Locally assembled Peugeot 408 – interior view spied!

Reader Nazmier Amzar managed to snap some spyshots of the new Peugeot 408 under test around Taman Selasih in Kulim, Kedah. I suppose he got chummy with the test car drivers as he managed a shot of the interior, which is pretty much similiar to the 308, including the nice white dials.

Earlier we saw a spyshot of a completely undisguised 408 loaded on a truck – the badging on the rear said 408 Turbo, which indicated that it had the 1.6 liter turbocharged 4-cylinder Prince engine under its hood. Nasim might introduce the 408 Turbo as the high end model, with another normally aspirated 2.0 liter model slotted underneath it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Ha, the 2.0 being cheaper and less powerful than the 1.6. That might confuse some.

The front looks a bit too much like that horrible old Peugeot design, rear is nice.

• 1.6 turbo engine power = 2.4 n/a bg peugeot

• blackbox on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:37 pm

1.6THP is 156hp which is same class as 2.0NA which should be around 150hp.
        2.4NA usually is around 185hp.
        If you said torque then it make sense, but not power.

• the 408turbo comes with 163hp. more than the 308turbo hatch’s 156hp.

• its the low rpm torque which matters the most, a NA 2.0/2.4 peak torque only arrive at high above 4k rpm while the THP turbo 240nm start from low rev of abt 1,500rpm all the way to 4k- 5k rpm….resulting in a relaxing drive ; ) (ala turbodiesel)

• yup. torque is the talk of today! a far cry from the days where people didn’t quite understand what torque was :) but yeah, turbo cars have their peak torque coming in real early and resulting in a really effortless drive.

• Interior is ok but the meter is ugly and looks cheap ! Saga 2 meter ??? the exterior is not bad and quite fresh …

• if you can, look at the white meters of the 308 turbo. that should give you an idea how different the one in the 408 and the one in the saga is. as different as chalk and cheese and miles apart in quality and function.

• thinkerr on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:13 pm

What are you smoking there dude?? Geez the quality are miles apart.

• Martin on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:04 pm

China already has their 408 launched last year and there’re some China reviews on this car, for those of you can read Chinese, feel free to visit the link below:

http://www.autohome.com.cn/drive/201006/119150.html

This is a review done in June in China last year. For those who cannot read Chinese, no worries, you still can visit the page n look at the photos of 408, both exterior and interior. Just scroll down and click page 1,2,3….etc and wait for the following pages to load and look at the car photos. =D

• demio121 on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:09 pm

i like how dis ppl put a masking tape over the badge and drive ard town like no1 will figure out what make/model this is.

• Jeremy on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Wow…i spotted RCZ black panel and steering! Nice!

• Erk, actually RCZ’s panel dashboard are taken from 308, just so you know.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:26 pm

awaiting pricing. interior is great. but still think the rear could be better

• Izzit me or i see a clutch down there?? Manual car??

• is that a manual car? looks like a clutch down there?

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Boring interior

• AlCapone on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:24 pm

erkkk… fugly interior.

• wheeler on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Now the question is, how much Nasim??

• donno on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Why is this supposedly “locally assembled” car being put through some serious R&D endurance work all over malaysia?

Possibly because it is the 1st RHD model of the variant, and the chassis-engine combo is new to the 408 too?

• Jaybond on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:49 pm

The 308-sourced dashboard is already quite outdated by the current European standard, which is why the 408 is mainly for Asian market . Same situation like the Asian-market VW Jetta..

• thinkerr on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:15 pm

Really?

• The current ‘European Standard’ is benchmark from what car? which brand?

• rally_fan on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:22 am

if you’re talking about the vw jetta sold in malaysia, it is not an Asian spec only model. it is a eurospec model with multilink rear suspension, whereas the US versions have the solid rear beam axle type setup if im not mistaken.

• Ninja on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:04 pm

nice looking car..aaarghhhhh!

• car lover on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:29 pm

508 is better
    C5 is bestest

• limaunipis on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:55 pm

the 408 also want to be the best………………together with the 508!

different segment, different folks! :)

• ahmadfaris93 on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:32 pm

No SatNav ? COME ON NAZA !

• tikus on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Yah lor….Must have now this days that your car will look great.

• nebula87 on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:33 pm

NAZA badge will spoil those Peugeot Fans’ dream…xD

• 100% sure the lion will be ON this car. besides, having a naza badge replace the lion was a really long time ago.

• limaunipis on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm

that was one ‘mistake’ done on the 206, sold as Bestari here.

but regardless of badges, Peugeot enthusiasts will buy ANY model anyway!

• nebula87 on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:07 pm

yeah…both of u are rite!…just buy Peugeot badge from Br*ther’s acc shop and replace the NAZA badge…who cares?!…xD

• tikus on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Look nice, with upgrade engine to 163bhp.Really clash of the titans with VW Jetta 160bhp. But how nice looking or not, price do the talking. Naza ,hope u be the price buster again.

• this pug is not offered for developed countries such as euro/uk/us…etc while,the Jetta is sold around the world, …even in developed countries which have higher expectation/safety stds..etc…

unless this pug is cheap (shud compete wt vios/city $ range), better get a vw jetta

• here, it competes with the jetta with peugeot’s usual price and spec advantage. doesn’t matter where it is sold or not sold around the world. peugeot already has something in the b-segment vios/city range. this is clearly a c-segment competitor and a very large one at that too.

• Why kedah trade plate?

• seancorr on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:37 pm

Looking at all the shots of this car lately I must say it does look good. More interested to know what kit this baby has. Hopefully same spec as its 308 sibling. Add leather, HID lights, electronic seats and BT connectivity and it’ll kill a Civic any time!

Speaking of the 308….where is the facelift version anyway?? It has been ONE year since Pug launched the FL 308!!

• Roger on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:12 pm

The interior shown here differ slightly from the 408 sold in China. FYI, 1.6 turbo is not available for 408 in China.

My 2 cents on this car (2 L Auto) after driving it for more tha a year here in China
    Pros;
    – very roomy interior. No other car in the C segment come close.
    – plenty of leg room at the back thanks to the 2710 mm long wheelbase. Try sit on the back and you will know what I am saying.
    – the luggage area is enormous! I can place 5 x 20 inch luggages without any problem.
    – continental car feel when driven
    – the car is very firm even when driving upto 150 km/hr
    – interior is ok. Not superb but better than Vios or other B segment car.
    – front view is ok

Cons
    – rear end looks funny.
    – 4 gear auto.
    – fuel consumption around 8 L/100 km ( if you insist to compare with Vios or City)
    – outdated engine, at least on the 2 L engine.
    – don’t expect same quality as 508 or even 407. The car is not targetted at the D segment market (Camry, Accord ). Well at least in China, it is not. You will be disappointed if you think it is similar to 407.

• This looks very interesting. The only thing left is the price and how it drives..

This looks like an interesting prospect compared to the boring japs who r just relying on their legacy to stay afloat

• maddroid on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Still double wishbone all round?

• the interior is sooo fuckin ugly!!i don’t understand why some of still call it fresh??

• Kevin on Feb 22, 2012 at 1:54 am

Silly design car :) not worthy to purchase in my opinion…

• Titan70 on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:40 am

so, in this segment, what would you say is the best? what’s your top ten?

• Still the same engine 1.6Turbocharged that can be found in all Pug’s model. 1 engine for 10 cars.. great!!

• slick shifts on Feb 23, 2012 at 12:38 pm

wonder how many colours available