Nissan Latio gets facelifted – range now down to two variants, a hatchback and a sedan; hatch goes 1.8L

Edaran Tan Chong Motor has announced the introduction of the facelifted Nissan Latio. The model range, which previously consisted of four variants (three sedan, one hatchback), has now been scaled down to two, a hatchback and a sedan, both in Comfort level specification.

The biggest change, aside from the cosmetic enhancements, is with the hatchback, which is now available only in 1.8 litre guise. The car gets the MR18DE mill, which offers 126 PS at 5,200 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 4,800 rpm.

As for the sedan, that which has been retained is the entry-level unit previously, and it wears the trusted HR16DE 1.6 litre engine, with 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 153 Nm at 4,400 rpm the figures. It’s only available with an auto transmission.

For the facelift, the Latio hatchback gets a newly-designed front grille and front bumper, as well as a new rear bumper, which the company says “gives a presence of motion and energy.” The car also gets new headlamps, and in the case of the hatch, new rear lamps as well. The sedan gets the front bumper and grille job, but no changes to the rear.

Inside the cabin, the Latio hatchback now comes with steering wheel audio controls and a new audio head-unit player with an Auxiliary input for portable audio devices. It also features a new white background meter display, replete with silver trim for the instrument dial cluster. Elsewhere, the hatchback is now equipped with an automatic air-conditioner system with digital display, and the trip meter readout now offers instant and average fuel readings.

The Latio 1.8 AT hatchback is priced at RM99,800, while the 1.6 AT sedan goes for RM89,800, both on-the-road inclusive of insurance; Latio buyers will also get a Solar Gard Armorcoat tinting package worth RM1,400 thrown in for free.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• CrabStick on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:20 pm

ONE WORD! FUGLY!!!

• This boxy still on sale. Hardly see on the road.

• inspirasi on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:13 am

when it first launched, i asked, why no 1.8 for hatchback?

and 6 years later they have it.

it took them 4 years. no wonder they need huge discount to move their cars.

• _xXx_ on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:52 am

Designed by AhPek for AhPeks

• policeman on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:37 pm

I mourn the death of the manual transmission.

• theanswer on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:40 pm

latio/tiida manual comes in 6 speed..nyum3 ;p

• Yeah sad, I wish the latio 1.8 HB came with a 6-speed manual shifter like in the other ASEAN markets.

• Nissan should bring the latest LATIO/TIIDA instead of this B-segment.

• Agree! others already going for all new 2nd generation latio, we still get the old model?
      Why ETC always bring old models? Is the marketing do their job???

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:40 am

remember. singapore and japan launched this lation in 2004. tan chong bring into malaysia only in 2006. thats 2 years delay.

• Chris on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Arrgh…not this one. Will hold out for the second generation revealed earlier this year in Shanghai…Powered by yummy 188 hp turbocharged 1.6L four-cylinder petrol engine with gasoline direct injection paired with a CVT transmission. Come on TC!

• pengu on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:52 pm

ape bole buat…asean market mmg mcm ni la…zzzzzzzzz

• Lim Kopi on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:06 pm

This car doesn’t need a facelift ….

IT NEEDS TO BE COMPLETELY REDESIGNED !!! :)

• shawal on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:18 pm

This nissan latio/tiida/versa was first introduced way back in 2004 , this so called ‘facelift’ was introduced wayy back in 2008…we’re 3 years behind…
    and the new latio was just recently unveiled in april….

unless it comes with a 35%, no point in getting this car…

• TCM Please skip this & bring in Sunny.
    Tilda/Latio r not here nor there.

• Jimmy on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Better buy GL, that’s what most Malaysian Nissan buyers did.

• 1.8L so what? A 1.4L TSI could shame it both in power and fuel economy.
    No Turbo No Best.

Japs are getting overthrown by european engineering..

• inspirasi on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:14 am

99k? a 92k inspira can beat it upside down, inside out.

• Tell that to the 93k mighty 1.5 vios trd owner!!!

• inspira rides like a boat

• Yup, Inspira beats in upside down, inside out. Oh, and Inspira also gives you hopeless FC numbers.

It’s like getting some funky stuff from a night out with a girl who says she’s a girl but is actually a “rebadged” guy…

Go Inspira!!

• I hate facelifted coz all of them are so lazy to design the brand new model and facelifted a bit for a out of date model ==’ should learn from Europe brands like Mercedes Benz new C class unless they changed the whole new headlight as a facelifted!!!

• You obviously don’t know the economics of “maintaining what works” vs niche market.

Good for you. Ignorance is bliss.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:21 am

Tan Chong as ever only give us crap that are years old. Dont really understand why cant they give us soemthing quick. The 370Z was nearly a year late, so was the Murano. Teana was 2 years late, GTR R35 never came, Qashqai never came, Livina X-Gear which was available in Indonesia since 2006 comes here in 2011. Absurb, totally rubbish. The lame reason of cars being expensive if CBU is not exceptable. Both Mazda and Mitubishi are having an all CBU line up and are still charging very competitively.

Mazda and Honda are still the leader in Malaysia in terms of giving us new tech for Jap brands, Mitsubishi is joining them recently……. Toyota and Suzuki still some way behind……….

• bReaL on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:31 am

powerless powerplant

• Tandoori on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:32 am

why still NO SAFETY features added??? Pls la!

• treblecase on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:18 am

Oh well, this is ETC afterall. Remember how long they maintain the Sunny in their model line-up? And goodness me, that Vannette thingy still in the line-up!!

• Yuzdi on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Vannette already stopped selling. They ask u to buy Nissan Urvan. Dat vannette already outdated model. Shud bring in New Vannette which now in Japan back since 2009 if not mistaken. Mitsu ask for rebadge in Japan as Delica model.

• drMpower on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:28 am

nissan lacking in the department where vios-city-forte doing duels
    this tiida/versa/latio or whatever u call it doesnt really cut the mustard
    forte is first gen but all new model where as vios and city already second model/facelifted

but this is huge by anyone standard for this class
    i mean just look at the sheer size of the body
    overally its quite impressive and the impul versions – except for the hideous front face – are stunning. were stunning i should say
    i had chances to buy this couple years back but the city gave me too much values compare to this, for sub 90k segment

i know they have to fill the game and maybe get some piece of the cake for this segment
    but latio is aged.

• taboogen on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:45 am

if the sales person come to me and told me the old version is the facelift unit.. i will just believe it.. no different at all….

• Critics on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:28 am

This Nissan – launching what had been launched some years back in S’pore and Thai! Shit now my latio sports have no more value!

• Critics on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:36 am

this is a good car….of course cannot lah compare with TSI/Mivec/Vtec. But very reliable and nissan service is best in some survey and cost of maintaining still very affordable. I was once nailed by a GTI he did it on purpose is ok I give way because i m out of his segment. on long journey I was once hit 180km/h without much hassle….is a good car in his own territory.

• taboogen on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:58 am

u mean in its own world only lah… no wonder…

• This is one rubbish car.

• CK200H on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:19 am

U r correct. My N16 still in good condition after 6 yrs with me. Compare to my friend’s City/Vios, the NVH of these cars increases. Still think Nissan provides quality for this price range , i think suits uncle more.

• Georgie on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:44 am

I understand your view, the Latio is indeed a good car compared to other entry level sedan, but for its price range, ETC is pushing the consumer too far. For a model that has been near to the end of its life cycle, charging 99k for the hatchback is a blatant rip off.

For example Kia is clearing out their old model stock such as the Citra and Spectra at very cheap prices (even comparable to national car price range). Can u believe that ETC still charges RM 136k for an outdated Nissan Serena & RM89k for the very old Nissan Sentra?

• Expatriate VN on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:14 am

WTF ETC, are you kidding and still offer facelift to this model. China already launch the latest model yet you still do facelift hear. What a crap!

ETC treat Bodohland as dumping ground for old junk. Look at other model like Serena C24, it is already 2 generation behind Japs (C26), and forget about Sentra junk.

• MR Expatriate VN …..

BODOHLAND?? FURKK U u bloody bastard..u curse ETC, or THE G or NISSAN, but stop cursing ur own LAND, BASTARD….

• Expatriate VN on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:10 pm

“BODOHLAND?? FURKK U” is refer to those bastards corrupted politicians, cronies, AP King, or brainless people like you! So they deserve it. I love and loyal to Malaysia, including paying 5 figure income tax. Bodohland is not equal with my beloved country call Malaysia, it is not wrtten in constitution and not recognise by UN.

Either you have low IQ to understand, or you need mental healthness check!

• Malayland on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:57 am

Then..what land u are refering to??? Again..if u anger with people..say people..don’t say other word..u talk rubbish..u get rubbish..and u think other people don’t pay a tax?? Don’t be so desperate say my land is bodoh..u are lucky has been accepted in here in this land..so respected it..

• Malayland on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:44 am

Alo u stupid expaxtriate with big mouth. Mind your language..don’t forget where u come from..goback to your cleverland..why u so bodoh still in here??

• I’m not to sure if we will ever be getting the 2nd generation Latio has it has moved up to C-segment, and Sylphy is currently the sole C-segment model in Malaysia for Nissan.

• Fluid on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:02 am

You guys talk too much crap… furthermore, you can’t put your money where your hole resides

• cch8694 on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:08 am

Feel like nothing ever change… The Sedan facelift dashboard more ugly

• Vincent on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:09 am

Cannot imaging why ETC want to facelift a slow selling car… At the same price and segment level, there are few better choice.

I wonder if the sales firgure can reach 1000 unit in 1 year time…

• bobdbilder on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:26 am

The still-in-production 1.6 Sentra will still outsell these models. But have a look at it; the hatch needs to have a 1.8 engine against a sedan to justify the higher price.

A 2 box design is supposed to be more economical to produce compared to a sedan, while making the most space per kg of steel it uses.

• Jerry on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:47 am

ETC’s still selling them because these cars are honest to good appliances for anyone who wants a ride to get them from A to B without fuss and reliably. Sunny and Latio are not a driver’s car.

The Latio’s remarkably quiet and refined at city pace. But ride’s poor at highway speed and its handling is all over the place at any speed above 120kph. A fine machine for anyone who doesn’t like cars. I am driving a leased ’09 facelifted 1.5 Latio sedan in Singapore.

• intermilan on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:00 am

ETC don’t focus on Latio since the sale almost negligible.

Only 518 Latios delivered by Aug 2011. Overall, Nissan is doing well with 21,035.

Latio only contribute 2.5%… So ETC just consolidate the number of models and ‘play along’ lah..

Maybe the facelift could beef up the sale figure again..
    beside the time has come for the facelift.. (wow!) .. so just do it.

Pricing wise,
    The hatchback is similar to Peugeot 308 VTi.
    The sedan is with City E (high spec) and Vios G Limited.

• draftboy on Sep 30, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Last early year before I want buy a car, I have make research between city, vios, latio & forte. But at the end I go for City. Only a ‘unique’ person will go for latio. For me this car is not suitable for young guy. Better go for forte instead of latio. TCM should not put the price tag as same as city. Ok, as example I make comparison with city. Latio don’t have rear disc brake, fog lamp, only 4 speed A/T, ugly design, ugly beige. Nissan, if u wanna win customer heart please learn from Korean. Just look at them how successful they are now with their stylish and modern car.

• tikus on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Latio Hatch have soft touch interior and keyless entry and City,Vios is all hard plastic.

• draftboy on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Please doing homework…What I tell & compared is for city e-spec, vios g-spec, forte 1.6 & latio 1.6 for that day at last year. And price range is around rm85k to rm90k. For facelifted latio hatch you can’t match with them. Coz it’s has 1.8L engine and price tag rm99k. Better I choose cevy cruze or forte 2.0 for that price…

• Dookie on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:10 pm

You should test Kia Forte, Suzuki SX4, Mazda 2 or Ford Fiesta as well.

• buskerhatesTnH on Oct 01, 2011 at 2:54 pm

u kenot compare nissan to honda and toyota…. it’s like comparing gold and shit

honda is shit… so now u r driving shit…
        wtf is wrong with ur brain dude? u said u made research… but u bought honda shitty. u dont need brain and research to own a honda shitty….

please go kill ur self, u dont deserve to live in this world….

• draftboy on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:31 pm

haha…brainless T&H basher… I guess you are nissan die hard fan… Don’t care if nissan doing bad & ugly with their car you still support them… Nissan doing superb job with GTR but not for family car like latio…

• inspirasi on Sep 30, 2011 at 5:08 pm

latio vs 308vti?

there is no match, lol.

308vti will beat it with 4 airbags, without taking into account the world famous prince engine, ride quality, interior, and the status.

• tikus on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:00 am

True…Pug 308 VTI beats Latio kau kau…But I dont think so for Mazda 2 or Fiesta can coz It’s all hard plastic,look cheapo.Haven’t try on suzuki SX4.

• uncle sam on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:17 pm

i luve this car. coz can see all the uncle-ness in it.
    it just oozes uncle-ness from any angle. all uncle and auntie agree w me ?

i also need good nvh coz i wan my car to be as quiet as coffin.

• C.I.T.Y™ on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:25 pm

love the sarcasm!

• Dont jeles on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:32 am

i think the young don’t have enough budget like their uncle & auntie. So they deserve the chepo one, haha, that is bettr than none.

• speedyoko on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Tan Chong sucks! stop the bullshit, bring the latest model already!!! Come One!!
    Suzuki need to bring in the latest swift too, instead of the stupid facelift with the old model!

• stephen on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Admin should share the picture of those TC managers all giving thumbs up infront of the car…..which is a very common scene for TC when they have new car….I always like to laugh on it as it is so fake and so China ah pek :P

or maybe they don’t know how to give thumb up now on this car since the shipment is even worst than sentra :P

• Don’t see you saying the same thing when the “ahpeks” in T or H do the same thing.

Oh sorry, it’s because they are japs

You like to lick them Jap boots don’t you?

Figures.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:59 am

this isn’t a bad car to be honest. just that its competitors are too strong.

• Peace out on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:22 am

It’s a shame tan Chong does business in that way

• buskerhatesTnH on Oct 01, 2011 at 2:45 pm

a car with little fans….

• Hey Ah Chong, still waiting for your official GT-R la!

• johnson on Oct 02, 2011 at 12:40 am

ugly chinaman type of car.

• boring~~~this is too old comparing with other models…hmm…typical japanese..sell same car for almost 10yrs,old desgn,old technologies to our country~~its not their fault by the way,cos msian love it..”i own japanese car!”mentality~hahahaaa

• cch8694 on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Before that think to wait for latio facelift see got any changers or not… but now i think will make decision to buy toyota Vios is better…. Dont know TC management how to make decision. The technologies of the car total cannot compare to toyota vios and honda city even kia forte….