Reports: DRB-Hicom to cut Proton’s costs, review Lotus

Now that DRB-Hicom is in control of Proton, what’s in store for the national carmaker? A report by Business Times details the changes that will happen in terms of cost cutting and efficiency, trimming “excess fat” currently carried by Proton. The reporter quoted unnamed “sources close to the deal”.

For starters, no large scale staff retrenchment is expected, although some changes in the top management are predicted to happen. DRB-HICOM wants to turn Proton into a serious regional player within three years, before becoming a global player two years from that point. The conglomerate will also strengthen Proton’s vendor and dealer network, while improving staff skills by leveraging on its International College of Automotive (ICAM) in Pahang.

“There will be zero lay-off as the immediate focus is on the low-hanging fruits at Proton. The group will trim any excess fat in product planning, consultancy contracts and third-party service providers, among others,” their sources said.

An example is the storage of Proton cars at a third-party site in Sijangkang, Selangor. “The group does not think it is necessary to farm out this logistic service as Proton cars can be distributed to dealers and branches efficiently by using a good IT infrastructure. A lot of money can be saved from this,” they added.

When it comes to costs, Lotus is sure to crop up. Now that DRB-Hicom is in control, what is in store for Proton’s sports car subsidiary? The British brand is currently in a cost consuming revamp from niche specialist sports car maker to a Porsche challenging brand, led by CEO Dany Bahar, who is fresh from signing a four-year contract last month.

“If Lotus continues to ride on Proton, it will be cancerous, it will be like a parasite. Hence, it requires a review so that it can stand alone and be successful, perhaps like what Audi is to its parent Volkswagen AG,” BT’s sources said, adding that the review will focus on Lotus’ involvement in motorsports sponsorships, especially in F1.

If this report is accurate, there is sure to be plenty of boardroom battles in Proton, in the near future.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• eagleeye on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:17 am

“storage of Proton cars at a third-party site in Sijangkang” – that’s cronyism

• The son of Mahathir took advantages. Konsortium.

• OMG the Lotus sport cars are fugly ! front copy the VW group Lamborghini Aventador but the Aventador is way better looking and beautiful but this? ! anyway if Protongs compared to VW = nothing compared to giant VW !

• this kind of mentality is the reason why malaysian cant be a global contender. damnit even JC, who is very critical on almost everything praises (new) lotus cars, like evora. outsiders can see ‘gems’ in our product, why cant we do the same? are we all just wannabes?

• pooyou on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:28 pm

this time proton is gonna bungkus big time.. wakaka

• perodua on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:22 am

I already talked many times. Lotus is a burden to the proton and it is the expensive playground for the Lotus engineer to play with their idea as well as Dany Bahar. Lotus never earn a single sen for proton since took over. Better cut this cancer growth before it metastasize to the body (DRB-HICOM). Who cares how potential is Bahar, if he can’t earn money for proton, better resign?

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Lotus is good for the reputation and brand recognition, it also develops technologies that Proton can profit from. Why has VW bought Bugatti? Why do they produce the Veyron, which was very expensive to begin with, and with each car they produce and sell they lose money?! Because it is good for the brand.

• VW is rich. Proton?!

• autojohndoe on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:22 pm

rich also… still got money what…

• Pauli on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:27 am

Peanuts!!! Furthermore public money!!! Can hardly stay afloat!!! You call that “rich”….LOL

• Aku lah on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:26 pm

WOII….PROTON VERY VERY RICH LA

• prrghh on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:08 pm

how can u compare proton with VW, that has porsche, lamboghini, audi, VW,skoda and bugatti ????????????????

• Deepspace7 on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Bro, VW global brand. They can afford to cross subsidy Bugatti. 1Malaysia are subsidizing Proton….there is no brand recognition from keeping Lotus…. simple math laa…bro

• if they want to sell lotus..sell to tony…he good in making money from unprofit company…or to other malaysian company so that lotus in malaysian hand

• sorry i dont want =]

• alldisc on Jan 19, 2012 at 5:34 pm

tony, just buy that god damn lotus and brand it

“Now everybody can drive… even faster”

• It would be ironic if it’s sold to Tony due to recent F1 events.. hahahha..

The first thing i think Tony would do is screw that dany bahar up.

• Sam DoL on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:28 am

we will see what tony can do with caterham…tak abis2 tony…tony…ko ni croni tony ke?….harghh puihhh

• perodua on Jan 18, 2012 at 4:56 pm

I don’t think so. Unless proton is the size of the VW. This tell us that when you have small head, don’t wear big hat. Bugatti does not consume all the profit from VW where Lotus almost consume all profit from Proton. Proton is Jaguh Kampung where VW is as auto giant (Jaguh Dunia). You are not earning a lot but want to wear branded shirt. I’m sorry, this is strictly from economy point of view. A company not earning money, what is the point to keep it?

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:34 pm

True, but now they already have invested a lot in it, wouldn’t it be wise to keep it at least so until they can see if they get something out of that investment?

Should Proton expand to Europe (again) I think they could make use of Lotus. Europeans are suckers for good sporty handling. I wouldn’t make any premature decisions (though I would pull out of F1 immediately, there really is no point in that). And unless the rally cars get sold to normal customers as well (think Evo etc.) then that, too might be a waste of money.

There also has to be more benefits from the work with Lotus, i.e. the new Lotus engine should appear in Protons (detuned perhaps), or vice versa. Parts developed for Lotus should find their way into Protons, perhaps they can be based on the same platform etc. Or like in the past there was for example the Lotus Omega, which really was a Vauxhall/Opel Omega tuned and modified by Lotus.

• Lim Kopi on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:53 am

Its just goes to show ….

Having all the GREED doesn’t necessarily make you successful ….

• alhhin on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:34 pm

haha lotus technology use on proton, in the end still earn malaysia money, never hit to oversea market, if do how far can their go with proton reputation, lotus is burning money company , PROTON got no money…that’s why when Lotus came asking for money to develop their 5 new car line-up, PROTON had to “arrange a huge loan of around 270 million Pound Sterling” for them on the 16th April 2011. Check out the link: http://www.proton.com/About/Corporate/Investors/Announcements/2011/Apr-04/Lotus-Cars-Limited-Enters-Agreement-For-Syndicated.aspx

• kadajawi on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:09 pm

270 million pound are not that much. The development of the last gen Merc E class cost around 2 billion Euro. Only for one model.

I wonder why Lotus needs 5 new models… they first need one that sells well, not 5 that won’t. Later then they can expand.

Lotus should also share their technology with Proton. Improve Campro, give it a new Lotus name and use it in a Lotus as well as in a Proton. Use the same platform if possible… car magazines and shows around the world would probably test the new Lotus, and when they report that it is based on a Proton that helps in entering those markets. Lotus dealerships around the world could be used to sell and service Protons. etc.

• littlefire on Jan 19, 2012 at 8:36 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/drb-hicom-open-to-lotus-sale

DRB Hicom open to Lotus sale
        January 18, 2012
        SHAH ALAM, Jan 18 — DRB Hicom said today that it is open to selling British sports car icon Lotus in a bid to help put Proton on firmer footing.

Bye bye Lotus!!!

• Drifter on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:10 am

Its stupid if Proton lets go of Lotus now after considering all the expenses already put into upgrading Lotus’ image. It will be better if Proton keeps Lotus for another 3 years and then decide whether to maintain the brand or sell it off to others.

• kornporn on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:25 am

cut cost bagus…proton kene ajar sket vendor2 lemak nih…payment nak tinggi tp supply part kualiti mcm ‘haram’…only selected vendor part je yg leh continue bisnes ngn proton

kualiti keta pon kene jaga…dpt bos baru xkan nak keja sambil lewa gak? kalu x keje elok2 gudbye la jwb nye

• blmer on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:28 am

“DRB-HICOM wants to turn Proton into a serious regional player within three years, before becoming a global player two years from that point”

try beat P2 / myvi sales 1st, then we can talk bout regional player later..

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:23 pm

How are they supposed to do that?! The Myvi is popular due to the bad reputation Proton has. Cutting costs won’t help with that, who knows if they won’t cut on quality, AGAIN?

But if they can say: See… you don’t like our products, but those in Europe, they do, they trust us, maybe then Malaysia could see that the times have changed? Of course they have to improve product quality and SCs too, so that one day people will realize that the products are better than they used to be. But that, like everything else, will take a while.

• tokmoh on Jan 18, 2012 at 4:03 pm

You scared me for a brief moment there. It would indeed be very worrying if quality is sacrificed… again. That is one area that is too dear to be trimmed down.

Otherwise, I hope the cost cutting is limited to making operation more efficient. Reduce inventory, reduce wastage, that is the Just In Time production system, otherwise known as Toyota Production System. Another aspect would be to utilise the TM plant more.

• foxis on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:17 pm

I have driven saga flx and myvi 2012. I can say saga flx can’t even comparable to myvi in terms of NVH quality, especially the noisy engine sound come into the passenger compartment for no reason, and the weird humming sound. There is a strong feeling of steel to steel feedback from the car body….like it is just a steel box with 4 wheels. Maybe is because of the budget seat or suspension. The interior plastic is cheaper version as well compare to myvi.. saga using the same quality as the viva’s interior plastic.

Whoever says myvi is over priced and it should same price as Saga BLM is a nonsense… go test both and compare.

Myvi can sell well because the standard is there with a standard hatchback boot space.

Saga can sell well because it is the cheapest priced car in the class with a nice big boot space. The car body insulation is a budget one as well. Very basic budget car.

• kadajawi on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:56 pm

The Myvi in turn just turns into a turtle when you corner hard. Lotus isn’t known for the most comfortable ride quality in the world, they are known for cars that go extremely fast around corners, i.e. they don’t behave dangerous when you have to corner hard and fast (emergency situations of course).

I didn’t like driving the Myvi SE… ride was meh (mushy), manual gearbox was the worst thing I have every tried (ok, a Perodua Rusa is just as bad). It is like they intentionally made it bad so that you won’t speed, which you shouldn’t because the handling is dangerous.

And at least the Saga is a steel box, and not a tin box like some Peroduas are. :P

• compare saga ngan viva la wei…

• izzad on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:51 pm

proton in these recent years has a matter of fact beaten myvi’s sale. i’m not sure about p2, but they have beaten perodua in a whole with saga/persona/exora batch. i guess they r allowed to go a bit further than that now huh?

• I hope with this, Proton will be a better company and we all have more reasons to choose Proton :)

• Wheeler on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:42 am

Proton is good in certain areas and poor in some areas. DRB should know what best to change and what’s not.

• Sengkuring on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:44 am

Serious regional player in 3 years? ermmm sound difficult but not impossible. Korean dude did it why not/can’t DRB. Go DRB it’s not impossible yar.

• Hmm..its kinda interesting to hear about this new owner’s plan..but i am not sure if it is a good move if they decided to change DSZ..we can see Proton is going in the right direction under DSZ..and about Lotus..well..i think we should wait a bit longer until they come out with their new model..

• DewaSemut on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Datuk Syed Zainal and Tan Sri Syed Mohktar are both Syed.. family maa… blood is thicker than water :) :P :D

• flamingflo on Jan 19, 2012 at 8:25 am

well, when DRB bought Pos Malaysia, the outgoing CEO was a Syed too.

• Annihilated on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:22 pm

I agree with you big time. I’d like to see DSZ stays in Proton’s helm. He listens to complaints and corrects most of the mistakes despite numbers of difficulties encountered.

For Lotus, let’s give Lotus a final chance. Backed by their new capable employee line ups, renowned engineering arm and current product and quality improvement, I’m pretty confifdent Lotus will do good this time.

Remember Jaguar and Land Rover were bleeding Ford cash last time? Tata bought JLR, continue to invest and committed to JLR product development started by Ford. About 3 years and few billions later, JLR is making money for Tata.

You decide, be Ford or Tata.. both have their pros and cons.

• I don’t think DSZ is the best man to lead Proton anymore. He has managing Proton for 6 years and the result was NOT really impressed. Nothing much to proud with.

Yes he did in right way but not par with KPI. Perhaps he supposes to leave! Following with all of the directors. with 10K staff, I beg you there should lot of idle workers in Proton.

For sake of Proton future, hope Tan Sri will replace DSZ with more capable man and strengthen the Styling and powertrain technology. These 2 things are crucial for car business.

• just sell lotus…proton will save $$$$$$..end of story.

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:26 pm

How ironic would it be if Lotus, a year after it was sold, starts making profit? Also it is a halo brand… there could be a small relatively affordable Lotus based Proton sports car, which could raise brand awareness in other markets they try to enter.

• proton should learn from the past..not future !

• prrghh on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:09 pm

sounds like honda F1 and Brawn F1, lol.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 18, 2012 at 4:05 pm

How much did lotus pay you to give such complements? Add me in I want such easy cash too….. Everyone knows that lotus is draining money from proton. And worse still protons financial health isn’t as good as well, so it is only wise that they let go some share of the company. Furthermore u said vw bought Bugatti, that is because vw grp has only 2 loss making companies with the rest earning loads…

• Som46 on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:54 am

The very first!

Happy but took to long, 26 years for the greedy cronies to realize they have screwed up making big loss!

Now, looking towards the future i dare to say Proton Boleh! Please do come up with good quality and reasonable priced cars.

• Think Again! on Jan 18, 2012 at 5:06 pm

lets b hornest, d upcoming GE definitely sending chills down d spine of all d BN cronies.

And Coz lack of confident of winning 2/3 majority or worse, possible losing to PR, thy r doing some early inhouse cleaning because more ugly numbers will pops up like popcorns if PR wins.

So selling proton will save tons of cronies and their dirty wealth incase democracy prevail. DRB cutting cost is actually saving cronies’ arse prior to elections, if not our jails will be overloaded if PR win.

• From the look of political scene rite now..i dont know if PR can win seat especially PKR n PAS..they give BN advantages with some blunder they made rite know

• Som46 on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Seriously your point did make me “think again”!

You’re right it’s obvious up to a certain degree that this move might be to ship out their liability to cover their infidelity. The oppositions are pretty hot in tracking and exposing corruption let alone business losses due to poor or rather gluttonous and flamboyant decision making.

Let’s see then.

• kowreck on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:55 am

hope that they will keep lotus.

• oligopoli on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:12 am

i don’t see any bad thing if lotus be reviewed so that it can stand alone and be successful, perhaps like what Audi is to its parent Volkswagen AG that bring to battle in protn boardroom. if that happen, both drb and lotus gain benefit, rather than relying on proton coffers.

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Audi is not really a stand alone brand. They use the same engines, same platform, same everything. The last gen Audi A4 is now assembled, using the same factory as before (they just moved the entire factory to Spain), as a Seat (with tiny styling changes). Those brands are all very close to each other. Some (?) of the Bentley’s are based on the same platform as the VW Phaeton. VW and Porsche share a platform with the Tourag/Cayenne. etc.

Unless Proton manages to build Lotus based cars or vice versa (a Lotus Savvy with a more powerful engine? lol) I don’t see that happen… to that extend.

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Btw., I do hope that VW gets some influence in Proton. What about an up! from Proton? Safe, small, affordable, good FC.

Also TSI and TDI engines in Protons would be sweeeeet. :)

• I don’t know why many people still talking about a possible Proton/VW relationship?

Proton made clear it’s position in the talks and VW had to take notice of that. The deal is cancelled, over.

DRB-HICOM is a contract assembler for VW, not more, not less. VW don’t have any influence into DRB-HICOM’s business and vise-versa.

• lets see if DRB is the good doctor to cure this 25 years cancerous to Malaysia automotive…

turn into regional and global player is good, but not at the rakyat’s expense for 25 years!

if DRB can do it in 3 or 5 years, that will be miracle. (probably that is the excuse to extend the NAP to 3-5 years later)

The final result is obvious, re-badge VW. period.

• tokmoh on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:20 am

They better keep DSZ, he has proven track record and can continue to steer Proton in the right direction!

All hail DSZ! All hail DSZ! All hail DSZ!!

• reality-man on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:09 pm

this comment obviously from a proton employee …..

DSZ is still losing millions every year, and he has been at Proton for, what, 10 years? Its time for somebody else to get his chance to show his talent…. & for sure if he screws-up, DRB will sack him as well.

Malaysian taxpayers money is paying for the salaries of 5,000 proton staff, not sales of proton cars….. PLEASE STOP WASTING OUR HARD-EARNED MONEY!

• tokmoh on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Lolz

U mad, bro?

10 years? Sure… Ignorants like you for sure can’t be educated enough to know he was appointed 1st January 2006, at the time when Proton was at its worst. Oh wait, I forgot, today is 1st January 2016, I see, I see. I might need to get back to school to learn how to calculate 2012 – 2006 = 10 years…. NOT!

Sales of Proton cars do not pay the employees’ salaries? Jackiechanmymindisfulloffuck.jpg, are you CFA qualified? ACCA? ICAEW? All of them?

For God’s sake, you must be new here. Sigh.

• mspfaz on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:25 am

Hopefully the changes DRB-Hicom makes would have better impact on Proton business. However, changes would impact hard on the staff, dealer and parts provider but hopefully for the better for the consumers. Wishing they would retain some percent of Lotus share if they are thinking of selling it to obtain technologies Lotus are developing currently for the new cars especially the lightweight materials and new engine technologies.

• totenkepf on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:36 am

Hopefully no more complaint in the future about power window and other things people always complaining despite cost cutting

• ridger on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:39 am

Gentlemen, start your engines!

• taufik on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:54 am

its for own good sake of proton, may proton leave another prosper year before a big shark come to eat.

• Henry on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:01 am

The one major problem is that both Proton and Lotus don’t sell enough cars. There is no economy of scale.

There is this multi million dollar loan guaranteed by Proton. Lotus is bleeding Proton. It is best to sell it to someone who can afford it.

• alhhin on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:42 pm

yes very well say, lotus now is need most money…easy to say wait until 5 line production car debut ,and let see, if production for each that have to expense few billion more for marketing and production.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:02 am

Cmon la get real…………which company in DRB-HICOM is a serious global player….????

Hope for the best !!!

• alldisc on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:02 am

offer Lotus to Tata group, perhaps?

L ots.
    O f.
    T rouble.
    U sually.
    S erious

• Absolute Rider on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:13 pm

L = Lots
      O = Of
      T = Thumbs
      U = Up
      S = Soon

How about that? People always think of negative will not be success!!!!! Sounds familiar?

• mustafa on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:03 am

I am okay with whatever decision that DRB Hicom thinks is good for Proton, if they make it as a business decision. And at the end of everything, DRB Hicom have to take responsibility for what ever decisions that they make. If DRB Hicom fails along the way, the government have to stand aside and let the natural process happen…no more bail out.

• drMpower on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:04 am

do not sell lotus. that should be the main priority. along the other cost cutting measures like the third party car park.

trimming lotus yes. sell no.

if u sell lotus, u have nothing for world stage. and u got nothing in engineering advancement. plus their products will becoming to production only in 2013. they got their own engine running now. so selling it would be missing out the good things. which was paid by proton.

apart from that EMAS and Range Extender just recently, the only addition of lotus technology into proton products is the handling. which is great but that is it.

thats it. nothing more. i found it to be disturbingly not sufficient.

syed mokhtar should get more of lotus technology into proton. bring those advancement here. into protons products.

• Then a.. how bout own lotus 100% and sell proton then.

• makeitmine on Jan 18, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Sell Lotus and Proton is planned for doom! If Lotus is no use, why Shanghai Auto and others may want to own Lotus.

The only business sense is to make Lotus engineering work for other OEMs through JV or collaboration and build low cost manufacturing/R&D bases with partners worldwide and not limited only to Europe or Malaysia.

Not only Lotus, we can forsee that Proton may also have difficulty in promoting their own brand of cars to global market in the near future due to competitiveness.

It’s time for DRB-HiCOM to rethink what auto business that will be profitable and suited for Proton/Lotus in the next 5 years. Perhaps new opportunities may exist in designing/manufacturing of performance parts/engines for commercial vans, coaches/buses/trains. If so, Lotus input is desirable.

• Just sell of Lotus because Proton not using the full knowledge of Lotus..

• phailed on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:43 pm

atleast Proton used the “Lotus Rides & Handling” tagline in their vehicle

• VoidDance on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:16 am

When Lotus came out with Evora, I think it was a good idea. The car is almost perfect in many way which will cater for far larger audiens than Elise and Exige. Lotus could’ve develop their future cars around Evora platform bit by bit.

Then came Dany Bahar ruining everything with his over the top Ferrari wannabe attitude and logger head with Tony Fernandes in F1. He waste such a lot of money which could be use to develop Lotus better.

Proton, sell Lotus Cars and keep Lotus Engineering.

• Emily on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:23 am

Proton now under DRB. My question , is DRB a very sucessfull company? This is just another case of a blind person leading another blind.

• BN=barang naik on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:02 pm

yup agreed..bear in mind,DRB-Hicom current debt is 20billion!

• U lie rite….this is no political blog that u can lie lie n lie…people have google u know

http://investing.businessweek.com/research/stocks/financials/financials.asp?ticker=DRB:MK

• DavidB on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:31 am

Quite glad that it is DRB that took over instead of UMW for example.

DRB has some track record of beefing up the cars they sell. One example is the Suzuki Swift that got its suspension tuned to be slightly more sporty as compared to the Jap Swift.

If UMW got Proton, habislah, “sportiness” will become like Myvi SE… hancur.

• Suzuki Malaysia has not having enough parts to cater the demand of its current car owners. Are you sure they are good enough? They would probably surrender the Suzuki distributorship.

• kevin lee on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:32 am

drb hicom didnt handled its past involvements so well, like the chevrolet brand, i really wonder if they can deliver this time

• Emily on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:38 am

this is just a case of blind person leading another blind. DRB do not have proven track record

• normal_user on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:39 am

“If Lotus continues to ride on Proton, it will be cancerous, it will be like a parasite.’

Wrong! Without lotus as technical partner, and without the excellent R&H that Proton is reknowned for, Proton cars will surely lose its attractiveness. Its symbiosis. Without the ‘Lotus factor’, proton cars cannot survive where it is today. Surely u need to sacrifice some in order to gain some.

The future value of Lotus shall the turnaround plan work in the next 5 years, is greater than the debt that Proton & DRB Hicom has to suffer now. Its a risk that will bear fruit if Lotus is managed prudently.

Proton will lost its ‘soul’ if it let Lotus go.

• Lotus is not a volume seller ,the amount of taxpayers money going into Lotus revamp might not see a sizeable return as its a niche market car.coming up the cars to sell is one thing,public acceptance and sales is another problem.to me better cut of lotus,cuz despite having lotus for all these years,proton did nothing other than attach a “Lotus Ride and Handling” sticker.use the money dumped into lotus to do RnD for proton cars first,by having a good domestic and hopefully foreign sales figure,the proton can purchase wateva car maker n turn it into a profitable car maker as well.like how audi contributes to its parent company VW.

• mangata on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:02 pm

but dude,think about it….what up with the ‘lotus factor’…if there is thing called lotus factor,all proton cars would easily outdone the japanese and koreans cars in terms of handling but no they didnt,so where the fuck is the ‘lotus factor’

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Being owner of Lotus, and having their cars, in parts, being developed by Lotus (especially ride and handling) should also be a big selling point when trying to expand to other markets where Lotus enjoys a great reputation, but Proton is unknown or only known for lousy Wiras and Satrias and Sagas (the old ones).

• Dany Bahar must be very worried now.. ahahahahah

• Honda Freak on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:42 am

awesome!

• pls dont sell lotus. but just dont waste money on F1.

• It’s a well-known secret that Proton always pay higher prices for inferior products. They then pay many millions USD to a US management consultancy firm AT Kearney Inc to have their multi-national (from US, Europe, Asia and Australia) consultants stationed in Proton months after months to do procurement for them. That’s ingenious way to spend the taxpayers money.

• Medusa on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Dear Proton,

Please sell Lotus started at RM1 token price as per what you had done to MV Augusta. And please do open bidding so that everybody could have a chance to bid.

• mohsin on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Ouch! feel sore throat, butt pain!
    feel same goes to strengthen bank / finance approval for only Proton car as reported by today’s Malay newspapers!
    For me: NO for new car for this year!
    TQ

• November on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:54 pm

all the best Proton. Make us proud. Proton Boleh! I can see much improvement in the new Exora Bold, good job!!

• linear_system on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm

how about we make a poll..if u think DRB should keep lotus please thumb up..if sell lotus please thumb down..as for me..DRB should keep lotus and at the same time fully utilize the expertise in what lotus is good for..

• reality-man on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:02 pm

quite a useless idea…. if 1,000,000 people vote “keep Lotus”, & 2 people vote “sell Lotus”, you think DRB care what you think?!?!

This is not UMNO or PKR, this is a business entity who have spent RM2b to buy proton, so proton better start making real profit or else DRB have to sell even their underwear to pay back bank loan for that RM2b….!

• linear_system on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:19 pm

its not for DRB actually, but just to know the reader of paultan.org choose which option. but if DRB wanna use this poll for their decision, i and paultan wont ask any royalty from them.hehe

• mnazri.tan on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm

good or bad…the future lotus cars are delicious…..dont know the quality though…time will tell

If I am the owner of Proton, i would not sell Lotus…(in fact i think part of their commitment is not to sell of any asset for certain period of time) Instead, i will trim the 5 years plan. the cars is way to much. Keep the Esprit, Elite and Eterne and Elise. Remove Elan and Ethos…maybe eterne can be drop as well…or wait longer… Should push forward timeline for elise….That should come next after Esprit… Preferably both at 2013…For the time being, totally rework the interior of Evora (totally change it, and replace the engine with different one…not camry…it may be good but the reputation kills it….)

For Proton, the cost cutting measure is good, but my immediate attention should be new cars development…They definitely need replacement for Perdana (perhaps should take eterne and turn that to Perdana)…they should ride on satria neo succes and bring in new model to replace the aged neo….they also need to create new market, pick up truck ( a real one not small pick up like arena) and SUV (cant understand why they never use the ASX, the styling is good enough….)…also the city car EMAS must come ASAP….that should be bread and butter together with SAGA and new TUAH…

DRB HICOM …are you reading this…now hire me as your new CEO at Proton….hahahahahahhahahah

• Fuel pump on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Come on tandercats, no need to waste money anymore, it’s time for you to compete like a man with no protection from gahmen anymore. 25 years of protection from gahmen is long enough. Because of you, all rakyat are suffering. If you are good, you are good. If you’re shite tutup kedaila.

• cannot la..korean car is protected by its gov, jap auto is protected by its gov, china auto ind protected by its gov n us car maker protected by its gov….we want gov dont protect malaysian car?

• ezracopters on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:16 pm

haha..rakyat this, rakyat that, rakyat bleed, rakyat said… naive… we’re not even the majority!! i’m one of the fool that rebel without a cause, thought things could be better, heck gotta admit i greed for more..at the end, karma police, my business abroad bleed due to bad reputation HE put on Malaysian!!! anyway…

don’t be deaf by a group of loud monkey in a fancy-zoo, yet try to listen for the primate at the silence humbling jungle out there.. they don’t ask for much, they’re just wanna keep what they already had. it’s the bad apple on top of the basket that we need to cut off. and me, might be u as well, learn our lesson, just be good to everyone on the throne @ potentially gona be on it, but not too close as i was.. we never knew how its hurt..

p/s :

Yes Lotus draining proton’s capital. but considering the 5years plan, the all-star Malaysian Bankers loan syndicate which back by the Proton itself, Lotus revival on auto sport & world.. i think instead of fully sell it, maybe proton can keep 51% and sell another 49%. give it 4 years final-evaluation time.. let say after 4 years under new Proton management & Lotus G. still lotus not making any money .. well then, sayonara!!!!

• DRB Hicom better improve your service centre in term of technician skills, responbilities, efficiency and listen to your customer feedback, if not, it will back to square. I won’t border the car brand, service is a main priority for me as a consumer.

• http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/maybank-to-finance-drbs-proton-purchase/

Wow.. new news.. DRB hav control of 50.01% of proton.. Does this mean tat DRB is THE boss for P1 now?

• prrghh on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:06 pm

to lazy engineers and designers:

Doomsday 2012. akkakakakakakakaka

• xiumxium on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:07 pm

don’t sell LOTUS… bring them to Boleh Land… make it cheaper n sell it at proton edar with Malaysian price..n don’t forget teh tarik hook ..i dont mind if planting CFE campro inside..as long as can get it under 100k

• 1. Retrench all those chronies in PROTON who did not give any beneficial contribution to PROTON.
    2. Get / hire good skill / technical workers from our automotive industry. They are plenty.
    3. Propose Vision & Mission accompany with 5 years turn over plan for PROTON and it employees.
    4. Get back to basic policy in industry. Productivity Improvement (Efficiency Improvement), Quality Improvement (Customer Satisfaction) and Reduce Cost (CAPEX & OPEX). Should implement plant wide.
    5. Re-organise sales, marketing including branches and dealers.
    6. All decisions should be based on technical aspects of the industry and not based on chronies and who knows who.
    7. IMPORTANTLY: Coalition with PERODUA and get the best from both world. Both can be benifited from this coalition.

• autojohndoe on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:34 pm

the question is… Perodua is not standing with its own feet… It is still clinging to Daihatsu and Toyota…

So, will Daihatsu allow Perodua to befriend with Proton?

• i guest on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Before financial crisis, proton was owned by hicom. After that, it sold to khazanah due to financial burden. If not of the protectionism policy, it was already sold to Foreigner Company. After that, hicom change its direction from manufacturer to rather as assembly such as Honda and gm and the latest is Volkswagen. Now hicom acquire back proton. As I guest, it wants to use full facilities in tanjung malim plant, which is now under utilizing to assembly its marques. It is better to use it rather than find a location to build up from the ground.

• kerelbort on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:37 pm

well… fast profit can be made by selling its subsidiary. however, they could not sell it in the first 2 years of their ownership.

Lotus should make profit to fill their pot instead of sitting on Proton payroll.

By selling Lotus, what do Proton has to market themselves against the masses. If they really part, grab all the blueprint before they go off. those IP is really really expensive.

• y not? on Jan 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Actually, lotus is still useful. Because in certain market, people acknowledge lotus more than proton. So it can be used to penetrate that market. Such as Youngman lotus in china. Using proton model or engine but using lotus name. So y not using this concept marketing to the other market?

• i don’t understand why people keep saying proton is using taxpayer money…i know they already repaid 400 million loan they got from government when they started the company years ago…so already paid…so why keep saying using taxpayer money? with the amount of money the pay to their staffs, suppliers, giving scholarships etc…is enough to justify that initial 400 million loan….maybe because khazanah bought the share so it is considered tax payer money? proton strengthen the automotive industries…before, not many Malaysian can use their engineering skill to build cars…now..okaylah i know you are going to say protection problem what soever but tell me how many design engineers work for Tan Chong? These engineer got paid and also pay tax too just like you…cuma banyak ke tak…ada bayar 26% tax ke? maybe ada…so tak payahlah talk about taxpayer money

• I think they meant the people’s money. the rakyat is subsidizing their money and precious life when they buy and drive a proton while Mahathir, Najib and gang drives an European car.

Can you imagine the CEO of Coke drinks nothing but Pepsi?

• Annihilated on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:47 pm

hahaha.. biasa lah. so many politicians here. everything also need to oppose and spin even it is a good move. be it any side.

so bored with these taxpayer money things. entah bayar entah evade tax.

• Vj the Rat on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:30 am

Polo, please check the hundreds of millions proton gets in tax exemptions, r&d grants, etc from Msia government before commenting, these are tax payers money. As a business case, Proton has failed. This is a fact. It’s the legacy and fantasy of a proud but foolish individual, backed by state money. Profits that proton made are a result of consumers having no other choice because of protectionism. Would you choose a proton over a toyota/honda/nissan/vw if their prices are the same? Why isn’t your nick tiara, juara or savvy, but polo? No need to answer…

• kadajawi on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:10 pm

AFAIK ASEAN cars are taxed the same as local cars. The only reason why a Toyota is more expensive is because people still think taxes for them are high, where in reality Toyota make insane profits.

Also Protons are cheaper than other cars, they cut costs a lot to be cheaper than the competition (guess why the quality for a while was very lousy). It’s like in Europe… a Dacia or Korean car is cheaper than a VW, even though the taxes are the same.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Kadajawi, MITI’s excise duty rates aren’t written in jawi, so maybe that’s why you missed the “small” detail. Why non-national brands are so expensive is because of excise duty imposed on them, Proton and Perodua do not have to pay any excise duty. Do look it up in your free time.

• Broken HEart on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Is that so? then, can u xplain why is there a price different between peninsular malaysia and duty free island like langkawi? please do explain to us why is there 38% discount in langkawi? please do explain n please stop bullshitting..

• kadajawi on Jan 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

I’m not saying that cars aren’t cheaper there, but the tax rates AFAIK should be the same. However it is possible that UMW doesn’t make as much profit in Langkawi, as the people there aren’t used to paying that much of a premium for a Toyota over a Proton. As long as people in Peninsular Malaysia still believe that the only reason why the cars are so expensive is the tax, Toyota will gladly keep the price high.

• eichang on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:14 pm

lotus savvy hot hatch…………why not? savvy is one of the best platform that proton have, meanwhile lotus can tuned compatible engine for it……..just use lotus formula, buy toyota engine for its car…

• jamee on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:21 pm

better sell lotus. too musch money at stake with lotus. just sell good design cars for normal family la. simple but yet can make good profit if ur cars are good. lotus? who wants to buy, market very small, too many better competitors with better reputation.

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Better reputation than Lotus? Who?

• alhhin on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:46 pm

got well point…..unless slash few hundred billion for brand build and wait 5 year for havest

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:49 pm

What has Lotus developed in the last decade or two which had brought the car industry forward? Nothing! Did they invent DSG? Nope. Did they introduced common rail diesel? Nope. Hybrid? Nope. Highly efficient turbo petrol engines? Nope. Electric propulsion? Nope. New manufacturing standards? Nope.

In fact, they’ve been so poor (creatively and literally speaking), they are using Toyota powertrains!!!! What is the point of showing all their concepts, they are never going to be made. And that pretty boy Bahar looks more like a Levi’s model…what has he done to deserve a four-year contract extension? Please sell Lotus to Hafei, Changan or something, at least they have deeper pockets!

• DavidB on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:39 pm

so what did Toyota develop in the last few years? Nothing as well…

• ignoramus on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Let me try to enlighten. Which division of Lotus are you referring to? Lotus Cars or Lotus Engineering? Lotus Engineering is the one with great value. They provide plenty of engineering services and solutions to other automotive manufacturers. Who do you think designed Porsche’s Valve Lift system now in use for about a decade. Who provided expertise for the Nissan GTR suspension set-up? The list goes on and on and on. Rather than generalize, could it be possible that you are simply ignorant?

• i see. that’s why the Porsche’s VarioCam system is VERY SIMILAR to the Campro CPS.

they both use tappets with locking pins to change valve timing, unlike VTEC/MIVEC/other VVTs which use rocker arm locking pins.

• They did develop better range extender than others

• phailed on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:41 pm

duh they still using Toyota engine LOL

• alhhin on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:48 pm

never sell to Chinese company even trough thier rich, they spoil the brand

• kamaji on Jan 18, 2012 at 4:16 pm

With all this monopoly….car here will be more costly.

• akupunya on Jan 18, 2012 at 4:22 pm

now the time has come.
    a seriuos player in ownership has become an owner of proton.
    DRB-Hicom should rearrange the way of work style in proton.
    increase efficiency and productivity.

how to manage proton?
    first, produce varity of good quality model in markets.
    enhance the model lineup.
    persona -r is still not a good investment yet the design is too old and too copycat as forte.

lotus should come only in 2 models for production. with this way, lotus can test the market in rebranding the name and also cut the high cost in all new models.

the plant capacity in Tanjung Malim will be utilized under VW production cars. VW will be the sifu on proton.

proton is on his way to become a global car maker, but the cars doesn’t look enough to compete with other giant car maker.

hope DRB Hicom will become Air Asia who can think out of the box in managing proton.

Good luck DRB and Proton.

• DRB-Hicom total group(including other assets) wealth around RM30b. For Protongkat at least RM2b and Lotus is RM3b for additional capital injection.

So how DRB gonna do this? Sell other part of business (like ports, IPP) just to fund or waste more cash? Or borrow a bit from zero-interest non-violent Ahlong EPF?

Ha ha ha looks like Protongkat being lead to believe Lotus at far away London is the cause cancer? How about the crony vendors right in the face?

You see it’s pulling the cart before the horse again. Blame Lotus first before the Crony Vendors.

Cannot solve the power window problem, give lifetime warranty instead.

Cannot get more cash Khazanah, get DRB Hicom. Not enough don’t worry EPF always help what. Then what? Ha Ha Ha sell it for RM1 lah in the end.

Khazanah -> DRB Hicom -> EPF -> RM1 Close Shop.

Anyway the day Protongkat close shop = our 2nd Merdeka day lah!

• “DRB-HICOM wants to turn Proton into a serious regional player within three years, before becoming a global player two years from that point”

kakakakakakakakakakkakakkaakaka… lawak awal tahun.
    drb-hicom themselves is a local player, ada hati nak ajar p1 jadi regional player.

• I hate the fact that made Lotus involved in F1; no thanks to both Tony F and Proton’s management to allow the Caterham boss to interfere in the expensive F1 business.

Having said that, to do another MV AGUSTA is even worse- Lotus shouldn’t be release before Dany Bahar roll out their new generation Porsche-rival Lotus series of sport car. Too much investment already made.

Pray God, DRB not doing another Tiaranization episode of Proton. Otherwise, better let VW AG acquire this ailing manufacturer instead of favorite local boy. Perhaps, selling Proton to Malaysian of Chinese ethnic with proven business credential better than everything it has stake DRB.

• BADboy on Jan 18, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Good news mannn!!!

• kerelbort on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:11 pm

everyone should be reminded,
    USPD is the company who bring in product such as
    Satria
    Putra
    and
    Tiara

so let yourmind flow..

• oomph on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:39 pm

This is from 17 August 2000… 12 years ago.. look who owns USPD.

“Auto maker Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Bhd (KLSE:PROT) (Proton) has announced that it will acquire the remaining three million shares of Usahasama Proton-DRB Sdn Bhd (USPD) from Khazanah Nasional Bhd for RM81.06 million (US$21.33 million). ”

Wooowweee… it is Proton!..

• Absolute Rider on Jan 18, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Think about it again. Without Lotus, can we see today’s Proton? with their car platforms, engines, ride and handling, and other technologies…. which we might not see just by looking at the car itself.

if Lotus is cancer and parasite, why so many other automotive companies wanted Lotus?

• orang biasa on Jan 18, 2012 at 7:30 pm

If DRB is blind, do merc n VW want them to assemble their car?

• DArkerMarker on Jan 18, 2012 at 7:40 pm

business is about making money. Through sales. Continued sales of the products are good.

Whatever the company, whatever the name, wherever the company exist in the world….if its a burden, if its is making losses year after year……please….

TUTUP KEDAI.

• orang biasa on Jan 18, 2012 at 7:49 pm

Everybody can talk…. tapi tgk pd diri sndiri…. how big company u manage…. ckp mmg senang… kan…?

• Absolute Rider on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Proton in motorsport and their success. Proton itself or also involvement by Lotus?

• kankong mali on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:41 pm

proton already become private, dem G should remove the ‘gila’ tax for imported car laa..
    baru la fair..

• tansri85 on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:08 am

1)Personally i dont believe DRB will be able to transform Proton better than what is going on. If it was that easy, it can be done long time b4!
    2)Worst is when the focus shifted & management direction changed even the first direction is yet to be fruitful.
    3)My verdict: Yes we might see Proton will be profitable in coming 3-5 years. But longer prospect still the same. eventually we’ll see DRB selling Proton to foreigners after they have cash out/ striping Proton’s values.

• khairulx19a on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:53 am

proton should adapt lotus exterior design to their car

• Jaybond on Jan 19, 2012 at 7:59 am

If DRB-Hicom wants to create synergies between Proton & Lotus , one obvious way is through parts commonization. The next Lotus Elise could share many parts with Proton models..engines, suspension, interior parts, electrical..that’s economies of scale..

• says says on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:27 am

Go sell LOTUS for RM1..

..with that LOTUS the biawak hidup (cant find a word in English for that) will sink with its lossess..

..and PROTON will be back in the black..

..oh..do keep DSZ..he is good at tackling that ‘Biasalah, PROTON’ informal motto..

Way to go!

• kadajawi on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:14 pm

wow. Smart, eh? Invest and invest and invest, and just before they have a chance to start making money sell it cheap. You could even beat Leo Apotheker for the worst CEO… in the World award with that.

• I wonder how Proton would defend themselves from technology vultures if they do sold Lotus. At least right now they have a chest full of Lotus patents to shield them. It will really make my day if at the end they will have to buy Lotus back at exorbitant price.

• Jaybond on Jan 19, 2012 at 10:06 am

Another factor which also counts regarding Lotus position within the group, is that DRB-HICOM is currently working on a sportscar project with Potenza Cars, UK (Westfield & GTM brands). Could there be a synergy in this case? Perhaps DRB-HICOM could combined Lotus & Westfield/GTM technical expertise?…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jan 19, 2012 at 10:28 am

Dear Polo, why isn’t your name Juara or Tiara? If you had a choice, would you choose a Proton over a Toyota/Honda/Nissan/Kia/VW if the cars are the same price? The only reason why Proton has profits is because 60% of Msian car buyers can’t afford non-national brands. And non-national brands are so expensive because of government policies protecting proton.

• critic_A on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:19 pm

loser like u should work harder to buy non-national brand vehicle. rather than asking GOV to bring down the price of other car y not u work harder for it. if all the car price gone down, mayb petro price wil increase or ur teh tarik too~ understand??

• ShowoFF on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:29 am

DRB gonna price up Proton with T & H???…aiyo guess that is a killer plan for Proton…if u want to compare our Malaysian with Japanese-proudly use their own car…that’s a lousy comparision…dey, u tot our Malaysian is highly Patriotik like Japanese ma??can u see, sampai G need to do campaign ” BELILAH BARANGAN BUATAN MALAYSIA” to make our products profitable.dats simple example to show how lowwwwwww patriotism in our Malaysian minded…da reason why our Malaysian buy Proton becoz of the price is low…dats it.Our Malaysian juz look at the superior level..u put la Mitsubishi tech ka, lotus tech ka, or VW tech ka, they wont to see it..Look at how Inspira sale.still cannot go la…Moreover, Proton is not a brand that peoples can show off “dengan berlagaknya” around their neighbourhood la…so DRB, plez think twice….luv Proton

• inazam on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:31 am

I agree with u mr Showoff. Part of the sales failure to Proton cars is also mindset of we Msians. How superb the quality, BMW tech ke, lotus tech ke, but if the brand of your car is Proton buatan Malaysia..nothing arrogant to show off to your neighbours, relatives, org kampung etc. That’s why Msian makers can only sell cars below the range of RM50,000 because no rival from import cars. Drp I beli Inspira, baik I beli Honda City ke, Kia Forte ke, Toyota Vios ke…That’s why Perodua only make low price cars and they make money. We always see the failure because of the management, design, quality, planning but there are also other things that we should think too. The Dealers ..if they don’t get want they want ..they will stab behind you. I have known one CEO who was once ex Honda Motorcycle Msia management team. He said his ex Japanese Honda MD has mentioned that between Honda and Modenas motorcycle, the percentage of defect is at par, it means the quality is almost the same. But in terms of relationship with the Dealers, they will really,really take care of ..fulfill whatever their request and this is what Modenas lack of..not because they do not want to do it, but they can’t , only the people inside know why.

• Lim Kopi on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:51 am

Let this be a lesson to learn for all developing countries out there:

IF you already have alot on your plate, don’t be an smart ass and start a car making business.

Proton has come a long way, but not only to be mismanaged and become unprofitable despite being so heavily protected, which has cost:

– our country & its resources,
    – the Industry its opportunities to become liberal
    – rakyat alot of unnecessary encumberances.

It is good ambition but with the wrong approach and execution methods, hence Proton is what it is today.

• kadajawi on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:03 pm

To support Proton in the beginning wasn’t that bad of an idea, although they should have done it with subsidies so they can easily get rid of the support fast. However the support went on far too long, without an end in sight, so Proton was lazy.

They should have had a plan where for example the first 3 years of car manufacturing are subsidized (buy a Proton and the government pays half of it), then it gets less every year. Kickstart the company, but tell them they need to create a competitive product within 10 years, cause otherwise the competitors will easily kick them out of business again.

Proton has started to develop decent products in recent years, but it happened way too late. Why couldn’t they start developing their own cars in 80s, so that in the 90s they would have a few products?

• bobdbilder on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Those ‘Untouchable’ vendors must be shitting in their pants right now! Yeah baby!

When MMC took over Johor Port, they had an engineer based inside to have a look and feel for the daily happening inside for months, all incognito. When the deal was struck, En. Khalid became its ED and sent lot of people packing.

Justice will be served.

• eggman01 on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Hoping Proton will keep and won’t sell Lotus Cars..

• makeitmine on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:35 pm

The simplest thing is get for DRB-HiCOM to get the folks at Lotus Engineering to sell their services to all the makes that DRB-HiCOM has assembled to bring out their engineering value.

Proton/Lotus/DRB can setup a division that specializes in providing car assembly/engineering consultancy services to companies overseas especialy in Eastern Europe, Africa & middle east. Future customers can potentially become JV partners in global car manufacturing program.

• In 27 years, Proton havent invented a R&D like engine or gearbox..still importing refurbish engine from MMC and the Campro also is not coming from Proton engineer just little involvement with Lotus UK..then this GLC DRB takeover also mostly like to cover Proton debt & cronies..come on la the Germans have invented cars since 1900’s & ours 27 years..’it’s like a baby learn how to walk” come on Proton, you got a lot of engineers in any field but nothing you can proud of it if you still using MMC+Lotus handling in all the cars..think about it..

• makeitmine on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:27 am

The Chinese invented gun powder but the American use it to invent weapons.

The Arabs invented algebra but famous mathematician now come from the west.

Proton founded only in 1983 but it can still produce one of the most reliable car (UK specs) according to surveys in 1999 and 2011.

Read http://www.independent.co.uk/news/proton-beats-british-cars-for-reliability-1097727.html

Read http://star-motoring.com/News/2011/Proton-rated-among-most-reliable-cars.aspx

Perhaps Proton should assemble cars or manufacture engines and provide engineering services to OEMs. There is not enough volume to manufacture cars.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:47 am

Are you a frog under the coconut shell…? Proton is no longer using MMC engines since they stopped the production of the old Wira, Perdana and Saga kereta kebal aka LMST. The only exception is Proton Arena aka Jumbuck but only produced for Australian market. Now the only foreign engine being used by Proton is the Renault D4F in the Savvy.

As for gearboxes, most carmakers buy gearboxes from vendors, including Nissan and even Toyota. FYI, not many carmakers make their own gearboxes like Mitsubishi and Honda. Most Japanese carmakers established a joint-venture company named Jatco to supply gearboxes to them. Nissan buys gearboxes from Aichi Kikai. Honda has a long history of being the first Japanese carmaker to use auto gearboxes by making their own gearboxes using spur gears and multiple disc clutches instead of conventional helical gears in most auto gearboxes.

• Salam Tan Sri

Teruskan perjuangan. Kami percaya kepada kemampuan Tan Sri untuk memulihkan Proton dan meningkat nya kepada syarikat atomobil ternama di rantau ini. Insyallah.
    Kami dengan hormat nya berharap pada Tan Sri. Terima Kasih.

• PROTON EON BERHAD on Jan 21, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Dengarlah luahan hatiku..

PROTON dibawah naungan DRB-HICOM…janganlah anda menjual LOTUS…belajarlah daripada kesilapan..masih ingatkah kamu ketika menjual MV Agusta dengan harga yang murah sedangkan kamu membelinya dengan harga yang tinggi?? Tahukah kamu, MV Agusta berjaya setelah dijual dan memberi keuntungan kepada pemiliknya..sedangkan kita menjual MV Agusta disaat syarikat itu memerlukan kita?

Pandanglah LOTUS sebagai syarikat yang berpotensi untuk berjaya..dan bukannya memandang ia sebagai beban.. Begitulah juga sepatutnya rakyat MALAYSIA..rakyat MALAYSIA sepatutnya memandang PROTON sebagai syarikat yang berpotensi untuk berjaya..dan bukannya sesuatu beban kepada negara.

Yup…LOTUS munkin ketika ini bagaikan parasit pada PROTON..namun, cuba bayangkan apabila pelan 5 tahun LOTUS berjaya? Bayangkan..segala keuntungan yang diperolehi hasil kejayaan pelan 5 tahun LOTUS boleh digunakan untuk membantu memberi suntikan dana kepada Proton agar dapat mencipta banyak lagi model-model baru.

Saya, wakil daripada jualan dari PROTON EON BERHAD Cawangan K. Terengganu berharap agar Datuk Syed Mokhtar Al-Bukhary akan mengekalkan LOTUS sebagai anak syarikat PROTON dan juga mengekalkan Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin sebagai CEO PROTON… (“,)

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Proton-EON-Berhad/231326906903163?ref=tn_tnmn

• Tan Sri Bung Mokhtar Briani on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:00 pm

okey2.. all ur opinion will be print out and will be consider.. i’ll ask my staff to check the details.. apa namaaa… even if we sell LOTUS, maybe will sell to Robert Kwok.. he got diabetes, consume sugar too much, and now he repent already.. no more sugar.. its time for cars.. Puan Sri kirim salam kat hangpa semua na..

• Firebird on Jan 31, 2012 at 9:16 am

Proton is not that bad. European cars lagi banyak problems…ranging from all kind of electronic failures, to engine / transmission issues. Your Audi or BMW will spend more time in the workshop than in your garage / porch. Of course, what’s missing is Proton still stuck in ancient mentality. I just can’t understand how somebody can approve car like it being design in the 90s. Lagi satu, guna la better quality materials for the interiors.

If I am from DRB, these are the few things that I will do.
    1. Fire the Chief Designer and bring in somebody who understand modern design,
    2. Fire the Quality Director for approving the procurement of those defective products from vendors.
    3. Fire the Quality Manager and Supervisor at the assembly line for not doing a better job inspecting the final product.
    4. Fire the Product Planning Director – apa nih? How come all current Proton cars are about the same size? Semuanya in subcompact and compact category. Where are the midsize and full size cars, plus cash cow SUV.
    5. Fire the Marketing Director – don’t know why Proton is not focusing on the American market. American are not that choosy kalau nak bandingkan dgn European. Some American cars are even more hideous than Proton, but still sell like hot cakes.
    6. Of course, fire the MD la, and replace with me…..hahahaaa

• smitybhwithclass on Feb 07, 2012 at 5:46 am

If something is out here to be found, they will find it for you, even if you missed it in your own searches.gooddebt.If you keep these 5 ratios in beware, then it bidding not be that difficult to find bonds that bidding give you a unbroken monthly or yearly income.Data entry drudgery received by these small are you afraid of the dark organizations is rendered are you afraid of the dark series to its workers.The manufacturer does a little produce complete dvd series are you afraid of the dark homework, some surveys, focus groups, samples previous produce records, afterward then has a look at what’s working for the contest.Many describe the yield smear premium as no cost to the borrower since the lender writes the inhibit in place of it.If you need extent to hoard addition chattels rent a luggage compartment space component or if a luggage compartment space component is exterior your budget use the garage.S.With your money making blog, you want to post new information meant in support of them several times a week.Answer: The answer lies dvd sets are you afraid of the dark in your heart.Whether it is to help make mortgage payments, get rid of debt, or go nether to school, the money is to be had to those who know where to go to get hold of these funds.With all of these said, you are you afraid of the dark grasp to prove your financial continuance and capability.you intend to be.An injury at work know how to strike revealed of nowhere, leaving you jobless and wondering how and why it happened.He said lawyers seek to body up claims by sending clients to doctors afterward chiropractors.There are several reasons on behalf of this upswing in value.No count how cynical you prevail on, it’s unbearable [http://trac.easy-coding.de/trac/wcf/newticket watch are you afraid of the dark – to save up.* At the are you afraid of the dark dvd inauguration of 2002, Business Week over for a second time apprehended their plot of “the smartest players on barrier Street.Most investment decisions come after people either lose their jobs or realize so as to the 9 to 5 life isn’t really taking them anywhere.Therefore while different currencies are strong, as a consequence the frost months are heading in to full swing, the interest in Costa Rica property seems to missile.3.The advantages mentioned here are sound in addition to legitimate when it comes to government foreclosures car auctions.Thus, a few liabilities of the small partnership will have to be covered by you.Though nearly everyone offices are tiresome to “go green” and conserve broadsheet, there is a time and a put for a broadsheet-based organizer.When comparing the growth in terms of value alongside the more traditional routes such as the FTSE100, Gold are you afraid of the dark also UK property, stamp values have increased considerably are you afraid of the dark in the last few years also are you afraid of the dark dvd tv outshine the aforementioned categories by a significant margin.

• sba platform on Jun 28, 2019 at 12:17 am

Yes! Finally something about dunlop sport classic 165/80
    r15.