Peugeot 408 – car goes completely clean in new shots

When sightings become a regular scene and image contributions start pouring in, raining down a bit like bricks, you know something’s about to happen, like a market introduction perhaps.

Such is the case with the Peugeot 408 Turbo – no official indication as to when the car is to be introduced, but the recent sightings cannot be mere coincidence, so expect something on the cards soon. The upcoming C-segment sedan has been seen on at least three occasions, twice wearing tape around the tail lights (in Melaka and in Kulim, Kedah) and once on a trailer here in the Klang Valley.

Now, reader Andrew Ng has sent in a set of – quite literally – back alley shots, in which the Pug can be seen in its entirety, completely uncovered from tip to toe. The choice of location might not be a select one, but at least the photos give the most complete view (especially the front) of how the 408 shapes up. Thanks for the photos, Andrew.

As mentioned previously, the Turbo suffix indicates that the car will wear a 1.6 turbocharged Prince mill under the hood. The car is expected to slot into the hole previously occupied by the 407, now that the 508 has taken its presentation up the ladder chain.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• luqman on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:19 am

this going to be a direct competition with the new elantra….interesting

• fongozic on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:25 am

hope the price will be reasonable…
    Elentra VS 408 who will be the winner?

• kington on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:42 am

Drive wise the contis will always give you a more assured ride. The 407 and 308 maintained the usual Conti feel while the new Elantra has gone with rear torsion beam suspension much like the Forte and the rest of the pack. Only the Civic, Focus, Mazda3 and Lancer remain with independant rear setups.

• Roger on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Go for a tests drive and compare both cars. You will be pleasantly surprise. as long as Nasim get the pricing strategy correct. I personally think the 2 liter moder should be price at 90-100 K for this model to be taken seriously by the average Joe.

• slick shifts on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:54 am

If they do bring in a 2.0 as well, it will be great for company car sales… and those who prefer n/a engines. No doubt, most Europeans are going Turbo these days due to strict emission laws but I think there is still a market for those who would want a 2.0 n/a powered car.

• Sam Sham on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:31 am

Isn’t this more of a Jetta competitor?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:01 pm

jetta is really just a civic with a european badge. volkswagen is not a premium brand. please get this fact right guys.

• Baba O'Reilly on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:19 pm

So the 408 being C-segment would be competing with Civic, Altis and Jetta right?

• Roger on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Yeap, 408 was intended for the C segment market. However, in view of tha natural preferences of most Malaysian towards Honda civic & Toyota corolla, Nasim will be making a mistake to price it at that level.

• Sam Sham on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:44 am

Japanese can bring in cars and parts with ZERO import duty thanks to CEPT and JMEPA. They can also get 100% exemption on excise duty for local and ASEAN sourced parts. Frenchies dont enjoy all this so costing won’t allow pricing to be less than the Japanese C-segments.

• Perhaps, it would be better for those more accustomed to Japanese to stick to Japanese or Korean for that matter. I feel Peugeot should not fight on price alone. They should have the right frame of mind to buy a European car. Not that it is cheaper only. I think the numbers that are sold is healthy already for the company and quite sure that they aren’t thinking of ridiculous numbers regarding sales.

• intermilan on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:05 pm

the key concept that you might missed out is how to SUSTAIN and growing those sales number that they had achieved in 2011.

207 achieve better sale lately due to heavy promotion / giveaway. the 207 isn’t going to do much better by the looks of it.
            as for the 308, hopefully they don’t think its necessary to stop selling the 308 because they sold 408. 308 should have its own segment of customer. 308 sales will be cannibalise by the 408. but i reckon it shall able to hold out on it own. the face-lift 308 is long overdue.
            will 408 appeal to new segment of customer for Peugeot? it should and it will.
            508, 3008, 5008, RCZ sales ain’t significant and probably will growth, but organically.

the 408 + 308 (if still selling) total sales in 2012 must be be able to at least reach what the 308 had achieved in 2011 (~1900 units) in order to maintain or expand Peugeot market share.

i am not convince selling the CKD 408 with a price tag that would leads to a lower value proposition compared to the 308 value proposition would be the best option to achieve that.
            having said that, it seems that they intended to sell it at a higher price tag than the 308. if the value proposition of the higher-price-tag 408 is as excellent as the value proposition of the 308, they should be able to get away with it. but C-segment sedan market has tougher competitors than C-segment hatchback market.

also, i don’t believe Nasim management and owner will nor should be satisfy if they can just maintain last year sales number / market share percentage. That would be an unacceptable aim. They don’t even have 1% of the market share (the late-into-the-Msia-market VW already have >1%!) … how could this be said healthy?
            Nothing personal, but if i am the owner and you the ceo of nasim, i will fire you yesterday!

• Well, perhaps in your eyes, things are not as how you would like them to be but, those who make the decisions may have other ideas based on other criteria that may be only known to them. Let’s just see how this plays out.

• Hello lah Volkswagen is premium brand in M’sia and overseas r branded !

• Sam Sham on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:46 am

Wow VW is ‘Premium’? What does that make Audi then? An exotic? Hahahaha!

• Hello there i mean the price of the VW in M’sia…Toyota or Honda r premium brands too ! Audi or Benz r ultra !!! but in Europe is Taxi…

• kinda sad isn’t it.

• mike7705 on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:32 am

Was waiting for this car, but sadly i think this car is stil using the old pug dna, similar to 207,407. big mouthed.. will it sell well? expected a smaller version of 508.. a bit disappointed

• Terence on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:50 am

but the rear boot indicate TURBO logo wat?? i heard there might comw 2 model: 2.0 NA and 1.6 THP (163hp)

• Sam Sham on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:59 am

Doesn’t a Peugeot have to look like a Peugeot in any case? 07 Series is old, 08 Series is new DNA.

• Unforgiven on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Maybe is time for them to launch the 308 FL as well?

• love the interior..

• BN=barang naik on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:43 am

the rear end seriously looks like sylphy.!

• mnazri.tan on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:49 am

too much of the old Pug DNA

• 200% agreed! what would pug makers say…coincidence?

• limaunipis on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:10 pm

i agree that there’s some previous gen Pug DNA – can’t escape that because it’s based on the 308, with a few nip and tuck. for the trained eye, there’s some 607 cues at the rear, too.

i can’t speak for the rest but i myself love this “continuity/ familiarity factor” found in Peugeot cars unlike its radical sibling, Citroen….maybe i’m just old-skool!

on another note, the car looks gorgeous in this color!

• Ivor Biggin on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:45 am

Wow. You guys are really hyping the 408, Nasim must be getting tired off sending you spy shots!

• Chaos on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:42 am

Yeah a bit too much detail expose. If it werent them sending the spyshots. They should be more careful in keeping the details.

Western car makers dealers are very competitive in the market now. Nasim just left themselves exposed.

Their only surprise is the price.

• lithium on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:47 am

imho the rear quarter view, c pillar, rear door and curve flow to boot looks just like proton persona.

• encik boss on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:51 am

same engine for 308,408 and 508?

• MoFaz on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:08 am

no sunroof?…

• personal opinion, nothing much to shout about this car.. interior is pretty much like a 308 and exteriorly 508 certain shouts but not this..

• Folks on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:12 am

no push start button?

• rodimus on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:22 am

Yeah, hope the price will be reasonable…

• fornette on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:27 am

at least it doesn’t look like that cartoon 207…

• Peug Peug on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:28 am

Hope the price is reasonable at around 150k. Cant wait for it!!!

• The 508 is priced at RM160k. I think it will be priced slightly cheaper than the current 308, say RM110k?

• Baba O'Reilly on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Dude, can’t be. Even Civic and Altis entry level models are more expensive than that.

• demio121 on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:42 am

this one don’t have panoramic roof… one of the attraction of 308.

• wheeler on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:50 am

It’s ashamed that most of us here cannot see beyond Japanese and/ or German badges.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:53 am

Just worried about the reliability of French car, after those complaint about Pug 308.

• Roger on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Used to feel the same. Now that I have driven 408 for more than 1 year now, no complain so far. Can’t say that continental car has more problem vs Jap/Korean cars.

• Derrick C on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Boring-lah, can anyone tell me why our Mr Pug likes to use the same engine (turbo) for all its 308, 408 and 508 models??? Of course, if that only happen here in Malaysia, the question should be posted to Mr Nasim then….

• Sam Sham on Feb 22, 2012 at 1:02 pm

OK what? Easier to get spares. Diesels can’t come in due to our local fuel standards. But even with 1.6L, they give us about 3 or 4 states of tune.

• Lestat on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:20 am

Your view on Malaysian diesel standard is way off by 4 years. Their Hdi diesel engine is similar to Focus TDCi.

• Baba O'Reilly on Feb 24, 2012 at 6:32 am

But aren’t we still EURO2M? Correct me if I’m wrong but I think it’s been the same since 2001 or something so I’d say it’s been the same for nearly a decade. Ford diesels are based on PSA DW10 and DW12 engines right?

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:22 pm

one thing for sure it will be priced much lower than overpriced jetta…

• tan sari on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:52 pm

inside/outside looks almost the same as 407, what’s new??

• Adilz on Feb 22, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Interior taken from current Pug 308. No moonroof like the 308 Turbo. No HUD like the 3008 and 5008. I think the price should not be more then 125K. I’ll be surprised if Nasim priced it higher than that.

• off tangent on Feb 22, 2012 at 1:55 pm

that sounds like an interesting price. it does have one trick up its sleeve though. a slightly more powerful engine than all of them.

• Dr Mamak on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Not bad looking but, i won’t buy from AP King

• november on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm

design wise a bit boring. so simple nothing special.

• Petrolleg on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:54 pm

If it’s price just slightly below Civic 2.0 then it would be a good buy. Seriously the continental cars and Korean cars are drowning the complacent Japanese makes, hope they wake up soon. Would really like to see Peugeot offering 5 year warranty, and that would be a complete package.

• Jesse James on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:27 pm

It looks like they still got the wipers position wrong.

• Singa Putih 407 on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:47 pm

…let’s get one fact right…the 408 wasn’t built for European market…Peugeot did not even sell the car over there…it was meant for the emerging market of China(source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peugeot_408)…having said that it should carry the conti DNA with it (good ride comfort + high service maintenance once u reach 40k milage)…I believe Nasim would position the price somewhere between 95k-125k…

• ThePolygon on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Hmmm… originally built for China market… hmm… should priced to be affordable.

• Sam Sham on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:39 am

It may have been launched in China but that doesn’t mean it was designed solely for that market. Why are they testing it so much for Malaysia? I suspect they are doing a lot of fine tuning for ride and handling. For all we know, the development may be by LEM (Lotus Engineering Malaysia) and not by NAM. Peugeot also has their own regional office in Jalan 222, behind where Mitsuoka used to be. My ex-Honda friend applied for a job there once.

• lchlch on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:48 pm

408 is only made for Asean market, so far China (and made in china too). It is not part of the global line up, so what to expect…….

• off tangent on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:49 pm

haiyoo, check the other peugeot websites lah… it is NOT for ASEAN only. it is in middle east and latin america also lah! please do some homework before shooting in the dark. can’t expect much substance from your statement.

• Stephen on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:39 pm

well its a product that first start at China.

if you look into the wikipedia stuff….i will hope it is having all the South America spec with prince engine….THP or Diesel HDi

don’t fall into the China version…..

• same interior with my 308 turbo, except white based meter, also no panoramic roof!
    exterior ok, price 110k shuld b nice.

• slick shifts on Feb 23, 2012 at 1:05 pm

but it is bigger (more legroom, better rear seats, bigger boot) than your car, is more powerful than your car as well…

• peter on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Low class interior

• Lowest class comment.

• Titan70 on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:12 pm

not really. it has soft touch plastics as well as complex designs. some may prefer the quiet elegance of this car’s understated interior.

• Chaos on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:35 am

You must be kidding. That is similar to the 308 dashboard and its no way near low classs…

You r ignorant. You are low class peter

• Titan70 on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:09 pm

As with all Peugeot models, this should be pretty good value for the price.