SsangYong rolls out updated Chairman W limousine

South Korean carmaker SsangYong, now owned by India’s Mahindra, has introduced the updated Chairman W luxury saloon. First introduced in 2008, the W is a longer and more luxurious version of the original Chairman, which was first rolled out in 1997 as a Mercedes S-Class lookalike. That car was sold in Malaysia.

This new car still has plenty of Merc hints, which may draw sniggers elsewhere, but probably works well in Korea. There, the Chairman W fights the Hyundai Equus, and most orders will be in black, with lots of chrome.

There are three trim levels with different engines. The starter CW600 comes with a 3.2-litre straight-six with 225 PS and 296 Nm of torque. One step up is the CW700 powered by a 3.6-litre straight-six with 250 PS and 343 Nm. There’s also a 5.0L V8 range topper. All engines are paired to Mercedes-Benz’s 7G-Tronic seven-speed automatic ‘box, which SsangYong calls T-Tronic.

The Chairman can be had in standard and long wheelbase format. Even the standard Chairman is 5,110 mm long, with a 2,970 mm wheelbase. The super sized LWB car measures 5,410 mm long, with a massive 3,270 mm wheelbase. Luxury kit includes a 17-speaker Harman Kardon audio system, multifunction rear seat armrest, touch screen Driver Information System and vacuum doors.

The Chairman W is priced from 57 million won to 107 million won. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2370]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• For those who wannbe Taukey ………………….. still merc engine & gear box 7g somemore………………… proton should follow SSangyong….hahahahaha

• Expatriate VN on Jul 12, 2011 at 10:34 am

Where is Proton’s Chancellor limousine? Became Cancelled-lor!

• PakAbu on Jul 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Proton should rebadge this “chairman” as “Proton Pengerusi”… maybe the sales will be better.

Uhm.. or may be not. :lol:

• Jimmy on Jul 12, 2011 at 10:29 am

Do you think it is possible for the standard to be priced at RM180K and the V8 to be priced at RM240K? I meant OTR.

• Jonathan Lim on Jul 12, 2011 at 11:06 am

This is much much more gorgeous than the previous Chairman, LOVE it!!

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2011 at 2:42 pm

gas guzzler

• Alpha on Jul 12, 2011 at 4:55 pm

This wanna fight Equus??Sorry,but Equus looks way better than this~

• For the Big Boss Wanabe.
    I rather be in a Camry than a “Copy Cat Benz”.

• but camry is too low class….can see everywhere on the road. even bangla oso driving one!!

• U can see them everywhere that’s mean they r famous and good cars!SsangYong cars r bad fuel consumption and slow!SsangYong Kyron MPV 2.0 Diesel take around 15.4 seconds to reach 100!Volkswagen Touran MPV 1.6 Diesel take around 12.8 seconds to reach 100 and good fuel consumption!

• ustupid on Jul 17, 2011 at 11:57 am

hi hello. this person here even dont know what the classification for the kyron but speak more than what he knows. come on lah kyron is a suv. and also have u personally tried the accelaration? and do u own a kyron to say the consumption is bad? and also how can u compare it when its nt in the same classification. be real about what are u talking. ssangyong vehicles are well known for fuel efficiency. dont make a clown out of yourself.

• ustupid on Jul 17, 2011 at 11:59 am

coz u are just typical minded as every other ppl out there. for ppl like u the good one is only honda and toyota.

• Oopus on Jul 12, 2011 at 7:59 pm

ugly 90’s car

• Simon Sez on Jul 12, 2011 at 8:25 pm

*Sniggers*

• It looked even worse than the older Chairman.

• kamaji on Jul 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Can really understand why is this Chaiman mao always outdated in terms of look.

• MrChairman on Jul 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

The interior looks nice and park next to a Merc S-class most ppl will look at this car for sure !

• Clive on Aug 06, 2012 at 10:06 am

The Sang Yong Chairman for those who have never owned one is an excellent car – I have one in Malaysia and in UK an S320 Merc. The Sang Yong is better as it offers more comfort as standard to the passenger who has reclining electronic seats and full control over the sound system from the rear seats – something Merc dont offer. I think its excellent.

• Danny, i am looking at a 2006 Chairman that has done 98K kilometres. Do you think its worth getting for driving 3 years? Will the auto transmission give way? Any spare parts in Malaysia?