Long wheelbase BMW 3-Series – made in China for China

As expected, BMW is giving China a long wheelbase version of the F30 3-Series. To debut at the upcoming Beijing show, the “Li” variants of the F30 will be made at the new Shenyang production plant in China to cater to Chinese customers, who prefer more rear legroom in their German sedans.

For this LWB version, BMW has stretched the F30’s wheelbase by 110 mm, from 2,810 mm to 2,920 mm. The result shows “conspicuously elegant design” and has “best rear seat travel comfort” in its class, says Munich. Chinese customers can choose from the 335Li, 328Li, or 320Li, all featuring BMW TwinPower Turbo technology.

In Malaysia, the sixth-generation 3-Series was launched last month – click here to read the launch report. Also captured at the local launch is a high-res 72-pic gallery of the 3-Series lineage, as well as a demo unit showcasing optional BMW M Performance kit.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:50 pm

I would not dare to buy a BMW that is made in China. Even if this is brought into Malaysia, people would not buy it.

• bonbon on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:02 pm

their market is big enough , no need to sell it to malaysian at all

• summicron on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:18 pm

This car looks so right from every angle. Beautiful car.

My only tiny dislike is too much sloping at the bonnet front. The 5 series front would be perfect in my eyes.

• dearBMW on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:22 pm

dear BMW (M) pls provide us(Malaysian) consumer feel the same wheel base as we felt its worth for having same wheel base as china model.

• Kia K5 fansi on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:08 am

I totally agree. A little extra legroom wouldn’t go unnoticed in Malaysia. 50:50 weight distribution be damned, most BM drivers in Msia drive in traffic jams anyway…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:45 pm

what has the world come to? now we are licking china’s feet

• Kia K5 fansi on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:06 am

Haha, you better get used to it. China is the next largest consumer market in the world after the US.

Don’t let your pompousness get the better of you. Embrace China-centric consumerism…

• Pramanathan on Apr 07, 2012 at 12:06 am

truly awesome…….nice interior…..perfect for small businessman……

• ezracopters on Apr 09, 2012 at 12:16 pm

hahaha..

• ezracopters on Apr 09, 2012 at 12:20 pm

hahaha..oh wait, i thought u mean this long wheel base looks like a wagon/clubvan, perfect for small entrepreneur..yes no yes???

• Julian Lee on Apr 07, 2012 at 12:43 am

now this is my style!

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 07, 2012 at 11:16 am

when the new 3 series was revealed , I thought it looks like a small 5 series. But this looks like 5 series like 80%

• driver on Apr 08, 2012 at 1:41 am

the dynamic and safety structure of the car must be something interesting to be tested.. hehe..

• BoLiao on Apr 08, 2012 at 2:48 am

Sui lo, very nice….
    Y China thing everyone must kutuk?
    Perdana with longer wheelbase also never see any minister die yet

• Don’t worry when it is a BMW.

• Jerry on Apr 08, 2012 at 9:17 am

BMW should sell the car in major Asian markets.

• I like!

• vnn2020 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:44 pm

hahaha
    try say the car is for india and see how the positive comments wil change 180degrees

• vnn2020 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:47 pm

hahaha
    try say the car is for india
    and see how the positive comments wil change 180degrees