Ferrari 458 Spider launched – pricing starts from RM1.9 mil

The 458 Spider today joined its coupe sister, the 458 Italia, in the local Ferrari lineup, and rolls in at a starting baseline price of RM1.9 million, going up to RM2.2 million or so depending on the level of customisation you load on it.

The Spider, which debuted in Frankfurt last year, is powered by a normally-aspirated, direct-injection 4.5 litre V8 with 570 cheval vapeur (CV), which translates to 562 hp at 9,000 rpm and 540 Nm at 6,000 rpm.

The mill is coupled to a dual-clutch F1 paddle-shift seven-speed transmission with E-Diff, which integrates F1-Trac traction control and high-performance ABS. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h acceleration time of under 3.4 seconds and a maximum speed of 320 km/h.

Equipped with a fully-retractable aluminium hard-top, the 458 Spider is the world’s first sports car with this layout. It’s 25 kg lighter than a traditional folding soft-top, and is also quieter and thermally more efficient when raised.

Aside from taking just 14 seconds to open or close, the hard-top – which is fully integrated into the styling of the car – was engineered to occupy a very small space when stored, affording a generous rear bench for luggage behind the two seats.

The Spider, which sits on 20-inch wheels and 235/35 front and 295/35 rear rubbers, has a generously-sized adjustable electric wind stop which opens to a height that promises efficient aerodynamics, reducing buffeting in the cockpit and enabling normal conversation to be held even at speeds over 200 km/h.

The rear also features buttresses designed to optimise the flow of air to the engine intakes as well as the clutch and gearbox oil radiators.

In related news, the launch of the 458 Spider also saw the Malaysian introduction of Ferrari Tailor-Made, a personalisation programme developed specifically for customers wishing to make their Ferrari unique. The service features three innovative collections – Classica, Scuderia and Inedita, with a multitude of customisation options to be had.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Lucifer on May 17, 2012 at 8:55 pm

In Malaysia, if you buy 2 Ferraris a government crony gets 1 FREE

cool eh? =D

• mmouse on May 17, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Hmmm… does it come with the girls? Then again, you pay 1.9m it should not be a problem isn’t it?

• Sure buy 1 free 1.. or maybe 2..

Just dun b tat stupid/ignorant chinaman in sg..

• I Believe on May 17, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Can someone help me understand the rational of getting a spider / convertible/ cabriolet / retractable roof / roadster or whatever you call it? The drawbacks having a convertible in Msia are as such:

1. Easy target for snatch thefts, acid splashers, robbers or car jackers
    2. Polluted air and dusty roads therefore bad for your car interior and bad for you
    3. Lesser protection from road accidents
    4. Extra weight, less boot space and lesser performance compared to the hard-top version
    5. Not a good place to be after styling your hair…

• armandd on May 17, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Oh come on, why do you have to be so negative thinking? People who buy this kind of ride only drive to certain places like up Genting Highlands or Cameron, along the East Coast highway and such. Most likely they’ll have a team of highly trained bodyguards escorting them with BMW X5 or Land Rover.

• diesel 2M on May 18, 2012 at 12:31 am

easy to inhale buses and lorries fume soot while tail-gating behind on route to Genting/ Cameron…LOL

• armandd on May 18, 2012 at 10:16 pm

During my Genting trip a few months back, I haven’t seen a single lorry, just a few buses…

• The look on passer-by’s face (and the drool) when you stop this topless car at a traffic light …………priceless !!

• reezfa on May 17, 2012 at 10:43 pm

People in Malaysia buy it to flash around. Not purely on performance. The performance figure is just for the ego talk, not to be used to trash around. To be seen in it, the spider perfectly fits their needs.

• Alpha on May 18, 2012 at 2:30 am

Not just people in malaysia,bro.that IS the reason for cabriolet all around the world.If you want it for performance,the coupe version is way better.

• ayyam on May 17, 2012 at 10:50 pm

because its cool.. and everybody will know you’r rich lol

• reezfa on May 17, 2012 at 10:51 pm

People in Malaysia mostly buy this car to flash around. Not purely on the performance. The performance figure is just for the ego talk, less probably to be trashed to the max. So the spider perfectly fits their needs.

• shooter on May 21, 2012 at 4:28 pm

its great for driving where the climate is bright but not hot and humid like here. i’m a big fan of coupe’s (structural integrity being the reason) and i wouldnt want to be caught dead with anything with a rag top, but i have to admit, this is one of the best looking Spider i have ever seen!

• dreaming of maserati on May 17, 2012 at 9:42 pm

wow…the girls are hot!!!

but i would still rather take the car….

• manpower dept on May 18, 2012 at 12:42 am

social ascot ready for booking.
      achtung! they may cause driver loose steering wheel control and death.

• The price can reach up to 2.2 mil from 1.9??!!! Wow 300k worth of options is just crazy!

• Boleh on May 17, 2012 at 10:07 pm

Boleh la, those makan money guys easily buy 2 or 3 to just take those girls out. Malaysia boleh ma. It’s time to vote wisely than thinking about cars.

• Despark Auto Academy on May 17, 2012 at 10:07 pm

DESPARK BOSS SURE WANT ONE!

• better watch out for speeding Ferraris when crossing traffic lights ><

• armandd on May 17, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Best car in the world at the moment!

• blitz3r on May 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Am i the only who notice that there isn’t a head unit? just curious

• tiadaid on May 17, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Why is 570 cheval vapeur equates to 562hp. Isn’t cheval vapeur basically the french word for horsepower? So why did the car suddenly lose 8 hp in translation?

• manpower dept on May 18, 2012 at 12:36 am

more likely CV=metric horsepower…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 18, 2012 at 6:23 am

Indeed, cheval vapeur, or cavalli vapore if one prefers the Italian term, is used to denote a unit of metric horsepower, and is the exact equivalent of the more familiar German metric measurement, PS (pferdestarke).

Both metric PS and CV are not identical to the imperial – or mechanical – horsepower; while everything is supposed to denote “horsepower,” the mathematical equation – or more correctly, the unit – measures in differently, 1 CV or PS being the equivalent of 0.985 hp.

With lower output numbers, the abberation is not so much noticeable as a factor (for example, 100 PS being 98.6 hp), so most of us let it slide, but correctly denote if it is PS. Now, go to something like 570 PS (or CV, in this case) and the percentage differences become quite pronounced, translating to 561.9 hp, rounded off to 562 hp for easier recognition.

The metric and imperial conundrum continues – we tend to mix the usage because of easier perception and recognition. By right we should all be using kilowatt as a measurement for power output, and not ‘hp’ since we already use Newton metres (Nm) instead of the imperial ‘lb ft’ for torque, but 419 kW doesn’t have the same recognition in the mind as 562 hp or 570 CV/PS.

Meanwhile, wheel offset and PCD are measured in metric (mm), but actual diameter continues on in inches. “I moved up from 38 cm to 43 cm wheels, nice huh?” doesn’t quite have the same effect. Neither does “she’s just a 81 cm, my new girlfriend’s a 91.5 cm” or “move over, Mr 12.7 cm-er. Let a real man with 20.32 cm show you how it’s done.” Imperial has its moments, primarily for perceivable impact. :D

• TurboMan!!! on May 18, 2012 at 6:45 am

Your post made my day mate.

Anyhow I’m rather glad that there are still mature commentators in Paultan.com.

• Kumar san on May 18, 2012 at 11:39 am

Me too,you made my day too Anthony.I fully agree with what you posted.

As least you spelt German metric measurement (PS) Pferdestarke correctly,and you know what it translates to.Most folks don’t.

For the record,1kw is 1.36bhp.

Cheers.

• Diablo on May 18, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Anthony Lim…. mature???? no…. Ha ha but nice to see his writings in Paul Tan after Star Motoring

• TurboMan!!! on May 18, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Diablo.

Have u seen the other commentators in Paultan? Just this post itself. Look around.

Calling them imbeciles would be way too kind.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 18, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Ha ha, hit the nail on de head! :) In case you folks are wondering, Diablo and I go some ways back.

• Henry Ford the XII on May 18, 2012 at 8:32 am

Woo.. I didnt know that horsepower is such a complex subject (borderline confusing)

Hope this will help you to understand (I didnt! hahaha)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horsepower

• FoMaz on May 18, 2012 at 12:10 am

better just buy Satria R3 Lotus Special Edition

• so go stick with ur protong..no one care..still want to say ur protong is better than ferrari??even ur car is faster or more power than ferrari,then no one also care bcoz it still protong..not ferrari…pfttttt

• kjryth on May 18, 2012 at 3:19 am

i think my proton more sport

• I need RM2.2 please.. on May 18, 2012 at 8:26 am

Hai yaa. I just spent RM2.20 for Roti Canai n Teh O this morning. Now my money is short by that amount! Otherwise, I have enough money to buy this Fellari.

• Mou Mou Ren on May 18, 2012 at 8:48 am

Drive this car on upcoming BERSIH.. heheh. Anyway, how much the cost of the the before TAX??? Waoooo, RM1.9 Mil… walao, just can effort buy Diecast Rm59.90

• when u have the money, nothing else matters.

• buttresses…at a moment i thought it refers to the models butt :D

• kerelbort on May 18, 2012 at 9:29 am

dear Ferrari, WHY U NO put leng luis in the bonnet like Porsche?

• kerelbort on May 18, 2012 at 9:32 am

honestly, give me the key to this one. I would really be clueless to drive this one away.

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on May 18, 2012 at 9:37 am

Seriously..why those girl not sitting inside front boot as previously done by Porsche’s girls? (Failed)

• CHONG KAT on May 18, 2012 at 9:55 am

why yellow? gay? clean?

• Merc=Real Euro on May 18, 2012 at 10:13 am

is this ferrari…fire proof….. so many catching fire now days… even ferrari cut cost….

• pelali on May 18, 2012 at 12:08 pm

which car is fire proof ? tell me. u gong kia asking gong questions.

• Far Ra Ri on May 18, 2012 at 11:31 am

The girls are prettier than the car.

• Sgt Scoop on May 18, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Anthony, how many units are they expecting to sell in Malaysia?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 18, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Didn’t say, but I guess as many as those who want one and can well afford to have it. :)

• The reason I couldn’t afford a Ferrari is because of proton. If the gov remove the exorbitant tax on this Ferrari, maybe i could buy one as my workhorse. My current drive is a proton.

• sick&tired on May 18, 2012 at 4:12 pm

you still can’t afford a ferrari if the government remove all the taxes! probably can upgrade to volkswagen polo sedan, which I think is highly unlikely judging from your grasp of basic mathematics!

• armandd on May 18, 2012 at 10:21 pm

blaming proton for everything, how intelligent!

• Cause on May 20, 2012 at 12:41 am

i drives a 3 series, can the only reason i cant get M3 or a Ferrari is because of proton

• kington on May 18, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Prices aside, I think the last Ferrari that really gave me the Ferrari-like feel was the 355.

The Modena i loved for its exhaust and rear 3 quarter view. The 430 was quite bland and didnlt really challenged the other supercars well.

This 458 seems to have what it takes if you look at the specs but with the R8, GT-R and the 991 Porsches arriving in the form of GT3s and Turbo S, it won;t be easy for this fella.

• Wow…The models are stunning!

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Moderator or anybody who knows it….can explain why the back side above bumper of the car (centre where the pranching horse logo sitting) is all in BLACK Colour instead of the original yellow colour as we usually see…..?include tat one driven by alonso….

• Abuya on May 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm

For price ans taxes, bottom line is dont show your fool in economy and your salary is just enough to buy myvi with 9 years installment.

This car is not for ordinary people like us. And dont say about performance because if you drive even 1985 Ferrari, BMW X5 still show respect to you. Hot chick also not hesitate come closer although she know you’re already married.

Bear in mind usually the road tax is 32k yearly. Insurance fee for 1.9m car? Ask them

When you dead, your last car is square shape, powered at least 6 man with 3km/h. Better donate your money, helping people who cannot afford ayam goreng in every meal as what you eat just now