BMW F30 3-Series launch: BMW M Performance kit display

BMW showcased this kitted up BMW M Performance F30 328i at the Malaysian launch of the new 3-Series. From what we can observe, there are a few BMW M Performance items fitted onto the car, which you’ll eventually be able to order to fit onto your F30 from the local BMW dealerships. This is BMW’s attempt at entering the retrofit accessory market.

It’s not the full range though – the car wears the normal Sport line bodykit instead of the BMW M Performance look that’s full of carbon fibre, and there aren’t even the carbon fibre wing mirrors or the carbon fibre rear spoiler.

Not all is lost – the car wears the BMW M Performance black strips on white paint, and those wheels are the 20 inch Style 405M Bicolour BMW M Performance wheels, which cover BMW M Performance 19″ brakes with 4-pot calipers at the front and 2-pot calipers at the rear.

On the interior, we sighted the BMW M Performance Alcantara steering wheel, the variant with the red marking indicating the centre position, but there’s also another version with a race display which is a little LCD at the top of the steering wheel which can act as an additional multi-function display. The interior also has BMW M Performance parts on the dash trim, gear lever and handbrake lever. There are a few things missing here as well such as BMW M Performance pedals, etc.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Minus the black strip ..

• Gabla on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Dear Paul,

Did they mention anyrhing on the world wide recall of BMW 5 and 6 Series. Will Auto Bavaria be involved with the recall activities?

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars/261990/

I’m directly affected as I own a 2004 E60 impotted from the UK. Thanks.

• TianCi on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:32 pm

OMG … The CF gear knob is sweet!

• bmwM3M5M6 on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:29 pm

love the rim and the steering wheel

• teelim on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:21 am

no suspension upgrade?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:52 am

a big waste of unnecessary money. only reason one would get their modifications is because of the warranty issues.

• ugly… spent lot in the interior for nthg…

the meter cluster looks outdated… dull interior… alcantara steering + cf is definitely a waste for this…

• TurboMan!!! on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:33 am

If you look at a BMW and the only thing u can think of is outdated and dull interior, then you don’t really know what a BMW is all about.

I agree the interior is dull compared to a similar Audi, but take a few corners in a 6cyl ( 4 cyl nowadays ='( ) Bimmer and you will wonder why u drive anything else. The Audis are very competent in corners especially the Quattro models but somehow it doesnt feel very involving. You won’t grin from ear to ear unlike in a Bimmer.

Heck, even a 320i E90 will give u that feeling. A Mazda 3 or 6 will give u a very similar feeling too.

• jay8393 on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:30 am

Love the steering wheel!

• Malaysia Power on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:13 pm

mmmm..
    pure rubbish..
    useless support..
    German; easy break down on Malaysian road..

just buy Satria R3 and smoked this no use German in no time..
    Malaysia Power!

• OMG… can you see this?
    Even BMW designed the centre console to look so boring.

http://paultan.org/2012/03/30/bmw-f30-3-series-launch-bmw-m-performance-kit-display/dsc_0274b/

• bashherebashthere on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:07 pm

The interior is simple and nice, design for ergonomic and ease of use. Love the single lighting analog meters. Try getting into mazda 3 and figuring out the buttons on center console, its freaking hard

• Paint on Apr 01, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I don’t know about you guys, but I feel the design standard of BMWs has reached its peaked, and starting to come down. It’s starting to get real boring, whatmore with the onslaught from the likes of Jaguar, and also Lexus, not to mention Cadillac (ie. CTS model). Those hardcore fans may not agree.

• carazy on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:32 am

WHY NOT BRING STICK SHIFT HERE!!

• I love German cars ! they r so awesome …

• orang kampung on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:35 am

the steering wheel like 1.8 Waja’s

• sakthi on Apr 05, 2012 at 6:38 pm

BMW,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,SUPER AMAZING MODEL OF 3 SERIES,,!!!