Proton P3-21A Persona R prototype teases its tail lamps

Whenever we’ve seen the new P3-21A C-segment Proton sedan so far, it’s always been very heavily disguised to the point that even the tail lamp design are not only just taped up, but are covered up by decoy lenses. You can see an example in the image above.

The cars above were traveling in a rather big convoy that included three different P3-21A prototypes and a Proton Exora Turbo prototype. It just so happens that one of the P3-21A prototypes was a little different from the other two.

Yes, thanks to reader “.drive”, for the first time we’re looking at a P3-21A prototype with some of its tail lamp design showing. There’s no fake lenses covering up the details like on the other two cars you see here.

If you look closely, the exhaust system on this car also looks more refined than the other two cars – the transversely-installed exhaust box is neatly tucked under the rear bumper and there’s a nice single tailpipe, while the installation of the exhaust box for the other two prototypes are not as neat.

We also have a rather high resolution view of the front – I think I can see some projector lenses in the headlamps.

And while the other prototypes have been riding on lightly taped up Proton Inspira wheels, the wheel design on this particular prototype looked a little different – more of a double spoke design than the triple spoke design of the Inspira.

The Proton Exora Turbo traveling with the convoy was a white one with the new front bumper and clear tail lamps. You can’t see it here in this photo but previous shots revealed rear disc brakes for the car, presumably either to handle the increased power that the car has, or as a requirement to run an ESP stability control setup.

Look after the jump for a gallery of spyshots – have a look at the high resolution versions of each image as well as there are some pretty high resolution shots here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• M0Faz on Aug 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Proton will rule with this turbocharged.

• sagatron on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:16 pm

malaysia truly asia….

• I hope i can click the button on the top ‘ the story makes me…million times of ‘ sad ‘

• mizzuddin on Aug 27, 2011 at 8:44 pm

still got people commenting like this…

u really need to abandon ur egoism mate…

i believe everyone should be fairly mature on automotive views by now…
        we’ve learnt much on the entries and comments from audience…

its a shame for a man to be emotional you know…? we better bring up some data, or relevant opinion no matter how negative rather bashing, shooting blindly from out of nowhere…

i don’t mean being “skema”… that’s boring and only applied in library… we come here for leisure reading and commenting despite the accuracy of information on our automotive industries being fed by the author…

yes there are bashers around… that’s perfectly okay for me… they got their stand and reason at least… the negativity for me makes my reading joyous

but… i don’t know… ur comment just an unneeded negativity

and don’t forget. never drag the author to be bias. that’s our main code of conduct here. don’t be rude

• Cik jah on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm

How true..some times d comments here are ridiculously insane…grow up people

• you asked for article to be fair, but why the market is so dammed unfair. why u want to force others to like the prototype as gomen forced malaysian to buy shitty cars from proton?

• iamisiamwhatiam on Aug 28, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Uuuhhh… Did you fail your SRP comprehension? He asked for commenting with substance! Bash all you want, but give reason/proof! And by dragging the government into this shit, you’re going irrelevant too!

• camaro on Aug 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm

gomen never forced malaysian to buy shitty cars from proton…idiot!

• LatukBandar on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:23 pm

remove NAP and then u can say gov never force people to buy shitty car.

• sadasd on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:30 pm

i’ll put my money on inspira

• i’ll put my money on this

ps : for others its your (or your parent’s) money afterall so put it anywhere you think fit

• kereta kuda kepang on Aug 31, 2011 at 12:27 am

i put my money in unit trust to earn little interest than dumb it into this rubbish bin

• Edmond on Sep 02, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Inspira…a.k.a Mitsubishi Lancer? or somebody is showing ignorant?

• rule what? world market? le man? or tons of complaint over quality n reability issue?

• Nicky on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:57 pm

tonnes? proof? proton improved a lot these days! you just woke up from you comma izit?

• oh yes…improve? a lot? where are the proofs? ncap? jcap? how many model proton have? 10? 100? if so improved y still pampered like chimpanze? y msih nk kena suap? y xjd ank jntan compete like man…dont think that proton can copy cut & paste they a lot better? proton just a blood sucker…period

• Kamarul on Aug 28, 2011 at 7:45 pm

Dude..u must the be the one who trust, can’t bought even Mazda FC3S…Lol…

U want it? u should work hard man…see out there, how many Malaysian use BMW 5 E60, Merc W204 C-Class…

• Agree!M’sia should lower the price of gtR R35,golf R and scirocco R but not this persona funny R lolx

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 03, 2011 at 3:20 am

I do have GTR, just people who like to bash me cause they do feel jealous :D

• comrade on Aug 27, 2011 at 3:55 pm

when will the exora turbo come out? i’ve waited for so long… at the moment to upgrade normal exora to turbo will cost u around rm7k at Xenon… so how much will proton price this turbo exora??with rear disc? sounds good…

• taboogen on Sep 12, 2011 at 1:45 pm

good that you found xenon turbo kit.. worth it… but exora won’t use CPS anymore.. its turbo with VVT

• P2KENARI on Aug 27, 2011 at 3:55 pm

look better

• Will this end up like Inspira?

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:34 pm

What had happend to inspira?

• autojohndoe on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:24 pm

you keep telling ppl inspira stop production…

you should give ppl your source… not hearsay…

• Cannot. I am in automotive line. After I kena from my customer.

• mizzuddin on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm

care to share with me on our “tiga kaler” drinks soon…? ; )

• sadasd on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:29 pm

your english is so bad, you sure you’re working in automotive line? selling car is it? lol

• you mean your english is good? hahaha

• Loveit on Aug 28, 2011 at 11:37 am

Yes,i read his/her english is better than you

• Loveit, how can comment others english when your’s is no any better.

• You can condemn my English but it still doesn’t change the fact.

• peYno on Sep 01, 2011 at 12:11 pm

how you kena from your customer?

lol. kena from your customer, shows your english is indeed correct and accurate. lol

• Cik jah on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Amoi!! Lei so hamsap mehhh!!..stop bullshitting people here…

• no need to stop inspira production
      but this car is going to be an alternative to bigger inspira 2.0l engine with 150hp and 197Nm torque.
      with its turbocharged 1.6l engine – 151hp an d 205Nm torque but that’s on paper
      can’t wait to know the final number

• inspira sales is as good as honda city…

• mizzuddin on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:19 pm

i’ve added inspira for my next 3 years projection vehicle upgrade besides Pug 308/408 after reading Paultan test drive report u know…

what do u mean by “what had happened to inspira” anyway?

inspira YTD sales figure; 6073

just about 1700 behind city
      about 1200 above civic
      about 2500 above altis
      about 2500 above forte
      about 4700 above 308

for me, that’s good enough…. 10000+ behind vios? who cares

• exJAVANESE on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:39 pm

even inspira will end up but i will never worse as P2 nautica end up..lol

• well said.. i think it should be in the world book of record or somethin

• Kepada seluruh Jurutera PROTON jika mahu khidmat nasihat PERCUMA mengenai kualiti kereta Proton boleh hubungi saya.sekian..

• drMpower on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:06 pm

the exora is overdue but finger cross it gonna be out by year end
    As for the sedan we hope atleast first quarter next year they open the booking
    While pricing is all known to many (protons always in the below 75k range for sedans) we may want more value for the price

• David on Aug 28, 2011 at 7:27 am

then you should buy it after one year plus..for more discounts and freebies…just like the inspira…no ggod become a pioneer or early adopters…..proton will cash in on you very badly…

• Neerza on Aug 28, 2011 at 11:48 am

Just like what Forte did to you all. Barely one year in sale and a new six speeder version comes out. The earlier version is to clear unmovable tranny stocks for other markets. Malaysia is the dumping ground for Koreans and pity to those Forte pioneers..

• Valve on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:25 pm

this new proton make me jump …

• Fahmy on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Paul,

I got a feeling that u are one of the passengers inside.
    A testing preview for the journalist? Maybe. :)

• megat on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm

paul, i dont know about others but i find it more enjoyable if i can view the photos by just pressing the left or right buttons on my keyboard isntead of moving the cursor and clicking the next button on each photo page. hope u can add this feature on your website. thanks

• Commoner on Aug 27, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Totally agree! I think it’s better if you can have some sort of ajax feature where as users can browse photos easily without opening a new window. :)

• mizzuddin on Aug 27, 2011 at 8:52 pm

at least clicking the pic itself will bring us the next pic… =)

• wiizau on Aug 28, 2011 at 11:14 am

agreed..

• statistician on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Better than Camry, Accord and Mazda 6

• I salute your Ah Q mentality.

• dream on..it not the same class…

it is going to be a success if it is as good as forte etc etc

• wonder issit the same size as the current persona..it looks shorter…anyway good job proton…

• nope, based on proton tuah / espire but in different skin, bigger than persona and waja, as big as current civic and inspira

• Ya, it does looks shorter but seems like it is having a much higher seating position than the current version which is good.

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:33 pm

If I say good, well don Proton, thumbs up etc; i wlll get thumbs up from reader.
    If I say suck, poor, no progress after over 25 years ….;i will get thumbs down!!

No matter how, is the same. I have no feeling for Proton at all.

U guys just speak out the truth, if u guys can buy imported car at no such crazy tax imposed, will you still choose Proton????

thumbs up or down………….u urself know the answer.

• autojohndoe on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm

if i say i will buy… you will say i lie…

if i say i will not… you’ll tell ppl that i agree with you…

no matter which, i have feelings that you will still not accept proton no matter what…

so, just speak the truth… what answer you want to get?

• the real truth is, proton is the only reason msian auto market in the loose side compared to other countries (i.e. employment creation, design cntre, r&d etc).

i hve strong feeling u are proton’s vendor who keep to believe shitty proton is god alike car maker n no matter what proton did its still lack ‘ball’ to compete aka jaguh kg sj…

klau dh pandai turbo, cvt etc, compete la mcm ank jantan….

if proton bleh terbang skalipun, y m’sian are force to buy it…

• Nicky on Aug 28, 2011 at 3:34 pm

who force you man? you will get death sentence if you don’t buy proton? bullshit! they are competing! in australia, in uk, in turkey, and some arab nations. in what sense you say that they don’t fight equally? You are just pathetic! You can’t afford to buy expensive cars, you blame others for it! go to KL look around you! how many expensive cars soaring the road? How they earn it? Work your ass out man! earn some good money. buy your desired cars. Everyone protects their business, even in the US they protect GM. Pathetic.

• Dear my friend, u don’t get my point? of course msian are force to buy proton cos they have limited budget for imported – high price due to high taxes n protection fees…u asked me work hard…yes i did, i owned 140k jap car…u should ask proton to work even harder in fair market not pampered like hell….US protection are difference from msia, would u dare to compare how difference US n Malaysian pay for their cars?…and u must be proton vendor right?…

• autojohndoe on Aug 29, 2011 at 2:04 pm

would u dare to compare how difference US and Malaysia pay for their taxes and health insurance?

• untitled on Aug 29, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Could you afford to even pay for US Taxes, car insurance, and health insurance? Do you even know which group of insurance for which type of car? With comment like yours, you must be Malaysian who can’t afford to stay/study oversea for an amount of time right?

• exJAVANESE on Aug 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm

kalau lu mlas kerja..sampai mati pun lu xdapat bli FC3S or FD3S or RX8…

Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country – J. F. Kennedy

• autojohndoe on Aug 29, 2011 at 9:40 am

kalau dah kaya boleh beli kereta 140k… why bising2…

you talk like you care for others, i strongly believe, it is in fact, you are thinking only for yourself…

• Khoikoi on Aug 29, 2011 at 3:09 pm

You compare with which country? German, sweden? Indonesia, thailand, somalia??

• HirumaKecil on Aug 31, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Who force u to buy? I drive peugeot, my friend salary rm2.1k drive vios… my housemate drive jazz, 308t….. my jual city dia beli exora…. my pak ngah driver lori pakai perdana, my pak chu jual ayam kat pasar malam pakai mazda 3… so what? kalo usaha pastu pandai bajet boleh ja beli…. Ke u nak beli 3 series harga rm 50k? memang x dapat la mat…. Xpon mesti u ni student lagi ni.. tu yg xde bajet tuh… Aku pon student jugak, biasiswa mara + duit keja part time hari minggu lepas ja isi minyak 2.0(keta beli duit gaji sendiri wooo, mana men duit mak ayah ngan duit biasiswa)… siap boleh buat modal modi keta ngan honda c70 lagi…)

• NOT True, proton is the only reason msian auto market in the loose side compared to other countries,

kalau tak silap aku, 11 negara pengeluar kereta, termasuk M’sia, jadi dalam beratus2 negara dalam dunia, M’sia dalam 11 terbaik untuk employment creation, design cntre, r&d etc.

Proton masuk pasaran England, Australia, Indo, Thai, & etc Kira Anak Jantan la lawan dengan pengeluar Jerman, US, Japan.

fc3s???

• Nicky on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:52 pm

less tax on car sale, and more on roadtax? hahahaha. if you go to any other country its either the sales tax is high or the road tax. explore the world man.

• If you go to Europe/UK the insurance, petrol and maintenance is high. And after 3 years you have to check your car for road worthiness before you can buy your road tax.

• it better to hve plenty or cars to choose wit rather than forced to buy ‘death trap’ proton….

• Nicky on Aug 28, 2011 at 3:05 pm

death trap? you mean perodua? yes perodua is. Flip through the news, update me with proton’s drivers death from gen2 onwards will you? dont compare how many, compare by percentages. do you know how to calculate percentages? its (number or death)/(number of total drivers) x 100%.

• Cik jah on Sep 04, 2011 at 7:51 pm

People…please ignore this guy..its just a waste of time responding to such idiotic attitude..a person who just cannot think outside the box..a person who is just NOT equip to think beyond the the boundaries of his world… a person who is just plain idiot who thinks he knows everything but in reality knows nothing….

So why waste your time telling or explaining to him about the real world..he is just NOT equip,,,,just let him be happy in his own world….I have better hings to read than his pre-kindergarten thoughts…

Peace people and drive safely during the festive months…

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 31, 2011 at 1:35 am

i can make better car than potong, support me :D

• Kamarul on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm

kau ni duduk negara mana ni? Thailand ke?

• f1fanatic on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:47 pm

my friend working in proton said they also gonna release P3-21A hatchback model later. The rear light is identical to bmw 1 series.

• exJAVANESE on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Love it…im kinda heard it too..so excited!

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Replacement for GEn- 2 i think…

• f1fanatic on Aug 28, 2011 at 1:31 am

yea maybe sumthing like neo

• i was thinking about that too.. Persona is doing quite well but not gen-2.. plus gen-2 has been long overdue..since Feb 2004 to be exact..and Gen2 CPS on March 2008..but few weeks ago theres a spycam on changes on Gen2 tail light.. only this fact leave me in doubt..

IMHO.. if it is really based on Exora platform.. thats a slight chance it maybe turbo charged too.. in which i am really2 wish it’d be..

i was really excited with this news and i spend my entire day reading Paultan’s proton sections and wiki.. also looking at pricing.. products timelines etc.. current gen2 cps also sharing similar price range to Persona.. unless they are just going to simply fitting Persona with CPS.. maybe they’ll do it.. only time will tell..

Persona has been launch in August 2007..just 4 years ago and Elegance on March 2010.. and i got a feeling that if this is Gen2 replacement they going to fit cps into Persona a few month afterwards.. i know clearly that it is called Persona R and such but i coulnt help it..

i will not hesitate to buy this car if it is Gen2 replacement and turbocharged.. so far i really like what i’m seeing and being an owner to a Proton.. i’m glad that my ride served me well.. no BIG issues at all.. just minor in which i would consider itsy bitsy issues.. no need another brand in the house.. got 308T in the house too and i guess another proton will not hurt.. plus my car already pass a mark of 3 years.. time to change..

peace!

• Mentari-o-korea on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:13 am

Ugly 308, for me copycat inspira anytime!

• U like inspira coz you cant afford lancer i think.. I think u dun even drive anything close to that price range.. Back to ur life eh bro..
            Btw my money my choice..

• gemini on Aug 28, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Inspira to Lancer is what Skoda Octavia is to VW Golf.

• hamza on Aug 29, 2011 at 11:35 pm

yet people talks about VW Golf more..

• hi paul, any idea this P3-21A equipped with 6speed CVT just like sage flx?

• nymphora on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:50 am

no its, cvt with virtual 7 speed and manual sequential/paddleshift..

• Can someone do pic to pic comparison? The body does look like inspira/lancer to me

• girls is my weakness on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:24 pm

so ade hatchback ke?wow!

• Martin on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Looks like the persona replacement gonna maintain as a b-segment car. From the pic it has a width identical to current persona.

• thought that persona is C?

• squall_shinoda on Aug 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm

The current Persona is a C segment car due to its wheelbase. Proton markets the current Persona in B segment market to take advantage of its spacious interior. At that time, the Waja and then Inspira serve exclusively for C segment market. However, the upcoming Persona R will compete in C segment because of the engine output.

• satria on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:26 pm

I am totally like for what they are doing..I like Proton..

• cheng on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm

nobody cares.

• what happened to all the sprintex superchargers ?

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:29 pm

maybe Campro engines can’t take the load. i maybe wrong but, making a forced induced engine is not that reliable. Let see the TSI on the long run.

• ‘a forced induced engine is not that reliable’

Big lorries have forced induced engines since four decades. The projected lifetime of a big lorry (before overhaul) is around 1.2mio kilometres…

You have to differentiate between engines which are designed for turbo- or supercharging (i.e. reduced compression, bigger coolers) and engines with retrofitted blower-kits, which were NOT designed to be turbo- or supercharged.

• KageSenshi on Aug 29, 2011 at 1:31 am

thats for the neos :P

• i like what i see.. it’d be out soon.. wondering what the price tag will be and whats really under the hood..

• mizzuddin on Aug 27, 2011 at 8:19 pm

aiyyooo

the exora rear wheel sag laa… but i believe the personnel will do something about that…

can’t wait to hear how those two perform

• the more i see the prototype, the more i feel like wanna buy it.
    Hope i can afford it though.

• Rosmah on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Basi already like their power window.

• exJAVANESE on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Loved with second pic…taillight look kinda interesting!

• yippi33 on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

the exora turbo looks yummy..perhaps a 17″ wheels will make it even better.

• umpgambang on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:14 pm

BMW body.. I like.. looks tough and strong..

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Let Hope its better than Civic/Altis/Forte/Mazda3/Avante..AND MOST IMPORTANT CHEAPER THAN THEM><……PLS MAKE MY DREAM COME TRUE. its been 10 years i watched PROTON evolve..pls make me change my View on PROTON's Super Fancy Car(its SEEM). We are at automotive industry earlier than the Korean for God sake. At least beat forte or avante first (at korea their price might be cheaper or as same as Persona, correct me if i'm wrong)

• they actually made this car! it moves and it can carry passengers! aku suka Proton! aku suka news pasal Proton! excited nak tau! full of surprises!

• Is this Persona R the replacement for the current PErsona ? what kind of price range shud we be expecting ? Thinking shud I get the current one or wait ?

• godthum on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:29 pm

From the spyshot, it seems that the Persona R will not maintain the rear light as the Proton Tuah.
    Sad, i really like the concept car’s rear light, so cool.
    I really hope i’m wrong though.

• kamaji on Aug 28, 2011 at 12:38 am

Teaser again, can’t wait anymore, any news when r they goin to launch.

• insiderjob on Aug 28, 2011 at 12:58 am

Tuah will be out soon. :-)

• Rockmebaby on Aug 28, 2011 at 1:11 am

Did anyone find the general shape of the Proton R very boring????? Too familiar looking…like an enlarged Proton Saga (pre-FL version)….
    Put this next to the Hyunday Avante…I almost fall alseep zzzzZZZZZZ

• f1fanatic on Aug 28, 2011 at 1:32 am

i heard also.. they aim to get 5 star on the safety test. As they highest proton model to date(savvy) only got 3.

• bongek on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:04 am

extra how many star?

• Nicky on Aug 28, 2011 at 3:29 pm

correction sir, savvy is 5 stars tuv crash test if i’m not mistaken

• Ash Menon on Aug 28, 2011 at 4:34 pm

TUV is not a crash test, there are no ratings for it. TUV is a quality certification authority.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technischer_%C3%9Cberwachungsverein

So far a brief google/wiki doesn’t show any crash ratings for the Savvy, though. Perhaps it just wasn’t sent for testing.

There are these pics though: http://docfiles.blogspot.com/2006/05/klim-2006-savvy-crash-test-pics.html

• Proton announced that it will be a ‘world car’, they want to sell it worldwide. In this case it have to match highest safety standards of course.

• Monkey wrench on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:33 am

Askin only for one thing to be included in Exora features, auto folded side mirror!! Please Proton, have this, confirmed i will get one!!

• Mega/Liverpool on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:41 am

Hatchback?
    Mike/Liverpool UK

• squall_shinoda on Aug 28, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Hopefully they’ll work for that as well, because the market trend in the UK and Malaysia are different. In here, more people prefer sedans; the trend slightly differs in cities due to ease of parking. But in the UK, hatchbacks are more popular; sedans are usually meant for higher-end models and makes. That’s why in Malaysia, Proton sells Persona a lot but can only manage to sell fewer Gen-2s despite being more powerful than Persona. On the other hand, sales of Gen-2 in UK are far better than Gen-2 Persona. Due to the same reason, Honda sells Civic as sedans in Asia and America but sells hatchback Civics in the Europe.

• i wish it is equipped with :
    CBT,EBS,ABS,SAT,TURBO.. replace Gen2 – throw in CPS into Persona – then start working on those “CVT manual sequential” and others replacement model

• J@CK LIM on Aug 28, 2011 at 4:54 am

Fascinating…
    Hmm… any idea when it gonna launch…
    will buy it if launch under 60k >.<

• Aha! I can sense that the nose is trying to mimic the Savvy’s. Must be the ‘input’ of ‘Tun Penasihat’!

• It’s doom for Forte when Proton launch the new Proton Persona.

New Persona > Forte

• mouse on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:37 am

How do you know bro?

• David D on Aug 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Yea, seriously, how would you even know. This car is more of a competitor to the B-segment sedans, the Vios, City, Latio, 207. So i can’t help but just shoot down your statement that it’ll beat the Forte. Hence, your statement is simply invalid.

• johndoe on Aug 29, 2011 at 3:05 pm

this junk by Potong gonna beat Forte..a.k.a as the revolution of KIA worldwide which swept multiple international awards…..yeah rite…kampung car maker should just stay in kampung…buat malu jer if try to compete with ‘real’ global cars…..

• Kamarul on Aug 30, 2011 at 1:04 am

Proton x bukak lg camoflage Persona R die, kau dh berfikiran negative…aku cadangkan kau, apply jadi chief Proton Styling.

Dari gaya percakapan anda sungguh berpengalaman @ anda hanya pandai berpidato berapi-api semata-mata…

• mivec101 on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:05 pm

New Persona is in a C-segment car with dimensions competing with the likes of Forte, Civic, Altis etc. If it is well equipped and built, it can easily be a serious threat to those car models. Proton’s B segment sedan is Saga.

• Edmond on Sep 02, 2011 at 2:39 pm

No need to argue anymore!

Proton can urge government to remove the tax protection. And let see if it could beat the Toyota, Honda, BMW, etc.

Let’s have a fair fight shall we?

I believe Proton will not go bankrupt after one year of tax protection removed. I really believe that!

• mivec101 on Aug 28, 2011 at 5:03 pm

The new Persona is a C-segment car with dimensions competing with the like of Altis, Civic, Forte etc. If it is well equipped and built, it will be a serious threat to those models. Proton’s B segment sedan is Saga.

• JasonChang on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Proton always like this…no kemajuan…the Perdana model had launched 17 years n there is no replacement…so sad…Proton no kemajuan…always take people’s design…

• bongek on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:56 pm

no wonder those china auto company try to approach them,,,right? eh wait,,do u know which country is china?

• clemenza on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:43 pm

adoyaiii..bile la proton nak bukak solotape kt kete2 dieorg nih.. tensen aku!!!

• amirad on Aug 28, 2011 at 9:20 pm

I hope proton will improve on the car refinement especially the NVH. As much as I love my gen2 CPS, its rattling dashboard and aircond vents can be quite irritating. These are added features we wouldn’t mind not having.

• h22vtec on Aug 28, 2011 at 11:53 pm

A proton salesman told me that the P3-21A may come with turbo, anyone know if its really true?

• PROTON 2011 ANNUAL REPORT
      In November 2011, the new Exora Turbo will be produced. The new engine that is being developed by both PROTON and Lotus Engineers, comes with a powerful 138bhp to a maximum of 151bhp. The exterior will also be improved with sport rims, smoke lenses, rear combi lamp, chrome front radiator grille with black ribs and deep titanium finishing lamp. The stylish body kit, sporty alloy rims and the new interior look of tempest gray are designed to attract younger drivers who appreciate aesthetic touches.”
      “Our Global Small Car programme is also progressing according to schedule and barring any unforeseen
      circumstances, 2013 will be another defining year for PROTON as we venture further into the global arena. Based on the EMAS (Eco-Mobility Advanced Solution), the Global Small Car promises to be an exciting product proposition not only for PROTON but for Lotus as well, and this would be the first time such
      an arrangement is entered into by both companies.” – Info mengenai EMAS (kereta kecil global Proton).
      “Lastly, we will introduce our first locally produced global car to be manufactured at the Tanjung Malim plant. The new car is now being tested for production optimisation and production is expected to commence by early February 2012. The new car will not only possess the latest trend in looks and style but it also comes with several new technology features and enhancements.” – Info mengenai Persona R.
      “For example, 14 parts of the body in white are composed of a very hard metal derived through a process called Hot Press Forming (HPF). This new high technology process is a first in Malaysia and South East Asia. With this process, the parts can withstand a force of 1,500 mega Pascal. Hence with the addition of these parts, it is possible for PROTON to have a five star ncap rating car. Another new production technology is the rolled hemming process. By this process each area can be finely tuned to give optimum pressure and hence higher quality. These production technologies are a cost reduced investment and are expected in the future, to reap benefits for PROTON and decrease costs further.” – Info mengenai Hot Press Forming (HPF).
      “For the next fiscal year, the production of Gen.2, Savvy and Satria Neo will cease. This is to make way
      for the production of our new first global car, the replacement for the Persona. Although the current
      Persona model still commands a respectable volume, the company has formulated new replacement models
      as a refreshed effort not only to improve product but also as a means to increase the capabilities of
      our people.”

• johndoe on Aug 29, 2011 at 3:03 pm

hahahaa…turbo maCampro???….well…the roads gonna be strewn with bits of engine parts when tht car is rolled out…wat a joke…..

• Edmond on Aug 29, 2011 at 12:37 am

Good Job, Proton! Let’s have a fair fight with other brand! No more tax protection!

I strongly believe you can win! I really believe that!

• Carl Wong on Aug 29, 2011 at 12:45 am

To me the only car worth the money from Proton is the Inspira at the moment. It’s quite efficient, MIVEC + Nissan CVT, ,I had driven the car. I don’t like the Campro engine and I think it’s not good enough for today’s standards…

• Campro= campur engine.. sure not good la. noisy and no power. Somemore use petrol a lot..

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 31, 2011 at 1:45 am

new saga flx engine sound like grass cutting machine when at 100km/h. Kancil’s engine sound also “manly” than it!

• armandd on Aug 29, 2011 at 12:47 am

Paul, maybe you can ask Theophillus Chin to do a rendering or two for this new Persona. I believe many cannot wait already to see it, hehe..

• Turbo engines eh, plus the chassis can take an AWD.
    How about an AWD with a 6-spd manual?

• North_Boyz on Aug 29, 2011 at 9:52 am

Malaysian people…wanna new tech but cant spend more money on that….pui!

• KageSenshi on Aug 29, 2011 at 11:13 am

and then complain why gaji x naik2 .. the money got to come from somewhere ..

• good job proton……..

• Honda victim on Aug 29, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Simpan duit..and can trade in my poor City ..it stolen my money.

• rally_fan on Aug 30, 2011 at 10:44 am

looking very promising.

• poor proton on Aug 30, 2011 at 11:02 am

Include push start button, heard many airbags for premium model. I strongly suggest no need curtain airbag replace it with rear view camera and push start to save fuel.

• BADIGOL on Aug 30, 2011 at 6:27 pm

Global car konon. Power windows masih jugak rosak. Itu global car ker? Global car power windows rosak! Global car taik ar macam tu.

• another one with psikik power…hebat betul…dah tau power failure.

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 31, 2011 at 1:51 am

Global car yang sudah breakdown di tepi jalan and keluar banyak asap setelah baru beli dari potong edar/airbag yang tak berfungsi dan kebocoran kerana airbag macam belon murahan. chasis mengunakan tin milo/ kulit PVC murahan yang koyak setelah mengguna selama 2 hari, air-con tak sejuk dan mengalami kebocoran, brake murahan. Itu lah persona “R” iaitu rubbish concept :D

• sounds like u re one of the proton customer, and cant afford to buy a n imported car now and forever…

• mizzuddin on Sep 04, 2011 at 12:58 am

mampu beli saga berusia 15 tahun je kut… tu yg seat 2 hari dah koyak

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 31, 2011 at 2:12 am

I will smoke this so called persona Rubbish with my GTR :D

• a GTR will never say like this “I will smoke this so called persona Rubbish with my GTR “, keep on dreaming la bro with your GTR fantacy

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 31, 2011 at 11:58 pm

i don’t dream, i do smoke other current persona’s in plus highway :) i do have GTR, aku just a whine dog whom smoked by my GTR by his car :D

• Gtr vs persona? so ridiculous. keep on dreaming with ur small scale gtr

• zimmer 600 on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Hang ni betul punya takdak otak. Pakai Gtr konon Pi Smoke Persona.
      aku rasa hang ni jenis hamlau lupa diri.
      Patut kena lebih banyak bersyukur dgn apa yg kita ada bukan riak dgn menyakitkan hati pengguna lain.

• Ben Kin on Aug 31, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Oh my god PROTON…………can you please come out with some FRESH ideas??? we are bored with the same all over type of cars…dont MODIFIED abit here n there and tell the consumers out there that this is the BRAND NEW proton car again and again….

• Brand New yang macam mana ko nak?

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 01, 2011 at 12:08 am

Protong, kalau awak nak so called WORLD CAR. Mula-mula meningkatkan enjin buruk awak tu. Belajarlah dari abang lotus awak, buatlah engin yang berguna. bukan itu sahaja, membuktikan semua benda mcm power window, interior yg berkualiti, bukan sini rosak situ rosak. akhir sekali,MENGUTAMAKAN KESELAMATAN PROTON!, jangan letak banyak belon cakap cukup selamat, beri lah brek yg berkualiti, 4 wheel ABS, TRACTION CONTROL ATAU ESP, VSC. PEDESTRIAN IMPACT ATAU BODY SHIELD yg mengurangkan IMPAK semasa mengalami kemanlangan (SEKARANG MODEL BARU POTONG MASIH TAK ADA ) LAKARAN LUARAN AERODAINAMIK SIKIT, COEFFICIENT DRAG, SATNAV, BANYAK LAGI!

LETAK LAH SEMUA, JANGAN LETAK SEDIKIT DEMI SEDIKIT. JANGAN MCM SI P2.
        KALAU AWAK BUAT MCM INI 5 TAHUN LALU, PROTON DAH INTERNATIONAL BRANDED CAR!!

• The Unicons on Sep 01, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Don’t talk rubbish here ohyaya1023. GTR only mah. I saw a few… crash boom bang… lost control easily….

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:51 am

rubbish? i don’t talk rubbish just you guys don’t like to face with FACTS.

I have test drive all the proton variants. IMO, they may have the L R&H but still feel basic and lack of important safety features.

Dude, ask yourself do you like to drive a car that looks dangerous inside out or drive something which looks promising.

If they do have high tensile steel, basic safety features why don’t they go for NCAP crash test?

Look at Hyundai i10, it at least gain 4/5 stars from NCAP with the most basic features. What about proton?

ANCAP only shows 3 stars for last saga blm model, that even can’t withstand whiplash impact…

NCAP proved that proton impiana (waja) 3/5 stars which is terrible than hyundai i10 -.-

The facts is stated in the internet, google it for more info.

Truth is always hurts, i m understand :)

• Campro engine baik. Horse power dia lebih dari engine kebanyakan engine 1.6 jepun, korea dan eropah yang normally aspirated, hampir menyamai engine 1.8. Body kereta seperti Savvy, Exora dan saga diperbuat dari high tensile steel. Kereta jenama lain pun bila saya ikut kajang silk banyak yang alami rosak power window. Saya rasa Proton mampu buat kereta yang mahal tetapi ia perlu buat kereta yang murah untuk rakyat seperti saya sekeluarga. Kami ada 4 kereta proton, dan ok aje.

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 03, 2011 at 3:18 am

I never said proton sucks, i just felt that proton is left behind.

While other cars already introduce current trend, which is years ago. Proton only start to do something which is far left behind.

I’m glad proton have gone to the right track by now, which is the good to introduce CVT+IMFA+ to the current saga model (if they did this earlier like 3 years ago) It sure would be awarded the greatest basic mid-line sedan model.

The so called concept cars, are replace old models. like Mitsubishi evolution, lotus evora, Nissan juke alike SUV and current proton saga… WHAT IS THIS SO CALL CONCEPT. (are they following the steps of P2?)

At least tuah (Espire) is their really squeeze out of brain juice genuine proton concept.

I do may sound bashing on proton, but it’s true proton really left out in automotive industry.

All the best, May Espire become the so called world car, which proton proudly to claim it….

By the time, it has recognized as a WORLD CAR. Other car manufacturers already start building future cars as we saw in paultan forums. ;)

• Actually most Proton cars are brand new while other assemblers bring mostly rebadged or bring cars already about 3 years in other country.

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 03, 2011 at 3:06 am

Proton brand new? -.-

SAGA BLM STILL NOT USING POWER WINDOW FOR BEHIND UNTIL SAGA FL MODEL INTRODUCE THEN BASE MODEL ONLY HAVE POWER WINDOW?

SAGA FLX ONLY INTRODUCE ABS+EBD? AND YOU CALL THAT MODERN?

DUDE, MODERN IN TERMS OF WHAT? -.- IS PROTON OUTDATED NOT BRAND NEW -.- WAKE UP :D

• you want complete one don’t go for basic line ,go for mid or high line, ok?
          cheers

• sakai on Sep 03, 2011 at 3:35 pm

other brand base line also complete and modern than proton la… -.-

• Other brand baseline cannot afford because too much gadget make it expensive. Proton make cars for ordinary people to travel from A to B, no need expensive parts.

• My dad’s waja has power window at the back, seldom use.

• Proton can install all the latest gadget but it defeats the purpose of having cheap cars for the people. Look at India’s Nano, very basic for ordinary people and a different version for people with more money.

• pencuci tandas on Sep 01, 2011 at 12:38 am

tak sabar nak tengok R3 punya version…

• messi on Sep 02, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Proton design is good but the Campro engine is rough and lack of pick-up as compared to Vios and City.

They need to come out with a new smooth, low fuel consumtion engine and to succeed. otherwise, just another fail product in the making.

I have wanted to trade in my Honda DSI to buy the Gen-2 during year 2004. After 100m test drive and notice that the engine is so rough.

Tak NAK PROTON.

• eims @ gold on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:09 am

campro engine is a lot better now.
      2004 tu campro baru2 try test.
      dont expect new engine, 1st time developed to be so perfect.

now, try persona elegant.

• zimmer 600 on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:15 pm

ohhyayaya. lu apahal.
    bodoh lah ada GTR pi SMOKE Persona.
    Betul2 takdak akai punya budak. aku rasa hang ni jenis hamlau kot.

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:44 am

si persona driver nak carbar saya mah, dia sering nak pergi lane saya walaupun dia pandu lambat…. saya dah sabar ni.. kalau org lain dah berlaku hal lo. aku bukan takdak akai. SI persona nak race punye :x

@kepada semua org yang bash saya… kalau tak mampu beli kereta performance jgn ckp saya cuma ada 3/10 model atau banyak rosak bla bla bla.. belilah kereta yang awak mampu jgn asyik berasa cemburu tehadap org lain. sini forum terbuka. boleh ckp apa apa…

Akhir sekali, proton bukan buruk cuma tak begitu “agresif” dlm dunia automotif.

:)

• vegie on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:57 pm

mmg ko lambat pun dah ko pandu kereta 850cc , dah la lambat ambik lorong kanan sekali sape la tak rasa panas….
        kah kah kah

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 03, 2011 at 3:39 pm

kawan, saya pandu GTR bukan kereta 850CC bodoh… -.- awak yang pandu 850 CC :D

• 850cc yg ada emblem GTR pasar malam

• setuju!!!!!

• nampak sgt la penipunya, kalau dh pandu GTR ada hal apa dgn proton?
            pegi la kisahkan rx8 ke celica ke, type R ke, evo ke
            ni mesti pakai keta 1000CC ni, pastu blagak mcm GTR
            pegi tampal sticker byk2 ingat satu ticker boleh tambah 10hp
            kalau da 10 sticker dah tambah 100hp, wow!

• Rashid222 on Sep 03, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Potong should ask the German what is das auto . Don’t get disappointed with potong , instead work harder and earn more to get other brand of das auto !

Don’t hope potong will give you something good , hopeless brand n management can’t be revived

Wake up n Work harder dude !

• I am proud of Proton’s achievement even though some here do not. VW started in the 1930’s so it is ok to what they have achived so far. They started with the beetle (basic car) as the people’s car and Proton has the Saga as the people’s car. Proton first car was in 1985, first in house design car in 2000 and first engine in 2004. Because of Proton the car parts manufacturers SMIs exist and now supply parts to other car manufacturers. In the early 1980’s there was down turn in the world economy but malaysia suvive because there was the auto industry and the malaysian economy picked up in the 90’s. Proton could always use Lotus name if they want to build and sell upmarket cars, for ordinary rakyat like me Proton cars are just fine.

• mizzuddin on Sep 04, 2011 at 1:10 am

sempena hari raya ini, saya ingin memohon maaf kepada semua atas segala kesilapan dan sebarang kata-kata yang menyinggung perasaan

kepada proton personnel, komen2 sampah tak perlu diambil peduli… buat kerja korang sebaik mungkin sudeyy.. =)

cheers

• wheeler on Sep 04, 2011 at 10:25 pm

The 2012 Persona is getting close to is unveiling..I was told this the future of PROTON car, is it true??? Here is my opinion and I dont mean to insult anybody or PROTON. PROTON is so close into producing world class car but I just dont know what else is missing. Like “you can cook a good nasi lemak but there seem to be someone out there who’s using the same ingredient and recipe and the nasi lemak is so so much better”. That’s what missing I think. A touch of art maybe. A little bit more of passion maybe. A bit more of daring move to cut off those old fashion thinking and way of doing things maybe. A little more of innovation maybe. Well honestly I dont know but this is what I’ve been thinking. All the best!

• eims @ gold on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:36 am

looks like lancers rear.
    huge bonnet, small bumper @ bottom.
    showing huge ‘tabung’ & small muffler tip.

i dont realy like lancer’s rear.
    the huge tabung looks like pampers….no offense.. hehe..
    but inspira’s rear is a bit better with the chrome line..
    hope proton can make the rear look better :)

if only i could suggest to proton, pls use twintip muffler like perdana.
    its a lot better looking i guess.

• samsam on Sep 05, 2011 at 1:23 pm

i think proton should stop a while making new car, maybe should try make a better engine i drive 1.3l(satria), 1.5l(iswara), 1.6l(wira), 1.8l(putra), 2.0(perdana) i feel heavy when i acceleration, compare to honda and mitsubishi engine.. they are lighter although the car body are bigger..

• desmond on Sep 05, 2011 at 7:58 pm

WELL DONE PROTON, INTERNATIONAL STANDARD!

• mr.proton on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:32 am

To Datuk Seri syed Zainal,

Please….. this time no more same problem in the past model.I’m fed up with people’s comment about proton.. its a shame to you and Malaysia as this is national car and managed by Malay. Prove it that u can do better this time. Make sure the exterior and interior design look stunning.don’t just simple dashboard like persona and saga. put some built in satnav,dvd player etc. standard airbags for all variant. and all the necessities features for high line variant. make it more fascinating than current persona. yang penting harga tolong maintain RM50K-RM62K…. just my 1 kupang.. thanks

• Jam9889 on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:51 pm

If u want luxury materials and finishing on a budget please buy VW Polo. Government will NEVER remove tax on foreign cars since they make so much revenue off it. Else migrate to UK or AUS where u can get the same cars for a fraction of the price. Just forked out 140K of hard earned money on a Hyundai Sonata. Thats almost 30K Pounds. Plenty of local choices right…like the 90’s Perdana chasis.

• mr.proton on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:36 am

to jam9889.. dude..im not being unrealistic in this case.. it just that malaysian expectation very high on proton.. like or not.. proton has to make this model stunning in its class. at least better than vios and city.. standard airbags..is it luxury?? no its safety feature ma.. this thing shud be compulsory not luxury..about built in dvd sat nav..put it in high line variant..wats the prob.. and then about the interior.. do you think beautiful comes with price.. after all..its about how u design and how u want it to be.. seriously nowdays.. people wants a car that CAN COMMUTE from A-E.. not just A-B.. A car that really leaves u really enjoy while u drove it.. its not impossible for a car in range of RM50K-RM62K..to have the features that i’ve mentioned.. proton not a small kid anymore.. prove to malaysian that u can do it man..am right datuk seri syed? (i hope he read this..??)

• Jam9889 on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Just throw away the lousy parts vendors and fit better safety and comfort features and we will be halfway there already.After so many years it is really testing our rakyat patience and intelligence…

• skyhigh on Sep 08, 2011 at 1:33 am

Dang!!!!….. i just bought the new persona elegance….

• skyhigh on Sep 08, 2011 at 1:57 am

duhhh… i just bought the new persona elegance due to the irresistable pearl white….
    and to whom that have a GTR… let’s race next morning at 8.00 am from federal highway sungai wei to usj…. smoke me if u can……

it’s not the car u owned….. it’s how u own the car….. ecehhh… cam citer fast n furious pulak…

• greasemonkey on Sep 12, 2011 at 10:40 pm

WOW! After 1mths ,still got alot of comments,prove that we r very passionate about Proton!

• mr.proton on Sep 13, 2011 at 8:10 am

yeah.. u rite dude.. i really hope this will be proton most quality and look good because i planned to buy a new car. so this model is in my list..

• mr.proton on Sep 13, 2011 at 8:13 am

it just proton the only affordable besides perodua.. so people hoping for a new one with good packages and affordable price..

• AllHailProton on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:31 pm

bmw 5 series or e-class is better.

• inderaloka on Sep 18, 2011 at 5:16 am

Proton, please please please improve on front head lamp design/fabrication/installation. Current Persona and Gen.2 front headlamp insect particles boleh masuk. Not cunlah.

• inderaloka on Sep 18, 2011 at 5:26 am

I don’t know why I feel bored with the front grill design. It should be refresh. The front grill shape repeat the same design that was on Savvy. The logo with sharp chrome bar supporting it seems backdated. Why not come with something new and fresh?

• inderaloka on Sep 18, 2011 at 5:30 am

Correction: Not ‘backdated’ but ‘outdated’. :-)

• ApeApeSaje on Oct 10, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Saje2 nak komen…
    1. Kirenye proton skang dah maju berbanding dlu…. rekaan pun dah makin elok…. harap kereta malaysia dapat menembusi pasaran yang lebih besar.
    2. harap proton menumpukan sedikit mengenai kualiti aksesori kereta…. asal tahan lame, no problem wooo…. temasuk lah power windows, lampu belakang (sebab slalu nmpak kereta proton x mnyale sblh lampu), alat alat safety, senang cite, sume2 lah…. bukan ape, nak bagi mulut2 nakal tu tertutup sikit…. lagipon sejuk sikit tuan kete yang beli tu.
    3. idea buat side mirror flip tu ok gak…. smart nampaknye….
    4. ape yang penting, teruskan usehe untuk tingkatkan produktiviti dan kualiti…. proton boleh…..

SELAMAT MAJU JAYA PROTON.

• i think the tail lamp for proton p3-21a is not good…for me proton tuah concept much better than that….