78 vehicle importers raided, related bank accounts frozen

You’ve undoubtedly heard the line about death and the taxman. So, with that do we come to the shenanigans that a number of car importers have purportedly been up to, according to a report by The Star yesterday.

Over the past week, a total of 78 car importing companies have been paid a ‘visit’ by the taxman, in the form of a special task force led by the Inland Revenue Board and made up of the Customs Department, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, Bank Negara, the Auditor-General’s Department, Companies Commission of Malaysia and Cyber Security Malaysia.

Besides the companies, the residences of 59 company directors as well as 32 audit firms across the country were also raided, and more than 300 related bank accounts were frozen under the Anti-Money Laundering and Anti-Terrorism Financing Act 2001 (Amlatfa).

The task force was set up to recover undeclared duties, amounting to hundreds of millions of ringgit. The A-G’s Chambers stated there were “strong reasons” to believe that those raided were involved in under-declaring customs duties, tax evasion, misuse of APs (approved permits), as well as falsifying documents, money-laundering and corruption.

Basically, that’s a pretty big shebang of nasty activities intimated to, “activities which present a significant threat to the nation’s economy and reputation,” the A-G said in a statement, and the supervised and coordinated raids are aimed at identifying and collecting undeclared customs duties and tax due to the government. Wonder just how much will be recovered – with there being no escape from the taxman, it should be a whole darn lot.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rulered on May 13, 2011 at 7:26 pm

I’ve always thought the cars they were selling are expensive……..for a second hand (recond).

• Ordinary Joe on May 13, 2011 at 10:15 pm

Hell yeah expensive…. So u image the margins they get with the evasions and all…

• Porsche 911 on May 14, 2011 at 10:47 am

The AG and also MITI must also see about tampering with the odometer of a car. From what I have heard this is rampant and it is outright cheating. People buy a given recon car based on the mileage, say a 2007 car having done 10,000KM, but in actual fact, it has done 100,000KM.

According to the Porsche Centre for example, they have seen so many recon cars sent in their service programme and after their diagnotic, the diagnostic computer gives a completely different mileage. The buyer loses out cause obviously, the wear and tear of a 100,000 KM car is more and he will have to change more parts which are costly. Also, chances of it being an ex-rental car would mean the car was trashed like crazy.

In the UK, where the car is imported, the price of the car is based on the mileage it has done and NOT the year of make. So, a 2009 car with 100,000 KM is cheaper than the 2006 car that has done only 10,000 KM.

The AP holders, some of them, rewind the odometer after buying a 100,000KM car cheaply and make a killing of a profit. This is the biggest flaw of the AP system.

• papercut on May 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Yes, this is true. They can change odometer. If you go to used car dealer, it is impossible the see more than 50,000km car. Usually 10,000km-30,000km. They also cut the seat belt label because they don’t want you to know the real manufactured year.

• Adrian on May 15, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Now that all who read this knows whats going on, stop buying recond and tell your friends and family too… You have been warned.

• manu year can be traced with ur chasis number…

• Unforgiven on May 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Honestly do you believe this?

We know the capability of MACC, etc.
      We know the holder of AP/AP King, etc.

What are they trying to do or show?
      At the end of the day -> Nothing…

• Um.. it’s simple, too many AP holders, eradicate first the non-“Earth” AP holders and that’ll stop the cannibalizing of a limited pie.

Less people more share, that’s what my mum always taught me :-)

Anyway, don’t believe what you read in the MSM, there’s always a reason when some government agency initiate a “operasi”, and it’s usually not because there were law-breakers.

• Plazz on May 13, 2011 at 7:34 pm

A little late but at least they are taking some action now. With the crooks in jail or with their assets seized, there should be lesser resistance to the plan to abolish the AP.

• Selezs on May 14, 2011 at 1:53 am

I think, its a good time strategy to deviate ppl attention from recent fuel n sugar price hike, as they know at the end of the day all these companies will go free bcos it involve high ranked ppl. No surprise they will come out with more stringent rules for AP, but there always way to go around it.. To abolish AP, hmm i doubt so, extending AP forever,

maybe..

• Joseph on May 14, 2011 at 1:46 pm

No its not, this is part of the 3B Joint Task force – BNM, AG, SPRM etc. More heads will roll after this. The forwarders in Port Klang are skinned alived in this latest operation, so are money changers who have been used by these people to transfer funds.

• Sofa!

• …and I wonder why the Government waited so long to take such action.

• MoFaz on May 14, 2011 at 8:54 pm

yeap.. why only now??
      AP system has been around for 4 decades. that’s freaking 40 years!
      give open AP to everyone… limited to 1 imported car per person is good enough, or pay 20k for 2nd import, 30k for 3rd import and so on… should be no problem for rich people. take COE in singapore for example, it could reach S$30k sometimes, or even more depending on your luck :)

• Being cheated by the AP system for 40 years is NOT as good as being cheated by “a Tin Milo” producer for 25 years. It’s the same thing. Another “Tin Milo” blind-supporter aka salesman trying to “justified” what’s right and what’s wrong. Hypocrite!

• untitled on May 17, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Is it became a tradition for you to bash certain brand(out of so many hypocrite in malaysian market) when the topic doesn’t even related to that brand?

Will you get a life and get a car of your choice by ACTUALLY WORKING AND EARN MONEY YOURSELF RATHER THAN WEEPING ALL THE TIME IN HERE??

• Ibex7 on May 13, 2011 at 8:00 pm

This tax is still small compared to our crooked ministers took some RM500mil commission for the submarine that can’t be used. Haiyoo…

• go bahar on May 13, 2011 at 8:23 pm

obviously you’re blind folded person. i’m with the navy, the submarine now working as normal. stop bullshiting man.

• PSsaw on May 13, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Better check who is blind first!

• MyCarMyLife on May 14, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Yeah , My Marines ask the subs they found any fish down at the bottom of our seas?

• jalan54 on May 23, 2011 at 2:37 am

So, you are a navy huh??? One question, what is the purpose of buying the submarine? Used to prevent pirates??? How much is the submarine???

To me anything which has no purpose is call a waste of money, and please don’t forget, you guys are wasting our money and not yours.

• Boss Coffee on May 13, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Really? Please help Malaysians out here and present your proof to MACC. We need good Malaysians such as your good self!

• racefan on May 13, 2011 at 10:01 pm

I have a mate who is member of the submarine crew.. and I know he is not bumming around on land.

• sukasuki on May 13, 2011 at 11:04 pm

put Ibex7 into ISA custody of trying to insult and making lies!! padan muka sama kaki penipu!!! biar duduk dlm jel pkai spender. hahahhaa

• Car Driver on May 13, 2011 at 8:11 pm

I think the G only take action now because of General Elections coming…
    78 companies… Wow! They must have make very good money so far…The best business in the world until being caught…

• MoFaz on May 13, 2011 at 10:13 pm

this is due to major crackdown on customs officers… of course, corrupts custom officers are helping those importers. one thing lead to another and now the taxman move on to car importers. hopefully they could recover those hundreds of billions from tax evaders.

• Rulered on May 14, 2011 at 3:41 am

Well I hope they don’t forget to lock the windows this time if you know what I mean.

• KL Stray Cat on May 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Lock the garage door…they may want to drive off a cliff instead ;-)

• reaper on May 13, 2011 at 8:25 pm

one of them just in front of my house…what a surprised visit…huhuhu

• torque on May 13, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Come on…all of us knew most of the AP Kings has been forging / duplicating APs a long time ago, avoiding tax n duties, bribing here and there…sigh! Frozen their accounts ain’t enuff, should revoke all their APs n let see who’s the real entrepreneur. Hardwork my @$$!!

• Little late BUT better than never! By the way, not only vehicle importers, other businesses as well. If IRB easily traced ordinary taxpayer like us, why not evaders from corporate?

• yeay!!

• transformer on May 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

hopefully can weed out those cronies milking on AP…. should abolish AP system and remove PEKEMA, remove NAP, remove TAX barrier once and for ALL RAKYAT! Rakyat deserve to drive better car rather than Milo Tin with lousy built quality……

• apamau on May 13, 2011 at 10:01 pm

why all this ? it all started with the AP system. It created more more for some people and now it created more jobs for people to investigate some people..

The AP seems to be the most productive system which generated multimilionaire and now more jobs for all G

• aprilcoco on May 13, 2011 at 10:14 pm

i think the real criminals are the government. Taking money from tax but never fixing the problems with transportation. The government are the gangsters here.

• autojohndoe on May 14, 2011 at 12:31 pm

even gangsters in colombia act like a saint…

giving ppl money and built houses for them…

• kecohlebih on May 13, 2011 at 10:15 pm

no wonder so many “cetak rompak” items in the market…

it’s the dirty customs officer who’s being the culprit…. chit….

• teamsleepnine on May 13, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Buat kerja complain tak buat kerja pun complain…Malaysian…

• Speed Racer on May 13, 2011 at 10:22 pm

hmm good that the crooks are caught, but bad is i can no longer get a high spec audi a5 with the bang and olfusen stereo for cheap =(

• 1underground on May 13, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Times are bad govt. needs the money !

• PSsaw on May 13, 2011 at 10:57 pm

78 fellas .. I can bet my bottom dollar NAZA isnt one of them.. cus we all know who eats off NAZA’s pie

• Black dog on May 13, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Don’t be so sure. Do u know naza bring in cbu cars and declare them as Ckd?

• hantu on May 15, 2011 at 1:56 am

agree with you too..
        Just before I’m going to test drove the Pug 308 Turbo, the SA said this car is CBU but Nasim@Naza declared to Customs as CKD. Izzit Naza did an offences to gov?

• bill pagar on May 13, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Horeyyy!!!! Padan muka!

• You will find a lot of the Underworld syndicates feeling the heat from this. Contrary to what u may think, it is them that controls the recon car business.

About time too.

• These importers are scum…already given license to make money from thin air (APs) , and still they cheat and dont pay taxes…

they should be shot for being traitors to the country

• common Malaysian people also not paying tax although they should pay….they should be head shot too….

• Frank on May 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm

it’s the people that implement all these nonsense AP policies etc that only make certain parties filthy rich and abuse / plunder the taxes that we are paying that should be shot..!!! a hundred times!!

they are the traitors to the rakyat who has to works hard and pay much tax and yet cannot afford to purchase a decent car at decent prices bcos of all these daylight robbery policies.

• alfie60 on May 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Another of Dr M brainchild.He made mistake appointing Anwar Ibrahim. He made mistake on the AP scheme.The AP holders became RICH and POWERFUL to the extend are able to bribe everybody along the way to keep quiet about their under declaration of TAX and still make tons of money from the public..Every month to them is like winning the lottery draw.Some even become Tan Sri just from selling 2nd hand cars.

Proton’s qualities is so shitty the public was willing to pay high prices for 2ndhand cars.

These two obvious example I am sure a lot of people will agree on it but most of these same people think otherwise of Proton.They dont think that Proton is a failure. They deny like a person who got ‘body odour’ but dont know it. When the public avoid them they think it must be they shirt design that people dont like.

Proton thinks just by changing the design of the shitty cars the public will like it.
    Their qualities are so shitty the public dont think twice to pay a high price for the imported cars because they think QUALITY comes at a very very high price as they are using Proton expensive pricing as a bench mark.

• Kutty Kutty on May 14, 2011 at 11:08 am

Anwar’s fault?

• autojohndoe on May 14, 2011 at 12:35 pm

haha…

same complain again… your loan for imported car got rejected and blame everybody isnt it?

i think you better be preacher la… talk so much…

• Lim Kopi on May 14, 2011 at 12:00 am

I tot the Customs boys were just being grilled by the MACC boys last month?

now working together liao ? to target the Rakyat ?

• littlefire on May 14, 2011 at 8:14 am

They grilled until someone died again like TBH, now all quiet de.. Seems close case already..

• autojohndoe on May 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm

there is possiblity TBH was betrayed by his own party…

why MACC wants to bury the opponent party scapegoat?

• sukasuki on May 16, 2011 at 12:01 am

becos the opposition supporter sees their leaders as a saint or ulama’, impossible to do anything wrong. only govt do wrong. even their children fail in school subject also they blame govt, typical mindset. duh.

• so you prefer them eating KFC than doing their work?

• Keluangman on May 14, 2011 at 12:34 am

Profits of almost or more than rm100k per recon car sold….of course our government wants their fair share.

Looks like our government is plugging all the leaky holes of their coffers…saman, subsidies and now this.

Serve these blood suckers right anyway….

• dodgeviper88 on May 14, 2011 at 12:52 am

I think you all are directing your anger towards the wrong people. Most of these second hand importers do need to buy APs from the ‘authorised’ AP receivers before they can import the vehicle. Those people who they are targeting are just trying to earn a living just like any other businesses. This problem wouldn’t exist had they never implement this stupid AP system. It’s all smoke and mirrors, I don’t buy it and so should you all.

• sukasuki on May 16, 2011 at 12:03 am

who’s our king of AP right now? before this it is rafidah aziz, then KJ’s cronies, now?? i dont see any of najib’s family doing any automotive business?

• 4G63T DSM on May 14, 2011 at 8:08 am

Did Naza run afoul as well last time underdeclaring the first gen Sephia/Spectra going for as low as 60k ish?

Of course Naza isn’t one of those companies. As always, they always go for the small fish leaving the big ones to monopolize the market.

• adiddaniel on May 14, 2011 at 8:37 am

This taxes recovered are not for the people but for the coming election used by the umno bn government to figt till the end against their opponent the pakatan rakyat. To get ruled back the state that had been lost and to divert the mindset of the people against the increasing prices of our household good.

• baruang on May 14, 2011 at 10:47 am

Yeah agree with Black Dog. Naza localization content is shitty low. they just change the local made tires and seats. and horray…they can enjoy the CKD car tax rate…damn goverment..
    Pay more respect to Honda, Toyota and gangs who struggling to increase the local content in their cars..
    Goverment oh Goroment….

• All couldn’t be done without the help of the KASTAM people…

KASTAM = Kalau Ada, Sapu, Tak Ada, Mintak!

• Henry on May 14, 2011 at 12:51 pm

There is no need for such a grand show. Some Political Parties are running low on election funds?

Declare an immediate amnesty for all the past misdeeds. Draw the line. Starting immediately all new law-breakers wil face the full wrath of the law.

• MoFaz on May 14, 2011 at 8:39 pm

so, you’re saying the actions against corrupts custom officers and those tax invaders are for election? doesn’t this also shows that the gov is weak?
      they need to get money for election but the actions would show that gov is weak for a long time… wasn’t that would jeopardize their campaign?
      immediate amnesty for all past misdeeds? wowww… all killers, snatch thieves, rapers, molesters, and many other criminals would ask for the same thing. if 1 person could get away by avoiding millions of ringgit in tax, why not give a pardon to snatch thief who robbed just RM50?

• recheck ur old newspaper……..this ‘the G is clean and fight corruption seriously’ is always and will be more intensified around election……madey, pak lah done it bfore…….and i’m sure in few weeks time they will air the good old film bukit kepong also ………….

• sukasuki on May 16, 2011 at 12:05 am

typical PR supporter. boring~~~ next please!!

• All these are just some sandiwara before the ….. you know what ‘……..”

For real or not ? why not govt or the authorities publish the ppl or the companies ??

• MoFaz on May 14, 2011 at 8:45 pm

you can’t publish before they’re officially charged in courts. it’s like accusing them without evidence and gov and newspaper could be sued for defamations. Similar to sex video scandal involving prominent opposition party leader.. they can’t say it’s Anwar until AG is ready to charge him with strong evidences in court.

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 15, 2011 at 10:05 am

Aiya..no need…already guilty ma…
        not submission tax returned is serious offence ma..that is criminal …under sections 112 dan 113 ITA 1967…
        Chiowwwwww…

Life is complex

• MyCarMyLife on May 14, 2011 at 2:07 pm

An AP ‘holder’ makes more margins than the original car manufacturer ( anybrand) , eg, recon Toyota Estima , upwards cost Rm 70k to 80K ex port Japan ( with discount to boot , if buy in bulk) , Mini Coopers at RM 70k to 80k , check out what there asking for in MY , talking about value chain , you work it out yourself. 1 MY Boleh.

• thats right…the best bang for buck to the used car dealers are those recon mpvs like toyota vellfire and allfark etc…they make more than 100k profit per car… really amazes me how much money so many malaysians are willing to fork out for these old vans. i have seen so many used cars selling nothing but only 2 or 3 types of toyota mpvs only.

• nolan on May 14, 2011 at 10:25 pm

i wanted to buy a Vellfire but afraid of present radiation leakage in Japan…….can this car importer company assure all their imported cars are safe…?

• SoMeOnE on May 15, 2011 at 5:40 am

i guess there were quite a lot of whistleblowers in the recent tax submission that enablked them to trace and get to this..hmm oh well….btw the radiation affecting cars..i think thats rubbish….not a car expert but it sounds unlikely….

• Well its good news to hear our authorities from various departments combined their efforts for this tax evasion crackdown.

But something tells me, this is just a “middleman” raid. The real “big fish” always got away.

I hope they can also investigate “Tax” evasion done by some of our Politicians on their “other” businesses as well. Heck, if they can detect a regular rakyat’s tax records, why they can’t detect those done by the “big people” up there?

• Unforgiven on May 15, 2011 at 10:57 am

Pls tell me who in M’sia is capable of handling the ‘big fish’ or top ppl up there.
      Do you think the PDRM/MACC is capable of doing that?
      Who’s the one that’s having the ultimate power?
      I’m not sure why the IRB is doing that, what do you think of the outcome?

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 15, 2011 at 7:03 pm

IRB has capabilties to indentify all fnancial matters n info how the culprits evade tax……n underdeclared of tax…almost of IRB officers hold at least master/degree on account/business and know how to handle ‘windows dressing’ and creative accounting….hohoho
        The outcomes tax must paid by culprit….
        n plus heavy penalty…..or wait courts order:bankrupt the company or directors….bar on oversea travelling…n last but not least jailed…..Horray horray…

Life is complex

• tokmoh on May 15, 2011 at 11:00 am

Kejadian ini menimpa mereka kerana tidak menggunakan green technology

• sukasuki on May 15, 2011 at 11:44 pm

i like it. hahahaha. full of sarcasm. yeahhh!! you should qoute it with the reference that is from our TPM no 2. hahaha

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 15, 2011 at 11:09 am

what is new…. been going on for long time…

• taxman on May 15, 2011 at 11:40 am

as a salaried worker, i’ve been paying my tax every month. it’s unfair that some irresponsible organization or people try to avoid tax. this people should be drag to the court.

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 15, 2011 at 7:10 pm

ur are right man…businessman have to punish…..
      salaries workes ;PCB deduction every month but the corporate body invade tax so easily…..
      Director also same all personal expenses are claimed on profit n lost account e.g car petrol, rental, food ,house renovation,buying clotches,entertainment ,maid salary……so easy ..to underdeclared the tax…

Time to punish Go IRB go IRB….Let they suffer….

life is complex….

• This info comes at the right time . Nearly bought a recon car . I would not mind paying extra for a new car now . Good luck to the lemon sellers.

• mujahid on May 16, 2011 at 9:01 am

why buy recon if u can buy brand new….. Alphard at RM 170k > pug 5008 RM 160k…. buy new la…. furthermore fuel efficient (pug)

• this is a “NO Case”… !!! tomorrow all still can go sale cars.

• jbman on May 16, 2011 at 10:13 am

AP holders patut bersyukur dah dapat permit, tak payah kaut untung banyak sangat.

• hantu on May 16, 2011 at 5:43 pm

I think you should Thankful to UMNO for implementing HIGH CAR TAXES in Malaysia.