Nick Heidfeld writes encouraging open letter to Kubica

When Lotus Renault GP needed to find a replacement for the injured Robert Kubica, Nick Heidfeld was the the most solid option. The German with the nickname ‘Quick Nick’ didn’t take too long to show that he’s still sharp despite being without a regular race seat since the end of 2009 when BMW pulled out of F1.

At last Sunday’s Malaysian GP, Heidfeld managed to hold on to third place with Mark Webber hot on his heels, giving Lotus Renault their second podium finish in as many races (Petrov was third in Australia). After the event, Heidfeld has written an open letter to his former BMW Sauber teammate, who is undergoing rehabilitation now. Here’s the letter as it appeared on Heidfeld’s official website.

Dear Robert,

Have you seen that? I printed your logo on the front of my helmet, and the Polish flag on the side. I wanted you to see that and to let you know that I’m thinking of you. I wanted to show your fans that you are a part of Formula 1 and of this team. This 3rd place is also yours! During the race I had often been thinking of you. Crossing the finish line, happiness totally flooded my head. I know what you are thinking right now: “Lotus-Renault has built such a wonderful car this year. I want to get back as soon as possible and drive it!” You can do it, I wish you all the best for your rehabilitation. Get well soon!

Yours

Nick

Kubica is reported to be recovering well, and has surprised doctors by putting weight on his foot and clasping an object in his hand. Let’s hope for a continued speedy recovery for Robert!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• unlogic on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Quick Nick is a great driver and also a great person!!

• Jaaaaaguar on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Good man, Nick! All I can say is, keep being awesome!

• I have to say, Group Lotus’s Renault is giving more positive impressions than Team Lotus. Not sure if this is for PR purposes, but what a display of humility by Quick Nick. Not to mention, Vitaly Petrov, who made alot of rookie mistakes last year, has impressed well.

Where TL is making more loud noises and Tony claimed the name Lotus is his and his a Lotus fan since young or whatso ever, this Group Lotus’s Renault team just prove it in the race tracks. Even putting Mercedes GP and Ferrari into shame.

Wishing Robert Kubica a speedy recovery!

• monada76 on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Even if this a PR job, this is good PR.Congrats to Nick and wishing Robert a speedy recovery.

• Ash Menon on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm

It’s always nice to read articles like this that make you believe in people. Good on you, Nick, and Robert, all of us are praying for you.

• clutch basah on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:52 pm

No disrespect but that is so gay of them

• Peterpj on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:30 pm

I was thinking exactly the same thing, lolx

Not sure what’s with all the thumbs down though. I’m gay and have no issue with his opinion.

• Fazzurri on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Y everything have to be associated with sex? This is just a letter from a man to his buddy, to show that he always be with his FRIEND for better or worse. Please wise up la.. to many watch blue film..

• clutch basah on Apr 15, 2011 at 10:28 am

Oohh.. how cute and adorable.. your comment touched me.
        Don’t know if you exchange flowers, cuddled with your guy buddies and wear pink underwear.. if you do give above Peterpj a call… ;)

• tokmoh on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:31 pm

I find it ironic that “no disrespect” at the front of your sentence is immediately followed by something disrecpectful.

• race_fan on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Such a humble Nick.. it must be good if they become teammate again

• Oh that is so surprisingly sweet of Heidfeld that I wish they are actually an item. Well why not, right?

• mfahd_88 on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:56 pm

gua saspek same lu nick!

• bmpower on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:15 pm

kubica is my fav driver.

actually that car nick heidfeld is was a kubica car.

but great, nick just do great driver even i myself bit skeptical on his ability. he proved me wrong. :) all the best for both of them. and v pedrov too.

• slum in bolehland on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:23 pm

keep up the good work lotusrenault.hope either of both can achieve podium.btw it really a good week for lotus renault as in indycar team KV racing lotus also grab podium for second time by tony kanaan.

• Henry on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:30 pm

That’s very nice of Nick. (clap, clap, clap)

• jamal on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:59 pm

/respect

• ayamxxx on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:16 pm

kubica more on aggresive style of driving while Nick more relax, but alway constant on maintaiining his car speed throughout the entire race.

But nick had proved before he can defeat kubica while in BMW sauber, while also kubica defeat nick during 09season.

but hopefully, when kubica is back, please maintain kubica and nick at renault as I don’t see petrov is improving (except australia gp). he made many mistake at sepang which is not Good.

• makeitmine on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Petrov is needed to sell Lotus cars to Russia and perhaps Proton to build cars for the Russian market. F1 deal is to help Proton enter Russian market.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Nick Heidfeld won in Sepang because he always thinks of others, especially Kubica. They are great partners. That’s why Nick deserved the third place.

• makeitmine on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Nick knows his place at Renault – he’s a standby driver and not a replacement for Kubica. Actually, he’s hunting for a place in F1 next year. Perhaps Mercedes would be interested in him.

• mazdafuraiconcept08 on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:08 pm

if it was pr work, it was good pr by nick’s team – it was on his website, and it rubbed on to lotus-renault. Maybe it wasnt meant to be so gay but he was not a native english speaker, so maybe there was something lost in translation from german.

• Heidfeld was my favorite driver..gonna miss his action again when kubica’s back..

• SoMeOnE on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:47 am

kubica is an awesome driver… i really think he’s a future champion and the car this year has the potential to propel a championship charge..he’s my fav driver..and renault is my fav team…..if they can find a few tenths more….this be quite a season for them….

• lchan on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:23 am

More like..Hi kubica..you seen that?..3rd place while you still cant walk for shits. I am going to take your job thanks to your crash. Thats what happen when you piss around with other motor sports. Good luck

• Hafidz on Apr 15, 2011 at 1:14 pm

You guys can check the proof of what Heidfeld did for his helmet for Robert here — http://totallycoolpix.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11042011_f1_malaysia/f1mal_050.jpg (Polish Flag)