Govt gives oil companies deadline extension to produce Euro 4 grade diesel – they now have until 2014

It was supposed to be 2012, but it looks like we won’t be getting Euro 4 or Euro 5 grade diesel next year after all. This is because the government has given petroleum companies a two-year extension to the original deadline to offer better quality fuel. They now have until 2014 to roll out Euro 4 fuel.

This was revealed by Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha, who said that the oil companies requested for a later date, claiming that they weren’t ready to upgrade. “The industry has, however requested for an extension, saying that it was not ready to make the change.

“Although the government has agreed to the extension, the delay is ultimately hindering the progress of diesel usage in the country. In Europe, about 70% of new vehicles run on the higher grades of diesel,” Kong added, reminding us of what we’re missing out.

So it looks like Malaysia will continue to remain as a laggard in fuel quality, even as our neighbours and supposedly less sophisticated markets like India and China move up to better stuff. As the world moves on, it will become even harder and not worthwhile for manufacturers to “custom make” and dumb down engines to suit our Euro 2M pumps. Sad news, for both car enthusiasts and the environment.

Learn more about fuel standards in our previous post here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• LatukBandar on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:11 am

i hate to say this… it gotta be proton. with euro 4 diesel, we get more mileage, therefore more reason to buy euro 4 diesel compatible car.

• M'sian Salvatore on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:17 am

undoubtedly yes imo too

• jamal on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:54 am

i dont think its about proton. its more about subsidy issues. higher grade diesel means higher subsidies. well proton might be 30% of the cause. 70% subsidies issue, imho.

• gabla on Nov 20, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Offer lower quality diesel and then high performance diesel engine will suffer. Engine damage will start and the black smoke will come out. JAS will then sue. What a way to make more money by the Gov…

• Upset Man on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:47 am

So what happens to all the lying BMW salesman who assured and promised their F10 520d customers that Euro 4 diesel would be introduced by 2011 or the latest 2012?

BMW, pls check your salesman. This is misleading and a misrepresentation. People bought the diesel cars upon your assurance that clean diesel was “around the corner”. In overseas, a class action suit would be brought upon you. Hopefully in Malaysia, F10 520d owners would do the same.

You should compensate your 520d owners as they are stuck with dirty diesel for another 3 more years. Knowing Malaysia, that also would be either late 2014 or another extension to 2017.

• Can always try small claims court. Not sure how far it will get though

• Wallstreet on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:59 am

All come to one issue again, Proton. How long more will Proton drag the whole motor industry? Apparently the tax incentives given to hybrid is again because of Proton who are actively looking to roll out one. IMO diesel is the way to go instead of hybrid. Diesel return good fuel consumption and most importantly unlike hybrid, WITHOUT taking away the fun of driving.

• blue-traveler on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:50 am

hey to all bros, if you read this to the end of this long lists of posts, you will notice that all if not most, of the “usual suspect” of P1/Bn defenders are not here or have not respond to this topic, as of this time. Yet?! (time of this post is 1040am 16/11/11) Guess “no one” here can honestly deny that the govt IS NOT helping someone with this pass other the “o’-so-helpless” international oil companies including ours.

• skiborne on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:00 am

correct me if im wrong,
      what u meant was, diesel grade is low because of proton?

• kington on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:27 am

I am very disappointed with this. I get reaaly angry when i see when i see our lorries and busses spewing black smoke that could bring visibility down to nil when you’re behind one. And wasn;t it our prime minister who announced that we are to reduce our emmissions within the next few years?

Mr Udasalleh, you really trust every single word the Govt tells you? I’m not being biased here but does it really make sense. I think it’s more of how the Govt can WORK with the oil companies so THEY MAY introduce better diesels here. Put simply, it’s a chicken and egg situation.

• Vincent on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:30 am

Yup, same opinion as you. It got to be local car industries that influecing the decision. I don’t see any reason petroleum company cannot produce Euro 4 and above std of deisel, where they have done it in others country….

Imaging diesel car like ford focus, RM100 diesel can move 1000KM. It mean RM0.10 per KM. IF we compare with average national car petrol fuel consumption, it is about RM0.17 per KM.

In other word, if you spend RM600 a month on national car, you need only to spend RM353 per month. Saving of RM 247 per month mean you can afford RM21000 higher value car without spending extra.

• y proton?…. proton dont even have diesel engine. proton does make any single cent from selling car with diesel engine, so y they want to influence gov to delay euro-4? infact the sooner malaysian get euro-4, the better for them because they can get euro-4 diesel engine from china for both local and oversea market, rather than have to maintain euro-2 engine for local and euro-4 for oversea market, if they ever decide to go diesel for local.

because they afraid more diesel engine coming in and jeopardy proton? hey, the gov can make more money with tax if more car manu want to bring in diesel engine.

• peter_pj on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:09 am

The Focus TDCi costs about RM130k …Your RM21,000 does not bring it much nearer from a national car price anyhow

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:47 am

I don’t see how proton is related to this issue because proton doesn’t produce fuel. do you get cheap diesel car around? there’s no difference between petrol or diesel car import tax. if you want cheap diesel car, ask Toyota or Honda to produce it in Thai then import it here just like their petrol cars.
      The main problem is the oil refineries in Malaysia are not willing to upgrade their facilities, which means it could be Petronas, Shell or any other refineries. the upgrade is not cheap while the output volume could be very little, the market are too small as there are not many cars using diesel compared to petrol. Toyota and Honda didn’t produce diesel cars in Thai, Indo or Malaysia, which means all diesel cars could be CBU from Europe or non-Asean, and the import tax is not cheap. So, even if the Euro4 diesel available now, only those who buy diesel 4WD, Mercedes or BMW cars could be enjoying it. Lorries and busses are currently using old engines and if they are required to upgrade as well, it might give a reason for transport and retailers to increase price of products due to higher transportation cost. Then, if Gov introduce dual pricing for diesel (Euro2 and Euro4) just like petrol (RON95 and RON97), expect the price of Euro4 diesel to be as high as RON97, which will further discourage people from buying Euro4 diesel cars and making the output from refineries even smaller.
      the quickest solution is to import Euro4 diesel from other countries while our refineries upgrading their facilities to produce Euro4, not just for local consumptions but for exports too, just like what Singapore did. and make a regulation that require all new diesel vehicles must be Euro4 or Euro5 compliant starting next year. Euro4 diesel import can be subsidised for a while until our own refineries could start their own Euro4 diesel production.

• dzulx on Nov 16, 2011 at 4:19 pm

OMG.. my cat died… this gotta be proton….

• mouse on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:58 pm

the plague now started in KL because too many rats live now that your predator cat has died… and all because of Proton! =)) kakakaka

• Littlefire on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:03 am

Reminded me about the Thunder Cat cartoon logo… lolz..

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:07 pm

is this how Malaysian are thinking? simply blame other people? Proton doesn’t have hybrid cars, but I don’t see proton asking Gov to block hybrid cars from coming in, the hybrids even get full exemption from import and excise duties! so I don’t think the lack of diesel cars here is due to Proton asking the Gov to delay Euro4 / 5 diesel just because they don’t have diesel car in their line-ups. most of diesel cars are CBU from Europe or non-Asean which will have high import tax, so ask Toyota and Honda, why don’t they make diesel cars in Thai so that we can import them just as easy as petrol cars or diesel 4WD.
      but, I’m waiting for Peugeot 5008 diesel hybrid, it gives much better fuel efficiency and because it’s hybrid, we may get it with 0% import & excise duties :)

• sonyman on Nov 16, 2011 at 4:32 pm

got 5008 hybrid 4 kah? i thought 3008 hybrid 4 come first?

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm

they produced 5008 hybrid4 but very-very limited unit :(. maybe they’ll produce more later.. but yeah, 3008 could be available here soon, depending on our diesel quality

• M'sian Salvatore on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:16 am

Wayang kulit – sadiwara lah our federal govt

• Jeremy on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:20 am

I wonder the government keep extending the date for 4M diesel…
    Is it as a measure to “protect” proton also ?

• shit gov!!! by 2016 euro 6 is implement on euro and we get euro4 by 2014 ???
    by that time, those advance engine make for euro6 will unable to work with euro4 d lol!!!
    straight make it euro 6 la!! at least euro 5, euro4 is so so so so so so so so dated

• Loneranger on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:23 am

until when our govt have to follow the industry leader?

isn;t the govt have the supreme power in decision making? they shld prepare themselves once the govt have announced the regulation earlier on…..

come on..if this is the way, we won’t be on par with other country …..

• udasalleh on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:33 am

wow..! some of u guys do live your life full of distrust. must be terrible living your lives. the article clearly says the oil companies who requested the extensionn… yet u try to find fault elsewhere.

there’s a saying… if u distrust others… then why would God trust you?

• LatukBandar on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:55 am

Minister kong says oil companies request for it… yeah right. How to trust the gov when they can say something and do another?

there’s a saying… don’t follow blindly!

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:07 am

haha…Oil companies ask for it …no problem.

Rakyat ask for it, Minister wont give a shit.

• CamryLover on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:44 am

have u been living under the shell? trust the media and you’ll be misled….

• Spot on. Same thing when it comes to politics.

Never trust the media…………

• paultan media too.. so if paultan said 2014, it could be 2016 or 2020 coz media cannot be trusted.

gov cannot be trusted too.. if they said 2014, it could be end of this week or dec 2047 or never.

y fuss? nothing can be trusted… what u said and what i said.

• swoosh3553 on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:35 am

udasalleh… oil companies request for it? Or is it Petronas request for it? Shell/Mobil/BHP all are international brands that are established in India/China/UK/US…and they have grade 4/5 diesels… So are they “…saying that it was not ready to make the change” here in Malaysia? IMO, it is more of Petronas (& gov) that are not ready to make the change…

• and petronas is not an international brand?

• swoosh3553 on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Petronas is Petroleum Nasional. Local brand that is going international. I believe Petronas do not have bases all over the world (meaning supplying petrol/diesel fuels) for the market. I am not sure India and China has Petronas pump stations?

• how do you know petronas dont have that facility? or u just simply make it up?

• Yuzdi on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:07 pm

“P————-s” dun hv d capacity to refine to Euro4. Go n checklah.

They hv old machine.

If upgrade cost mils $. Election is around d corner. Doomsday is very soon next year. So y spend money now?

• ttooyyoottt on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:53 pm

LoL..,, Petronas have the largest petrol pump chn in Africa.. called Engen,, own by Petronas..,, huh..

• Yuzdi on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:12 am

Minyak kelapa laut Afrika meh….

• MCdog on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:40 am

haha, set deadline for play play? got monitor the companies progress on the upgrade or not? Did remind the companies officially or not before the deadline? The oil companies still want to delay the investment on euro 4 fuel meh? Lower sulfur increase cost per liter ka? Want to request to increase base fuel price is it? Don’t worry ,our government so business friendly one. Don’t expect much lar, AP cancellation also can delay, this one small case only.

• Feast on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:26 am

So you really believe oil companies in Malaysia is more powerful than our govt? You think they can dictate when they want to be ready?

• Simon Ng on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:05 pm

If the oil company wanted the extension. Why only two years? How did they come up with the number? The oil companies are all international players, it is not like that Malaysia is asking for something that is out of this world. They would have comply and done the upgrade in other parts of the world. What would be the penalty if they miss the deadline again?

Since when the government become so accomodative? If the government impose 1 million dollar fine for every month of delay. I can bet that these oil company would be compliant on time.

• guest on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:29 pm

hello, you are just being ignorant! Petronas is already exporting high grade diesels for the past umpteen years leaving low grade diesel for our local consumption…so please don’t give us stupid excuses like they are not ready to upgrade. It is exactly people like you who are dragging our country down!

• guest on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:17 pm

get your info right and do your homework accordingly…

domestic fuel quality is based on the spec i.e. Euro 2M developed by a technical committee consisting of representative from all oil companies operating in Malaysia, academician, automotive industry and related government agencies. so the oil companies are selling fuel based on the local spec being developed. every single parameters in the spec come with a cost depends on respective refinery configuration.

the oil companies can supply higher quality fuel i.e. Euro 4 but would the Government able to absord the extra cost incurred via the subsidy??? or perhaps consumers like you dont mind to pay the extra cost?

read more about oil refining please to understand what do u need to upgrade a refinery. get your fact right!

• not acceptable on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:14 pm

i dont mind to pay extra cost! create 2 versions of diesel, 1 is Euro2 for miskin people and another is Euro4 for pollution-conscious people! Oil companies’ profit rose 20-40% from last year, I cannot accept any excuse from oil company of not being ready to make the country less polluted!!

• guest on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:03 am

no need to read more about oil refininglah….simple common sense, singapore is going Euro5 and european countries already talking about Euro 6 and Malaysia is only planning to go Euro 4 by 2014?

by the time 2014 comes, maybe Singapore already on Euro6 and Europe has Euro 8…hahahhaa

with mindset like yours, we’ll forever be studying, extending and left behind…you know what, it’s just pure common sense….if people has already done it, why can’t us? something must be wrong somewhere…

• guest on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:57 pm

singapore is going for Euro 5 for diesel only and later Euro 4 for petrol.

well, again…most of us doesnt know what refineries need to product Euro 2, Euro 3 and Euro 4 fuel. the implication is very big not only to oil companies but also to the Government and consumers.

but the most important thing is do you know what is Euro specification all about??? what parameters covered under the specification? why do they cap that particular parameters? how does it relate to automotive industry?

if you dont, then start reading!

• alxand on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:34 am

u know i know enough liao lor…

• ojaykb on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:36 am

tak payah ‘makan asap’ dah lah…

• poorM on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:37 am

Speechless…..I’m sure they’ll take even longer time…probably 2015…….. and it will be euro4 only…..
    Malaysia boleh…..

• Agree with u..
      until 2014, there already be a Euro 6 standard, and we still pending for Euro 4 standard???
      Really a bolehland..

• littlefire on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:42 am

Even India & also Thailand now got at least Euro 4 or 3M… Why we always in the back of others?!? Even environment cleanliness also dont care about it.. Time to throw them out from the cabinet..

• sammo on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:05 am

ya malaysia boleh spirit…everything keeps delaying…

• ko malu saje... on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:19 am

If they request for more extension again, this time the govt can say:

YOU TAK SUKA, YOU BOLEH KELUAR DARI MALAYSSSSIIIIIAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!

• flying keyboard on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:53 am

Agree, Govt has all the power to ensure what is planned is rolling out to the plan. Govt is like a manager-supervisor in a ‘company’ and the industry is like the working engineer. there’s no way petrol company who already has the solution wants to extend the date!

• For once, the Government could just implement them next year and do it partially zone by zone or through timely manner like the B5 Bio-Diesel. No need to rush all at once.

There’s more to this.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:48 am

Similar like the AP issue, delay here delay there. Somehow our G does not know what is firm and no negotiations action. Just look at the summons, give discount and then extend because people ask to, registration of foreign labours also the same.
    Hey when you say something mean it, be very firm and have no compromises, only then people will start treating you seriously.

• jalan54 on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:25 am

why not make it till year 2020? 2014? Is there anything that our government wouldn’t delay?

• Baba O'Reilly on Nov 16, 2011 at 5:38 am

They’ve been saying ‘not ready’ since 2003. Who calls the shots here? Govt. policy needs to be firm.

• They are not ready for upgrade?? Or is it just a single entity.

>:(

• No surprise…our petrol is low qualtiy, our diesel also of low quality. Higher quality means we need to pay more per liter. Currently RON95 at RM1.92. Our Diesel at RM1.80. With Euro 4 or Euro 5 grade Diesel, the price per liter could be higher than our poor RON95. Can’t wait for the coming election…

• lemon on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:26 am

mr kong, they can request. can u choose not to grant it?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:45 am

He got no balls to do it……. People who has balls get kicked out of the party by people who shows their balls

• BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:45 am

He got no balls to do it……. People who has balls get kicked out of the party by people who shows their balls

• RedBeanBun on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:27 am

*yawn* since when the G has made a good initiative to rakyat delivery ON TIME?

the AP extended
    the Euro4 extended
    the tol extended

The PKFZ on time
    The Istana on time
    The Cow and Condo on time

See where we are heading?

• RedBeanBun on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:09 pm

forget to add in..

Bio-Diesel B5 earlier than expected
      Lynas earlier than expected…

• langit hitam on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:44 am

Its look like that someone in a G try to “cari makan” for whatever it is in this EURO4 DIESEL.

• turbojin on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:59 am

our neighbour singapore going to Euro 5, we are still dreaming implementation Euro 4…Malaysia betul betul boleh!

• albag on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:00 am

delay, postpone… this is the way of the Malaysian governance… typical BN…

• Bro the person who thimb downs u is a bn supporter plus he might b walking and didnt own any automotive.stupid govermen always lieing

• Paint on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:09 am

Sure enough. Refineries need to be upgraded. Safety processes reviewed and a host of other things. There’s a reason to everything. Not just monetary gain.

• nothing shock about it

later they request again to ne extended to 2016…

hey remember about the A.P ..they want to abolish those thing , now been extended.. why? car companies ( ??cronies) not ready yet..

we .the car lovers keep on suffering from this kind of action.. what to do…

• not a car enthusiast on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:17 am

Why can’t they just switch? What’s the real problem these petroleum co is having? What’s the implication to existing diesel car / truck owners?

I wish this story to be more thorough. Don’t leave it dangling just like that..

• Damn right it’s Proton fault lah.

Proton is broke due to Lotus and paying overpriced faulty-parts Cronies suppliers. So no money to develop better engine like clean diesels and stuck with ancient Crampro.

Even power window issue swept under carpet with lifetime warranty excuses but in fact customer still face repair etc while Cronies Suppliers enjoy extended contracts.

27 Million Malaysians suffer no thanks to Proton. With diesel engine cars imagine the lost opportunity to save fuel cost, that money saved at least can offset the already crazy car prices policy (again due to Proton!).

Damn you Proton!

• rulered on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:24 am

How about the govt listening to taxpayers for a change? Diesel is another solution to help us with our monthly expenditure. Why do you thing 70% of new vehicles in Europe run on diesel? For fun?

• water on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:24 am

u mean after 2 years only they say they cant? puh.. what BS,,

• littlefire on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:29 am

See delay again… WTF!!! Like the AP case, keep on delaying until no end… Modern diesel engine have been proven to give more better FC & greener compare to petrol engines but the G keep on delaying for what?!? Scare P1 & P2 cant survive due to Europeans diesel cars will invade Malaysia?!?

• If someone told me they are ‘not ready’ for something I already asked them to do for a long time, naturally my next question would be ‘why are you not ready?’ Where’s the specific reasons?

If I’m late for my TNB/Maxis/Saman/Income Tax payment, can I just say ‘I’m not ready’ and get an extension?

• littlefire on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:45 am

Sh*t i just found out that EURO 2 already implement during 1996, and we still using it?!? WTF

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euro_4

Now they are aiming it for EURO 6 by 2014, WTF!!! Stop cheating us!!!

• AhmadTea on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:58 am

Both arguments could be right. Looks like Malaysian has to bear the polluted 2M diesel that filled our lungs especially in Klang Valley. Oh yaa…it could be the bus company who is asking for delay too. & also lori hantu company….. but anyway, by 2014, the diesel standard has probably reached Euro7 standard already. Pity us the consumers.

• Hello Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho your Federal government want Malaysia to achieve Wawasan 2020 how could you delay progression? Stupid decision by Transport Minister!

• Wong Ping on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:13 am

Well, Euro 2M is cheaper than Euro 4, thus less subsidies from the govt. What do ‘the industry’ meant by ‘not ready’? When the govt introduce RON95, did ‘the industry’ said ‘not ready’? Did ‘the industry’ said RON95 is the worse than RON97? All this is boiled down to the cost (subsidies).

• Power8003 on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:14 am

I really doe not understand why the oil companies need longer time to produce Euro 4M as they are to supply to other countires in the world. The technology to produce the Euro 4M oil is already there. I do not why the government come out with such explanation. :(

• Yuzdi on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:17 am

I think more likely to protect our National Oil Company. I belief they are not ready to up-grade their refinery. Others like ‘Sh_ _ _ _’ I belief they are ready. Now we are using Euro 2. Far away to go. Is tis part of the gov to protect those …..? Dat’s y some of diesel vehicles cannot come into Malaysia. Our “die-cell” is low class. Still have to use “pet-roll”….. With Euro 2, there wil b more sulphurs on the air. No more go green, go for yellow sulphurs

• They could enforce ron95 rather quick a while back. I dont see why they could do it on euro4 unless something else behind it. Fishy!

• Yup! i agree something is not right. Btw, i saw a Audi A4 spitting black smoke. Looks like buy a diesel car and selling one is not a good move now.

• Stupid gomen.. shouldn’t have given extension at all. Should have forced them to comply.. Otherwise, the petroleum companies would keep requesting for extension again and again until god know when….. For all you know, by the time they’re ready, other market would have gone for Euro 6 or 7 ….

• DewaSemut on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:42 am

Damn u Petronas, Shell, Exxonmobil, Caltex & BHP… :(

• Henry on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:17 am

Blame the Gomen, not the oil companies. They control prices and distort the economy giving companies no incentive and motivation to improve, to go one up on the competitors.

• fizbiscuit on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:53 am

What nonsense is this!?? Our current Euro 2 diesel has 500ppm of sulfur while EU had Euro 4 of 50ppm since 2005, Sweden had 50ppm since 1990 and 0ppm since 2003, India had gone on Bharat 4/Euro 4 for their NCR and 13 major cities since 2010, Canada have 15ppm since 2006 and US have been on USLD of 15ppm since 2010! Which of our international petroleum company is not yet ready to go down to 50ppm? Why is our Govt still so keen to accept the worst?

• c14man on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:21 am

Petronas

Or politician’s pocket.

• Waja Owner on Nov 16, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Correction fizbiscuit….ours have 380ppm of sulphur

but still not good enough

• Logically, these international oil manufacturer suppose don’t have any problem to implement these.. ermmm maybe the current election is coming nearer. Maybe the G want to put the price range higher than current diesel price (as a premium type of diesel) and logically, to introduce new diesel with higher price than usual (which another country have it ages ago) might not a better step for the G. The PRakyat can use this issue easily. So, they extend the timing and maybe after 2 years than they implement it which obviously after election. Anyway this is just my opinion. haha nothing else.

• not acceptable on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:05 pm

yeah, and please oso remember, not just cars use diesel, the manufacturing industry also use diesel to generate some of their huge machines. The more diesel use the more pollution. This is totally not following global green technology trend!!! extremely unacceptable. Paultan should write to the minister officially formally on this, on behalf of all bloggers, I think. Seriously. Maybe Paultan should run for MP and then become minister oso lah! this one i joke2 only lah. first notion is still serious.

• rodimus on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:00 am

Not again!!! Further delay??? This is our Govt…..

• samawie on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:12 am

the power is in our hand bro. don’t extent the government contract to rule us!!!!!!

• _xXx_ on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Be grateful, your kids just received RM100 each…

• yep..grateful bro…

• Greateful for makeing us suffer ah..they gv our kids rm100 tats their job to provide us as we elected thm..no need to blady greatful all

• _xXx_ on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:29 am

Take the RM100 back and abolish PPMSI. See how many will laugh at you when you mention “kebarangkalian”, “tetapan”, “Natrium Klorida” when you work outside? Someone is just never learnt…

• Carl Wong on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:20 am

Why do we always get the good things last………………??????

• wow… ! we really like to be compared with european eh ? can someone compare Malaysia with all the asian country ? see where we at… so we can have a fair comparison.. i dont have the data. do you ?

one more thing – since when proton & produa become an oil and gas company ???????

• littlefire on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:52 am

Just compare Thailand & India and you will know how behind we are!!!

• Jules on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:02 am

since the head honchos think that malaysian are incapable of thinking. that’s when, dude. so mosh, those who are incapable of thinking can apply to become a head honcho & delay us even more.

• fizbiscuit on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:07 am

India had gone on Bharat 4/Euro 4 for their NCR and 13 major cities since 2010, Singapore is already offering Ultra-Low Sulphur Diesel (ULSD) of 50ppm since 2005, Hong Kong had ULSD since 2000, and Taiwan since 2007. However Indonesia is still in Euro II and Thailand’s B2 and B5 are both claimed to be Euro-3 compliant.

• Feast on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:07 pm

You really have very limited knowledge…and you still don’t even know why some are linking Proton and Perodua with this issue. Wake up and G-O-O-G-L-E.

• Vincent on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:36 am

It is not properate to put political opinion in car / automotive forum. However, our G is too interested a benefited from car…Hence, still have to say something here…

Our G again showing that “Rakyat di permainkan”. If they serious about the diesel std, they not need to set deadline. Just open another licience to those who can suply EURO 4 or 5 diesel. Let the market decided.

I am sure by that time, most car will move to Euro 4 petrol station, and existing player will have no choise but to follow the EURO 4 std, or out of business.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:33 pm

1 Malaysia, Pendapatan Diutamakan, Rakyat Dikecualikan.

• GreenFuel on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:58 am

Bravo to the BN government!! What is going to happen if we stuck with Euro 2 standard? First we will receive the rejected Diesel from the world (with the cheaper price, for sure) as most of the country in the world only allow the use of Euro 4 standard. Great saving for the government, and more money for the coming election. Second things, those car with advance Diesel engine (especially those diesel powered passenger car) can’t sell in Malaysia, which is a super good news for Proton with only 1 super old Campro engine, and the Perodua who is using old engine from Toyota. Third is a good news for those APs holder, they still can import those used second hand diesel power car which is design to run on Euro 2 standard. Forth with the Euro 2 fuel, the JPJ is enjoying some good time pressing the pedal hard to create a thick dark smoke to make those lorry fail the smoke test. Election is coming, think twice when casting your vote

• Henry on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:12 am

Oil Companies would welcome this news. They don’t have to do anything for another two years. Can save plenty of money.

Why should they bother? Every brand sells the same s… at the same controlled price. Where is the motivation

• jay8393 on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:14 am

Yeah right. Once 2014 comes, the government will give another 2 years-to-deadline extension for them…

• ZenoCer on Nov 16, 2011 at 12:01 pm

If your car have black smoke, you will be fine by police and JPJ. No black smoke = No business.

• Waja Owner on Nov 16, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Why 2014? Why not mid 2012? The deadlines are not very forceful.Are the govt taking this seriously? By that time Euro will probably be using Euro 7 standard.

We seriously need to improve the quality of diesel here for a more green and efficient motor industry.

• Yuzdi on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Dun u knw dat 2012 is doomsday?

So, our Master G can make n xcuse. 2014 we are no more exist!

But, in principle our Master G always like dat. They will postphone most of the decision made. NO EXACT DEADLINE ass promised. e.g. SPAD issues, PATI issues, Police Trfc summons, etc………………… wat else? But I like dat $100. On-time. No postphonement.

2012 is doomsday = B END

• likehondanotsomuch on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm

anoyher 2 yrs,another 20 billion profit,,,,,,,for rakyat another 20 fuel injector and filtrering related spare part srvice.cannot claim cannot demo.common lah rakyat tired of this.my pick up is out off diesel again,refilling it with this grade of diesel always hurts my feelings not to mention my pockets.what a bloody day to expressed such a hatred.sorry man we are all victimised.

• This country is heading for a stagnation. There is no way that our country can achieve Vision 2020 and be a developed country. Don’t say diesel, even the imported cars such as (Hyundai, Kia, etc); we are still purchasing the old models where certain countries had the chance to purchase the latest version of say Hyundai Accent and even the Suzuki Swift. Gosh, I wished the government would wake up!

• Jules on Nov 16, 2011 at 4:07 pm

they have woken up, that’s why they borrow an excuse from the voiceless oil company. otherwise, they would have blatantly said proton still does not have a diesel engine. the misinformed ppl are the ones that need to wake up! those who still believe the main stream media, pls wake up!

• Expatriate VN on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Bolehland become dumping ground for all kind of inferior products and “dirty” industry, e.g. Diesel 2, P1 & P2 shitty cars, Lynas, etc and the list go on.

Delay? That is the SOP of our useless Transport Ministers! If Singapore can implement it, why not MY? Perhaps the oil companies ask for extension of time is to dump more low grade Diesel in MY to maximise profits. Most of this diesel is coming from Russia.

There is no reason for extension, if they can’t make it on time, then import Diesel 4 from other source, and force the local refinery to upgrade it.

• MCdog on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:24 am

Actually all the MCB ministers can do nothing but follow order from big brothers, what they can only do is cry in front of camera and barking like dog on Chinese media ;-)

• Guess, the Japs manufacturer was relief that Msia diesel quality are still low. Or else, they will have a hard time against those frugal but powerful diesels cars from Euro & Korea

• Masked Ryder on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:52 pm

I doulb u r from city, u sound like kermit the frog from Coconut Shell Village.

The Japanese Car Mfg have many great Diesel engine such as Toyota D4-D, Honda I-DTEC, Mazda Skyactiv-D, Nissan K9K, M9R.

• Najib bin Tun Rojak on Nov 16, 2011 at 4:20 pm

We vote B END out next year. Dun have to wait for another 2 years…….

• Jules on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:06 pm

u think so? u think if be end is out, there will not be sabotages on a daily basis? in msia, u wait. u don’t like to wait, then get the f out. this is msian for msian, an eye for an eye, he can do it so can i type of msians u r meeting everyday on the streets, on the telly, at your office, at your neighbourhood, hell, it may well be in your home. u want good gwailo governance but governed by typical msians who r truly asians? 22 yrs of mamakukian systemic ingrain of bull can be reversed by 1 ge? good luck.

• walao on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Lol, this is our bolehland govt. Things that will benefit the govt, they will do it on time. but things that benefits the rakyat, they wont even gives a fuck.

• bullsheet on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:00 pm

why the minister has to obey what Oil industry people say?? Didn’t they make too much profit already?!?!?!? why need more time? they want to save some money for a few more years and let the country get polluted by all lorries trucks buses till then? simply wrong decision this stupid minister! change minister la hoi, if not change the government! barua!

• Fishy, huh? Give more time for smugglers to find new business?

• The Unicons on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:53 pm

2014 only Euro 4??? What the?????

Government should enforce them… by that time must be EURO 5 or even EURO 6 or higher already…. Still left behind…… higher grad …. cleaner environment… PLEASE…..

NOT EURO 4…….

• JeremyNg on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:18 pm

why don they bring in Euro 4 or 5 petrol 1st ??!!

• JSHING on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:30 pm

This transport minister is a ningcompoo… idiot and whatever names you care to throw at him.. Spineless and useless…. other asian neighbour like thailand and singapore had been using euro 5 now and we are still in the ancient mode… To say that shell and petronas is not ready to sell euro 5 is outright lie…. THERE IS SOMETHING VERY WRONG WITH THIS BN GOVT…

• tiger760li on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:53 pm

it clearly shows that rather then oil companies obey government instructions but reality is opposite
    government follow of what mother father stories told by oil production companies in malaysia.
    when 2014 comes then they wants more extension to produce EURO 4 OR 5 OR…………….
    NOT HAPPY AT ALL
    SEE BUSES AND LORRIES SMOKE AND THEN U COULD JUDGE URSELF
    PITTY ENVIRONMENT

• guest on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:02 pm

buses n lorries smoke does not mean due to bad quality of fuel. previously before Euro 2M, i can see buses n lorries with thick black smoke. now even after Euro 2M i can still see that happened. why? it is because they dont do the periodic maintenance accordingly. check your mechanic or read about black smoke!

• What are the odds in another extensionin better diesel quality like so many instances before. Spineless or gutless or both. Go figure!

• MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!!!!….DELAY….WHAT TO DO THIS IS OUR EXISTING G’ CULTURES..AND MAKE OUR COUNTRY FAR BEHIND …A LOT OF PARTIES NEED TO PROTECT …50 OVER YEARS TIME TO CHANGE FOR BETTER G’ THIS IS OUR RIGHT …DO NOT BE BLINDED BY THOSE “ORANG bESAR” TIBA-TIBA DATANG MAKAN PAGI DENGAN KAMU DI KEDAI KOPI ….TERUTAMA KE KAWASAN LUAR BANDAR…AND YOUR PHOTOS COME OUT IN THE FRONT PAGE OF NEWSPAPER…
    AS A GOOD AND CLEVER CITIZEN USE OUR VOTE TO VOTE FOR YOURSELF AND YOUR KIDS FUTURE…
    NOWSDAY USING EURO 4 OR 5 DIESEL CARS ARE VERY GOOD IN PERFORMANCE AND HAVE VERY GOOD MILAGES….EXAMPLE PEUGEOT 308 DIESEL AND VW GOLF DIESEL HIGHWAY MILEAGE ABOUT 20 TO 25KM PER LITER.
    TIME TO CHANGE GOOD DIESEL, GOOD CAR AND GOOD G’.

• MeGane on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:01 am

Malaysian targets …Euro 4 … in 2040 , Euro 6 in 2060 …and counting

• tokmoh on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:46 am

First Lady kite da suruh guna green technology untuk elak malapetaka macam kat Jepun, this goon minister ada bola nak lawan kata First Lady.

Mengata pakatan tu hipokrit, kan dah terkena diri sendiri hohoho

• teelim on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:32 am

nak seribu daya, tak nak seribu alasan…

• Benjamin on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:13 am

Come on la gov, how are we gonna bring in more fuel efficient and powerful engines if this continues? After 2014 then whats next? 2020?

• cwkwok on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:21 am

on the positive side, no more diesel smuggling out to neighboring country!!!

• Fluid on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Downgrade to Euro 0.5 ler, TIU!!!

• Hadi75 on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Maybe we could extend our Wawasan 2020 target also….change it Wawasan 2030..Wawasan 2040…
    Dapat duit kopi ke menteri nie????

• If Euro 4 is introduced, will the price of diesel be the same as petrol just like in the UK. Would that effect transport operators and the fishing industry?

• why diesel on Nov 18, 2011 at 3:28 am

dearest beloveds,

knoweth thy upon the goods of diesel,
      while EURO4 might begeth as expensive as thy neighbour petrol price,
      diesel is always more thermodynamically efficient than petrol;
      petrol combustion shall never exceed 35% thermal efficiency while diesel can reach 50% thermal efficiency,
      even if the price per liter can rise, to be same as petrol,
      diesel will always give more mileage per liter,
      thou shalt save money still,
      furthermore, with more efficiency, less wastage toxic fumes are emitted;
      as responsible citizen, incumbent upon thy to sustain the energy, to sustain the environment, to care for the air;
      lest betold, thy save a lot of money but all eventually go to pay for medical bills,
      due to poor health, karma to greedy deeds in thy younger years.

• Yuzdi on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:49 am

Ref MSN News : “Petronas, Shell sign $12 bln oil development deal
    Malaysian state energy firm Petronas said Friday it has signed an agreement with Anglo-Dutch oil giant Shell to spend $12 billion to jointly develop oil fields off Malaysia’s Borneo island”……. They r bz wit tis. More profit!

• E Honda on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Petronas is already producing the best Euro 4 diesel in the world. All the Euro 4 diesel by Petronas are exported.

Hence I find this Kong Cho Ha’s statement that industry is not ready to produce Euro 4 diesel absurd. Alasan alasan alasan. When are you going to work for the people, Mr Transport Minister?

• Hadi75 on Nov 19, 2011 at 11:15 am

He work for the people cos receive gaji from duit rakyat….but got more komisen from oil company…

• petrol expert on Jul 11, 2012 at 3:56 pm

GOM of malaysia will be able to do it, even tomorrow of there is no diesel subsidy. just name it what type of Euro diesel you would like to have. at the meantime, if one really looking for Euro 4 or 5 diesel one can import from singapore in drum and pay full tax.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Oct 27, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Hi Paul, I am aware this post was in 2011, any news of the govt fulfilling its promise for Euro 4 diesel in 2014? I am planning to get the latest Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDI. Am worried if the engine screwed up after a few years. Please help.