Chevrolet Cruze Special Edition: 300 units, from RM97,888

Naza Quest is making available this Chevrolet Cruze Special Edition, which is limited to 300 units. Based on the standard Cruze 1.8 LT, the Special Edition adds on meaner styling and bigger wheels, and is priced “from just RM97,888”, which is the basic selling price (excluding OTR costs and insurance) for the standard car. But since there’s a “from” in there, we’re guessing that the final price will be higher if one opts for the full package.

What you get is a custom bodykit that includes a more aggressive front bumper which emphasises the air intakes, side skirts and a rear bumper with a diffuser style element. There are two cutouts for exhaust pipes, but from the pic, we can see that only one side (left) has an actual tip. There’s also a bootlid spoiler, LED wing mirror repeaters and door visors.

The bigger wheels are a major difference. This SE has 18-inch wheels wrapped with Falken tyres that replaces the standard Cruze’s 16-inch items. While they look good, there’s bound to be some trade off in ride comfort and performance. Speaking of that, there are no changes to the 140 hp 1.8-litre Ecotec/6-speed auto drivetrain combo.

Inside, the Cruze SE comes with leather seats with red stitching and scuff plates that feature an illuminated Cruze logo. We weren’t supplied a cabin pic, so I guess that you’ll have to head to the showroom to see the interior. By the way, this Special Edition supposedly pays homage to the Cruze WTCC car, which won the Manufacturers’ title for Chevy and the Drivers’ title for Yvan Muller in 2010.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ben yap on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:45 pm

nicely dressed up. i like the rims.

• nightkidz on Jun 10, 2011 at 11:08 am

you want i can sell you the rim with tire hahahhahahahhahahaha

• jalan54 on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:45 pm

18-inch wheels with this 1.8 Ecotec engine? The car is already under power with 16-inch wheels, so imagine with 18-inch. It looks nice, but with this engine, it is just nonsense.

My brother has to tune the engine up with the original 16-inch wheels, I really can’t imagine how what is it like with this 18-inch wheels like.

Wonder why they never bring in the 1.4 turbo version.

• Lonely Driver on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Just wondering is your bro having any complaint on this car beside the power. It have few feedback from the owner and they seems have many to complaint.

• someone on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:15 am

So far so good, nothing much to complaint about after he tune up the engine output. So if you are planning to get one, then you have to take the risk of the second hand value. Also my brother heard that the durability of the gearbox is not so good, so you have to take extra care to the gearbox.

For me I’m more to Kia forte if compare to cruze.

• Vincent on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:44 am

I tested both Cruze and Forte.

To me, if one is looking for handling, rise experiense, safety of travel long distant, not changing the car in next 5 years, cruze should be the choice.

• turbocharged on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:32 am

er…looking at your reason, is there a single reason to get Forte then?

Looking for bad handling, bad ride experience, no satefy of travel long distant, change car after 10 years, then should get forte? lol. or is it Tata Nano? lol

• Vincent on Apr 01, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Don’t say like that lar…

For those who consider Vios, City, forte still a better choice…if they worry about high maintenance cost of Cruze…

• vincent u like it so much, buy it!!!

• Nice car. Naza? no good.

• me too… wanted to buy but Naza? nah… too many complaints liao.

• sick&tired on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:06 am

i have personally dealt with chevrolet sc before (the main one in PJ) and the service there has been very good. The Cruze is a good looking car, and the bodykit does enhance the look. I have seen a red one with bodykit, looks freaking awesome. Would definitely take the cruze over the inspira!

• Nakal on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Perodua can learn a lot from this. Additional equipment with no price added

• lalazhai on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:00 pm

looks cool.

300 units? well, i’ll wait till this year end to grab the leftover with some discounts ^^

• 18″ is overkill, even civic 2.0 is only using 17″ stock,
    looks nice, try go genting with 4 adults, that’s the benchmark …

bringing the basic stock car down to 88K will garner more buyers.

• jackson on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:06 pm

does this WTCC special edition come in other color other than white?

• LandCruizerzz on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:21 pm

The reason to add in bigger wheel size and low profile tyres is to enhance the stability and handing precision. But with only 140hp, it is just over killing the wheels and tires.

I must say that the only factory spec car with 18″ wheel that does its job, is the 155hp Mitsu Lancer GT 2.0, perfect cornering performance.

• waterman on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:34 pm

is this bodykit exactly look like the singapore SS version?
      great they need to pay additional RM12k to get it.. malaysia get it free!
      wonderful!

• jalan54 on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:21 am

Handling and stability of the car is good with 16-inch wheels as what my brother have with the car now, it doesn’t have to be 18-inch. I know because I drove it before.

18-inch low profile is good when you are in high speed, but then since the car is already under power, why 18-inch wheels? Unless they’ve already know every single person that buy this car is going to do ECU tuning. But then, warranty will be voided if they do so.

• Vincent on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:49 am

ECU tuning can make the 140 hp to what level ah?

• jalan54 on Apr 01, 2011 at 5:27 pm

The car doesn’t have 140 hp when my brother first get the car (The guys who tune the car show him the stock result). It is only around 120++.

After changing some hardware, like the K&N filter, exhaust plus ecu tuning he gets about 150hp.

• How much ur brother totally spend in tune up hp and the ecu,exhaust.coz I consider to buy cruse se,but only 1.8 cc 18 inch rim really can push up the power!pls introduce me to the work shop,I need upgrade my cruse se with powerfull,

• Afiq Matkhir on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Just grab what they give us,and then u can change to Kancil’s sportrim laa :)

• Notoriez on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:29 am

I believed the bigger tyre it is much more clumsy the handling would be in the corners unless the car have more than enough torque to pull the wheels. No doubt in straight lines it would be much more stable but not in corners

• LandCruizerzz on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:27 am

bigger wheels normally comes with wider width & lower profile tyre, that increases the contact area with road surface, and also tyre roll respectively. So better griping power will give a better cornering performance.

• bobdbilder on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Um… every roadie cyclist knows that the bigger the contact area, the bigger the rolling resistance.

In a hard corner, you will lose traction on one of your tyres. The balance of a car throughout a corner changes according to different phases of that corner. Its not just the rubbers. A communicative car chassis and your familiarity with the car, would enable you to feel the changes in that traction.

• Just as i expect “NOT SELLABLE”

Instead of reduce price, they add more things.

Wait till end of the year SURE price drop to “Scrap Value” just like the Aveo.

:-) :-) ;-)

1.8 Cruze more expensive than 2.0 Forte from the same distributor, how to sale ?

Stupid Marketing Stratergy.

• philip on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:33 pm

the modifications – are they factory fitted or done locally by naza?

• Fat crony... on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:36 pm

speechless…optra 1.8LT under power…now this junk + 18 inch rims no eye see…come on lah! 1.4 turbo please!

• mayor on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:26 am

There is nothing wrong with my Optra 1.8 LT. If you want a sprint test with your CIVIC 1.8 i am more than happy to meet up. Where do you get you facts from brother? You own one is it?

• Aipokovot on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:49 pm

low resell value
    difficult to get sparepart
    not many service centre

• jalan54 on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:25 am

Then you should go buy T or H. Please don’t bother looking into other cars.

• theanswer on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:04 am

luckily big chevy sc is just nearby my house in bangi. heheheh.

• Cowabunga! on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:56 pm

IF only the bodykit carried it’s meaning for a more sprinting machine…otherwise….whyyyyyy…..

• Pity if Naza still can’t handle the Chevy brand name. Anytime, l’ll choose Chevy Sonic (newest Aveo) over Myvi or new Chevy Beat over Viva.

Perhaps, Naza should use turbodiesel engine to entice new buyers?

• jalan54 on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:28 am

Naza is quite reluctant on bringing in diesel engine cars, due to the “dirty” diesel selling here in Malaysia.

What a joke, country that produce petroleum, sell “dirty” diesel to their own people. haha…

• theanswer on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:35 am

agree..not really a ‘rakyat didahulukan pencapaian diutamakan’ rite?

• but they brought in the cevy captiva 2.0 diesel???….same engine wt the cruze 2.0 diesel…so why don’t they bring that?

• Joker The Great on Mar 31, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Heard that petrol will increase 20 cents for 95 and 97 after 12am..
    don’t know accurate or not..

• Vincent on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:56 am

No news ler… Now already 1st Apr…you kena April fool lior…

• akupunya on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:01 pm

please put a high quality to chevvy brand in Malaysia.
    Chevrolet is a good car, but why in Malaysia chevyy look so ‘tired’ to survive.

low resales value, low spare parts and 3S center are the main reason why chevvy also suzuki cannot do well in Malaysia.

PLEASE MAKE SOMETHING TO GIVE MORE VARIETY OF SEDAN CAR IN MALAYSIAN MARKET. Honda, Toyota?? pleasee…..give another way to other brands…

• K3VET on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:20 pm

nice taillamp..look 70% civic taillamp…

• Carl Wong on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:39 pm

What about the Volt? Is it coming here at all and at around what cost?

• Zahar Zain on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:28 pm

hmm….OTT….all show, no go…..

• Georgie on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:31 pm

How come if this car is fitted to an 18″ rims people keep complaining, but when local cars fitted with 17″ or more people will say “so damn cun lor’? I don’t see local cars have more than 125bhp at stock but they still modify their rims to such ridiculous sizes. Even city at 120bhp also looks great on 17” doesn’t even feel that underpowered.
    Can’t afford it then say so la…

• scoobylution on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:10 am

because that’s not a factory fitted la..owners put on their own.

• redboy on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:44 pm

How come no one said its non-Halal? oh, i forget, its from NAZA! some people just close one eye as long its the cronies involved. I wont be surprise the dealership goes elsewhere since the Forte is rising, and they probably wont spend any effort to this american product. The American got conned this time that they believe Naza can deliver for them here…too bad.

• more transformers looking now! :D

• l3ryan on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:56 pm

a perfect example of “all Show and no Go”

• Whatever on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:31 am

Bring in the camaro to kill all the japanese car here

• ugly lousy chevy

• Hammerclaw69 on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:29 am

Saw this on the road yest :) Awesome!! Meaner look! :)

• most ppl look for long term budget, changing 18″ low profile tires will cost you around RM3-4K, almost 4-5% of the total car value !!
    and 18″ don’t last as long, more frequent tire changes expected.

• Is it safe to say Satria Neo R3 will tapau this car with its extra 5 horsepower?

• theanswer on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:06 am

lol~ it is a different car lah..one is sports tuned hatchback..one is normal sedan. of course neo will tapau this car especially on winding road. even normal neo can tapau.

• bobdbilder on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:02 pm

If it is the 2011 R3; Yes you are safe to say it. Its not just the power, its also the torque and weight. Coz this model is weighted down by all that questionable bodykit and bigger wheels. It would be ok if people buy it just for cosmetic purposes. It would be better in the WTCC colors won’t it?

• apexg2 on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:44 am

even the standard car also hard to sell, why this?

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:32 am

Nice car with nice price tag. But not Good repute Badge!! Chervolet having the same footstep as korean car maker come across before. Now is tough competition time for car maker to compete. Hoping US car maker name will slowly get popular in our country. The other way, congratulate to Kia and Hyundai has now become strong competitor to Japanese made T&H!!

• sam620 on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:42 am

3 weeks ago roadshow in Mid Valley, this SE is 115,888, normal version is 97,888

how come now SE become normal price?

how now the normal Cruze

• sam620 on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:44 am

it’s should be 115,888

• nebula87 on Apr 01, 2011 at 3:42 pm

OMG…this bodykit is so forte~~

• Heart Broken on Apr 01, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Pathetic… absolutely absurb…. I bought the normal Cruze back in Nov last year and there were not even a single news bout bringing in the SE model….Plus, it’s the selling price now is the same as the normal model… and comes with leather seat, full bodykits, and 18″ rims… really farked up…. disappointed… heart broken…

• Normal is better and look exclusive, compare SE is more like street car lol,

• Afieq on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:37 am

have seen this in person,still ugly :)

• Forte Lovers! on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Guys!!!Check out the rear view picture!! i can see the water engine water on the floor!! Hahahahah bad photoshoot!!!

• GOUGOUKING on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:29 am

i bought this car last year, really a good car with the cost less than 100k,
    but my experience told me that the new 18 sport rim may cause the front tire to break easily on its sides. is very dangerous. my brother got a kia optima novus addition,same thing happen. pls pay attention to this problem.

• Orang Minyak on Apr 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Very Good Looking….

• lorong 3 on May 16, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Guys how bout chevrolet cruise se compare with peugeot 308T?

• banyak komen beli tak jugak…

• mimi saira on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:54 pm

dis car look so smart.., but a bit look alike my ayah honda accord. but it look better than accord since the size is smaller..wish i already work so i am capable to buy it wif my own money…sighhhh

• lawlee on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:14 am

i thought got 2.0 .. izzit malaysia only got 1.8 litre ..?

• Amala singh on Dec 02, 2022 at 10:35 pm

Amalasingh (indian Army,) chevrolet cruze driving nice most of Kuwait people
    Also liking chevrolet cars
    Thanking very much