We get closer to nature in Negeri Sembilan, check out the local market, visit Cape Rachado and more – Only on Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA Episode 4

We hope you enjoyed Episode 3 of Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA where Julie experienced Ipoh and of course, the delicious Nasi Ganja.

In Episode 4 of the series, Harvinder brings you to Negeri Sembilan with the Chevrolet Captiva where he explores the famous Seremban market and visits a cendol shop, which has been around for decades.

The journey continues in the midst of the Berembun forest where he spends some time with the Temuan orang asli tribe and checks in for a night at The Dusun which offers a splendid view of the mountain range.

Harvinder rounds up the trip with a quick stop at Cape Rachado in Port Dickson. You can also watch Episode 1 till Episode 3 of the series right here.

Continue reading for more information on the locations and to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2477]

The Seremban Market or better known as Pasar Besar Seremban has been around for ages and it offers locals, including restaurants fresh supplies everyday. It is also known to offer very good rates. The market also houses various food stalls and the famous cendol stall is also located right outside the market.

Seremban Market
Jalan Pasar, Seremban,
Negeri Sembilan.

View Larger Map

The Dusun is located within the Berembun Forest Reserve which is filled with orchards and orang asli villages, mostly belonging to the Temuan tribe. The Dusun has houses that combine both Malay and orang asli elements and they allow visitors to experience life within the quietness of the forest. The Dusun can also arrange for jungle tracking tours.

The Dusun
Kampung Kolam Air Pantai,
71770, Seremban,
Negeri Sembilan.
Tel: +6012 616 2585

View Larger Map

Cape Rachado, which is also known as Tanjung Tuan is located in Port Dickson but it is actually a territory of Malacca and falls under the jurisdiction of Malacca’s Admiral. Cape Rachado houses a lighthouse built by the Portuguese in the 16th century and it was used to guide ships to Malacca’s harbor. It now features a revolving MEASAT radar used for transmissions and communications. Rumor also has is that the legendary Parameswara was burried in this area.

Cape Rachado
Batu 5, Jalan Pantai,
71050, Port Dickson,
Negeri Sembilan.

View Larger Map

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• JamesDaniel on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Looks stylish!

• tokmoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:52 pm

“I can cook my own egg”

Harve, that sounds very, veeery wrong. wakakakkakakkakaak, pergh, nak taip pun susah, sakit perut gelak banyak samgat hahahahh

A Chevvy, that’s the first non-Sime Darby car used in the program, rite? Pergh, the f/c can give me heart attack wor

• slash k slash on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:15 pm

y u no understand SUV heavy?

• tokmoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:28 pm

y u no understand the program called “SAVE with petronas primax”?

4 weeks in, none of cars featured managed >12km/L. And it’s not like all trips are 100% start-stop traffic condition, there’s lots of highway driving. Not a great way to market the brand if you ask me. Or the cars.

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Hi tokmoh,

You have to understand that the Captiva is a 4×4 and it’s heavy. Furthermore, as mentioned before, we have extra load in the car. And to access The Dusun, you would have to drive uphill for quite a while.

The figures reflect real world numbers and we don’t tamper, which we could have easily done. Just to compare, even a modern diesel passenger car delivers about 8 liters per 100km and diesel trucks about 10 liters per 100 km. Thanks!

• Maybe everyone will feel better if you report scam numbers picked out of the clouds like a certain “fuel efficiency awards”

• tokmoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Sorry for the unrealistic expectation. Well, I guess then it’s a reasonable achievement.

Driving just a junk old Proton that do 10-12km/L, I guess I don’t feel like losing out too much compared to new cars, and I thought my figure’s bad cuz it’s old and well, it’s a Proton.

And I always fill up Petronas too. So yeah, I kinda expected better, turns out I’m wrong. Sorry, my bad.

In any case, I suppose I can say Petronas can do wonder for an old Proton, makes me happier knowing it helps me get figures not too bad against newer cars.

@CTeh: no I don’t want lies, I’m just a naïve dude who’d thought the grass is always greener on the other side. Turns out the truth is a bit difficult for me to digest.

• I think this is the first time I see a picture of a frog posted instead of a car in paultan’s blog.

• Cheng on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:08 pm

This petronas tries so hard to promote their petrol but I only go there to pee.

• Pull shirt on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:58 pm

When can see both Harve and julie together la?

• akuGunaRon95 on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:34 pm

cape rachado is actually in malacca….erk

• BillyBOB on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:18 pm

are you guys gonna feature malacca? i am waiting for that episode :)

• asgard on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:34 pm

so far all FC is acceptable for cars with 2liter or 2.4 engine

• van hohenheim on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:51 pm

just wondering, how could 2.4 suv that only have 136hp can move the car. doesnt it felt slow?