Dodge Dart, American ‘Alfa Giulietta Sedan’ looking good

Previously teased, now fully released – this is the all new 2013 Dodge Dart, the American brand’s C-segment sedan to take on the likes of the Corolla, Civic, Cruze and Elantra. To be officially unveiled at the upcoming Detroit show, the Dodge Dart shares underpinnings with the sexy Alfa Romeo Giulietta. Fiat owns both brands.

The 2013 Dart is the first Chrysler Group vehicle based on Fiat architecture. Not just plug and play, but the Giulietta’s platform has been lengthened and widened to deliver segment-leading cabin space, according to Dodge.

The “Compact U.S. Wide” architecture underpinning the Dart comprises of 68% high-strength steel, a figure said to be segment leading. The outer skin is quite outstanding, too, featuring Dodge’s trademark split-crosshair grille and full-width LED “racetrack” tail lamps.

Inside the cabin, one can see a similar “racetrack” theme on the dash, which has a centre stack angled towards the driver, old BMW style. All displays are colourful and hi-res, and there’s a cool storage area under the front passenger seat base.

There will be three engine options at launch, a 1.4-litre MultiAir turbocharged unit or two “Tigershark” mills – a 2.0L and a 2.4L MultiAir.

Three transmission choices will be available, a manual, a Fiat-sourced six-speed dual-clutch transmission and at a later date, a nine-speed automatic gearbox by ZF. The latter is supposed to boost fuel economy by 10 to 16% over the DCT, which is very impressive. By the way, there’s no typo, it’s NINE speed!

The Dodge Dart will be built at Chrysler Group’s Belvidere Assembly Plant in Illinois. This local boy with Italian blood poses some hard questions at the Asians dominating the show – it has the tech and looks to challenge, that’s for sure.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sawi cool on Jan 09, 2012 at 9:41 am

Wow!
    this is awesome…

please bring it here!

• Obama on Jan 09, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Proton Tuah?

• Monday on Jan 09, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Who’s gonna sell it? It’s a new brand here if it comes and will take a lot of time to get things running smoothly. It’s a gamble. Then again, who would you want to sell the Dodge brand here?

• lanzxervia on Jan 09, 2012 at 9:53 am

hee… look like scirocco lamp but still cool

• farizY on Jan 09, 2012 at 9:57 am

Proton is doing talks with GM, which in turns might involve FIAT as well, I like where this is going… :)

• VoidDance on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:29 am

Err.. Fiat is in collaboration with Chrysler, which is not part of GM.

• farghmee on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:07 am

evrythg looks good :)

…except the ol’ skool center console.

• rally_fan on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:19 am

looks good. my old buddy from KL worked as a chassis engineer on this project in the US.

• Amett on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:35 am

Humm..for me, the rear lamp looks like Proton Tuah Concept :-)

• as usual lah! on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:37 am

dodge ftw!!

• Amett on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:44 am

..the rear lamp look like Proton Tuah concept

• ss427 on Jan 09, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Its a corp design cue for new Dodges these days.. And Proton doesn’t even stand a chance at all. I want to see how that Potong Tuah can even compete with the Dart in ANY category :) That Campro CFE will be blown outta road the moment the Dart dumps its clutch in 1st gear.

Its Proton who copied from the Americans. The current Dodge design language has been ard since late 2008. And the Tuah is not even on sale yet…

See here

http://www.dodge.com/en/

• kadajawi on Jan 09, 2012 at 2:52 pm

American cars I do not trust for performance engines. They can do big and somewhat powerful, but can they do small and powerful? However this car is in many parts Italian, so who knows. It has the looks.

• why thumbs down? Amett dont say anything about copy. crazy paultan readers. simply thumbs up/down for no reason.

• ss427 on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:50 am

wow nice.. and since this is a global platform from Chrysler, there will be RHD versions of the Dart.

Hopefully it can make it here. The 2 and 2.4L MultiAir engines are one of the most tech advanced engines on the market today.

Haha, I want to see how the dinosaur Altis 1.6 and its 4AT can compete with the new Dart… of cos, we will have lots of Toyota fans here who will claim that the 12 yr old Toyota 4AT will still beat the shit outta this American 9 speed AT or 6 speed DSG… :(

Even the Altis 2L can’t compete with this beauty,. CVT cannot be taken seriously and its the most undesirable transmission option for spirited driving.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:59 am

Nice looking car…just not to hot for the interior. Those big chunky buttons and knobs just remind me a little too much of past generation GM cars. Not something that screams quality.

Wonder why more automakers can’t make interiors as good as VAG.

• harris murad on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:09 am

OMFG!!!

• tricycle on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:11 am

the interior sucks

• Nissan on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:35 am

front design = Sga FLX mate with Satria Neo

• zzzzzz on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:49 am

where the hell are you look that this car is like proton??

• rapidshifter on Jan 09, 2012 at 12:42 pm

why must every car relates to proton?? by the way the interior of this Dart is awesome..

• psychotic bionic on Jan 09, 2012 at 1:08 pm

front design = myvi se + vw scirocco

• Sharvind Varma on Jan 09, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Wow…9 speed…don’t play play…haha

• Kumar san on Jan 09, 2012 at 12:30 pm

I hope it makes it here though i doubt it,i don’t mind getting one if it does since i have a soft spot for all Mopar products,i owned many Chrysler cars when i was the States.The proper muscle car variety of course.

Anyway this is a refreshing change for Dodge.Cheers.

• Glee power on Jan 09, 2012 at 12:54 pm

It’s good but the alfa it was based on looks nicer

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:12 pm

agree. but i’d happily have both on the market in malaysia.

• delio on Jan 09, 2012 at 1:07 pm

i think there little bit honda here. but dont know where…..

• Chyan on Jan 09, 2012 at 1:12 pm

For some people, every car must look like Proton.

• albag on Jan 09, 2012 at 8:50 pm

its a dodge for god sake… y look like proton here and there… aren’t u guys blind??? see the damn logo in the photos!!! or do ur screens show proton logos instead of dodge??? gosh damn it sick n tired of this shit!!!

• zzzzzz on Jan 10, 2012 at 3:54 pm

becoz they think their proton is so good so other manufacturer will copy protong design..wtf of their moron thinking

• sammo on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:51 pm

they also dream proton already owns all the car co in the world^^

• nebula87 on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:53 pm

i’m pretty sure the the upcoming Fast and Furious Sequel will be using this car for stealing something and do dirty jobs..XD

• Tuesday on Jan 10, 2012 at 2:41 pm

from some other american sites, it seems that they are still hung up on the old dart and don’t quite like this new european dart. maybe they need to move with the times.