Tony Fernandes receives CBE from Queen Elizabeth II

Tony Fernandes receives CBE from Queen Elizabeth IITeam Lotus and AirAsia boss Tony Fernandes received the Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) award by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in London yesterday. The award is attributed to his “services to promote commercial and educational links” between the UK and Malaysia.

“I am extremely humbled to have received this award today and I would like to thank Her Majesty The Queen for bestowing such an honour upon me. More than a personal honour, it will serve as a catalyst to further enhance relations between the UK and Malaysia, particularly in the areas of business, culture and education.

“I receive this award today not on my behalf, but on behalf of all the incredible people I work with, wherever they may be around the world. It is their dedication, passion, enthusiasm and hard work that drives me on every single day and it is also my great honour to have the privilege of working with them,” Fernandes said.

The CBE is the second award conferred on Fernandes in Europe. Last year, the French government conferred upon him the title of Officier of the Legion d’honneur, the highest award for a non-French national, for his outstanding contributions to the aviation industry. Fernandes was also recently named “Asia Businessman of the Year 2010” by the international magazine Forbes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rhymie on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:25 am

he deserve it…….well done tony…………………

• rhymie on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:26 am

he deserve 4 it…..well done tony……..

• You make Malaysian proud :)

Keep up Mr Fernandes

Thank you

• In 10 short years he achieved so much really respect for him ! Congrats ! Making Malaysia proud !

• jimmyc on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:10 pm

haha.. april fool!

• niuhje on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Congrats & fair play Mr. Fernandez… despite what ppl may say…

• Does he get to wear the title ‘Sir’?

• bobby on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:38 pm

No, cause he is not awarded a knighthood.

• misai omar on Apr 01, 2011 at 2:45 pm

to get Sir..as not as easy to get “Datok” in Malaysia. You can be Datok even u are not a good singer ( for example ). Today U will confuse with..Datok gelaran anugerah dengan datok baru dapat cucu.

• Ronaldo on Apr 01, 2011 at 5:16 pm

its not easy to get an award in england unlike malaysia datukship are giving to those who are willing to pay or hav political connection.

• mostly who pay for datukship usually from sulu kingdom or any non legitimate kingdom or buy from some company lol

• extend your reading here…it just not happen only in malaysia, UK too has this situation but rather costly than malaysia and even loan the title lol

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cash_for_Honours

• UK – It has been revealed recently by the Sunday Times newspaper that every donor who has given £1,000,000 or more to the Labour Party since 1997 has been given a Knighthood or a Peerage. On top of this, the government has given honours to 12 of the 14 individuals who have given Labour more than £200,000 and of the 22 who donated more than £100,000, 17 received honours. Eighty percent of the money raised by individuals for the Labour Party is from those who have received honours In 1976, the Harold Wilson era was mired by a similar controversy over the 1976 Prime Minister’s Resignation Honours, which became known as the “Lavender List” quote from XXX…….that a lot of money involve

• VoidDance on Apr 01, 2011 at 5:07 pm

I thought only a British citizen can be bestowed with knighthood and that only come when you received the OBE. TF received CBE. He deserved it.

• squawk on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:32 pm

LOL!

Nice try. :-)

• squawk on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Unless an international motor racing site is in cahoots with paultan.org to make this up, then it’s my bad.

It’s not a hoax.

• Unforgiven on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:58 pm

I guess in the World point of view, he did a good job. Congrats!
    What’s the World point of view for p1?

• tokmoh on Apr 01, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Relying on awards to recognise a person’s worth?

CUSCO buys Satria Neo to rally, that’s coming from a respectable tuner. And from a country with loads of ‘better’ cars for the purpose, depending on how you look at it.

Not too long ago, some Thai press voted Savvy as the top 10 cars in Thailand, coming from a country with open, unprotected market.

More recently, “James May” drove the Satria Neo S2000 in Top Gear. That’s quite a recognition, when they could have used some French hatchbacks instead.
      Or am I mistaken? P1 wimax as far as I know is not consistent. Unifi may not be perfect, but I trust it anytime over P1. And why do their promoters ask me about mobile internet? If they don’t have BIS data plan, don’t bother.

:P

• Errrr… DId he get paid for getting that award?

• Car Driver on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:05 pm

I think he deserve it. Nice job Tony.
    Much better recognition than those silly guys who try to be the 1st Malaysian to sail round the world, Explore the North Pole and the Ridiculous 1st Angkasawan who prove Malaysia do not have the capability yet for Space travel …..

• COngrat Sir Fernandes….u deserve it.

Yes, nowaday to get Dato’ or Datuk is so easy…. why ha??

• greenluck on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Well done. I salute you. This reward is few million time better than our ordinary money related “dato” or “datuk” or whatever they call it.

• Cunner Cunning Yag on Apr 01, 2011 at 5:23 pm

How about paying our airport tax then?

• _xXx_ on Apr 01, 2011 at 5:33 pm

can we have numbered seat now?

• Cosmo Artemis on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:40 am

Dear Uncle Tony CBE,

1) Can we have a glass of orange drink or a packet of nuts then?
        2) How about a bridge to your plane to protect our ass from sun or rain?
        3) Or how if you buy your stewardess a ‘longer’ skirt or give them long pants please?
        4) Don’t say this will push the price up. Even the ticket at lower price also you have made a hefty profit la uncle…

• not everyone can fly. on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Bull**** lah Tony.

This fellow is a real slick when it comes to denying his customers right. What important is always his and his own pocket.

• ignoramus on Apr 03, 2011 at 12:58 am

why do you keep flying Air Asia? Fly MAS/Firefly only and stop whining

• Ananda on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Tony is Ananda’s son in law, of course got the freaking head start. And he makes me sick

• shawal on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:22 pm

“Last year, the French government conferred upon him the title of Officier of the Legion d’honneur, the highest award for a non-French national, for his outstanding contributions to the aviation industry.”

well, obviously…. cuz Airasia bought a whole load of Airbuses ,so in way… He did pay to get that title….

but OBE is a cool title to have behind your name…..

• wc5be on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:26 pm

some pay for datuk, some pay for tan sri. this is only jaguh kampung, known to 28million ppl.
    try pay for cbe, obe, Legion d’honneur. it is a jaguh dunia, known to 6.5billion ppl.
    which is better? u decide. i rest my case.

• too costly there…datuk around RM10-20k here, there 100-200k pound sterling

• imsohigh on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:37 am

how sure 6.5billion people know CBE,OBE ,Legion d’honneur . i dont know them , and i know many who doesnt know them either. you are exaggerating if u think the whole world knows about it

prolly most brits and french would know but i doubt even 20% of americans know about them

in reality you are the jaguh kampung

• Theva on Apr 02, 2011 at 3:59 pm

You are awesome! Well Done Tony..

• congrats dato tony. now your business card need to print smaller font already. :)

bring more make us proud!