CH-Auto Lithia – flash goes electric, the Chinese way

Sitting in a quiet corner in Auto China 2012 were two electric vehicles from CH-Auto, one presenting a sports car take on the go-green path. The Lithia, as the prototype two-seater Beijing debutant is called, looks sporty enough, even if some of the lines might look a bit borrowed.

It’s powered by an air-cooled AC induction motor offering 201 hp of power with the unit spinning between 7,000 to 8,000 rpm, as well as 220 Nm of torque from 0-5,000 rpm, driving the rear-wheels.

The motor, rated to a maximum 11,000 rpm, gets its juice from a 36 kWh and 106 Ah Li-ion battery pack, and performance figures include a 150 km operating range, a 170 km/h top speed and an under 12 seconds 0-100 km/h sprint time. Not exactly blazing, but hey, it’s an electric.

The 4.5 metre-long Lithia weighs in at 1,600 kg, and normal charge time is seven hours, with fast charging to 80% possible in just 70 minutes. It rides on 215/30, 19-inch front and 245/40 20-inch rear wheels, and features a front disc and rear drum brake system.

Keeping the Lithia company on display was the smart-like Cylent city car. The 2.85-metre long two-seater features a permanent magnet synchronous motor at the heart of things, and weighs in at a modest 700 kg.

Performance-wise, the Cylent can travel 100 km on a single charge, with a top speed of better than 50 km/h to be had. The 8.5 kWh Li-ion pack can be charged in two hours.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• r8

• Analyst on Apr 28, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Actually, no. The only thing in it that looks like the R8 is the B-pillar. Otherwise, it’s completely different: front, rear and side profile aren’t like the R8’s at all.

You can look at: http://i.imgur.com/U9IHJ.jpg

Here are the answers: http://i.imgur.com/Hrenv.jpg

• front view of pic no 2 looks like vw scirocco

• Unforgiven on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:25 pm

Car lovers, please tell us (M’sian), how much are we lost/left behind in this global World.
    Is it because of AP system, protectionism? Please help M’sia…

• RedBeanBun on Apr 27, 2012 at 11:50 pm

pity the Lotus/Protong. In few years time, they will no relevant anymore..

• Unforgiven on Apr 28, 2012 at 3:19 pm

We need a leader to Bersih the car industry in M’sia. Someone from PaulTan please….

• nazreen on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:48 pm

r8 wannabe. If p2 or p1 did this… sure kena kutuk kaw2..

• Jamil on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:50 pm

“The Lithia, as the two-seater Beijing debutant is called, looks sporty enough, even if some of the lines might look a bit borrowed.”

You guys are really subtle with your words, eh? I would have said something like “blatantly, shamelessly ripping off Audi’s design without even bothering to alter it so as to make it less obvious”

To be fair, this is just another example of shameless copying from China and, from the look of things, will continue that way for quite some time.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 27, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Subtlety has its moments. Didn’t think I’d have to state the obvious – one would have to be blind as a bat to not see it. :)

• Analyst on Apr 28, 2012 at 3:02 pm

It looks nothing like the R8, except the B-pillar.

Anyone who says it’s a copy of the R8 should have their eyes checked.

• taboogen on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:55 am

thats what the chinese automoker said.. i did not copied anyone.. but in real life we all know….. copy paste edit then rename……. bullshit

• luqman on Apr 27, 2012 at 10:24 pm

definitely audi r8 in form…

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on Apr 27, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Chinese version of R8……..

• hahaha… no wonder at 1st glance, it must be china made and it definately is…
    there is no curve and shape and its just pure plain design, and its too much an R8 wannabe that makes you no doubt this is definately another shameless copy by the chinese..

• Paint on Apr 28, 2012 at 5:14 am

It feels like an insult to the whole motoring industry when looking at these Chinese manufacturers. No soul at all, jut some ways to make quick buck.

• R8 and iq with a slower engine.

• serious on Apr 28, 2012 at 9:11 am

at least the front and rear does not look like r8 ^^

• hway de Cruz on Apr 28, 2012 at 9:55 am

aiyoh, these cinaman will copy n remake anything…. audi R8 very similarly copied. give them alien spaceship also they will copy n enhance too

• DArkerMarker on Apr 28, 2012 at 1:49 pm

I smell copy cat……

No shame ar, China??

• BlackCurrent on Apr 28, 2012 at 3:35 pm

I see future design of G Whiz

• anti-proton on Apr 28, 2012 at 8:07 pm

what? no update? still at bersih ka?

• when Mitsubishi taking Audi mouth into their Lancer, no people complain.
    when a china car company taking Audi R8 side design into their car, here goes the rant.

• Old-Trafford on Apr 29, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Third Picture like Kancil modified..

• Azydy on Apr 29, 2012 at 4:56 pm

nice design..

• Kjryth on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:22 am

Proton better

• ok0125 on Apr 30, 2012 at 10:51 am

Do u mean Lotus or Italdesign? FYI proton electric car concept its outsource design not DESIGN BY PROTON DESIGN.

Its obvious that China now can design better than Proton!!!