Suzuki wants to divorce VW, taking the dispute to court

Suzuki wants to divorce VW, taking the dispute to courtWe saw it coming, and the sour relationship between Suzuki and VW is now going to the courts, with the Japanese bride demanding that her estranged German husband sign the divorce papers.

“Suzuki is today commencing arbitration proceedings in London with the ICC, International Court of Arbitration, in order to compel Volkswagen AG to dispose of its Suzuki shares to Suzuki or Suzuki’s designated third party,” the company said in a statement released yesterday.

“The arbitration proceedings follow Suzuki’s termination of its alliance, and Volkswagen AG’s lack of response to Suzuki’s requests for the disposition of its shares,” it added.

The Japanese small car expert declared last week that it had ended its alliance with VW, and demanded that the German giant sell back its stake in Suzuki by November 2012. Suzuki also warned that it would seek arbitration if VW refused to sell the 112.21 million shares, or 19.89%, back to Suzuki or an appointed third party.

Suzuki’s executive VP Yasuhito Harayama was previously quoted as saying: “It was made very clear when we tied up with Volkswagen that we did not want to become consolidated, and that we would remain independent. We feel we need to return to the starting point, including over the ownership ratio. The understanding that we are independent companies, and equal partners, is the absolute prerequisite in pursuing any specific cooperation.”

Besides that, Suzuki has complained that VW failed to provide promised access to green technologies, while VW is sore about the supply of diesel engines to Suzuki from Italian rival Fiat.

VW denies any wrongdoing in the marriage and dismissed Suzuki’s claims that it had violated terms of partnership. “Volkswagen categorically rejects these accusations. We are very disappointed (by Suzuki’s decision to seek arbitration). There is no legal reason to take such action,” a company spokesman told AFP.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• come on SUZUKI… teach the German Bastard… a big bully bastards…

• VW should take over such a small company like Suzuki! Suzu should give up and say sorry ! anyway i’m so glad that P1 and VW are not partners coz P1 will makes ppl say no to VW and shameful!

• BadBET on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:20 am

haha.. you sounds like a true aryan…

• LatukBandar on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:44 am

Just because it is small doesn’t mean Suzuki should give up. Small can be beautiful, efficient, focus.

Apple once was a tiny company compared to Microsoft, almost bankrupt and with no new products. look where Apple is now.

I bet you’re very ‘small’ compared to Bill Gates, perhaps you might want to give up your life and work as a maid for Mr.Gates.

• beautiful, efficient, focus.. The Swift that they sell here doesn’t have 2 of the factors you mentioned.. guess which 2..

And you kena screw 99 coz there are newer versions that they never brought here.. hahaha.. macam TC Nissan you see.. lol

At least when you buy a VW, you know that it doesn’t compromise on thing..

• readbetweenlines101 on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:54 pm

take over suzuki because it’s small enough to take over? suzuki give up and say sorry because vw is much larger?
        what about bullying isn’t shameful? ever occur to you that maybe P1 is more glad to not have partnered with VW ‘coz VW will makes ppl say no to P1 and shameful!’?

• Good Point, haha. But there is no reason to be racist you m*therf*cker.

• krs99 on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:41 pm

VW is only interested in Indian Market that SUZUKI utterly dominates. If they can swallow SUZUKI, easy for them to become world no.1.

Suzuki have been duped into this marriage as thinking that it is mutual.

• readbetweenlines101 on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:59 pm

true they were duped. it’s no longer looking so easy to swallow suzuki up any more though. but if they do, remember toyota still owns lexus!

• i hope suzuki wins, what’s a big dog like VW up to? taking on a small car maker like suzuki, that’s just too much!

thumbs up if you agree!

• roadrunner on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:44 pm

nasib baik proton tak kawin dulu haritu! :p

• kebodohan manusial on Nov 26, 2011 at 10:46 pm

baik gilor, sampai hari ini masih guna technology outdated.

lepas tu tak dapat buat kereta yang lebih canggih pergi rebadged kereta jepun balik, baik betol.

• Kelvin on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Such arrogant by VW, they wants to bully Suzuki for sake to get India market but they make mistake Suzuki will grow more stronger with or without VW.

• as usual lah! on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:05 pm

suzuki FTW! woof! 8)

• haliguy on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Hungry for world domination in car biz. They just invade others for expansion sake. Similar failure between Daimler n Chrysler and Mitsubishi. They just wrecked those 2 companies. Now Volkswagen…. Go for it Suzuki!

• VW arrogance can also be seen in the pricing of their cars in Bolehland. Suzy has every right to fight for independence from these bastards.

• readbetweenlines101 on Nov 27, 2011 at 12:04 am

could be arrogant but VW make damn good cars too. besides, pricing has alot to do with supply & demand but also cost.
      seems to be poor marketing than arrogance. do vw do any financing program in Bolehland?

• nabill on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:07 am

emotions aside….vw is not doing anyting illegal …suzuki might feel sorry for themsleves but this is a contract….this is cut-throat business….suzuki have no right to tell vw to sell back the stakes….unless theres something very clearly stated in their agreement that vw didnt honour…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 26, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Agreed. I just hate Japanese car brands, they make boring and uninteresting cars can cry foul to everybody. Why cant all Japanese cars be like Mazda, they always form good alliances with the European and American brands, and every single on of their cars are really interesting.

• readbetweenlines101 on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:41 pm

Disagreed. Let’s review the sequence: Suzuki accused by Vw -> Suzuki denies allegations -> VW accused by Suzuki -> Suzuki declares end of alliance > Suzuki demands VW dispose of 20% stake -> VW ignores demands > Suzuki seeks court to compel VW to dispose shares -> VW denies allegations & expresses disappointment @ suzuki’s stern legal action

This particular alliance was so as to share resources but have the option to remain independent should it not succeed. But in this case, there was cross-shareholding (co-habitation) so when the relationship ends, then everyone not only has the right to take all their clothes+toothbrushes & go back home but would have to. Note vw havent denied this in the little theyve said so far infact, they just mad its come to this.

In a cut-throat business, suzuki deal-makers seem to have been smart enough to know 20% of suzuki is nowhere near 20% of vw – so if that deal went south, it would be a hostile takeover (not alliance) instead of a merger at the least. So that clause had to have been there. To prove it, suzi has the balls on her to take stefan to court (much to his disappoitment)

• Suzuki’s strategy doesn’t seem to work. ‘Maruti Suzuki India’ stock fell 3.94 percent today… ;)

• kevin lee on Nov 26, 2011 at 8:16 am

i think, its not the german estranged husband. judging from the shares ownership, haha, suzuki is the japanese husband and the wife is the german vw. the german wife has been unreasonable, controlling and become naughty, hence the japanese husband regrets marrying so and decides to divorce her. the german lady wont go away without a fight and holds on to his possessions, not willing to leave and totally being stubborn LOL

• clemenza on Nov 26, 2011 at 8:40 am

ade hikmahnya proton tak jadi gabung dgn VW..mesti perjanjian byk memihak pd VW..well done proton !

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 26, 2011 at 8:41 am

kalau tak buat berita ni macam harian metro tak boleh ke? wife and hubby la…meh.

• Unforgiven on Nov 26, 2011 at 10:06 am

Do you wanna drive a Satria or Golf? What about Swift vs Golf?
    Please be honest…

• autojohndoe on Nov 27, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Satria…

• Golf.

Satrias for poor boys as usual :) cheap crap and super low quality car haha

• Golf

Meh Satrias are for poor man as usual and low quality! not simply said, just look at the interior Manual gearbox the silver plastic cover and the pump fuel silver plastic cover after 3~6 months the plastic covers all turn to black or maybe u can see some silver color still on the top lolx plus without side airbags plus worst brand image plus bad fuel consumption but under power!

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2011 at 8:51 am

who cares if i drive poor car or not…

it is not you that pay it… so… why bother for my choice…

• ojaykb on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:16 am

GT 86

• its obvious why it is not a good idea for Proton to sell its shares to VW

• haliguy on Nov 26, 2011 at 10:45 am

Looks more like Volkswagen didn’t honour the agreement (after reading background of it). They knew the loophole of the agreement while Suzuki could be naively thought as an opportunity for a good synergy. Specific timeframe of tech transfer are not met (as per agreement), thus Suzuki had to source other option as it is still an independent manufacturer. But that rocked the VW agreement. Biased towards the Germans more likely? (thinking that Japanese do not have a right to voice out its frustration & Germans have all-say). We all know that they are all out to achieve the highest Sales. But how do they get there wd be in any means necessary.

• Why dont proton buy the VW stake in suzuki, instant access to India and got small car platform.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Although I drive a Honda car, I sympathise with Suzuki. VW is just too much and it has bad intention to take over Suzuki in order to capture the Indian car market which is monopolised by Suzuki. As Asians, we should support Suzuki and Japanese cars. Say no to VW for overpricing their cars in Malaysia. VW Jetta is ridiculously priced.

• Bosozoku Viper on Nov 26, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Honda Power,u r so annoying :)..but i have to agree with u..im support suzuki to win..no offence VW fanboy…

~JDM For Life~

• blame ur gahmen protecting p1 mah

• readbetweenlines101 on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:48 pm

true about the bad intentions. false about why say no to VW.
      come on.. as asians, we should support x and not y because y is too expensive?? what does being asian have to do with that yer racist?

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Say no to VW. Say yes to Japanese cars. Japanese cars are the most reliable in the world. More reliable than German cars.

• Joseph on Nov 27, 2011 at 12:57 am

Most JAPANESE cars are SUCKS CARS

Boring , uninteresting and not that durable . Nowadays Japanese cars are not that reliable anymore compare to yesterday.

Most Japanese cars bodies are built like ” MILO TIN ” standard when compare to any continental cars not necessary VW.when it comes to safety.

In Summary

Modern Japanese car offer fairly reliable , not durable and below par safety and overpriced

Modern continental car offer better reliability , much more durable , better safety features and reasonably priced

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2011 at 1:04 am

Only if your Japanese cars are represented by Lexus and Mazda. The rest are just plain crap

• ThePolygon on Nov 27, 2011 at 8:23 pm

What about Skyline?

• Kereta Potong Honda on Nov 27, 2011 at 8:29 pm

BeemerFreak: U forgot…1 more Infiniti :) The rest Japan car are like kereta potong haha

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2011 at 10:44 am

To return you some credit, I do agree that Honda is very very reliable……. in the form of a cub c50 or c70. This is the only Japanese automotive product that I would want to have.

• Kereta Potong Honda on Nov 27, 2011 at 8:33 pm

I still say YES to Proton…furthermore say YES to German Car

• WTF more reliable than German cars?!German cars are the best! Audi,BMW,Merc,Porsche and VW beat the Japanese cars forever especially the lousy and cheap Honda! German cars = high technology,green,class,safety and good fuel consumption! no money then buy ur dreams Japanese cars lolx

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 26, 2011 at 7:15 pm

i says, I have no money so I can only afford to drive Honda City. Is that a problem to you?You must have tons of money. That’s why you can afford to drive superior German cars which are the best in the world (your interpretation) Yes, the best in the world. No other car brands even come close to the superior and a class of its own German cars. No need to look down on Japanese cars if you are driving a German car. To each his own. You don’t have to condemn Honda because you don’t like Japanese cars. And please mind your language, you foul mouth moron. Please don’t bother to reply to my comment. Let the other forum members here know how arrogant you are when you condemn and look down on Honda. BeemerFreak, you are no better than i says. Equally vocal in condemning Japanese cars. I know both of you are very rich but being rich doesn’t give you the right to look down on ‘cheap Japanese cars’. For many people here in Malaysia, owning a Japanese car is the best that they can afford to buy due to the ridiculous price of cars here. At least driving a Japanese car is better than driving P1 or P2.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2011 at 10:34 am

Haha…. I like that reply. I held on to my 15 years old Kancil for the last 6 years so that i could afford my current ride, A VW Scirocco Sport. I told myself already, why do i want to be sitting in something so overprice and that does not give me any inspiration to drive to work every morning, hey we are talking about buying a car with the heart, not with the head. With my VW i felt sense of pride, I would wash the car every 2 days and wax and polish it once a month. It is an affection towards the car, and will i waste all my effort if i owned a Honda, i highly doubt it.

And please do not condemn Proton or Perodua. They offer Japanese technology at a much accessible price. For example the Honda City, why on earth would i get one when i could get a bigger car for the same price in terms of a Lancer or we shall call it Proton Inspira. The same thing goes towards MPV also, why should you spend crazy money for an Avanza or an Innova, when they are nothing but outdated cars sold in an advancing nation. I will get the Exora or an Alza anytime. And yeah if I have the money for a car at the Japanese range, i will get a Korean car, which is much better valued.

• haliguy on Nov 27, 2011 at 12:29 am

As reliability is concerned, it depends on the owner himself. Not so much whether it is German or not. But it is known that Japanese cars are more robust than its German counterpart. Safety of 6 airbags is not necessary if people cant even buckle up. Instead it be a threat against them. Good fuel consumption as well depends on the right foot. Those who would buy a Japanese car aren’t the ones who are going to be heavy footers afterall.

Back to the topic. As an Asian, Never get bullied by these buggers and Suzuki have the right to divorce that destructive mariage. Or perhaps marriage for the sake to take advantage of the company. Such bad practice.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2011 at 1:07 am

Too bad the Korean supporters are not here. Or else we will mount an attack of Japanese cars. I prefer to have a Proton than a Toyota Honda Nissan Mitusbishi or whatever japanese crap. They are just pure rubbish sold at inflated price.

Again only Mazda and Lexus has the right to represent Japanese cars.

• Sorry buddy. you should take a reality check.

For the last few years, the top 20 lists for reliability has been dominated by the Japanese and the Koreans.

Even Beemers and Audis which rank higher than the mighty Merc come in over the top ten. The most reliable European make coming in at #12 is Skoda.

http://www.whatcar.com/car-news/reliability-survey-2011/258307

Troll.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 26, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Suzuki, go all out and win this case. Don’t let big bad wolf VW bully you!

• bmpower on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:00 pm

This is why I once said, that VW were not kind enough to be JV partner. VW just wanna swallow other manufacturer then make it obsolete!

It should be the same reason why Proton reject VW offer (very long battle saga VW n Proton). Seems someone learned something now. Good job suzuki! hope more good car come from your company after this.

• I think there is alot of japanese car company worshipers here..gvin thumbs down to all the comments abt german car company..wat ever they say germans cars are in totaly different thn crappy jap cars exemption on mazda..they build stylish n nice cars others like nissan toyo n honda all build crappy cars..dont ever talk abt german cars their engineerings in cars are totaly different thn any other crapy cars..they make gud engineering of their cars..support german nt bllod suckin japs who gv us 2 airbags n high priced old tech cars..pls get ur facts rite whn u comment..wtf sum one said jap car is mur reliable thn a german..ong wher he is frm..he means vios n city n latio is far better thn volks polo merc c class n bmw 3 wat a joke he is..

• Dogbert on Nov 27, 2011 at 5:20 am

German companies have gotten arrogant over the past few years due to their strength in the EU, quite a number of them are big-bullies when it comes to treating local Malaysian suppliers or even staff renegading on prior agreements.

Yes, they build good cars but we are talking about a commercial relationship gone sour here and some of you think that they are ‘nice guys’ ?

• crazyppl on Nov 27, 2011 at 9:43 pm

Aiyo, why Malaysians so stupid ah! Like to comment on everything done outside Malaysia and then compare with Proton. Who the h**l is Proton on a global scale? Nobody!

So lets learn la from these stories and lets not say Proton is smart because they did not tie up with this person or that person, because today Proton is weaker because they did not tie up with a strong company.

So learn la, don’t just komen bodoh, buat jadi barua!

• mirror mirror on Nov 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm

You really can not make a meaningful comparison between the German and Japanese cars in Malaysia, there is way too much price distortion in our market.

• Wak Segan on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:54 am

ANYONE KNOWS GOLF GTI E35 COME TO MALAYSIA?

• santa claus on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:31 am

hola? err….what is this! sembang kencang berterabur je nih…sayangilah kereta anda tak kira kreta jepun atau german! haiz….

• reuben how on Nov 28, 2011 at 8:20 am

No need to say conti or japanese is suck lah. The most suck suck thing is the damm automotive market in Malaysia. The rules or so b******. Thats why most car here don’t have ESP, 6 airbags etc. Even my wife complain korean car here has less features than in korea, service also not good. Government is not supporting our local car industry. They are supporting stupidity.

• just plain marketing ….

• samad on Nov 28, 2011 at 4:21 pm

where should we go now? europe? japan? korea? america? brazil? singapore? indonesia? thailand?

• squawk on Nov 29, 2011 at 10:33 am

Anyone having problems with their DSG?

• DSG problems? no,my 1 years old DSG is still work very well…5 years warranty so don worry about the DSG problems :) 4 years later i will trade my car to new one.