Quick-accelerating Proton Exora snapped at R&R Machap

This facelifted Proton Exora was snapped yesterday by reader Dg Hafidz at the Machap R&R stop. According to Hafidz, he had trouble keeping up with this Exora in his YRV-engined Perodua Kenari as the Exora had very good acceleration, often cruising at speeds of 150 kph to 165 kph. If the description is true, there definitely has to be something very interesting inside the engine bay, most likely the Campro Turbo.

Look after the jump for the rest of the spy photos.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2297]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• alldisc on Jun 08, 2011 at 3:54 pm

exora FL? how about renaming it as F.EXORA.L @ fexoral?

• The only worthy car currently in p1. Good.

• Aman SHah on Jun 08, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Cool…. bila Inspira turbo or neo cps turbo nak keluar..then VW or Audi akan turun harga and i beli…hahaha

• one two three on Jun 08, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Exora parked in between two diesel pumps…

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=proton-exora-fl-at-rr-pagoh&image=004-exora-fl-petronas.jpg

One can only dream!!!

• i think its not FL but upgraded version…maybe Proton Exora Supercharge… :-p

• macaruda on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:12 pm

yeah Mr. Paul… cerita cengginilah aku nak baca…. keep it coming!

• btw, from the looks of it, its not pagoh RnR, its machap RnR

• rapidshifter on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:20 pm

tak kene saman ker bawak laju2 tu…

• rosdi on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:23 pm

YRV tu 1.3 turbo kan?.. bukan kuat sangat pun.. CPS je pun boleh belasah… hahaha.. saja nak flame!..

• alistair lim li wei on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:23 pm

ho ho yeah~ Now the competition is beginning to heat up between P1 and p2. Keep up the good work proton~

• T4VR-Ralph on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:27 pm

im more converned with the 150kph – 165kph and Kenari with YRV turbo…
    are those actually legal?

• kuncisudu on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:34 pm

just want to know – kalo naik genting macamana.

• Veil100 on Dec 12, 2011 at 4:10 pm

hahaha… die kate kenari yrv yg pickup mcm kartun tu leh di tapau ny mgkin gunung averest die leh tekan sampai top speed die… *nk eklan pn agak2x le*

• justice on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:35 pm

i dont think turbo or super charged..maybe,just another FL..

• nabill on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:41 pm

It has to be supercharged bcos it has a rear disc brake not drums…!
    Dat usually mean performance upgrade….
    Bt da front gril nt nice…

• farghmee on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:28 am

ek?

by “supercharged” u mean “force-induction” rite?

i thought that using disc brake is for more stopping/braking power?

• Firman on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:46 pm

The only good news is smoked front lamp. Need more surprise what is inside the front hood.

• mizzuddin on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:47 pm

i’ll definitely upgrade from Persona Elegance today to Pug 308 / 408 next three years

but if proton does offer better build quality and performance than todays offering, i don’t see any reason for me to choose foreign makes

• sepul on Jun 08, 2011 at 6:34 pm

wait for 308 facelift then consider la.. i oso thinking of getting one 308 turbo.. hahah

• Are you sure? A pug with a Prince engine? Unless Pug solves its engine issues, I’d tell u don’t waste your money on a Pug

• Rabonalo on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Of course Kenari cannot catchup Exora 1.6 vs 1.0. If he using Fiesta surely he say that Exora so slow.

• eimsperfume on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:08 pm

the kenari YRV is 1.3 turbo.. if i,m not mistaken..

• This Robonalo is talking sense. I wonder why he receive so many thumbs down if not because of Proton cybertroopers here.

• why are you concern so much about thumb ups / downs on other people comments? so, you sharing Rabonalo opinion, the others don’t.

FYI he was WRONG about the engine in that particular kenari! (hence the downvotes) Paul wrote about YRV engine long time ago, go search!!

• and please also consider the weight of the exora.

• p1-p2 on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:50 pm

agree bout that…last week, fiesta potong my neo cps at LPT higway like that car got 5 litres engine on it boot..even i speed 150kmh on that time

• last Friday 1 Fiesta Penang plate number kena tapau with my Waja 4G18 at Gua Tempurung until RNR Sg Perak…..normal driving 170-180km/h..hihih..

• artworkz on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:19 am

u sure that fiesta was playing wif u? if u are meet me,i need say sorry to ur 1.6 sohc waja.

• fazron80 on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:58 am

150kmh on a neo cps is so so slow. Unless you said Fiesta potong your neo cps when you’re doing 190kmh then that’s something else. I’m only a bit surprised if your Neo cps is a manual. If it’s an auto then no wonder la. Proton’s AT gearbox is useless for spirited driving.

• farizY on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:40 am

The first gen Neo can reach 200kph (M/T of course), though factory claimed 195kph; and Inspira can reach the exact speed without breaking a sweat (again M/T)…..
          I mean, how hard is it to reach high speed on a straight line? with enough power-to-weight ratio, any car can go fast, but in corners, where everything counts, that’s a whole different story…..

• lalok_stylo on Jun 12, 2011 at 2:15 am

my satria 1.5GLi A/T(standard) can reach 190kmh…
          although the RPM around 6000 or more…
          lol

• aku suka bila ada news pasal Proton. aku pun tak tau kenapa. tapi when it comes to Proton, i love their surprises, and of course, reading all the comments here.

• jl@ipl on Aug 15, 2011 at 4:17 am

Aku sokong.

Bab komen-komen basher, aku pun tak paham nape diaorg sanggup rendah kan martabat diri tulis perkataan2 kotor…………

If you don’t llike P1 car, don’t buy it, and don’t hate/insult those people who does (and very happy/proud with their P1 car)…………………

• pulltea on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Wow, nice P1 Esoklah… Bila mau launch?

• So this YRV-engined Kenari is turbocharged as well or what?

• Proton wants the rakyat die “faster” is it.

• mizzuddin on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:41 pm

turbo nowadays are not designed for boy “ricer” la mate…

• farizY on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Exactly, turbo is seen nowadays as a way for small capacity engine to produce comparable power to a much larger capacity engine and in doing so, improves fuel consumption without any losses to the horses.

For instance, a 2.0 vtec on the current Civic produces roughly 155hp, while a Fiat Bravo 1.4 Tjet produces roughly 150-160hp, while having a smaller capacity. This goes the same for Volks Golf TSI, 1.4L as well.

• Arcane on Jun 08, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Typical text-book example of a P1 basher.

Last time people bash till no end saying it’s ‘underpowered’

• wanlee on Jun 08, 2011 at 6:23 pm

selalu complain kuat…slow complain laju also complain…well foreign cars no matter fast or slow always good for malaysian..malaysian manmade always bad…

• kuikuikui on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:42 am

face the facts and reality bro even its too hard for you…

• when it is slow you say it needs more powaaaah! when it is fast you say proton wanna kill rakyat…MAKE UP YOUR MIND!!

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:42 pm

no, we want you to die faster.

• asahiyakuza on Jun 08, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Most “faster” rakyat died because of avoiding “slower” people like you who drive really “slowly” and “carefully” and then suddenly change to the fast lane without any signal…

• lkf0512 on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:57 am

“slower” people also change lane without signal even a “faster” is coming from behind…as if they know “faster” car “will” slow down for them…

• fasgen on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:29 pm

aiyyoyo.. when p1 car slow on the road you said apalah proton! worst car, lembab car, not pickup.. when p1 make turbo engine you said p1 make rakyat mati cepat… haiyya.. every engine has their purpose… that why, p1 put turbo in the next exora because … you pikir la sendiri… :) :)

• anonymous on Jun 08, 2011 at 4:58 pm

rear disc brakes, wonder why…

• Kenariman on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Last i heard it is soft turbo, something below 0.4 bar, but good for daily usage. Anyway good job for proton for the development..

• ketelaju on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:14 pm

awesome!!!!

• Mega/Liverpool on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:15 pm

If you wish to export to the UK you will require an “Eco” model. We are taxed on how much CO2 the engine produces……Proton is sold in the UK as a budget (cheap) brand.

People will not buy a “Cheap” car if its expensive to run…..cheap must mean cheap to buy & run.

Most of the BIG players (Ford/GM) are going for 3 cyinder small cc Turbo engines…..Proton must get Lotus to help them produce the same.

Mike/Liverpool

• theking on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Mega/Liverpool,

Dun wori coz Proton will produce 1.2L 3cylinder GDI Turbo soon n make sure u buy one. Tq.

• Nizam80 on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:23 am

theking, is this true???? Are u sure, bro?? So we can see a Savvy replacement soon??

• rosdi on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:50 pm

I think that is where the electric engine come into play.. but performance wise… dont hope so much..

• redboy on Jun 08, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Lotus DONT produce Engine!

• makeitmine on Jun 08, 2011 at 8:40 pm

There’s good market for small cc turbo engine.. if run on diesel..better still.

The problem with Proton is that they tend to build cars meant for local market due to some political reasons and not based on value. Proton should know by now that no one car size fits all.

In Singapore, Exora is not top in the list. The car may be fancied by Malaysians but due to low quality “feel” interior, power to weight ratio, 15″ rim, 15.5s to reach 100km/h, wind noise at 100km/h, nobody wants to regret buying one although Exora may be good on paper.

Perhaps Proton should consider create a sub-brand for export markets. For export market, Proton need to add better interiors, sound proofing, power to weight ratio, 16″ rim, big fuel tank (s’pore car can only pump 1/4 tank of Malaysian premium petrol).

• kingjoke on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:58 pm

create a sub-brand with better equip… i thot everybody should be treated equally…

• bobdbilder on Jun 10, 2011 at 12:52 am

UK market is over rated and holds less value. Opportunistic at best, if they have the money. They dont buy MPVs. They buy wagons (or tourers) its a European thing. Indonesia, India and even Australia has growth and more acceptance (larger families, public transport).

• Tengokje.. on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:16 pm

May be this is the FL version…may be…looks like the front bumper had integrated front lip…if I’m not mistaken…I read in previous post that the front & rear lip bumper will be integrated…not like the MC version…done know la…just wait and see….
    Salam…

• Whatever on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Proton will always be proton. Because of you. That why force rakyat to buy imported car at a High price. You choose. Cheap price but lousy car. Good car but expensive. Rakyat can’t afford.

• oh yeah can’t wait for it…come on P1

• beatnik on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Saw this car a few weeks back.. but it was raining so no point taking piccies. it had similar black tapes.. high possibility that it is exora turbo on testing.

• Slkoh on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Note the rear disc brake in the photo.

• Joe v2.0 on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:29 pm

YRV turbo engin spec you can see it here: http://paultan.org/2005/05/31/converting-your-perodua-myvi-to-a-turbo/

the popular upgrade is K3-VET – 1.3L turbo engine, power roughly around 130hp-140hp, people always upgrade myvi using this engine but being installed in a lighter kenari, i’d reckon the acc will be superb.

so for giving this kenari trouble to keep up on acc with this heavier exora, i’d say this is something worth to look on to….

• neo_77 on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:32 pm

I had enough driving another proton car especially with campro engine regardless turbo or not. My current stock auto neo got no power at all. always get potong by those unties and amoys driving vios, swift, kenari or even kelisa. i can try and overtake them but have to slam my pedal hard and let the engine roar like its going to explode. Driving up to genting is also bad. even an old taxi can overtake me. My next car will at least have 1.8 engine and manual transmission………no more campro……..

• sukasuki on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:55 am

i drove saga LMST, easily achieve 160kmj and being stopped by police patrol. so what the heck with ur neo? mayb forgot to service?or ur leg have problem to press the pedal?

• beatnik on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:32 am

Saga LMST got use campro meh? hahaha.
        i agree, campro is not a good engine. proton needs to sort out the fuel consumption and noise on this CFE, otherwise it’ll become just another campro with BOT.

• hantu on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Yeah.. I agree with you…
          Campro need improvement in terms of fuel efficiency and rattling noise.

But wait!

When we gonna to get this sort of engines?
          Until AP is abolished for sure.

• theking on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:18 am

neo_77,

U never own satria neo la bro hihihi

• bebek on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:40 am

bai, i drove NA campro 2005 gen2 A/T(which is heavier compare to Neo, and i got NGV tank inside). this morning easily reach 180kmh, WITH NGV and not shell RON97 V-power!

• TFazuin on Jun 10, 2011 at 9:38 am

Its not the car, its the driver… maybe you were driving uphill on D mode? Swift doesn’t have accelaration on kick down unless you downshift to 2 or 1 and upshift before it reaches the redline. Same goes with most cars, the whole idea is to stay on the tall gears for as long as possible to save fuel. Like this I give you a 3 litre car also you say the car is no good handling because you drive up Genting and Old Bukit Putus road on D. :)

• lalok_stylo on Jun 12, 2011 at 2:28 am

agree with u…..
        it’s about the driver…
        i think he dont know well how to use AT….
        all he know is P to park, R reverse and D to accelerate….
        neo_77, even my 10 years AT satria 1.5GLi(standard) can reach 190km/h(although the engine quite noisy)….
        do u service ur neo??
        and one more, do u know 3,2 and L is for what??
        lol

• OMG…test driving so fast on the PLUS highway…..legal or not? If accident happen, how?

• That YRV turbo Charged Kenari owner has changed to bigger rims and tyres making his Speedometer useless and inaccurate. At 100km/hr the Kenari is actually hitting 120km/hr. The Kenari is filled up with 5 football player-size people all stuffed in the small Kenari as they tried to go for “car pooling” and “ubah gaya hidup” and “save the planet” lifestyle. That’s why the Kenari can’t chase that Exora. Don’t blame the car, blame the owner for not being skilled enough to handle it. Furthermore, comparing a Kenari with an MPV is not even a fair comparison. They should have compare it with another MPV of the same class.

Meanwhile, that particular Protong Exora is faster as they have decided to use Toyota’s Skyline Engine as a test mule engine to simulate 150km/hr speed to determine when the “van roti” will fall apart and screws starts to loosen up. Also, they need to create a “hype” by telling us only Protong people can break the law @ 150km/hr. I hope the Traffic Police automated speed trap camera will send Protong “saman ekor” by the end of the month.

My standard Mivec Grandis (fully loaded with 7 people and goods) can overtake this “van roti” anytime and anywhere. Protong can keep on dreaming and masturbatin*.

• wow

Toyota got Skyline Engine!
      Is it from old engine family that I didn’t notice before?
      Appreciate if U can share the info

• caseyc on Jun 08, 2011 at 11:32 pm

first, why can’t people spell proton correctly – kurang baca ka?
      second, after reading what he type , i immediately grab my eye drop to relieve my sakit mata.

• Nasrule on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:19 am

SY0H, go play far far with your grandis…syoh syoh..

• fazron80 on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:03 am

WOW! your mivec grandis is faster than skyline. All manufacturer should be bankrupt by now. Everyone buy mivec grandis quick quick! Actually even a turbo kancil can potong this exora la let alone your mivec grandis.

• Nizam80 on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:34 am

Bila masa pulak la Toyota ada engine Skyline. Nak bash pun takde skill. Hantu betul!

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:10 am

your story is too complex for us marheins… you should write a book or somethin’….

• rotul on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:54 pm

hehe..Toyota got Skyline engine??!! Is it true??!! ada ka? hmmmm….google it…hihihi

• i see rear disc brakes

• iloveproton on Jun 08, 2011 at 6:03 pm

many cars can reach 150~60kph easily if press hard. u cannot catch up meaning u r slow….

• Machi on Jun 08, 2011 at 6:17 pm

wow…another fuel guzzler in the making !!

• Abraham Tawi on Jun 08, 2011 at 6:19 pm

It is probably the turbocharged unit, there is are a couple of extra vent on the front bumper where the foglamps used to be before being moved nearer to the centre.

The rear brakes are also upgraded to disc compared to drum which usually indicate more weight and more power.

But again it could be a engine testing mule for upcoming models.

We just have to wait then :)

• Seriously what car is this?look funny…

• yeah!!forced induction is coming!!! :D

• Increase in price is expected!!

• TFazuin on Jun 10, 2011 at 9:42 am

Well kid, at least you get new engine, new transmission and brake systems. That’s what you call a Full Model Change FMC. What you have for Perodua is a Facelift… same old body, same old engine. Honda Accord does the same when the changed one mode to LED rear lights and front lights but do not dare to call it a FMC they call it FL. Only in Malaysia… :)

• Crasher on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Proton are not very good at keeping secrets, do they? Spyshots leaking out almost on every model…

• samyyd on Jun 08, 2011 at 10:03 pm

coz they need to keep cost down. their hq is here, r&d here, factory also here, so it make sense to do testing here. if blog and media want to snap every time they bring their test car out, what can they do.

• every other makes also has it la. that’s not proton’s or anybody fault, it’s just the power of internet nowaday. some are puposely “leaked”.

• steven on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:06 pm

will testing car kena saman oso?XD

• Driver on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Is it just me or this version is lower than current model? Can anybody reconfirm this, perhaps try to use the fuel pump as reference. As long it’s better for customer, then why not. Keep up d good work p1.

• mamin on Jun 08, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Probably it just look lowered because they put some dummy weight in the car to stimulate the full load of 7 passengers. Have read somehwre that they do this when doing testing

• Shhhhhh. Thanks. on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Think this’s the Turbocharged version. Saw 2 bronze one in USJ17 Caltex & this white one. Gotta say it’ll look better than the current Exora MC.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:20 pm

P1 can try supercharge turbo charge, nitrous engine if they want. Turbo diesel, hybrid-electric-turbo-surbo, etc.

What the rakyat wants NOW is something that they can afford, they can buy and reliable. Not just hoo-haa-make-news-only, publisiti etc.

Prove it you can produce such car, not just experiment, experiment here and there….

Ada berani?

• that’s why la they experimenting, for the feasibility – reliability, cost, FC, other problems etc. etc.

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:18 am

so all other car-makers in the world dont do testing, experimenting and research before come out with new products? thats what u mean?

• dannylee77 on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Nice , Looking to Fetch one of this as the Current Model Pickup a bit Underpower……
    Nice New Rim Design too .. Can’t Quite tell from the Pictures, is it 16″ inches or still remains as 15″ inches ?
    I think 16″ would be more suitable for such a MPV its size & also to enhance the Stability more since there’s an upgrade of Engine Power… Current 15″ inches rim Looks a bit small….

• no point if installed Turbo if the engine still using timing belt

• what is wrong with timing belt? timing chain is needed to spin your turbo huh?

• you have not experience before when your timing belt snapped just after 30K millage. More power mean more drag on the timing belt. Timing chain is better in term of durability. That is why many modern engine is running on timing chain even for Myvi.

• farghmee on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:34 pm

cool, u r an automotive engineer ke?

• more power means more drag? where did you learn this?

for example, timing belt once served audi 2.0 turbo engine, so, given the right dimensions, it should be fine in 1.6 turbo (plus, some speculate it to be soft turbo).

some supercar even drives its huge displacement supercharger using belt. that engine produce 638hp!!

i don’t say that timing chain is any worse than timing belt, it is in fact better, but it also wear off, nothing lasts forever.

• TFazuin on Jun 10, 2011 at 2:34 pm

You know that’s just doesn’t make sense all. Buying a car with timing belt means the change interval is shorter but the cost is usually 1/4th of a Timing Chain. Timing chains and the rollers does needs replacing, but at 200K or 250K interval, so you go calculate 4 x RM700, how much you fork out in one go? You really think car makers give free charity for you? The best part is your car is only 60K warranty if your Timing Chain for your beloved Myvi broke at 100K KM also, you still have to pay on your own… Makes sense no?

• i hope proton already have a new design already in mind & plan to roll out all-new version within 2 years time.

• runner on Jun 08, 2011 at 7:46 pm

why they are always go to south for road testing purpose ? it that because they want to challenge singapore’s car? =p

• niceone on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:11 am

southern plus highway has less traffic (especially from after pagoh exit up to machap), so probably they can test it to the limit

• freeze on Jun 08, 2011 at 8:16 pm

As if this new facelift thing is going to boost Exora sales. Alza sell almost twice as many. Main reason cos this Exora is “old fashioned” with dreadful interior. Center console is just horrible.

Proton, you can’t polish a turd!

• alfie60 on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:30 am

Spot on FREEZE!

We should read between the line what this turd car maker is doing.

1) AMP-‘Cheaper’ replacement parts.Ban of imports of spare parts and have MONOPOLY in Proton spare parts market. Their vendors will be making tons of money selling turdy parts. No motivation for the vendors to improve.

2) SERVICE under 60 mins. If service over 60 mins we pay for parts but labour free. With the volume of parts we will be buying the turdy overpriced parts,Proton can give for free.

3)TURBO..Proton trying to impress us by making their car FASTER but the same shitty vendor supplying the shitty BRAKE parts.
      Its like telling us if the Proton fail to bury our corpse under 60 mins, the FUNERAL service charges is free but we pay for the shitty COFFIN cost. ;-)

• Eyesore on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:45 am

Ummm… the AMP parts are only for proton cars…. does not include your imported cars or P2…. so on what based are you claiming proton to monopoly the spare part markets???

• redboy on Jun 08, 2011 at 8:25 pm

u see the report Exora is outsold by Vios and City, you know the rakyat is looking for different things..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:05 pm

Some people choose Exora because they have a very big family and need more space,while some choose Vios or City because they think it’s a good car and they have a small family or maybe they need a ‘good’ car for their daily commute but why should you compare Vios or City with Exora ?
      They are totally in different segment .
      I understand if you want compare Vios or City with Persona.

• kagesenshi on Jun 08, 2011 at 10:01 pm

those different market section la dey ..

• kuikuikui on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:56 am

hav u ever wonder if other mpvs are not being taxed at all, will exora outsold them? think, think…

• farghmee on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:52 am

kalu anak 5, nk pakai vios ke?
      tu nnt jd vios bunting…kekeke

apalah..otak letak mana u ni?

• jackcity on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:01 pm

rear disc brake! good!

• Annoy-nimal on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Trim quality and feel has improved a lot. Looks good for an MPV although I personally prefer the low stance of the Stream. The low-end torque is still a bit lacking and hopefully this one has better torque spread. I would definitely prefer this over the Avanza. More roomy than Alza and even the Grand Livina, and cheaper than Stream or Wish (if you consider them being in the same category). So, its not bad. If I ever actually need an MPV, I’ll just go for this. If I have extra money and wan’t moer style, then Stream or Wish would be my choice. For short distance, maybe Alza, although I always think Alza as more of a car rather than a proper MPV.
    High quality at a consistent level is what is needed from Proton.

• My current exora also can easily reach 150-160 given that the aircond is off and only few peoples inside the car..can’t imagine how fast this exora fl acelerate..nice proton :)

• theking on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:37 am

No need to off aircond la bro. My exo 1.6L auto fully loaded can easily reach 170km. U only need to press the pedal to metal hihihi

• hantu on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:05 am

Wah. What kind of lubricants and fuel that are you used?

• Mega/Liverpool on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Here in the UK we are about to entre “Peek Oil”…Our North sea oil production hit peek in 2004-5. WE also spent the last 25 years “Offshoring” our means of production…..there are very few factory’s where once there were many.

As a result we have build an empire of debt, which is in the process of crashing our banking system. Our money, the UK £ is going to start to fall again……the days of buying German cars will come to a swift end.

With the collaspe of the £, petrol will rocket, money will be short……people will require new cars to replace their old expensive to run BMW’S ( don’t laugh but i see lots of 10 year ones driven by people with little money).

A nice, moden CHEAP to run compact low CO2……….could proton fill that gap like they did in the 90’s?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwC6fF3SR9w
    Mike/Liverpool

• rosdi on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:20 am

That is top gear? Quite informative compared to current one run by that fat guy…

• Jimmy on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Problems with chief designer! Selected not based on capability.

• waja10 on Jun 08, 2011 at 11:20 pm

yap, so outdated interior look. so high tech CAD/CAE now, the design totally can’t accept it.

• Annoy-nimal on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Designer can propose a design, but its subjected to approval from production guys… If its deemed not practical or too difficult to manufacture, or too costly, they will have to change it. Material selection is another aspect when it comes to interiors…

These are the very reason why actual products differ so much from the concepts… Give them time.

• makeitmine on Jun 08, 2011 at 10:10 pm

What if you add a 267 Degree Street Performance High Cam Shaft (1 Pair) & T7 Aluminum Billet Cam Pulley (1 Pair) to Proton Exora?

Will it improve Horse Power: 30 – 40hp, average Dyno HP: 165 – 171bhp, and improve pickup toque: 30% ?

• fazron80 on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:06 am

Add a standalone ECU. Cam Pulley doesn’t increase power. Just adjust the power curve band. Cam Shaft alone can’t add 30HP.

• BAJET on Jun 08, 2011 at 10:17 pm

why don’t proton design exora as beautiful as ford grand c-max
    some more exora seat look a bit cheap

• theanswer on Jun 08, 2011 at 10:54 pm

i think saw these kind of exora few days ago at jalan ukm-bangi lama. to bad the exora was on the opposite direction. but i noticed the black bumper n trade plate.

• theanswer on Jun 08, 2011 at 10:56 pm

noticed the rear disc brake? hurmm..at least the mpv power is better than current campro cps. wait n see..wait n see..

• Cowabunga! on Jun 08, 2011 at 11:06 pm

small rims…wow…like…WOW..
    I can serious fit those rims into the rear window easily…

one of those Top Gear experiments….

• waja10 on Jun 08, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Proton please update your Exora FL with
    1. more decent looking dashboard, now look like so outdated, your should think more on sell in international with nice looking dashboard.
    2. Project head lamp please … make more elegent and almost std now for 60K +
    3. better Audio Head unit amd BETTER SPEAKER … make it 6 speaker or 7.1 … u know audio system very importance in MPV ..
    4. Folder Side mirror VERY Imnportance in Exora. so big size Exora very need it for eazy parking and avoid motorcycle BANG it duing traffic Jam.

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 08, 2011 at 11:45 pm

head to head with the VW touran? ambitious.. but what about built quality? to be seen real soon

• Turbo power is one thing, but can it be fuel efficient like current direct injection engines??

• ayamxxx on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:27 am

I’m just impressed with the Kenari Turbo Engine, ahahha

• Rosmah on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:33 am

Ceh still not big enuf to load up all my shopping bags from London and NY.

• sukasuki on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:08 am

i thought rosmah brought all her shopping stuff using lorry??no need to use exora lah.

• Nairul on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:43 am

no matter what P1 do ppl will forever bash it…..sumtimes too stupid to campare imported car with different segment from p1.
    semua manufacturer kereta ada kelebihan dan kekurangan. xder apa yg perfect kalau manusia yg bt.
    respect kelebnihan dan nilai kekurangan tu dgn cara yg bijak..bkn bash ikut suka hati jerk mcm la korang ni car experts. klau korang power sgt apa kata korang gunakaan kepandaian korang tuh contribute utk industry kita dr segi design keter ke engine ke apa2 je la..kan itu lbh bgs dari dok ngutuk mcm korang bagus sgt2…..

• Nairul…wat u said is true enough….people did bash Proton for a reason….after 25 years, proton still struggle to produce a good cars. the sad part is, y after 25 years proton still be a pampered retarded bloke? I believe Malaysian deserved better apart from proton

• farizY on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:19 pm

true, so true, why people bash? you’ve explained it, sir!! ;p

• Guys, common..we shd support P1 & P2..even how bad they r..kita orang Malaysiakan..come to think of it, dun think that Toyota/Honda/Merc or even Beemer can make it this far if not because of the help of their own people (rakyat) initially..it is just that they (P1 & P2) should be open to criticsm and keep on improving their product offering..if you have money, buy Japanese or continental..no need to bash our local products..let us support them..who knows one day we will have our own Lexus brand..
    Just wondering, turbo for MPV is good for pick up but dont go too fast since MPV is meant to be a family vehicle..safety should come first..I pity those kids who parents driving a MPV behaving lika an F1 driver..if you want to race..buy sports cars …lol

• izack04 on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:50 am

Good effort from proton, new ability this time…..
    My curent exora FL works well…..no problem on top end acceleration
    Never had problem reaching 140-160kmh thx to cps-vim
    Hope this turbo solve the laziness on normal city acceleration <3000 rpm
    I never heard any noice from outside when driving…just conversation and radio
    Its a pleasure to drive an exora with comfort other than driving my civic EK4

• Jonasi on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:04 am

all cars eventually reach 140-160 wat. what’s the big huh ha here. Stupid throttle responce always change gears. Purrr

• blackjkx on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:53 am

When ur kancil 660 manual u stomp that bloody gas pedal in first gear also can quick accelerate what, blasting like hell..the engine screaming also like hell..
    so dude, quick-accelerating that bloody exora from 0-60 in how many-many sec?
    I’ve drove it once, the even ‘basic acceleration’ needed when i was about to exit one junction was not there at all! half loaded with kids/wife, car accelerate so slow, other car coming,give high beam..u know what the bloody feeling was eh

• Abraham Tawi on Jun 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm

I agree, my mom has one and if the rpm is below 3k, its like hardly moving. However after nearly a couple years using the car, you will know how to use it.

When launching from a standstill, you have to press the accelerator pedal all the way down and let the rpm climb to 4.5k which is where all the torque is. Do it for the first and second gear, then you will reach 70km/h which is a reasonable speed which takes about 10seconds +- depending on load. Cheers :)

• cardreamer on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:11 am

Hi there,

To be honest, at the lauch of exora few years back i am quite exited abt it..but after test driving it..it put me down…i don’t really mind abt the interior design that time…though i still feel the exterior and the interior design is too old style and van-like…

With the possibility of introducing a supposedly more power new engine, i look forward for a totally new facelift Exora that can match the design of new trends such as the Kia and Hyundai..

What i do not like abt exora, apart from the existing engine:

1. Dash design too old fashioned and very van like
    2. The seats sizes not matching the interior space..look at the spaces between the front seat and the door…huge gap..
    3. Rear design not matching the front look..looks like a sedan in front, but it turns out to be an old van at the back.
    4. Roof line too high..how often people carry a cupboard inside exora?
    5. Plastic quality..very hard and cheap..but if good design applies, people can make do with cheap plastic in most cases..

What i like:
    1. Good handling and suspension – comfort and firm in balanced
    2. The price of course
    3. Space..lots of them
    4. cost of maintenance..probably lower than others..

Am seriously considering M5 or Stream right now…been waiting for a right proton for me for too long already…and it seems that it is not coming to me…

Anybody knows any special promotion for M5 or Stream or else for this coming raya?..Thx..

• mizzuddin on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:11 am

haiyyaaa… thinking of special promo when gonna buy M5 / stream..?

• David on Jun 12, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Bro, apart from those two models, why not give the Kia Rondo a try? It’s never underpowered, as it’s fitted with a 2.0 engine which i find adequate for such a heavy car. It’s also kinda spacious, too, and at 82k, rather reasonably priced. You won’t see too many of it on the roads, though, as it’s rather under-rated for an MPV that’s miles ahead of the Grand Livina, Alza, Exora, and even the Stream. Give it a shot mate, it’s better than what i first thought. Cheers.

• mizzuddin on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:31 am

are there any real issue..? i think u should ask the owner if they maintain their car accordingly… high precision engineering products cannot be maintain suka2 hati punya… even proton also la mate…

i’ve known many proton owner, buy lubricants and filters from spare-part shop… fit cheap headlamp, spotlight and audio upgrade from ahbeng shop… some even choose common w/shop only to evade the rm60 / rm120 labour charge…

• theGrump on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:06 pm

that is not testing actually, thats early advertising. just to get people excited over the exora. actually proton did that on purpose putting tapes for diguise. they actually want to show off and get attention. LAME

• bila nak launch??? can’t wait!!!

• waimak on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:11 pm

I have been following the news on PROTON’s Exora with great interest especially when DSZ announced a new engine will be fitted into it this year. It is good to know a well packaged 7-seater like the Exora will receive a new engine. It would boost Exora’s image as a product and PROTON as a brand much so when its performance has drawn critics after he launch day. Exora’s owners too perhaps could renew their ego.

A turbo-charged engine is relatively new here and a ‘Turbo-ed’ Exora sparks reaction to the extent that many had it wrong even with the terminology – get that?. Today, down-sizing the engine to achieve fuel efficiency and meet regulatory requirements have been manufacturers’ main objective particularly those in Europe. This is because by way of turbo-charging a small engine it would give power equals to of a large engine and make it more fuel efficient – exactly what PROTON is aiming for. Research revealed that turbo industry will continue to grow significantly every year. This is evident in the European models such as the new VW’s Sharan, Ford’s Galaxy and Peugeot’s 5008.

Exora as I know it isn’t intended to beat those of VW’s or Peugeot’s but rather locals’ favorites such as Toyota’s Avanza, Naza’s Citra II/ Kia’s Rondo and Nissan’s Livina. The engine for the Exora known as ‘CFE’ by now should improve Exora’s rating, the area where CPS wasn’t be able to do before. However, most importantly at this stage, if Exora ever were to receive a new engine, PROTON should never aim at beating these guys anymore. Exora have to be better and should outshines them all! All the best..

• nolan on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:25 am

stupid Kenari in YRV engine………no wonder cannot catch up….

• sfssd on Jun 10, 2011 at 11:23 am

I can imagine the power when they put the Campro Fuel Efficiency engine in the future Persona Replacement, it’s gonna be quick, and the future owners might probably swap the turbo into a more powerful unit, up the boost a little, tweak the ECU, hehehe……

• itititik on Jun 12, 2011 at 8:29 pm

should test drive in circuit, lu ingat highway max speed for display kah? If acc later proton pay kah?

• BinLaden on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:19 am

terbaik dr proton…bila nk kuar!!!!

• pojan kacak on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:46 pm

walopon aku ada sikit -ve sentimen dgn prton.. aku pn suka tgk development dia.. hopefully 1 day aku terbuka hati nk beli p1.. hehehe

• chibi on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:33 pm

the benchmark for fast would be like this.example: take batu 3 toll to klang.and,if u can reached 180kph just before stadium shah alam exit(the 1st exit from toll batu 3 to klang),it can be considered fast.otherwise,just keep quiet.

professional test driver would easily beat an amateur,eventho he is in k3vet.i just hope that the new exora with super@turbocharged will solved the previous problems.its time for proton to grow,make good cars.