RON97 up by 20 sen tomorrow to RM2.70 a litre

RON97 up by 20 sen tomorrow to RM2.70 a litreWell, according to a report, the pump price for RON97 petrol is to be hiked by 20 sen a litre effective midnight, bringing it back to the RM2.70 per litre mark.

This makes it the fourth increase in four months for RON97, which has its price determined by a market float, with the jump to RM2.30 on December 1 last year followed by a 10 sen increase to RM2.40 per litre on January 5 and another 10 sen to RM2.50 on February 1.

The report in The Malaysian Insider quotes that an industry source said that the confirmation notice was sent out this evening about the 20 sen rise. No surprise with the hike happening, given that the price of crude oil has rocketed of late.

Update: It’s confirmed that the pricing of RON95 will remain unchanged at RM1.90 per litre – RON95 and diesel were last hiked on December 4 last year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• cts6262 on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:16 pm

WTF, is it Malaysia out of oil. Why keep on rising???

• malaysian oil will run out on 2015.. even now we are importing about 65% of oil.. our oil production is 400K barrel per day, and we sell it about 200K barrel BUT, malaysia daily usage is more than our production.. we have 27 millions people, and about 2million car+motobike are refulling daily.. that was not include the another 2million car and motorbike thats was keep at home, mostly was our second car.. 400k barrel is not enough for 6-8million car+motorbike+bus+lorries.. plis realize that.. people thought malaysian have plenty oil like arab country, who can give free oil to their people, even give allowance to their unemployed people.. arab will never run out of oil(just a phrase, actually their oil will finish around year 2060-2080..)..

• Super Boi on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Hmmm all this while I thought our high quality crude exported and we are using refined cheaper sour crude?

Have stopped using 97 so long ago so no feeling this time around.

• maaajeeedaaa on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:53 pm

these are all bullsh*t….all the oil depletion theory are just words created by the freemason….if people can engineered synthetic engine oil, its about time they invent synthetic petrol…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Yes,the Freemason planned it long time ago,probably they planned much other thing,I suspect they’re the one who control the price of fuel,they control the whole world.
          But it’s better for us to stop using fuel,save our environment.
          But don’t you think the cost of drilling oil is increasing too.Unless we can drill our own oil.

• malaysia just found some new oil …
        don’t you read !

• all calculation including non found oil field

• Jerneh on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:35 pm

How can you calculate if there is non found? You must be joking.

• learner on Apr 03, 2011 at 11:18 am

find or no find both involve billion $ investments, if find can hooray, if dont find, burn $ to the mother earth only.

• seancorr on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:54 pm

We still got oil reserves in deep water areas la so don’t worry about Malaysia running out of oil in a few years time.

• Bob Vettel on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:02 am

Sadly, people won’t want to hear that. All they care is cheap fuels.

And I don’t see the relevancy between car prices & fuel prices.

• Vettel Bob on Apr 04, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Coz all that you care of is your Merc or your fleet of cars…

• littlefire on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:03 am

Petronas does found a lot of oil reserves out Sarawak… Just the public are not aware about it as it will coz people anger when fuel hike… Bloody G, always say fuel want to run out excuse just to hike the fuel price..

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/2/15/nation/8067767&sec=nation

PETALING JAYA: Petroliam Nasional Bhd (Petronas)’s persistency in exploring for the precious commodity within Malaysia has struck gold with major oil and gas reserves discovered off the coast of Sarawak.

Some 100 million barrels of oil and 2.8 trillion standard cubic feet (tscf) of natural gas were discovered from two exploration blocks there.

• littlefire on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:07 am

We do have a lot of oil reserve at Sarawak.. Just the G never publish widely due to dont want to anger the people when want to hike the fuel price… They now smart already using middle-east situation to raise the fuel price for… (Sarawak election!!!)

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/2/15/nation/8067767&sec=nation

Oil reserves found off Sarawak’s coast to boost Govt coffers (Tuesday February 15, 2011)

PETALING JAYA: Petroliam Nasional Bhd (Petronas)’s persistency in exploring for the precious commodity within Malaysia has struck gold with major oil and gas reserves discovered off the coast of Sarawak.

Some 100 million barrels of oil and 2.8 trillion standard cubic feet (tscf) of natural gas were discovered from two exploration blocks there.

Spurred by the success, Petronas plans to drill more than 50 exploration wells off Malaysia over the next three years…..

A research report said the new oil and gas finds represent 2% of oil reserves and 3% of natural gas reserves.

“These new discoveries underpin our optimism for the industry, as (they) prolong the lifespan of Malaysian reserves – 24 years for crude oil and 38 years for natural gas,” said the report by AmResearch yesterday.

• Malaysia Bull on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Luckily they still found a new one. Last time Badawi gave a large oil field to Brunei for free…..

After founding still want to increase 97. Oil price risen means can untung manyak wang mah!!

Malaysia memang bollehh… lol

• jtiongwl78 on Apr 03, 2011 at 10:48 pm

They gave to Brunei for free. This is due to themselves as they owing Brunei Government too much money, may be just use this to pay back.

Why they never expose the account for fuel income, only PM can have access to it?

• hellboy on Apr 02, 2011 at 4:00 am

what a funny statement from u. i bet malaysia still produce oil after 2015. people in O&G industries know this. U heard what people said about rumors that effects price. This is what they do. So price will hike tremendously every year & O&G company from western company simply making a lot off money even though they don’t have oil in their country. Plus oil from malaysia is the best grade compared to ARAB..don’t u know? some more, according from ur statement, after 2015 malaysia will increase their numbers in unemployed people since O&G company shut their door in mlsia.

• squawk on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Some of these western O&G companies(I’m not talking about the big names) are actually not owned by westerners but by…… no need to say la.

• Bro Jazz, I wonder how much v earn from the export of our BETTER quality minyak…
        Is the premium enough to paid for the gov subsidy (due to importing the LOW quality one for own use)??

• clutch basah on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:57 am

Dude,
        Pls check your facts before posting ok.. run out of oil in 2015.. are you crazy?? that sounds so fictional and idiocy.
        Let me teach you something son.. Malaysia produces close to 700K barrels per day, with 2.9bil barrels to spare. We don’t process that oil ourselves thus it is sold in crude form to another party to get the much needed cash.
        We later use the cash to buy your RON95,97,99 Ron Jeremy whatever.. therefore we are not free from being affected by the increasing oil prices.

Later you will question why don’t we process the oil our self and sell it cheap? Well we don’t because local consumption is not as big to support the processing cost, we will blindly loose money that way. How can we compete with for example Korea’s 2.06 million barrels production of refine gasoline per day and not to mention China and Japan.

• you also dont know the facts…im from O&G trading arm..i know the market…i dont want to talk much…Malaysia does refining crude oil and the result is LPG,Naphtha, Jet A-1,Mogas,Diesel,HSFO,LSWR and Bunker….read read read dear,….

• tricycle on Apr 08, 2011 at 3:03 pm

so what are the relevancy you’re talking about. of course malaysia refines crude oil.

so?

• yeah.. and then by 2015 suddenly our oil reserve is miscalculated, we have oil reserve for 2060. :(

• petronas employee on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:09 am

utter rubbish -oil running out by 2015 !!
        Reason why the RON95 prices stay is b’cos
        of the on going Sarawak elections.
        After that expect Idris Jala to make the call !!

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:43 am

Msia will run out of oil in 2015 is something the BN government wants people to believe so that petrol price can increase. New oil fields are being explored and discovered every now and then. I am not saying Msia’s oil will not run out. Just that it is not 2015.

• really agree with you. last time they said that the malaysian run out in the year of 2010. that time is around 2007 if i’m not mistaken.

IMHO, the running-out-of-oil rumor is only true when malaysian gov suddenly focusing on alternative form of energy.

• Jerneh on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:33 pm

I read different data from you, according to what I read, our 2015 is not out of oil. At that time is projected to be net importer. Means at the moment our oil is still more then we use. Secondly, our oil is not running out, as the data is based on discovered oil field which many still unexplored.

But I do agree not to abuse using petrol, as off now, even majority people still like fast and performance even on street. If want drive fast go track. Not on the street, that make us one of the highest car accidents country in the world.

What’s more, Malaysia don’t plan their route and time, mostly jam at the same time. It is wise to always revise the petrol price according to market but I do think is time to take away car sales tax.

• Civic_RS on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:41 am

hahaha…geezzz…JAZZ, are you standard 3 student? but u surely primary school student, isnt it? We never use our oil lol……and there still alot petroleum down there, so much…Go and ask geologist la who work to find the resource…dont simply mention bla bla..Kelantan stil got alot minyak!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!bengong..

• tricycle on Apr 08, 2011 at 2:57 pm

where do you get your facts?

malaysia is a net exporter country of petroleum oil.

• milo tak berapa suam on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:02 pm

huk aloh bro, let the rich help the poor bro.

governent wants to avoid the oil subsidies go to the wrong segment of ‘rakyat’ bro. in this case, the ‘richer people’.

so, by increasing the Ron97 price, that money will then be channeled to subsidised Ron95 users.

• tricycle on Apr 08, 2011 at 3:08 pm

huk aloh bro,

get the me the figure of percentage of sales of Ron 97 out of Petrol used.

let me make it simple for you. Sales of Ron 97 / (Sales of Ron 97 + Sales of Ron 95)

my point is you will get that the number is very very small not even enough to subsidize the Ron 95 user.

get your fact straight.

go to www.google.com to find out

• Ruben on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:59 pm

RON97 subsidises RON95 i think. so in directly, SIngaporeans subsidise our fuel

• than again we (i think might be) buy refine oil from Singapore….since Singapore is exporter of refine oil, much bigger than us here..they are 18th biggest exporter (1,374,000bbl/day 2007 est.) we here 30th(511,900bbl/day 2007 est) – https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2176rank.html

we produce they buy they refine they sell back…still they are net importer we net exporter

• milo tak berapa suam on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:49 pm

come on! cia? u trust cia? funny! they are all liars. cia is very bad u know. dont trust them.
          or.. could it be cia paid u to use this fact?

• Ruben on Apr 03, 2011 at 10:37 am

u may be right. but accordig to someone i noe in the oil and ghas industry. malaysian oil is of a slightlky higher grade. the one they use for jet fuel. thats y most of it ends up getting exported.

• just vote the opposition next time la then see how many have same feeling like you all….dont bising2 …just talk no action..how many of you are registered voter? in your dream if you want to change gov

• acerman on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Its time to budget and eat jam and bread until salary is increased.

• wah… cover up 10 cent for not hiking RON97 last month…
    good gov.

• acerman on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Its time to rebudget. AGAIN.

• RON95 price will only be increased after election win…..

• hmm... on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:26 pm

if opposition party win ron95 will increased too maa..don’t worry.

• maaajeeedaa on Apr 02, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Dude, PENANGITES already got some wifi hotspot in certain areas in penang, who knows we may be having low fuel prices if the opposition win our next GE. Macam mana? Ada brani?

• ntahaaa on Apr 03, 2011 at 1:37 am

free wifi.. lol.. what for

• doctor on Apr 03, 2011 at 9:15 am

wow, a guy who doesn’t want a free wifi?

he must be living in the dark ages. don’t you want keep updated while on the go? or you don’t care bout what is happening outside? or do you just sit at home all day, browsing the net with via your streamyx?

• ntahaaa on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:43 am

nothing free nowadays.. and yes im streamyx and phone net..
            i dont care much on free wifi.. unless for student and somebody without monthly income..

• learner on Apr 03, 2011 at 11:26 am

another version of ‘candy’ maybe.

• gaman on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:16 am

we are doom~~~~……..argh……

• zoom zoom on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:43 am

time to let the G knows who is actually the boss around here… time to put our foot down. enuf is enuf! they shud give real world car prices, not those ridiculously absurd inflated taxes, mend all those billions of pot holes in the country, retar roads, not only selected few areas… which is very evident. then this is justify to give real world petrol and diesel prices. the next G can implement real world prices, to reflect the actual situation. abolish subsidy by all means, but we wan real world car prices, no more pot holes…. and my taman is not given new tarred roads, whereby just 600m away, a tiny area given fresh tarred roads? wan my vote? then do ur stuff first! or it may seem to u that one vote is nothing to u… hah, it is the rakyat calling the shots now, not u

• GUNMAN on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:49 am

yeah, and real world prices for food (sugar, flour, rice etc), healthcare, education and pulic tranport, no more subsidies for those too. bring world car and petrol prices we dont mind makan pasir and cannot afford to send children to school and get basic healthcare, we just wan cheap cars, free everything for nothing.

• sagatron on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:19 pm

hmmmm…what can i say……..

• as i thought meyh.. oil price is increasing.. i’m doing forex, so i already expecting this as oil price is now highly increase..

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:17 am

the strangest and most unexplainable would be, yeah, the world crude oil price increases, so we hike as well. But what happens when the price goes down or fluctuate ? I don’t see they follow the price fluctuation leh ? If ‘they’ have the brains, they would actually apply the daily basis fuel price hike and fluctuation. Only THEN we, as motorists who pay road taxes and a hell-lotta other taxes, will feel more protected and less cheated. But with the ron 97 at RM.2.70, errrrr………I have to fork out at least RM800 a month for fueling 1 (ONE) car. LoL

• Laymen on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Its just a matter of time before RON95 will be jacked-up.. So people, brace yourself..

We, as the citizen has been punch, slap, kick & robed left & right, even in the broad daylight. Tax is increasing.. if the govt can’t take it anymore all the subsidy, how can we as a person should absorb all this hike.

Our automotive market is the most protected in the world. Our car price is skyrockets and yet govt always bang to our head that our petrol price is the cheapest in the region. We need better spec car, safer & value for money. We don’t want burn our hard earned money for a mere so-so spec cars.

Do we had enuff of this bullsh*t or we deserve better treatment since we are the one who vote for those in power that dictate our daily life..??

Choice is in our hand.. stop all this non-sense.. WE DESERVE BETTER QUALITY OF LIFE & ZERO BULLSH*T…!!!

• yeah.. let’s ride bicycle!

• If you think other countries are better, then, read this:

http://chedet.co.cc/chedetblog/2011/03/protectionism.html#more

• It’s funny u r quoting from a website published by “The Man” himself. Chedet? Seriously ah? He is the GOD of all protectionism. So I would disagree with you on this one.

• Civic_RS on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:49 am

haha..our country not only petrol prob (high price),

Petrol = the price is up to G – surely gv major impact to our life
        Toll = Always up to them
        duty import = up to them oso
        TV3,TV1,TV2, all the paper except Harakah and keadilan if im not mistake = oso up to them
        Everything is up to them, there is nothing up to us………..election?dont know wen other part can win..

• comrade on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:24 pm

hopefully RON95 price stays the same… if not I need to find a place by my office, so no need to drive…isk… sometimes i like to put RON97 just like 10 yrs ago…now where’s my bicycle

• squawk on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:04 pm

We should just become like Vietnam and use bikes and scooters. Oh wait, the Vietnamese are starting to buy cars now.

• In reality, there will be more bikes and bicycles here if the G did not subsidized petrol. Take a look at Vietnam and Cambodia. Cars are cheap (if u earn USD 2k per month) but petrol is sold at market rate… price changes daily.

A person earning less than RM 2k per month can only afford a bike.

• Err….I didn’t know we are similar to Vietnam and Cambodia. You for real? If not then why make the comparison with them?

If we are similar to Vietnam and Cambodia, with the wage u earn, you’ll be happy to have a PC and a high speed internet connection.

Oh, and no Astro.

Don’t go down that road and compare unrealistic things like how the G taught u.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:36 pm

For Malaysians, its very easy to afford a car. Look at Perodua. Just sign and drive. Yeah, so they don’t really care if you can afford a long term prepayments. As long they can get their sales up and make more room for new cars to store. So, in the end, the citizen suffer due to tempting sales tactics and yeah, even a factory worker that earns a mere RM800 can afford to buy a car in Malaysia.

• Cowabunga! on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:24 pm

….$2.70 only?…Petronas must be doing very well…and i wonder who’s pocket is it filling it to?…

• MCdog on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:20 am

google to check the ownership lor (check who are board of director and advisor also :-) ) but indeed it pay a lot of tax to support government *expenditure*

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:00 pm

dude, we can’t really check ownerships list like that. Usually those ‘big’ boys are not named, fearing that they might get their own asses busted. So, they just use whoever that’s ‘acting’ as a leader. Looks better, feels safer.

• balloon on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:26 pm

as long as they dont kacau the price of ron 95 .. i dont mind .. !

• DiscoStick on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:49 pm

ur car doesnt mind, not u!

• balloon on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:49 pm

the star has confirmed that RON 95 will not be affected !

YAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• thanx god i didnt drive type r or whatever non ron 95 friendly car!

• petronas employee on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:28 am

Don’t expect the Ron95 prices to remain at this level.
      After 16 April then you’ll see the sincererity of the govt .
      Jala is just buyiing time and expects
      oil prices to retreat in April
      Just keep your fingers crossed that he is RIGHT.

• jtiongwl78 on Apr 03, 2011 at 10:51 pm

I suspect so as well. I am not surprise if they increase it until RM2.70 by the end of the year for RON95, and RON97 is more than RM3.00, oh ya, should be around RM3.50 if I have not mistaken.

G, when is the time to reduce the car price? As they emphasize on win win situation, how can only one side win? Car also expansive, fuel also expansive..

• KenaRompakLagi on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:28 pm

If our mighty govt can’t take it anymore to subsidized our petrol, how can we, laymen to swallow this hike?

We’ve been charged unfairly in car price & on top of that had to pay extra on interest alone to drive a decent car.. Yet here we are again, squeezing our blood to the last drop..

Bravo Malaysian.. collectively, we are the one that voted for this bunch of jokers to be our leader and without shame they turn us into slavery of modern age.. NICE..!

• MCdog on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:17 pm

haha, don’t forget we also paying for their Lamborghini and Ferrari through different “legal” mean.

• murad on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:23 am

Toll Expenses (people who stays in PJ & KL, would know Toll booths are like 7-11 outlets), Petrol Expenses, Road Taxes, Insurance, Bank Interest (not – applicable to people pay cash), Car Duty & Taxes, maintainence, car wash, car polish, car vacumn expenses.

Owning a car now is like having a Vampire staying with you.

• K3VET on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:30 pm

good april fool from GOV

• damit on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:31 pm

I hope they won’t increase Ron95 after the Sarawak election.

• klaka seram on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:23 pm

keep dreaming bro!

• fatima on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:26 pm

After the election ‘SURE’ increase…

• they’ll wait till after General Election 13 – raise everything from sugar to petrol, so that big mama can go to new york and shop till she drop.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:07 am

hopefully she shops in NY and gets a cardiac arrest and DIE. MATI KO JALANG !!

• JeffLim on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:33 pm

NOT AGAIN, do you know that Perodua Alza, Myvi and Viva’s tuned for RON97? My sister’s MYVI 1.3 SXi Manual suffered 1) Power loss, 2) Fuel consumption increased by 20% from 13km/L average using RON97 to 10.2km/L average using RON95. So this increase’s NOT ONLY affects the RICH, please think of Alza, MYVI and Viva owners… It’s NOW BEYOND REACH…

• aminlife on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:38 pm

Myvi still have good 2nd hand value :P. do it.

• owh really? hahaha

• What rubbish… my 2005 Myvi 1.3 AT runs fine with RON95 and have good FC too. Just control your right foot! A Myvi is NOT built to chase after smart forfour or Toyota Vios. Face it. It is reality.

• ivan HO on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:04 am

who say that Perodua Alza, Myvi and Viva’s tuned for RON97?
      i assume they didnt study about malaysian car..
      perodua is tuned for RON90 la… same like Toyota… old model proton using RON97 but new model starting Gen2 is tuned for RON95…
      even my new camry and viva also using RON95.. still got power pun…
      i feel better using RON95 since my car is RON90.. i would pay RM1.90 rather than RM2.70..
      now, its better we do some research when buying a car..
      at least we know how much the fuel consumption..

• cupin on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:25 am

you are kidding me JL.. I filled my myvi with RON95 for 2 years already… OK pun.. no problem at all.. still can reach 400km per RM50… average speed 100km/h… can reach max speed 160km/h.. plus I used 16″ rim.. same like when I used RON97…

• K3VET on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:03 am

you think myvi got a expensive stomach to eat salmon ????
      even honda accord…..can buy 5pcs myvi also eat and drink ron95…..
      you are too over if fill ron97 for that myvi only…

• Creative Mind on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:24 am

I have to disagree with you. I have been using RON 95 ever since it was launched, on the highway my Myvi can get 21.92km / l, this is a 1.3auto, mostly i can score around 19.3km / l to a low of 18.65 km / l… all these running below 100km/h. However, if i run around 105 – 120km/h, the best consumption i get is about 16.4 km/l, usually it is around 15.5 km/l. I know cause i do experiment logically. Before my journey, i will top up full tank, clock in the milage. when i hit the highway and exit it, i would immediately fill up full tank, clock in the milage. from that, you can calculate what is your petrol consumption like….
      for town driving, it is a different scenario…. due to lots of stop start, jam here butter there, so i get around a high of 13.6km/l to 10.8km/l, it really depends on the traffic there and those police who stop traffic for no good reason, wasting my petrol… hah!

As for my Audi, i havent done any calculation cause it is a weekend car and one goes for a spin and thrill… so the consumption is not the issue here, but it hurts using RON 97, but then again the ride from the speed is justifiable. So for this, it is for fun, fun and more fun

• scgtimk1 on Apr 05, 2011 at 10:01 am

Ouch Myvi FC that sucks for town driving? Can only get 10.8km/l meh?

I don’t know why people by Myvi then, my Proton got better FC than that. worst is 13.5km/l with everyday driving Federal Hiway rush hour. With superior ride & handling to boot.

• is it april’s fool joke?

• bad news oh bad news…..
    before this, Im used RON97,but after the price going up to rm2.50…. i pull up my handbrake to use 97 to 95…. totally the gap for a ltr is to much…

• kereta on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:36 pm

its time to move out from Malaysia
    ==’

• estimosis on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:55 am

We’ll do something in next GE and move ‘THEM’ out… Its been too long already..

• If u move out… petrol even more expensive… in Thailand, petrol is RM 4.10/L for RON95!

• Un Happy Man on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:59 pm

But in thai you wont pay on highway toll & TAX for each car you buy…

• Simon Ng on Apr 03, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Bro. You wrong. Bangkok city itself has loads of highway toll. If you talk about the highway leading to the country side, many of it does not even come close like what PLUS highway has.

Nonetheless, the highways in Thailand are improving. Just check out the airport highway to the city center.

• need to get my motorcycle to start again

• Ha Gnih on Apr 04, 2011 at 2:12 am

I actually have (still) my grandfather’s very old Yamaha at home. Ride it every now and then to the nearby grocery shop to buy sugar and stuff. Hahaha

• budin tak suka harga minyak naik lagi on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Is it April Fool joke?

• ONEcountry?? on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:44 pm

i love our government :)

• haha.. told you all to use NGV!!

• it may Explode if got leaking…. Dangerous~ If u want, u go a head…

• NGV is for taxi and people who have nothing to do… imagine queuing with a bunch of taxi drivers to fill up your tank.

Diesel is the next best thing. It is cheaper. Cars may be expensive but in the long run (say 10 years), u save a lot of money.

• nuarBERAHI on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:46 pm

APRIL FOOL?

• burppp on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:46 pm

hybrid anyone? seems like good option for us here..

• Ha Gnih on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:40 pm

I can foresee that Toyota and Honda are going to have a sudden increase sales by the end of the 2nd quarter. Thanks to brilliant models like the Prius and Insight WHICH we Malaysians should seriously be thinking of right about now. The government wants us to suffer right ? Stop buying (crappy) Malaysian products and lets see how they can go on.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:56 am

Time to think about Hilux, Navara, D-Max, Ranger and Triton. Diesel is cheaper and takes you places you’ve never been to before. Hahaha.

• Cheaper, but only by a little. Thailand has been struggling to keep the diesel price at 3.00 MYR/liter. Even that is more expensive than the Malaysian RON97 petrol.

• rosmah mahu dia punya cut la ni pulak..

• jaijoe on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Our ron95 still the cheapest (exc brunei)… for now..

• are u najib?

• his statement is correct maa.why cannot accept?pfftt so eager to change gov. wonder how pr gov will work out. my prediction – more of the same (or worse). dun put so much high hope on pkr, dap, pas leader.

• tongkai on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Yes, confirmed already, will increase 20 cents.

• ah so on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:00 pm

smart guy gets it!

• JeffLim on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:01 pm

NO, not hybrid… Diesel is the way to go… Test driven Focus TDCI TWICE, The TORQUE is addictive. BUT Please bring Euro 4 diesel… We can have 2 grade. Euro 2M and Euro 4… What say you GOV?

• F430 Lover. on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:07 pm

April Fool? =D

• cikuludes on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:08 pm

then, PRU change gomen la. see how anwar will help reduced Malaysian-wide fuel price immediately.

refer the buku jingga. How i hope BN will stop bullshitting rakyat.

• CHONG KAT on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:10 pm

our ppp went down again. another poor nation uprising.

• Let us rakyat sent BN to hell,vote it out at the 13th G.E.

• RadzLee on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:17 pm

dude, let it BN or pakatan or whoever rule this country, heck any country… oil price will ALWAYS NAIK!!!! its a painful fact that we all must swallow

• keep dreaming..will fuel decrease if opposition win?

• MCdog on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:07 am

You will be amazed by how much money can be saved from corruption.

• so u wanna say opposition is 100% clean. no corruption anymore? keep dreamin’..

• At least we can achieve lower corruption than current gov. Think again.
            I now is hard to preventing corruption in just blink of eye but PR will do the best to fight the corruption.

• you r funny…

• learner on Apr 03, 2011 at 11:32 am

their manifesto always grand, i really want to know if they can really deliver.

• jtiongwl78 on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:50 pm

WE cant say in long term they are clean. At least for the first few years they are ruling they cant be funny.

• totally~ i bet this is an April’s fool.

as i know, the Ron 97 follow the international price. currently US gasoline price is
    3.12 (U.S. dollars per US gallon) = 2.49366704 Malaysian ringgits per litre

save your night at home ba~

• kadok on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:13 pm

we all fucked up again and again and again by gov.
    thats is y rakyat didahulukan…..

happy april fool

• rageaccel2 on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:15 pm

haishhh… we are being offered crappy car at an impossibly high price, to be used on crappy korek/tampal road. and now….

new govt anyone?

• klaka seram on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:25 pm

where else to get easy money for election

• Malaysia Bull..eh! on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Malaysia Bulleh mah. Apa pun boleh….

Submarine that cannot sub pun boleh… Jet that dun have Jet engine pun boleh….

Memang Bulleh…

• adiddaniel on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:34 pm

I 100% agreed with the rise acordingly with the govt, decision after this ron 95 and diesil and gas will also reise. This is what the people of Malaysia want which give the govt mandate to rule this country . So dont be angry bro.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:12 am

And to those who have been trying to alter the government, we are always shocked and surprised at how most people (still) favor the current government. Well, I suppose those living in the outskirts have less cars and it’s an easy target for the ‘barang naik’ to manipulate their logic sense in, for example, giving away free tupperware containers so they get more votes. Hahaha.

• did you know that almost ~70% Malaysian live in city

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Did you know that those 30% in the outskirts vote them ONLY ? The focus here is, those Malaysians living in the outskirts; kawasan pedalaman. Of course we all know 70% or maybe slightly less than that live in the city. But considering the Malaysians in kawasan perbandaran have the right to produce mixed votes, thats why their stronghold is still in the outskirts. People are easier to please and to Ehhhmmm…..cheat. Have I made myself clear here ?

• jane jenab on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:35 pm

congrats 2 all voters! u deserved it ..malaysia boleh!!

• nolan on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:38 pm

no wonder so many samun at Petrol Kiosk nowadays…..

• chris on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:38 pm

just want to say wtf -_-?

• ashraff on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:41 pm

now,time to change a hybrid car,i know after this the price of the petrol will increase and increase again..i think prius n lexus ct 200h is a good car..

• Hybrid? Waste of money… it still runs on petrol. Get a diesel.

• ttooyyoottt on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:58 pm

hope Petronas can bring Euro 4 diesel… at reasonable price,, so Peugeot can bring their hybrid diesel! owesome!

• EV lah if want $$ better don’t use fuel at all

• clutch basah on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:06 am

Hahaha.. unless you’re thinking greener your comment is funny, can’t afford to buy fuel but thinking about Lexus. Such a typical Malaysian.. a wannabe in every sense

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:47 am

So far, the more recommendable hybrid for everyone would be the Honda Insight. Price is less than 100K. Nice to look at. The shape will somehow (personally), never go out of style. Average Malaysians with stable household income can definitely afford it. Lexus CT200h is a nice car, but the price, errmmm…..excuse me, kalau semua anak Datuk boleh la. Average Malaysian wise ? It’s tougher. Yeah, clutch basah is right. Typical Malaysian, a wannabe in every sense. Haha

• Hahaha… already bitching about petrol increase and still want to spend RM 170k on a hybrid crap? Get your priorities right la!

• non-moving on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:45 pm

cibai naik lagi… kimak lancau

• Welcome to barang naik land..kudoss

• our car expensive somemore fuel also getting more expensive

• Biker on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Haha I love when the gas price increase. Sure people start comparing again our car price compared to other country

• Hate1st of April on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:59 pm

April’s fool?

• Naik lagi..??? phuih…!

• totally April’s fool.

US gasoline pirce is only 3.12 dollar per gallon translating to rm2.50 per litre..

so.. dun be fooled and go to the petrol station.
    enjoy your friday night fully with your family or friends.

• Lancer Nation on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:51 pm

But no long queues right now at stations to rush to buy RON97.

99.99% of petrol buyers are on Ron 95 la…don’t waste time with upping RON 97.

So, when will Ron 95 be RM2.50 per litre + Pollution tax of 50% = RM3.75 per liter?

• shawal on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Now put your hands up in the Aiyerr…~!
    Wave around like you just don’t cayre ~!

Spend wisely, your future is in your hands~!

• Micheal K on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:55 pm

I hate Malaysian government!

• Reekee on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:57 pm

Sorry. Off topic a bit. What happen to the new Petronas fuel instead? It is said to be launch 1st April rite? Or is it juast an April Fool thingy? Sorry if I’m not really that alert. Thanx.

• This is call “Cheat” strategy from gov, so many time the Gov told us it wont increase the petrol price, it will find other way the cover the cost, but now is RM0.20 again and again, how many peoples can afford another RM0.20 again and again? izit 2015 the Malaysia crude oil will “Dry Out”, i dont think so, only Gov and Petronas know, for sure if Gov win the next election, the will told us “if compare to our neighbour” we still the consider the lowest price.
    For those who make me spend more, i will reject them immediately, because the gov make us spend more & more, housing price increase, daily consumable items price increse, spare parts increase (because of the new regulation), sorrylah, i cant vote u anymore.

• mfahd_88 on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:00 pm

thanks BN for giving me a strong reason why i should vote for the opposition in the next election

• transformer on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Everything increase prices… petrol, diesel, sugar, gardenia bread, electricity, water, IndahWater, skyjuice, nasi lemak and so on… almost each and every neccessity… seem like Ringgit are worthless…. subsidies keep reducing but AP still feeding certain cronies including Pukema(“Racist Association”)…..

they(even) had changed english medium(Science & Maths) back to bahasa, this will discourage our younger generation migrating to oversea so they can feed on us, continue feed on our younger generations…. perpetually…

Btw, who the hell is Indahwater, why should rakyat pay subscribe them..?
    Isn’t its Gov. responsibilities to provide sanitation for Rakyat….

Gov allocated billion of fund to TM to lay infrastructure(such tel lines, broadband), TM get it for free(under Gov Communication budget,), but WHY TM charged Rakyat so high ? Yet their service is low low below par…? Everyyear their NET Profit surged…. why?

So as other utilities such as water and electricity…. Rakyat, YOUR NEXT VOTE REALLY COUNTS! FOR YOUR NEXT GENERATION AND NEXT NEXT GENERATION…..

• transformer on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Everything increase prices… petrol, diesel, sugar, gardenia bread, electricity, water, IndahWater, skyjuice, nasi lemak and so on… almost each and every neccessity… seem like Ringgit are worthless…. subsidies keep reducing but AP still feeding certain cronies including Pukema(“Racist Association”)…..

they(even) had changed english medium(Science & Maths) back to bahasa, this will discourage our younger generation migrating to oversea so they can feed on us, continue feed on our younger generations…. perpetually…

Btw, who the hell is Indahwater, why should rakyat pay subscribe them..?
    Isn’t its Gov. responsibilities to provide sanitation for Rakyat….

Gov allocated billion of fund to TM to lay infrastructure(such tel lines, broadband), TM get it for free(under Gov Communication budget,), but WHY TM charged Rakyat so high ? Yet their service is low low below par…? Everyyear their NET Profit surged…. why?

So as other utilities such as water and electricity…. Rakyat, YOUR NEXT VOTE REALLY COUNTS! FOR YOUR NEXT GENERATION AND NEXT NEXT GENERATION…….

• nebula87 on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:11 pm

APRIL FOOLL~~~~

• aroma on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:34 pm

it’s an interesting view standing in front of the shell’s station in usj 4 observing customers buying fuel.

1st, a red VW golf came in, pumping RM 30 ‘Racing Formula’ (Current price RM 2.70, tomorrow RM 2.90 maybe). Later, a Vios came in, pumping RM 2.50 V-Power, Vios also pumping V-Power !!?? Unbelievable! The 3rd car, Accord, also pumping V-Power.

I cannot believe my eyes that actually there are so many people still believe RON 97 is more superior. Funny !!

• petronas employee on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:56 am

Hello bro Msian and lots of USJ folks
      have petrol cards or petrol allowances
      so why worry – whether Ron 95 or 97?

• Anybody realized that when the price of petrol comes down, the government will keep quiet and pretend nothing happened?

And a brother up in the comments said something about oil running out. In a way I agree, but if it was well managed and not siphoned into people’s accounts, we could’ve had much better infrastructure to prepare for days like these. So renunglah saudara-saudari….keep BN or not, it’s your choice.

• MCdog on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:01 am

it is obvious that the dude is a cybertroop of government.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:10 pm

cybertroop or not, I will show them my middle finger if I ever find out any from here. Semua tak boleh diharap. Jadi anjing aje pandai. Orang suruh cybertroop, jadi cybertroop. Orang suruh naik harga, ikut aje. But it’s true, when the crude price fluctuates, ehhhh….somehow the government tak buat hoo hah pun ? What is this ? Market price naik, kita terpaksa naikkan. Bila turun, buat duh aje. Hampeh lahanat

• Gov encouraging us to carpool. 1 Malaysia ma…. :)

• jungred on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:22 am

which part of floating mechanism that people dont understand? oil price go up…so for sure it will only lead to the increase in ron 97.. that is simple… people in malaysia want democracy and part of it is about free market(price determine by demand supply force) but everybody here expect socialist type of measure???

cannot afford..stick to ron 95(this is still subsidize by the goverment at a higher cost with the new oil price but are you grateful??)

• ron97 on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:26 am

good job… harga minyak naik pun nak bising,,
    cuba kalau harga rokok naik… ade org bising???
    so fikir2 kan la…..

• ron95 naik lepas pilihanraya..konfem! najib tak bodoh nak naik skrg. ron97 naik, orang tak kisah sgt (walau rakyat kena tipu).

minyak Malaysia habis 2015? tu estimation je, nobody knows when we’ll run out of fuel. but it will surely happen.

• as long as ron 95 not hike, i’ve nothing 2 shout out..

• this price is considered low when the Malaysia actually said our RON97 to follow the international price. international crude oil price is about rm3/L.

when the crude oil go even higher…. we really suffer.

• muahaha on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:11 am

i like oil price hike. my neighbour only earn about rm3000 max is driving Inspira. take that u cocky bastard. kau igt beli kereta baru ko bagus sgt. dah la bini muka mcm tapak kasut.

• 1Malaysia? on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:16 am

Government need to cut subsidies, but why got extra money buy “expensive” battle tank, 2nd hand Submarine & somemore nuclear power plant……Ha!

• MCdog on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:09 am

because you baba mama, grand baba and grand mama who only read main media news like to vote them ma

• Actually the high price for imported cars was fixed before Proton to reduce gas-guzzling cars from being imported. Thus cars with big engines are taxed (import duty) by 300%. Other cars are also heavily taxed to reduce import of petrol.
    Today Proton’s share of the market is less than 30%. A lot of foreign cars are being imported because Malaysians are richer now. Despite Mercedes and BMW costing three times more in Malaysia than in Europe, Malaysia is one of the best markets for these huge luxury cars. They buy these cars because they just like them and do not mind the high price. It has nothing to do with protecting Proton.

— Is the Government doing something that other Governments are not doing? I list below the measures taken by other countries to protect their economy.

-. Singapore : Buyers have to pay a high price for a certificate to import cars.

-. In America US$74 billion in Government funds were used to bail out automotive companies. (Without this bailout General Motors would close down. Americans would have to buy foreign-made cars).

-. France: Government doled out billions to automakers to keep the automotive industries alive.

-. Spain : Interest free loans were made available by the Government to support local industries.

-. UK : Millions of pounds were given to businesses and banks to prevent them from closing down. Still all British car companies have closed down.

-. Germany : Financial incentives were given to scrap older cars so that people can buy new cars.

-. Italy : Subsidies are given for purchase of “green scooter”.

-. Russia : Direct subsidies are given to auto companies and tariffs imposed on used cars to protect industry.

-. China, South Korea : Policies and subsidies are used to protect local automakers.

-. Russia, India and Turkey use import tariffs to protect local industries.

-. China, India, Russia, Vietnam, Ecuador, Argentina, Brazil all have tariff barriers. The United States imposed 35% tariff on China-made tyres.

We believe in competition but we are up against countries which protect their industries against foreign products. In Europe standards are raised every year to keep foreign cars out of their markets. The cars and other products we import are cheap because of subsidies and protection by their countries.

-. In America, if there is a slight defect in the product, selling the product in the US market would be stopped. Because one person got rashes from wearing gloves made of Malaysian rubber, all Malaysian gloves were banned.

-. Millions of Toyota’s hybrid cars were recalled because one car had defective brakes.

-. We can close down Proton and buy only foreign-made cars. Roughly 50,000 people would be thrown out of work. Their families would be deprived of a bread-winner. Many other industries including component suppliers, transport companies etc will suffer. Economic growth would be effected.

TAKEN FROM TUN DR M’s page…..

• MCdog on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:47 am

This is the man haha

• Did your “Tun” mention anything about comparing the average Malaysian and Singaporean wage earner considering all the living costs and not just comparing the price of cars and the certs used to buy cars in Singapore? The root cause for all the unhappiness is that at the end of the day, after paying for their cars, the average Malaysian is toiling day and night to make ends meet.

Did your “Tun” mention that Ford is an American company and didn’t need to use the bailout money? So, no, they needn’t buy a foreign-made car because GM would close down. BTW, Ford did pretty well during the crisis.

Did you “Tun” also mention the result of protectionism in S. Korea? Kia Forte? Hyundai Sonata? So what is Proton doing for this? Saga? Persona? Gen 2? (Perdana and Inspira don’t count cos obviously using Mitsu platform and engine). Hardly “international standard”.

Should I even go on? He is trying to divert your attention and all you people bought it. Congratulations.

• Jungred on Apr 02, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Your “Tun”?

You must be some car expert saying things about proton car platform(even on “Tun”)which largely not accurate.. Dude… you need to read a bit more rather than bashing without any knowledge..

By all mean… Dont ever think of going on further..

• Vincent Ang on Apr 03, 2011 at 4:02 pm

99% of All Proton engines are licensed from Mitsubishi. Proton owns the real estate i.e. the manufacturing plants but all Proton plants are tooled to build Mitsubishi engines following Mitsubishi’s engineering specifications and only for producing Mitsubishi engines. Since Proton produces engines under license from Mitsubishi, the latter also determines the number of engines Proton can produce at any one time. At no point in the history of Proton cars did Proton actually make one of their own engines. The same is also true of Perodua, This is what happens when Mahathir’ industrial policy fail and foreigners literally hold the Mats by their technological you-know-what

• jungred on Apr 03, 2011 at 9:47 pm

let’s rewind 25 years ago…

malaysia are no where being an industrial country and have always rely on agrcultural and mineral as the source of income. Thinking of Malaysian able to produce anything has always been something unthinkable during that time and most of the population that time might end up working in trading/plantation/manufacturing(assembler)…

No doubt P1 emergence have been critics by so many parties..but think about the spill over effect

1. we have a group of train engineer in the automative business after 25 years ..well of course not to the same level as other country but it is growing
            2. we have group of profesonal who able to manage the automative business which pave the way for P2, venture with others major car maker i.e toyota, honda,nissan,peugeot and lately with volksagen. All are possible with local people and expertise.
            3. multplier effect from this two group of people to other sector…income spend on other sector such as property/banking/telco etc…indirectly it affect in indirect ways to majority of the people in this sectors.

Fail economic policy?

Is campro built by mitsubishi? need to get your fact right here..

Sharing platform isq something common for alot of major automative maker..why is it when proton doing it people are bashing it but if GM /Mazda etc are doing it ..it is ok…

remember when the govt want to move the airport from sg besi to subang airport? it was critic by alot of nay sayer that it was too far?? Now the area have become so booming with development and we have to move it to sepang(again some quarters are againts it…must be the children of the earlier nay sayer who have the amnesia sickness)

now ..what would happen if there is no proton? i guess people would not know coz it was never the path that being taken but i wander will it be any better than what we are having now?

• I think Subang Airport should not be relocated to KLIA. Ok, I quite agree Sg. Besi Airport relocated to Subang Airport because KL needs more land space to spur up the development in 1965. 1965? What you can see Subang in that time? Lush green rubber tree surrounded that area. Housing area not been started more. The Subang Airport should be in there as Malaysia premier International Airport. It can be done reserve all the land for futuremmmmmm

• My friend. You only need to look at Thailand to nullify your 1st 2 points. Talk about the amount of automotive experts? With Toyota, Honda and Nissan there they have a pool of experts. I work in UMWT and TC before (what about you?) and most still need the directive from Thailand because the japs dedicate them as a hub in SE Asia. So no, you can still have technical experts WITHOUT local manufacturers. In fact, our pool would’ve been even bigger if these big players were to come here without all the protectionism policy. And with that your point 3 could also be relevant. Bigger pool = bigger spending power.

• am not saying i bought what he says..im just putting it up..just some points to ponder..no doubt some pennies went into someone pocket..but than its not that the government is all wrong…dun get me wrong, im apolitical…its just no point bashing and bashing just for the sake of opposing…opposing is required because healthy competition is good…but oppose with facts…anyway, MY Tun did mention that proton market share is less than 30% although imported cars are priced 300% more..ur statement of average Malaysian toiling day and night to make ends meet might be a little bit exaggerated..no doubt some still live under the poverty line but still, facts talk..

• AqeelDrive on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:05 am

then, the culprits here are Previous Proton (before DSZ perhaps?) and Peodua themselves. Selling car not for Malaysian but using Malaysian for their funding.

I think, from the early day, Prton never intend to compete fairly with other car maker and used Malaysian as their toll to raise profit instead. Proton wira originally was from Lancer. then after almost two decades, it was replaced by Persona. The current Lancer is used to replace Waja. Which mean, INspira is different segment from Persona but both are originally from the same segment, Lancer.

The G would be done the right thing to protecct local Automotive, Proton. Unfortunately, proton used the handicap to raise more money rather than built car for Malaysian. Perhaps, Proton is suffered due to vendor which protected by Political power.

Ias a result, People still continue bashing Proton. DSZ have a big responsibilities to regain back people trust on Proton and it’s working. I think,if not becoz of DSZ, Proton still selling Campro without CPS untill now. LOL

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:41 am

Amazing someone still buys what the Mamak is saying. Grow a brain.

Close down Proton and 50,000 will be thrown out of work is correct if the 50,000 people decided to put their asses permanently on a chair and do nothing. If these 50,000 people decided it is better to sit around, do nothing and hope someone’s going to put food on their table, these 50,000 people deserve to stave.

• yippi33 on Apr 03, 2011 at 1:16 am

easy for you to say..wait till your company bungkus…or r u one of the species who worked in kerajaan but sokong pembangkang…shame on those bloodsucker..

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 03, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Whatever I have now is all due to my blood, sweat and tears. I have never seen a single sen of government’s money from investments (e.g. Khazanah Nasional, Petronas and all other GLC). I paid all my taxes and got nothing in return. I was even denied study loan because I am not a Bumi. I do not believe someone should forever subsidize other people. Only in Malaysia the minority subsidizes the majority. In all other countries in the world, the majority helps the majority, but not in Malaysia.

The Mamak has been brainwashing Malaysians into believing whatever he did was right. I do not care if it’s BN or DAP or PAS or Pakatan as long as this country is govern in a fair and just manner. Sadly, I still haven’t seen a single policy that is not formulated not to favour UMNO and its cronies.

• kambing on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:43 pm

bro, as for me…its not “the majority subsidized the minority”. It us majority as the rakyat, regardless what we are, either malays chinese or indinans who subsidizing the gomen…we pay a lot, and what in return to us as rakyat? what?

• aroma on Apr 02, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Quoted from the book Interview with mahathir by author Tom Plate,

Tom: Bill Clinton get an upfront of USD 10 miilion before the publishing of his memoirs, how about you Dr. M.

Dr. M: nobody pays me anything for my memoirs.

Wanna listen to Dr M ?? :)

• bila pula agaknya nilai matawang RM mahu naik?

• MCdog on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:33 am

tak boleh naik kerana greedy exporters will complain! These exporters always paying nuts to their workers. What is the point of supporting these suckers

• MengQ on Apr 02, 2011 at 4:24 am

Well done gov, well done. I love you, I love you very much… Oh yes, not to forget… The gov always teach us: 

1) Ubah gaya hidup (u pakai Po-tong, I pakai Po-share)

2) 1 Malaysia, (Duit) Rakyat Didahulukan, Pencapaian Dilupakan.

3) You tolong I (isi minyak), I tolong You (naik harga minyak)

Thanks gov!

• Euro Machine on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:46 am

Hybrid will start to pick up pace cos it is matter of time ron95 will go up as well.
    Should be after certain event…

• biggie on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:52 am

this time its simple blame ghadafi then tsunami then earthquake.

thats why iran goes nuclear so that it do not have to use oil to produce electricity. may be we should also

• budin on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:18 am

I love Malaysia………..

• learner on Apr 03, 2011 at 11:41 am

i wonder who put thumb down on this statement. no matter you BN or PR, we must love malaysia lah. it is not 1malaysia that in the statement if you so hate that.

• DatoT on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:42 am

1 Msia Motto “People First, Performance Now”
    – means, we all “kena” first, then baru la the car can perform (using ron97).

• autojohndoe on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:59 am

even you buy a hybrid car… the price will not stop increasing… c’mon la najib or rosmah… expedite the mass transportation project…

• droll on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:17 am

the govt can set RON97 to RM10 per Litre and it won’t do jack sh*t. most folks pump RON95 anyway and i doubt the govt will save a lot on subsidies (or even make money out of it) from RM10 / Litre price of RON97 since the % of this fuel bought is very little.

it’s when diesel and RON95 go up that most people will make noise.

if you can afford a RM130k prius to save on fuel, trust me, fuel isn’t your biggest worry. it’s when you’re driving a perodua or proton that fuel price becomes a problem to your pocket. ct200h = RM200k? crazy ah. why would a person who can afford a rm200k car be worried so much about fuel? the RM98k insight seems more reasonable.

• hope BN did not win 2/3 majority at Sarawak.
    So BN can delay thier original plan general election date.
    Only after they succesffully sent Anwar to Jail
    it could be 1 year later.
    So we can enjoy cheap Ron 95 for 1 year

• We can close down Proton and buy only foreign-made cars. Roughly 50,000 people would be thrown out of work. Their families would be deprived of a bread-winner. Many other industries including component suppliers, transport companies etc will suffer. Economic growth would be effected.

TAKEN FROM TUN DR M’s page…..

Proton plant will never closed down. Oversea investor definately interested to buy our plant
    maybe volkwagen and etc, so we can drive a cheap better quality car after Proton close down. and we never lost 50k of job.

• Darren on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:32 am

I never bother using RON97, why pay so much

• yeah.. i wonder so much ppl angry here but see on road ppl speeding like their car use water! wtf..

• I like the slogan MALAYSIA BOLEH rather than RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN…

• droll on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:51 am

but!!!!!!!!!!! there’s one lesson learned here. the Ron97 price should be used as a proxy for the future RON95 price! afterall, both are made from the same source. so you can bet your a**es that RON95 price will go up!! most likely after GE.

• betul betul crazy, country keluar minyak beli import minyak dari luar negara..

• redboy on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:15 am

you know what is the strategy? price RON97 up to a level that no one pump, then eliminate the RON97, and you left only RON95. Then you have no comparison when RON95 rise dude! wake up! thats damn simple monopolized strategy that has been using since the Protong days!!!

All of you dont wish RON95 not rise? you are living in a reality! not Inception man! Just wait and see the game plan mature. Wont take long when the Sarawak landslide win, and the GE13 landslide win, and game over.

No efficient public transport, expensive car (you think they will take away AP?), expensive tol again, and expensive oil. Sounds like 3rd world country or developed country in 2020?

• vertigo on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:25 am

price hike should be enough to cater the upcoming election.

• just matter of time until our beloved G increase the RON95 prices. just wait and see lol.. least i can say for now F*** U..

• fdisk on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:38 am

Pak Lah ERa $140/barrel RM2.70… Najib Era $108/Barrel RM2.70 …we’ll be fucked-up…from worst to even2 worst man..

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 6:57 pm

I think the rest of the money goes to his wife for buying hairsprays in containers.

• J@Ck LIM on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:53 am

Aw man…
    BN= barang-barang naik?
    anyone can tell me how to judge a car using ron95 or ron97??
    I gt a 2.0cc car, bt now the ron97 goes hike, so, is that possible i opt with ron9?

• SubsidiesRWasteful on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:08 am

Funny la Malaysians

No money want to use fancy car with big engines.

Cannot affor ron 97, use ron 95 la.

Cannot afford ron 95, take the bus la.

U want more, work harder and earn more.

U want instant gratification and use up all the country’s resources and leave a barren future for the next generation of Malaysians…..then vote for the fornicating opposition.

Seriously, all the bodohs with the bodoh comments…….. u have no idea how good you have it here.

Wake up and no that resources are precious. They should be priced accordingly.
    If its a struggle to afford petrol……THEN U ARE LIVING BEYOND YOUR MEANS.

Work harder or consume less.

People who work hard and pay taxes shouldnt have to subsidise your wasteful lifestyle.

• Spoken like a true Member of Parliament…..

• langit_hitam on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:53 am

Do you know how much the actual number of subsidized money claimed by the G’s?
      Do you think its the real figure?
      We pay high price for the car price(local or import), we pay every single entry Toll in Klang Valley, the road condition is bad, the Public Transportation is bad and now, the MRT project that not even feasible at current economy.

How?

• SubsidiesRWasteful on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:37 pm

How is this relevant to to fuel hike for ron 97?

Seriously, u got to pay to play. If u want to use cars that require Ron 97, then u have to be prepared to pay for ur indulgence. Why should other people subsidise ur indulgence.

If u r using a normal car that runs perfectly on ron 95 then where’s the beef??

The concept of pay to play is wonderful. Look at our toll roads. I would argue that they are generally in excellent condition (with some exceptions, of course like everything in life). The bad roads are the non-toll roads.

Seriously, if u love toll free roads so much there are plenty of neighbouring countries with toll free roads. Just be prepared to change wheels and tyres every six months or so.

• armang on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:19 pm

if that so, where is taxpayers’ money gone? for what the purpose of taxx been paid? we pay tax for something to be returned to rakyat. we are argue of when the price increase, we will face the consequence, this time ron97 increased, soon or later, ron95 and diesel to be increased as well..the effect? foods/education/health will follow increase..use road, have to pay toll, toll is one thing and another thing the exobitant rate of toll. plus very bad piblic transport. i dont mind if my house is located one km away from workplace, i can walk and benefited. however, how those living in klang and working in sri kembangan? tell me how to get there if not using your own transport…tell me which way without paying toll..we are not asking for free road, free oil or free everything, it is give and take between g and rakyat…it is not the leaders sufffered but rakyat..who is rakyat? me and some other 25 millions out there. that is why we are complaining of this situation. You? I’m really pray to be as lucky as you as all these increase not affected at all. But for me, a sole breadwinner..dying standing

• MCdog on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Toll free road is not free. We PAY road tax and we deserve to have good condition road!

• I had went to Thailand. Thailand tollfree roads are more better than federal roads in Malaysia. What you gonna to say?
          haha.. Go figure lah my friend!

• Ha Gnih on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:52 am

So I guess it’s my own fault to be driving a 3.5L Vellfire and a 2.4 L Sonata huh ? But excuse me, then why the hell am I paying road taxes by the thousands of ringgit for then ? Tell me oh please tell me. Are we all paying road taxes for FUN ? So that the government can prosper so that they can actually organize trips for first ladies or whatever shit they prefer to call themselves these days to go out on an ‘official’ or ‘religious’ trips to somewhere in the middle east ? So that Datuks and Datins can make more claims whenever they get out of the country ? A 1 million ringgit worth of a CLAIMED expenditure of family trip to Hong Kong ?

I drive Ron97 guzzling cars because I can afford it and not that I have to rely on subsidies and crap like that. But the matter what we motorists are facing now is, so yeah, toll paying roads are so much better. But do you even know why the roads are there in the first place ? It’s not an issue of who gets the better road or things like that, toll paying roads are there so those that can afford it can pay and travel smoother, meaning faster and less congested. It is not the same as paying road taxes you know.

Malaysians only expect one thing whenever our time is up to pay for road taxes. PLEASE FUCKING FIX OUR ROADS LIKE HOW WE DESERVE THEM YOU MOFOS !!!!

• Swift on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:09 pm

And I bet you can’t even afford a car.

• u think u are right, but seemed everybody thumbs u down!!

• droll on Apr 02, 2011 at 2:23 pm

sorry, i disagree with this. public transport is not an option for some people. it sounds like you are not affected by these limitations.

• ayamxxx on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:11 am

I think this is the time to let go a DC5

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Dun blame BN or Umno, this action was well done as they going no where after next election come cause they not going to win again nxt election, therefore they must quickly korek as many money as they can. Remeber dun blame Government. Price of RON95 will hike???That was hot key issue where BN dare not to hike this moment before election.

• Penang Soon on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Election coming soon, not dare to increase ron95?

• Datuk Kay on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:58 pm

I drive big BMW. Live in big house. Get bigjuicy project from govt.

Abit of petrol price increase is SEMUA ok……No problem….

• Grant on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:03 pm

You guys just miss a chance to earn some money~ Haha

• It is indeed shocking to hear this increase. Before you know it, the price of RON 97 will be at RM3 per litre. There is a difference of RM0.80 between R97 and R95. It will not be long before RON 95 gets an increase.
    All this while the trend for petrol prices is always on the increase.

– Is it time to think of diesel cars that are cleaner and perhaps more economical to run as compared to petrol?
    – What about hybrids? Most hybrids use petrol still – mainly R97. I am not sure about R95.
    – If not, is it time for electric cars to be available in Malaysia – like the Nissan LEAF or Mistubishi i-Miev? Then again, the cost will be based on how much electricity will cost and it is always on the rise as well. However, could it be more economical than cars running on petrol? This needs to be analyzed properly. Even so, what about charging infrastructure and the constraints that come with having an electric car? Nobody knows much about this since this is still in the early stages of adoption.

The question now is: What do we do about the future? Prices of almost everything is increasing drastically. Are there better alternatives? If yes, what are they and when will they become available?

How will the government respond to all these changes since it will affect the citizens of the country? Moreover, what can we and what will we do as citizens of the country to ensure a better future for next generations?

There is much to be done but very little time available to execute. It is time we thought about this seriously and do all that we can for a better future.

• andrew on Apr 02, 2011 at 4:46 pm

There is an alternative. Change job to get higher pay loh. It’s the only way to survive. No point bragging price increase here and there cause it doesn’t change anything. Most of my friends who cannot find a decent job here already migrated to other country. I’m thinking of doing that as well if things are unbearable here.

• damn government…fuel hikes and high tax….watch out for next election..we know what to do in return for your favour….

• DNA male Y on Apr 02, 2011 at 2:20 pm

dear GOV,
    if u have 2 increase ron97 price 2 subsidized ron95, then lets it hiked!!

haha..bro dont use floated price fuel if u dont wanna suffer!

• wayne on Apr 02, 2011 at 2:48 pm

alaaa, 20 sen aje naik, sikit je tu, tak de hal punya, 20 sen ciput kah kah kah, takpe lah lagi pun orang kampung bukan ada kenderaan, depa jalan kaki atau naik basikal jee, kalau naik 50 sen pun takpe yahoooooo, kah kah kah kah

• Rakyat Biasa on Apr 02, 2011 at 3:19 pm

RON95 still at 1.90, ok la tu.. so people who buy RON97 will pay for us using 95 laaa..
    One more thing, this Jazz dude said petrol habis 2015 n there r people blaming BN govt for that??? Blame la si Jazz, die yg kata bukan BN kata.. huk aloh..

• TIGER on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Other local matters i dont want to touch bt what i believe is that oil prices are going up sharply only bez of these bloody wild monkey (gazafi) govt dnt want to step down and as a result whole world suffer even though they export only 2% of world oil.

i support govt bez we have to be realistic when see crude oil price in the world.
    i pray that ASAP arabic countries matters would be solved by UNITED STATES AND we could feel good.

• Ash Menon on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:33 pm

To all the people who are saying “padan muka who ask you to so semangat pour RON97? As long as 95 didn’t increase price then just use 95 laa!”, please remember there are some older vehicles (like my Wira) that can’t take 97. I’ve tried it before, the engine suffers quite badly.

• SubsidiesRWasteful on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Seriously get ur car fixed. Wira runs a low compression engine. If ur engine cant run on 95 then something is faulty.

• whey.. what’re u talking about? our fuel has been Ron97 all the time.. The Ron95 just recently come out. Wira is originally tuned for Ron97.. but still compatible to Ron95. and due to this u should expect performance variance.
      I used to have a iswara stated to use Ron97. dont tell me your very old wira not using the similar engine(carburetted).

People out there using Ron97 for a reason or 2. It’s not they want to show off that they are using Ron97, BUT because there’s big performance variance for their car while using Ron97.

• “please remember there are some older vehicles (like my Wira) that can’t take 97. I’ve tried it before, the engine suffers quite badly.”

I think you meant can’t take 95 instead of 97?

• langit_hitam on Apr 03, 2011 at 12:24 am

I think your Wira is like my colleague Wira that cant consume and drink RON95, if he pour the RON95, his Wira acting badly.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 04, 2011 at 2:06 am

Dude, my neighbour’s kid is driving a wira and I asked him whether he pumps 95 or 97 and he said 95 and guess what ? That car speeds like mad yo ! Haha

• tokmoh on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Anakku Sazali… awat tak boh minyak… kang da naik 2 kupang…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ax5U0w-8Xao

• Radzuan on Apr 02, 2011 at 6:51 pm

What Mahathir didnt tell Malaysians are that Its neighbour thailand is today the region’s biggest car manufacturer. Production is expected to hit 2.3 million vehicles a year in the next 2 to 3 yrs. To-date, the tThai motor industry has provided more than 300,000 jobs. This is the kind of employment that Malaysia would have enjoyed had Mahathir not pursue the national motor policy. The protectionism of proton continues even today. What people did not realise was that there are thousands of deaths involving Proton vehicles since its hey days as a result of Mahathir pursuing this policy. And we all know since thebeginning of Proton, safety has never their priority and the so-called “tin milo” image is a living proof. Have you ever heard of Mahathir mentioned about his failure over his motor policy. This is a man who picked and choosed what people should hear without giving them any opportunity to challenge his ideas in the open coz he is so used to the state control appartus. Even his blogs today is very much controlled.

is the fact that Thailand is today the region’s biggest moto

• ocotopus on Apr 03, 2011 at 1:01 am

well said

• yippi33 on Apr 03, 2011 at 1:37 am

this isuue has been discussed..until when should we become mat kilang and minah kilang only..we can no longer afford to stay at where we are 15 years ago…our manpower cost are increasing and companies no longer see us viable to setup plants etc..that is why they are migrating to new developing countries like thais and viets..i guarantee that in 15 years, timor leste will be become like what thailand is experiencing now..there is no way we can get high wages except if we move to service based economy instead of manufacturing..but how can we achieve this if the rakyat is still in the same level of mind as 15 years ago???it is time we become proactive by changing our mindset and increase our knowledge/expertise in whatever field we are at instead of waiting for the g to change..why not we start the change by changing what we are able to control which is ourselves..

• yippi33 on Apr 03, 2011 at 1:41 am

owh…and another thing is that..dont blame proton for the accidents..mechanical faults contributes only a tiny percent..theres no use for airbag if u crash in a beemer at 200km/h..its the driving attitude of us msians that needs change…

• so that 99% of that 300 000 vacant can be filled by mat vietnam, mat kemboja, abg nepal, minah indon, mat bangla…

• blue ocean on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:10 am

hw much is our production? u mention only thailand, ours hw much?

• lamki on Apr 02, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Thank You Malaysia….

• TO SubsidiesRWasteful…. i think you are that kind of people who are feeling coMfortable with the current environment… AND THIS PEOPLE NEVER HAS CHANCE TO COMPARE WITH THE OTHERS (Countries, or people living in other countries) because this people getting all the information from the paper or TV provided by our BELOVE (BeHated) Govn… or these people never had chance to live in overseas…

I’ve been staying in US for 2 years++, i owned a BMW, brand new for not more than USD 35k… you want to compare the quality of car with the same amount of money you spend in MaLAYsiA? Again, petrol in State selling at resonable price and BETTER quality!

• doctor on Apr 03, 2011 at 9:10 am

kinda agreed with toyo.

if you have a chance to live abrod, even for a few months, give it a chance, then come back and let us know of your experience, esp with regards to prices of oil and vehicles.

i’ve stayed 3 years in the US, 3 years in ireland, for the same amount that one is paying for a proton, you can get a much better car and the petrol is WAY BETTER.

don’t get me wrong, i’m not bashing proton, in fact i’m driving a proton myself, they are doing a good job (by that i mean they are improving).

but the same can’t be said of our current gov, improving? i beg to differ. we keep on mentioning about developed country by 2020 but in reality, we years behind.

TO SubsidiesRWasteful: go and have a life, try and travel outside, see the reality, don’t juz google and copy and paste everything.

• SubsidiesRWasteful on Apr 03, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Seriously dumb people here.

Please compare like with like?

The UK and US have been industrialised for 100 years. UK has a per capita GDP of 36k usd and the USA has a per capita GDP of 47k usd per year. Singapore is at 36k usd. Have a guess as to what kind of tax revenue their governments earn compared to our government ( 7k usd per capita gdp)

All u guys are expecting 1st world level of utilities, facilities when govt revenue is one fifth of the countries u compare to!! Please use your brains.

As it is, every goddamn thing in this country is subsidised by our oil money. Rice, sugar, fuel……the list goes on and on. Yet people moan and moan and moan about 97 ron price which is now on a monthly peg to world prices.

What the hell!

Live within your means!! If u cant afford the fuel then seriously look at economising ur monthly spending, get a more fuel efficient car, make less journeys, CARPOOL….

There are a thousand things i wish i could go out and buy tomorrow but i balance my spending according to my income. I prioritise my kids education and saving for the future.

Look at Japan and South Korea……both countries that have been ravaged in their recent histories but both have bounced back to become economic powerhouses. It didnt happen thru subsidies hats for sure. It happened thru hardwork, frugal living and a great sense of working for the community plus national pride.

For those that are so in love with USA and UK….. by all means go. See how u like the high income tax levels, fuel prices (rm 7.5 per litre in uk), insurance, and labour rates (rm 150 to rm 300 per hour at franchise workshops.

• Ronan on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:00 pm

I have to agree with SubsidiesRWasteful here, even though there are some points that I feel otherwise. The main reason is our household debt is second only to Korea! We at the very least owe 3 billion in credit card payments to the banks, and half of those owed are from peoplewho earn RM1500 and less! Why do you think the Government has tightened control on those with credit cards? We are constantly spending beyond our means yet complain when basic amenities, amenities we really need to survive rise.

We have got to be more responsible of ourselves. It is very easy to blame others but it is high time we have to take fault as well. We drive like lunatics and speed like petrol is 50 cents, we constantly go to McDonalds and then buy useless things that we don’t need in our homes. Wake UP!

I hate the current government as much as the next person, but I’m not blindly criticising them just because everyone else is doing it! Get of your high horse and start making the right decisions!

• Kumar san on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:50 am

I fully agree with Toyo and Doctor-We all have lived in the US before so we know what we are talking about.unlike SubsidiesRWasteful,or so it seems-Get a life,go and see the world then come and talk..
        You can buy a brand new Ford Mustang in the US those days for less than USD 30k which i did,then run it on E85 Ethanol,making some serious power.Do you see E85 here?Do you see Biodiesel here?No right?Even Toyo owned a brand new Beemer for less than USD35k.Can you do the same here?Hell no!!And what do we get?Rubbish,literally.Well said Toyo and Doctor.Cheers

• sukasuki on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:33 pm

dont blame gov, blame the oil producing country, oil speculator coz making crude oil price higher this week. and also, dont forget to pay ur tax to gov bcoz gov dont have money to give all of us subsidy for oil, flour, rice, education, healthcare, bla3

• 1st the money belong to the country, the govt is been elected by the people to manage the wealth, therefore it is called “Expenditure” not “Subsidy”
      Subsidy is when the money is given to a selected group not the general porpulation.
      Faham ?

• SubsidiesRWasteful on Apr 03, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Wrong.

A subsidy (also known as a subvention) is a form of financial assistance paid to a business or economic sector. Most subsidies are made by the government to producers or distributors in an industry to prevent the decline of that industry (e.g., as a result of continuous unprofitable operations) or an increase in the prices of its products or simply to encourage it to hire more labor (as in the case of a wage subsidy). Examples are subsidies to encourage the sale of exports; subsidies on some foods to keep down the cost of living, especially in urban areas; and subsidies to encourage the expansion of farm production and achieve self-reliance in food production.

Therefore whether its given to a select group or the general population is IRRELEVANT!

Look up govt. expenditure. Its different to above.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:54 am

But do you know who gets these subsidies with ease ?? Ahhhhh…………I have all the lists here. :)

• lullaby on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:41 am

gov sudah bg choice maaa…kamu tinggal pilih saja..mau guna RON 95 ka..RON 97 kaa..NGV & Diesel pn ada maaa…Hybrid…EV….itu semua pilihan..pilih saja maa…semua benda mau subsidi ka…boleh..boleh…tp jgn bising kalau tol naik..tax naik…ok?

• REMINDER = RON95 price will only be hiked after ELECTION is WON

• …and even IF, IF PAS, PAKATAN or PKR jadi government, these kind of things tak jadi ke? harga mintak maintain? makin murah?

• Kalau nak tau pilih mereka pada PRU 13

• doctor on Apr 03, 2011 at 1:51 pm

well, that’s a tough question, personally i can’t answer that question but one can only ponder and make assumptions

but we will never know, till we give them a chance?

i know this isn’t related to the post, but please gomen, don’t give us a lame excuse that in the near future, you need to increase the price of ron 95 just to narrow the gap between the two (95 and 97)…

• learner on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:50 am

no guessing here, its fact, price will still going up.

• Grandisan-Megane Soon on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Based on the thumbs up and thumbs down figures in PaulTan , when the comments are anti-government generally many thumbs up , whereas when the comments are pro-BN , there’re many thumbs down …. in short a lot of anti-BN or PRO – PKR supporters nowadays …Me like it so much !!!!!

• NoBrainer on Apr 03, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Brother. I agree with you. I am also PRO PKR. Many of my friends are. You know whats the sad fact? They are not voters!!!!

When I asked why they are not even registered. Some say, they dont know where to register. Some say, got no time. Some say, too far away. Some say, BN stronghold no point voting. Some way, petrol price went up so dont want to travel. Some say, that day not feeling well. Some say, they or their friends getting married. etc…

I have heard a lot of excuses. Not too sure you whether you have heard any? In fact, many readers are supporters. But, are they actually voting?

• Sorry i prefer V power!Ron95 and 97 is for cheap cars!

• JasJos on Apr 03, 2011 at 7:08 pm

V power racing is also RON97. U’ve been cheated thinking u are 1 class above.

• azrai on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:10 pm

There are V-power racing beside those ‘regular’ v-power ron 97.

• i dont use ron 97, malaysian mistake is not introduce ron 95 earlier, should put ron 92 and ron 95 only, people so getting used to ron 97 when the price is cheap.

• Hi to all Proton n G basher….

Read this,

http://chedet.co.cc/chedetblog/2011/03/protectionism.html#more….

Even Volkswagen is being protected by the German Government……

http://dealbook.nytimes.com/2008/09/24/germany-seeks-to-protect-state-control-of-volkswagen/

Is it wrong for us to do the same thing?

Stop politicize everything!!!

Peace…..

• redboy on Apr 03, 2011 at 12:56 pm

they protect but NOT taking away the rakyat’s consumer right. if they practice the same like what malaysia practice, u see all unions on the road marching already.

• Vincent Ang on Apr 03, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Take the best Proton car and compare it to the cheapest VW model and the Proton car would still be DECADES behind in technology. Even the Koreans have learnt to make world-class cars. The Germans and Koreans use government protection as a stepping stone to greater heights. You Mats use the same kind of government support as a tongkat for your forever crippled legs. Very big difference.

• To my fellow Sarawakian: we did before in 2008, and now it’s your chance in 2011.
    May the Force be with you!

• At least improve the formulation and quality of ron95 and I’m sure we malaysians won’t have any issue using it.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 03, 2011 at 9:34 am

anything ‘improved’ in Malaysia would mean one thing : Price also improves. Hahaha.

• Malaysia full of natural resources, such as timber, agriculture, plantation, Oil & etc. Almost everything malaysia can earn income from all this special condition. BUT WHERE ALL THE MONEY GO???? Doubt on why goverment minister taib, mahatir, sami, khalid, rafidah, khalid….and so on, SO RICH???? Even few years serving as goverment officer own multi billion asset and cash??? Can their salary as high as listed CEO salary? If no where their money come from???? From Goverment yearly budget said to help country…Paid RM10 get RM0.10 worth of stuff, RM9.90 go into their own pocket. When election come, fund you a few hundred thousand donation to get your vote, but at the end they can get 10000 times funding for them self and their relative & family…….give PKR a chance to dig…dig…dig them out and sent for sentence. Vote PKR even they use “Bangala” as representative.

• DAP people keep shouting change gov! (hehe after change then we can change the constitution!t). PKR people keep licking their feet here, dreaming of better malaysia with cheap as USA car, lower than UAE oil price, rise in income automatically no matter what ur job @ qualification (SPM can own BMW!), and other dream.

think la my brothers

• notocampro on Apr 03, 2011 at 4:24 pm

so those who’s talking bout changing the G, are u sure they will not put crazy price like today’s G? juz thinking coz world’s oil price keep changing and our oil is still under subsidize or else it will be much2 expensive… i’m not pro to today’s G and nor to the opposition’s. just a thinker.

• tabet on Apr 03, 2011 at 10:35 pm

u r absolutely correct….dont waste time on politics. Don even waste petrol to go to vote. Just focus on your business and make tons of money. No matter Lim Guan Eng or Chuah Soi Lek become prime minister also none of my business,

But I will seriously consider going to vote if PAUL TAN become a candidate. I think he will make every Malaysian to own a Ferrari

• MangO on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:23 am

I believe the objective is so the ruling party does not stay in power for too long. We the rakyat are the check and balance. When one stays on too long they lose focus and believe they are impervious to any wrongdoings.

• Izhar on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:13 pm

yes…that why ada pembangkang…their job are to comment the current government…and if the pembangkang are right..the current G must do something or if not, explain to rakyat the causes….not all G doing are right…when the majoriti goes down, the G must think the reason….
        i just take the positive site…the fuel price rise, make me drive the car more consistently, plan my journey, just walking if distance are short, drive within speed limits.
        hope the subsidies will sent to the people that needed…
        if G doing wrong with the money, its between him/her and GOD….what can i do is, do my job on voting for election…

• GoGreenEnvironment on Apr 03, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Go for public transport then. cheap and easy. :)
    And try to go green and reduce CO2 etc.

• public transport doesn’t reach my working place!!! 18km away!!! use taxi??? much more expensive!!! walk to work??? R u crazy??? 12pm noon not sure can reach or not….

• Ha Gnih on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:33 am

If our public transportation is as efficient as Singapore’s, then YES, we shall all take public transportations. But in Malaysia ? Buses are a scarcity and not to mention that the routes are pretty limited. Bus conditions are crappy and bus drivers are usually those hooligans; take Metro Bus of KL for example.

Not to sound my own horn here, but luckily I have a stable job that I can afford my own ride because I won’t have to deal with the crappy public transportation issue that even the government themselves are not really keen in dealing with.

• Between Devil & the deep blue sea, i’ll take the chance.
    At least no 100 stories white elephant tower & nuke plant.

• Yesss! still rm1.90 for Ron95. no need to pakai ron97, 2.70 is too much, ini dah harga zaman pak lah dulu…go hybrid go!

• Astronauts on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:32 am

yes , people who can afford hybird in malaysia care not petrol price

• lullaby on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:36 am

Hahahahaha…upgrade your car to hybrid, EV…no need to use RON 97 again…or downgrade your car to RON 95/Diesel car or motorcycle….

• Izhar on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:20 pm

not fill the tank with ron 97…
    stay with ron 95 since launch..
    so far ok..no problem..
    with 1.3 car and speed limit 90 – 110km/h…still get good milage..

• Kumar san on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:37 pm

WE ARE AN OIL PRODUCING NATION,PERIOD.WE ARE THE ONLY OPEC MEMBER NATION THAT CHARGES A SUBSIDY FOR IT’S NATIONAL PETROLEUM DEMAND,NO NONE ELSE DOES IT.WHAT OUR COUNTRY DRILLS OUT ON A DAILY BASIS FAR EXCEEDS OUR LOCAL DEMAND,AND YET NOTHING OF THE “BEST QUALITY CRUDE” HAS EVER REACHED OUR PUMPS.

THE PROFITS!!! REAPED AND NOT “LOSSES” AS CLAIMED BY OUR GOVERNMNET VIA TRADING ON NYMEX GOES INTO THE GOVERMENT’S COFFERS/POLITICIANS CONTROLLING THIS COUP..DO YOU MALAYSIAN’S HONESTLY THINK THAT WE PRODUCE CRUDE TO INCUR LOSSES!!??WE MUST BE EXTREMELY STUPID THEN RIGHT?? OR OUR NATION’S TOP ECONOMIST HAS NO CLUE TO REAL ARITHMETICS.

WHAT WE HAVE AT OUR PUMPS IS ACTUALLY THIRD GRADE QUALITY CRUDE BOUGHT FROM THE MIDDLE EAST AFTER THE PROFITS REAPED FROM THE DAILY CRUDE TRADE ON NYMEX.
    BRUNEI DARUSSALAM HAS NEVER INCREASED IT’S FUEL PRICE PER LITRE AND IT REMAINS AT 65 CENTS SINCE SALE INCEPTION.DUH??IN SAUDI ARABIA,A LITRE OF RON 99 COSTS LESS THAN RM97 CENTS.LIKE DUH AGAIN!!!

SUBSIDY OR SUBSIDIZATION OF PETROLEUM IS FOR NATIONS THAT IMPORT CRUDE,NOT PRODUCE.DO NOT BE MISLED OR BLATANTLY DUMPED INTO A WORLD OF CONFUSION AND LIES,AS IN THIS CASE.

THIS IS NOT RIGHT AT ALL.WE PAY FOR ALL THIS WHEN WE DON’T HAVE TO!!!!
    GOVT FIASCO??YOU MALAYSIAN’S BE THE JUDGE.I REST MY CASE GUYS.EXERCISE YOUR VOTING RIGHTS AT THE NEXT ELECTION.CHEERS.ENOUGH SAID.

• _xXx_ on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:37 pm

pls dun raise ur voice to everyone thanks….

• SubsidiesRWasteful on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Mate if u had something worth saying u wont have to shout.

Please back up ur nonsense with some citations? Where are u getting ur “information” from?

“WE ARE AN OIL PRODUCING NATION,PERIOD.WE ARE THE ONLY OPEC MEMBER NATION THAT CHARGES A SUBSIDY FOR IT’S NATIONAL PETROLEUM DEMAND”

How do u charge for a subsidy? Its oxymoronic.

More importantly, when has the government claimed it made losses from producing oil? U are shouting nonsense at the top of ur voice.

Yes Malaysia exports its high grade crude and imports low grade crude. Why do we do this? Because it nets the country more money. And it makes no difference at all to what u pump into ur cars tank.

Just because the country has oil wealth why should it be used to subsidise ur wasteful lifestyle???

Do u not want to preserve anything at all for the next generation? Wouldnt the profits be better utilised in other areas?

• The Man!! on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:42 pm

So you would prefer the profits to be used to make politicians and cronies richer?

• Kumar san on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:55 am

Thanks for your support,The Man!!.At least you got my point.Cheers.

• Joseph on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:26 am

Are from Biro Tata Negara, because the kind of rubbish you’re spewing is the kind of standard write up prepared for a BTN cyber troll. What an imbecile, puppet with strings.

• Saudi slave on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Since when Saudi Arabia using RON 99? All I know they using RON 91 and RON 95 consider premium product. Just see around,grass on the other side always look greener,go and see yourself and come back.

• Carl Wong on Apr 04, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Embrace the efficient hybrid technology, get the Toyota Prius or Honda Insight of your choice. The Honda Insight is selling really well here :)!!

• huru hara on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:06 pm

cmon la people..dun bawak msuk politic here..whoever rule this country pun,oil price will still go up n up n up until oil habis..pakatan or bn or dap..smua ade corruption..it is all the same..dun let the politics kcao2 u punye mind..just think about how to save petrol nowdays..now have to tunggu proton punye hybrid car..lol

• tricycle on Apr 08, 2011 at 3:12 pm

what a jerk!

easy for you to say say since you get your money from your father n mother. but the rest of us depends on the good quality of leadership to defend us from being day-light robbing.