VIDEO: Proton Prevé – Interview with Tajul Zahari, Proton’s Director of Engineering Division

During the preview drive of the Proton Prevé, we caught up with three key personnel for a chat about the new car, its development and a bit more.

In the first of three videos, Chris talks to Ir. Hj. Tajul Zahari, Proton’s Director of Engineering Division about the technical aspects of the Prevé.

We talked about the Prevé development starting from the Tuah concept. Then, we move to the Hot Press Forming and the safety aspects of the Prevé. He also assures that the CVT can handle the torque of the turbo-charged engine and why that gearbox was chosen instead of the conventional torque convertor or dual-clutch gearboxes.

Tajul also explains what it means to develop a global car and the steps on how the goal can be achieved. But that is not all. Watch the video to know more.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The people behind is bloody noisy, how are we able to listen nicely?

• Ah Kam on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:47 am

Suggestion, please use a proper mic setup or edit the ambience noise for future video interview.

• Nocomment on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:18 pm

no comment whether its positive or negative…we’ll wait and see what all the haywire about the car is worth or not?

• Will a transcript of the interview be provided ? I found I had difficulty hearing them, plus the background noise drowned out the voice.

• oinks on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:02 pm

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Preve/Overview.aspx

• revolver on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:10 pm

how many bla… bla… bla… from protong until they launch it? bored oredy, it’s just like inspira, exora… bla3… but doesn’t has any improvement… shit…

• alldisc on Apr 07, 2012 at 9:17 am

problems with proton – they may have improved in terms of engineering but they still lack in passion.

they do not know what consumers in other market wants example – a good diesel (or turbodiesel) engine which they can simply convert the campro block to new manifold and cylinder head.

70-85% of new passenger cars sold in europe are diesels. even Honda has a Civic with 2.2 turbodiesel trying to capture the sales there. surprised?

• squall_shinoda on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:48 am

Agreed. Converting the Campro engine to a diesel powerplant should not be too hard. All they need to change is having longer stroke, different head, and stronger pistons, con rods, crankshafts and bearings.

• Muhd. Huzaimi b. Ahmad on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Like Honda City.

• Edward Roti Canai on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:34 pm

I know this guy. Used to eat roti canai and drink teh-tarik with him.

• Papa Smurf on Apr 06, 2012 at 10:15 pm

My 1st car was a Wira aeroback. It served me well, well I had couple of problems but nothing major. My 2nd and 3rd car was Vios and Gen2 – these were good cars.

Currently my 4th car is City which I have it now for almost 6 years. I never had problem until recently. I changed my rear wheel bearing and again just after 10,000km. Now my absorbers are giving problem which I left un-changed caused the both front lower arm to be defective due to worn out bushing). Even my EPS steering is not as precise as before. Not sure if this is due to my driving style but problems like these are frustrating. Current milelage is 120,000km. Does any of you reader who own a City has these problems? Can you share your thoughts?

The Preve looks good, thinking of trading my City for a Preve. The spec looks good, Need to test drive to feel the ride & handling. If it good, then I might get a Preve. My only concerns is as below – does anyone has some comments on this?, thanks:

1. No Japanesse car with CVT has turbo. Does the CFE + Tubo + CVT combination is reliable and proven to be good? Not sure though.

2. All CVT cars use timing chain which doesn’t need to be replaced. If my assumption is correct (please correct me if I’m wrong), Perve with CVT is with timing belt. What happens once I need to change the timing belt, say after 60,000KM, do I need to retime/retune my CVT?

3. Would be nice to have a telescopic steering – will fit well with the global image.

4. Also EPS steering will be good as well. But hydraulic steering is still OK, no big concern.

Overall, good job Proton. Glad to see improvement are coming through. Hope the future customers will appreciate this.

Cheers!

• we malaysian drive long hour, jam and balik kampung ocassionally, so we need to sit comfortably with one preferred driving position to ensure maximum right comfort during the journey
      so my least comment is the need for telescopic steering.
      like every body have a different body dimension, some with aggressive driving style, some a cruiser, not ot mention the people on the other side of the world with different type of difference, so TELESCOPIC STEERING IS AN AUTOMOTIVE FREEDOM

• Gabla on Apr 07, 2012 at 8:47 am

Audi is using CVT with turbo. Timing belt change has nothing to do with CVT, CVT is using a different steel belt, not timing belt.

• alldisc on Apr 07, 2012 at 9:21 am

all modern cars are using collapsible telescopic steering columns nowadays as standard item, the difference is whether they are adjustable for rake and reach (4 ways adjustment) or rake only (2 ways).

• big car like nissan x trail with 2.5 litre is using cvt.

• Quattro on Apr 08, 2012 at 12:54 am

I like item no.2 > cvt normally comes with timing chain and auto tensional

• Lechi on May 01, 2012 at 2:10 am

Bro,

No.2- Cvt is gearbox/tranmission, timing belt/chain is related with engine. Campro CFE still using timing belt, so need to change after 60K above. Use gates or kevlar type.

For CVT, krisnof said up to 250,000km the life span. Using CVT gear oil, not ATF. Dont blame like most Honda Bandar owner if cvt kaput due to wrong type gb oil

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Engineers being engineers , they are not good with words , I suppose. I would expect to hear from Hj Tajul some engineering stuff though, as everyone seems to be anxious , very anxious infact to know more in detail about this Preve thing, The familiarization report doesn’t help much for those discerning motorists , this is not the days of Saga but already the days of turbo, paddle-shift ,gear ratios torque…In the old days , if one mention about torque , it will be responded with….. What ? ini engin ada bunyi tok, tok ka ?
    So, the Preve , when launched and after being duly tested would speak for itself .
    Oh yes another thing , the interviewer reporter is really a joker , struggling to find the right words to post his questions.Lagi tambah stress listening to both of them. Good night everybody…

• Muhd. Huzaimi b. Ahmad on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Like Honda City

• anwar ibrahim on Apr 07, 2012 at 12:10 am

on paper overall the is good enuf… but the price range is bit expensive… the gab between city n vios is about 15k, some will think twice to go for it..

as sales target is for those with salary 3-4k… hmmm… maybe proton need consider back the price…

considering big volume on sale is better rather a bit xtra profit with lower sale volume..

offer 5 years warranty will be good idea.. and estimation lifesize of car can last up to 20 years would make costumer confidence..

try to avoid to big rebate during year end promotion, as it will drop off 2nd har value drasticly..

most suit price is 70k for premium.. with 20k diference with city n vios make it value for money…

making a good product only not enuf if u dont know how to manipulate market..

• You dare to buy this car with just 3-4K salary? No wonder there are so much bankrupcy in the country.

• alldisc on Apr 07, 2012 at 9:45 am

can la.. with 12 years loan! ekekekekeke….

• BoLiao on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:56 pm

my salary 3-4k i drive a second hand kancil only

• anwar ibrahim on Apr 07, 2012 at 9:26 pm

4k small amount for u?
        … after tax n epf minus, u still have arround 3.5k… housing loan 800.. family spending 1200.. 800 for the car… u still hv 700… seem u born in rich family… maybe 10k permont also not enuf for u.. that y ukur baju di badan sendiri la amoi..

• alldisc on Apr 08, 2012 at 7:20 am

then no 10% savings per month of salary and no insurance coverage la, is it?

• anwar ibrahim on Apr 08, 2012 at 3:04 pm

if u can earn up to 6 month bonus every year.. i think its explain all..

• RM800 for house loan? And how much you need pay for this car a month? Taking a 7 years loan?

• wajarays on Apr 08, 2012 at 10:48 am

why must this car fight with plain B segment CITY or VIOS since the car spec itself can win 100k CIVIC and ALTIS ?? in previous post i read, PREVE is consider C segment car, that compete with CIVIC, ALTIS, FORTE in the league …. the spec and the price of PREVE already far better then all 3 model mention …. (sorry if my eglish bad)

• You really believe in Proton’s prowness. Even the “mitsubishi-didn’t-allow-us-to-change-anything” Lancer also cannot fight with other C segment car after changing the logo, and you think Proton can do a jack?

• Kelvin on Apr 07, 2012 at 6:39 am

This is a director of engineering or political person? Can’t get any straight answers from him from how many star achieve for ANCAP to what is the difference between IAFM and CFE ……….every single answer doen’t give me any comfort that this person really knows that he is talking about….Not questioning on the product but at least get someone with the technical knowledge to talk about this thing……..

• Of course political one la..he director what…all the engineers sit down low only, or quit already..seeking for better paid one…me included.

• Top 10 Reason PREVE is pretending/Pura-pua global car:

10. Biased cAmparison against non-turbo competitors (why not competitors all 1.6 turbo??)
    9. Self-praise a lot why not sell it to USA market like Forte, Elantra…not confident kah he he he
    8. Until Jeremy Clarkson is convinced then let it become Top Gear joke for 300 million global viewer amusement
    7. No whole-car Lifetime Warranty with Lifetime Free Service parts labour given…
    6. Power window crap still unsolved mystery but disguised as Lifetime Warranty problem solved!
    5. So what, the banks still charge HIGHER interest rates for car hire-purchase loans
    4. Unfair Australia get the best safety full-spec at much lower price…
    3. Best of all Saudi Arabia price starts at RM35,288.16…ughhh!
    2. At least the CFE turbo unit given Lifetime Warranty lar…who knows nanti gone kaput
    1. Hard to pronounce, even harder to get car loan approval (for kampong folks lah)

Do you know that Rolls Royce salesmen don’t even own, drive Phantom the ultra-best car in the world…wonder why…???

• autojohndoe on Apr 07, 2012 at 11:13 pm

US is left hand drive… so Korean no problem with that…

UK is right hand drive… so, Proton no problem with that…

• kejam on Apr 07, 2012 at 11:41 pm

because if you can afford rolls royce, you dont sell car for a living.

you get a bunch of salesman (driving vios/city/protons) to do it for you.

so, if you selling private jet, you can afford a private jet too? no right?

• Azlan Rashid on Apr 07, 2012 at 11:58 am

I hope his engineering skills are better than his aurals. He mumbles and stumbles even with simple questions.

• Can the honorable Insinior tell us why Proton produces 1.6L car at rm75,000 when the whole world produces the same at around rm40,000 . Are material costs in Malaysia too high? Or is it that Proton has to buy its groceries from Mahathir’s cousins?

• autojohndoe on Apr 07, 2012 at 11:17 pm

the whole may sell it Rm 40,000 maybe for basic without options such as spare tyre, air press, road tax etc…

i dont know exactly… maybe there are other things that we dont know need to add other that the rm40,000

• wajarays on Apr 08, 2012 at 11:00 am

how about VW with 1.2 turbo , 1.4 twincharge engine ???? does the price below 100k ??
      how about VOLVO s60 T4 1.6turbo ??? does the price below 200k ??????
      how about PEUGEOT, MINI and CITROEN with 1.6 PRINCE engine that using in all range model line up ????

this is new trend of global car rite now from EURO , small engine with hi power like big engine that call downsize force induction engine ….. even MERC and BMW also follow the NEW trend with their new range of turbocharge engine …. DOES OTHER CARS BELOW 80K GOT THE SPEC LIKE PROTON PREVE got ???? you know the ANSWER

• V6 Zoner on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Here is the pricing for the perve taken from proton dear website, so it should be official ;

Proton Prevé 1.6 CVT PREMIUM
    RM 72,990.00 / Metallic
    RM 72,540.00 / Solid

Proton Prevé 1.6 MT EXECUTIVE
    RM 59,990.00 / Metallic
    RM 59,540.00 / Solid

Proton Prevé 1.6 CVT EXECUTIVE
    RM 62,990.00 / Metallic
    RM 62,540.00 / Solid

• Unforgiven on Apr 07, 2012 at 6:38 pm

When are we going to pay off the car loan for max 3 years?

If we vote for unchanged, how many years more to go to remove the protectionism?

I would like to buy any type/made of cars in fair prices… in the very near future, and not 5 years down the road…

• When the loan is 3 years, surely the deposit is 30%. i wonder what happen sa. Unenployment sure gone up. Company close. Crime gone up. Not safe to go out. Then economy down. Vote to change gov. Yeahhh

• will test drive and think about resting my old E90 and add this Preve if it’s value for money.. it has to be at most 20% below E90 in terms of total satisfaction though… will see if it’s worth it. Will still keep the old E90 though, 6 years old but still making me happy. E90 is like my first elegant wife, this Preve could be my new young uni student scandal wife, hahaha! if she’s got something!

• tommyyeoh on Apr 07, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Proton CVT gearbox more superior than double clutch does he mean VW DSG ? Walau wui he think VW group is small time workshop ah

Why dont he say the campro engine is also better than VW 1.4 TSI engine?

• Dr Mamak on Apr 07, 2012 at 11:55 pm

75k is preposterous for a potong. And this pakcik just tok kok sing song all the way.

• Dr Ferdinand Porsche, creator of Porsche dies and the whole world is sad. Let’s wait when Dr Mahathir, creator of Proton dies, I bet people will gantung pisang in the surau. A sign of thankfulness to the Almighty for ending a pain among all the other pains.

• babun on Apr 08, 2012 at 4:35 pm

the whole world really? i think less than 0.1% population of Malaysia knows who Ferdinand Porsche is. we all know Porsche but care less who created that car. Ferdinand Porsche has a meagre 2,432 facebook likes but Dr. Mahathir has 1.6 million. I don’t think you could find anyone else in Malaysia that could top that. the days Dr. M dies tears that fall would fill up a swimming pool.

• Adamtenang on Apr 08, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Whoah, the whole world is sad?
        And Tun Mahathir is a pain in the ass for you? I pity you man. If not because of Tun, our economy would have collapsed long ago.

• Car Driver on Apr 08, 2012 at 2:55 am

I hope Proton sincerely tested this new Turbo engine CFE sufficiently enough as to put this engine in the market. Turbo is introducing a certain extra pressure to the engine to boost power.
    If turbo is so B****y good why the Japanese has been building successful cars for so long are not adopting it in large scale is a good question we have to ask
    And why Proton a newcomer to the car industry can deliver this turbo in just 2 years in which I believe the Japanese can also deliver it much earlier if they want to but choose not to.
    We certainly do no want to hear later that engine overheat or otherwise jeopardised the fun drive of the power of a turbocharged engine.

• kaz hirai on Apr 08, 2012 at 2:25 pm

japs can only do high pressure force-induction engine with max power. japs dunno how to do efficient low pressure force induction engine like continental car…
      they already lost the ability to espionage western technologies.

• wajarays on Apr 08, 2012 at 9:02 pm

this one i agree … japan turbo engine really not fuel eco like continental turbo cars … last time got airtrek turbo (bought new) drink fuel like mad …. my volvo s60 turbo far better fuel eco than airtrek ….. even my malaysian made car waja 1.6 turbokit also fuel economy too

• squall_shinoda on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:17 am

Still can buy even a more expensive car..but need a total change of lifestyle. We should go to work everyday by motorcycle and public transport instead of cars. If it rains or neighbours want to tumpang to go to work, can use car la. Besides reducing pollution, we can actually save RM200+ for the petrol bill alone, not including highway toll exemptions. But the problem is that most of us are not willing to commute by motorbikes and public transport but prefer to be caught in traffic jams and wasting most of petrol that time, paying the daily “zakat” to highway concessionaires, and struggling to find parking space, and yet complain a lot during the toll and petrol price hike fiestas.

• Aper kate klu proton wat satu lagi varian baru utk proton preve ni sume specs same mcm exec punye tp buh enjin cfe harga lbh krg RM65k-RM68k sye rase rmai yg beli klu ader(ni cadangan jer…hrp2 ader org penting proton dengar)

• Aper kate klu proton wat satu lagi varian baru utk proton preve ni sume specs same mcm exec punye tp letak enjin cfe harga lbh krg RM65k-RM68k sye rase rmai yg beli klu ader(ni cadangan jer…hrp2 ader org penting proton dengar)

• I agree with Papa Smurf about timing chain. I will buy Proton Preve’ once they convert their engine to one that use timing chain. Or maybe future models that use timing chain. What is it so difficult to design a engine using timing chain. Every major car manufacturers is using timing chain now. Hyundai which also started making cars using Mitsubishi engine about the same time as Proton, now they improve so much that Japanese have to copy their body designs. Look at Infiniti, now they started to have curves on their cars like Hyundai models like Sonata and Elantra. Now who copy who. If possible, Proton should have models using DSG. They can source their DSG from Germany like what Hyundai Veloster did. Think Globally, don’t always think about cost factors only.

• Hi Paultan, I know this post is so long time ago. I really hope there could be a transcript for this interview. It’s so not clear to hear.

Thanks