Honda Gold Wing launching May 31, RM174,900

The Honda Gold Wing is by no means an ordinary bike. And here’s the new one. Boon Siew Honda will be launching the 2012 Gold Wing on May 31, 2012 and will be available at all authorised Impian Honda shops.

The bike comes at an on-the-road price of RM174,900 with two colours to choose from – white and black. No, really. The official names of the colours are Pearl Fadeless White and Graphite Black.

The new Gold Wing is powered by a 1,832 cc liquid-cooled, horizontally opposed six-cylinder engine. The powerplant features PGM-FI tech that promises crisp throttle response and low emissions. The engine also comes with a HECS3 oxygen-sensing catalytic converter that makes sure this bike complies with EURO 3 emission regulations.

A five-speed gearbox is partnered with the engine; the fifth is essentially an overdrive that allows for low rev cruising. The transmission cancels out the side-to-side torque effect.

Being a touring bike, the Gold Wing gets some luggage capacity. The pannier cases, fairing pockets and top box give a luggage capacity of over 150 litres. There’s also a 2.8 litre central storage compartment to store small personal items.

Like previous examples, this Gold Wing also comes with an audio system with surround sound. The system can be hooked up to an iPod, iPhone or USB stick and is compatible with MP3, WMA and AAC formats.

For riding comfort, the bike features a new weatherproof seat cover and urethane seats to comfortably cushion the posterior. The seat and foot warming system ensures that the rider and passenger enjoy a nice temperature throughout the journey.

Handling of the bike is neutral and responsive, thanks to the Pro-Arm Rear Swingarm. The low centre of gravity also improves stability and low-speed balance.

There’s some convenience engineered into the bike as well. With a push of a button, the rider can engage the slow-speed reverse gear. Cruising is also made easier with a lightweight electronic cruise-control system, which comprises of a 16-bit ECU-based, motor-actuated throttle mechanism.

There are six settings in which the windscreen can be adjusted, which makes it safer when riding through rough winds. Safety is enhanced with ABS and Combined Braking System that bites the front and rear brakes evenly.

More information of the bike can be obtained at www.boonsiewhonda.com.my or phone 1-800-88-3993 (during office hours).

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• NasUrudin aidid on May 29, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Ugly machine ever brought in by uncle loh

• icecube on May 30, 2012 at 10:23 am

Hahaha , not sure dude.Either to say that you’re funny or you’re just that damn s**pid…

• LE_buruk on May 31, 2012 at 12:59 am

sound like someone is jealous because he can’t afford it.

• Moto Rider on May 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm

A bike for has-been corporate guys with mid life crisis. Perfect to irritate road users by moving at cowardly slow pace while blocking half the road with this big ugly bike.

• SGBLM on May 29, 2012 at 7:47 pm

This bike is damn nice … how i wish i have a deep pocket like his majesty DYMM Sultan Johor to own one of these beauty …

• We need less tax on superbike…. whos with me???

• pedobear88 on May 29, 2012 at 10:04 pm

170k….. I like bike but with this price tag. I would spend for Ducati or something really worth 170k

• can get a nicely loaded accord for the same price… but who to argue? it is like comparing a nice set of new york strip vs. a buffet dinner.

• Nick.C on May 30, 2012 at 1:31 am

Whenever I travel, and I pass a car dealership and I see how cheap cars really are, i weep. Then I pass a motorcycle dealership and my heart really breaks.

The MSRP for the 2012 GoldWing is just under US$24,000 or RM75,600 in the USA. We are paying rm100,000 in TAX for a MOTORCYCLE worth not even as much!

I can still some how accept a high car tax because a single car driver on the road is really taking up space, and burning more petrol than he really needs to to get from A to B. But seriously, the tax on bikes ought to be abolished.

• _xXx_ on May 30, 2012 at 11:25 am

I won’t be suprised if some dickheads ask you to depart or “berambus” or “get the hell out of this country”

• Nick.C on May 31, 2012 at 1:19 am

LOL. Thank god Proton does not make bikes, so none of those cybertroopers here…

• bike with audio system ?

• ah seng holycow double kill on May 30, 2012 at 5:58 am

this bike is good for long distance travelling, BUT the weather in malaysia is so hot… not really practical…

for city riding and fun weekend rides, i would take a 1000cc naked bike.. like kawasaki z1000, honda CB1000R, Yamaha FZ1…

and i also agree with the heavy tax on motorbike.
    this motorbike can reduce traffic jam if more people buy bike.. so it should be abolished..

i want to buy CBR1000RR

• u can buy 3 of this by selling 1 plate number…THE plate number

• _xXx_ on May 30, 2012 at 9:41 am

Peanut lah tu…ade org uang saku seminggu je dh bleh bli goldwing ni sebjk. Kadang-kala 6-7 bjk seminggu pon bleh.

• peter32 on May 30, 2012 at 8:57 am

Great machine for those who knows how it feels like to be on it. Pls take note that whoever compares this with CB1000R is like asking those long distance road cruiser on SUV to ride a ferrari. goldwing, like the BMW giant cruiser, meant for steady, smooth, low key and comfortable ride (unlike the back-breaking race-replica).

Seriously, just for educational purposes. Do rent a cruiser once whenever you can, ride on it. And you will find out why on earth people want to risk rain and wind to ride on one of this. If you have a choice, goldwing rider would not turn back to a car anytime.

• _xXx_ on May 30, 2012 at 9:29 am

definitely not for 3rd world countries like….u may end up with a parang slash/stab at your back and bike gets hijacked.

• why no kapcai news?

• Geez, I thought bikes are for the masses..

• LE_buruk on May 30, 2012 at 3:11 pm

still prefer the gs1200….

• Victor Tan on May 30, 2012 at 7:13 pm

The GL 1800 2012 model is a fantastic bike. I’ve ridden 4 other previous Gold Wings – 2 GL 1500 (1992 and 1996) and 2 GL 1800 (2002 and 2006).
    This new Gold Wing handles very well on the NS Highway. I’ve ridden it to Koh Samui, Thailand on 06-15 April 2012 and I can say that the ride was very comfortable and smooth. The radio sound was beautiful to listen with lots of oomph.

• Samad on May 31, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Nice (long distance) cruiser I’m sure but RM174k? Yowzah! Perhaps the price is not too much for the rich hardcore biker but putting it in perspective compared to the average M’sian wage earner it really is expensive. I have a big bike myself and sometimes wonder why I go biking; its hot, its tiring, can be deafening and doesn’t do much for your hair but it is exhilarating. That is the only consolation otherwise not much more, however I do love biking but maybe driving a car makes more sense.

• JeremyNg on May 31, 2012 at 1:33 pm

It has more features den my car T.T