VIDEO: Proton P3-21A 3D-simulated crash safety test

Here’s a crash test simulation video that Proton is playing at its Power of 1 event happening this week from March 14-18, from 10 am to 10 pm daily, at Bukit Jalil.

From what I understand, what engineers do is actually put in all the dimensions, shapes and specs of the car chassis into a simulation software, where they then perform virtual crash tests, which can be simulated through our understanding of the laws of physics, etc.

From there, they’ll use the results to further tweak the car until they are satisfied with the simulation crash test results. The physical car is then sent for a real-world crash test after the computer-aided design part is done.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• not good enough..!

• ignoramus on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:44 pm

It’s like I show you a screwdriver and you jump and say ‘Not Good Enough’. Not good enough for what exactly? You probably don’t understand what the article is trying to convey. And your comment would be quite different if Paul Tan just published the same exact article but replaced ‘Proton’ with ‘Audi’

• Vader on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:38 am

dont judge so fast, let and see the real-world crash test result.
      hope it not same as previous waja (impian), it was a shame and joke!!!

• BADboy on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:07 pm

This cannot proof anything until it is really tested by Euro NCAP.

So far all proton cars tested by Euro NCAP and ANCAP do not show very good result!!

Readers can search for Euro NCAP and ANCAP wedsite for more info.

• raceman on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:27 pm

xjumpe pon, yg ada saga, jumbuck, dgn waja je

• Euro NCAP sure get 2 star rating but not bad already :)

• P3-21A dpt 5 stars ANCAP. bwh tempurung betul la kau.

• littlefire on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:14 am

Show me the proof in the ANCAP website?

The cars rating can only show out only when the car is on road going.. That right, they only test road on going cars and not prototype sent for some lab test!

• 5 stars my ass….. show me!!!

• fikhri on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:29 am

dudes…..the car is not launched yet…how to get the official result? you stupid or what? of course proton dont want to show the real ANCAP test result because it is not officially launched yet. Proton is not ANCAP comitte that can release unoficial data to public. So just b patient and wait for the official result to come out la.

If you guys really think proton cars wont get at least 4 star ANCAP, go buy other car la. I’m sure all thse bashers can only afford to buy perodua but act like you guys can own a ferrari. Fuck off la.

• kadajawi on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:09 am

So? Toyota Avanza. C-NCAP, which is testing to a much lower standard. 3 stars. People still buy them. Same rating btw. as the Persona and Gen-2 got in that test. Hey, Proton is on the same level as Toyota!

• PetrolLeg on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Even cars have 5/6/7/8 stars of NCAP, if you speed and drive like crazy, you’ll still be injured or death in the crash. Of course the chances of survival increases as the star rating increases.

• kadajawi on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Obviously, yes. But why wouldn’t you want to pick the car that gives you the best chances of survival? At least with a 5 star car you can easily survive an accident at regular, sane speeds, where another less safe car would kill you.

• cisco on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:17 pm

boleh upah Lescopaque untuk animasi lebih baik..
    kalau kena cara dan baget besar..boleh dapat Box Office ni..
    mlysia boleh

• lizzam on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:31 pm

ini simulation. bukan animation.

• thelonely on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:46 pm

please google CAE crash simulation. every automotive companies do this, unless they have infinite money to always use real crash models, without optimizing the model in a simulation 1st

• armandd on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Dunno why your comment has got more thumbs down. Oh, I forgot, these people have ZERO tech knowledge.. LOL..

• bvc100 on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:46 pm

People turn to CAE to reduce the need of costly and time consuming tests. In the end, an actual test (legislative purposes or NCAPs) are still done to ensure that what’s done in CAE is reliable in the real world.
      Either way, if you don’t trust CAE then don’t use your laptop/computer to surf the net. Go and read the newspaper or sumthing. Technology are created for better and not worse.

• cae_engineer on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm

That moment when we are labelled as Upin Ipin animator but in reality we works our brain out to saved your families lives from your stupid driving behaviour

-true story-

• soundsfishy on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:18 pm

not impress…can do anything with animation. Waiting for real crash test

• thelonely on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:44 pm

lol this is CAE simulation la, every crash test must have simulation 1st, then correlate with real test. usually simulation result will have about 95% accuracy.

• kadajawi on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:10 am

It’s the same thing that Mercedes, BMW, Volvo etc. also do. ;)

• MS_01 on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:01 am

you really don’t know much about crash simulation… it is not animation,

• carnoisseur on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Go for a real test laaa…all this simulation is not convincing ,,,,get real !

• pirlo on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:57 pm

thelonely says:
      14/3/2012 at 6:46 pm

please google CAE crash simulation. every automotive companies do this, unless they have infinite money to always use real crash models, without optimizing the model in a simulation 1st

– cant u read this?

• Joe v2.0 on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:27 pm

This kind of simulation is not as simple as upinipin lescopaque 3D animation. This kind of 3D simulation is being done with the near real life law of physic taken account. It is by far more complex than upinupin. Lawa tak lawa is not their target, but near real life crash simulation result is their aim. After getting the best possible design to handle the crash situation from the simulation, they then go to physical crash test with the car design from the simulation test. This crash simulation is being done by almost all car manufacturer.

• Prismo on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:43 pm

Read properly la guy… this is not for impress anyone… just a part of engineering progress…

• ignoramus on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Looks like many don’t understand the point. This is not a display of Euro NCAP crash test etc. They are just showing to the public some of the tools they use in designing cars. Thats all it is. ALL manufacturers use these tests simulations, even F1. All part of Computer Aided Engineering.

At least read and understand the article before commenting please.

• undersit on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:39 pm

not sure i understand or undersit, but why the head of manikin-driver hit the steering wheel and the passenger’s head also hit the dashboard? nothing wrong there? where is the airbag?

• MoFaz on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:44 am

for sure they’re not testing or simulating airbags. they’re simulating the structural rigidity. they just want to get data for the structure, got it?

• JeremyNg on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:50 pm

simulation crash test results ??!! we need real test bcs we cant trust software …… One of the best example is Ferrari (F1) faced lack of pace in 2011 season while their wind tunnel and computer software said otherwise

• 2011 F1 lacked pace because some driver had to get clearance/permission to overtake driver in front (yep it’s true) + new stupid rules that caused drivers to not do aggressive actions + no mid-race refuelling and shit.

• peh..gune CATIA ni….

• shawal on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:44 pm

no , proton should make a live crash test demo in bukit jalil…. ppl will be sold!

• ok, here is a comment form someone who understands… i think :p.
    The head of of that upin-like manikin hits the steering? And the one next to driver, the head almost touches the dashboard? Something is not right there I think? Where’s the airbag in this simulation? Kekekeke =)) jgn maraaa

• kadajawi on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:15 am

No need to simulate airbag. They want to make sure the structure of the car is strong enough so that an airbag even makes sense. They want to know what sort of steel to use at what place, and what form it should have, in order to slow down the car in a way that hurts the passengers as little as possible (so the whole front should be demolished, because the more that is demolished the less energy has to be absorbed by the passengers), while still keeping the area where the passengers are sitting intact.

• MS_01 on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:00 am

Airbag can be simulated with along with the tire pressure. As far as I know, in addition to crash test dummy you can also simulate human body with bone structure, muscles, tissues, etc.

• Whether or not Proton uses simulated crash test as part of its marketing materials is immaterial. The critical question is – how does proton fair in NCAP? Is it going to show us that?

• kadajawi on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:07 am

EuroNCAP picks the cars they test. They buy them straight from the showroom. Otherwise one could say the car was specially prepared, using higher quality materials etc.

• kadajawi on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:17 am

These simulations are not done for marketing purposes. These are done to ensure the car will perform well in real crashes, without having to crash thousands of very expensive prototypes. All major manufacturers do it.

• sam_sam_tan on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:17 pm

I would say if proton want people to impress with their global car, one should go for the highest crash test standard such as Euro NCAP and get at many stars as they can (of course 5 stars is the best!). By then, i would say many of us malaysian will know how good or how bad the quality of proton global car.

My purpose here is not to condemn proton global car but just hope that proton can test their product using the highest standard so we can know where our national car stand among the other car manufacturers.

I’m sure many malaysian would not mind spending their money for this global car if it have proven quality and reliability through highest standard testing/analysis.

• ononimos on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

hahaha.. with the basher’s comment on this CAE simulation, they have indirectly show how low their knowledge on the car’s development process. This is fun to read. Bash some more and help to prove my point on this. =)

• armandd on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:30 am

I couldn’t agree more. They only know to comment on the car beautiful or not, power window sure got problem etc. but know nothing about anything technical.

• Launching soon, but where is the real car crash test result?Showing the result to public soon? Should have gone through crash test before selling to customer, right?

• bvc100 on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:54 pm

For sure la, like how food are tested in a lab and sampled by a closed group before a food company releases it to the general market.

• Yapp…like other company, show the best criteria, hide the worst…..If the company want to disclose the report, else you need to buy one to test it, but not that price you want to risk. (a food vs a car).

• wong ah yat on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:15 pm

It is very simple, we malaysian would like to know if this 321 hit another 321 tail will the bumper fall off, water jacket pecah or not…

• driver on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:34 pm

not bad.. but still have to wait for real crash test..
    what about roll over test?

• sean ZX10 on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:50 am

from here can see u all suckers have ZERO knowledge. hahaha…bashing proton BECAUSE all are goats. its funny…its like a goat commenting the taste of a cow’s milk.

this is done using CATIA crash simulation. comprende? the objectives are to test body strength. not to see airbags..not to see how many scratches on the dummy..not to show cartoon quality…

i will suggest a software to collect data from all comments and cross check with his knowledge and how much he knows. From here Paul Tan will display results of the most imbecile versus promising commentators.

• driver on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:41 am

LOL.. that would be interesting indeed!

• MS_01 on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:04 am

I think CATIA is used only as post processor.

• padiez on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:22 am

yeah, there is alot of CAE softwares out there. one of my faviorite is ANSYS. but it takes months to learn a basic ” how to use it”.3D modelling is just a step in CAE………theres a lot of others software other than CATIA to run a test. for me SolidWork is easier to use!

• MS_01 on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:56 am

I was lucky to be part of a research group that did alot of vehicle crash simulations about 8 years ago and this is really a very useful tool to optimize your design. This is not an animation software, it represent the real physics, using hundreds of thousand elements per car and this is far more advanced than the typical finite element analysis software package. You can simulate all kind scenarios, improve your products and do less number of costly crash test. Crash test is still needed to validate your simulation model, just not as many.

By the way, this is not CATIA. The solver most likely is Ls-Dyna.

• can i know what possible software that they used to run those simulation?

• beeyooti on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:15 pm

enough with the bone structures, show me beautiful flow around the car, does the car aesthetics lines match with the airflow arond the car? For marketing, it’s not bad to show crash works. But bear in mind, when people buy cars, why think about fun, pleasure, class, status just as well as safety. Some think more about fun than safety. Most think more about beauty than fun. So, should have more balance in promotion materials to appeal to majority of customers or even all types of customers if u can afford it. But, of course, any suggestion from public like me is terrible to the eyes of Proton la kan. So, forget it lah, waste time only blogging, trying to help with suggestions and whatnot, all comments deemed as “bashing” by Proton people…
    maybe we should just bash them aje lah kow-kow since they’re always defensive like that… hehehehehe! deserve their defensive attitude.

• kadajawi on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Jesus. Finally a Malaysian company of all companies is doing the right thing, CARING about their customers, and then they are bashed for that?! Do you know how many die on Malaysian roads, versus European roads? Guess why… rubbish cars and rubbish drivers. Just look at all those crappy Toyotas on the road.

In other countries people do care about safety. The Jaguar XF isn’t doing very well in Europe, and I guess that is because it has only achieved 4 stars. It can’t be the looks, it’s a very good looking thing with a nice interior, it also has good performance etc. Only extremely cheap cars (think 7 seater MPVs for around RM 32000) can afford to be not very safe (still, much safer than cars like the Avanza). And IIRC the sales of a Rover were pretty much stopped when the crash test results got public, same goes to a Chinese car which sold like 40 times in Europe, since it performed awful in a crash test. It was all over the news, that a few months later the car was tested again (after having been modified) didn’t interest the people anymore, this car basically has killed every chance Chinese cars have in Europe in the next few years.

But of course Malaysians are too superficial for that. :( You can easily see that with the Ford Fiesta too. The sedan is much, much better value for money, it has all the safety features that you would get in Europe, for a very competitive price. People still prefer to buy the Fiesta Sport though, although that one is almost as bad as cars like the Vios, and all you get (for a higher price than the sedan) is less practicality, a nicer design and a body kit. Well, as long as it looks good…

• catia is the CAD software to draw the geometry of the car or parts
    hypermesh-meshing purposes
    radioss, ls-dyna-crash test solver
    hyperview-for post-processing so that u can see the simulation

Proton guys are good at simulation and we can trust software because 95% of the result are the same as real test

• oeion on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:20 pm

oh lol.. how stupid can the basher be… even some toyota cars don have ncap la… peroduo lagi teruk… and you wanna bash proton… lol…brainless idiotic bashers… lol…

and one thing… simulation is not some animation la… if don understand please go back and study english starting from primary school la…