!
    Hope we can see more high-tech diesel car here in bolehland, but only if our G could keep their words with the intro of Euro 4 fuel by 2012.

Btw, did any1 notice the exhaust tip is pointing straight rather than downwards like the 320d?

• Sdkguy on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:27 am

Glad to hear!! Cheapest 5-series at 330k+. So Mercedes? Anything new(E-Class) coming around tht price range huh?

• Diesel Boy on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:50 am

Buy this and watch your exhaust spit out purple smoke after one year when you feed the car with tractor quality diesel in Malaysia.

I love diesel cars, but to drive in Msia it’s a complete NO NO!

• 2cents on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:35 am

do u think BMW is stupid enough to launch the diesel engine here in m’sia if our diesel quality is not up to their standard?

Think twice! Why in the world they want their own reputation screwed?

• Diesel Boy on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:09 pm

They are not stupid. It’s just business. Check and see how small their smallest petrol power plant is on this new 5 series.

Then see how much road tax slides up between 2.0L and 3.0L! Its obvious they need to cover the 2.0L segment of the market.

• zerouzer on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:39 am

my 320d is 1year old now, the exhaust smoke is still clean

• Frankie on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Just as a data point – I drive a diesel audi and tailpipe emission still ok after two years.

• Danny on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Diesel boy, have you driven a diesel car lately? How much experience with diesel cars do you have? My 320D is 14 months old now, it still gives me a wide grin each time it pulled away from the traffic with an unfussy like manner. And no purple smoke, no black sooty smoke either.

For those who wrote here that the suphur kills the engine and so on and forth, care to elaborate WHICH part of the engine was damaged by the sulphur from our local diesel? It would be very nice to learn from these diesel gurus..

• Diesel Boy on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:49 pm

My father had the 2006 S Class diesel (two models before now) as company car. That went kaput after a year. He was going to buy a diesel jag, but the salesman, in his own words said, “tak berani bawak masuk”. Go and call sisma auto now.

In terms of experience, I drive a diesel Audi. I know how lovely a diesel car can be. But I live in the UK you poor govt apologist sods. And I’m loving it.

• Danny on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Ah, daddy’s boy. What has the government got to do with a discussion on diesel fuel compatibility? Everyone here knows of the sulphur content of Euro 2 diesel. I want to learn from the experts here about how sulphur can harm the engines. Surely those who are so ready cast doom on diesels in Malaysia know a thing or two of how they work and fail. So to these experts, come out and enlighten us ignorants.

• aroma on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Cool Danny

1) i like the way you call him daddy’s boy…..masih minum susu and growing hair

2) u might be right to mentioned that there is no proof that sulphur is harmful. But definitely one thing for sure is that high sulphur crude oil is cheaper, they r called ‘sour crude’. Low sulphur oil is call ‘sweet crude’, priced higher and catagorised as premium by the european…..i do not know the reason anyway

3) Can share with me what is the typical monthly/yearly maintenance of a 320D if the mileage is approx 30 a year ? Appreciate your info !

• Danny on Mar 03, 2011 at 1:00 am

Hi Aroma, actually all these talk about high sulphur harming modern diesel engines is confusing to me too. I took a leap of faith when I bought that 320D that has so far been problem free except of those BMW idiosyncrasies like rattling sound, trims that came off.. and so on but the engine is doing fine.

So it is with genuine hope that those who had commented here come up with some facts for those not in the know to digest. I know that in certain countries that sell Euro 4 diesels, it is compulsory by law for the diesel particulate filter (DPF) to be fitted to the cars sold there. It is a kind of device that reduces harmful emissons similar to the catalytic converter found in petrol engines, but they function differently.

These DPFs can only work with Euro 4 and better diesel. They foul and choke up easily when use with lesser quality diesel like our Euro 2M type. Since this is not a compulsory fitment yet in Malaysia, my 320D comes without it and so I don’t have to worry about choked up DPF. Google the word and you’ll get tons of info.

Another issue that I know of are clogged injectors and many Mercedes diesel CDIs sold a couple of years backed suffered from it. But one must remember that this happened when Euro 2M wasn’t launch yet and the sulphur content at that time was many times higher than 500 ppm (what we are having in our diesel fuel now). By the way Euro 4 mandates sulphur content of not more than 50 ppm. I learned all these by looking up here and elsewhere the net so I am merely just passing on the info.

I can’t answer your last question (yet!) as my car in still under BMW service program but I would assume it to be not much more than a typical petrol engine driven car. You will need to change engine oil more frequently (mine is 12K intervals) and the fuel filter. Because the car is turbocharged, there is this one more component that will need to be replaced eventually.

But what you get in return is tons of torque and a fuel consumption befitting a 1.3 litre car but performance of a 2.5 liter or more.

• Diesel Boy on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:23 am

You have to love the sweet smelling aroma of Dannys bumper to pronounce the man cool in as eminent a forum as this.

If you paid attention in school, there are two ways to support a hyphothesis. Bottoms up and top down. I presume you are more prone to the former given the need for details.

But really, who cares which part of the car goes kaput first. All you need to know is the car ain’t worth 300k scrapped. If you are lucky, a farmer in Kampuchea will buy your bangsar tractor aka X5d to pull his mesin bajak.

I thus shall reiterate, my father has had a bad experience with diesel which directly affects daddy’s boy inheritance. Jag salesman also says its no go. So for me and those who would listen I shall tell and tell ye all, do not do it.

Say tak nak to purple smoke.

PS : Danny, Aroma jangan marah ah. Nothing personal gurau sajeee

• Diesel Boy on Mar 03, 2011 at 7:42 am

If taking interest in knowing what happened to my father’s car means I’m daddy’s boy, then I will have to take it as a compliment.

The reason why govt apologists like you have to pot luck 300k of your hutang is precisely because no one in the industry is coming clean on the effects of high sulphur diesel in new diesel engines designed for ulsd.

If there is really no adverse effect, bmw, sime or whoever should come out and say it! Apa lu ingat ini case sodomy III ka nak come out pun malu-malu.

Almost everyone who drives company cars in the UK drives a diesel. Any makes. Go on autotrader.co.uk and do a search for used cars. Would it not make sense for the other marques to sell their diesels here too? Where are the mercs

• Danny on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:05 am

Diesel Boy, you made a statement about purple smoke and I related you my experience with a diesel car in Malaysia, why does that made people like me a govt apologist? What has that got to do with Euro 2 or Euro 4 fuel? Sodomy case?

We are discussing about BMW’s latest offering in Malaysia, the F10 520D. Many people made statements but fail to support it with facts, so I want them to tell us why did they say that. We live in Malaysia and that is a fact. You live in UK and that is your fact.

• Diesel Boy on Mar 04, 2011 at 1:50 am

Ok so you still want the facts.

Let me give you the FIRST fact. No one, that is no one, from BMW or SIME has released an official statement to reassure their potential customers that they’ve done their studies which shows tractor diesel is halal for sophisticated diesel engines.

SECOND fact. Read test drive reports of diesel mercs. Vendor insisted on the journo to use imported diesel from Singapore. They even went to the extent of stocking up the car’s boot with jerry cans for refuel. Strict prohibition on refuelling.

Are these not facts too? In any case, you are getting too hung up on the facts. It’s a $300k car man. They should be providing you with the facts if you need it. You shouldn’t have to go out and have to deal with people like me to look for your facts. Just walk away. Walkkkkk away.

• Diesel Boy on Mar 03, 2011 at 7:45 am

If taking interest in knowing what happened to my father’s car means I’m daddy’s boy, then I will have to take it as a compliment.

The reason why govt apologists like you have to pot luck 300k of your hutang is precisely because no one in the industry is coming clean on the effects of high sulphur diesel in new diesel engines designed for ulsd.

If there is really no adverse effect, bmw, sime or whoever should come out and say it! Apa lu ingat ini case sodomy III ka nak come out pun malu-malu.

Almost everyone who drives company cars in the UK drives a diesel. Any makes. Go on autotrader.co.uk and do a search for used cars. Would it not make sense for the other marques to sell their diesels here too? But, where are the diesel mercs, audis, jags? Do you think logistically they can’t get their cars over? No. Lu pikir la sendiri.

• Merc Boss Papa on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:18 am

Everybody has worked hard to own their luxuries. But only a saddo will tell the world how much he sweat to make things happen. Everyone has given tuition classes as well lah. Don’t blow your trumpet. Sad dude.

• BMW F10 Fan on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:29 am

Are you jealous your daddy did not give you a cent?

• BMW F10 Fan Too on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:59 am

Daddy’s boy spent his father 800k to get a mechanical engineering degree from university of liverpool, inherit his father’s business/whealth and drive a F10

I fought all my way through STPM and get into University Malaya and get my mechanical engineering degree, self financing myself by giving tuition classes while studying, started my own business and drive a F10

You mean both of us are at the same standard ? Haha you must be joking :)

• Diesel Boy on Mar 04, 2011 at 1:15 am

F10 Fan Too,

Everyone has a sappy story. Everyone works hard. Everyone has a degree. Everyone is smart. In so many ways, everyone has given ‘tuition lessons’ in their life. That’s the nature of today’s jerung eats jerung world. It’s the end result that matters. So save us the I-busted-my-balls-for-the-F10 tale la. Get a grip and move on.

Wait, let me grab that kleenex.. sniff… sniff..

So you think my degree, masters, jobs in the UK are all down to luck? If it makes you happy to think that then fine. But let me say something about luck. It’s one thing to be lucky, but it’s another thing to be clever enough to know your are lucky.

And if you must know, daddy did not pay my uni fees. But I’ll spare you the sappy story.

• Merc Boss Papa on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:16 am

BMW F10 Fan Too, you must not be that pandai to have studied STPM and after that in UM. UM is so lowly ranked. No wonder why you like to give sob story about how you worked so hard and all that. Want sympathy is it?

• BMW F10 Fan on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:37 am

I employ people in my company. Those coming out of UM and Uitm are so bad in their English and research skills. I tried to employ one or two before to fill the quota, but I had to sack them as they were too lembap. Always caught them sleeping.

I am amazed how UM grads can afford a BMW when they sleep at work.

• BMW F10 Fan on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:35 am

Danny you really sound like you work for BMW Malaysia. How many months bonus this year?

• Danny on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:52 am

Hi BMW F10 fan, no I don’t work for them, I am a fan of the marque and I used to have three of them before selling the Z4 last year. Apart from the 320D, I have an ageing E60 525i that I am replacing with a Merc W212 on this coming 3rd quarter. No F10 for me, the looks doesn’t really swing for me.

As for bonus, I’m afraid I am the one partly contributing.

I also own another turbo-diesel Toyota Landcruiser that I use for overland trips. So far I have been spared from that ‘dreaded’ sulphur problem that many are writing here. Yes, I am an oil burner fan, if that’s what you are thinking.

What about you? Do you drive one? Share your experience if you do. Cheers!

• Merc's boss on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:48 am

Wow!! you are very technical and with good logic, I am disappointed with our salesman, only talk nonsense and act like a daddy’s boy.

• Diesel Boy on Mar 04, 2011 at 1:21 am

Listen Merc’s boss. Don’t be disheartened. Two of the easiest jobs in the world.

1) BMW salesman
          2) Merc salesman.

You just stand there and people will come and buy. So don’t be disappointed with your guys. Even daddy’s boy can do the sales.

Hardest job in the world,

1) Selling the Proton Toaster van (Can’t recall what it’s called)

• Merc Boss Papa on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:20 am

I think people here are jealous you studied in the UK and they had no choice but to study in UM. I studied in the UK and I know, its pure hard work. Unlike in UM, just open leg also can pass your paper.

• Merc's boss great grandpa on Mar 04, 2011 at 11:39 am

Why all these Merc salesman only know how to talk nonsense and personal attack, Jealous lah, low life lah , open leg lah. So studied in the UK and comeback here talk like a nincompoop. You must be study in ‘wild chicken university in UK’.

• Gajen on Mar 04, 2011 at 12:18 pm

After reading all the posts, my finding are:
            Danny, you are technically sounds and steady. And Diesel Boy sounds like a spoiled brat and talking big. Now I have to seriously reconsider my plan to further study in UK, may be I will go to USA instead.

• 5.2l/100km = 19.2km/L!!!

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:35 am

i think it is not only the cheapest but also most economical while not sacrificing performance. believe me the 2.0d from BMW (and many euro makes now) are nothing similar to the 2.0 diesel engine that powered the Proton 420TDI aka Wira turbodiesel euro from the 90s.

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:37 am

More interesting is this Diesel sprints to 100 quicker than the 523i

So its cheaper, more frugal and more powerful than the petrol variant…. nice.

• ray_jay on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:46 am

My boss owns the last two edition of 5 series… but he skips this incarnation
    bcoz the front fascia is simply too bland.

• lchan on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:02 am

finally a 5 series with a price that makes sense!

• vw_fan on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:04 am

nice effort from BMW with this car and price. such a pity that our diesel quality is so poor. i wouldnt dare buy this no matter what BMW claims about diesel compatibility. so many horror stories. otherwise this car will be a cracker to drive.

• insperut on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:20 am

nice!!
    really grateful (not on the pricing lar, rakyat marhaen only maa)

more n more diesel cars shud be introduce here!!
    http://paultan.org/2011/01/24/euro-4m-petrol-and-diesel-to-be-announced-in-malaysia-before-year-end-b5-biodiesel-in-june/

• aroma on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:56 am

Anybody can advise on the monthly/yearly maintenance cost of this car ? Appreciate your info !

• redboy on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:28 am

the previous 523 model price is much cheaper than this F10. BMW jacked up the price so much that even though Euro is low, the price is so high. 523 once sold at RM300K for pre-req! damn BMW.

• i dunt think the idea to set the price as such came from BMW.. no company would like to take for granted to sell their product with such a ridiculous price. i do believe dat BMW is always try to sell their car with the price tag as lowest as they can but after it comes with the taxes issue, they can do nothing rite? so to me, the blame is only shuld be put on our bolehland’s admins rather than the company’s admins.

• Danny on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:31 am

I got my E36 328i for RM150+k in 1996, my E46 325i for 230+k in 2001 and my present E90 320D for 230+k in 2009. An E90 325i now list for 309K but with timing and shrewd bargaining, you’ll get it for a “bargain” RM270+k…

It is a testimony of BMW’s propaganda and advertisement power that people consider an F10 520D at RM333K is reasonable. Frankly I am disappointed that BMW costs so much nowadays but I love the DNA of that car, so I’d be even more disappointed if I didn’t get it.

• Jimmy on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:57 am

Wow, very very reasonable price for a BMW 5. How can they make it?

• Paul Tan on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:59 am

I suspect alot of it has to do with the engine capacity being under 2000cc in size which drops it one bracket lower in terms of whatever duty.

• Jason on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Yes but the EU and UK price is also higher than the 523i. So how?

• BeemerFreak on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:00 pm

You think EU and UK has a same NAP like Malaysia, How old are you?

• BeemerFreak on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Eh dont copy my nickname………. already using it for some time already… surely before u maybe i give u a new name, bimmerfreak……..

• Diesel Boy on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Also remember the Euro has depreciated markedly vs RM.

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Not bad being priced at such a competitive price. However I myself am still skeptical about our quality of diesel in Malaysia. That is why Mercedes are not importing their diesel models at all as they’re more conservative. And I suspect that the power output of these cars would be lower if they were tuned for our diesel.

• rossi46 on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Guys …those who own focus tdci/santa fe crdi/320d..any diesel …. pls comments on your experience wt our euro2 diesel…

• Dieselhead H3@530d, 2.0tdci, LR2td5 on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Rossi, I have all models after the @. Been using the LR2td5 since 2004, the problems are the usual LR related problems which has nothing to do with diesel quality problems or the BMW sourced diesel engine on it. The Focus tdci, that I have since early 2011 – absolute point and shoot car after remap (420 Nm torque), and absolutely fabulous on Malaysian Chap Ayam Diesel… 5.8lit/100km

• ckengyo on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:06 pm

well, not all diesel the same in boleh land. try 2 spot the not so bad one. every top of the diesel pump there r a small round window. if the diesel is clear as water, is usually not so bad 1. 1 of the foreign brand mostly have clear color diesel. if the window show light brown or like tea color, then is definitely worst 1. the color resemble the sulfuric content inside. the less the clear like water. the more the darker like tea. of cos not dark brown i’m talking. now, u know y same standard but diff result in boleh land.

• HirumaKecil on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:13 pm

I still think that E60 is looking better than this one… this one is the third best looking 5 series after E60 and E36…

• HirumaKecil on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:15 pm

E60 and E34 was more beautiful than this one..

• tishaban on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Malaysian petrol is Euro 2 standard
    Malaysian diesel is Euro 2 standard

Europe uses Euro 5 standards for both.

Yet people are worried about diesel cars but not worried about petrol cars.

Is there a valid explanation for this aside from misinformation?

• i am genuinely interested to know real feedback from Diesel owners of Merc or BMW in M’sia… do u have to change fuel filter regularly to avoid engine problem or is there nothign u cand o to avoid problems? How about Toyota or Ford pickup trucks? Aren’t they diesel? What sort of filter or maintenance that need to be done on those pickup trucks?

• Danny on Mar 04, 2011 at 12:00 am

Hi DD, I changed the fuel filter of my turbodiesel Toyota Landcruiser recently. The manual says change every 40k (km) but I replaced it at 25K. It cost me approx RM60 from the parts shop. With cleaner fuel it should last longer, I think.

Previously the local diesel sulphur content is something like 3,000 ppm and that came down to 500 ppm with the introduction of the Euro 2M. In the old days, owners would send their mechanical injectors for ultrasonic cleaning and fuel pump for rebuilding and recalibrating. You know you need that appointment with the mechanic when JPJ ask you to pull over for black smoke..

With electronic fuel management and precision fuel metering, black sooty exhaust that we usually see in the past has been greatly reduced. For modern diesel engines, my humble opinion is to look out for faulty or clogged injectors. Depending on makes, they can be rather costly to replace if cleaning doesn’t bring back the spray pattern. Each cylinder has one so you multiply the cost of one with the number of cylinders of your motor, x5 in the case of a W211 E270CDI, x6 for the E60 530D.

Other expensive items to look out for are the fuel pump and turbo charger. But the petrol engines have these to look out for too. Another potentially expensive replacement part is the diesel particle filter but this is only fitted to cars coming from countries that enforce this rule. BMW diesel cars coming into Malaysia do not have this filter and are optimized to run without it. So we have one less problem to worry about. Not sure about Mercedes Benz though.

But for those who are looking for parallel imports of diesel BMW X5, F10 530D, Porsche Cayenne or Merc E270 CDI beware! By law, UK and Japan spec’d diesel cars come with this DPF attached to the muffler system. Removing the DPF from a diesel engine without a proper remapping of the ECU may have serious consequences to the engine as a whole. I found this out through some correspondences with diesel tuners in UK as I was keen on getting an X5 through a relative returning from UK.

Apart from the above, I cannot think of any other serious issues weighing against the use of a diesel car in Malaysia today. But I may be wrong so for those in the know out there, kindly share your knowledge and experiences for the benefit of everyone here. Many have in good intention advise to stay away but failed to mention why. My current E90 320D trip computer reads 7.8L/100 km against my former E46 325i’s 11.0L/100km under same road conditions.

The savings I reaped is as real as it gets..

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 03, 2011 at 6:06 am

I guess most problems with the BMW diesel vehicle are known by now after it has been introduced for more than five years. No big issues. It is a good car with surprising good price too. But I would grade AB service bad (don’t care attitude) and not experience solving problem based on my service records. Besides price, to me the decision is unlimited warranty and 5 years as an assurance. Else, get it somewhere.

• Speed Racer on Mar 04, 2011 at 10:25 pm

damn funny la u all comment till

• moon-spell on Mar 05, 2011 at 8:56 am

Hi guys,
    does anyone know what’s the duty free price for this 520d.. ie in langkawi..?

Thanks!

• dpillai on Mar 06, 2011 at 9:14 am

I hope when BMW Malaysia bring in the new 2.0T petrol engine to Msia ( which most probably be in the form of a F10 528i ) it will be priced new the 520d ie RM333k, as the tax structure for the 2.0d should be the same for the 2.0T.

Similarly when BMW Msia brings in the F30 328i (after it is launched), I hope that its pricing is nearer to the 320d at RM255k rather the 325’s RM308k.

For a very long time, we have been paying absurd prices for our cars and BMW Msia has now the opportunity to allow more of us to enjoy this spectacular brand.

Aggresive pricing can also kill off the competition from grey importers and increase sales..

• Danny on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Not likely dpillai, just look at the premium commanded by a W212 E250 CGI over the E200 CGI. The previous E60 523i shares the same engine as the 525i except for different fuel mapping and intake parts. Yet the prices are vastly different even if you factor in the Msport accessories and navigation computer.

You can expect all major car makers to adopt this marketing strategy in future. Cars in Malaysia are expensive because of reasons that we all already knew. It also didn’t help when our currency is weak against currencies of all major car makers.

Aggresive pricing can only come about with competition, even from grey or parallel imports. Walk into Harvey Norman and look at the wide array and choices of flat panel tv’s, laptops, cameras and what others. So why not cars too? That should be the basic right of every Malaysians.

Competition breeds excellence and weeds out the incompetents. I am all for parallel importers even if I do not buy from them.

• redboy on Mar 06, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Cant wait the Euro4 Diesel to be launched, since it will sure generate lots of interest after reading all the “discussion” of UK vs Msia.
    This is sure my next target car once the Euro4 is (IF) launched 2012.

• Petrol=dead organisms on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:26 pm

LOLOL DieselBoy, got me larfing heartily

• Nathan. on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:48 am

I was just wondering, using the RON 95 what is the millage given with one full tank? for e60 525i?

• Guys, quit arguing and start buying the 520D then you’ll know the difference. I owned one and it is magnifique. Mercs is always the no 1 full of BS.

Kisses,
    Fifi

• Dieselhead H3@530d, 2.0tdci, LR2td5 on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:39 pm

yes, yes…. buy any D is good. Don’t get just one, get two and its a double D. Hehehehe….. I have 3 Ds at home since 2004!

• walter on Jun 02, 2012 at 9:20 pm

All, I just bought the 520d last month. What i can say is ‘No regret’ for this car. RM100 is enought for me to a round trip Penang to KL. For the maintainance if it 5 year warranty i think this will be the perfect car in this range…..