Nasim expands Peugeot presence in Sabah

Nasim has appointed Kota Kinabalu-based Angkatan Hebat Motor as its sole Peugeot dealership in Sabah. The appointment follows the recent launch of the Peugeot Blue Box Malacca and is part of the brand’s nationwide expansion exercise.

Angkatan Hebat Motor is a unit of Angkatan Hebat, which is the fleet management services provider to the Sabah state government and is also a dealer for several commercial and passenger vehicle brands.

The company is set to launch a showroom at the One Borneo Hypermall in Kota Kinabalu and a 2S dealership for after-sales services in Kolombong, Kota Kinabalu, by end-July.

Angkatan Hebat Motor kicked off a series of two-day road shows in KK over the weekend, and next up is Tawau (June 24-25), Lahad Datu (June 28-29) and Sandakan (July 1-2). The cars that will be featured at the road show will be the 207, 308 Turbo, 3008 and the new RCZ coupe.

For the remainder of the year, Nasim is targeting to sell 200 units in Sabah and has set a target of achieving a 2% to 3% market share of the passenger car market in the state within three years.

Besides the outlets in Malacca and Kota Kinabalu, Nasim plans to open 3S centres in Kota Bahru, Balakong, Sungai Petani, Kuantan, Kepong and Seremban. Once these are open, Nasim will have 26 outlets nationwide and will be represented in all major markets in the country.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• pelams on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:54 am

i’d prefer a 4WD in sabah

• Finally in Sabah…….but why KK only….open la branch in Sandakan as well……….VW also must open in Sabah A.S.A.P…..

• VW has a branch at the kolombong industrial area mate….

• Monday on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:26 pm

since angkatan is sole dealer there, i think they will expand on sabah.

• Why Angkatan Hebat ??? I thought Fook Loi is holding KIA dealership in Sabah ?? Are Angkatan Hebat capable enough to handle it. Musa Aman & Co. lah tu…..

• Really…..Didnt know that VW has opened up dealership in KK. When I visit VW website so far No dealership in Sabah……

• ada sudah tuh, arah maybank yang baru atu di kolombong – its under construction now

cam ku nampak ada pulang logonya atu, cua tah ko liat wang….

• Kota Bharu bila lagi? berbulan dah kata nak buka….

• Angra on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Sabah’s roads are much more terrible compared to Klang Valley’s highways and roads. I can’t imagine how a Peugeot RCZ would cope on roads like Inanam – Telipok, Kota Belud – Keningau or Tamparuli – Ranau. The undulations are just too wavy for sport springs or even standard car springs.

Moreover, the purchasing power of many Sabahans are significantly lower than their counterparts in Klang Valley. Unless Peugeot offers affordable 4WD models (<100k), I think its very difficult for Peugeot to attract Sabah's customers except for select few.

• Sabahan on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:00 am

Purchasing power lower than klang valley ? How u know that ? U check with them ? Dun do yr own assumption !! Tot u must be with those thinking sabahan still live up on tree .. Down Poolside frog !

• Angra, do you notice how many 4WD are there in sabah. Each 4WD costs more than the average sedan, in terms of purchasing and maintenance.

French cars would peform extremely well on these roads. French cars were made to gobble up uneven, twisty roads, something other marques are not able to do. Imagine flying in a C5 or 508 or 307, driving up to keningau, it will be paradise man..

• I agree. French Cars have best suspension and sturdy bodywork. They would perform better. I expect soon more dealerships and branches would open as sales will grow in Sabah.