Chevrolet Cruze 2.0 LTZ Diesel available in Thailand – could it come to Malaysia?

A 2.0 litre Chevrolet Cruze is available up north in our neighbor Thailand, and it’s an oil burner! The new Chevrolet Cruze 2.0 is powered by a 2.0 litre VCDI diesel commonrail engine with a variable geometry turbocharger.

There are actually two 2.0 litre diesel engines that have been put in the Cruze. The first was a 1,991cc engine that made about 150 horses and 320 Nm of torque, which is similar to the unit found in the Captiva. There is also a new second generation engine with a displacement of 1,998cc that makes 163 PS and 360 Nm of torque from just 2,000 rpm.

The 1,991cc engine is used in the Thailand Cruze diesel for now, as revealed by the Thai brochure, but both have appealing output numbers. I do know that the diesel engine is built in Thailand itself, at a new US$445 million diesel engine plant. Could a Cruze Diesel join the ranks of Chevrolet Malaysia’s offerings? I hope so!

It would certainly have its appeal to the Malaysian carbuyer wishing to explore the wonders of diesel power, where you get both mad torque and fuel economy at the same time, but are currently pretty much limited to just one car with an affordable price tag – the Focus TDCi.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nice.

Side view, look like BMW.

• huh.. like BMW? Which parts?

is not bad since having more and more choice of the diesel cars.
      wanna ask that is our Euro2 diesel suit to the all diesel car??

• redboy on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:04 pm

the 4 tyres and 1 wheel is same like BMW :P

• DonkeyKong on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:19 pm

The character line and the doors

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Euro 2 diesel is a problem I believe. But this can be done by adding in more layer of diesel fuel filter and cut short the design lifespan between changing interval. For example by adding in two layer ( in series ) and also cut short the service life from 40000km to 20000km. They do this on all imported Euro 4 Mercedes, Renault truck and it works well in Malaysian environment.

To me, personally of course I urge gov to introduce euro 4 diesel immediately. Never be too narrow minded for this matter as The two national car, stupid and mouse doesn’t manufacturer diesel cars..

• Current Euro2 will work with any Euro4 compliant cars… my Triton and Kangoo no problems. Just ensure u change the diesel filter every 40000km. Previously on Euro1, I had to change the filter every 20000km.

Euro2 is not as clean as Euro4 but it is much better than Euro1.

If G introduce Euro4, expect price to be higher. In Thailand, I paid RM 3.10/L last month for Euro4 diesel. But, surprisingly… despite unstable fuel prices there, prices of essential goods are cheaper than here!

• jalan54 on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Really hope that this will be in Malaysia with the affordable price tag. But it seems like Naza quite reluctant on getting in diesel cars thanks to our “dirty” diesel here in Malaysia.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Probably true, but the Chevy Captiva diesel sells quite well, though I see them occasionally burping out grey smoke when accelerating, thanks to Malaysia’s lousy diesel fuel quality

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:38 pm

I think they are afraid that their profit will become lose in the end due to the warranty which needed to compensate the buyer, due to dirty diesel fuel which is beyond their control.

• messi on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Proton should join venture with them and produce the efficient Diesel engine. No point to introduce a good diesel engine with a high price tag in bolehland. Anything above 90k will put buyers off.

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Hope so. I dont think they can do it besides being a stupid national car. R & D team are sucks inside there. What can they do besides buying old and outdated copy rights from other manufacturer such as Mitsubishi and etc, then rebadge and manufacture them and sell under close and protected market.

Why after twenty years, still cant survive in the real world, function like a big baby who can’t live without relying on “breast feeding” by the mum even already twenty years old?

• toroto on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Last time in S’pore, but now de car models offering in Thailand is also even better than M’sia here. Everything is possible if M’sia has up-to-date diesel & petrol grade. It’s funny that M’sia as premium petroleum exporter but dun hv up-to-date or good petroleum refinery…

• tikus on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:48 pm

We r using subsidise fuel so that our G give u cheapo fuel. RM1.90 is the cheapest in SEA mah.

• tishaban on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:40 pm

If we can have subsidized RON95 and unsubsidized RON97 petrol, why can’t the govt mandate subsidized Euro2 and unsubsidized Euro4 diesel? Even at regular market price, Euro4 diesel cost per km is the same as RON95 petrol.

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:44 pm

They are trying to cut down subsidy on petrol, in fact this is something they grabbed from you from the excise and sales taxes you paid when you puchase a car. For example something such as Chevrolet Cruze, if yiou study the tax structure regulated by NAP properly. The estimated tax amount shall be around 50k. If let say in average they subsidize RM1 for each liter of diesel fuel, and the car consumption is at 10L/100km ( combined cycle; shall be less than that for this car ), Then you need to use up to 50000L of diesel, which may be up to 500,000km ( five hundred thousand kilometer ); how long you take to finish that?

If you can’t finish it, that means your payment already being “confiscated ” ; now how? Where is the interest or capital gain throughout that period of time? It happen that most of the people around the country cant achieve that usage. So, are they subsidize the fuel? Up to you to think..

• tikus on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:09 am

We all know that G is tipu us all the time and we do nothing. Change them lar..

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Wish that every body realise this. Otherwise it is hard with our own power.

• anakSarawak on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:27 pm

I wonder why here we cant have these small diesel cars….????? Are we being denied our choice of fuel or what?

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Government banned them to be brought in as they will create competition with national car once they are on the market. Thus cut down national car ( stupid and mouse ) market share..

• 360Nm torque for such a car!
    this one will not just kick ass, but kick FACE as well.
    hope the price is competitive to Ford.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:22 pm

With that kind of torque, hopefully they have a tall-ratio 6-speed box that helps the car do 110km/h at 1200rpm. It’s not impossible, with all the gobs of torque!

• carlocaraddict on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:58 pm

it could be available in Malaysia. Its already available here in the Philippines.

• harry on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:33 pm

Hi Paul , any updates on Chevrolet cruze SE, lately on the newspaper?

• Kelvin on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Cruze is really an exotic car. Till now I haven’t seen one on the road yet. How come???

• not many.
      very nice ergonomic and comfortable car (vs Focus).
      but the engine does not deliver the power as needed (delayed). so not really fun though.

• HirumaKecil on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Majlis Fatwa Ramai yg tanya, bolehkah orang islam guna kereta chevrolet?? Ada ustaz jawab macam ni—> Jika ia bukan lambang salib, tapi hanya dirasakan sebagai salib hasil imaginasi sendiri, maka tiada masalah untuk memakainya, contohnya seperti kereta Chevrolet. Lambang kereta ini, seseorang individu mungkin menganggapnya sebagai salib namun jika dilihat di forum ini, penganut Kristian merasakan lambang Chevrolet itu adalah anti-kristian dan bukannya pro kristian. Apapun, jika seseorang itu secara tidak dapat dikawal sentiasa terbayang merasakan ia lambang salib, tatkala itu, elok ia dijauhi juga. Namun, dalam konteks biasa, logo kereta tersebut bukanlah salib.

So rasanya boleh la kan….

• DonkeyKong on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Not this stupid Dark Ages BS again..

• HirumaKecil on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Actually i’m just explaining about this issue… When i talk about this brand with my friends, this is the question that always been ask… I just want people be more clear about this.. For non muslim maybe this is not an issue, but for muslim, this is a big issue.. for example, as a muslin we cannot wear any cloth that have Christians symbol like brazil jersey, spain jersey… I also have spain jersey, but already i take the symbol out… you maybe said that this is dark ages or what, but u must understand this is religion… for muslim, if you know about this and you still do it, then you will get a sin for that… religion cannot be easily change…. ideology maybe can, but religion??? What i want to say here is, muslim people no need to worry about to buy this car, because……

• huiyoo on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:41 am

just change the logos if u still worry. g

• this things very important to muslim, non muslim doesnt understand these,x kan nak tunggu kat padang mahsyar baru nak sedar

• bring it on, more diesel car choices for msian! More msian will finally realise that best fc car are not those vios,city,altis,civic,slyphy. . .compared to these diesel, the japs are just fuel guzzling petrols

• J@Ck LIM on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:52 pm

No point for it in Malaysia…
    our diesel … suck!

• gonggok on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Diesel standards in Malaysia has nothing to do with the cars being available or not. After all companies like Ford, BMW, Mercedes, Volvo sell diesel cars in Malaysia with full warranties.

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Our diesel are really sucks! Filter system needs double layer, or even triple layer, as what I explained before. Especially for those vehicles with Advanced Euro version ( diesel ).

In order to compromise with this, Those importer de-tune the engine in order to reduce the maintenance. For example cut down the output horsepower as well as the output torque.

So polluted diesel are being banned in advanced country. High sulfur dioxide and nitrogen dioxide is being release into the air. So environmental unfriendly!! Not even caring for the future..

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:17 pm

ugly back

• Gavin on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:40 pm

The aussies love this car esp. the diesel

http://www.caradvice.com.au/110994/holden-cruze-sri-sri-v-1-4iti-manauto-and-cruze-cd-diesel-manual-transmission-review/

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Naza… bring it here! Its a good car, but the current petrol lump is a let down. This diesel version would make it desireable…

• malaysians can’t accept CHEVY brand yet … period.

• gogo2 on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:22 am

Actually Malaysia cannot accept other car except Toyota and Honda and also cannot accept diesel.

But seems like we’re slowly accepting Kia Forte because the design is good. Also because Honda design is getting worse. Example is Civic 2012.

• squawk on Mar 25, 2011 at 1:24 pm

The old Chevys sold quite well last time. Not fantastic but there were quite a number on the road, even before they started that fire sale.

• squawk on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:15 am

Yes, they should bring in the diesel model and give Focus TDCi a fight. Right now Focus doesn’t have any competitors (forget the hybrids).

But more importantly they should find out why their petrol version isn’t selling. Looks? Performance?

• burn1892 on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:39 pm

chevrolet 3S service center in Penang (the big sg.pinang branch) is CLOSING DOWN COZ OF VERY LOW SALES and it’s according to the branch manager :(

• Norman on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Singapore used to have 2 service ctr but currently its only one.Problem is Chevy is USA brand but assemble in Korea with collaboration with Daewoo and Daewoo is famous for eating fuel engine thats one of the reason sales is bad..Only those 2500cc above is purely USA assemble.

• burn1892 on Mar 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm

yes i have a optra 1.8 so i very well understand that…thx anyway broo

• Norman on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Turbodiesel i like it very much due to numerous car renting when i was in europe for holidays.Imagine a normal 1.8 sedan car with 6 on board got no problem of sluggish from standstill till 100kmh?Fuel consumption also superb.Engine Euro 3 above..Less polution but there always pro n cons.Turbodiesel so called glow plugs always wear faster,RPM above 5000rpm car tend to sluggish.Speedo inaccurate compared to petrol sibling.I’ve tried the Seat Cordoba 1.6 turbodiesel with its petrol cousin side by side.My speedo show 130kmh while the petrol only show 115kmh..

• camel trophy on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:36 pm

i like boxy design car like waja, cruze, like that. dont like curvy like vios, elantra.