Fiat 695 Abarth Maserati Edition – limited run of 499 units

We already have the Abarth 695 Tributo Ferrari, now comes the Abarth 695 Maserati Edition, the latest limited edition Fiat 500. Limited to 499 units, the Maserati Edition made its debut on the 30th anniversary of the Mille Miglia, which Enzo Ferrari called “the most beautiful race in the world”.

If the Tributo Ferrari shows off Abarth’s sporty character and racing spirit, this Maserati Edition epitomises elegance and comfort of a GranTurismo, but with the dinky handling of a mini car.

Based on the open-top 500C, the Maserati Edition is powered by a 1.4 T-Jet turbo engine (Garrett 1446 turbo) boosted to 180 hp and 250 Nm at 3,000 rpm. Paired to the electrically operated manual Abarth Competizione gearbox, this small car is capable of 0-100 km/h in less than seven seconds, while top speed is 225 km/h.

Brembo 305 mm brake discs with grey fixed four-piston calipers can be seen behind the 17-inch wheels, in Maserati’s trademark “Neptune” design. Koni shock absorbers with FSD valves are also included. Abarth promises “inspiring sound” above 3,000 rpm with the variable back-pressure “dual mode” exhaust, which hexagonal shape tailpipes follow after Maseratis.

The car here is in Pontevecchio Bordeaux. This Maserati colour is achieved with special three-layer paintwork which reflects light and accentuates the shine of the colour. The soft top is made of grey fabric.

Inside, the sand beige leather seats have containment strips featuring single-layer padding, while the dash and gearbox trim are finished in a special matte carbon lining. The door panels have a special UV-LUX treatment, which gives them a grey “flocking” effect. The steering wheel has beige leather inserts and a tricolour hub, while the instrument panel has been specifically designed by Jaeger.

Other details include aluminium pedals sill plates, carbon fibre kick plate with graphics and a plaque. Lastly, the Maserati Edition comes with a JBL ICE system with nine speakers and an eight-channel amplifier. Great ingredients for a desirable little package.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BOYRACER on May 21, 2012 at 10:56 am

Next 1 will be Abarth 695 Tributo Proton or Perodua edition..:)

• shawal on May 21, 2012 at 11:04 am

I want one! :D

• this is bullshit… my car is from 1999 and its got more hp than this piece of dooki! and mine isnt turbo and its twice the weight! and it looks half decent! they need to limit this more so i dont see this shit as often. rubish

• PakAbu on May 21, 2012 at 11:51 am

> …Maserati Edition epitomises elegance and comfort of
    > a GranTurismo, but with the dinky handling of a mini car.

:lol: Nice one, Danny.

• carnoisseur on May 21, 2012 at 12:32 pm

hahahaha, its a gimmick for people who have more dollars than sense !

• ugly as hell!!

• Brian on May 21, 2012 at 10:23 pm

who say this car ugly, you moron. many people adore this car…dont criticise this adorable but pocket rocket fiat 500…its funky and floopy

• zippypolo on May 21, 2012 at 1:27 pm

If only Fiat is still available here in Malaysia…..is Torino motors still around?

• seriousdude on May 21, 2012 at 1:57 pm

might as well buy real maserati…

• Vincent on May 21, 2012 at 5:28 pm

I shall this showing in mudah,my, asking for RM388K… I wonder even RM188K also too much for this italia kancil Mira version.

• The Enthusiast on May 22, 2012 at 8:02 am

Very nice. It’s a shame that Fiat Abarth is not sold in Malaysia.

• denise on May 27, 2012 at 5:07 am

just as hip AS COOPER,,,,I WANT ONE

• Mule Girl on May 27, 2012 at 5:08 am

I need one for my MULE!