Ford will launch six new models in the next 18 months

Ford Malaysia recently had hosted a lunch meeting with selected members of the media and the top guys of Ford, who were on a very short business trip. In that meeting, a few things were discussed.

Ford has big plans for the Malaysian market. The American car company now considers Malaysia to be one of their most important markets this side of South East Asia and the world. Not surprising as Ford in Malaysia experience exceptional performance in 2011, something that they have not experienced since 1997.

Retail sales have risen to 145% from the previous year. It translates to 7,188 vehicles sold, of which 4,297 comes from the sales of the Fiesta. And, although the current Ford Focus and Ford Ranger are up for replacements, the company has recorded increased sales in both products. The Ranger sold 2,274 units (more than 17% increase) and the Focus sold 263 (an increase of 58%) last year.

Within the next 18 months, Ford will be launching six vehicles into the market. We already know two of the six – the Ranger and the Focus – that will be launched this year. They remain silent on the other four vehicles but hinted that there might be CBU models will be in the mix. These six products will also bring eight new powertrains. The list includes engines from the EcoBoost catalog as well as its diesel offerings.

Incidentally, the new Ford Ranger have already garnered more than 600 bookings and the numbers are expected to increase by the time the 4×4 truck is officially launched.

Ford will also add five more showrooms to its portfolio in 2012. They also have plans to convert some of the existing 42 showrooms into 3S centres as well, although no definite numbers are given.

The American car company also has a new global tagline called Go Further. In a nutshell it means that Ford is committed to instill the core characteristics of Quality, Green, Safe and Smart into all of their products. And to do so, Ford will be engaging closely with their partner-dealers, suppliers, the community and the employee to gauge customer needs, wants and satisfaction.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• d.o.b 1887 on Apr 26, 2012 at 6:32 pm

Come here pls, FORD F350, FORD TAURUS SHO, Ford E-Series, Ford

A lot of Malaysians does not aware that not all fords are American cars
    They said that ford mondeos ford focus ford laser, ford telstar, for fiesta are american cars.

well there are ford of europe (Germany) which makes mondeo, fiesta, focus,galaxy, transit are made by Ford of europe (in Germany)

Just wanna said it……

whereas the laser and telstar is from Mazda

• haha! american style cars not really to malaysian tastes some more will need to parking bays to park lol!

• Lim Kopi on Apr 27, 2012 at 2:37 am

Unfortunately these yanks don’t know that its NOT their products that are below par ….

its the AFTER SALES SERVICE by SIME DARBY that needs attention!!

• Ford Fiesta on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:23 am

Very true. No point getting a very good car and a very good ecoboost engine when you have to wait so long for your parts. The service centres have zero knowledge and staff are so incompetent. The lie a lot as well. Buyers have to be aware that the parts are same price as BMW. So, if you think you are buying a cheap Fiesta, you might be forking out so much of money as if your car is an Alfa Romeo or a Jaguar.

• Ford Fiesta on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:39 am

Eh Datuk Lawrence, come to the ground lah once in a while and see the attitude of your service centres. They need lots of improvement. Motors should not just read profits but after sales is Equally important.

• Mat Salleh from Ford come to Malaysia, do they just sit in the hotels, go to official MITI meetings and eat kuih lapis and minum teh tarik?

Or do they visit the showrooms, see the SC centres are up to par and speak to customers asking feedback? I really wonder what they do when they come down cause the SC centres are in real bad shape. Please don’t treat Malaysia as your dumping ground for old technologies. You should demand from your principle why newer engines such as your EcoBoost is not incorporated in the whole range.

• kadajawi on Apr 26, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Yup. Except for the Ranger the Fords we get are all German cars.

Let’s hope we’ll get the Galaxy as an Estima and Sharan competitor, it’s a wonderful car, and very practical. (In Germany it is cheaper than the S-Max…)

• Current generation fiesta is European. Not quite so for the focus. Globally designed, fair amount of design work in the US. So will the 2013 Mondeo. Although the Focus more German than Yank. Part of Ford global cars initiative.

European developed cars tend to have great ride and handling. More twisty bits and narrow lanes in Europe, while US roads are generally straighter and wider. Here’s to hoping that they won’t ruin 2013 Mondeo cracking handling since the car seems to carry over more Fusion gene than Mondeo’s.

The age of Ford rebadging Mazda is over, they have sold off their stake in the latter. That they have Mazda to plug the gaping hole in their range probably made them look at their European unit and made them realise what gems of cars they actually have across the pond.

• kadajawi on Apr 26, 2012 at 8:12 pm

American cars are more aimed at comfort, since they tend to have fewer corners but more potholes. Malaysia also has lots of potholes, so a softer ride can be a plus. From what I have experienced with the Galaxy it should be quite good for Malaysia. Not too soft, but also not too hard. Comfortable, reasonable. Only problem is it is wide! Malaysian roads are meant for narrower cars.

• No worries, the starex can handle msian road wt no prob…..the galaxy is much smaller, wont hv problem wt msian roads

• jaafar on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:34 pm

kadajawi

The Vw sharan,Citroen C8 etc belong to the same segment as Ford Galaxy, hence there is no problem for it to be on Malaysian roads.

• Ford Focus Owner on Apr 26, 2012 at 8:03 pm

“The American car company now considers Malaysia to be one of their most important markets this side of South East Asia and the world,”

If this is so, how come my 2010 Ford Focus, when my side mirror got banged by a motorbike, Ford Malaysia took 3 whole months to replace the side mirror. Mind you, the side mirror is the most common part to be knocked down in Malaysia. Everybody has their side mirror knocked at least once in their lives in Malaysia.

But Ford Malaysia took a whole 3 months to replace this part. Contrast with my Honda City, it took Honda Malaysia to replace it within 2 hours including labour and parts.

So, is this how Ford US considers Malaysia to be an important market?

• It easier if you buy it yourself..less time but need more effort..if you lazy type person no more i can said, it common for young malaysian nowaday…..i buy saga side mirror myself than ask SC to pasang less than 20min even faster than 2hour for your honda..easy jigsy…it common today business dont like keeping stock…

• See, that’s the fundamental difference between a PROTON customer and a Ford customer. The former has learnt that they don’t deserve service because “it’s a PROTON maaa”, while the latter demands service because he bought a car at a premium price.
          But if Ford, or more precisely Sime Darby continues to take this lackadaisical attitude towards customer service, it will be soon that customers will walk away. PROTON? They will be saved by the government anyway…

• What a brilliant idea. Next time you want to go surgery, doctor not free, just go out and buy surgical tools and operate on yourself. Your idea is superb. You must be a visionary and prospective CEO with your fantastic suggestion. Are you from Uitm?

• bestretort30412 on Apr 30, 2012 at 12:38 pm

hahaha…good afternoon laugh …lol

• next time buy from singapore OEM small part like tht no big deal ok

• ethan on Apr 26, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Really now??? they look optimistic in so suddenly doing so many things but a simple warranty honoring takes them ages to revert and then incompetency of technical knowledge of their own cars make them look really bad.. if at the moment they are struggling with the aftersales support for Focus, Fiesta, Mondeo and Rangers, what more if they add another few more new models to the line up?

• seancorr on Apr 26, 2012 at 7:14 pm

It looks as if all the smaller brands like Hyundai, Suzuki, Ford, Peugeot, etc has problems honouring the warranty judging by the comments users post here.

How true is it? It’s just taking time or are they keeping their mouths shut when a customer claims warranty?

Either way if its true the above then the lesser brands will never grow properly here. After sales support is just as important, if not more important, than selling the car. I don’t wanna call some 3rd party tow truck when my car breaks down nor do I want to wait for a month just to claim a simple warranty.

• kadajawi on Apr 26, 2012 at 8:14 pm

They need more service centers to provide good after sales service. But to get them there need to be more cars of the brand in the country.

• Im call my insurance company to tow my car to my preferred SC…free what!

• kadajawi on Apr 26, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Hopefully this means they will get more and better SC. ;) More cars on the road means there have to be more SC, means also more competition amongst them etc. So yeah, good stuff.

Also since these cars often share engines and other parts the mechanics don’t have to learn that much. Give them some time.

• go further! yeah i like the sound of that! bring it on!

• thunder cats on Apr 26, 2012 at 7:27 pm

nice,,,bring more models so that malaysians have more varieties n there will be healthy competition among car sellers here so that malaysians will not get rip off by overpriced ckd cars sold at 160 k but old specs

• Car Driver on Apr 26, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Yes put Ecoboost 1.6 to the Latest 2012 Ford Focus Sedan and Ford Signature ‘Park Assist’ and dont price > 100K and our relationship ‘Will go Further’.

• Ford Fiesta on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:58 am

Sorry to disappoint you and a whole bunch of readers but Ford Malaysia has confirmed that we will NEVER see the 1.0 or 1.6 Ecoboost engines in the Focus. We will only get the crappy 2.0 Normally Aspirated Engine. By the way, in the UK, the 1.0 Ecoboost in the Focus is a best seller. You get a great car that drives like a BMW, full of power of a 2.0 and yet the economy of a TDi (diesel) engine.

MIDA won’t allow the 1.0 Ecoboost engine in Malaysia cause the car will technically be known as a 1 litre car. So, the price must be lesser than RM90k and this will wipe our the Proton Preve. At the end of the day politics rule and Malaysians are made to be like fools, funding and feeding the cronies to build bigger mansions and buying Porsche and Ferraris

• U sure? Than how come vw can bring polo 1.2tsi & golf 1.4tsi???

• Hillgosh on Apr 26, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Too bad, to claim a faulty steering rack has to wait for 3-4 months.

• droll on Apr 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm

good! finally, some recognition. it’s not that they have a bad brand. it’s that they never had a good offering for the masses. that changed with the fiesta.

• NEW Ford Focus Diesel version please..

• Hillgosh on Apr 26, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Too bad, to claim a faulty steering rack from Ford must wait for 3-4 months.

• abuabuabuabu on Apr 26, 2012 at 8:30 pm

I heard Ford GT Hybrid coming!! Finally …

• toroto on Apr 26, 2012 at 8:53 pm

A little bit too late n slow progress. By de time their new models launched, most ppl oredi picked their competitors. Not to mention dat their buyers need to wait for after sales servis to improve.

• Just wanna on Apr 26, 2012 at 9:04 pm

18 Month. . . 6 Models. . . let’s guess. . hehehe
    1.sedan
    2.hatchback/Coupe
    3.wagon
    4.SUV
    5.MPV
    6.MPV or SUV crossover. . .= D

• YeapyEvo on Apr 26, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Fiesta RS , Focus RS, Focus 1 & 1.6L Ecoboost is what we need ! But please raise after sales service quality to the level like T&H

• wolfsburg on Apr 26, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Maybe new Escape, Ecosport, new Mondeo and Grand C-max!
    Auto industry in Malaysia is getting crowded!

• Grandpa Trucker on Apr 26, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Bring in the Mustang and F150

• SaveTheEARTH on Apr 26, 2012 at 10:11 pm

If Ford can on par with VW and bring down your price little definitely will gain market share. Please also play around with the secondary market value, this is Malaysia, we look at this. Improve your sales & service center, the personnel. Don’t fool us like H & T safety features offer in Malaysia. Ford branding is just like Volvo however not as pricy as Volvo, if you were really done well on the secondary market value on your car, Volvo owner might migrate to Ford.

• bring in ford falcon from aussie

• The falcon is already being phased out, to be replaced by the mondeo. If you sell it in Malaysia, how many people do you think will buy a 3.6 liter car with the road taxes the way they are?

Remember the Chevy lumina, which is a rebadged Holden Commodore? Total flop.

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 26, 2012 at 10:24 pm

According to an SA I recently spoke to, they will be bringing in new TDCI models of the Focus here as well. This new model is planned for launching sometime in Q3 this year.

• Chow 1 on Apr 26, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Ford is one of my favorites. It’s fun to drive, usually equipped with good sound system. I personally think it’s better than Korean made. Somehow the Americans think it’s not as reliable as the Japanese made. But I think it all changed now.

• Leekowchai on Apr 26, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Ford make good cars. However, Spare parts here are so rare and expensive. Some parts like the steering rack is more expensive that a BMW. I was contemplating to get a focus but end up with a Honda instead.

• vwfan on Apr 26, 2012 at 11:49 pm

that’s how global car company progress. but our P1 progress..1 model in 1 or 2 years and riuh sekampung.

• Geecy on Apr 27, 2012 at 12:06 am

Haven’t driven a Ford since my first car, a 2 door Escort in NZ then an Escort Station Wagon in London in the 80’s. Would love to see the latest 2.2 Ranger diesel in the Escape or Everest or better still the much anticipated EcoSport.

• waterman on Apr 27, 2012 at 12:52 am

Ford Fusion 2013 please…!!

• Steven Chew on Apr 27, 2012 at 1:24 am

I am waiting for the new Ford Focus

• demio121 on Apr 27, 2012 at 8:44 am

If Ford is serious abt coming back big time, take back the brand from SD before they start selling every Ford at luxury price.

• Ash Menon on Apr 27, 2012 at 1:25 pm

VERY MUCH agreed. Sime Darby is giving both Ford and Hyundai a shitty name. Ford can well afford (teehee) to set up its own dealer network here.

• N.Keong on Apr 27, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Correct… Example of spare / replacement parts for Focus…

1. Absorber – RM1,200 PER PIECE !!!!
      2. Front wiper – RM258 PER BLADE !!!!
      3. Bonnet – RM4500 !!!!
      4. Steering rod + L&R ball joint – RM700+
      5. Diesel turbo – RM15,000 !!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s just the turbine, I think… Thank goodness can claim under warranty. BUT not without arguing and banging table !

• mokkf on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:24 am

I do hope they can bring in the B-max here. Love it

• samsam on Apr 27, 2012 at 10:54 am

should bring more hatchback..

• lol lol on Apr 27, 2012 at 11:58 am

i want Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 :D

• Freyja on Apr 27, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Are you sure that you can afford the fuel consumption on top of the majorly expensive road tax? If you’re able to, power to you friend. :)

• Mustang on Apr 27, 2012 at 3:11 pm

please launch mustang in Malaysia!can give competition to BMW

• kadajawi on Apr 28, 2012 at 2:56 am

Better bring in sensible cars, grey importers can take care of those exotic ones.

• Supa Hiro on Apr 27, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Maybe Preve could smoke a Focus TDCI. I drove my friends new Preve and manage to smoke Civic and Forte.

• Preve 205nm torque vs focus tdci 340nm torque, unless the focus driver is driving it slowly……how to smoke?

• Unforgiven on Apr 27, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Even if you are able to smoke E90, so what if it’s just a Preve?

• TurboMan!!! on Apr 28, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Which E90?

320i? or 335i?

They are completely different. One is a benign point A to B car with good handling, and another is a tarmac burner with 300+ hp with awesome handling.

• TurboMan!!! on Apr 28, 2012 at 7:47 pm

And a satria with 2.0 turbo mivec will smoke ferraris.

When will this ever end?

Ah yes i know. It will end when u have grown up.

• biglama on Jul 08, 2012 at 10:00 pm

I want to know what you smoke that make you stone? Ape benda ko merepek ni?

• Ford, bring the grand c max pls, and make it either the 1.6tdci or the 1.6 ecoboost

• So now we have caught the Americans’ attentions ? Hell yeah, if you are getting profit margins of 50%-80% compared even to China, and only us in the whole of SEA are willing / forced to do so.

Welcome Ford, and please do give us more value-for-money offerings.

• kadajawi on Apr 28, 2012 at 3:01 am

Profit margins for the Fiesta probably aren’t so high, since the price for a Fiesta sedan in Malaysia is similar to the price of a Fiesta hatchback with similar specs in Germany (I’m comparing to the sedan since the Sport comes without all the safety features) (btw. the German version doesn’t have the PowerShift/DSG). And that is including the high taxes, so they offer the car for a similar price, but in Malaysia they have to deduct around 75% taxes while in Germany it’s 19%.

• Jack Leong on Apr 29, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Don’t count on US. Most of their MNCs just care about money, money and money. All they talk is about investors’ interests, investments, etc. Please get some investors who are really passionate about developing car technologies (other than this Sime Darby). Quality products and services will ensure revenue inflow and customers loyalty, not all the sales and marketing gimmicks.

• harizghazi on Aug 28, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Malaysian philasophy buying car sama macam philasophy nak cari kedai makan…mana kedai banyak org,mesti kedai tu masakan dia sedap… Mana kete ramai org pakai kete tu mesti bagus… (korean,toyota,mazda,honda,cherf) belakang ford in GB,notfh america and urope…No1 in this place.why?they all use brain in buying cars….buat reacher,bukan hentam je..

Buying cars kena buat kajian…the best car IMO rm115k to rm130k is…
    FORD FOCUS TDCI- mine rm120 plus free maitanece for 60k,6time free lah

132bhp…tork 320nm,big tork drives like big car,efortlessly,better than e200 compressor tahun 2002 tau,jam the best..naik cameron, genting,karak,ipoh 5 orang kete senyum je,enjin tak payah work hard like in petrol engine,diesel the way forward and our diesel quality are getting better,biofuel…
    diesel engine last longer than petrol engine..for example,if a petrol engine need to be overhaul at 200,000km,diesel 400k..
    disel engine more durable and realible(dengan izin Allah),susah rosak.. mana ada mahal,tanya lah org yg pakai 4weel drive..
    and can uprgrade to 180bhp and 400torg!! nanti Allah kasi i duit i nak upgrade..

handling – better than e200,tahun 2002…
    fun – 95% of alfa romeo156… well before uprade lah..
    comford – 75% of E200 tahun 2002..
    fuel – sama dengan kancil tau… 90km for rm10!!
    if u drive 90 to 110km per hour u can go from taiping to kl for RM20 or less..
    Gear box? getrag,six gear, dual clutch power shiff,gearbox,the best gear box after the no 1 gear box for front weels car,voskwagen 7speed DSG gearbox.. gearbox yg lain,honda,inpira,toyota ketingalan zaman…
    getrag power shiff and DSG ride like a manual minus the hassle to tekan the clutch…volvo baru pun guna getrag powershiff speak volume..

jomlawat kilang getrag in slovakia…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNeV6KAf8O4

sebab ford punye suspention belakang guna system lain dari kete biasa,jadi kat tempat duduk belakang takda bulat yg terjojol kat hujung tempat duduk belakang…so kalau 4org duduk pun tak terseksa…
    tempat duduk balakang boleh lipat,boleh buat tempat tidur in case of emergency…tidur sambil bukak aircorn for3-4 hours takyah risau incase engine panas sebab diesel engine megeluarkan haba yg tak sepanas petrol engine.. semua generate pun pakai diesel engine..the power and the beauty of diesel engine…plus boleh guna utk angat barang..i pindah rumah dari serdang to greenwood pakai kete je…brg besar i pinjam my fren volvo station wagon..

Ala,resell value takda… if u jenis pakai kete 3-4 tahun pas tu nak tukar kete baru,well sorry to say,this car is not for you…

if you jenis pakai kete for 5,6 or even 10,years and dengan izin Allah you wil look back happy,puas hati,with the choice u make and u will fall in love for the car for her wonderfull service and memoris all tis years,you will past it to the children…this is ford lah,built to last..
    Overall the car feels 70% of golf gti,and cost? 50% less than a golf gti…IMO.
    I think the new ford are better,but i love diesel engine… if only they got the diesel version,ada ke FORD?diesel version in malaysia?

These gear box are enuf reason to buy a

FORD
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7Q2M2K0V5k&feature=endscreen&NR=1

• gerald on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:53 pm

waiting for mondeo 2013 to arrive and hope that they will really improve service centers especially outside klang valley.

• Stevo on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:38 am

With so many Ford Escapes in the country, they only have 1 set of wheel bearings in their store. I have to wait 2-3 weeks for my parts which are still under warranty. In the mean time I have to drive around town at 60km on my broken wheel bearings. Ridiculous!