2012 Peugeot 408 – Turbo at RM126k, 2.0 at RM110k

Well, after months of it being spotted around the Peninsular, the Peugeot 408 has finally made its Malaysian market debut – Nasim launched the C-segment sedan earlier tonight at its new Blue Box facility in Glenmarie.

Badged as an ideal choice for young professionals with families and looking for a car that offers space, performance and elegance, the new 2012 Peugeot 408 – which is manufactured at the Naza Automotive Manufacturing (NAM) facility in Gurun, Kedah – arrives in two variant forms, the 408 Turbo and the 408 2.0.

The 408 Turbo gets the familiar Prince 1.6 litre THP twin scroll turbo, but the EP6CDTM offers improved output with 163 hp at 6,000 rpm, while maximum torque is 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm – the power output makes the 408 the most powerful C-segment sedan in the market locally, Nasim says.

The increased output is the result of a revised turbo, changes to the ECU mapping and reworked pistons. The upgraded mill is mated to the AT6 six-speed auto adaptive transmission with Tiptronic and a sport mode, and performance specs include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.2 seconds and a 215 km/h top speed.

Meanwhile, the 408 2.0 is powered by the EW10A+ normally-aspirated four-cylinder 2.0 litre unit, which offers 145 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, and the engine is partnered with an AT8 auto adaptive gearbox – the four-speed unit, which also has Triptronic and a sport mode, features a new torque converter. Performance specs for the 2.0 litre include a 195 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h time of 12.5 seconds.

Design-wise, the front end of the 4.68 metre-long car includes elements such as Peugeot’s trademark feline headlights and thin chrome strips on the radiator grille, while the ruby red rear lights are trimmed with a clear white strip that hint at a lion’s claws within the cluster. At night, they take on the form of three diagonal strips that are a homage to historic models such as the 504 coupe.

Other external dimensions are a 1,815 mm width, 1,525 mm height and 2,710 mm long wheelbase, which is one of the longest in its segments – as a comparison, it’s just 15mm shy of the D-segment Mazda 6’s wheelbase.

Inside, the 408 features a large, cosy cabin, replete with premium leather seats, a leather-wrapped steering wheel with aluminium inserts, automatic dual-zone air-conditioning system with rear air-conditioning vents and almost 33 litres of storage space within the cabin.

In terms of boot space, there’s 562 litres of volume on call, and the rears seats can be folded in a 40/60 split (backrest and seat squabs) to create extra load-carrying space.

Items on the list include a six-speaker World In Peugeot Sound system with CD/ MP3 playback capability and USB/Bluetooth connectivity, an instrument panel LCD, tilt and telescopic steering, an auto-dimming rear view mirror and one-touch power windows with anti-pinch for all four windows.

Both variants also feature cruise control with a speed limiter, “Follow Me Home” headlamp functionality, sensor-activated headlights and wipers as well as automatic retractable side mirrors.

Suspension-wise, the front features inverted pseudo MacPherson-type struts and an antiroll bar, while the rear axle comprises a deformable U-shaped cross member and an integrated antiroll bar. The suspension settings for both cars are a bit different though, the 408 Turbo’s being tuned for a sportier and sharper ride while the 2.0’s suspension offers more comfort.

Both Pugs come equipped with 17-inch wheels, but in different designs as well as profile rubbers – the Turbo wears eight-spoke Melbourne wheels and 225/45 tyres, while the 2.0 features five-spoke Rinjani alloys and 215/50 tyres.

In terms of safety, both variants feature ABS, EBD and EBA, among others. The car has also been designed with a double-impact force dissipation channel to provide maximum passenger compartment protection. In the case of the 2.0, the variant features two airbags.

The 408 Turbo adds four more to the equation (driver and front passenger side, front and rear curtain airbags), making it six, as well as electronic stability programme (ESP), which features anti-slip regulation (ASR) and dynamic stability control (DSC) functions.

Six colours are available for the 408, these being Alpine White, Velvet Silver, Metropolis Bronze, Aster Grey, Bourrasque Blue and Premium Black. Pricing wise, the 408 Turbo goes for RM125,888, while the 2.0 goes for RM109,888, both on the road, with insurance.

[scribd id=94373546 key=key-gi2bptm4fxajnerzhl2 mode=list]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nebula87 on May 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Bye Bye T.Camry, Bye Bye H.Accord~~~ xD

• this is competing with altis, civic, elantra and other C segments

• chris on May 21, 2012 at 10:30 pm

urrgh! when can we get turbo powered Kia? Sportage 2.0 t-GDI? Optima K-5 SX t-GDI? anyone?

• P1_Rawks on May 22, 2012 at 6:18 am

Make sure you buy tow truck along with you, 308 Turbo well known for battery problem, even if you stop your engine the intercooler for turbo still running on bettery

not to mention NAZA after sales services not very good and 308 engine knocking problem when using Ron95.

• it has an improved engine over the 308 turbo so, the budget for the tow truck can be used for a holiday… a nice holiday, really. it is time to move beyond the 308 turbo already. this is the time of the 408 now.

• cud this applied to proton as well?

• letstorque on May 22, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Intercooler is just a kind radiator.
            Don’t need battery to run,nor electricity.
            Just pressure from turbo turbine.

• Obama on May 22, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Think before you buy Peugeot, high maintenance and no resale value, really you need to have a toll truck with you….(thumbs down if you agree..lol)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
          • Heskey on May 22, 2012 at 5:06 pm

what do you mean by ‘toll truck’?

• adam4u on May 22, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Thumbs up.

• Obama on May 22, 2012 at 6:35 pm

No need to think about buying Peugeot, maintenance is on par with other brands if not lower and resale value is not too bad for contis.

No ‘toll truck’ needed, just common sense and nerves of steel.

(thumbs up if you agree….lol)

• Tall Pan on May 23, 2012 at 2:08 am

maybe Obama misspelled ‘troll truck’… which seems to be what he drives

• Kia and German on May 22, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Well..a very good question from Chris.According to Naza Kia in Facebook,they hv no plans yet to introduce the K5 2.4 GDi and Sportage-R(GDi)
          But I get the latest info that they will introduce the all new Kia Rio in this July.

• Kia and German on May 22, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Good question from Chris,according to Naza Kia in Fb,they hv no plans yet to introduce the K5 2.4 GDi and Sportage-R,but i get the latest info that they will introduce the all new Kia Rio this July

• phahmeen on May 21, 2012 at 10:11 pm

seriously? comparing this to Accord/Camry?

• RON97 on May 22, 2012 at 1:34 pm

a very good price by naza. at least some pressure to the others.. well done

• it is stated above as C-segment so should be against civic/altis right
      peugeot has the bigger 508 to compete with camry/accord

anyway, although i don’t really like the interior, the engine is worth going for

• naemibr on May 22, 2012 at 4:07 am

agreed. engine is worth going for. but the interior something lack of, like no sterring button control, n should consider for screen/gps. One more thing, not so many storage compartment. like coins, for hp, etc etc.

• letstorque on May 22, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Go and test drive first before comment.
          The controls are behind steering wheels.You can’t see, but you can feel with your fingers.
          Experience it yourself..Then comment.

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 9:43 pm

But well known to be sui kwan wor (aka kwai tai on the road shoulder)

• C. Lamb on May 23, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Not these days. Maybe peugeot of your grandfather’s time. Just ask peugeot club what percentage of their members have issues.

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:58 am

I think the question should be, just as how many members that are paiseh to declare that their cars have kwai tai or sui kwan by the road shoulder before

• Potiac on May 21, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Accord d segment ler. If u want to conpare accord compare with 407 noob

• MoFaz on May 22, 2012 at 1:28 am

407 is RM125k.. and 408 is RM110k. the difference is 15k but 407 is bigger and has more beautiful rear… i think 407 is more worthy. just it’s much older model.

• kenny on May 22, 2012 at 8:14 am

actually, the specs show that the 408 is bigger than the 407 all round. the 407 only has a longer wheelbase by a smidgen but the dashboard of the 407 is too far back into the cabin leaving very little space for the occupants. in the 408, the dashboard is very close to the front axle. this is why the 408 has much better space packaging than the 407 which means better front and most importantly, rear room for your passengers.

i do like the 407’s rear though but then, the 408 is a more modern car altogether.

• Derrick C on May 22, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Ehmmm…. there’s no more 407 (new) on-sale by NAZA la…. :P

• blablabla on May 21, 2012 at 11:49 pm

The front looks alright.. esp the very 1st pic… that colour really suits the car.
      However… notice how theres No Full Rear shot of the car? Lately i realised a lot of new cars (even German ones) come out with bad looking rears… And so i wanted to see if this car’s rear looks good… but there was no proper shot of the rear.
      Side Mirrors look a little odd too… But its still a Nice car.. plus that Price for a Conti… And the Pince Turbo engine… seems like a really good bargain to me.

• pontiac on May 23, 2012 at 11:37 am

this model for South america china and SEA only la.. no european model.. no wonder i search for a review by english people there is none.. i think they want to prevent jeremy from top gear from reviewing this crap car.. so bias.. want us malaysian to use crap car but let the quality one not being use by us

• racotua on May 23, 2012 at 6:47 pm

if you have your facts correct, you should know why this car is not sold in europe. clearly from the kind of statement you make, you have no idea at all.

• just goes to show how much u knw bout cars. am not a fan or camry/accord. but msian tends to favour this both models, since the day they we brought it. and also, practical ppl will not own a peugeot (or a alfa, fiat) due to bad after sale service. yes, they’ve service centre, but they’re definitely do not hv the knowledge to troubleshoot or fix it. and last but not least, spare parts. good luck with ordering.

• Johnny on May 22, 2012 at 10:23 am

You should say. Bye bye Polo Sedan~
      But really, which one would you choose? Hmm..

• Digir on May 22, 2012 at 11:22 am

You should have said… Bye-bye POLO sedan ~~~ xD

• PPKIA on May 23, 2012 at 2:32 pm

This exact words were uttered when the 406 was launched.
      Nothing happened.

Was uttered again when the 407 was launched,
      Nothing happened again.

Was uttered again when the 308 was launched,
      Nothing happened also.

This time… the 308 sedans…
      Nah…I don’t think anything would happen, ever.

• Sam Loo on May 29, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Yeah, I year later, this car will be worth less than RM75k, if lucky

• kendall on May 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm

So much cheaper than the 407?

• mangata on May 22, 2012 at 12:59 am

dude you are forgetting something!!!! it is currently the most cheapest 2.0 in the market

• Vader on May 22, 2012 at 7:41 am

The 408 turbo too expensive once compare to 308 turbo.. sedan should be cheaper than hatchback.
      The spec for 308 turbo and 408 turbo is mostly the same, but 308 having panoramic roof!
      The price for 408 2.0 sound good, but only 4 speed auto? That is outdated gearbox like what toyota offer right now!

• kenny on May 22, 2012 at 8:31 am

er, who says that a sedan must be cheaper than a hatch? that is a general perception but doesn’t mean it must apply to all car makers. you don’t realise that the 408 comes with an improved and more powerful engine which costs easily more than the cost of a panoramic roof. and even though the 308 is positioned as the sporty sibling to this 408, the 408 is positioned as the premium (and thus higher valued) version against the 308.

• the sedan use more metal than hatchback.

• buduk on May 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Contis are now invading Malaysia and their prices are getting cheaper :)

• anti-first on May 22, 2012 at 7:51 pm

The future looks very bright for a strong presence of contis if they keep this pace up!

go contis!

• Wt just 15k diff, the turbo offer better safety equpmts….might as well get the turbo instead, comes wt full 6 abags & the very important esp

• kadajawi on May 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Yup, I agree. Though many may not, as you can see with the sales figures of the Fiesta. The sedan has 7 airbags, the hatch 2, yet the hatch costs more. Guess which one sells better. The hatch simply looks better and has a body kit. That’s more important than airbags, obviously.

• JeremyNg on May 21, 2012 at 10:10 pm

The interior look damn boring …………… for my opinion, Hyundai Elantra still has the best interior among others competitors.

• =-='' on May 21, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Its not boring….its called ‘classy’ while the Elantra is ‘funky’…..the Corrola is the one thats boring……..yawn….

• Derrick C on May 22, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Nope, i don’t think the new Altis’s interior is boring.. Instead, the existing Camry’s interior is a little bit outdated… (just my own observation)

• Wisdom on May 22, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Still toyota own the ‘best’ interior design on recent offering. The Prius C ;p

• Sam Loo on May 29, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Buy Koreans so that you will make people like me happy.Why?

Because I would love the look on your face when you try to sell it off 1 year later

• ContiDrive on May 29, 2012 at 2:02 pm

so inexperience

• Maserati on May 21, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Now this is what we call ugly, overpriced and unreliable car! 1.6 turbo at 125k?? U gotta be kidding me.

• =-='' on May 21, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Helooooo, its a 1.6 TURBO!!!!!T.U.R.B.O…..

• Potiac on May 22, 2012 at 12:02 am

Even a preve turbo costing < rm80k

• Anakata on May 22, 2012 at 12:34 am

Preve’s turbo? Hahahahaha. Sorry dude, this turbocharged Prince engine will CFE anyday of the week. Twice on Sunday.

• wait till cfe has twin turbo and pawned Prince

• RadzLee on May 22, 2012 at 6:08 pm

yeah right… u can wait

• how about on hari keputeraan YDP Agong? or hari thaipusam?

• naemibr on May 22, 2012 at 4:12 am

PREVE is CFE – light turbo. but this is TWIN TURBO!

• Anakata on May 22, 2012 at 7:21 pm

It’s not twin turbo. It’s twin scroll turbo. 408 only has one turbocharger. The twin scroll turbo refers to the exhaust gas inlets.

• alldisc on May 22, 2012 at 9:19 pm

newbie detected!! ha ha haa..

• magnum on May 21, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Nope. ugly & overpriced is the so called “new” camry, though it maybe reliable. And at how much money? You gotta be kidding me to be this blind.

• Pro99 on May 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Look at the horsepower n torque. In today’s engines capacity means ntg d. smaller capacity wth big horsepower is a push la…

• What, u think this 1.6 T same like Preve ah?

• mad aly on May 22, 2012 at 8:27 am

why bring Preve to this topic… ?? 408 is using Twin Scroll Turbo u IDIOT!!

• BeemerFreak on May 21, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Dont care to reply… Stupid Toyota salesmen talking…. Stupid already still want to tell the world that they are stupid. Memang Tak kenal malu

• Conti driver on May 22, 2012 at 2:19 am

you bring shame to the name maserati…maybe you race your preve with the prince engine?

• _xXx_ on May 22, 2012 at 10:16 am

yalor…buy VIOS better. Is this what u forgot to say?
      Frankly, my impression on Pug’s reliability = Alfa = Fiat = ahem, good.

• vertigo on May 21, 2012 at 10:11 pm

very awkward looks. still prefer the previous 407 looks.

• Potiac on May 21, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Ugly. I rather get the new and ugly civic rather than this

• Agree..

• kadajawi on May 21, 2012 at 10:56 pm

The 408 is a D segment car, this is a C segment car.

Also I don’t think it looks bad. However I still prefer the 406. http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-iubRzG0K8Yw/ThZ_MnoKMzI/AAAAAAAAFK4/3eS6dtaHsXI/s1600/100.jpg

• nice and cool..

• Just me on May 21, 2012 at 10:21 pm

I’m surprise no one says preve is better. where goes all the protong supporter??

• nabill on May 21, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Did i read correctly jus now…da NA 2.0 comes with FOUR speed auto???
    Let me double chck da calender is it 2012??

• underskinned on May 21, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Looks like 1.6T is a better steal. I’m tempted.

• shawal on May 21, 2012 at 10:28 pm

“The 408 Turbo gets the familiar Prince 1.6 litre THP twin scroll turbo, but the EP6CDTM offers improved output with 163 hp at 6,000 rpm, while maximum torque is 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm – the power output makes the 408 the most powerful C-segment sedan in the market locally, Nasim says. ”

very tempting , but hows the aftermarket sales & service …?

• sweetcorn on May 22, 2012 at 12:09 am

i will take jetta anytime… 160hp and 240nm, only 3hp less than 408, but dsg gearbox is better………

• K-Man on May 22, 2012 at 12:15 am

duller design and priced much more… go ahead if you only want to advertise your wealth and nothing else. check out posts in many places about the issues faced by the famous transmission of the vw. can turn a blind eye to that just because of brand or should i say blind loyalty?

• KL fella on May 22, 2012 at 10:19 am

the problems related to DSG gearboxes are a thing of the past now

• K-Man on May 22, 2012 at 9:25 pm

i have my doubts on that but if that’s what you want to believe…

• slick shifts on May 23, 2012 at 11:40 pm

sure? these stories say otherwise:

http://motoren.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/volkswagen-dsg-gearbox-woes-chinese-authorities-involved/

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/bizchina/2012-03/14/content_14835905.htm

http://english.autoinfo.gov.cn/autoinfo_eng/latest/webinfo/2012/05/1333189747381017.htm

hate to disappoint the wolf fans out there but sometimes the truth is a bitter pill too. no brand is without problems no matter how unsinkable they appear to be. just don’t have the ‘titanic syndrome’ thinking the dsg and vw is invincible/unsinkable.

• Josh Ling on May 22, 2012 at 12:55 am

it’s around 20k more than 408 turbo, smaller interior, much less kits, same conti root….the only thing is that it’s a CBU rather than CKD like 408 turbo. sure you wanna go for jetta still ah?

• Conti driver on May 22, 2012 at 2:24 am

the 408 Turbo will kick the Jetta out of the market if it isnt for blind VW followers…..buying a c segment car for a D segment price….losers

Polo sedan or Peugeot 408 2.0? (only 4k difference if OTR)

• rally_fan on May 22, 2012 at 8:08 am

well. firstly.. the vw is CBU.. and secondly, no one can match prices with anything from Naza, and have you driven a jetta with its 1.4 tsi and 7 spd DSG?

• why not test the 408t with its more powerful 1.6 turbo and then compare? right now your assessment could be based on just one car.

• racotua on May 22, 2012 at 9:41 am

the target market may not really be into the speed of transmission changes but more into an overall package. maybe a small minority will look into the effectiveness of the DSG (which is also not without its own problems). for this segment, price comes first then other areas could be considered.

• rally_fan on May 22, 2012 at 12:11 pm

c-segment price conscious? most c-segment foreign makes are over RM100k.. i dont think thats a very price conscious segment.

DSG is not just about speed of gear changes. and granted, all car have their own problems. but the TSI engine is technology that you can’t get from other brands at this price likewise the DSG. there is definitely value there.

also, i have lots of respect for peugeot cars as well and have driven many different models from old to new, and i like what they’ve done for their brand and the cars they produce. :)

i really only have a problems with “conti driver” for putting people down for their choices.

• Henry Ford the XII on May 23, 2012 at 9:50 am

Is Jetta being a CBU is its plus point? If not mistaken, it’s assembled in Mexico. Mexican workers and QC much better than Malaysians?

While we generally accept/perceive that CBU cars have better construction quality than CKD ones, the country of origin (besides the brand itself – different brands have different quality acceptance) is important too, if not more so.

Just my 2 cents.

• racotua on May 23, 2012 at 2:16 pm

rally_fan,

yup. they still are price conscious here and perhaps even up to rm150k. this is malaysia and our currency unfortunately does not really buy much. many who buy a c-segment actually are on the edge of their earnings.

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 9:12 am

VW Group has taken China as No. 1. Just a matter of time they even outnumber sales from GM and Toyota

• Congratulations then!

• naemibr on May 22, 2012 at 4:16 am

how ever still need to admit: VW has more wow effect

• Gabla on May 22, 2012 at 8:23 am

Not the same conti root, one is a german, the other is a french. The only french car that can be considered is Renault. The only german car that is difficult to consider is Opel.

• Josh Ling on May 22, 2012 at 9:59 am

i think it’s a bit unfair to rule out peugeot when you talk about conti cars. what i mean by conti root is just that they are all from Europe, and from Europe meaning they have a certain degree of stability in higher speed cruising, and can handle fairly well. And as far as I know from all the reviews done by local and international mags, recent peugeot cars are not actually dull to drive either. Of course it’s not in the league of renaultsport cars, but neither is its price. So the only area this peugeot is “inferior” to jetta would probably the overall quality, and the brand, and maybe the DSG. VW somehow can be more premium than peugeot. but more than 20k in price difference, and the difference in spec list still make this peugeot 408 turbo a very tempting choice if compare to jetta. jetta is a rather bare car to be honest.

• Cosmos on May 24, 2012 at 12:00 am

read this forum about the great dsg:

http://www.dsgproblems.co.uk/index.php?PHPSESSID=n5fr6sq28ab1sfsa7e0grskhp1&action=recent;start=10

• K-Man on May 29, 2012 at 9:33 am

here’s a new thread by paul. still think it is invincible?

http://paultan.org/2012/05/28/volkswagen-dsg-service-campaign-bring-your-cars-in/#comments

• =-='' on May 21, 2012 at 10:30 pm

No push button start for the turbo model ??? sad……

• Despite that tempting turbo engine and pretty high spec, this car still looks a bit disappointing and un-proportioned as it looks like it was made into a sedan from a hatchback. Well, that’s because it’s true. This is indeed a sedan version of the 308.

In my opinion, the best looking car in this segment is the new Hyundai Elantra. Especially in white color, the designer managed to make it look wider and aggressive despite its compact size.

Nevertheless, looking at how the Japanese are moving forward(backwards?) in terms of design and spec (ahem..new Camry etc), I will choose an Elantra or this 408 over an Altis or Civic anyday!

• chaos on May 22, 2012 at 2:27 am

The elantra have no driving feel, lack of power and too much korean look however….maybe u like the elantra… give more chrome look but not everyone prefer chome lining than substance

• Wisdom on May 22, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Talk about chrome, Elantra have the worst badging format on its trunklid. Too much emblem. Might as well write a whole essay there!

• japfans on May 22, 2012 at 10:30 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Dongfeng_Peugeot_308_Sedan_China.jpg

Check this out, the 308 sedan in China.
      408 is strictly by itself, it is not sharing any panel with the 308 except the head light.
      Please get your facts correct before you make comment.

• As a matter of fact, I had actually referred wiki before I made that comment about the 408 is actually just a sedan version of the 308 and obviously you did not read it properly.

Let me just quote this right out from wikipedia:” Despite its name, it is not the successor to the Peugeot 407, but rather a long-wheelbase saloon version of the Peugeot 308 hatchback”

You see? And you are not wrong showing that photo as that is the same car, is just that you don’t know much about it yet. (no offence)

The photo you shown is the facelift of the current 408 we are getting. Actually the 308 had already been sold in the facelift form quite a while ago in many countries even in Singapore, but unfortunately we Malaysian don’t have it yet so our 308-based 408 sedan is also launched as the pre-facelift version :)

Hope you understand more now. Cheers!

• Anakata on May 22, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Actually, it’s not. There is 308 sedan and there is 408. They are not the same.

http://paultan.org/2012/02/15/peugeot-308-sedan-vs-peugeot-408-two-different-sedans/

• Peugeot, Y U make so many similar models to confused us?! You’re right, but since we don’t get the 308 sedan here so let’s just assume the 408 is our version of it OK? Enough of debating pointlessly now. Cheers.

• alldisc on May 22, 2012 at 9:28 pm

despite its compact size? dude– elantra has one of the longest wheelbase and the longest body in C segment lah!

• Hyundai De La Junk on May 21, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Dead of Junk Elantra, 2.0 Pug 408 cheaper than 1.8 Elantra.

• Another 2.0 Turbo with 200hp+ would be much more tempting :D

• Jason on May 21, 2012 at 10:46 pm

front is nice..back is conservative..still prefer 308 turbo..pls reduce the price pls

• shawal on May 21, 2012 at 10:51 pm

why did they hired pregnant models..?
    is that a french thing…?

• Hitamputih on May 21, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Could it be to position it as a “family car”

• tomorrow on May 21, 2012 at 11:32 pm

http://paultan.org/2012/05/21/peugeot-408-launched-turbo-is-rm126k-2-0-is-rm110k/408-girls/

how many months????????

• that one eat too much …..many sedap food in malaysia wat

• hey,there is my son inside her belly!!

• rawks on May 22, 2012 at 11:23 pm

pregnant models cheaper maa .. cut cost maa.. that’s why they can sell the car a bit cheaper

• sam.changsk on May 21, 2012 at 10:54 pm

out dated features..

• kadajawi on May 21, 2012 at 10:56 pm

I’m sure some will be confused that the 2.0 costs less than the 1.6. :D

• TIGER on May 21, 2012 at 10:57 pm

This car should have 5 bolts on each wheel rather then usual four,
    rests all fine for 1.6 TURBO variant

• Keyboard Warrior on May 21, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Wah.. 408 1.6Turbo and 408 2.0 Surbo..
    mmmm

even if its a good car..
    frankly speaking the support here in Malaysia suck(s) big time..
    eventually Naza tend not to honor warranty claim..
    be more careful ok… or be bloody fool

no offend; if offend also like i care..
    Keyboard warrior maa..
    type type type..
    no action type only :)

• NOT IMPRESSED.

• Qweasd on May 21, 2012 at 11:12 pm

No volume control on the steering? U must be kidding.
    If come With d sun roof will be more tempting.
    Peg sound system is not up to d expectation.
    Not really a killer c segment car, but love to have more options.

• off tangent on May 21, 2012 at 11:46 pm

if you’re familiar with peugeots, they don’t group their audio switches on the wheel. rather, they’re on stalks just behind the wheel. sunroof would not be practical (and in our weather could result in leaks) and lead to higher price.

• yea , u need to use both thumb on your hand to control a normal steering wheel control , on a peugeot its much convenient , only index finger on your right hand….

• shawal the airhead.. on May 22, 2012 at 9:21 am

I see 508 has…seem to be the price does not justify the button to be on the steering to me..

• Look! at my smoke on May 21, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Let’s wait for our expert in depth review ;)

• 4 speed auto for 2.0 version?
    you got kidding me peugeot.

• for its price, the 4-speeder is fine. plus, malaysians willingly pay more for other more expensive 4-speeder auto cars anyway, so this should be a gift. which new 2.0 car can you find for the price?

• Potiac on May 21, 2012 at 11:57 pm

I rather choose preve over this crap peugot. I even dont see any english video had a test drive with this car. And all peugot looks the same. I dont want it because its ugly and when u make all the car same its equal to uglier. Naza summore. Fullstop.

• K-Man on May 22, 2012 at 12:11 am

its ok if you can only afford the preve. no need to be such sour grapes.

• Anakata on May 22, 2012 at 12:28 am

You didn’t see English video review of this car because the 408 doesn’t available in Europe. Understood?

Preve? Yeah, enjoy your Preve. If you had been reading in Lowyat forum, you’ll know what kind of problems your beloved Preve had.

• most problems rectified , just small one which any any car could have, now it’s really enjoyable to them

• mad aly on May 22, 2012 at 8:32 am

whats wrong with the cars… dude every cars has a minor problem… Preve has some minor2 things need attention… and in Lowyat Forum no one is bashing Preve!!

• anti-stupid-salesman on May 22, 2012 at 10:36 am

proton preve salesman detected!

stick to what you do best la wei: selling that sorry excuse of a car named proton preve!

• Is 408 a ckd?

• driver on May 22, 2012 at 2:54 am

IMHO, the spec is not bad at all. Especially the turbo that comes not only with performance in mind, but also the safety features offered.

However, why does it still expensive even when manufactured in Gurun??
    Sigh~

• Mazlo on May 22, 2012 at 11:52 am

it is already cheaper than most of its locally assembled competitors. you’ve gotta be practical is asking for lower prices. how can you say that it is expensive for a 2.0 at 109k? it is even cheaper if you factor in our insurance NCB. plus as you have correctly mentioned, the spec including safety is not bad at all.

• Howitzer on May 22, 2012 at 3:28 am

but VW German car Pug frenchie car until recently well known for quality issues. Just check forums for 408 issues! Quality wise see which one falls apart earlier! Crappy French cars. Hahaha

• Anakata on May 22, 2012 at 11:30 pm

“Just check forums for 408 issues! ”

I wonder which forum is that……….

• ta-boo-gen on May 24, 2012 at 10:23 am

what a stupid fella!

the car just launched here, where got local 408 forum yet?

• Dr Mamak on May 22, 2012 at 5:44 am

i still won’t buy from AP King.

• some how it think the head lights is bigger then the wheels…

• The Enthusiast on May 22, 2012 at 8:18 am

Not a big fan of the Pug’s old gaping-mouth design. Would prefer if this 408 sports their new look (re: the new 508, 208) but ultimately it is a desirable car with a reasonable price tag to match. If it comes with a flappy paddle gearbox, that would be awesome. Not really a fan of Tiptronic (better manual than Tiptronic).

So it’s either a Civic, an Altis, a Jetta (overpriced, I’m sorry), or this. And please don’t put Preve in this bracket because it’s a local car so pricing is at their advantage.

• Henry Ford the XII on May 23, 2012 at 10:01 am

Eh dont forget about my great grandson’s product, the Focus that is coming soon!

If you guys ask nicely, I will tell him to bring the ecoboost as well, together with the planned 2.0 from Tomyam Land. :)

Err.. and to boot out SDAC?

• shawal the airhead.. on May 22, 2012 at 8:22 am

the interior doesn’t reflect french artistic at all, looks like they just got slapped here and there just to get thing done….I knew now why it priced cheap..relatively

• im reading this thread after got ‘seduced’ by the girl picture..hehehehe

• Ruckus on May 22, 2012 at 8:55 am

You can’t please everybody…

I think the 408 is a great new entry into the C-segment market and a logical step-up for people looking to get out of their Vios and City but want to try something a bit different. There is no matching it for spec and the 1.6 Turbo with the 6-speed auto is a great bargain at that price. So the car is CKD, but then so apparently is the 308 and let’s be honest, how much local content do you see in that car? As for the 2.0-litre car variant with the 4-speed auto, would a real buyer really complain at that price?

Perhaps the only thing that may hold back 408 sales is the long memories of consumers. Most have been pre-conditioned to think that continental and French are a road to ruin and you’ll lose at least 50 per cent of your money after 3 years. Well, that’s a self-fulfilling prophecy but also a reflection on the quality of service and of French cars in general. The French haven’t covered themselves in glory selling cars in this region.

Issues of lack of tropicalisation of their interiors, bad engine and gearbox choices and a certain attitude of “like it or leave it” have left an indelible impression on many consumer’s minds. I really think they only produce RHD cars because they have a sizeable market in the UK.

Anyway, that’s going off topic. Based on what we’ve seen on the spec sheet alone, the 408 is a great new entrant for Nasim and should see them taking on the upcoming new Civic, Altis, Sylphy, Mazda3, Jetta and the new Ford Focus on a more even keel. Remember, it’s also a model they will export so if the volumes are good, they’ll probably get more models to ‘assemble’ in Malaysia.

• ayamxxx on May 22, 2012 at 9:03 am

why it still not get radio with navigation?

• I think it’s a decent package. Not great, but I can see the appeal. And unlike the Elantra, quite on the mark in terms of pricing.

Still wary about the after-sales though. Naza (& “other” car makers) should realise by now in the longer term, they can make more money in after-sales if they treat the customers right. Just look at T & H, their cars are not that great, not really value for money and massively over-charge during services. But people still flocks to them.

People might think this is because of the flock mentality, or because of the warranty. But I still see old 90s models being brought to the service centers, even though there are better specialist workshops out there.

It ‘s because they manage to build the perception that they are doing their best to serve you. Even if the workmanship can be shoddy and they ask you to change parts that not necessarily need changing, they do it in a manner that makes you feel you are being valued. (The Accord guy who writes his displeasure literally on his car might beg to differ though).

Anyway, can we expect a review on the car Anthony?

• i think one of the girls is pregnant

• ahbeng on May 22, 2012 at 4:02 pm

how it happen, dat one have to ask paul tan or anthony lim lahh….. :-D

• cokelatpanda on May 22, 2012 at 9:37 am

If the 2.0 equip with manual transmission, must be syiok.

• Saga R3 Biru on May 22, 2012 at 9:43 am

If Peugeot can add on the steering wheel with audio control will be better. Cant believe car worth more than 100k did not have this basic feature. The steering look plain and empty.

• Simon Wong on May 22, 2012 at 11:18 am

The audio control, auto-cruise etc are behind steering…..

• ichiban on May 22, 2012 at 12:00 pm

It is equipped with an audio control stock at the back of the steering la. Does the same thing as steering mounted controls.

• that twinscrool turbo only slightly better than the low boost Preve CFE. 9.2s compare to 9.5s, and 215kmh compare to 190kmh. not bad by proton.

• Mazlo on May 22, 2012 at 10:53 am

performance wise, yes perhaps the preve cfe is close but in terms of refinement, well, you get what you pay for. it is your cash, your choice. to live with the noisy engine and slurring cvt at a lower cost per month is a decent option too but you really should try the 408 turbo to know really how vastly different it is from the preve.

• no, i talk about engine only.

• Henry Ford the XII on May 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

Mr Heng,

if u talk about (comparing) the engines only, it should be on how much power/torque it generates etc. If u are comparing the 0-100kph sprint time and top speed, then you are talking about the cars i.e. 408 1.6 THP vs Preve 1.6 CFE.

These engines in different models (say 1.6 CFE in Exora) will have different 0-100kph sprint time and top speed.

• Mazlo on May 23, 2012 at 10:23 am

ok, sounds fair. but then, that’s all its got anyway.

• frdsck on May 23, 2012 at 5:58 pm

lol don’t forget many features in preve like auto wipers, auto headlamps, 7 speed cvt, follow me home lamp, gps, internet , led light and drl , abs , ebd, strut bar, and many many more

• Mazlo on May 23, 2012 at 6:54 pm

congratulations, you can read the spec sheet. the preve is a decent car in terms of spec and engine then, but… well, if that is the car you want, then by all means go buy it. others may be able to afford something with a bit more refinement and pedigree. and if they want that, they can buy that as well right? nobody’s denying the value of the proton but then again, those who buy this 408 have progressed beyond that and are ready for something higher in life.

• would rather spend something more meaningful in life rather than buying expensive cars, buying 408 doesn’t mean anything greater, nothing much indeed, at the end of the day, any other cars fulfill the purpose of moving from A to B

• ta-boo-gen on May 24, 2012 at 2:55 pm

lol don’t forget preve still has to prove itself to the world. do you think by strutting around its features like auto wipers, auto headlamps, 7 speed cvt, follow me home lamp, gps, internet , led light and drl , abs , ebd, strut bar, and many many more really makes a difference compared to the 408?

don’t forget, the 408 already been sold in several emerging markets especially China, Argentina and Brazil. so, in other words, the 408 has proven itself to the world!

• pug_hl on May 24, 2012 at 6:10 pm

let’s think about it this way. why i have to spend my money more at one place if i can get it cheaper from other place? this make HUGE diffrence between 408 and preve. spare parts wise, of course contis are expensive, later the service charge and the time waiting for the parts makes different too. that’s HUGE, can you give me back my precious time (my life!) sending it top sc and then waiting for the parts? can you?

if you think it doesn’t make the HUGE difference and you don’t care about your precious time (life) then go ahead. and another thing, being sold is never a guarantee it’sproblem free, just check 308T problems, many already, so…you know what i mean

• poklu on May 24, 2012 at 6:17 pm

preve means to prove. it’ll prove itself to the world, time will tell. in the meantime owners can really enjoy such powerful output (even single turbo) with such a good price

• Tony Montana on May 22, 2012 at 10:35 am

Look-wise, it can’t even beat Mazda3 – both exterior and interior.

• Mazlo on May 22, 2012 at 10:49 am

well, looks are subjective. it beats the 3 on specs and price though.

• but the 1.6THP performance can beat the mazda3 anyday….lovely low down torque, great for daily drive

• gracke on May 22, 2012 at 10:36 am

with such price and those specification, 408 really wins all in the same range! It’s good to have one too…..claps!!!!

• limaunipis on May 22, 2012 at 10:59 am

simply stunning.

i only wished they had a manual!

• Both models have big tummy.. LOL

• Nigel Yap on May 22, 2012 at 11:26 am

The 2.) has AT6 not 8

• Mazlo on May 22, 2012 at 3:09 pm

no nigel, the name of the transmission is at8. the number ‘8’ in this case does not have anything to do with the number of gears. unlike at6 and al4 where the numebr relates to the number of gears.

• Henry on May 22, 2012 at 11:49 am

So the old 2.0L engine and archaic AL4 gearbox is carried over from the 407? No wonder the 408 2.0L is so cheap.

• kaminski on May 22, 2012 at 2:36 pm

That 2.0 litre engine can no longer be used in Europe as it doesn’t meet the regulation under EuroV, I believe it was canned in Europe early 2010. the AL4 gearbox was modified last year and is fitted with a new torque convertor. Basically, PSA have fine tuned both components to suit emerging markets.

• Mazlo on May 22, 2012 at 3:14 pm

no henry, the transmission is not the al4. it is the at8 (8 in this case does not refer to the number of gears) and it is a new development by peugeot. it may be 4 speeds but for the application is deemed sufficient. want more hi-tech? then the 6-speed turbo will be better suited to you at a higher price.

• I just read in Peugeot Forum that 308 1.6 prince engine had a lot of issues…..even if the car is relatively new have prolems. No Turbo la,…nyek x2 sound here & there….. u can accelerate during traffic light la …….scary la bro.

• anti-stupid-salesman on May 22, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Just read huh…..and you found this information AFTER a Peugeot was launched?

How timely.

Another lousy salesman with lousy BS ammo detected.

• Spritz on May 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

if you’re so afraid of the turbo, just buy the 2.0 lah. don’t worry about the 4-speeder, it is fine. just need to understand how to use the adaptive transmission. it is easily lower in maintenance cost as well as lower in purchase price than the turbo. looks wise, it is hard to tell both versions apart with the rims being the only onbious indication. leather seats you can fit ourself and even choose the leather company yourself. not scary the 2.0.

• Adilz on May 22, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Uhhh makes me feel wanna hupgrade my 308T to this. 163 HP with 6 speed for RM 90 roadtax. Yummy

• still prefer preve over this ugly french piece. preve interior much nicer livelier more comfortable. power wise not bad for low pressure turbo. wait till they come up with twin scroll then it will be 190HP & 300NM hahaha….. crap from conti & japs car nowadays except VW & Beemer. looks @ Korean woowwwww…..

• why should i buy preve? i still dont know. i just simply not even dream of it. did u know that peugeot 407 batch 2005, still way better than hi-spec of preve?

• anti-first on May 22, 2012 at 7:45 pm

why wait for the twin scroll dream that will never materialize or wish for a conti-wannabe such as proton preve?

seize the opportunity now and get contis, any contis for that matter!

• K-Man on May 29, 2012 at 6:30 pm

you’ve got to be joking… seriously.

• Forget Preve leak of QUALITY WISE…

• Where is the touch LCD panel display with satnav? use android based/platform better. Can navigate, watch movies, listening to radio, use social media, etc.

• aiya…apa mau gaduh2….NAZA buat kereta 2 bkn utk M’sia ja…xpi utk pasaran serantau….regional manufacturer…ok apa…btw utk yg bising2 ttg versi 2.0L hanya ada 4 gear…gi la amik versi 1.6L turbo yg ada 6 gear..tambah 15K..total 125K pon msh rendah dri Civic & sedara2nya….xyah gaduh2…hehe

• is it worth to consider save 16k from 125k 1.6T to 110k 2.0 with these things omitted :-
    – Turbine
    -leather
    -high grade rubber
    -6 abag
    -ESC DSC etc
    -6 speedier
    -firm sporty suspension

Some how..the 2.0 should maintain the same package except for turbine engine if asking 110k !

Cutting all the features shall bring down further the price..logically to 96k only with only 2 abag and 4 speedier

Very nice car…hope the 2.0 will be offered full spec as 1.6T..then it is worth buy

• Wisdom on May 22, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Current 308 owner should share their experiences on their cars. At least that would motivate/ advice the future owner of this car. Anybody?

• i have 308THP6 and Polo 1.2TSI. Dun ask why. Both cars got their own sets of problem.

Issue with 308T, tyre burst easily (Conti CSC3), already 3 within 1 year and loss of turbo once. I also experience gearbox issue with Polo, and hard plastic interior which is a bit like savvy.

• ae101 on May 22, 2012 at 3:55 pm

once upon a time i was thinking of buying pug 308T because i had sit inside my fren car. really nice and comfort with adequate power. before made any decision, i had compare with focus, lancer, and sylphy. to my surprise the spare parts for 308 and focus really cost double compare to japs. this is a car. maintenance on wear and tear is a must. if you go mudah search 308t, there are bunch of it. mostly after 2 or 3 yrs cars where warranty almost expire. i’m not sales man. just a headups for those who really wana get pug.

• BsLee on May 22, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Yes, whether good car or not the Pug is not completely “tropicalised”, you see many 308 has following problems associated with high operating temperature or our hot weather.1..water pump leaks2..vacuum pump leaks oil..3..air cond cooling coil leaks hence need to remove the whole dashboard to replaced it.
    The cost of replacing these part is enormous.
    Please reconsider if you have been drooling over the new Pug…..

• silver on May 22, 2012 at 6:21 pm

i see alot of people complaining about it being 4 speed. This is a famliy car the 2.0 and honestly speaking unlike the automatic of old.. most of the time you don’t really feel much difference between a 5 speed 7 speed or a four.. You could most likely feel the difference in fuel consumption with the gear box. since i didn’t really check out the mpg so i can’t really tell. All i want to say is that for most buyers they don’t really care about the tranmision all we normal ppl care about are how it drives , fule consumption and spare parts price and avalability.

• nighttrain on May 22, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Best features and specs in it’s class. Butt ugly car. I you want to sell a sedan, you build a sedan, don’t put a butt on a hatch. If you put elantra’s skin on this car, that would be nice innit?

• Espresso! Quick! on May 22, 2012 at 9:38 pm

actually this was designed as a sedan from the start. the one with an add on is the 308 sedan. please do not confuse it with the 408 which is positioned higher.

• Er……… Nothing.

• Abuya on May 22, 2012 at 6:50 pm

You all should admit, although vios and camry is 4 speed here in 2012, they still rocks whereby others struggling lowering price and enhance value added. Have you ever read UMW struggling to lower price in past 10 years?

I can predict these model will be relevant for another 20 years.

In the other hand, if UMW still do nothing to be par with competitor e.g. stick with old 4AT, some day their sales will sudden drop. Just like jump from plane without parachute. Not enough time to recover back sales

• K to the N on May 22, 2012 at 6:59 pm

i have driven PUG before, what i hate the most about Naza they throw prices and after sale services and not to say the car is good.. When they want to clear stock they go as low 15-20k differences.. honestly totally unfair towards the buyer who bought a few months ago and they wont tell you that they having promotion in the next few months. So litterally your car depreciate 15-20k new car, like wt****.

The 4 speed auto gear box known to have overheat problem, older 308pug was using the 4 speed they had alot of these problem evne the authorize service centre don’t know what was the problem.

for me anything under NAZA is a no no for me, i would rather pay a little more that i feel worth instead feel cheated while these fella dont do a cut price behind my back

• K-Man on May 22, 2012 at 9:20 pm

since when did nasim throw peugeot prices? maybe you’re referring to other brands carried by other companies within the naza group (that are all different companies run by very different people with also different business philosophies and business practices). but nasim had not thrown peugeot prices.

by the way, what car did you buy that they threw away rm15k – rm20k?

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Autobox oil overheat = Yau Kwan? Can fry a sunny side up for me please?

• slick shifts on May 23, 2012 at 10:51 pm

wonder where you have been getting your info from but you’re dead wrong. no such thing these days. maybe a few generations ago lah. gosh, think of better reasons if you want to discredit peugeot.

• shawal on May 22, 2012 at 7:06 pm

no need sat navs, get an android phone, samsung note for a bigger screen, use google maps , the satellite images are awesome, you’ll never get lost!

• Jawabandar on May 22, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Darn..expensive.why dun they equip both units with lcd radio head unit?hmm..

• I don’t think it will come down to local car price… do be realistic in your expectations.

• im just getting this straight with everyone the 408 IS NOT THE 407 REPLACEMENT…
    its a 308 with a big boot/sedan style, the official 407 replacement is the 508 which is made to compete with the Vw passat (which is THE most boring car ive ever seen in my life) and the honda accord, which drives a lot better and more reliable OBVIOUSLY, but according to some magazines not as quiet or comfy as the big pug…
    so if your rich and want something special get the 508 if you want a bulletproof car that isnt actually bulletproof get the accord..
    kthanksbye

• Karl von Jitry on May 22, 2012 at 8:06 pm

I’m confused whether the distributor too greedy OR technocrats that prepare the policy/implement the policy too distance from reality and keep abreast with globalization and realized about layman economic reality?

In other countries, car prices drop or maintain the price of outgoing car (never ever any fools used Singapore’s) BUT in this country the same couldn’t be said.

Even though, NEP 3 not materialized yet we must concern over economic of car ownership. Price increment about RM15,000 from 308 hatch is not small amount and the pricing definitely not competitive enough for NAZA to compete with other brand.

I’m understand that Japanese duo too, greedy but they have safe deposit- people who deemed blindly to Japanese duo brand perception.

Peugeot also compete with VW and they must sensible if they really want more people embrace Pug. RM110k best for 408 1.6THP not ageing 2.0 one.

Even very good pricing 508 hardly seen on our roads, let alone 308+butt!

• tell that to other over priced brands first. you don’t see many 508 cos they don’t really have enough stock. only recently they have sufficient to go around.

• fraz006 on May 22, 2012 at 10:56 pm

the moment i saw the body-tyre gap at the front, i lost appetite already.

my fren told me about this 408 nice price. but, considering the so so look and super hassle maintenance and spare part, i say, forget it.

inspira hitam 2.0 E sudah… i like the leperness of no bodykit inspira and the nice wheel arch-body ratio.

• I just went to service my car today, and while waiting, have the chance to sit inside and look outside the new 408 for some long hours.

Front design of 408 looks nice, but not exciting. Nasim still use the old design on the logo and grill. They should have use the same 508 nose/logo on the 408, to make it a more modern look car.

1.6 turbo is pricier than the 2.0 model. The 1.6 Turbo engine is the same Prince engine that use in 308 Turbo (sounds cheap?), but also the same engine that is being implanted in the RCZ (RM220k car) and Mini Cooper S (RM200k+ car). Malaysian is too used to engine cc size, which does not really give the accurate performance of a car. Take a look at the horse power, 163 hp for the 1.6 Turbo engine, that’s a very powerful car I would say, and you only need to pay less than RM100 for the roadtax! Isn’t that great?!

If you are buying the 408, go for the 1.6 Turbo. The leather interior feels much better than the 2.0 model. Leather seats (though feel like PVC and the texture is rough), nicer sport rim, nicer sport steering (flat bottom with chrome at sides) and you get the TURBO badge at the back.

Center console of the 408 is very similar to the RCZ, good for 408 owner, but pity the RCZ owner.

I also owned a year 2011 407, I still feel that 407 design is more unique, while 408 is just OK (tend to get forgot fast).

If this is your first Peugeot, it is going to be exciting, as Peugeot has many nice features in their car for you to explore (auto wiper, auto headlight, USB, bluetooth…etc.). If you are from 207, 408 still has plenty of upgrade / surprises waiting for you. If you already a 407 or 308 owner looking for an upgrade, no the 408 is not going to boil your heart. Go straight to 508 or RCZ.

(Just in case you are upgrading to RCZ, make sure you get the manual version with 1.6 turbo but 200bhp.)

• matlimmutu on May 23, 2012 at 11:51 am

great engine n nice specs. hmmm exterior n interior design a bit boring, but it is still ok. but for me, i prefer proton inspira or proton preve.. more value for my money.

• ToyotaPJ on May 23, 2012 at 4:45 pm

This car will give you headaches later on , this car can’t compare to Toyota Altis that give you high resale value and cheaper to maintain ! With the new camry also a good buy why choose this Pug ?

• toolta on May 23, 2012 at 6:01 pm

altis/camry are for uncles/aunties la, bad design, archaic engine, overprice

• slick shifts on May 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm

compare the camry to the 508. you’ve got the wrong care to compare. pick on something at the same level.

• Pervert on May 24, 2012 at 9:09 am

Let’s see when you get into accident. Your toyota will become milo tin.

The problem with all this T&H fans, they emphasize too much on resale value. Don’t you care about your life or your family if accident do happen ?

Think about it, would you rather risk your safety just for the sake of resale value ?

Jap cars is still in dinosaur age for that segment when it comes to safety aspect. No curtain airbag, no side airbag, no rollover fuel cut protection.

• Most that condemn Peugeot has not even drive one before…

• I am still driving Puegeot 307 till now ….. nice to drive but when it comes to parts and maintainence is relatively expensive as compared to the cost when bought new plus resale value still sucks ….. see how much 407 CBU 2005 sells for 50k or less as compared to 165k

No doubt, this 408 seems value for money …. but not sure many years down the road

• Spritz on May 24, 2012 at 12:31 am

well, the 307 and 407 (before nasim) weren’t exactly value for money either then when they were sold new as compared to the peugeot models of today, perhaps these days things will be better for the current models.

• New 407 facelift edition was selling at less than RM130k in 2011, what do you expect from an used 2005 model?

Buy a car to enjoy driving it, not to think about the 2nd hand value. All cars lose money. A 2006 BMW 325i that initially costs RM320k is only worth RM150k now. Loosing RM170k but the owner has enjoyed the ride from a brand new car and most are upgrading to the new / latest model.

All Conti cars are of high maintenance, as most outside workshops only do Japanese car. They don’t even have the torx screwdriver for Peugeot car. For 407, each visit (10,000km) costs RM300+, owner has to go back to authorised dealer or Nasim only to do the maintenance in order to have the warranty valid (was 3 years, now 5 years). That’s the tactic used by most car makers now to continue earning from the car owners from service and labor in maintaining their car.

Nasim has managed to bring the price of Peugeot car to a very attractive level in my opinion for a Conti car.

• Adilz on May 24, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Nice way to put it RCZ. Agreed, not everyone buys a car thinking about the resale value. Some people do, some people don’t. Like me, I bought my Pug 308T coz I love the car, knowing very well a few years down the road, it will be worth less, say to a Civic or Altis. But it puts a big smile on my face when I bought it, and I enjoyed driving it. That’s what important for me, not resale value. And RCZ is spot on about the high maintenance cost for Conti cars. I took my car to change battery to a normal workshop, and I ended up having to open up the battery bay, coz the mechanic was scratching his head trying to figure out how.

Come to think about it, the very same people today who says when buy car my think of resale value (that leave pretty much only T&H cars), would be the same people, who someday, when life gets better, bigger income, will ditch the T&H and goes for the Mercs, the Beemers and the Audis. At that time, resales value mantra will go out the window, and says, I can afford the car, so why I should worry about resale value.

Anyway, on the plus points, I think its good that Peugeot, VV and the likes of the Koreans offering cars like this to our market, plus offering warranty period better than Japs car, at least it will keep the Japanese car makers on their toes. Otherwise, the Japs will just continue selling cars with less spec than other markets (new RM 183,000 Toyota Camry 2.5G has the same 4 airbags as Proton Preve??? US spec Toyota has 10 airbags), and think all Malaysian will just buy them. So I think for the the T&H supporters should at least support lah the effort by other car makers. Mana tau, someday T&H also offers 5 years unlimited mileage warranty or better safety features coz of competition. Wouldn’t that be good?

• Unforgiven on May 26, 2012 at 7:26 pm

I’m guessing we have limited choices, remove the advantage group in M’sia, then you’ll know what cars we may enjoy, just look around Thai, Viet, Indo, etc of the cars that they’re enjoying.

By the way, have we mentioned about the RM3000+ major service for 1.6THP?

• mirsy on May 25, 2012 at 12:00 am

Nice one RCZ and Adilz, I had the same apprehension when my wife choose the 5008 over the similar price range Japanese mpv. Her reason was for the price it has all the safety items that is not there in Japanese car, she luv the shape and also the feel of driving it. I myself drove a toyota Wish and after driving both I can appreciate the different driving dynamics.

I can sumarise it easily like this “Wish” feels like it needs to be push but the “5008” feels like waiting to be unleash. Haa.. Haa.. nowadays I am reluctant to let my wife drive my Wish because she drove it once and complain “how come your car got no power and corner feel very different”

Still keeping my finger cross. Had the 5008 for a year so far only one incident where the “fault” light comes on and rectified by resetting the ECU about 3 months back. Service cost frankly no different from Toyota. Parts I agree it probably more ex because Nasim don’t stock it and you cannot get it outside.

• anti-first on May 25, 2012 at 4:10 pm

well said, rcz.

resale value is a very devious and sneaky tactics, i must say.

it’s this mentality of resale value that was successfully ingrained by T/H who are trying to prevent the “unthinking” public from buying other cars and limiting their options.

no cars are value for money, they all depreciate in time. unless they are contis, they appreciate over time if it’s well-taken care of.

• Heskey on May 30, 2012 at 1:10 am

I think resale value is still an important factor here due to the high prices of cars here. Example, in UK a 20k pound car may loose 50% of its value in 3 years which translate to 10k pounds loss. In Malaysia, a similar car may sell for MYR150k. 50% depreciation in 3 years is MYR75k. To many people loosing MYR75k is a huge money relative to our income.

So for average people, they will try to minimize this risk and costs. If I buy a car that looses only 35% in 3 years compared to 50%, i save about MYR25k in 3 years, where relative to my income is a lot. OK, maybe that is the value for driving enjoyment or status or feel good factor that i gained. But it depends on how much you value this over the depreciation cost. Many will choose to save the depreciation cost i guess.

• Spritz on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Agreed. with your analogy on resale value. That’s why it is a good thing to have choice. Those less affected (and they’re a relatively smaller group) can go for cars that depreciate more and provide more driving pleasure. For those who are more affected, there are the traditional choices.

• section8 on May 25, 2012 at 12:44 am

I’d like to ask from u guys.if i trade in my waja cps with the 1.6 pug 408, how about the current car loan that i still have 6 years to pay?.the waja was my first car and i never sold/trade in cara before,so appreciate if u guys can clarify.

• brian on May 26, 2012 at 7:58 am

u have to check with the bank see how much you still owe them, then check with used car see how much your waja worth. so if what you owe bank is more than waja’s value, ypu will have to top up just to get rid of the car

• I’ve test drive this car…it was 1.6 turbo…superb handling and the most important is the respond of the engine is just wow!!! i might consider it..the turbo really resonsive

• Adilz on May 25, 2012 at 5:37 pm

My 308T only 140 HP. This one 163HP sure lagi best. That BMW-PSA developed 1.6L Turbo engine sure is one good engine. Otherwise, it would not have hold the International Engine Award Winner for 1.4 – 1.8L category for 4 years running already since 2007.

• Peugeot can draw 255hp from this engine in their RCZ Race model. This is how good and how much potential the engine is.

• Mickhel on May 27, 2012 at 9:45 am

I own a 308 and will never buy a Pug again. Need a second car now, and was in the service ctr for a repeated problem that Nxxx cannot even rectify, so went to test drive 408, (even though I plan not to buy a Pug in Malaysia, at least from Nxxx). Power is good, handling so-so. alignment was out but the salesman told me that’s normal for a new car out from factory -duh. After that, there I go and stopped by to test drive Jetta, also the same segment, but was actually interested in Polo sedan. The power, grip, handling is superb – not a fan of VW, but after that test drive, I am one now. Interior quality is tight and secured, compared to 408. Not to bash a Pug as I owned one, but am starting to bash em’ for the distribution, quality and service in bolehland.

• tetra on May 27, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Just test drove the 408 turbo; also tested the Jetta. Must agree that Jetta has got the edge — tighter handling, slightly smoother ride (the 7 speed does make the difference), but price wise the Jetta should at least come with leather seats and better dashboard & interior plastics. CKD vs. Mexico CBU? Our Gurun guys just assemble the doors and bonnet, so what’s the difference? The pug is essentially a CBU. If money is no object, I would go for the Jetta, given the choice between the two. But factor in the price difference of rm25k, I would say the 408 gets the market. I own a 206 Pug, superior handling compared to the bigger brothers, minor problems sorted out during the warranty period. Service wise — go early before the service centre opens, otherwise you’ll be there the whole day. Small matter for owning a pug; until bigger problem comes (touch wood they don’t), or sell the car after 5 years. My 2 sen comment…

• moron on May 28, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Any pug owners here? mind to share the regular maintenance and major maintenance costs? I’m really tempted to this car, however the maintenance costs really a factor to consider? thanks..

• Nazir on May 30, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Apart from the 4 gear in 408 2.0, how about the lack of ESP for the 2.0? Any comment on that as I’ve seen a video that claim it as ‘the most important safety invention after the seat belt’. Tempted by the 408 2.0 but the only let down is the 4 gears and no ESP. Should I stay or should I go?

• drive safe and within limits and you may not need to invoke the esp. key is to know your own limits as well as the car’s. the 2.0 is not about raw power like the turbo. rather, it is for comfortable cruising and ease of use. esp comes when there is sudden lane changes or when the car starts to slide in corners. so, drive safe and you should be ok. be alert. many cars also are not equipped with esp out there and for the money you pay, maybe only a handful of new cars come with it (do correct e if i am wrong here). so, key thing is, be realistic with your driving skills and you should be ok. go for it!

• James on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:37 am

well my peugeot 308 turbo has been to the back to the SC more than 5 times for the turbo issue’s. actually regret buying pug’s.. not suitable for our climate.

• racotua on Jun 03, 2012 at 12:01 am

sell, and get the new 408 turbo with the better engine. or, if you’re going off turbo, the 2.0 would be as safe as you can think of.

• There are so many comments, this only shows how much people are interested in this car. By the way, today Peugeot also introduced new 308. If we put all three together, 408, 408 turbo and 308 turbo, I go for 308 turbo. It has same specs and same price as 408 turbo, but it is beautiful and has panoramic roof. VW designs are boring, very simple lines and nothing much. I dont think VW will compete with Peugeot in Malaysia in next 20 years.

• Spritz on Jun 17, 2012 at 1:54 am

Don’t count them out just yet. They do have a strong product range but it is VW’s discounting strategy that is winning them sales everywhere. Just go and ask any VW salesperson. It is either clearance stock from last year, or demo car sale or showroom car sale, or pre-registered sale etc. Some of the public benefits and laps them up but what about those who bought at full price? Will their cars be taken back at full price minus depreciation or discounted price minus depreciation? Anyway, as many have put it, those who buy euro aren’t too concerned about selling off immediately.

• off tangent on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:22 am

between the 308T and 408T, i’d go for the 408T for 1) the space and 2) the newer engine. ‘younger’ buyers ;) would 100% opt for the 308T for its sportier outlook, new aggressive front with the really cool boomerang shape drl and that gorgeous panoramic roof. best thing is, at least there is a choice now.

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:59 am

i’d recommend the 2.0. lose a bit of power but the 2.0 is a safe alternative. less tech means less things to go wrong equals better piece of mind.

• ptran on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:17 am

how is the sound system?
    how many speakers it has? and where?

• Nice advice AE. You work for Peugeot?

• car fan, read a lot. that’s about it. but basically, driving is very much common sense. lose that and you’ll get into trouble a lot faster than you think.

• sankee on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:22 am

Wait until u meet my friend who owns a 508 and he will be more than happy to share his experience about the After Sales service…, the quality of the car (508 is CBU from France), how all those screws loosen and fall aparts etc etc.

• Good car good people on Aug 03, 2012 at 10:50 am

I heard a comment from one of my friends who is a turbo technical advisor. According to him all current family type turbo car like Peugeot, VW, include preve is not suitable for 10,000km service skim. Its is quite harmful to the engine. Lots of his colleagues who own those car quietly having their car service every 5,000km from outside workshop and never let the car manufacturer workshop know to avoid void warranty. Just to keep the car performance good and good engine durability.

Just and advice for all car lovers.
    Cheers.

• Research on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:40 pm

It is amazing reading many of the comments here that there are so many unknowledgable people here in Malaysia when it comes to cars, and in particular conti cars. Experience it before making comment, and that doesnt mean previously driven one back in the 80’s. There are other cars available besides Honda and Toyota’s people

• laluan sehala on Apr 16, 2013 at 3:48 pm

keyboard warriors are kinda like that. strong on finger muscle but not much else.

• Wow.. this car looks good. But i have book a 1.8L Elantra. Should i change my mind and give a try on this car?

• slick shifts on Sep 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

it is not japanese or korean so you need to be in the right mindset to get one. european cars have their quirks and if you’ve been driving oriental all these while, you’ll be in for some culture shock. just make sure you make an informed decision and don’t complaint when you meet some of the car’s charaters.

• Been using the 408thp for a month now, superb engine hp and torque, easily out beat any 2.0 Camry civic Kia. Handling is sporty, some may not enjoy it at first but I certainly fell in love after few rides. Car is heavy and provides stability at high speed. Good safety features, and you will feel safe in the car

• Mohan Geetha on Nov 17, 2013 at 5:29 pm

When you press “Like” it covers with advertisement over it. Then you can’t put on your timeline page. Then to add comment, if there is one thousand i have to scroll for ever.
    Good car 408 below 100 thousand. Value 2.0.

• Dr Muthukumaran on May 10, 2014 at 11:15 am

Im Dr Muthukumaran from Sungai Petani.

I have bought peugeot 408 griffe in Bagan Jemal Branch, Butterworth.

The car arrived to the branch on 5th March 2014. I collected the car on 12th March 2014.
    The next day of my collection, i have noted that there were some scratches on the headrest leather.

Immediately i have called Bagan Jermal Branch Service Center and inform them. Mr Johnson ( after sales manager ) were assiting me.

Till now they refuse to replace a original headrest for me.

I think its not my fault as the car were in the branch for a week, they should inspect it.
    The sales person have to re-check with the customer before delivering it.
    Both also not done.

I need them to replace a original headrest for me.

Thank you