RON97 fuel – RM2.90 per liter as of 5th May 2011

RON97 fuel – RM2.90 per liter as of 5th May 2011According to Malaysiakini, the price of RON97 fuel will be increased to RM2.90 per litre at midnight today, up 20 sen from the previous price of RM2.70 which was on the 1st of April 2011.

If this trend continues, the price of RON97 would probably hit over RM3.00 per litre by the end of the year. This is the fifth monthly increase in a row since December last year. The margin of increase has also been going up, with the first three hikes being only 10 sen, with subsequent increases being 20 sen.

RON95 and diesel remains unchanged for now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• afeef on May 04, 2011 at 8:10 pm

my oh my…..

• MoFaz on May 04, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Russia is 2nd largest exporter, they exports 5mil barrel per day or 10x more than Malaysia. RON95 in Russia is RM3/litre. here, only RON97 is RM2.9/litre, you still can get RON95 at RM1.90
      I believe majority of those who commented here only use RON95 but acting like they’re badly affected by RON97 price increase.

• proton user on May 04, 2011 at 9:47 pm

how about the price of car in Russia as compared to here?

• What the fuss abt our subsidised? Theres no.subsidy when we hv already paid up front when we purchased ourcars. Example… Vios actual price is only rm50k, but ee bought it at rm80k… Rm30k diff is the upfront fuel price we already pd!

• Nasai on May 04, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Agreed. I have also read something related to the upfront fuel $$ that all Malaysians have to pay when purchasing a car on the 1st of May 2011 issue of The Sunday Star under the section of Focus page F38.

M’sian Petrol seems to look cheaper if compared to other neighbouring ASEAN countries. But bare in mind that the cheaper petrol prices that M’sians paid are offset/compensated by the extremely high taxes levied on the car prices, whether it’s a national or non-national ASEAN assembled car (e.g. Thailand for Toyota, Honda, etc)

The article titled ”Burden or Catalyst” is written by Tan Sri Dr. Fong Chan Onn, Former Minister of Human Resources. The article can also be found on the website:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/5/1/nation/8556411&sec=nation

Barang Naik ‘rules’!

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 1:49 am

my option is very clear. car is not the most important thing for me and i refuse to pay more tax just to drive around. so i choose local cars and pay only excise and sales tax, no import tax :) am i paying for fuel subsidy upfront? no!
            those who opt for imported cars, pay your import tax and AP. your import tax is paying for petrol subsidy for my car too… thank you very very much my fellow malaysians :)

• Ronnie on May 06, 2011 at 9:32 am

I was at an international motorshow earlier this year somewhere outside the country… saw the Proton booth n decided to pay a visit… and guess what? the selling prices of Proton cars in overseas are cheaper than in Malaysia!!

So… are we screwed or what? Paying more than anybody else when you’re buying your own national car?? and the quality is struggling to match the rest??

From that moment on… I told myself… to hell with Proton!! or any national car… I would rather spend more for companies who deserves my money! so… my next car… won’t be any of the national car!!

Back to the petrol price increment… isit a sin to treat our “over-priced” national car better with Ron97? I drive a national car but still decide to pump Ron97 to take better care of the engine (I dont believe the crap that they say Ron95 does not make any difference)… Why is the gov doing this?? Don’t ask us to compare the fuel price of our neighboring countries… they’re not fortunate enough to have natural resources like we do!!

• MoFaz on May 06, 2011 at 10:32 am

Ronnie,
            I’m not saying it’s a sin. it’s totally up to you, your own free will to choose RON95 or RON97. it’s up to you to buy Ramly burger by the roadside or McD in air-conditioned restaurant. You know McD is more expensive so if you want that, you have to pay extra.
            Not many country have Proton at cheaper price than here. Price in Thai, Australia, and China are about the same as here. If you see Proton price cheaper there, most probably other cars are also cheaper than their country of origin. Take Toyota Camry for example.. price in Thai is RM120k but exported to Saudi and the price become RM80k.
            Try to understand how economy works. if you can explain this scenario well, then you might understand; Prius made in Thailand is priced around 1.3m baht (RM120k). Prius prices in Japan and US is only RM75k. why Prius made in Thai is a lot more expensive?

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 12:14 pm

price of car always different from country to country. Price of Yaris (Vios) in US is about RM42k, Thai RM50k, and Australia RM70k. Tax is one thing, but sales volume is another major factors which affect car pricing. if you take Toyota/Honda for example, they sold more cars in US compared to Malaysia. so they mark-up the price here for better profit margin. Prius in USA is just RM70-85k, including tax. how come, with just 10% sales tax here, the price jumped to RM140k? even if you deduct RM10k for AP cost, the price is almost double here than USA!

• Joseph on May 05, 2011 at 4:57 pm

what’s your BN/UMNO membership number, you’ll score brownie points today by being the tongue for JASA or BTN.

• MoFaz on May 06, 2011 at 1:03 am

sigh…
            whenever i say something like this, i will always labelled as pro-proton, pro-umno, or pro-BN… I’m not working in proton, and I’m not a member of umno. in fact, I’ll be working in Singapore starting next week.
            it’s simple… I’m not complaining because I’m not affected by this price increment, and I believe 95% if people here are also not affected. I’m just sharing my opinion and you guys resorted to personal attacks. please grow up…

• Sophian on May 04, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Car price in Moscow quite cheap but the interest between 15% to 20% and max only 5-6 years!! but RUSSIAN’s still proud about their country.

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 11:21 am

what? 15-20% a year? after 5 years it will be 75-100% more than original car value. wasn’t it about the same as our tax?
            The difference is, financial institutions (banks) get the benefit from loan interest in Russia, but Malaysian Gov get the benefit from tax. maybe that’s why no fuel subsidy in Russia as opposed to Malaysia? but hey… there’s car loan with subsidies in Russia… the world is sooo complicated.

• davechia on May 05, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Yes, interest rate of 15%, but you have the choice not to buy expensive car and keep it within your budget.

In Malaysia, we have a National Pride to take care of, therefore, lower interest rate to attract more sales and to keep it survives. In addition, we are kept teaching to spend future money with low borrowing costs and life-long repayment period.

• Ronnie on May 06, 2011 at 9:38 am

hmmm… i don’t quite agree on this… why should we pay more to take care of our national carmakers? this is a real world… if you’re fit, you survive… if you’re not… get lost!

the national carmakers have made enough after almost 30 years of protection from gov. and s*cking dry our hard earned money with products not even up to standard!!

they should step up after such a long ovcer protection! if the product is good enough, with a competitive price… I believe we as Malaysians will give our support!

• The problem is not the fuel but others things will increase the reason fuel price up and coast also up so how. If you go market you will notice this the price increase that the problem we face. For those who cant afford it no problem how about others not all can afford it:)

• Sophian on May 04, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Agreed!!…in Russia no RON97. Only Ron95 which is now about RR27.00….about RM2.80. Only some places have RON98 but more higher. In Moscow where i live now….everything is sky high!!…salary for local peoples quite low but for foreigners…ok.

• Pay us russia salary & sell us russia car price then talk crap.

• you noob. RON 95 will go up after election. just wait and be proud of your RON 95, RM 2.50 after election. i am going for diesel

• diesel will go up too…

• ricky on May 05, 2011 at 9:19 am

as if the diesel price wont go up after election

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 12:25 pm

diesel subsidy have different scheme. you need special card to enjoy diesel subsidy… private cars may not be benefited from the subsidy, but diesel itself giving you far better mileage than petrol. you may go 1000+km with 50l diesel compared to just 500-600km by petrol.

• Frank Steinleitner on May 05, 2011 at 10:57 pm

my friend the Malaysian Diesel fuel is not complyant to Euro 2. We have too high Sulphar content and that causes problems for high performance engines; such as clocking, sludging of filters etc.
          Besides Diesel fuel will have to go up too. But you are right with your choice of diesel car as the fuel consumption is much much more economical. Just rented a diesel car in Europe and drove more than 1.000km with one full tank !

• ayoo kenapa kamu banding guna RM ??? kamu ingat gaji rakyat russia dibayar ikut RM ke? haha..lawak sarkis le kamu ni…jgn ingat kitaorg ni bodoh matematik…

• Zharfan on May 21, 2011 at 1:40 am

If you compare output oil reserve and vs population demand which Russia have 127 million people VS Malaysia which have 28 million people. Of course the Russian output still not enough for domestic usage due to 127 million Russians. Russia is a net importer oil. India also have very expensive petrol due to fullfill the demand for 1.21 billion Indians.

The nearest example net importer oil is Indonesia. Although their fuel is more output than Malaysia but the oil supply in Indonesia for 240 Million Indonesians are not enough. Net export and net import must be considered.

Although Turkmenistan have lower output oil than Malaysia but their petrol is cheap because the oil demand in Turkmenistan is low with just population of 5 million.

• palon on May 05, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Don’t forget our currency to…

• Selezs on May 06, 2011 at 3:38 am

my oh my….

My friend afeef – are u sarawakian, and trying to say that u are regretted for pangkah Barang Naik during election recently?

Hehe, just kidding, but if i were one of them, for sure i cry pagi petang siang malang.

• mr mars on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:43 am

TAHUKAH ANDA RON95 seperti di TUNJUK di stesen ialah RM3.41 !!!! lepas sudsidi Rakyat bayar rm1.90

jadi MASALAHNYA RON95 — rm3.41 dan RON97 (yang besok) RM2.90

KENAPA RON 97 LEBIH MURAH BANDING DENGAN RON95 ?????

KERAJAAN TIPU RAKYAT TENTANG RON95 ??????

• T E R B A E K ! !

• omega watch on May 05, 2011 at 10:03 am

thanx god i didnt use ron97..

as long as ron95 n diesel not hike, ive no complaint..

gov pls dont float ron95 price..

• sukasuki on May 04, 2011 at 8:15 pm

then the roadtax, and import/duty tax should be lesser. oh please dear govt. you can rise ron 97, but please reduce our taxes.

• huiyoo on May 04, 2011 at 8:15 pm

is this gvernment strategy? increase the price then suddenly drop it just before election?

• Government is having dilemma to increase the price of Ron 95 considering General Election is just less than 2 years (if not lesser).

Let’s see how well “najib’s transformation plan” will do good to the Rakyat.

We are watching you Barang Naik government.

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 8:54 am

Najib has lots of plan, but bring no immediate, middle and long term result.

• ttooyyoottt on May 04, 2011 at 8:22 pm

Malaysia Boleh! Najib Boleh!, Rosmah Boleh! Apco Boleh!

• Bolehland on May 04, 2011 at 10:21 pm

…dan mungkin mereka tengah fikirkan BOLEH tak naik lagi dua tiga posen untuk bulan hadapan…

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 10:31 am

There’s more… 1Malaysia Boleh! 1Israel also Boleh!

• Just P2 on May 04, 2011 at 8:28 pm

U hv a bunch of ppl in the G who knows how to give world petrol price. Then again, why r we not getting world car prices as well? how come european car costing 36k british pounds doesn’t sell at RM180k? we know how to calculate lah, we r not stupid. U wan to jack up petrol prices to world market level, we DEMAND also REAL WORLD CAR PRICES, not those totally absurd highly inflated taxes. Also, why is the roads full of pot holes? My fault ah? Maybe my fault for putting current G here, but time for change….

• Ronnie on May 06, 2011 at 9:51 am

I believe it’s time for the people to show the government that they are here to serve us… to make our life better… not to make it miserable! If we want a change… we can certainly do so!

• CIFUT on May 06, 2011 at 9:54 am

Would u buy rice or even McD with world price too?

• gunner on May 06, 2011 at 6:13 pm

You must remember 1 thing, we are the one who produce and sell petrol to other country, so our petrol price need to be lower than theirs. So our govern cannot just increase petrol price same as the world price.

• Shah69 on May 04, 2011 at 8:30 pm

I’m loving it.. @#$%^&*()_!

• LE_buruk on May 04, 2011 at 8:30 pm

yay….hooray…….have to sell my Volvo since no longer can afford it….

• way to go yeah…..up some more …the higher the better

• sooner or later, our RON97 price value will b d same in our south neighbour

• autojohndoe on May 05, 2011 at 8:34 am

but for them, still cheap what, about SGD1+ only…

• _xXx_ on May 05, 2011 at 9:25 am

Wrong. Still far away. RON98 is RM5.23/L there.

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Majority of malaysians who’ve been using RON95 are not affected. But foreign cars are only allowed to fill up with RON97.. let me ask you this; should we spend our taxpayers money to subsidies the rich people and foreigners who doesn’t pay tax to Malaysia?

• Danny on May 05, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Our tax payers money are down to the drain all the time. When the gov subsidies foreign cars, they come to visit Malaysia, shopping and bring up the economy, I don’t think that’s a big deal.

On the other hand, see this report: http://translate.google.com/translate?js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&sl=zh-CN&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.zaobao.com%2Fyx%2Fyx110505_003.shtml&act=url

Those wasted money can subsidies Ron 97,98,99… and many more.

• Jellymans Z on May 04, 2011 at 8:39 pm

Seriously, this is going ridiculous !
    how can the government only keep increasing our expense and not reducing it?

• bobby on May 04, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Complain complain, use the damn 95 la~~~~

This is all you can do.

• tricycle on May 04, 2011 at 10:46 pm

WTF, complain not because of RON 97 going up but complain because soon the stupid people will give reason to rise the RON 95 as well.

think before using your finger to type

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 9:00 am

The RON 95 will go up one day soon or later. A simple fact is Najib is so afraid to fail in next election, he have to fix the RON 95 at the current price for time being.

Believe me, it will go up.

• omega watch on May 05, 2011 at 11:38 am

ron97 xde subsidi la dol..

• notocampro on May 04, 2011 at 8:40 pm

oloh pki je 95 tu. 97 tu utk org singapore. bkn nye kete xle jln klo pki 95. kdg2 org mesia ni trlalu ngade2 nk saje2 pki ron 97 padahal kete leh je pki ron95.. da mmg harge mnyk dunia naik. bg la ron97 ikut harga mnyk dunia, kte gune ron95 yg bersubsidi. tu pon xle nk brsyukur lg. xphm aku. tu kalo ron 95 naik plak cmne? lg terbako korg kn?

• Look bro.. we not decide not to use the 95, its because of our new car requirement. Personally i can see and hear the different when using 95…

If you driving old machine then should be OK coz you wont bother about the engine noise with high friction, but this is new engine… and hell s#&t about the 95 is better.. tak sekolah ke?

Last time when 97 at RM1.30-RM1.60 … ko jeling pun tak nak dekat Ron 92 or Ron 95.. Now why you sibuk2 said 95 is better? Berak jilat sendiri?

• freeze on May 04, 2011 at 10:49 pm

If you can’t afford to pay for the fuel for your new car, why did you get one? You’d be better off with an old car, since you obviously can’t handle the bill. Kecik-kecik tak nak belajar, besar-besar dapat gaji kecil-kecil, nak bawa kereta baru,

Instead of spending your money on a new car, try hiring a financial adviser.

• Taguchi, Masayuki on May 04, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Agreed!!! malaysian trend now is to alwaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyssssssssss complaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

they dont want to be thankful, they dont want to see the bigger picture, they dont want to find solutions to problems, they dont want to unite for a common cause.

all they do is they cooooooooommmmmmmmppppplllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnn only!

no wonder we are the laughing stock of the world. grow up malaysians. if we dont change for ourselves, then who will?

• artworkz on May 05, 2011 at 1:00 am

thx for shit? if not gov NAP, maybe alot of ppl can still alive coz not drive a milo tin

• omega watch on May 05, 2011 at 10:19 am

bullshit..naik kete kebal pun bleh mati la dol.. jgn ckp tin milo ke tin sardin ker..

kalo naik lori pun bleh mati mmg xde kete yg selamat. bergantung kau bawak mcm mana dan condition jalan mcm mana..

kau mesti x pernah dgr org naik bmw, even 4×4 yg nmpk gagah pun mati ms eksiden kan?

• sorry.. i never complaint anything about the price hike.. in fact ive no issue with RM2.90 per liter.. I just hate those who said RON95 better than RON97 when they have no money to pay for… got it thambi?? Thats diff world of judgement, as i said.. dah berak jilat sendiri.

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 12:25 am

well said. haha tq freeze to point out my point. is u can AFFORD a better car, y cant u afford a higher FUEL PRICE? dear mr so-called TOM, i’m in my uni years now, and im taking PETROLEUM ENGINEERING. i learned all the RON meaning. the oil price and the contracts by PETRONAS with our G and petroleum economics. . so? i have my crdibility to talk bout dat here.dats y i said all ppl complaining here is ppl who can’t bersyukur. of course there are difference in performance (2 RON diff) but are you using a higher performance engine to run on 97? no? if no u still can use the 95 rite? if yes, so i think u can afford the higher price of ron 97. i didnt said dat ron95 is better but in our place rite now its better to use it since it is cheaper and ur can still can move using it. try to be thankful man..

• Mohamad on May 05, 2011 at 1:33 am

RON97 have been the benchmark for malaysian fuel price since decades ago. You do learn petroleum engineering but economics? no you don’t know what you are talking about. You do know we have our own petroleum field right? and a huge one at that in Terengganu and Sarawak. This is total rip off.

• lecturer on May 05, 2011 at 2:43 am

u do study petronas’ contract in petroleum engineering ?hahahahaahahahahahahaha. tell that lie to ur grandma’s face ok

• BadBET on May 05, 2011 at 8:40 am

wait until you finish study and work. then you know the bitterness of reality.

• i am petroleum student on May 05, 2011 at 8:48 am

hahaha.. student ah?? do u pay your own house?car?do you pay income tax??got kids??u kiddo only know how write but dont know the realistic. okay, u study lah petrolem whatsoever and soon when u get a job, lets see u nk bsyukur atau tak.

• Civic_RS on May 05, 2011 at 9:06 am

RON 95 and RON 97 got pros and cons..ITs depend to your engine. the benefit of RON97 is too litle if compare to price, so it is far better for us (who engine afford to use RON95) to use RON 95. Don’t too trust to the advertisement. luckily we only have RON 95 and RON 97. If we got RON 98 or RON 100, surely the price is double than RON95. Our petroleum is not only at SARAWAK and Terengganu, and most of us belive Kelantan and somewhere in pahang still have alot petroleum reserve. The cost to build a medium offshore rig is almost double than 7-8 years ago, and Malaysia production at oilfield is stuck at current value but since 2010, Asiaflex, halliburton, schlumberger and even baker hughes starting to manufacture their equipment in malaysia, the cost will be less and more new oil rig will be build in future and with arrival of technip, maybe we can see new FPSO and no more rog..hihi. Currently most of these company are busy with the Gumusut project . i agreed with notocampro about which grade should malaysian use.

• hey student.. please get out from ur uni and go get REAL REAL life out there. And PLEASE use ur own money to survive & not your study loan. And i’m sure you will know how REAL life are. And you will know how much money value in Malaysia with this kind of scenes. PLEASE DON’T TALK C**K HERE.

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 10:46 am

hey student… is your pointer more than 3.5 or just 2-point-something? If you just talk about RON, everybody knows it even without taking a petroleum engineering degree. But did you learn about light sweet, sour oil or something like that? Belajar belum habis dah berlagak terer. Even if the performance is supposed to be the same whether using RON95 or RON97, that’s just theoretical value only. In reality, there are differences, because RON95 here is formulated from crappy sour oils with high content of sulphur. Why? Because it is cheaper and the government can fork out a huge margin of profit even if they say our RON95 is subsidised. Only our current RON97 is really made from light sweet oils. That’s why the performance and fuel economy when using RON95 and RON97 are different. In fact, our current RON97 is much better than the older RON97 back when RON95 was first introduced.

So next time if you want to talk, don’t just talk shit. Prove it.

• NICE HEX….hahahaha…REAL LIFE…get it…when you have to pay even a penny…

• Kambing Gurun on May 05, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Of course la no complain. Duit mak bapak. Earn your own money la, then you’ll know.

• Dear… notocampro. I don’t want to talk much.. the rating shows everything… in simple word, finish your unfinished degree first then we talk about money OK. You must be driving daddy’s car in uni ….

• lan panjangakal on May 04, 2011 at 11:41 pm

use da bycycle lah,cheap no road tax,much more u get sihat maa
          ….

• Lanjau on May 05, 2011 at 12:10 am

you ride your bycycle (is BICYCLE) from johor to KL loh, or KL to Genting la, nearer.

• stephen on May 06, 2011 at 3:56 pm

it is theoritically possible by having a train service that allow cyclist to bring their bicycle into the train at JB and take it with him/ her when arrive at KL

but unfortunately we don’t have good public transport…especially rain road….ends up we all have to rely on cars…. many car lower just hope to take good care of their cars as its the least they can do to enjoy as car is something tht will never appreciate in value. Unfortunately we kinda get strip off from having that in a cost effective way.

worst is we can’t get any public transport network tht is good enough to allow us to do some travelling without using car everyday. Its just sad.

• lol u pikir sendiri la pakai kete import bole,isi la minyak mahal tu kekekeke…sebab kete murah2 ni mmg setting utk minyak ron95 ke bawah…takkan ko pakai waja isi ron97 kan??

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 12:29 am

its not like u complain because of what. because of u mengada2. u still have the effing RON95. the time u shud complain is when RON95 hike. got my point?

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 12:45 am

at least i’m giving IDEAS instead of WHINING and COMPLAINING mr tom. wat is ur opinion?

• artworkz on May 05, 2011 at 1:03 am

complain when G increase ron 95? than will be too late!

• Ruben on May 05, 2011 at 2:36 am

i dontthink thats true. if im not mistaken. people in tge US are still using RON91 for new cars

• davechia on May 05, 2011 at 6:03 pm

In Australia, majority car are using RON 91, some segment B cars are tuned to use E10 (with 10% ethanol), so should we bersyukur as we still can use RON 95 as regular compared to other countries?

BTW, Campro engines in Aust are recommended with RON 95 and above, so the ppl buy Proton are rich as they can afford RON 98 at RM5 (A$1.6)! WTF

• but please do remember, before, the price for ron 97 was the same for the price of the current ron 95 now.. so, it means we are buying a lower quality gas for the price of higher quality one, which gvrnmnt had succeeded not to let the people notice, slowly until now..

*correct me if i’m wrong, peace ^^

• Bila harga minyak naik, Barang Naik government WILL NEVER compare to Brunei (another oil producer country like Malaysia) selalu compare dgn Singapore (which is a non oil producer country, but they do refined it, but that’s a different story).

This is very very misleading.

Its the people like you why Barang Naik government senang nak tipu rakyat.

Brother, educate yourself on the basic of Oil and Gas knowledge. I doubt you even know Malaysia is an Oil Producer country. The talks that we only produce so little Barrel per day is purely a Cover Up by the Barang Naik government. Kalau tak caya, tanya member-member yang kerja kat Oil and Gas industry berapa gaji diaorang and berapa bonus diaorang?

At least Government Sector ada revise salary recently, and the benefit is outstanding (loan bank senang, interest rate rendah). But the ones who are suffering are the Majority of the rakyat yang kerja dgn Private Sector, engineers salary TAK PERNAH revise since 1980’s. Average Graduate Engineer starting salary is still between RM1500 to RM2000. Exposure Rate bayar kereta cecah 50% per month. Kereta Tanjung Malim dah lah kualiti macam haram. Makan minum lagi, that’s why ramai lari ke overseas cari rezeki kat negeri orang, bukan tak cinta tempat sendiri, tapi dibelot oleh pemimpin yang tidak bertanggungjawab.

Mana ko belajar Matematik bro?

Ko ingat semua kereta pakai RON95? Ever heard “knocking sensor”? Ever heard why certain car engine can only perform minimum RON97? Lu pikir lah sendiri! Otak pakai, jgn simpan dalam kocek!

• MAMAT on May 05, 2011 at 12:37 am

Bersyukur le sikit dengan nikmat tuhan….seadanya…..kalo kita bleh korek dan proses minyak sendiri…crmfrm dapat murah…….hntar le anak p mengaji bagus..esok dah besar bleh ganti PM….bleh dapat minyak free maaa……

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 1:20 am

true. sbb mnyk tu milik petronas PROFIT nye. klo nk taw lagi sile bace psl production sharing contract. profit mnyk kite bape percent je dpt kt gov.

• macam pandai…berapa percent???

• BadBET on May 06, 2011 at 12:41 am

Bored to read you typing ‘production sharing contract’.
            1. How many percent belong to the G?
            2. Petronas is owned by the G, so what the use of the so call ” production sharing contract’ when PM can instruct Petronas to pay the G any amount he like – either direct or indirect?

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 10:58 am

That’s not “bersyukur dengan nikmat Tuhan”… the BN gov always say “bersyukur kepada kerajaan”, which can be syirik as they try to play God. Tak belajar tauhid ke? Bersyukur kepada Tuhan, berterima kasih kepada manusia.

• wira_jer on May 06, 2011 at 10:12 am

mungkin aku terlepas, tp tak pernah lak aku dgr kerajaan suruh bersyukur pada KERAJAAN.

• singapore is not oil producer u correct… But did u know that they r in top25 oil exporter..we way below them….if not mistaken..meanwhile russia export more than 70% and consume other about 30% and importing more than 70% of oil we malaysia export less than 40%….i will not talk bout the ron97 coz i still will be thumbdown by u guy anyway….most u talk here r just politically motivated….

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 8:52 am

Mangkuk ayun,

Even when I make tons of money half way round the world, tinggal anak bini compared to you yang duduk dengan your family, isnt that fair compensation? Before you talk you should compare to the Investment Banking bonus up to 24 months. Ada ke kerja tengah laut ke, kena tembak kat sniper ke kalau kerja Iraq, Sudan etc.

Oil and Gas companies and I mean big ones have all the benefits capped or removed. We had pension plans up to 1990’s now mana ada. Bangang betul, work inside then talk. Don’t talk cock, other than operators i.e. Shell, Exxon etc, benefits memang dah kurang.

Petronas makes 70% revenue overseas. We produce about 700,000 barrel within Malaysia. Kalau semua nak sagat kat Petronas apa tinggal? You can afford a car, you can afford to run and maintain period. Ada ke faedah nak subsidies ineffiency?

Nak kejar orang pergi talk to the middlemen, pemborong sayur, spare parts shops, manufacturer, building contractors, siapa yang Proift margin middle class home is 300%, bungalows up to 500%, siapa nak buat rumah cost rendah when uses more land but generates 30% margin? Kenapa no balls nak go for these people, there are big business and controlled by a small portion of society.

Kalau you pay 1/3 of what you pay now for your house loan, isn’t that more meaningful? X ada berani pergi picket kat REDHA and get them to give realistic prices? Kereta apa ada? It is short term.

Same like produce, you know the traders make atas angin aja USd100-150 pmt from selling baja aja? That’s a whopping 100% margin and they don’t produce. So what happens to your ex farm price? You know these people, why x kejar aja.

Go after these people first then we have a relistic cost of living. Fuel prices isn’t the main cost driver, these are…

• Mr Frank on May 05, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Compare to brunei? Are you dumb? their country is smaller than Johor.
        Their population is way to small than Johor.. U should increase your general knowledge.

• Bila harga minyak naik, Barang Naik government WILL NEVER compare to Brunei (another oil producer country like Malaysia) selalu compare dgn Singapore (which is a non oil producer country).

This is very very misleading.

Its the people like you why Barang Naik government senang nak tipu rakyat.

Brother, educate yourself on the basic of Oil and Gas knowledge. I doubt you even know Malaysia is an Oil Producer country. The talks that we only produce so little Barrel per day is purely a Cover Up by the Barang Naik government. Kalau tak caya, tanya member-member yang kerja kat Oil and Gas industry berapa gaji diaorang and berapa bonus diaorang?

At least Government Sector ada revise salary recently, and the benefit is outstanding (loan bank senang, interest rate rendah). But the ones who are suffering are the Majority of the rakyat yang kerja dgn Private Sector, engineers salary TAK PERNAH revise since 1980’s. Average Graduate Engineer starting salary is still between RM1500 to RM2000. Exposure Rate bayar kereta cecah 50% per month. Kereta Tanjung Malim dah lah kualiti macam haram. Makan minum lagi, that’s why ramai lari ke overseas cari rezeki kat negeri orang, bukan tak cinta tempat sendiri, tapi dibelot oleh pemimpin yang tidak bertanggungjawab.

Mana ko belajar Matematik bro?

Ko ingat semua kereta pakai RON95? Ever heard “knocking sensor”? Ever heard why certain car engine can only perform minimum RON97? Lu pikir lah sendiri! Otak pakai, jgn simpan dalam kocek!

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 1:01 am

of course i use mine. i know knocking and RON things. if u can afford cars with ron 97 ONLY, so dun WHINE and BARK about its price~

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 1:09 am

oh ya. i do study on petroleum. petroleum engineering and all the economics and etc. of course we are producer but the profit belongs to PETRONAS not the G. ever heard of PRODUCTION SHARING CONTRACT?

• jalan54 on May 05, 2011 at 2:06 am

You were saying PETRONAS is not being taxed by the government??? PETRONAS earn profit, our government also earn profit.

Also, why can’t people buy car that can only fill ron97 complain? They are buying the same cars at 150% more expensive compare to other countries and yet the petrol price now is not much different from other countries. Do you get it?

People complain simply to express what and how they feel, if they can’t complain here, what are complaining about now? You are complaining people’s complains, so you have no different at all.

• pandainyerrr…impressive…

• Motorhead on May 05, 2011 at 12:12 pm

minyak tuh milik petronas? minyak tuh milik negara…milik rakyat….If you wana talk bout production sharing then what of profit sharing of raw khazanah negara?

Ever compared the quality of petronas ron 95 vs ron 95 from europe? Its not the same bro…so even engines that was manufactured to accept ron 95 encounters problems ere. You get knocking and other incompatibility.

• catamaran on May 05, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Oiiii notocampro… Please stop laaa… You better go and learn english vocab and grammar dude… Then, if you think you have got some level of competency, do come back and continue your bash….

• Agreed with TFauzin… all the luxuries said that O&G workers get are myths.

Generally the pay maybe higher but the risks which come with it, especially for the field engineers/operators/technicians is immense. That is no myth and even insurance companies load our insurance premiums way more than the others. Penny wise, some say that is not worth it (hence the exodus and the talent crunch in the industry)

Pricing of oil if you must know is very speculative in nature, if you look at the current demand and supply, there is no shortcoming. It is the politics and greed of some that push all these up.

O&G workers also have grudges on this prices, do bear that in mind. We dont live in LALA land and we also feel the pinch

• he only know to use it,not to care of it…
      -if he really smart,tell laa what is the meaning of RON ?
      -function of every RON number..well,his car only three piston and smaller slinder inside and no need power octane to push it up,thats why he said,RON 95 dah cukup dah.
      -dont think about yourself.everyone wants bigger car,bigger engine,bigger HP,but sometimes not all of them banyak duit.they all juga orang,ada keinginan.walaupun kadang2 keinginan itu membataskan segalanya,tapi janganlah sampai terbatas terus dan teruuuuss jadi tak mampu nak merasa nikmat keseronokan dalam dunia automotif ni.disebabkan RON97 yang mahal.tak kan enjin besar nak pakai RON kecik.
      ~ ayat ini hanya boleh difahami oleh orang yang tertentu sahaja =P

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 1:18 am

read my comment on top. Research octane Number. of course u want fun tp ko pnah dgr NA mod x? klo maksud fn ko = turbo mmg la ko marah sbb ron 97 naik. aku phm je sbb ak pon men mod gk tp NA mod la.

• Mohamad on May 05, 2011 at 1:41 am

dude have no idea what he’s talking about. Does he even know majority of old proton cars with 4G1* engine require RON97? READ THE MANUAL.
          of course his point is valid, those cars still can run RON95. heck, even the old RON92 will also run. But a true petrolheads(the majority here) will never do such a thing to their engine. capish?

• cleaner skolah on May 05, 2011 at 9:44 am

notocampro balik stadi la woi…lom grad dah ekk bagai..profit mmg la kat petronas…tp bape banyak petronas kene bagi balik kat G…dkt election je mule la dgr projek juta2 bagi kt certain area je…poodahhh…byk masok kantung sendiri dari bagi kat rakyat

• bro he still study laa, a student.. he just know what he learned and not what he experience outside of his uni.. hahaha

• BOYRACER on May 05, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Agree with u..I drive a 91 Proton with 4g15 engine.Currently i’m using RON95 because RON97 is too expensive.But once in a while I use RON97.The difference is very noticeable.Much smoother and quieter.When I use RON95, my engine knocks.
            But I didn’t adjust the timing because it will lower my rev range and when that happens, I will be pressing the accelerator more and by doing that, it will consume more fuel.So that beats the purpose of using RON95 in the first place.
            It says on my fuel lid cover “Use Minimum RON97”. enuff said.
            So I just have to live with RON95 at the moment until I become rich and I can afford to use RON97.

• carburator on May 06, 2011 at 4:45 pm

blum abis blajar lg blum kenal dunia bekerja..tengah belajar dh bole tune/ mod kereta.. famili kaya takpa laa.. keta aku pkai carburator 4g13 ko g dwnload manual minimum ron 97+ octane (idiot).. keta tahun 1997 pun pkai ron97.. masalahnya harga minyak naik barang asas naik.. even myak trun ada harga roti canai trun? ada harga teh tarik mamak trun? bloody idiot. nota campro..

• oh no.. i need to find a course to study “new short cut melayu” since i totally not understand what is he/she writting about… waht mmg, tp ko, phm je, sbb…
          really @$%^$%^$&!!!

Better skip he/she comment..

• Barang Naik
    Bila Naik
    Baru Naik
    Berapa Naik
    Banyak Naik

• terkonek on May 04, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Tapi….masih murah drp negara2 jiran….bersyhukorlah ya….najis…oooops…najib sayang semua rakyat m’sia….

• Imbhotep on May 04, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Yeah….finally gov surpassed RON97’s prices in PakLah era…RM2.78 vs RM2.90….
    Paklah increase price to RM2.78 when oil prices at $135perbarrell…najib increase price to RM2.90 at $110perbarrell…
    Nice!!

• MoFaz on May 04, 2011 at 9:36 pm

and this time no RM600+ subsidy payout. hehe

• tricycle on May 04, 2011 at 10:50 pm

rosemah took the RM600 already. last time khery only took RM1 out of RM600. msia boleh!

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 11:03 am

Finally… a record by Pak Lah has already been surpassed. Najib’s RM2.90 when the global oil price is USD135 vs Pak Lah’s RM2.70 when the global oil price is just USD110.

1Malaysia Boleh…!!! 1Israel pun boleh…!!!

• imbhotep on May 05, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Sorry shinoda,u have several wrong facts….
        PakLah increase RON97 at 4june 2008 when CrudeOil at US$135 perbarrel (RM433.35 per barrel @ RM3.21=$1)
        ….he raise RON97 to RM2.70/litre with 78cent increase…

Najib increase RON97 yesterday when CrudeOil at US$110perbarrel (RM326.7 perbarrel @ RM2.97=$1)…
        He raised RON97 to RM2.90/litre…

• squall_shinoda on May 06, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Of course if you count of the percentage of increase, Pak Lah had won… but if you compare with the global oil price and also the ringgit value, then Najib had won in this petrol price hike festival. From those values that you’ve quoted, theoretically the price should be lower than RM2.90 due to the stronger ringgit value (i.e. the hike is inevitable, but not as crazy as RM2.90 per litre). In other words, the Najib gov’t forks out more than what supposed to be. During Pak Lah’s time, the subsidy was still there, but now our RON97 is no longer subsidised. That’s why Singaporeans and Thais are now only allowed to fill in their cars with RON97, but at their hearts’ contents (previously there were certain quotas for each fuels).

• RON95 price maybe raised after general erection ^_^

• LRGP Fan on May 04, 2011 at 8:48 pm

general ERECTION??? LOL

• khairul on May 04, 2011 at 9:31 pm

general erection??? i virtually click “I like” button….

• eelee on May 04, 2011 at 9:36 pm

definately !

• Agreed, ron95 looks like going up after the ge if bn still in place. Vote wisely

• sukasuki on May 04, 2011 at 11:12 pm

then the price of RON 95 should be increase rite now coz the popular case now is a erection of the somebody look alike “that person” that have an erection with china doll. hahahaha. its a general erection!!!

• Sooner or later Malaysia will reach a new level/achievement in term of fuel price… RM3.00 for a liter of petrol..nice.arghhh! poor my 325i..only RON95 for you lah..(T_T)

• aiyaYa on May 04, 2011 at 8:55 pm

The govt shd increase ron97 price by 40cents and then reduce ron95 price 20cents every few months! LOL

• tishaban on May 04, 2011 at 9:03 pm

I’m not sure why everyone is upset about RON97 going up, do you have such high end cars that require RON97? RON95 is still at the same price no?

• u driving BLM is it?

• pugger on May 04, 2011 at 9:54 pm

some cheaper cars oso require 97…it depends on the engine compression ratio….for eg, Swift Sport is rm96k but requires ron97 to run…..and high end cars can actually run on ron95 ie >rm300k car….

• lalala on May 04, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Dude/ duchess or whoever you are,
      Dulu: RON 97= RM 1.6, RON 95= RM 1.4
      Now: RON 97= RM 2.9, RON 95= RM 1.9

Hard to digest? put it this way: 5 years ago rojak sotong costs RM 1.8, now that money worth of rojak kosong only.

Why price increase? Inflation? how many % inflation leh? it just like max 6%. Father says harga timun sudah naik. But isnt it we ‘produce timun’ at kerteh at sarawak? Where the timun had been to?

Our timun are the best quality, we produce & sell to other country. For our food we buy slightly cheaper timun. Its good enough for our family.

Father so smart-lah. pandai cari duit. But father, where is the profit from the selling goes to?

• Tenuk_Malaysia on May 05, 2011 at 9:54 am

Cerita dulu-dulu nenek aku pun dara…wei…kena tak cite zaman dinosaour…

DULU DULU NENEK WA PUN DARA LA MAA….

Isteri aku pun dara gak kalu cerita dulu….dulu…

Talks about present n future only ma…

• Imbhotep on May 05, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Dlu we dont have RON95…we only have RON92…

• SukaTgkOrg on May 12, 2011 at 3:23 pm

dulu mane ade ron95?..ron 93 daaaa

• Dude,higher octane gives better power and efficiency due to more complete combustion.The issue here is not because rich people only drive big cars which uses ron 97,but as a whole,every govt should try to give its citizens better quality petrol at an affordable price…there will be less pollution and less wastage.How can we export our high quality petrol,import the lower grade ones…make a profit,yet short change our fellow citizens??

• Bak kata pepatah Melayu lama,

“Anak kera di hutan disusukan, anak sendiri kat rumah mati kelaparan”.

The saying above really describe the current shitty situation our country is having. Give the best to the people outside Malaysia, the Rakyat themselves are left with the leftover, dah lah leftover (saki-baki) kena tax, low quality, interest, Tin Milo dari Tanjung Malim dgn engine Fuel Guzzler CamTakPro.

Barang Naik government “terbaek”!

• niceone on May 04, 2011 at 9:03 pm

talk a lot like all using ron97. no need to bark if it does not affect you in any way laa.

and the typical comment like “sure ron95 will increase after this!” will follow suit everytime ron97 increase price. but so far no change to ron95 price.

SO WHY BARK?

• jalan54 on May 04, 2011 at 10:15 pm

why are barking here then? Its none of your business as well!!!

• I already predict the petrol will go up after air asia announced it will introduce the fuel surcharged?Of course they will increase the RON 95 dude.They are trying to find to appropriate time to announce (usually the will create other issue to deviate the public first hahaha).

• KLMan on May 04, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Wonder what the Golf GTI will feel like on RON95. Feels depressing, that’s for sure.

• golfgtimk6 on May 05, 2011 at 1:49 am

Me use Ron95, ok la… just a little less responsive only… now pump new petronas xtra 95 feels more smoother and powerful than those old ron 95 fuel..

• alsogtimk6user on May 06, 2011 at 11:54 am

Wonder if this will be bad if used ron95 long term? I am now considering to use Ron95 Petronas…herd its the best.

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 9:05 am

It will feel good. Believe me, tried it, you want to change the current government.

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 9:07 am

Feel good, go and try it, you will want to change the current government not your car.

• jalan54 on May 04, 2011 at 9:11 pm

who is still pumping RON97 since the price now is RM2.90 which is RM1 more compare to RON95. They can just discontinue it.

• lololo on May 04, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Hahaha. Ringgit strengthen against USD alot + Oil price down after news of B. Laden death = Malaysia up fuel price. LOL LOL LOL

Barang Naik bodooooo

• kataksedih on May 04, 2011 at 9:16 pm

woi, osama baru mati naik lagi ah? kanneh USD currency pun turn =(

• i wonder who liked this story on facebook. what kind of income they have

• MengQ on May 04, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Once again, I gotta say, Well done gov, well done. I love you, I love you very much… Please always remember guys, the gov always teach us: 

1) Ubah gaya hidup (u pakai Po-tong, I pakai Po-share)

2) 1 Malaysia, (Duit) Rakyat Didahulukan, Pencapaian Dilupakan.

3) You tolong I (isi minyak), I tolong You (naik harga minyak)

Thanks gov!

• tiger on May 04, 2011 at 9:49 pm

than u think when opposition take over, they will reduce the price..?? .. in your dream..

• this is the question that everyone scared bro… yup we never try we never know.. the old man should give way to their kids….

• ni bukan bole try2 bro..

• McKay1 on May 04, 2011 at 10:55 pm

thats democracy la woi…use ur vote power..beli kereta tau pulak nak try2..aparaa…

• cleaner skolah on May 05, 2011 at 9:48 am

tiger ngn hoho otak selut…jadi lembu la kene tipu sampai mati

• CIFUT on May 06, 2011 at 10:34 am

no need to try anymore bro. Look at S’ngor… more worst than before.

• azlan on May 08, 2011 at 6:09 pm

what worse? I see its better than before..

Except for the roads, the state gov dont have money la, cause u know la who gets the money

• littlefire on May 05, 2011 at 8:56 am

U never support them how u know they will not drop the price? Is just like if u no buy lottery, u have 0% of winning it…

So, just stop whinning that they go up & will not drop bla bla bla.. but voice up during election!!

• MengQ on May 05, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Then you think when BN continue to rule, they will not increase the price of RON95 and the other things…?? … in your fantasy land…

o0o

My concern is about where those money they save goes to, from not subsidizing RON97.

If one day the crook gov tell you not to buy a car and ride a bicycle because a car is only for the “golongan yg kaya”…and you are fine with it, i will have nothing to say since the servility is so heavy in you, it’s your choice. Please continue your ‘oh-everything-is-so-fine’ life, i wish you luck.

And PLEASE don’t tell me to ‘get out from this country if you have so much to complain’.

• kojaiz on May 04, 2011 at 9:24 pm

rasanya osama ben laden dan mati, minyak turun dengar kat radio pagi tadi

• armang on May 04, 2011 at 9:27 pm

then the mamak stall will increase their roti canai price or make it smaller. at the same time, the relevant menteri will warn all the traders not to increase the price or they would face action. the first statement is true whereby the latter will be gone with the wind. have you ever heard the traders that simply increase the price taken to the court??

• sukasuki on May 04, 2011 at 11:18 pm

thats why dont eat at mamak restaurant, they use RON97 to goreng nasi, inside tong gas, and use generator to supply electricity using RON97. for sure the price will increase 20cents. Damn. better eat roti gardenia, always 70cent from 3 years ago.

• Way the go! Let those rich people suffers! Padan muka tau nak evade tax saja kan…

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 12:47 am

Kawan. go to www.bmw.com.my and check the fuel for bmw 3 and 5 series.

All listed RON95.

My turbocharged imported car also state RON95 in the manual.

• Beemer is for sissies. No one said about a freaking beemer you fool. What makes you think owning a freaking beemer makes you leveled with the upper class income people? If your car can run on RON 95, so just use the freaking fuel. No need to bising2 la.

Its just comparing whether you should buy a Spritzer mineral water with Cactus mineral water. All in all its still water you consume. And I believe you can still walk from it, right?

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 9:45 pm

dude.

Learn to read. Ever wonder why i used beemer as an example? Cause its expensive car. And the point im making is expensive cars can run RON95. And beemers are cars for rich ppl generally.

Critical thinking is seriously lacking in yourself. Again i blame the education system.

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 10:06 pm

I notice some Malaysians just cant have a proper discussion without resorting to personal attack once they run out of points.

Critical thinking seems to be seriously lacking in those ppl. Even common sense is lacking. Ie: beemer cost RM300k. So you saying beemer is for normal salaried clerk and not upper class ppl? That should answer your question on “what makes you think……the upper class ppl”. If you still cant figure out sarcasm, let me enlighten you. its the PRICE.

Plus, a discussion and sharing is not making noise or “bising2”. Its simply a discussion. And FYI kazu, today ‘s discussion is about car price, RON 95/97 oil price and what cars can run RON95. Not what cars are manly and wat cars are for fags.

Again, I blame the education system.

• whatever2 on May 05, 2011 at 1:07 am

are you stupid? it hardly will affect rich people. the one suffer long term is you.

• afeef on May 05, 2011 at 4:04 am

rich gets richer
        poor gets poorer

• Tenuk_Malaysia on May 05, 2011 at 5:23 pm

oooo..how about u still rich n making rich….??
          Talking like politician….

Rich people never use Ron95 anymore but Electrical Car instead….

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 11:18 am

agree 200 percent

• jalan54 on May 05, 2011 at 2:26 am

U takde baca buku? This will never affect the rich, this will only affect those poor like you. Rich people may have a tiny bit or none hard time at all.

Imagine this, when you are earning RM30k a month and your previous monthly expenses is like RM10k. Even if it increase another 50% to the expenses, it is only another extra RM5k. Will this affect you?

A poor guy, RM1.5k per month, expenses per month around RM500 and if their expenses increase 20%, they’ll be having tough time.

• Frank Steinleitner on May 06, 2011 at 11:46 pm

I think you are very lucky to have a Government who subsidizes Petrol for you. Technically there is no need to pump RON 97 as all engine concepts are developed for RON 95 (exept some race cars like Audi R8 who best perform with RON 98 and others).
        So its not about rich or poor its what about what your car requires to perform best.

• Wow extra Rm1 compared to Ron95. If pump full tank of 50 liters , that means extra Rm50 if pump Ron 97. That’s alot

• dunia nak kiamat tu la sebabnya minyak makin mahal

• sharkenny on May 04, 2011 at 10:06 pm

fill ur tank wif ron95 than add some stp octane booster 2 get ron97-alike fuel!! haha

• Cowabunga! on May 04, 2011 at 10:06 pm

ahhh….. for those who are wise…you’ve finally understood what 1Malaysia means?…
    …this is the price you need to pay loh.

this is what is called Rakyat didahulu…

• MBX Boy on May 04, 2011 at 10:09 pm

If government so worried about losing money “subsidizing” petrol, they should improve the train/LRT/subway system (and I don’t mean make ONE batang LRT line every ten or so years) & public transport significantly, so less people are forced to drive and burn so much petrol every day. A good public transport system will not only make the gov popular, but will save them money in the long run. The rakyat also happy cause of convenience, plus jam surely can be reduced.

• kelvin on May 04, 2011 at 11:49 pm

The current Government will fail to do it.

• I don’t think the gov will do that coz they care more on toll operator than us…..sapa nak lalu nkve,npe,federal etc nanti?

• in order to do that, fuel subsidy need to be lifted up, car roadtax shoot sky high. then u gotta suffer for 20 years before the gomen have back the revenue…deal?

• Henry on May 04, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Forget RON97.

Use RON95 with DynoTab. Don’t take my word. Try it yourself.

I have no affiliation with the company, just a satisfied customer.

• haaiyoooooo … this Barang Naik party really shit oooo. how to survive like this??.. now petrol cost me more than my monthly saga installment!!!.. vote Barang Naik out!!!

• notocampro on May 05, 2011 at 12:54 am

LOL? saga use ron97?

• ofcoz lar. i want my car to drink the best milk. what a shame to queue with viva to pump 95! .. i use saga man, FL some more.

• Frank Steinleitner on May 06, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Please look at your owners manuel what the best milk for your car is. It need not to be RON 97

• serve ur right 97 roners…
    hehehe…
    looking for trouble for urself…
    now want to blame the rest of the world

• I drove to Hua Hin, Thailand recently, normally when we fly there we always go for either work or holidays. So the mode of transport on land is either taxis or buses.
    Up to Bukit Kayu Hitam it was ron 97 , long distance driving and trying to get the power. At BKY a full tank of ron 95 i.e RM1.90 p/litre before crossing the border. What I didn’t know was after my next fuel stop at PTT (petro Thailand) station they have many types of fuel.
    RON 91 ( benzine ) they call it for carburetor engines only at RM2.90 . RON 95 at RM3.80 and RON 97 at RM4.30. Diesel at RM3.80 and Bio Diesel at RM 2.90. My fuel cost shot up double and driving on not so good roads conditions. After crossing the border on my way back I suddenly realised how lucky we are pumping far cheaper petrol and in a nice looking petrol station and driving on nice roads with a bit of toll. After pausing for a while when thinking most of the people in Thailand are even poorer than us and they dont use petrol prices a political blackmail or weapon there.

• Openmind on May 04, 2011 at 10:57 pm

YOu might be right to feel lucky about our fuel price…but the same goes to Thai people when they see the price difference between the car in Thailand and the car sold in Malaysia…..Who has the better deal???? I think Thai is better…..

• we ought to use a car for certain period, then we change, right? but what matter the most is the very substance that runs your car, not the very price of the car. If let say the Government decided to drop the tax on cars, but make the fuel price floats like US did, would u feel a bit more burden? cheap cars (lets say a Vios arnd RM40k-60k, i dunno..) but with the Singapore’s fuel price? Long term? You ll be paying more than your own car monthly installment in 5 years time…just my logical assumption…

• omega watch on May 05, 2011 at 11:59 am

dol..minyak murah rege kete mahal lebih baik dari kete murah tp myk mahal..

calculate sendiri la.. ron95 je beza rm2 tuh..5 tahun? 7 tahun? dh berape?

• balloon on May 04, 2011 at 11:09 pm

I fully agree with you but do they produce and export oil like we do ?
      Do you really want to compare with them or you want to move forward and compare with countries which are far more developed and advance than us … we must move forward and look ahead and not look behind !
      Just my 2 cents !

• Van the Man on May 05, 2011 at 9:20 am

tomyamland have hydrocarbon. PTT is doing join venture E&P with Chevron, Petronas and other supermajors on exploration in various places around tomyam land (esp GOT). Satuland pop: 28M, Tomyamland:64M. GDP satuland: 414,128 B, tomyamland:573,607 B.

• Well smart alec, There yr car cost half the price u pay here, u didn’t pay any toll didn’t u.
      Satuland is a oil producer Tomyamland is not.
      Next time drove to Sri Bagawan then come back n compare.

• Mohamad on May 05, 2011 at 1:46 am

you cant buy their cheap fuel in brunei if your car is satuland plated. they charge you same price as malaysian pump.

• BadBET on May 05, 2011 at 9:02 am

The last time i went there, brunei oil is cheaper ONLY to those bruneian. Car with malaysian registration have to pay higher price.

• autojohndoe on May 05, 2011 at 10:22 am

brunei is how big?

their oil well is larger then their country…

it is not comparable…

• artworkz on May 05, 2011 at 1:08 am

i dun think in bangkok their road or petrol kiosk is bad shape

• biggie on May 05, 2011 at 10:39 am

car prices in thailand is not much cheaper then here. Price difference about 15k.

• jalan54 on May 05, 2011 at 2:38 am

Sorry to say that, but you are simply ignorant or you are the people from G. Yes, petrol price there is much higher, but the price of the car there is much much much cheaper compare to us. Do you know how many liters of petrol you can fill in from the money you save to buy a car?

Also, 1 thing that I can’t agree with you. Our road condition here is better??? Are you staying in putrajaya or cyber jaya? The road around my area has a lot of holes and for god sake, it is not being maintain for more than 5 years.

• this must be BN cybertroopers! we pakatan dont easily swallow things u said! you can swear, record video, come out dna or whatever…. for us long live pakatan!!!! ..hahahaha

• Tak tahan lagi lah, huuiiii BN kau akan “habis”lah, tak habis habis semua barang harga naik, you want your vote “naik”? isn’t it? this time cannot lar, you make me too “upset”, BN.

• Openmind on May 04, 2011 at 11:11 pm

The way they ran the government is unbelieavably low class, not consistent and not professional, seriously this is my biggest concerns and much more than I concern about price increase.

Firstly, They announced that petrol price shall be floated in accordance to the crude oil price and adjustment will be done per week or per month basis. They also justified heavily that the subsidy will be cut so that the saving can be used for other more beneficial project or development. Now, this is not followed tightly. Secondly, RON95 had not experience any changes even though the oil price had increase more than 40%…..this means that the government is subsidizing it (with the people money) and what is the reason??? of course for election…..increase RON97?? how many people actually using RON97, 5% of all petrol consumption??? In other words, increasing price of RON97 is merely for show and it makes minimal economical sense.

If they can be so non-professional in handling just the petrol price, they can be equally not professional in working on any other national program….so, how far can Malaysia move ahead in such manner? What is the future left for the next generation ?

A biggest point here is that they should really make the car cheaper and increase the petrol price in accordance to the market price, then only people will learn to save or to treasure the resources. Now, we are just protecting the those that doesnt deserved to be protected and loosing out massively on other things.

As for petrol price vs car price…..just take an example of vios, RM25k price difference between Malaysia and Thailand, and assuming the petrol price is 50% difference and you are consuming 200 liters a month, then our thailand friend will be paying (200×2) RM400 more monthly on petrol price and the saving of RM25k (excluding interest) will last them for 6-7 years…..of in other words, we will takes 6-7 years to break even….Is this worth it????

The way the policy is made actually sending the wrong message to the nation…..

• no future if people continue to support the Barang Naik Government. time to change…ruling more than 50 years government become rotten…..they only know how to increase price and make rakyat suffer….AND SAID KENAIKAN HARGA TIDAK MEMBEBANKAN RAKYAT. Please make a change for your future…
        Barang Naik government only know how to make a lot of giant white elephant projects….Beware guys… IF YOU THINK YOU CAN SURE YOU CAN..

• BECAUSE THIS CONTRY IS HANDLED BY NON PROFFESSIONAL MEN AND RULE BY LOW CLASS POLITICIANS…

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 12:57 am

I agree with u.

We take 6-7 years to break even if we pay for our cars in cash.

But most if not all of us takes a car loan.

So it takes even longer than that to break even.

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 9:02 am

Yes but medicines cost double there, food is same or cheaper depending if you go local or western, the western food costs as much as KL. So as long as you don’t get sick you’re ok. I love Bangkok’s Sky Train and Underground, that is something we should strive and emulate. That’s why kena kerja there a week or a month and get lost or through all the troubles first. Don’t be enticed just by cheap car prices.

• Actually, the cheapest new car in Thailand is about 30-35k MYR, basically the same as in Malaysia. Are all Malaysians car owners worse off, probably not.

• dannyl77 on May 04, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Time to Bring in More Hybrid cars ( Low Price one lar ) so far i think Honda Insight is the Cheapest , so dunno if can go lower or not ……
    or maybe have to Look foward to PROTON hybrid ( that also dunno when will launch ) …….
    or Maybe its will be Easier just to Downgrade the c.c. of car & drive with a light feet

• Prashnan on May 04, 2011 at 10:36 pm

well’ for ur kind info…the price gonna hit up to 3.10…by year end.(FROM RON 97 TO 98)
    Another tactic by government….

• erwinkarim on May 04, 2011 at 10:41 pm

let the flame wars begin!!!!

• iloveron97 on May 04, 2011 at 10:41 pm

knowing nowaday most people cannot live without cars, and the public transport system still in its “infancy”, why can’t the gov seriously help the people with hybrid or full EV? our neighbor thailand already has many hybrid cars on the road… oh i think i know, proton and perodua still don’t have hybrid or EV cars yet… what a shame after 25 years being a car maker… oh yeah airbag still not yet a standard feature…

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Proton has failed too create innovative and fun car, because of a very simple answer: They are too protected by UMNO.

• 1malaysia on May 04, 2011 at 10:49 pm

1Malaysia email need money to subsidize

• cili plastik on May 04, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Malaysia govt again made the rakyat big SUCKER….Serve the Malaysian right, for voting the BN.
    Rakyat kena tipu left right up dwon.

Please, vote BN so that your life SUCKS big time.

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 3:46 am

and you’re very sure that PKR could keep the price at RM1.90 until the end of the world?

• RamuNik on May 05, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Dude, its not about how much the fuel price. Look it in bigger prespective. Hike in fuel $ will result in increase in CPI. What does it mean? $ for goods also increase with reason of fuel $… although they stock up with diesel ka, RON 95 ka, That will be their excuse.

Rakyat is ok with price increase, but be smart sikit la. suddenly up by 20 sen. does it make any sense?

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 3:15 pm

the 20cent increase is for RON97.. maybe only 10% (and i believe if they can afford the car, they should be able to pay for petrol too) use that grade. Majority of malaysians who’ve been using RON95 are not affected. Is that wasn’t good enough for you? should we spend more to subsidies the rich people and foreigners who doesn’t pay tax to Malaysia?
          maybe u’re getting angry because your favourite mamak increased the food price saying that his lorry is using RON97 and he also use RON97 to fry your mee goreng?

• Finerounddclock on May 04, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Dear Paul,

Next time before you post bad news of petrol price hike, try to supplement it with certain consumer report okay? I guess Malaysian general population are using 95. This you can witness at every petrol stations where the pumps for 97 are usually vacant. There were times i saw cars pumped with 97 but they were luxury cars. By having the report, at least some of these idiots won’t bark cluelessly

• Paul Tan for Prime Minister on May 05, 2011 at 9:59 am

u jarang baca buku ke ? 10 % of the population pakai RON 97. Go to PJ Damansara Mont Kiara even Subang and Seputeh area and observe.

• Finerounddclock on May 05, 2011 at 11:07 am

I maybe jarang baca buku but I observe well brother. Like you’ve mentioned in your reply to my posting, 10% huh? So can you tell me what sort of car pumped 97 there? Proton eh? Perodua? Honda City? Toyota Vios? I don’t want to assume but I guess they are luxury cars right? & then again, what’s 10% compared to 90%? So I tell you again, don’t bark cluelessly. Btw what at do you drive anyways

• Paul Tan For Prime Minister on May 05, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Good to hear you admitting that you “jarang baca buku”. You said you “observe” and come out to the conclusion ? You stay at Pahang ke ?

Bodoh betullllllll

• m.j.gonzales on May 05, 2011 at 3:19 pm

why? so, now i use 97 to put into my perodua cannot ar? or maybe it is counted as “luxury car” to you lar..

• exigezero on May 04, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Maybe it is time for us to do a poll to see the type of cars and petrol used. So far I only know Honda Civic Type R and Suzuki Swift Sports must use higher than RON95 for optimum combustion.

Mazda 6 2.5 Y2009, using RON95 since day 1. No issue at all.

• Openmind on May 04, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Even though i will also suffer as a result of price increase, but i thin kit is important for us to realize that price increase is inevitable. too many people in this country had been protected too well or pampered too well that they think everything should be cheaper or to be low price forever…I like low price but seriously we need to be realistic here…..

Transforming the country to high income (with high skills and capability) is more important to survive in this global world. There are seriously a lot of things to be done to move us to a developped nation…..we are not prepared yet….

• pomen_merz on May 04, 2011 at 11:17 pm

“ron 97 for rich people only…for those who drive mercedes,bmw and…..” HELLO PEEPS,PLEASE la!!!most of them fill in ron 95…u think all rich people wanna burn their money for expensive fuel???they dont bother that as long as their car can move…lol

• you are right, rich pople are “cheap” and still refuse to use RON 97. They still want government Subsidies. REALLY CHEAPPPPPPP!!

• and yet the middle class rakyat complain when the government raise RON 97 price, which obviously not their fuel.

I guess its another way the gomen trolling Singaporean and Thais… xD

• Dark Knight on May 05, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Hello, all Malaysian are entitle to subsidy. BMW and Mercedes and all other European cars can run as low as Ron 91. As long the car let us pump 95, We pump “smartly”. Doesn’t mean people who drive expensive cars need to pump expensive fuel, the only sacrifice is just lost of power from the car.

Car is all cheap, just taxes is high. Get your fact rights bro

• pomen_merz on May 05, 2011 at 9:07 pm

thats what gov says la bro…lol…u didnt watch news ka???

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 9:28 am

Rich people also pay taxes, you think your income tax money is suffient to pay for the building or the roads and schools? 80% of the wealth in this country belongs to 20% of the population. They may use all types of legal tax loopholes to minimise paying taxes, but they still pay and that is a significant portion.

They can fill all the petrol that they want and it still won’t be anywhere near what they have paid in taxes. So do think before you talk.

• I love (hypocritical) BN,
    I love (overpriced) Protons,
    I love (a scam like) 1Malaysia e-mail,
    And most importantly I love the G’s RON97 floating (sucking your money) mechanism.

Hidup Najib! Hidup Hisham!

My Saga BLM would so (NOT) love to use RON95. It’s like smoking udang garam compared to dunhill merah, at the end of the day it’s still a cigarette.

The rest of you government bashers please go to another country……

• Openmind on May 04, 2011 at 11:24 pm

The way they ran the government is unbelieavably low class, not consistent and not professional, seriously this is my biggest concerns and much more than I concern about price increase.

Firstly, They announced that petrol price shall be floated in accordance to the crude oil price and adjustment will be done per week or per month basis. They also justified heavily that the subsidy will be cut so that the saving can be used for other more beneficial project or development. Now, this is not followed tightly. Secondly, RON95 had not experience any changes even though the oil price had increase more than 40%…..this means that the government is subsidizing it (with the people money) and what is the reason??? of course for election…..increase RON97?? how many people actually using RON97, 5% of all petrol consumption??? In other words, increasing price of RON97 is merely for show and it makes minimal economical sense.

If they can be so non-professional in handling just the petrol price, they can be equally not professional in working on any other national program….so, how far can Malaysia move ahead in such manner? What is the future left for the next generation ?

The biggest point here is that they should really make the car cheaper and increase the petrol price in accordance to the market price, then only people will learn to save or to treasure the resources. Now, we are just protecting the those that doesnt deserved to be protected and loosing out massively on other things. Malaysian is too used to protection, thus, we are what we are and where we are till today…

As for petrol price vs car price…..just take an example of vios, RM25k price difference between Malaysia and Thailand, and assuming the petrol price is 50% difference and you are consuming 200 liters a month, then our thailand friend will be paying (200×2) RM400 more monthly on petrol price and the saving of RM25k (excluding interest) will last them for 6-7 years…..of in other words, we will takes 6-7 years to break even….Is this worth it????

The way the policy is made actually sending the wrong message to the nation…..

• RedLine on May 05, 2011 at 10:52 am

You want to make cars cheaper? Today, a typical house already have 2-3 cars, even young students (who has not yet earned a living) also have cars already. If you make the cars cheaper, our roads will be even more jammed than it is today.

• Ronnie on May 07, 2011 at 11:09 am

its not a matter of how many cars people has in their house… we are paying insanely premium price for products that worth much lower value… and yet, our salary, compared to the developed countries, are like peanuts! that is the reason why people is demanding for the review of car tax…

in terms of traffic… the gov should be doing their work right by improving the country’s infrastructure… if you (the giov) want the people to use more public transportation… ask yourself what have you done to make it more accessible? more reliable?

people buy car for a reason… if you (the gov) wants us (the people) to use public transport instead of buying cars, give us something we can all rely on! HK/ JPN is a perfect example of how the public transportation & its network should work!

• M-BN …….Malaysia Boleh….Naik….

• Proton crab is expensive and fuel is expensive…everything is so expensive now!salary will never increase until end of the world!

• Carl Wong on May 04, 2011 at 11:43 pm

No suprise for me, sadly the price will only go higher and higher as we consume more. And since most people are using RON95 they’re not affected anyways. When fuel prices are higher people should care more about fuel efficiency (+ their wallet) which is actually a good thing, so again the matured technologies such as hybrids (no import tax), turbo diesels, electric are starting to sell really well. We need cars with advanced systems like Auto Stop/Start system in cities.

• Rosmah nak duit beli baju raya + pegi cuti overseas!!!!

• Carl Wong on May 04, 2011 at 11:50 pm

If you really want to save fuel/money, you could start straight away by changing your driving style to a smoother and safer way, search on the internet if you don’t know how.

I don’t have an impression that some Malaysians want to save fuel and are almost always wasting. They like to floor the throttle at the wrong time (RED TRAFFIC LIGHT), tailgate, unnecessary engine idling, always accelerating or decelerating, extreme aggression (increases wear of parts too = more maintenance fees), driving at twice the speed limit at least, zooming in the middle of the night with illegal modifications disturbing everyone who need the precious sleep, and so on.

• neverland on May 04, 2011 at 11:54 pm

i was thinking to get a 2nd hand Audi, BMW, or Mercedes… below rm100k. but i need to stick with my wira because i can’t afford the ron97 price..

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 12:26 am

you will be surprised those audi or merc are tuned to run RON95 but your wira will “knock” itself to pieces when going uphill on Ron 95.

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 10:30 am

Not just Wira, but also Iswara as well, because those two requires RON97. If you wish to use RON97, then you will have to ask a pomen to retard your ignition timing, or else your Wira will be knocking to pieces. But that aslo means poorer performance of course.

• 4g63t dsm on May 05, 2011 at 8:33 am

there you go.

Protons don’t like ron 95 very much. especially older Wira autos.

I just sold ours a few months ago. Had to retard the timing so much in order to run 95 to the point it made the car struggle up hill…. had to switch off the A/C when clibming hills if hoping to make forward process.

• hopeless on May 04, 2011 at 11:57 pm

i know this is a silly question, is there a way to make the ron95 run smooth on my bmw328?

• redboy on May 05, 2011 at 12:13 am

its runs pretty ok in 323.

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 12:24 am

REmap your engine to retard the ignition timing.

Find a remapper that can do that.

• pacifictuna on May 05, 2011 at 12:41 am

try adding some WD40. can even prevent rust….

• Frank Steinleitner on May 05, 2011 at 10:53 pm

if your engine does not run smooth you buy an injector cleaner tablet or fuel treatment tablet (RM 19.90) to clean the pipelines. That makes the petrol run smoothly….
      www.dynotab.com.my

• as far as i concerned, RON 97 is controlled by the world’s fuel price, not the government. only RON 95 is controlled by our G.

• littlefire on May 05, 2011 at 8:50 am

I heard the world fuel price drop after Osama been killed? Why we still going up?

• aroma on May 05, 2011 at 12:02 am

cannot wait to see those “losers want face” who drive BMW and Audi queue up with MyVi owners pumping RON 95.

If cannot affort the fuel, please do not but european cars :)

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 12:22 am

The difference between a rich person and a poor person is not how much money he has. But how smart he handles his money.

Paying RM2.9 for fuel when RM 1.9 fuel is enough as stated in the manual is just being silly.

Then what about those ppl who owns a Beemer 320D. That is diesel BMW. You are not making any sense and just show how immature you are.

• mapleleaf on May 05, 2011 at 12:23 am

Ya CUKUP MALU driving BMW and AUDI still hope for subsidies !!

• Ronnie on May 07, 2011 at 10:59 am

it has absolutely NOTHING to do with what car you drive!! it’s totally irrelevant… I’m not protecting those who drives high-end cars… I myself drives a national car…

those who can afford a high-end car works hard for it (except those cronies who work with the gov to suck our hard earn money dry) , in fact, they work harder than most people in the world as our car prices are absurd…

we are all equal citizens of the country… why should we discriminate/punish those who drives better car? is that a sin?

the principle of the gov is wrong in the very first place… they should either get their acts right or else get LOST!

• tishaban on May 05, 2011 at 7:41 am

From my experience in Europe, Australia/NZ etc RON91 is regular and RON95 is premium fuel so most European luxury cars I know are only optimized for RON95. RON97 is not necessary most of the time.

• Mayonaise on May 05, 2011 at 12:34 pm

That’s because their RON91 & 95 fuels are FAR MORE cleaner than ours.

• Naz@AE111 on May 05, 2011 at 12:06 am

hmmm… another step of price hiking due to stupidity of the government, making the other food supply price going hike radically… making they own people to pay more taxes for themselves rather than thinking about the benefits of the people…

• redboy on May 05, 2011 at 12:12 am

Dont you realize every election winning the price keep going up? Since the 1M slogan works people that people balentedly believe those who rules will take care of them…any of those politicians need to pay a single cents of the Petrol whether its RON95 or RON97? think again.

• STOP COMPLAIN, STOP PANGKAH BN

• Oh no! Cant drive my Evo X laa after this, ron97 to high. Damnit~ hmmm…
    eh eh can can.. its actually Inspira, can use ron95 (changed bodykit, front grill and all even me, myself and I confused)
    ahaks!

• alizo on May 05, 2011 at 12:36 am

when the fuel price increase, there are thousand reason from govt…..
    rakyat kena berkorban,,,,,why,why,why,why.why,why,why…

• sebab kita bekerja cari duit untuk kerajaan.. bukan kerajaan bekerja untuk rakyat..

• tongek on May 05, 2011 at 10:14 am

ok gov,,we will work for u…. why dont gov add one more rukun negara….

1.Kepercayaan kepada Tuhan
        2.Kesetiaan kepada Raja dan Negara
        3.Keluhuran Perlembagaan
        4.Kedaulatan Undang-undang
        5.Kesopanan dan Kesusilaan

6.bekerja untuk menampung negara

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 11:06 am

Then we will have to find a new national flower to replace the hibiscus, because a hibiscus flower only has 5 petals. We’ll need to find a flower with 6 petals now. Takkan nak lekat satu lagi kelopak pakai cellotape lak…? Hehehe :D

• seletip mahal.. pakai gam kertas sudahlaaa. Rakyat kena berjimat!!!

• MoFaz on May 05, 2011 at 11:09 am

how many country will let u live freely, no tax, and everything cheap? maybe Arab, but would you live there?
          similarly, tell me if there’s any company that would let you duduk goyang kaki and receive big fat salary every month?

• m.j.gonzales on May 05, 2011 at 3:30 pm

easy question.. answer: work in the gov larr.. :PPP

• MoFaz on May 06, 2011 at 1:14 am

funny… people always say that working in the gov only get low pay and you have to wait very very long to get pay rise or promotion. if doctors in gov hospitals can just relax the whole day and wait their “big salary”, why so many doctors open their own clinics? why many teachers doing part time in tuition centres or as home tutors?

• kattunman on May 06, 2011 at 4:05 pm

funny… ppl always think that working in the private sector can get big fat salary and got increment or promotion annually.

Anywy, whn doctor open their own clinics, they’re counted s their own boss already wat so it doesnt matter work gov/private oso got ppl liddat. But you thnk again, if got no “big fat salary”, how to open clinic on their own? LOL!!! And,when teacher do part-time, they’re earning side-income. U thnk ppl frm private sectors dun earn side-income?

Summore, work in gov can go back sharp sharp. How many ppl frm d gov work til midnight in office? Will they even get fired if they are slacking or dun finish their job on time?

so, y is working in d gov NOT “duduk goyang kaki and receive big fat salary every month”?

• MoFaz on May 06, 2011 at 5:33 pm

you’re twisting my words la macha..
            i mean, if they already get big fat salary why do they have to do part-time? get it??

• alizo on May 05, 2011 at 12:40 am

hahaha,,,,i like it…..tonite RON97 rm2.90
    maybe next time RM3.00 hahahaha….
    1 malaysia…..

• maaajeeedaaa on May 05, 2011 at 4:56 am

correction…..next time would be RM 3.50 per litre…muahahahahahahaha……oh FLOM, oh Bijan……..

• nonolu on May 05, 2011 at 12:51 am

TDAY RON 97 IS RM 2.90 HOW ABT V POWER IS IT RM 5/LITER

• nonolu : last time (19/4/2011) i pump shell v-power racing is only RM2.90…i think is now only RM3.10 lar

• BeemerFreak on May 05, 2011 at 1:09 am

I believe it is time we malaysians learn the true value of petrol and start paying world rates. But this can only happen if the APs and other protective measures go away. leaving us to buy the most fuel economical car at true market rate.

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 10:37 am

its a long list, AP and car prices are the least of my concerns. My concerns are the following.

1. People who buy multiple houses on loans for speculation
      2. Developers who make excessive profits on property development, some up to 500% and refuse to build medium and low cost houses.
      3. Traders who make excessive profits.
      4. Bankers who make more in bonuses than their total pay out annualy. These people make 24 months bonuses, and all you see is how much an oilman makes.
      5. Fixing minimum wage.
      6. Fixing minimum intern allowances.
      7. Market Analysis of salaries based on company’s type of business, size and technology. We don’t have that in this country all we have are ad hoc reports.

• tabasco on May 05, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Malaysia is a country practicing Capitalism. We reject Communism ! You can go to Cuba if you prefer other political ideology !

• Mohamad on May 05, 2011 at 1:48 am

Let me clarify to those keep saying buy RON95 la… Most of the guys here are fans of performance and luxury cars. They doesn’t aspire to buy a blm, viva for their future ride. That’s why RON97 price matters to them. The pricier it is. The harder it is to justify their purchase of high performance machine.

• paksu on May 05, 2011 at 3:16 am

ron97 only for those yang mampu pakai kereta besar…mampu beli xkn xmampu isis minyak???…hehehe

• do the right thing. exercise your rights. still our fault for letting the same party rule for 50 yrs.. lets not make the same mistakes the next erection or when RON95 pun naik.. kite punye ‘barang’ confirm tak naik then….

• SoMeOnE on May 05, 2011 at 7:06 am

if car prices were at market rate as mentioned by others..the increase would be acceptable. ..im sure many here would agree…for example..if… an audi a4 1.8 t that is similar in spec with the car they sell here would be around 120 000 as opposed to 235 000 it costs.. even the most mad spec evo x with supercar baiting power for example the fq 400 costs about 250 k while the regular one goes 350 k over here….in other words..those of us (many i presume) that intend to get a car with good performance are squeezed dry in every angle…

it makes car ownership here a daunting task rather than an enjoyable pay off of a hard day’s work…..i think many can vouch for the fact that car ownership is the number one reason the most of us run on a deficit..i took me almost 6 years from graduation to even get a decent car ( a mazda 6 in this context)

.the petrol hike just makes it a lot more bitter…..the fact of the matter is.this is one of the many pressure cookers thats running on overtime and further fuels the current scene of politics…..car prices cannot be reduced overnight to world prices as it would kill the value of the current cars…but steps must be taken to balance this..as for now…the hammer is firmly on both feet…nobody likes that and the goverment should really worry about it…

• anand on May 05, 2011 at 7:36 am

my vote is undi rosak, mark all of them

• Superstar on May 05, 2011 at 8:12 am

quote this from previous post:
    I drove to Hua Hin, Thailand recently, normally when we fly there we always go for either work or holidays. So the mode of transport on land is either taxis or buses.
    Up to Bukit Kayu Hitam it was ron 97 , long distance driving and trying to get the power. At BKY a full tank of ron 95 i.e RM1.90 p/litre before crossing the border. What I didn’t know was after my next fuel stop at PTT (petro Thailand) station they have many types of fuel.
    RON 91 ( benzine ) they call it for carburetor engines only at RM2.90 . RON 95 at RM3.80 and RON 97 at RM4.30. Diesel at RM3.80 and Bio Diesel at RM 2.90. My fuel cost shot up double and driving on not so good roads conditions. After crossing the border on my way back I suddenly realised how lucky we are pumping far cheaper petrol and in a nice looking petrol station and driving on nice roads with a bit of toll. After pausing for a while when thinking most of the people in Thailand are even poorer than us and they dont use petrol prices a political blackmail or weapon there.

• oooo yesssssssss to feel much2 (x 1000) better compare dont compare it with Thailand…….compare it with some African country and u will feel living here like heavennnnnnn……….and our G is the chosen saviour…………..now on kneel down on ur knees with ur hand outstretched and move it up and down motion and chant…..we not worthy we not worthy we not worthy………..

• littlefire on May 05, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Suddenly after u go into their cars show room, u felt that their car is so cheap that u might just support their automotive sector… Especially Bio-diesel.. Hmm.. that why i like to drive turbo-diesel pickup in Thailand..

• Cucukman on May 05, 2011 at 8:22 am

Singaporean and Siamese that live near the boundary that use RON97 will get angry..their fuel cost will rise up.. Malaysian Govt. sux their money..hahaha..

• maserati on May 05, 2011 at 8:31 am

Aiya stop complaining and just use the damn ron95 lahh..
    Keep complain the price wont go down lah

• mr.buru on May 05, 2011 at 8:41 am

…follow me…already moved to diesel…

• taboogen on May 05, 2011 at 8:47 am

lets vote for PKR…. then we will have gay boys and prostitute all around.. yeah yeah….. ohh yeah…. low the fuel price… sell cheaper car.. close down PROTON and PRODUA….. (that alone will save few billion in paying malaysia for their Salary.. good lah for them.. no need to work anymore.. rest only at home…. then can sell cheaper fuel to foreigners mah… good for bizz…. and 1 day when we ran out for fuel we can use kelapa sawit pulak mah… then we all sama2 can work at ladang kelapa sawit for RM600 a month… how about that… cool hah.. good lah for our son and daughter future….VOTE PKR now for better SEX life in the future :p

• My fellow Malaysian, ask not what the govt can do for you,ASK WHAT U CAN DO FOR THE COUNTRY!!!!!! STOP MAKING NOISE ABOUT THIS FUEL HIKE. AT LEAST U CAN CAN STILL USE RON 95. BE GRATEFUL TO YOUR RULING GOVT. HIDUP BN!!!!

• Ronnie on May 07, 2011 at 10:44 am

this mentality is exactly the reason why Malaysia has still yet to achieve the status of a “Developed” country!! when you stop demanding, that’s when you stop progressing!! Demand from people is not at all a bad thing…

people in office too long tend to get complacent… got too comfortable… thought no one will ever question them as long as there’s food, electricity n water…

but, if we do really want QUALITY living… think again!!

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 9:35 am

If all the car taxes are removed, will it solve anything? What if it takes you 3-4 hours to commute to work instead of 1 hour? What we should be doing is doing a fixed 30-40% allocation from the car tax revenue to development of public infrastrtucture in KL. Sounds nice in principle, how do you think the people out of KL feel…

They don’t need that… Its easy to comment, but execution is hard when you need to balance different needs of the community. Try running your own company and its just like running a small country. You’ll see what I mean.

• PakAbu on May 05, 2011 at 10:43 am

Everybody needs them. Not just in KL. Some of the buses in Ipoh are from the 80s. Almost museum piece.

Potholes? Yes we have them too. Flash flood? Proudly so too. Clogged drains? Yes sir. Poorly located bus terminals? Oh yes, definitely. Taxis? Yes, as bad as in other places.

The only thing is that we don’t really have traffic congestion. ;-)

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 12:02 pm

With your mentality, you have been too protected, you will fail to do anything.

Nothing is easy, for some sleeping and eating is difficult task. So if you cannot sleep, are you not going to rest?

If government not able to run the country efficiently, so let it be? Listen to critics and comment, learn and change how we do thing efficiently, improve our Malaysia.

• paranoid on May 06, 2011 at 10:58 am

sorry i be to differ…if car tax is abolished the number of cars on road will still be the same..only difference is the TYPE of cars unless if proton can survive selling their cars at 20k range

• adamo rossi on May 05, 2011 at 9:59 am

we are suffer with this issue

• palon on May 05, 2011 at 10:31 am

not forget pak lah time 1 usd = rm3.50 current time 1 usd = rm2.90 strong ringgit shall be cheaper price including car.

• Not sure whats the fuss all bout with prices of food and etc going up due to RON97 price hike. I mean, who the hell transports food and goods using RON97 fuel?!
    Most of the trucks uses diesel and some mini-vans using RON95 only. If roti canai price goes up, I’m gonna screw the mamak stall fella and tell him not to use his FD2R to transport his groceries!

• rexis on May 05, 2011 at 10:45 am

Strongly advise gahmen to build MORE bicycle lanes, normal roads are too dangerous!

• adamo rossi on May 05, 2011 at 10:50 am

its time to change our gov in PRU 13..if mesir can do it,y not we?change for our good..

• xavier lert on May 05, 2011 at 11:00 am

las month i bough shell fully syn oil n get rm30 voucher n use it to fill my ride wit 97 vpower….after service n vpower (97)…..aaaa……..wat a felling i mis the extra power for few month already (since early this yr..)…..use to fill my ride wit vpower racing on regular basis b4 this…..it just like gatorade to 100plus to air padang…huhuhuh

n oh yeh..why RM 2.90?..make rm 3 better…..

• biggbro9 on May 05, 2011 at 11:25 am

I hope the GE won’t come soon…so we can continue enjoying RON95 @ 1.9. Thats the only thing which is holding gomen from increasing the price!

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 3:47 pm

GE will come, RON 95 will naik. We will still have to pay higher petrol and car.

• at this juncture, i’m appreciating the Penang government initiative to provide free bus ride from the mainland to the island (ftz area). save fuel and no need to pay for the bridge’s toll.

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 1:08 pm

I think the Penang state government is doing a good job.

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Like it or not, you will see Penang will out do other state under UMNO.

• selangorian on May 05, 2011 at 7:07 pm

penang= free bus ride, selangor= free water bill

pahang & perak= free fresh radioactive

• redboy on May 05, 2011 at 12:02 pm

With RON97 at RM2.90 and RON95 at RM1.90, where will be a HUGE gap for RON95 to raise. Dont believe it?
    Check out next month. I am sure it will be RM2.10.

• I believe the true intention for the Government is to increase the retail price for RON95 instead of RON97, just because the general election is around the corner and they are reluctant to do so. For decades, we the fellow Malaysian are burden enough with all kinds of taxes and other payments to support an inefficient, bureaucratic and corruptted Government. Bear in mind this Government also have hundreds billions of short / long term dept to be paid ……………. , retail prices for all kinds of goods & food are going up almost every month and this horrifying inflation demon is overshadowing daily lives of ordinary Malaysian and if the situation continue, our future is hang in balance.

• Mazda3MPS on May 05, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Yehh, my ride’s the MPS. Tried the new RON95 extra from Petronas. I personally feel that its better than the other RON95. The difference in power as compared to 97 is rather significant, but an improvement over other 95. No more 97 for me now, real depressing shit. Might consider mixing it up tho.

• paranoid on May 06, 2011 at 10:51 am

drive MPS but no money to pay for ron97….. really ja tou

• Frank Steinleitner on May 07, 2011 at 12:04 am

buy an fuel additive if you want more power; they come in liquid as well as tablet form. Eg www.dynotab.com.my

• blackjkx on May 05, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Gov, whatever shit u r thinking to squeeeeeze more rakyat money,keep the ron95 price as current.

• kelvin on May 05, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Large portion of people is using RON 95. Do you think that government don’t want to squeeze us? They will, when they continue to be our blood sucking government.

• ecofriendly on May 05, 2011 at 1:22 pm

apalah kerajaan ni.. juz demolish high car tax,bagi sama mcm world price, then minyak tak yah subsidi la.. try la buat untuk 5 years.. tengok apa effect dia.. kalau ok, continue, kalau tak, back to square one.. tapi, let say this fuel price hike is because u memang nak curi wang rakyat, i suggest u curi balak, pasir, or tanah ke, tipu projek2 ke, tak la obvious sgt bagi rakyat yg marhaien mcm aku ni, kalau bab minyak nampak sgt beb.. tak la hati skt sangat.. simply, because ignorance is bliss. Cakap dah nak GE, tapi tak pandai sangat nak menipu la gov ni.. ambil la action yg popular sikit, turunkan ron 97 jadi rm 1.20 ke,mansuhkan semua tol, semua cukai kereta, roadtax, dan apa2 lagi tax lah,lps tu buat GE, dah u menang nanti, dlm masa 5 tahun tu la, u kikis habis2 aset dkt m’sia ni. lps tu lari la ke mana2 negara lain.. kan senang..itu, kalau u nak jadi penipu. tapi kalau u nak jadi pembela rakyat, mcm ni lah akibat yg u akn terima, caci maki,maki hamun,sumpah laknat,juz again simply because u r like parrent to those rebelious teenager who taught they knew everything about this world..

• Joseph on May 05, 2011 at 5:00 pm

If abolished tax, how will UMNO/BN cronies survive with their used car, even NAZA will go down, because you will have the manufacturer themselves opening chains of dealership.
      People like Mofak cannot curi I mean cari makan.

• pg qayyum on May 05, 2011 at 2:19 pm

oh my god.. naik lg.. my mum use ron97.. so mhal la ne minyak dia. hiahh.. so sot la malaysia

• Car Driver on May 05, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Malaysia Boleh means Malaysia Boleh Naik….G think no need to look into rakyat consensus as already Malaysia Boleh Naik..
    BN also Barang Naik or Boleh Naik

• i think barang naik is more suitable to anwar ibrahim..

• stephen on May 06, 2011 at 4:04 pm

not everything naik… Branded goods like Branded CK underwear get tax reduction after the budget ma…also handphone but yet I don’t know how much it benefit us?

all I know is fuel price up…. people’s temper naik.

• Thank You BN voters on May 05, 2011 at 2:28 pm

It won’t be long before gahment say RON95 price increase too because gahment subsidies Malaysians anymore. I just want to say a BIG Thank You to all BN voters. Thank you very much. Thank you thank you. Now all Malaysians will have to suffer because of those who wanted BN as gahment.

• pirate on May 05, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Just for the record, do you know that the price difference of RON 95 versus RON 97 is just 3 sen at the production/blending stage?

RON 97 users are likely paying petroleum tax at this level, at this point in time!

• Your Boss on May 05, 2011 at 6:20 pm

i am selling my 2008 golf gti full spec at below market rate. Will let go at RM100K. Cant afford this high petrol price d.

• therisingfuel on May 05, 2011 at 6:38 pm

big thank you to the ron97 users, with your support Malaysia will extend from 2019 to 2020 to go bankrupt…

• Alvin Goh on May 05, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Guys, its time we make a stand by changing the Government of the day. I can understand if the prices of petrol goes up with the demand/supply mechanism and all the things that happens around the world that affects it, but how sure are we that whatever savings this BN/UMNO government make is channeled back to us? And ohhh I forgot, a classic example would be the soon-to-be RM50mil email project by Tricubes that was approved under the guise of ”self-funding” by the private sector.

The increase of RON97 prices so drastically on a near monthly basis is seriously making the already difficult life we have, more difficult.

• kerang ikan betul on May 05, 2011 at 11:39 pm

sudah senang mau hidup lagi senang..
      anak sekolah mau free, wifi mau free, tol kalau boleh tak payah bayar, kereta mewah mau beli murah2, pengakutan awam mau free, rumah kat kawasan mewah2 mau murah2, jalan raya mau ada “red carpet” tapi tak mau bayar cukai jalan, sampah kat depan rumah suruh org ambik tp taknak bayar cukai pintu, tengok bola sepak mau tiket free, duit bil elek, air mau free.. PTPTN tak nak bayar!!
      makan minum di hotel bolah jer di bayar mahal2.. segelas air masak pun mau kena RM2~3 tp tak der saper2 lak nk melenting.. air kat pasar malam kos cuma 20sen segelas org tu jual RM1 tak der pun nk melenting? baru berapa mL jer air tu!!
      roti canai mamak RM1 satu? belum air sirap kedai mamak lg? gula dengan perwarna jer!!
      aku duduk hospital GH bayar RM1 jer.. ada kau nk melenting nk kena byr RM1? kalau duduk dalam hospital private jumpa DR jer dah kena byar kurang2 RM1k.. belum duit ubat2 lg, operation lg, wad lg, tekan butang pangil jururawat pun kena bayr duit .. ada korng fikir?
      tengah sihat ada insurance boleh la.. cuba sakit xder insurance.. jngan harap la dapat masuk hospital private.. org kaya boleh la beli insurance,

kalau kereta guna RON97 tu makner nyer kereta tuk org yg sudah kaya.. mampu beli kereta mahal mampu la beli minyak mahal..
      aku tak kesah kalau nk marah G sbb corruption, tapi isu minyak tuk org kaya nk marah wat per? bukan takder langsung minyak murah..
      duit dari cukai bukan untuk org kaya atau yg nk bergaya2!!

• bnbodo on May 06, 2011 at 10:14 pm

lu mmg kerang la..

• Vincent Ang on May 10, 2011 at 10:46 am

Cakap saudara memang benar. 99% daripada kereta di Mal;aysia tidak perlu gunakan petrol RON 97. Masalahnya ramai yang mati-mati tidak mahu merujuk kepada manual kereta mereka tapi bodoh-bodoh kata minyak RON97 lebih tinggi kualitinya adalah lebih baik untuk kereta merka berbanding dengan minyak ron 95.

• Frank Steinleitner on May 06, 2011 at 11:48 pm

check your owner manual if your car really requires RON 97. I doubt it.

• Frank Steinleitner on May 05, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Dear all,
    its pritty normal that fuel prices go up. I just came back from Germany and the RON 95 petrol price called Super is sold at Euro 1.65 = RM 7.26 so there is still a long way to go to reach this level.

Besides the ones who want to save approx 10% fuel can use my fuel treatment tablet approx RM 3.20 per fill-up and the ones who prefer RON 95 now and reuire more power can add Octane Booster tablet RM 12.25 per fill-up.

Happy Motoring
    Dato’ Frank Steinleitner

• Edmund on May 06, 2011 at 2:51 am

Well, we cannot compare based on converted value.

People in Germany earn Euro, so Euro 1.65 to them is acceptable.

We are paid in RM, so RM1.90 is also acceptable to us.

But when we are required to buy stuff at international price (ie. direct convert from USD) yet paid at local salary (RM2000 for newbie), then we have heavier burden. So if we are required to buy petrol based on market fluctuation at local salary level, it is then “very expensive”.

HK and Japan currencies have smaller face value than us, but their salary meets the international standard. IMHO, RM5000 is the least we should be earning as a newbie.

• autojohndoe on May 06, 2011 at 9:49 am

i think their GDP is much higher than us…

• Frank Steinleitner on May 06, 2011 at 11:26 pm

well you are all working towards a fuly developed nation in 2020. So your salaries go up and your costs will go up. Again pretty natural.
        Nevertheless you are rich on natural resources like petrol and NGV. NGV is not fully developed due to missing network etc. If you don’t focus on your resources and make yourself dependend of the petrol world market you miss an opportunity.
        Your choice.

• What nonsense r u try to impose here, Germany GDP at USD 40K is 5 time of Malaysia USD 8K.

RM 1.90 X 5 = RM 9.50 (EUR 2.15)

How to purchase thing from a Salesman who doesn’t even know how to make a simple calculation. :-(

• Frank Steinleitner on May 06, 2011 at 11:37 pm

well you are all working towards a fuly developed nation in 2020. So your salaries go up and your costs will go up. Again pretty natural.
        Nevertheless you are rich on natural resources like petrol and NGV. NGV is not fully developed due to missing network etc. If you don’t focus on your resources and make yourself dependend of the petrol world market you miss an opportunity.
        Your choice

• SoMeOnE on May 06, 2011 at 1:20 am

are u for real?..i mean i know ur into the whole tablet business but its kinda amusing that ur promoting it in a comments sections…lol…

• kerang ikan betul on May 06, 2011 at 1:59 am

he from Stuttgart, Germany. ermm mking sharing some info..

• Frank Steinleitner on May 06, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Well knowing Malaysian Style 90% of you have never read your owners manual and checked if your car really requires RON 97. You’ll find out that only special cars mainly racing cars like Audi R8 require even RON 98 to b e s t p e r f o r m!!!

So everyone check first and then decide for yourself if the additional power of RON 97 is worth the extra money you spend.

• Rizal on May 06, 2011 at 1:58 am

How come so many ppl complaint about the G but they still always win in elaktion. I pun tak tau u org buat apa ! Bangun Now.

• johnson L on May 06, 2011 at 2:29 am

wat should we all use if 1 day RON 97, 95 and Diesel rise over RM3 per liter ??
    should we vote for new G ????

• aduss on May 06, 2011 at 2:53 pm

we should use EV car.. use solar car.. or public transport.. it out of G control can we totally blame to G. how about other subsidy?

ye kita pengeluar minyak, tetapi kita terikat dengan penjanjian dengan persatuan pengaluar minyak, dan minyak kita dari sumber di lautan, lebih sesuai untuk dijadikan minyak bergred tinggi cth: minyak kapal terbang,
      perlu ingat revolusi pengguaan kereta electric “EV” sedang belaku dan mungkin kereta yg mggunakn petrol akan pupus ditelan zaman suatu hari nanti. petrol juga akan kering.. harga petrol tentu akan naik lebih tinggi dimasa hadapan. adakah kita hendak salahkan kerajaan pada waktu itu?

kesimpulan isu harga minyak bukan alasan yg kukuh untuk vote for new G.. banyak lagi isu lain untuk tujuan itu.. ok?

• SAWADEECUP on May 06, 2011 at 9:50 am

Now the petrol price dropped below USD 100 per barrel according to today’s paper. Let’s see there is any adjustment on RON97 :)

• Mambra on May 07, 2011 at 1:07 pm

ron97 for rich people, ron95 for poor people. at least gov still pay attention for the needs. thanks GOD i,m using ron95 for my MYVI..:)

• Abu Amir on May 06, 2011 at 9:52 am

Vote for change

Try for 5 years only

This goverment is belong to Rakyat not BN/cronies

• CIFUT on May 06, 2011 at 10:35 am

turunkan cukai pintu/tanah kat selangor dulu

• we gave a chance to selangor but till today they hv yet to prove they are the best than before

• nadzri m yusof on May 06, 2011 at 11:01 am

Gov should offset fuel increase because currently USD @ belo RM3.00 per Dollar, When Pak Lah shoot fuel to RM2.70 per litre that time was RM3.80 per Dollar.

Actually no reason to hike but to feed crony………… so sorry.

• stephen on May 06, 2011 at 3:44 pm

I do hope they will be able to explain a valid reason why RM is gaining strenght…almost 7% since beginning of 2011 but yet it can’t offset the price of petrol even the raw material to make petrol…crude oil is not hitting to those all time high we seen in 2008.

its good they come out some explaination…. higher process cost for Euro2M etc etc…of course I know we all have some doubt based on the theory we all claim. However just interested to know what logical explanation for the latest hike now.

• Ronnie on May 07, 2011 at 10:26 am

no one can change a rotten gov within 3-4 yrs… ppl need time n patience…
    but one thing for sure… whoever in office, should be reminded that they’re serving us – the people!

• 1Malaysia...NOT!!! on May 08, 2011 at 6:37 am

Well, what can we say about our ‘fabulous’ G people? Their pocket is getting fatter and ours are rather drained out due to their ‘fantastic’ strategies. I’m a normal citizen as well and find that there are arguments between us that G is and isn’t doing a great job. From my POV, G seems to be doing the so-called the right thing by looking into the world oil market but it always seems ridiculous to be implementing such changes without consulting us citizens. My sis living in australia of course is paying high taxes in return of working there as temporarily but car price is so damn cheap. For a new Honda Jazz, it only costs AUD17000 and her salary in australia would be around AUD2.5k. There is a balance system somehow there as petrol price down under is of course uncomparable with ours here (ours cheaper alot of course) but in the long run, we are running out faster. We ourselves on average normally fork out around at least rm300-600 or a locally made car but my sis is paying the same amount in aussie dollars for a Honda, so for me it would be a WTF comment. RON97 will definitely exceed RM4.00/litre if this goes on and our public transport is “one of the best” you can find, am i right guys/gals? KTM pun BAGUS, public transportation pun BAGUS, road macam sial also BAGUS, etc…no wonder G is trying so hard to lure malaysian overseas to come back because they know for a fact that living overseas is way better than living in your home country because they suck the brains out of their own people!!! PS: Just my 2 cents, for those who oppose, i would say those who are citizens of Malaysia may agree with these short composition, cheers!!!

• RON97 is for rich people, if your income below 5K and live in bandar, forget about using RON97. RON95 dah okay, don’t blame Gomen, they just follow the market price, now you all see the difference…hahahahaha

• Izhar on May 09, 2011 at 9:52 am

apa yang kau nampak masalah nih bermula bile driver luar isi minyak kat m’sia.so nak elak subsidi kite dikongsi dengan orang luar nih kerajaan cuba beberapa cara..yang aku ingat skit2, orang luar nak isi ada minyak ada limit..pastu kene isi dalam range beberapa kilometer dari sempadan…xingat sgt peraturan tuh…pastu wat rebat yabg kat pejabat pos..dan yang baru nih RON97 sahaja yang dibenarkan…pastu kerajaan nak subsidi minyak dapat pada orang perlu..subsidi RON97 ni mmg aku nampak kerajaan nak hapuskan terus. majoriti kenderaan petrol kat msia ni aku tgk boleh masuk RON95..sbb compression ratio enjin x lebih 10:1..dan kete injection skarang boleh advance ignition timing automatik utk elak knock… kete high performance yang mmg kene isi RON 97 cth Honda civic type R compression ratio 11.5:1..mmg xleh pakai RON 95.. pada aku kalau dah mampu beli kete high performance, nak isi RON97 or RON 99(V power racing) xder hal nyer…
    ini cume pendapat aku dan apa yang aku nampak kerajaan cube buat…
    apa pun aku still maintain ngan Iswara..hehe..walaupun kat tutup minyak tulis octane 97+..aku still isi RON 95…sebab aper???compression ration aku 8.5:1…
    pilih ikut keperluan
    SELAMAT SUME….

• Mr Hukaka on May 11, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Ssang yong stavic wait for me……………….me…………………me……………………
    or i have to wait you………………………………………….more then three month cause now the booking list are more then 3 month.
    pew so good sales now even later after election the sales even boom up.
    because of the fuel price.

• Latio on May 12, 2011 at 10:32 pm

The main difference between RON97 and RON95 is their octane ratings, indicated by the number in the product name.

Using petrol of a lower RON may or may not hurt your car. You just need to find a suitable fit for your car and driving style. It’s best to refer to the Original Equipment Manufacturer’s (OEM) recommendation in your car manual or check the back of the petrol filler lid of your car for the recommended octane rating. please refer this link..www.caltex.com/my/en/FAQ_RON.asp#

• UMNO suporter on May 14, 2011 at 12:13 am

our petrol is one of the chepest
    but our car price also is one of the highest tax(our salary even at just medium only far lower than developed countries)

• UMNO suporter on May 14, 2011 at 12:14 am

our petrol is one of the chepest –if u compare with japan which averag McD wokrker can get rm5000(yes after converted)
    but our car price also is one of the highest tax(our salary even at just medium only far lower than developed countries)

compare our car price with Thai & Indon will make u sick……that the truth

• lagit hitam on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:12 pm

As today 4th of June 2011, why there is no RON97 and RON95 fuel price reduction as comparing to our neighbor country?