WRC star Sebastien Ogier leaves Citroen for Volkswagen

Highly rated World Rally Championship (WRC) driver Sebastien Ogier has joined Volkswagen after exiting the sport’s top team Citroen. The Frenchman, who was a strong and competitive teammate to 2011 champ and living legend Seb Loeb, will be replaced by Finn Mikko Hirvonen at Citroen.

Ogier, who left Citroen with a year remaining on his contract, is joining Volkswagen effective immediately. The 27-year-old ex Junior World Rally Championship champion will now be helping the development of the Polo R WRC for VW’s planned 2013 entry. This means that we won’t see him in action next season.

“Volkswagen is the number one in Europe and will soon be number one in the world. I’m sure that they’re going to compete with the goal of clinching the WRC title. And I’m happy to be part of this from the outset,” Ogier said.

“We are proud that such a successful and quick duo as Sebastian Ogier and his co-driver Julien Ingrassia have decided to join Volkswagen. The aim of putting a competitive Polo R WRC on the road for them as quickly as possible will additionally drive our team. We look forward to working with them and are hoping for many victories and titles in the future,” said Volkswagen Motorsport Director Kris Nissen.

VW confirmed its 2013 WRC entry and previewed the Polo R WRC back in May. Click here to view a video of it.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• marco_polo on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Looking at the car alone makes u wanna join this team! Drool…

• mat koboi on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:52 am

i think this one can compete citroen wrc….

• rally_fan on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:38 am

will be exciting to watch WRC by 2013.. with more manufacturers. its been too long that only citroen and ford have been rallying. but having money alone doesn’t mean anything as toyota’s foray into F1 showed. but then again, it has helped citreon having the largest budget in rallying so far.

• rally_fan on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:24 pm

the guy who thumbs down my posting needs to get his head checked!

• sammo on Nov 26, 2011 at 9:07 am

agreed…probably thumbs down from ppl who dun really follow wrc

• sammo on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:09 am

there can only be 1 seb in citroen ^^
    mikko is joining citroen next year too…

• peeps on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:07 pm

good choice.. =)

• hah… still lose to Satria S2000

• Haha talk about the quality,safety and the standard worldwide brand ! Satria lose 100 miles :D

Remember this?hahaha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_RSdFAWZSY

• squawk on Nov 29, 2011 at 10:52 am

Citroen lost a capable teammate and future replacement to Seb #1. All the best to Ogier.