Volkswagen Tiguan facelift arrives in Malaysia – RM237k

The facelifted Volkswagen Tiguan, which made its debut in Geneva earlier this year, has quietly made its way into VW showrooms in Malaysia. Reader Farhan spotted an example in a JB outlet, and duly snapped a couple of photos for us.

It’s available in a single engine variant form, this being a 2.0 litre TSI unit offering 210 PS at 5,300 to 6,200 rpm and 280 Nm of torque at 1,700-5,200 rpm, and the 4MOTION permanent all-wheel drive vehicle also wears a seven-speed DSG transmission.

Features for the SUV, as listed on the VGM website, include Vienna upholstery leather seats, six airbags (front, side and front/rear curtain), bi-xenon headlamps with integrated LED daytime running lights, cruise control, electronic parking brake with an Auto Hold function, speed sensitive electro-mechanical power steering as well as park distance control PDC, replete with ‘Rear Assist’ rear view camera, among others.

The Tiguan 2.0 TSI, which sits on 17-inch New Orleans style alloys wrapped with 235/55 series rubbers, is priced at RM236,888 on the road, without insurance. A tip of the hat to Farhan for the spot.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• i like volkswagen car, the design is good

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm

the spec and tech are good, but their cars looks too similar to each other…

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:07 pm

i respect your ideas but i have to reject it in terms of the interior. feels very plasticky. well, essentially it comes from the golf plus.

• Carl Wong on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:42 pm

You don’t like plastics? Good but the interior of your car will be almost empty…………

• I’m surprise there is no promo as per the recent trio

• hmm…the front light, it doesn’t look like VW, more like Audi i would say..yes i know VW owns Audi, but VW have their own image right? well im just saying..

• Simon Ng on Oct 27, 2011 at 4:28 pm

I agree with you. Seems that this LED light has been over used. There were a lot of wow factor when it first appeared on Audi. Now everyone seems to have it.

It is absolutely nothing wrong with LED light. Just that I am very sure car designers out there can do better.

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 4:58 pm

daytime running light (DRL) is required on all new cars begining 2011 in europe due low visibility, especially during winter, due to mist (kabus). similarly in Malaysia, you may switch on your light while driving in rain for others to see you better. that’s why all car have it now, not just Audi.

• Black Dog on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:29 pm

LEd lights are more a necessity in many countries with fog, snow and probably smoke in Indon! In Malaysia unless flash floods lah!

• Cars2lover on Oct 27, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Did Merc, BMW, Audi do the same thing?

• Maserati on Oct 27, 2011 at 2:19 pm

This car was at vw showroom long time ago. When the jetta was launched, it was already there.

• Downs on Oct 27, 2011 at 2:54 pm

An interesting note is that the price has gone down from 251k for the pre-facelift model to 236k for this model. Engine is similar to the golf gti. Basically it’s a bigger version of the gti and very much similar to the Audi Q5, albeit 100k cheaper. It’s also exclusively made in Wolfsburg, Germany, which is currently the only factory that produces this model. Good value for money IMHO.

• Yup, made in wolfburg….and the golf in msia is made in wolfburg too

• Fiction hero on Oct 27, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Lying is a bad behaviour IMHO the front design resemble New Saga better take Audi TT

• Downs on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Who’s lying? The only lie i see is comparing a compact SUV to a 2 dour coupe. Old Saga looked like old golf. New Saga looks like new golf. Ok what. Everyone’s happy. Hehe.

• mondo on Oct 27, 2011 at 4:25 pm

OPS removed?

• kenot on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:36 pm

which one is better?Kia sportage or this tiguan. look like they got the same spec.

• Malaysian man on Oct 27, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Makes you wonder how it fares up against the diesel santa fe, especially in the engine department.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:14 pm

The challenger of X1. Interested see the car selling reports down the road..:)

I support this X1 far too expensive with lousy spec…(hope this will make BMW lower X1 price…:)

• TopGear on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:32 pm

is priced lower at around RM210K … it will definetely storm d market…

• TopGear on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:43 pm

i have seen this car at VW showroom at Penchala… is smaller than a CRV….
    darker colours looks nicer..

• Jimmy on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Sportage lebih cantiq.
    X1 is a better buy with same kind of price, only marginally smaller.
    Also, interior feels as cheap as a CRV.
    Sorrylah, no support for you VW this particular time.

• BMW X1 and VW Tiguan nothing to said about… the brands killed the Kia Logo forever!

• This thing is worth no more than the street price of CRV in my book. Well done, VW. Greed is good.

• Topgear on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:00 am

Jimmy : X1 petrol is not AWD, no led DRL, with single cd changer, no auto hold function, hp a lot less than tiguan’s 210 hp … At rm238,888k.. Definetely tiguan is better…i have driven both car before… Tiguan interior quality is better…

DSZ: r u kidding d spec, n accesories, built quality, handling of Tiguan cannot be compared to a CRV .. Tiguan is of a higher class… We r living in malaysia… Have to use malaysian price to compare… If tiguan is selling at crv price rm147k.. Then crv should be selling below rm100k .. iMHO

• gomok on Oct 28, 2011 at 8:42 am

Crv drive like kembara……..ohhhh bcoz it is honda, nvm overpriced….typical Msian

• Nice car on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:29 am

US selling $22,840.00 vs Malaysia $237,000.00
    Nice car but not value for money.

• Go live in the US la .

• Downs on Oct 28, 2011 at 2:27 pm

That’s for the lowest spec. Not the same as the one here.

• ABTguy on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Practically for every car model launch in Malaysia (bar Potong & P2), you DON”T compare with US price.

That makes us very sick and not to vote for BN.

• i think the tiguan is the least sellable model in malaysia

• seancorr on Dec 20, 2011 at 4:21 pm

This Tiguan should have more standard features like….front parking sensors? The Jetta has it so why not the CBU Tiguan? Also missing in the list is Bluetooth connectivity and probably electric seats for the front passenger?