Lexus RX facelift arrives – four in all, RM356k to RM525k

Lexus Malaysia officially introduced the the facelifted RX last night – the reworked third-generation SUV makes its local debut just two months after its introduction in Geneva.

A complete line-up makes its way in, four models in all, these being the entry-level RX 270, followed by the RX 350, RX 350 F SPORT and the range-topping RX 450h hybrid.

Changes include a new front end, complete with the new spindle shaped grilled first seen on the LF-LC Concept, and most recently on the GS, launched here two months ago. The spindle grille will soon be adopted throughout the range to strengthen the Lexus family identity between model ranges, the company says.

Aside from the new spindle grille, exterior revisions include a new front bumper as well as headlamps equipped with new LED daytime running lights, and the rear light cluster has also been redesigned. Also on is a new 19-inch wheel design, found on the RX 350 and RX 450h, wrapped with 235/55 series tyres (the RX 270 has 18-inch wheels, with 235/60 rubbers).

Naturally, the interior gets reworked too, and features a new steering wheel with high quality wood and leather. For the first time, all RX variants are equipped with a second-generation Remote Touch Controller, which is linked to an 8.0-inch Electro Multi Vision screen and is equipped with navigation.

Meanwhile, the RX 350 F SPORT adds performance dampers and an F SPORT suspension into the equation. There’s also F SPORT specific exterior trim, which is made up of a mesh grille, dark grey 10-spoke 19-inch alloy wheels and F SPORT badges on the front fenders.

The interior on this one also gets kitted up to reflect a sportier tone, with aluminium panels in place of the more elegant wood inserts leading the changes. The seats get special F SPORT perforated leather and the six-speed automatic gearbox gains paddle shifters.

No changes mechanically, with the same engine line-up as before. The front wheel-drive RX270’s 2.7 litre 1AR-FE four-cylinder mill offers 185 hp 5,800 rpm and 252 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, while the RX 350 and RX 350 F SPORT wear the 2GR-FE 3.5 litre V6 engine, with 274 hp at 6,200 rpm and 346 Nm at 4,700 rpm.

The top-of-the-line RX 450h’s Atkinson Cycle 2GR-FXE 3.5 litre V6 engine continues with 245 hp at 6,000 rpm and 317 Nm at 4,800 rpm for output numbers as before, and in combination with a 123 kW electric front drive motor and a 50 kW rear motor, offers 295 hp in combined hybrid system output.

As before, a three-block, 10-module-each 288V Ni-MH battery – located below the rear seats – continues to provide the necessary juice, and the powertrain is mated to an E-Four electronically-controlled continuously variable transmission.

Standard kit on all four variants include a Lexus Premium Audio 12-speaker system and 10 airbags.

Price-wise, the RX 270 goes for RM359,800, while the RX 350 is RM399,800. Opting for the F SPORT route takes the price to RM409,800, and the hybrid RX 450h features a marginal increase from before, at RM525,000.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ryan.C on May 10, 2012 at 10:15 am

WOW, Look at the price-tag.
    Even half price from groupon, i think i can’t afford to buy also.

• Looks kinds weird for me…VW Touareg and the Land Rover Evoque r better !

• Wazzup on May 10, 2012 at 10:17 am

big money with weird kind of taste……like too much money but lacking knowledge!

• Henry on May 10, 2012 at 10:24 am

Half a million bucks for this? The Ringgit must be really watered down.

• Jerry Tan on May 10, 2012 at 10:36 am

Preve’ better than this

• moron..blind supporter will always keep barking preve is better than this and this..get a life la bro

• Jerry Tan on May 10, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Fools like you ……. ahahaha. everyone knows Lexus is a better car

• prebet on May 10, 2012 at 8:41 pm

haha..so sensetip when people just talk about preve..if someone said preve better than ferrari, u know that he’s kidding rite..haha..why so serius lorr

• Jerry Tan on May 10, 2012 at 9:11 pm

yalah…. so serious for what? can’t take a joke !

• beamboy on May 10, 2012 at 10:55 am

better opt for BMW…lexus getting far more expensive…

• lexus_biskut on May 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm

LEXUS maaa….not Toyota Harrier…(although same vehicle)

• MoFaz on May 10, 2012 at 1:46 pm

i agree.. better opt for BMW. you’ll better material, better design, better interior, and better ego.

• Tishaban on May 10, 2012 at 3:19 pm

The BMW is nicer but the equivalent BMW is the X5 which starts at around RM450k ie. close to the top of the line Lexus RX450h. Not sure if it’s really a competitor IMO.

• it’s cheaper than same class from the BMW….

• Better opt for bungalow…value for money..

• look like predator to me

• one word ‘UGLY’…….over priced Toyota……!!!

• Hybrid is Best on May 11, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Lexus and Toyota is diff…
      Just like Renault and Nissan…

• Interior looks cheap for a car with that price tag

• Jurutera on May 10, 2012 at 11:50 am

For that kind of money, better off with an Audi or BMW

and judging from the pics, the interior doesn’t seem as luxurious as the price tag..

• Nissan on May 10, 2012 at 11:59 am

the interior is too simple for this so-called luxury car & the chrome is too much!

• This is nice

• g-mey on May 10, 2012 at 12:28 pm

damn fugly dashboard..

• nicenice nice nice

• yes! booked mine yesterday.

F-sport baby!

• Front bumper design looks far better than the pre facelift RX. Thumbs up to Lexus.

• nighttrain on May 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Range Rover Evoque will be my choice at the same price. Looks department is waay better. Performance, okay, Toyota wins. hahah.

• silver on May 10, 2012 at 5:04 pm

you cant really compare. the evoque is alot alot smaller. i do agree the evouque is a beauty i doubt there are any 4×4 that looks as good as it at the moment. For those who compare lexus and toyota you obviously have never driven inside a lexus. thats all i can say ..

• droll on May 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm

lexus will outlast BMW / Audi in reliability. but other than that, i’m not sure what other reason to buy. lol.

• bmpower on May 10, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Overprice car for rich but stupid people.
    It’s toyota btw. Technologies? out, Design? Out, Brand? (toyota fan everything good).

go for BMW or MERC is better

• The centre dashboard looks empty..

• Dato seri on May 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Half a million ringgit for japanese car? Forget about it.
    For this kind of money might as well buy the contis with queiter interior,more luxury etc
    Japanese car can never beats conti in terms of cabin quietness.

• Hybrid is Best on May 11, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Even the American is buying Lexus…
      I dun think there are stupid but just smarter…

• fugly.. thank you lexus

• tiadaid on May 10, 2012 at 2:40 pm

The interior’s really bad & the carpet looks pretty cheap. For 300K & above might as well go for the real deal Conti luxury car rather than this Toyota in a fairly expensive suit.

• Josh Ling on May 10, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Rather disappointed with the fact that the new RX is still stuck with Lexus Premium Audio, instead of Mark Levinson’s. Regardless of how “premium” that may sound, Mark Levinson is still more superior, and I can’t see why they can’t put it on even the most expensive variant.

• wah overprice la… i rather get a porsch cayenne.. But sayang cayenne turbo s cost a mil…

• Untung Giler on May 10, 2012 at 3:43 pm

The only comment i can give to this model:
    HAMPEH!!!

• cl_qwertyuiop on May 10, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Looks not so luxury for me. If I can choose, I’m off to Infiniti X35. Wont you agree?

• kjryth on May 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm

proton better

• cl_qwertyuiop on May 11, 2012 at 8:55 am

Where to choose the Proton SUV? Not in the market yet in my knowledge.

• dreaming of maserati on May 10, 2012 at 9:24 pm

what el cheapo interior for a half million ringgit car!!
    looks like the same quality as the prius c.
    lexus is really a big time rip off!!
    only dumb ppl will choose this over contis. ( ppl that are rich by inheritance)

• Annaeh on May 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Is it just me or did Toyota/Lexus models off late, with the exception of the GT86, look so damn fugly. What is hapenning to their design department and philosophy. Just look at this RX, the Camry, Corolla, RAV4, Prius, Alphard, and the list goes on. I know the cheif designer wants the cars to be aggressively styled, but you can be aggressive like Muhammad Ali or Mike Tyson. Unfortunately he chose the latter.

• Jimmy on May 11, 2012 at 12:16 am

Look at all (previous and current generations) BMWs.
    Imagine how people perceive BMW vs Lexus.
    You judge yourself how to use your 0.5 million.
    Buying ONE house? I bet if you have more than enough money to buy a few houses + shops + lands, you will buy luxurious cars. Trust me.

• serious on May 11, 2012 at 9:19 am

they just change the grille? is still a same car with same chassis…sigh

• RedBeanBun on May 11, 2012 at 10:59 pm

the fall of the Harrier finally after a long run…what kind of stupid design is Lexus designing all X across their car…all family type buyers will be chase away…

• I would rather buy Blackburn Rovers and that is saying something!!!